DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (CN112635774, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on October 10th, 2023) in view of Arima (US20130177787) further in view of Miyake (US20160118640)
Regarding Claim 1, Yi discloses an electrode assembly ([0014]) comprising:
A first electrode (positive electrode active material layer, [0014]), a second electrode (negative electrode active material layer, [0014]), and a separator between the first electrode and the second electrode (separator, [0017]), the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode being wound in a jelly-roll shape (wound cell assembly, [0016], Fig. 4); and
A first electrode tab (electrode tab-3, Fig. 1, [0041]),
Wherein the first electrode comprises a first coated portion coated with a first electrode active material on a first substrate (coating area-11 acts as first coated portion, [0032], Fig. 1), and a first uncoated portion on the first substrate on one side of the first coated portion (empty foil area-12 acts as uncoated area, [0032]), and free of the first electrode active material (Fig. 1, [0042]),
Wherein the first electrode tab is on the first uncoated portion of the first electrode (Fig. 1), and
Wherein the first electrode further comprises a first buffer portion at an outermost region of the electrode assembly and extendible along at least one of a winding direction of the electrode assembly and an opposite direction thereof (Fig. 1, folding portions-4 acts as first buffer portion, [0042]).
Yi further discloses wherein the first buffer portion comprises a plurality bent portions and at least on the plurality of bent portions is bent in an opposite direction to the winding direction of the electrode assembly (folds-4 act as buffer portion with plurality of bent portions, Fig. 2, [0042]).
Yi further discloses wherein the first buffer portion comprises a first bent portion bent in an opposite direction to the winding direction of the electrode assembly, and a second bent portion bent in the winding direction of the electrode assembly (fold-4 has multiple bends that bent in opposite direction of the winding direction and the winding direction, that can be first and second bent portions, Fig. 3).
Yi discloses wherein the first and second bent portions can be bent into each other so that the inner side of a first bent portion can contact the inner side of the second bent portion (Fig. 2, bends-4).
Yi does not directly disclose wherein the first and second bent portions overlap in a radial and wherein a bent edge portion of the first bent portion contacts an inner side of an end portion of the second bent portion extending away from the first buffer portion and adjacent to the first electrode, the inner side of the end portion facing away from a central axis of the jelly-roll.
Arima discloses an electrode sheet that has a bent portion on an uncoated portion of the electrode sheet, with a tab connected to the uncoated portion (current collector exposed part-11a, tab-41, [0075]). Arima further discloses wherein the uncoated portion has a folded region (folded region E, [0076], Fig. 1,2,4). Arima further discloses wherein folded region is folded at least twice ([0076]). Arima further discloses that the radius of curvature of the folded region can be adjusted to balance the load acting on the folded portion of the current collector ([0076]).
The examiner notes that Arima’s bent portion on an uncoated portion creates a buffer portion, where the folded region is folded at least twice to overlap a first and second bent portion in a radial direction.
Miyake discloses a lead electrode structure that connects to an electrode current collector ([0021]). Miyake further discloses wherein the lead electrode can be bent into various shapes including a shape where the lead electrode includes a first bent portion and a second bent portion that are bent radially, wherein a bent edge portion of the first bent portion contacts an inner side of an end portion of the second bent portion extending away from the first buffer portion and adjacent to the first electrode, the inner side of the end portion (Fig. 4A-4D, [0039]). Miyake discloses wherein the lead electrode is electrically connected to the current collector of the overall current collector ([0066]). Miyake teaches that this structure has improved strain retention properties ([0018]).
The examiner notes that although Miyake’s disclosure is related to the lead electrode, the examiner notes that Yi discloses wherein the first and second bent portions overlap in a radial and wherein a bent edge portion of the first bent portion contacts an inner side of an end portion of the second bent portion extending away from the first buffer portion and adjacent to the first electrode, the inner side of the end portion facing away from a central axis of the jelly-roll, and Arima teaches that the current collector can be bent radially, and therefore, since Miyake’ lead electrode is an extension of the current collector structure, that the teachings of bending the lead electrode of Miyake are applicable to the current collector of Yi. Furthermore, the benefit of improved load balancing on the folded portion is a benefit disclosed by both Arima and Miyake, and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the battery of Yi would enjoy the benefits of improved load balancing on the folded portion.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yi with the teachings of Arima and Miyake to have wherein the first and second bent portions overlap in a radial and wherein a bent edge portion of the first bent portion contacts an inner side of an end portion of the second bent portion extending away from the first buffer portion and adjacent to the first electrode, the inner side of the end portion facing away from a central axis of the jelly-roll. This modification would yield the expected result of improved balance of the load acting on the folded portion of the current collector.
Regarding Claim 2, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi further discloses wherein the first buffer portion is in the first uncoated portion (folds-4 is in first uncoated portion-12, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi does not directly disclose wherein the each of the first bent portion and the second bent portion has a radius of curvature of 100 um or less.
Arima discloses an electrode sheet that has a bent portion on an uncoated portion of the electrode sheet, with a tab connected to the uncoated portion (current collector exposed part-11a, tab-41, [0075]). Arima further discloses wherein the uncoated portion has a folded region (folded region E, [0076], Fig. 1,2,4). Arima further discloses wherein folded region is folded at least twice ([0076]). Arima further discloses that the radius of curvature of the folded region can be adjusted to balance the load acting on the folded portion of the current collector ([0076]).
The examiner notes that Arima teaches that the radius of curvature can be adjusted to balance the load applied to the current collector, therefore teaching that the radius of curvature is a results effective variable.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Yi with the teachings of Arima to have wherein the each of the first bent portion and the second bent portion has a radius of curvature of 100 um or less in order to balance the load applied to the current collector (based at least on the result-effective variable relationship which exists between the radius of curvature and the consequent load applied to a current collector, as taught by Arima).
Regarding Claim 6, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Yi discloses wherein the first buffer portion comprises a plurality of bent portions comprising the first and second bent portions (folds-4 act as buffer portion with plurality of bent portions, Fig. 2, [0042]).
Yi does not directly disclose wherein a width of the first buffer portion is a distance between both terminal ends of the plurality of vent portions of the first buffer portion, and wherein the width of the first buffer portion is about 1% to about 40% relative to an outermost circumference of the electrode assembly.
However, Yi discloses wherein the expandable folds that form the buffer portion are not limited and the empty foil area of the current collector can be wrinkled to a certain extent to provide expansion space for the electrode ([0012]). Yi further discloses wherein the number of folds or pleats can be unlimited as long they provide enough expansion space when the core expands ([0013]).
It is the examiner’s position that adjusted the number of folds in Yi’s buffer portion would increase the width of the first buffer portion, and therefore since Yi teaches that the number of folds can be adjusted to provide enough expansion space when the core expands, the width of the buffer portion can be adjusted.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Yi to have wherein a width of the first buffer portion is a distance between both terminal ends of the plurality of vent portions of the first buffer portion, and wherein the width of the first buffer portion is about 1% to about 40% relative to an outermost circumference of the electrode assembly
Regarding Claim 8, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi further discloses wherein the first buffer portion has a z-shape (Fig. 3 shows folds-4 acting as first buffer portion having a Z-shape).
Regarding Claim 9, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi does not directly disclose wherein the first buffer portion has an embossed structure.
Yi discloses wherein the expandable folds-4 that can be formed into bending and extrusion portions ([0042]). Yi further discloses wherein the folds-4 can be have any number of pleats to provide enough expansion space when the winding core expands ([0043]). Yi further discloses wherein the expandable folds-4 are formed by manually extruding the empty foil area and current collector ([0048]).
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, “the first buffer portion has an embossed structure” can be interpreted to mean that the first buffer portion has a carve, mold or stamped structure on its surface. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that Yi discloses wherein the first buffer portion has an embossed structure.
Regarding Claim 10, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi further discloses wherein the first buffer portion is between the first electrode tab and the first coated portion (folds-4 acts as buffer portion, is between electrode tab-3 and coating area-11, [0032], Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi further discloses wherein the first electrode tab is adjacent to a terminal end portion of the first uncoated portion (electrode tab-3 is present adjacent terminal end portion of the first uncoated portion-12, [0032], Fig. 1), and wherein the first electrode tab is extending in a direction different from a winding direction of the first electrode (electrode tab-3 extends in direction different from a winding direction, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 12, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi further discloses wherein the first electrode tab extends in a direction perpendicular to the winding direction of the first electrode (electrode tab-3 extends perpendicular to winding direction, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Yi discloses wherein the first tab does not have a buffer portion extending in at least one of a direction in which the first electrode tab is extended, or an opposite direction thereof (see 112(b) rejection above, folds-4 acting as buffer portion are not on electrode tab-13, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi further discloses wherein a terminal end of the first uncoated portion is exposed on an outermost portion of the electrode assembly (Fig. 1 shows uncoated portion-12 is exposed on an outermost portion of electrode assembly, Fig. 1, [0027]).
6. Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (CN112635774, see Machine Translation for citations) in view of Arima (US20130177787) further in view of Miyake (US20160118640) further in view of Yoshida (US20010019795).
Regarding Claim 7, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Yi does not directly disclose wherein the buffer portion has a width of 5 mm or less.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim the width of the buffer portion can be the width that the buffer portion spans across the width of the electrode sheet.
Yoshida discloses an electrode sheet with a buffer portion on an electrode sheet (recessed portions-41b acts as buffer portion, [0024]). Yoshida further discloses wherein the electrode sheet is formed into a winding assembly ([007]). Yoshida further discloses wherein the buffer portion is 1mm in width ([0024]), or 2 mm or 4mm ([0030]), which overlaps the instant claim range of 5 mm or less. Yoshida teaches that this structure provides improved reliability ([0042]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yi with the teachings of Yoo to have wherein the buffer portion has a width of 5 mm or less. This modification would yield the expected results of improved reliability.
7. Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (CN112635774, see Machine Translation for citations) in view of Arima (US20130177787) further in view of Miyake (US20160118640) further in view of Woo (US20220216550).
Regarding Claim 15, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi does not directly disclose wherein a ratio of an outside diameter to a height of the electrode assembly is about 1 to about 25.
Woo discloses a cylindrical battery ([0034]), wherein the battery has a diameter to height of 1 or more ([0096]), which overlaps the instant claim range of about 1 to about 25. Woo teaches that this structure provides improved structural stability while reducing weight ([005]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yi with the teachings of Woo to have wherein a ratio of an outside diameter to a height of the electrode assembly is about 1 to about 25. This modification would yield the expected results of improved structural stability while reducing weight.
Claim(s) 16 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (CN112635774, see Machine Translation for citations) in view of Arima (US20130177787) further in view of Miyake (US20160118640) further in view of Zhu (CN208240790, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on July 12th, 2023).
Regarding Claim 16, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi does not directly disclose wherein the first electrode comprises a winding start position, and a second buffer portion at the winding start portion and extendable along at least one of the winding directions of the electrode assembly and an opposite direction thereof.
Zhu discloses a winding electrode assembly ([0032]) that includes a buffer portion on both ends of a positive electrode and negative electrode sheets (arc portions-5 acts as buffer portions, [0032], Fig. 1). Zhu further discloses wherein the buffer portion at the winding start portion of the electrode sheet extends along the winding direction. Zhu teaches that this structure provides improved battery performance and life ([0043]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yi with the teachings of Yoo to have wherein the first electrode comprises a winding start position, and a second buffer portion at the winding start portion and extendable along at least one of the winding directions of the electrode assembly and an opposite direction thereof. This modification would the expected result of improved battery performance and life.
Regarding Claim 17, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Yi does not directly disclose wherein the first electrode further comprises a second uncoated portion of the first substrate, on another side of the first coated portion, and free of the first electrode active material, and wherein the second uncoated portion comprises the second buffer portion.
Zhu discloses wherein the arc portions both encompass the positive electrode sheet that contains the active material layer (flat portion-4 is sandwiched between both arc portions-5, where active material layer is on flat portion, [0045]).
It is the examiner’s position that since the positive active material is only present on the flat portion that does not include the arc portions, that the arc portions are present in noncoated portions.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify Yi with teachings of Zhu to have wherein the first electrode further comprises a second uncoated portion of the first substrate, on another side of the first coated portion, and free of the first electrode active material, and wherein the second uncoated portion comprises the second buffer portion. This modification would the expected result of improved battery performance and life.
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (CN112635774, see Machine Translation for citations) in view of Arima (US20130177787) further in view of Miyake (US20160118640) further in view of Suzuki (US20110189513).
Regarding Claim 18, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi further discloses a secondary battery (cylindrical button battery, Fig. 4, [0059]), an electrode assembly according to claim 1 (claim 1 rejection above);
A battery case comprising an inner space and accommodating the electrode assembly in the inner space (first packaging film and second packaging film form case that wound bare cell is placed between, [0059]).
Yi does not directly disclose wherein an electrolyte in the inner space and a cap assembly joined to an upper portion of the battery case and sealing the battery case.
Suzuki discloses an electrolyte in the inner space with the electrode assembly ([0076]). Suzuki further discloses a cap assembly to an upper portion of the battery case and sealing the battery case (cap-3 and sealing lid-50 seals battery case, [0058]). Suzuki teaches that this structure provides good water sealing performance ([0019]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Yi with the teachings of Suzuki to have wherein an electrolyte in the inner space and a cap assembly joined to an upper portion of the battery case and sealing the battery case. This modification would yield the expected results of good water sealing performance.
Regarding Claim 19, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake further in view of Suzuki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi further discloses wherein the electrode assembly comprises an electrode tab (electrode tab-3, [0041]), and the electrode tab is fixed to the battery case or the cap assembly (electrode tab is fixed to first film packaging, [0059])
Regarding Claim 20, Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake further in view of Suzuki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Yi further discloses wherein the secondary battery is a cylindrical cell (Fig. 4 shows a cylindrical cell, [0030]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed April 9th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yi in view of Arima further in view of Miyake further in view of Suzuki under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728