DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims fail to disclose the weight bases for the components (SBS resin (claim 2), bismaleimide resin (claim 3), cross-linking agent (claim 4), and the modified polyphenylene ether resin (claim 5)).
Claims 2-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite, “a weight ratio,” the term “ratio” expresses a relationship between two or more components, therefore it is unclear what the weight ratio is compared to in each claim. For instance, in claim 2, “wherein a weight ratio of the SBS resin ranges from 10 wt% to 40 wt%,” what is the SBS compared to. Clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANEKO et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0365372, hereinafter KANEKO) in view of UERA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2009/0312519, hereinafter UERA).
Regarding claim 1, KANEKO teaches a conductive polymer material comprising thermoplastic resin and CNF (carbon nanofiber [0036-0039]) [0087 and 0092]. Examples of the thermoplastic resin include polyphenylene ether resin, a modified polyphenylene ether resin, styrene-diene block copolymer such as SBS (styrene-butadiene-styrene block copolymer), and etc. [0087]. The thermoplastic resins may be used in combination of two or more. The material further comprises thermosetting resin such as bismaleimide resins [0090]. The conductive polymer material production method incudes a crosslinker or crosslinking coagent [0092], more specifically, 1.5 parts by mass of sulfur [0171]. The conductive polymer material is used for the production of shaped article ([0093]; Claim 12).
However, KANEKO does not teach the resin composition comprising modified polyphenylene ether resin, having following structural formula:
Wherein R represents a chemical group of a bisphenol compound located between two hydroxyphenyl functional groups thereof, n is an integer between 3 and 25.
In the same field of endeavor of shaped articles (insulating material for a printed wiring board, a resin for a resist, a semiconductor, packaging material, a resin for sealing semiconductor, and etc. [0073]), UERA teaches a cured product which is obtained by curing the curable resin composition [0074] wherein the composition comprises a bismaleimide represented by the formula (1) [0007-0011]:
(which overlaps the claimed modified polyphenylene ether resin). The bismaleimide has high heat resistance, low dielectric characteristics, excellent solvent solubility, and exhibits only a small change in dielectric characteristics even in high humidity (Abstract; [0005-0006]).
Given KANEKO teaches the composition comprises a modified polyphenylene ether resin [0087], polyphenylene ether resin [0087], and bismaleimide [0090], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the modified polyphenylene ether resin of UERA with the composition of KANEKO for the benefit of obtaining a curable resin composition with high heat resistance, low dielectric characteristics, excellent solvent solubility, and exhibits only a small change in dielectric characteristics even in high humidity (Abstract; [0005 and 0006]). It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANEKO et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0365372, hereinafter KANEKO) in view of UERA et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2009/0312519, hereinafter UERA) in further view of CN 102481598A (hereinafter, PAUL).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the combined disclosures substantially teaches the present invention, see paragraphs 8-11 above. More specifically, KANEKO teaches a conductive polymer material comprising thermoplastic resin and CNF (carbon nanofiber [0036-0039]) [0087 and 0092]. The conductive polymer material production method incudes a crosslinker or crosslinking coagent [0092]. The material further comprises various additives [0092].
In the same field of a conductive polymer material (i.e., polymer dielectric material for electrical articles) (p. 4), PAUL teaches curing agent including peroxide (pp. 12-13), flame retardant (p. 13), silicone dioxide powder (Table 3; p. 21), and coupling agents such as silane (p. 10). The curing agent including peroxide in the amount of from about 0.1 wt% to about 5 wt% (p. 13) (which is within the claimed range).
The additives provides electrical properties including dielectric constant, dissipation factor, dielectric loss, and /or other desired properties (p. 12).
Given KANEKO teaches the conductive polymer material further comprises curing agent (peroxide) and various additives [0092], it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the curing agent and various additives of PAUL with the conductive polymer material of KANEKO for the benefit of obtaining electrical properties as taught by PAUL. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose, see In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846,850,205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 8-10, PAUL teaches peroxide, therefore, the claims are met because other optional components (i.e., flame retardant, silicon dioxide, silicone coupling agent, or a combination thereof.) are optional.
Conclusion
DEVE V. HALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/DEVE V HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763