DETAILED ACTION
Claims 36-38 and 41-50 are pending and currently under review.
Claims 1-35 and 39-40 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 36-38 and 41-50 remain(s) pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 2/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 36-38 and 42-45 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 6,677,058) in view of Reimer et al. (US 2009/0098295) and Burke (US 4,165,401).
Regarding claim 36, Komatsu et al. discloses a method of metal coating with a composition seen in table 1 below [col.3 ln.15-40]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Komatsu et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
The method of Komatsu et al. includes a step of water quenching after coating [col.3 ln.56-63]. Komatsu et al. does not expressly teach controlling the pH of the cooling water by adding acid as claimed. Reimer et al. discloses a process of coating steel with Zn alloys [abstract]; wherein cooling water is utilized during coating and controlled to have an optimum pH value of about 5 to 12.5 by adding buffering substances such as acetate, which one of ordinary skill would recognize to be a type of weak acid [0022]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Komatsu et al. by controlling a pH by adding acid as disclosed by Reimer et al. because the pH range of Reimer et al. is disclosed to be optimal. The examiner notes that the overlap between the pH range of Reimer et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious and further meets the limitation of “suppressing alkalinity” because pH control with an acid will naturally lower pH (ie. suppress alkalinity). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach continuous control of pH as claimed. However, as stated above, Reimer et al. teaches obtaining an “optimum pH value” by adding buffering substances to the coolant [0022]. The examiner submits that this feature of Reimer et al. would naturally require continuous control of pH because the pH is optimized and buffering substances are added as necessary during the process, as one of ordinary skill would recognize with the term “optimize”. The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach steps of continuously monitoring the cooling water pH as claimed. Burke discloses that it is known to particularly monitor the pH of quenching water for hot dip zinc galvanizing processes such that heavily contaminated water can be removed from the system [abstract, col.3 In.18-24]. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by also monitoring a desired pH level such that heavily contaminated water outside of the desired pH limits can be removed from the quenching system as suggested by Burke. The examiner submits that one of ordinary skill would have recognized this teaching of Burke to be continuous (ie. not only once) such that the entire washing process can be controlled to remove contaminated water when necessary. Furthermore, the prior art combination would suggest to one of ordinary skill to perform continuous monitoring (as taught by Burke) by performing the control (ie. adding acid as taught by Reimer et al.) continuously. The examiner further notes that the aforementioned prior art clearly suggests controlling cooling water pH and temperature as stated above. The only difference between the prior art and instant claims is a recitation of the pH and temperature control being continuous, which would have been further obvious because it is obvious to make a process continuous as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(E).
The prior art does not expressly teach an effect of reducing precipitate formation on cooling water heat exchangers and suppressing alkalinity of cooling water to reduce dissolution of the alloy coating as claimed. However, the examiner notes that these features are merely recitations of intended use and functional language of the claimed cooling parameters. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Specifically, the body of the claim fully and completely sets forth the claimed method step, wherein the preamble merely recites an intended use or effect of the claimed method. See MPEP 2111.02(II). Since the prior art suggests the same coating composition and cooling method, the prior art would have been entirely capable of achieving the same effect of reduction of precipitation and alloy coating dissolution as claimed. Furthermore, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Therefore, the examiner cannot consider the aforementioned recitations of functional language of the claimed cooling parameters to distinguish over the prior art which teaches the same cooling parameters.
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 36 (wt.%)
Komatsu et al. (wt.%)
Al
2 – 19
4 – 15
Si
0.01 – 2
0.002 – 0.05
Mg
1 – 10
1 – 4
Zn and impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 37-38, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 36 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach the presence of a native oxide layer as claimed. However, the instant specification discloses that native oxide layers naturally form during the step of gas wiping [p.10 spec.]. Komatsu et al. further discloses that the coating method includes a gas wiping step (ie. using a wiping nozzle) [col.3 ln.55-60]. Therefore, the presence of native oxide layers as claimed would have been expected to occur in the disclosure of Komatsu et al. which undergoes an identical gas wiping step.
Regarding claim 42, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 36 (see previous). Komatsu et al. further teaches providing the alloy coating on a steel sheet [abstract].
Regarding claims 43-45, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 36 (see previous). As stated above, Reimer et al. discloses an optimum pH value of about 5 to 12, which further overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 41 and 46-50 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (US 6,677,058) and Reimer et al. (US 2009/0098295) as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Rossi et al. (US 3,845,540).
Regarding claim 41, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 36 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach steps of continuously monitoring the cooling water temperature as claimed. Rossi et al. discloses that it is known to monitor a method for zinc galvanization of steel [abstract]; wherein a water quenching step of the zinc coating is performed using water at a temperature of 85 to 140 degrees F (approximately 30 to 60 degrees C) and the temperature is controlled by monitoring the water temperature and adding further water (ie. cooling) if the measured water temperature approaches the upper limits of an acceptable temperature range [col.11 In.20-47]. This control of water temperature serves to obtain best quenching results as taught by Rossie et al., as well as clear temperature control as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by performing continuous monitoring of water temperature for the aforementioned benefits disclosed by Rossi et al.
Regarding claims 46-50, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 41 (see previous). Reimer et al. further teaches a desirable water temperature of up to 42 degrees C to avoid heavy attack of the alloy coating by the coolant [0016]. Alternatively, Rossi et al. further teaches water temperature of about 30 to 60 degrees C as stated above. The examiner notes that these ranges further overlap with the instantly claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Double Patenting
Claims 36-38 and 41-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,613,792. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than the aforementioned patented claims. The only difference between the instant claims and patented claims are the instances of intended use and functional language of reducing precipitate formation and reducing dissolution of the alloy coating as recited in the instant claims. However, as stated above, these limitations do not actually further limit any of the claimed method steps, such that the instant claims are obvious over the overlapping parameters of the patented claims. In other words, the patented claims (which also recite same cooling water parameters) would reasonably achieve the same effects of reducing alloy coating dissolution and precipitate formation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 regarding the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Reimer et al. is directed to PVD coating which is different from the galvanized coating of Komatsu et al. The examiner cannot concur. PVD is only disclosed as an exemplary coating means by Reimer et al., wherein other means such as hot dip galvanization are also disclosed [0027]. Therefore, the examiner cannot concur with applicant’s unreasonably narrow interpretation of Reimer et al.
Applicant argues that the Zn coating composition of Reimer et al. is different from the Al-Zn-Si-Mg composition such that different native oxides will be present. The examiner cannot concur. Reimer et al. expressly broadly teaches Zn alloys, which encompasses Al-Zn-Si-Mg because this is an alloy of Zn as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill. Furthermore, Reimer et al. is never relied upon to teach the presence of native oxides. As stated above, native oxides would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Komatsu et al. because Komatsu et al. expressly teaches an overlapping coating composition and substantially similar method of preparation. The reliance upon Reimer et al. is merely to establish obvious of controlling pH during water cooling. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues that Reimer et al. does not teach continuous monitoring of pH. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Reimer et al. was never relied upon to teach this feature, such that applicant’s argument is moot.
Applicant appears to argue that the claimed parameters achieve unexpected results that are unobvious. The examiner cannot concur absent concrete evidence to the contrary commensurate in scope with the claimed ranges, which has not been provided (emphasis added). The examiner suggests that filing of an affidavit similar to the parent case 15/999,186 may potentially aid in overcoming the above art rejections.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 regarding the double patenting rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that a terminal disclaimer has been filed in the response filed 7/27/2026. However, no such terminal disclaimer appears to be present in the record. Therefore, the double patenting rejections still stand.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734