Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the thickness range of the 10-25 microns for the substrate is significant in that it allows for good tolerance to bending strain that can occur when wrapping tape strands around a wire former when forming a superconductor wire.
However, the specification (and it does not appear any other results) demonstrate that the properties would not be substantially similar at 30 microns. Additionally, as the superconductor wire of the prior art is substantially similar to that of the invention (See page 20, [00103-00105] of the specification), including strand layers, and HTS thickness (Lee; col. 4, lines 60-65; 2-10 microns) (as taught by Wang and Lee) and GdBCO composition (as taught by Majkic), it appears that the prior art teaches an engineering current density overlapping with that of claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 12, 15, 16, 18 absent a showing to the contrary. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3,5-8, 10, 12-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of the wire former in claims 1, 7 and 15 do not appear to be related to the overall structure of the superconductor wire. Please recite a relationship to the superconductor wire as exemplified by specification at [0043]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10, 12-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (“A viable dipole magnet concept with RECO CORC wires and further development…”) in view of Majkic (US 2019/0198745) and Lee (US 7774035) and Kar (“Next-generation highly flexible round REBCO STAR wires with over 580 A mm-2…”).
Regarding claims 1-3; Wang teaches a superconductor wire (abstract) comprising a first superconductor tape strand and a second superconductor tape strand (multiple layers of REBCO tape, page 2-3), each tape strand includes a substrate and superconductor film (page 2-3), wherein the conductor has a conductor diameter of 3.70 mm (abstract) and the superconductor exhibits an engineering density of 540 A mm-2 at 21 T and 4.2 K (abstract).
Wang fails to teach that the strand includes a buffer stack, metal layer, and a stabilizer layer.
Lee, however, teaches a superconducting tape (abstract) wherein the tape has a buffer layer stack (col. 3, lines 58-65), and a metal layer (silver capping layer; col. 4, line 65-col. 5, line 19), and a stabilizer layer overlying the metal layer (col. 9, lines 30-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide buffer layer stack, and a metal layer, and a stabilizer layer overlying the metal layer in Wang in order to provide a superconductor tape configuration known in the art as taught by Lee.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 10; Wang teaches that the wire has an engineering current density of 540 A mm-2 at 21 T and 4.2 K, Wang fails to teach the current density of at least 600 A/mm-2 at 20 T and 4.2 K.
Majkic, however, teaches a GdBCO superconductor tape (para. 0050) wherein the superconductor is doped with Zr doping such that (Ba + Zr)/Cu is greater than 0.72 for the purpose of providing greater critical current (para. 0061-0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the superconductor of Wang doped with Zr doping such that (Ba + Zr)/Cu is greater than 0.72 in order to provide greater critical current as taught by Majkic.
Additionally, as the superconductor wire of the prior art is substantially similar to that of the invention (See page 20, [00103-00105] of the specification), including strand layers, and HTS thickness (Lee; col. 4, lines 60-65; 2-10 microns) (as taught by Wang and Lee) and GdBCO composition (as taught by Majkic), it appears that the prior art teaches an engineering current density/critical current overlapping with that of claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 12, 15, 16, 18 absent a showing to the contrary. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 1, 7, 15, Wang teaches that the substrate is 30 microns (Table 1). This value appears to be close enough to 25 microns such that one of ordinary skill in the art would’ve expected the same properties. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches that the thickness of the stabilizer along a superconductor side of the tape (strand) is 40-50 microns (col. 9, lines 30-36).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 15; Wang teaches a product as described above in claim 1, but fails to teach a wire former having a diameter in a range from 0.5-1.1 mm.
Kar, however, teaches a REBCO wire (abstract) wherein the former has a diameter of 0.81 or 0.51 mm (page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the wire former of Wang having a diameter of 0.81 or 0.51 mm in order to provide a configuration known in the art as taught by Kar.
Regarding claim 7, as the superconductor wire of the prior art is substantially similar to that of the invention (See page 20, [00103-00105] of the specification), including strand layers including HTS thickness (Lee; col. 4, lines 60-65; 2-10 microns) (as taught by Wang, Lee, and Kar) and GdBCO composition (as taught by Majkic), it appears that the prior art teaches an engineering current density overlapping with that of claims 7, 8, 12, 15, 16, 18 absent a showing to the contrary. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). Regarding claim 8, Kar teaches that the retention of the wire is 86% at 15 mm bend radius at 77K (Table 2).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches that the substrate is 30 microns (Table 1). This value appears to be close enough to 25 microns such that one of ordinary skill in the art would’ve expected the same properties. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 10; Majkic teaches a GdBCO superconductor tape (para. 0050) wherein the superconductor is doped with Zr doping such that (Ba + Zr)/Cu is greater than 0.72 for the purpose of providing greater critical current (para. 0061-0063).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches cables comprising the superconductor wires (page 6-7).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches that the conductor diameter is 3.09 mm (Table 1). This appears to be so close to 3 mm that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the same properties. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches that the thickness of the stabilizer along a superconductor side of the tape (strand) is 40-50 microns (col. 9, lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 1, if the properties of claim 1 are additionally reliant upon the wire former diameter, this rejection will be applied herein.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (“A viable dipole magnet concept with RECO CORC wires and further development…”) in view of Majkic (US 2019/0198745) and Lee (US 7774035) and Kar (“Next-generation highly flexible round REBCO STAR wires with over 580 A mm-2…”) and DE 3853914.
Wang teaches a product as described above in claim 13, but fails to teach that the cable has a diameter from 3-18 mm.
914, however, teaches a superconductor cable made of superconductor wires (abstract, para. 0048) wherein the diameter of the cable is 7 mm (para. 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the superconductor cable of Wang having a diameter of 7 mm in order to provide a configuration known in the art as taught by 914.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735