DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II and species (a)(i) and (b)(i) in the reply filed on January 7, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the elected and nonelected subject matter are similar and there is no undue burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the inventions of Groups I and II have different classifications and thus meet the criteria for a serious search and examination burden. Regarding the species, the species within each subgenus are mutually exclusive, require different searches, and thus also meet the criteria for a serious burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first sensor" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Repice et al (US 20200324624) in view of Wessells et al (US 20030019231).
Regarding claim 13, Recipe et al. teach a transport refrigeration unit (TRU) and a method for performing pre-trip sequence and diagnostics for a leak sensor (see claims 6 and 20 of the reference). The method comprises validating the operation of a sensor (first component), operating an evaporator fan (second component) based at least in part on validating the operation of the sensor; then, responsive to operating the evaporator fan, determining if a leak (first fault) is in effect using the sensor; performing a refrigeration test of a refrigeration system (system of which the first and second components are parts), determining if a leak (second fault) is in effect using the sensor, and providing an alarm based at least in part on determining a leak (first or second fault) is present (see claim 6 of the reference). Regarding claim 15, the method is executed prior to a transportation run ([0033]). Regarding claims 16 and 20, the evaporator fan (second component) can be considered part of an “electrical subsystem” because it is electrically powered.
Recipe et al. does not expressly teach a component being “engaged with or is a component of a fuel cell” as recited in claim 13.
Wessells et al. teach an electrically powered trailer refrigeration unit. A fuel cell or multiple fuel cells power all of the refrigeration system electrical components (abstract).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing because the artisan would have been motivated to use a fuel cell to power the components of the TRU of Recipe et al. In [0005], Wessells et al. teach that a TRU can be provided with an electrical power system that provides the entire motor and control system power for the refrigeration system while at the same time meeting required space limitations. Accordingly, the artisan would have been motivated to use a fuel cell to power the components of the TRU of Recipe et al. Therefore, the existing components of Recipe et al. would be “engaged with a fuel cell” as recited in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, it is disclosed in [0039] that “It should be understood the method 300 can be repeated whenever the system is initially powered on and started or when manually initiated by an operator or administrator.” This is suggestive of the claimed test button coupled to the fuel cell that initiates the method when activated.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-16 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11407287 (Recipe et al) in view of Wessells et al. The ‘287 patent claims recite all the limitations of present claim 13 except for the component being “engaged with or is a component of a fuel cell” as recited in claim 13. However, Wessells teaches a fuel cell in a TRU as set forth in the rejection above. It would have been obvious to use a fuel cell in the system of the ‘287 patent claims for the reasons stated above. Accordingly, the instant claims are obvious variants of the ‘287 patent claims. Further, the test button recited in present claim 14 is also considered to be an obvious variation because it would be obvious to manually initiate the method of the ‘287 patent claims.
Conclusion
/Jonathan Crepeau/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725
March 5, 2026