DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 06/17/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 in a reply filed 06/17/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 17-20 “Bootstrap embedded eSIM should read “Bootstrap eSIM” to avoid introducing new matter not supported by the original specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katrib (US 20210068203 A1, hereinafter KATRIB) in view of XIONG et al. (US 20220104005 A1, hereinafter, XIONG) and in view of CHAUGULE et al. (US 20240007847 A1, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/367,594, filed Jul. 1, 2022 hereinafter, CHAUGULE).
Regarding claim 1, KATRIB discloses:
A wireless device (Fig. 1; Fig. 28; Fig. 14 – wireless device 172), comprising:
a subscriber identification module (SIM) device configured to provide a SIM service ([0162] a wireless device, such as the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the wireless device comprises of the SIM device in order to connect to the cellular tower to provide the SIM service - see [0043];); [0043] a subscriber identification module (SIM) card 125. The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users);
a processing system including a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations ([0245] FIG. 28 is a functional block diagram illustrating an example electronic system 2800... such as for example, and without limitations, the gateway devices, the electronic devices, the servers, etc., described above, may be implemented using the electronic system 2800... The electronic system 2800 may include a bus 2805, processing unit(s) 2810, a system memory 2820, a read-only memory (ROM) 2830, a permanent storage device 2835, input devices 2840, and output devices 2845; [0249] the system memory may store some of the instructions and data that the processor needs at runtime... From these various memory units, the processing unit(s) 2810 may retrieve instructions to execute and data to process in order to execute the processes of some embodiments) comprising:
provisioning the wireless device using a first cellular network connection initiated by the Bootstrap eSIM service or using a Wi-Fi network connection ([0050] The electronic devices 171-173 may connect to the gateway device 100 through wireless connections such as... Wi-Fi or Bluetooth; (hence the wireless device is provisioned using Wi-Fi));
establishing (Fig. 2) a local area connection (Fig. 14 – local network 145) with one or more devices including a home gateway (Fig. 14 – Gateway device 100), the home gateway configured to access data services over a broadband network ([0041] FIG. 1, a gateway device 100 may create and control a local network 145. Several electronic devices such as one or more video cameras 161 and one or more computing devices 171-173 may be connected to and communicate with the gateway device 100 through wireless and/or wired connections; [0038] The gateway device may provide connectivity through cellular towers, satellite links, wired Internet service provider (ISP) lines, third party hotspots, and mobile devices or mesh networks that may have cellular connectivity);
communicating with a backup service (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0164] The gateway device 100, in some embodiments, may prioritize transmissions using the link through the electronic device 172 in order to limit the bandwidth usage and/or to transmit and receive higher priority information; [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) associated with the SIM service ([0162]; [0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (the SIM device is connected to the cellular tower to provide the SIM service); [0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the second cellular network connection is associated with the subscriber cellular service (e.g., subscribed to cellular tower 1443 service provider) of the wireless device); [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140);
receiving an indication (Fig. 2 – 230, 274; Fig. 3 performance metrics; [0054] The electronic device 200 may be wirelessly connected (as shown by 230) to the gateway device 100... In this example, the activities performed by the gateway device 100 include transferring data 271 by different applications running on the gateway device 100, configuring 272 different ports, connecting and disconnecting 273 devices to different ports, establishing and losing 274 cellular connections, etc; [0161] the gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless connection 1405 to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 has failed, or the performance (e.g., the bandwidth and/or the transmission speed) of the connection has fallen below a threshold) that the data services over the broadband network are unavailable ([0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172; [0161] the gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless connection 1405 to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 has failed, or the performance (e.g., the bandwidth and/or the transmission speed) of the connection has fallen below a threshold; [0162] The gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless device, such as the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100);
in response to receiving the indication that the data services over the broadband network are unavailable (Fig. 2 – 274; [0161]; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172. The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140):
wherein a second cellular network connection is established (Fig. 14 – 1443) using the SIM service ([0162]; [0043] (the SIM device is connected to the cellular tower to provide the SIM service);) associated with a cellular provider service of the wireless device (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the second cellular network connection is associated with the subscriber cellular service (e.g., subscribed to cellular tower 1443 service provider) of the wireless device)); and
providing backup data services ([0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available) to the one or more devices (Fig. 14 – local network 145; [0041] gateway device 100 may create and control a local network 145. Several electronic devices such as one or more video cameras 161 and one or more computing devices 171-173 may be connected to and communicate with the gateway device 100 through wireless and/or wired connections) via the second cellular network connection ([0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) according to the SIM service ([0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (hence the second cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider))).
KATRIB does not explicitly disclose :
a Bootstrap embedded SIM (eSIM) device configured to provide a Bootstrap eSIM service;
communicating with an entitlement server to register for a Bootstrap backup service associated with the Bootstrap eSIM service;
initiating, by the Bootstrap eSIM service, a second cellular network connection;
wherein a subscriber cellular data service of the wireless device is associated with a primary access point name (APN); and
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN.
However, XIONG discloses:
a Bootstrap embedded SIM (eSIM) device (Fig. 2 – eSIM 208) configured to provide a Bootstrap eSIM service ([0045] and wireless devices 102 supplied for educational use, such as at home, remote study, where in some cases access to wireless local area network or fully functional cellular connections may be unavailable, at least during a portion of activation and/or setup processes... The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity (restricted access to one or more particular network access point names) and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes and not for normal customer data use));
communicating with a Mobile Network Operator (MNO) server to register for a Bootstrap backup service associated with the Bootstrap eSIM service ([0045] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity... and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes (bootstrap backup service when wifi is not available during activation and setup) and not for normal customer data use).... The IT administrator 302 can communicate with an MNO 114, e.g., by communicating with one or more MNO servers 552.... to pre-release fully functional eSIMs 208 for the set of wireless devices 102, where the IT administrator 302 provides unique identifiers for the set of wireless devices 102 to the MNO 114, e.g., EID values for the eUICCs 108 of the wireless devices 102 on which the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302 (or another representative of the organization purchasing and/or managing the set of wireless devices 102) accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102; [0046] bootstrap eSIM 208 can remain in the wireless device 102 after disablement and be re-enabled if required for management of the wireless device 102 (the bootstrap eSIM service includes re-enabling the bootstrap eSIM service to install another eSIM service or cellular service plan, hence a bootstrap backup service) when another cellular wireless or non-cellular wireless connection is unavailable... the wireless device 102 an roam out of a coverage area for the cellular service provider (or associated roaming providers) for the fully functional eSIM 208, WLAN (Wi-Fi) coverage is unavailable, etc... bootstrap eSIM 208 is re-enabled to install another fully functional eSIM 208 or to manage MDM plans or cellular wireless service plans for the wireless device 102);
initiating, by the Bootstrap eSIM service (Fig. 5F – device activation via bootstrap eSIM connection), a second cellular network connection ([0045] the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302... accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102; [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208; vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile; [0048] FIG. 6... an example of cellular service plan management with dual profiles (SIMs and/or eSIMs 208) on a wireless device 102. A dual profile wireless device 102 can allow a user to select one profile (e.g., a SIM or eSIM 208) to use for personal communication and a second profile (e.g., another SIM or eSIM 208) for business enterprise usage... When a dual profile mode configuration does occur, a user can tap on the notification alert to enter a configuration flow that launches a cellular wireless service plan configuration user interface (UI) through which the user can configure the dual profile mode for the wireless device 102);
wherein a subscriber cellular data service of the wireless device is associated with a primary access point name (APN) associated with a subscriber cellular data service ([0045] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity (restricted access to one or more particular network access point names) (e.g., primary APN associated with the bootstrap eSIM device limited subscriber cellular data service) and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes and not for normal customer data use); [0031] techniques for management of cellular service profiles, e.g., subscriber identity modules (SIMS) and electronic/embedded SIMs (eSIMs)); and
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN ([0045] (e.g., primary APN associated with the bootstrap eSIM device); [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208 (hence the second network connection is established using the bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN); vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to substitute the SIM device, the SIM service and modify the second cellular network connection of KATRIB to include the Bootstrap eSIM device configured to provide the Bootstrap eSIM service; communicating with the MNO server to register for the Bootstrap backup service associated with the Bootstrap eSIM service; initiating, by the Bootstrap eSIM service, the second cellular network connection; wherein the subscriber cellular data service of the wireless device is associated with the APN; and wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and manage the use of cellular service profiles and have a better control of cellular service expenses (XIONG – [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208).
KATRIB and XIONG do not explicitly disclose:
the MNO server includes an entitlement server.
However, CHAUGULE discloses:
an MNO server includes an entitlement server ([0043] a cellular wireless connection via a SIM or eSIM profile 208 (i.e., other than the eSIM profile being provisioned), or via a limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208. When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208, only certain servers can communicate with the wireless device 102. For example, the MNO entitlement server 502, the MNO SM-DP+ server 506, and the manufacturer discovery server may be reachable by the wireless device 102, but the manufacturer notification server 510 may be unable to communicate with the wireless device 102 via the bootstrap eSIM 208. At 512, the wireless device 102 authenticates with an MNO entitlement server 502 to trigger setup of an eSIM profile 208... At 516, the MNO entitlement server 502 sends a message to an MNO backend server 504 to provision the eSIM profile for cellular wireless service.. At 518, the MNO entitlement server 502 responds to the wireless device 102 with a message that includes a unique identifier for the eSIM profile 208 to be downloaded, e.g., an ICCID value of the eSIM profile 208).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the MNO server of KATRIB and XIONG to include the entitlement server as taught by CHAUGULE in order to access the cellular wireless services of the MNO of the bootstrap eSIM by using the entitlement server to help facilitate the authentication and transmission of the provision eSIM profile for cellular network of the bootstrap eSIM device that are necessary for the provision eSIM profile for cellular network, thus help improving the eSIM profile provisioning and installation process (CHAUGULE – [0043] exemplary delays and communication issues that can occur during an eSIM profile provisioning, installation, and activation process... When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208... but the manufacturer notification server 510 may be unable to communicate with the wireless device 102 via the bootstrap eSIM 208; [0044] an exemplary delayed eSIM provisioning monitor mode implemented by a wireless device 102 to accommodate one or more delays during provisioning of an eSIM profile 208 to the wireless device 102... At 602, the wireless device 102 receives, from an MNO entitlement server 502, an eSIM installation response that includes a unique identifier... the eSIM installation response from the MNO entitlement server 502 indicates whether the wireless device 102 should use the indirect mode querying the manufacturer discovery server 508 or the direct mode querying the MNO SM-DP+ server 506).
Regarding claim 2, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the operations further ([0245]; [0249];) comprise:
receiving a second indication (Fig. 2 – 230, 274; Fig. 3 performance metrics; [0054] The electronic device 200 may be wirelessly connected (as shown by 230) to the gateway device 100... In this example, the activities performed by the gateway device 100 include transferring data 271 by different applications running on the gateway device 100, configuring 272 different ports, connecting and disconnecting 273 devices to different ports, establishing and losing 274 cellular connections, etc) that the data services over the broadband network are again available ([0164] The gateway device 100 may periodically check the other communication links, such as the direct link to the wireless service provider infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device 100 is subscribed), wired link(s), satellite link(s), etc., and reestablish the link(s) once the link(s) become(s) available or the performance of the link(s) is/are above a threshold); and
discontinuing the providing backup data services ([0164] reestablish the link(s) once the link(s) become(s) available (hence the gateway is no longer using the cellular network 1443 of the wireless device 172)); [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160]-[0163];) to the one or more devices (Fig. 14 – 145; [0041];) over the cellular network according to the SIM service ([0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (hence the second cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider))).
KATRIB and CHAUGULE do not explicitly disclose:
the Bootstrap eSIM service.
However, XIONG discloses a Bootstrap eSIM service (Fig. 5F – device activation via bootstrap eSIM connection; [0045] the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302... accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102; [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208; vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile; [0048] FIG. 6... an example of cellular service plan management with dual profiles (SIMs and/or eSIMs 208) on a wireless device 102. A dual profile wireless device 102 can allow a user to select one profile (e.g., a SIM or eSIM 208) to use for personal communication and a second profile (e.g., another SIM or eSIM 208) for business enterprise usage... When installation of an eSIM 208 on the wireless device 102 for business use, e.g., via the MDM system... When a dual profile mode configuration does occur, a user can tap on the notification alert to enter a configuration flow that launches a cellular wireless service plan configuration user interface (UI) through which the user can configure the dual profile mode for the wireless device 102);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the SIM service of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include the Bootstrap eSIM service as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices and eSIM service (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and further enables the wireless device to download another fully functional eSIM if the current eSIM for the cellular network connection is no longer available and thus, helps prevent cellular data interruption (XIONG – [0046] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can remain in the wireless device 102 after disablement and be re-enabled if required for management of the wireless device 102 when another cellular wireless or non-cellular wireless connection is unavailable. For example, a cellular wireless service plan associated with the fully functional eSIM 208 can expire, the wireless device 102 an roam out of a coverage area for the cellular service provider (or associated roaming providers) for the fully functional eSIM 208, WLAN (Wi-Fi) coverage is unavailable, etc. In some embodiments, the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 is re-enabled to install another fully functional eSIM 208 or to manage MDM plans or cellular wireless service plans for the wireless device 102).
Regarding claim 3, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the communicating with the backup service (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0164] The gateway device 100, in some embodiments, may prioritize transmissions using the link through the electronic device 172 in order to limit the bandwidth usage and/or to transmit and receive higher priority information; [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140), by the SIM service ([0162] (the wireless device comprises of the SIM device in order to connect to the cellular tower to provide the SIM data service - see [0043];), the second cellular network connection (Fig. 14 – 1443; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140).
KATRIB does not explicitly disclose:
the communicating with the entitlement server comprises registering for the Bootstrap backup service prior to initiating, by the Bootstrap eSIM service.
However, XIONG discloses:
the communicating with the MNO server comprises registering for the Bootstrap backup service prior to initiating, by the Bootstrap eSIM service ([0045] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity... and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes and not for normal customer data use).... The IT administrator 302 can communicate with an MNO 114, e.g., by communicating with one or more MNO servers 552.... to pre-release fully functional eSIMs 208 for the set of wireless devices 102, where the IT administrator 302 provides unique identifiers for the set of wireless devices 102 to the MNO 114, e.g., EID values for the eUICCs 108 of the wireless devices 102 on which the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302 (or another representative of the organization purchasing and/or managing the set of wireless devices 102) accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later (hence the bootstrap backup service is registered prior to the initiating of the second cellular network connection) for the set of wireless devices 102; [0046] bootstrap eSIM 208 can remain in the wireless device 102 after disablement and be re-enabled if required for management of the wireless device 102 (the bootstrap eSIM service includes re-enabling the bootstrap eSIM service to install another eSIM service or cellular service plan, hence a bootstrap backup service, e.g., when the second cellular network connection is unavailable) when another cellular wireless or non-cellular wireless connection is unavailable).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the backup service and the SIM service of the wireless device of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include the communicating with the MNO server comprises registering for the Bootstrap backup service prior to initiating, by the Bootstrap eSIM service, the second cellular network connection as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices and eSIM service (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208). Furthermore, registering the bootstrap backup service prior to initiating the cellular network enables the wireless device to download another fully functional eSIM if the current eSIM for the cellular network connection is no longer available and thus, helps prevent cellular data interruption (XIONG – [0046] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can remain in the wireless device 102 after disablement and be re-enabled if required for management of the wireless device 102 when another cellular wireless or non-cellular wireless connection is unavailable. For example, a cellular wireless service plan associated with the fully functional eSIM 208 can expire, the wireless device 102 an roam out of a coverage area for the cellular service provider (or associated roaming providers) for the fully functional eSIM 208, WLAN (Wi-Fi) coverage is unavailable, etc. In some embodiments, the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 is re-enabled to install another fully functional eSIM 208 or to manage MDM plans or cellular wireless service plans for the wireless device 102).
KATRIB and XIONG do not explicitly disclose:
the MNO server includes an entitlement server.
However, CHAUGULE discloses:
an MNO server includes an entitlement server ([0043] a cellular wireless connection via a SIM or eSIM profile 208 (i.e., other than the eSIM profile being provisioned), or via a limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208. When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208, only certain servers can communicate with the wireless device 102. For example, the MNO entitlement server 502, the MNO SM-DP+ server 506, and the manufacturer discovery server may be reachable by the wireless device 102, but the manufacturer notification server 510 may be unable to communicate with the wireless device 102 via the bootstrap eSIM 208. At 512, the wireless device 102 authenticates with an MNO entitlement server 502 to trigger setup of an eSIM profile 208... At 516, the MNO entitlement server 502 sends a message to an MNO backend server 504 to provision the eSIM profile for cellular wireless service.. At 518, the MNO entitlement server 502 responds to the wireless device 102 with a message that includes a unique identifier for the eSIM profile 208 to be downloaded, e.g., an ICCID value of the eSIM profile 208).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the MNO server of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include entitlement server as taught by CHAUGULE in order to access the cellular wireless services of the MNO when the bootstrap eSIM by using the entitlement server to help facilitate the authentication and transmission of the provision eSIM profile for cellular network the bootstrap eSIM device necessary the provision eSIM profile for cellular network, thus help improving the eSIM profile provisioning and installation process (CHAUGULE – [0043] exemplary delays and communication issues that can occur during an eSIM profile provisioning, installation, and activation process... When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208... but the manufacturer notification server 510 may be unable to communicate with the wireless device 102 via the bootstrap eSIM 208; [0044] an exemplary delayed eSIM provisioning monitor mode implemented by a wireless device 102 to accommodate one or more delays during provisioning of an eSIM profile 208 to the wireless device 102... At 602, the wireless device 102 receives, from an MNO entitlement server 502, an eSIM installation response that includes a unique identifier... the eSIM installation response from the MNO entitlement server 502 indicates whether the wireless device 102 should use the indirect mode querying the manufacturer discovery server 508 or the direct mode querying the MNO SM-DP+ server 506).
Regarding claim 4, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the operations further ([0245]; [0249];) comprise:
the second cellular network connection (Fig. 14 – 1443; [0043] (the SIM device is connected to the cellular tower to provide the SIM service); [0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the second cellular network connection is associated with the subscriber cellular service (e.g., subscribed to cellular tower 1443 service provider) of the wireless device))) and providing the backup data services ([0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140).
KATRIB and CHAUGULE do not explicitly disclose:
determining the second cellular connection is a first time activation;
in response to the determining the first time activation, receiving user input via an application to activate the Bootstrap backup service.
However, XIONG discloses:
determining initiating a second cellular connection is a first time activation (Fig. 5F – 11-14; [0045] the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302... accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102; [0046] After delivery to an end user, the wireless device 102 can execute an “out-of-box” device activation process using a cellular wireless connection to one or more activation servers 506 based credentials of the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-loaded in the wireless device 102);
in response to the determining the first time activation (Fig. 5F; [0045]; [0046];), receiving user input via an application (Fig. 6; [0048] When installation of an eSIM 208 on the wireless device 102 for business enterprise use, e.g., via the MDM system, results in a dual profile mode... a simple notification alert can be provided with an option for subsequent follow-up for the user to configure the dual profile setup... When a dual profile mode configuration does occur, a user can tap on the notification alert to enter a configuration flow that launches a cellular wireless service plan configuration user interface (UI) through which the user can configure the dual profile mode for the wireless device 102) to activate a Bootstrap backup service (Fig. 5F – 5; Fig. 5G – 582; [0045] In some scenarios, the set of mobile wireless devices 102 (or at least one of them) can be expected to be activated in a location that lacks a separate wireless local area network, e.g., Wi-Fi, connection and without a fully functional eSIM 208... where in some cases access to wireless local area network or fully functional cellular connections may be unavailable, at least during a portion of activation and/or setup processes. As such, the organization can plan for activation and setup of a wireless device 102 to occur instead using the pre-installed limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 instead, at least until a fully functional eSIM 208 can be downloaded and installed to the wireless device 102; [0047] The activation flow can be initiated as part of an unboxing or other setup process for the wireless device 102... device activation via bootstrap eSIM connection... When any of the conditions at 568, 570, or 572 are not met, the wireless device 102, at 582, can optionally configure to use the bootstrap eSIM 208 for full eSIM 208 installation after the setup process completes... The steps shown in FIG. 5G can be performed with minimal interaction by the user of the wireless device 102. In some embodiments, the steps can be performed automatically upon power on the wireless device 102 without requiring the user to enter any information. In this manner, initial activation, setup, and configuration for a particular organization with remote management of the wireless device 102 can be accomplished with zero touch by the user of the wireless device 102).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the operations of the second cellular network connection of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include determining the second cellular connection is the first time activation and in response to the determining the first time activation, receiving the user input via the application to activate the Bootstrap backup service as taught by XIONG to be able to setup cellular network connections during the first time activation even when wi-fi is not available and also to be able to manage multiple cellular service profiles to better control and track cellular service expenses (XIONG - [0045] the set of mobile wireless devices 102 (or at least one of them) can be expected to be activated in a location that lacks a separate wireless local area network, e.g., Wi-Fi, connection and without a fully functional eSIM 208... As such, the organization can plan for activation and setup of a wireless device 102 to occur instead using the pre-installed limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 instead, at least until a fully functional eSIM 208 can be downloaded and installed to the wireless device 102; [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208; [0048] A dual profile wireless device 102 can allow a user to select one profile (e.g., a SIM or eSIM 208) to use for personal communication and a second profile (e.g., another SIM or eSIM 208) for business enterprise usage).
Regarding claim 5, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the providing backup data services (Fig. 14; [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160]-[0163];) comprises:
providing a content item from a third-party content provider (Fig. 14 – 161, 180; [0068] The third party video streaming applications may include, for example, and without limitations, network device interface (NDI), YouTube Live, Facebook Live, Twitch, and similar applications; [0164] The gateway device 100, in some embodiments, may prioritize transmissions using the link through the electronic device 172 in order to limit the bandwidth usage and/or to transmit and receive higher priority information. The gateway device 100 may periodically check the other communication links, such as the direct link to the wireless service provider infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device 100 is subscribed), wired link(s), satellite link(s), etc., and reestablish the link(s) once the link(s) become(s) available or the performance of the link(s) is/are above a threshold) to a video device (Fig. 14 – 171, 173; [0051] electronic devices 172 and 173 may be displaying the same video content and/or the same status messages as the gateway device 100; [0080] The gateway device 100 may encrypt the compressed video data and may livestream the compressed (and encrypted) video data through a wireless link to a nearby cellular tower 141... The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145), wherein the video device is in data communication with the wireless device (Fig. 14 – 172; [0080] The livestream may then be broadcast through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140 and/or additional cellular towers 142 (livestream is broadcasted using the wireless device service provider in Fig. 14) to one or more destination devices 101-102 and 151-155. The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145) over the local area connection (Fig. 14 – local network 145, gateway device 100; [0080];), and wherein the content item is received (Fig. 14 – 171, 173; [0051] electronic devices 172 and 173 may be displaying the same video content and/or the same status messages as the gateway device 100; [0080] The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145) via the second cellular network connection (Fig. 14 – 1443; [0080] (livestream is broadcasted using the wireless device service provider in Fig. 14);) established using the SIM service ([0162]; [0043] (the SIM device is connected to the cellular tower to provide the SIM service);) associated with the cellular provider service of the wireless device (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the second cellular network connection is associated with the subscriber cellular service (e.g., subscribed to cellular tower 1443 service provider) of the wireless device)).
KATRIB and CHAUGULE do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN.
However, XIONG discloses:
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN ([0045] (e.g., primary APN associated with the bootstrap eSIM device); [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208 (hence the second network connection is established using the bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN); vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to substitute the SIM service and modify the second cellular network connection of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices with the eSIM services (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and manage the use of cellular service profiles and have a better control of cellular service expenses and data connection (XIONG – [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208).
Regarding claim 6, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the providing backup data services (Fig. 14; [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160]-[0163];) comprises:
providing internet access to one or more websites ([0068] The third party video streaming applications may include, for example, and without limitations, network device interface (NDI), YouTube Live, Facebook Live, Twitch, and similar applications) for a computer device (Fig. 14 – 171, 173; [[0051] electronic devices 172 and 173 may be displaying the same video content and/or the same status messages as the gateway device 100; [0080] The gateway device 100... The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145), wherein the computer device is in data communication with the wireless device (Fig. 14 – 172; [0080] The livestream may then be broadcast through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140 and/or additional cellular towers 142 (livestream is broadcasted using the wireless device service provider in Fig. 14) to one or more destination devices 101-102 and 151-155. The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145) over the local area connection (Fig. 14 – local network 145, gateway device 100; [0080];), and
wherein the internet access is provided over the second cellular network connection (Fig. 14 – 1443; [0080] (livestream is broadcasted using the wireless device service provider in Fig. 14);) established using the SIM service ([0162]; [0043] (the SIM device is connected to the cellular tower to provide the SIM service);) associated with the cellular provider service of the wireless device (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the second cellular network connection is associated with the subscriber cellular service (e.g., subscribed to cellular tower 1443 service provider) of the wireless device)).
KATRIB and CHAUGULE do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN.
However, XIONG discloses:
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN ([0045] (e.g., primary APN associated with the bootstrap eSIM device); [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208 (hence the second network connection is established using the bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN); vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to substitute the SIM service and modify the second cellular network connection of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices with the eSIM services (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and manage the use of cellular service profiles and have a better control of cellular service expenses and data connection (XIONG – [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208).
Regarding claim 7, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the establishing (Fig. 2) a local area connection (Fig. 14 – local network 145) with one or more devices including a home gateway (Fig. 14 – Gateway device 100) comprises:
initiating a Wi-Fi local area network (Fig. 14 – local network 145; [0050] The electronic devices 171-173 may connect to the gateway device 100 through wireless connections such as, for example, and without limitations, Wi-Fi or Bluetooth; [0040] a gateway device to create a local network and connect the local network to one or more other networks; [0042] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, be a combination of a modem and a router... A typical use for a router is to create a local area network (LAN) where the router may assign a local IP address to each device in the LAN and may control the packet traffic on the network. A typical use for a modem is to connect a network (e.g., a local network created by a router) to an ISP);
establishing the wireless device as a hotspot ([0161]; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172 (hence hotspot). The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) in data communication with the Wi-Fi local area network (Fig. 14; [0050]; [0040]; [0042];); and
adding the one or more devices to the Wi-Fi local area network ([0050] The electronic devices 171-173 may connect to the gateway device 100 through wireless connections such as, for example, and without limitations, Wi-Fi or Bluetooth);
wherein the backup data services are provided ([0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available) to the one or more devices (Fig. 14 – local network 145; [0041] gateway device 100 may create and control a local network 145. Several electronic devices such as one or more video cameras 161 and one or more computing devices 171-173 may be connected to and communicate with the gateway device 100 through wireless and/or wired connections) via the hotspot and via the second cellular network connection ([0159] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (hence hotspot)... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) established using the SIM service ([0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (hence the second cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider))).
KATRIB and CHAUGULE do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN.
However, XIONG discloses:
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN ([0045] (e.g., primary APN associated with the bootstrap eSIM device); [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208 (hence the second network connection is established using the bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN); vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to substitute the SIM service and modify the second cellular network connection of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices with the eSIM services (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and manage the use of cellular service profiles and have a better control of cellular service expenses and data connection (XIONG – [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208).
Regarding claim 8, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the receiving an indication (Fig. 2 – 230, 274; Fig. 3 performance metrics; [0054] The electronic device 200 may be wirelessly connected (as shown by 230) to the gateway device 100... In this example, the activities performed by the gateway device 100 include transferring data 271 by different applications running on the gateway device 100, configuring 272 different ports, connecting and disconnecting 273 devices to different ports, establishing and losing 274 cellular connections, etc) that the data services over the broadband network are unavailable ([0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172; [0161] the gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless connection 1405 to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 has failed, or the performance (e.g., the bandwidth and/or the transmission speed) of the connection has fallen below a threshold; [0162] The gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless device, such as the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100) comprises:
receiving, from the home gateway, an indication that the home gateway is no longer in data communication with a device of the broadband network (Fig. 2 – 230, 274; Fig. 3 performance metrics; [0054] The electronic device 200 may be wirelessly connected (as shown by 230) to the gateway device 100... In this example, the activities performed by the gateway device 100 include transferring data 271 by different applications running on the gateway device 100, configuring 272 different ports, connecting and disconnecting 273 devices to different ports, establishing and losing 274 cellular connections, etc; [0161] the gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless connection 1405 to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 has failed, or the performance (e.g., the bandwidth and/or the transmission speed) of the connection has fallen below a threshold), and wherein the initiating of the second cellular network connection is responsive to receiving the indication from the home gateway (Fig. 2 – 274; [0161]; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172. The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140).
Regarding claim 9, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the operations further ([0245]; [0249];) comprise:
initiating an initial operation of the wireless device (Fig. 14 – local network 145; [0050] The electronic devices 171-173 may connect to the gateway device 100 through wireless connections such as... Wi-Fi or Bluetooth);
accessing the SIM device of the wireless device (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443); [0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (hence the second cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider)));
based on information of the SIM device, establishing a data session with the cellular network (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0162]; [0043] (the SIM device is connected to the cellular tower to provide the SIM service););
the second cellular network connection (Fig. 14 – 1443; [0080] (livestream is broadcasted using the wireless device service provider in Fig. 14);) is established using the SIM service ([0162]; [0043] (the SIM device is connected to the cellular tower to provide the SIM service);) associated with the cellular provider service of the wireless device (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the second cellular network connection is associated with the subscriber cellular service (e.g., subscribed to cellular tower 1443 service provider) of the wireless device)).
KATRIB and CHAUGULE do not explicitly disclose:
receiving a carrier-specific eSIM for initial provisioning of the wireless device; and
subsequently, accessing the carrier-specific eSIM for establishing subsequent data sessions of the wireless device with the cellular network;
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN while the carrier-specific eSIM remains stored on the wireless device.
However, XIONG discloses:
receiving a carrier-specific eSIM for initial provisioning (Fig. 5F, Step. 8; [0003] The SIMs and/or eSIMs can provide for a combination of personal cellular plans/profiles and business enterprise managed cellular plans/profiles; [0045] In some embodiments, use of the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can be restricted to situations in which alternative access via another non-cellular connection or fully functional cellular connection is not available to the wireless device 102. The IT administrator 302 can communicate with an MNO 114, e.g., by communicating with one or more MNO servers 552 (which can include any of front-end, back-end, customer support, administrative function, service provisioning servers managed by the MNO 114) to pre-release fully functional eSIMs 208 for the set of wireless devices 102, where the IT administrator 302 provides unique identifiers for the set of wireless devices 102 to the MNO 114, e.g., EID values for the eUICCs 108 of the wireless devices 102 on which the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302 (or another representative of the organization purchasing and/or managing the set of wireless devices 102) accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102) of the wireless device ([0090] In some embodiments, a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102; ii) obtaining, from an activation server via the cellular wireless data connection, a configuration file for the wireless device 102; iii) determining a network address for an MNO provisioning server 116 based at least in part on information from the configuration file; iv) downloading, from the MNO provisioning server 116 via the cellular wireless data connection, a fully functional eSIM 208); and
subsequently, accessing the carrier-specific eSIM for establishing subsequent data sessions of the wireless device with the cellular network ([0090]; [0046] After delivery to an end user, the wireless device 102 can execute an “out-of-box” device activation process using a cellular wireless connection to one or more activation servers 506 based credentials of the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-loaded in the wireless device 102... The wireless device 102 can use information from the cloud configuration file to determine a network address for an MNO SMDP+ 542 (which can be one of the MNO servers 552) from which to download and install the previously pre-released, fully functional eSIM 208 for the wireless device 102... After installation and activation of the fully functional eSIM 208, the wireless device 102 disables the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 and establishes a new cellular connection using credentials from the fully functional eSIM 208... The wireless device 102 can download and install various applications, files, books, and other configuration actions performed based on information provided by the MDM profile. The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can remain in the wireless device 102 after disablement and be re-enabled if required for management of the wireless device 102 when another cellular wireless or non-cellular wireless connection is unavailable);
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN ([0090]; [0045] After installation and activation of the fully functional eSIM 208, the wireless device 102 disables the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 and establishes a new cellular connection using credentials from the fully functional eSIM 208. After re-establishing the new cellular connection, the wireless device 102 continues the device activation and setup process by downloading and installing an MDM profile from the MDM server 502; (e.g., primary APN associated with the bootstrap eSIM device)) while the carrier-specific eSIM remains stored on the wireless device ([0090]; [0046] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can remain in the wireless device 102 after disablement and be re-enabled if required for management of the wireless device 102 when another cellular wireless or non-cellular wireless connection is unavailable).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the SIM device of the wireless device and the second cellular network connection of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include receiving the carrier-specific eSIM for the initial provisioning of the wireless device; and subsequently, accessing the carrier-specific eSIM for establishing subsequent data sessions of the wireless device with the cellular network; wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN while the carrier-specific eSIM remains stored on the wireless device as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and manage the use of cellular service profiles and have a better control of cellular service expenses (XIONG – [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208). Furthermore, having the carrier-specific eSIM remains stored on the wireless device enables the wireless device to download another fully functional eSIM if the current eSIM is no longer available and thus, helps prevent cellular data interruption (XIONG – [0046] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can remain in the wireless device 102 after disablement and be re-enabled if required for management of the wireless device 102 when another cellular wireless or non-cellular wireless connection is unavailable. For example, a cellular wireless service plan associated with the fully functional eSIM 208 can expire, the wireless device 102 an roam out of a coverage area for the cellular service provider (or associated roaming providers) for the fully functional eSIM 208, WLAN (Wi-Fi) coverage is unavailable, etc. In some embodiments, the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 is re-enabled to install another fully functional eSIM 208 or to manage MDM plans or cellular wireless service plans for the wireless device 102).
Regarding claim 10, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the operations further ([0245]; [0249];) comprise:
accessing the SIM device (Fig. 2 – 274; [0161]; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172. The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) in response to the indication that the data services over the broadband network are unavailable (Fig. 2 – 230, 274; Fig. 3 performance metrics; [0054] The electronic device 200 may be wirelessly connected (as shown by 230) to the gateway device 100... In this example, the activities performed by the gateway device 100 include transferring data 271 by different applications running on the gateway device 100, configuring 272 different ports, connecting and disconnecting 273 devices to different ports, establishing and losing 274 cellular connections, etc; [0161] the gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless connection 1405 to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 has failed, or the performance (e.g., the bandwidth and/or the transmission speed) of the connection has fallen below a threshold);
based on information of the SIM device ([0162]; [0043] (the SIM device is connected to the cellular tower to provide the SIM service);), establishing a broadband backup data session with the cellular network (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the second cellular network connection is associated with the subscriber cellular service (e.g., subscribed to cellular tower 1443 service provider) of the wireless device); [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140); and
providing the backup data services ([0162]; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots) to the one or more devices (Fig. 14 – local network 145;) over the cellular network based on the information of the SIM device ([0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (hence the second cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider))).
KATRIB and CHAUGULE do not explicitly disclose:
the Bootstrap eSIM device.
However, XIONG discloses:
a Bootstrap eSIM device (Fig. 2 – eSIM 208; [0045] and wireless devices 102 supplied for educational use, such as at home, remote study, where in some cases access to wireless local area network or fully functional cellular connections may be unavailable, at least during a portion of activation and/or setup processes... The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity (restricted access to one or more particular network access point names) and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes and not for normal customer data use));
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to substitute the SIM device of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include the bootstrap eSIM device as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and manage the use of cellular service profiles and have a better control of cellular service expenses (XIONG – [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208).
Regarding claim 11, KATRIB discloses:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations ([0245] FIG. 28 is a functional block diagram illustrating an example electronic system 2800... such as for example, and without limitations, the gateway devices, the electronic devices, the servers, etc., described above, may be implemented using the electronic system 2800... The electronic system 2800 may include a bus 2805, processing unit(s) 2810, a system memory 2820, a read-only memory (ROM) 2830, a permanent storage device 2835, input devices 2840, and output devices 2845; [0249] the system memory may store some of the instructions and data that the processor needs at runtime... From these various memory units, the processing unit(s) 2810 may retrieve instructions to execute and data to process in order to execute the processes of some embodiments), the operations comprising:
initiating (Fig. 2) a wireless local area network with one or more devices (Fig. 14 – local network 145; [0041] FIG. 1, a gateway device 100 may create and control a local network 145. Several electronic devices such as one or more video cameras 161 and one or more computing devices 171-173 may be connected to and communicate with the gateway device 100 through wireless and/or wired connections; [0050] The electronic devices 171-173 may connect to the gateway device 100 through wireless connections such as... Wi-Fi or Bluetooth);
providing broadband data services to the one or more devices over the wireless local area network (Fig. 14 - 145; [0038] The gateway device may provide connectivity through cellular towers, satellite links, wired Internet service provider (ISP) lines, third party hotspots, and mobile devices or mesh networks that may have cellular connectivity), wherein the providing broadband data services comprises communicating data with a broadband network (Fig. 14 – 140, 1405; [0038]; [0043] the gateway device 100 may include... in order to wirelessly connect the gateway device 100, through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140);
identifying a failure in the communicating data with the broadband network (Fig. 14 - 1405; [0161] With reference to FIG. 14, the gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless connection 1405 to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 has failed, or the performance (e.g., the bandwidth and/or the transmission speed) of the connection has fallen below a threshold);
in response to identifying the failure in the communicating data with the broadband network ([0161]; [0162] The gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless device, such as the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100):
automatically initiating a hotspot connection with a wireless device ([0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172 (hence hotspot). The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) via a subscriber identity module (SIM) data service of the wireless device ([0162] a wireless device, such as the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the wireless device comprises of the SIM device in order to connect to the cellular tower to provide the SIM data service - see [0043];); [0043] a subscriber identification module (SIM) card 125. The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users),
wherein the automatically initiating the hotspot connection ([0163];) comprises communicating with the SIM data service ([0162] (the wireless device comprises of the SIM device in order to connect to the cellular tower to provide the SIM data service - see [0043];); [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172 (hence hotspot). The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140); and
providing backup broadband services ([0159] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available) to the one or more devices over the wireless local area network (Fig. 14 - 145) from the hotspot connection with the wireless device ([0163] The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140), wherein the hotspot connection is established as a second cellular network connection with a cellular network ([0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) using the SIM data service of the wireless device to access the cellular network (Fig. 14 – 172 wireless device, 1443; [0163] (the wireless device comprises of the SIM device in order to connect to the cellular tower to provide the SIM data service - see [0043];), wherein the second cellular network connection (Fig. 14 – 172 wireless device, 1443) is established using the SIM data service ([0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (hence the second cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider))).
KATRIB does not explicitly disclose:
a Bootstrap embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) data service;
communicating with an entitlement server to register for a Bootstrap backup service associated with the Bootstrap eSIM data service; and
the second cellular network connection using the Bootstrap eSIM data service, and
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM data service in place of a primary access point name (APN) associated with a subscriber cellular data service.
However, XIONG discloses:
a Bootstrap embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) (Fig. 2 – eSIM 208; Fig. 5 F - bootstrap eSIM 208) data service ([0045] and wireless devices 102 supplied for educational use, such as at home, remote study, where in some cases access to wireless local area network or fully functional cellular connections may be unavailable, at least during a portion of activation and/or setup processes... The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity (restricted access to one or more particular network access point names) and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes and not for normal customer data use));
communicating with a Mobile Network Operator (MNO) server to register for a Bootstrap backup service associated with the Bootstrap eSIM data service ([0045] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity... and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup (bootstrap backup service when wifi is not available during activation and setup) processes and not for normal customer data use).... The IT administrator 302 can communicate with an MNO 114, e.g., by communicating with one or more MNO servers 552.... to pre-release fully functional eSIMs 208 for the set of wireless devices 102, where the IT administrator 302 provides unique identifiers for the set of wireless devices 102 to the MNO 114, e.g., EID values for the eUICCs 108 of the wireless devices 102 on which the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302 (or another representative of the organization purchasing and/or managing the set of wireless devices 102) accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102; [0046] bootstrap eSIM 208 can remain in the wireless device 102 after disablement and be re-enabled if required for management of the wireless device 102 (the bootstrap eSIM service includes re-enabling the bootstrap eSIM service to install another eSIM service or cellular service plan, hence a bootstrap backup service) when another cellular wireless or non-cellular wireless connection is unavailable... the wireless device 102 an roam out of a coverage area for the cellular service provider (or associated roaming providers) for the fully functional eSIM 208, WLAN (Wi-Fi) coverage is unavailable, etc... bootstrap eSIM 208 is re-enabled to install another fully functional eSIM 208 or to manage MDM plans or cellular wireless service plans for the wireless device 102); and
a second cellular network connection using the Bootstrap eSIM data service ([0045] the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302... accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102; [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208; vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile; [0048] FIG. 6... an example of cellular service plan management with dual profiles (SIMs and/or eSIMs 208) on a wireless device 102. A dual profile wireless device 102 can allow a user to select one profile (e.g., a SIM or eSIM 208) to use for personal communication and a second profile (e.g., another SIM or eSIM 208) for business enterprise usage... When a dual profile mode configuration does occur, a user can tap on the notification alert to enter a configuration flow that launches a cellular wireless service plan configuration user interface (UI) through which the user can configure the dual profile mode for the wireless device 102), and
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM data service in place of a primary access point name (APN) ([0045] (e.g., primary APN associated with the bootstrap eSIM device); [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208 (hence the second network connection is established using the bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN); vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile) associated with a subscriber cellular data service ([0045] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity (restricted access to one or more particular network access point names) (e.g., primary APN associated with the bootstrap eSIM device limited subscriber cellular data service) and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes and not for normal customer data use); [0031] techniques for management of cellular service profiles, e.g., subscriber identity modules (SIMS) and electronic/embedded SIMs (eSIMs)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to substitute the SIM service and modify the second cellular network connection of KATRIB to include the Bootstrap eSIM service; communicating with the MNO server to register for the Bootstrap backup service associated with the Bootstrap eSIM service; the second cellular network connection using the Bootstrap eSIM data service and wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the Bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN associated with the subscriber cellular data service as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and manage the use of cellular service profiles and have a better control of cellular service expenses (XIONG – [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208).
KATRIB and XIONG do not explicitly disclose:
the MNO server includes an entitlement server.
However, CHAUGULE discloses:
an MNO server includes an entitlement server ([0043] a cellular wireless connection via a SIM or eSIM profile 208 (i.e., other than the eSIM profile being provisioned), or via a limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208. When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208, only certain servers can communicate with the wireless device 102. For example, the MNO entitlement server 502, the MNO SM-DP+ server 506, and the manufacturer discovery server may be reachable by the wireless device 102, but the manufacturer notification server 510 may be unable to communicate with the wireless device 102 via the bootstrap eSIM 208. At 512, the wireless device 102 authenticates with an MNO entitlement server 502 to trigger setup of an eSIM profile 208... At 516, the MNO entitlement server 502 sends a message to an MNO backend server 504 to provision the eSIM profile for cellular wireless service.. At 518, the MNO entitlement server 502 responds to the wireless device 102 with a message that includes a unique identifier for the eSIM profile 208 to be downloaded, e.g., an ICCID value of the eSIM profile 208).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the MNO server of KATRIB and XIONG to include the entitlement server as taught by CHAUGULE in order to access the cellular wireless services of the MNO of the bootstrap eSIM by using the entitlement server to help facilitate the authentication and transmission of the provision eSIM profile for cellular network of the bootstrap eSIM device that are necessary for the provision eSIM profile for cellular network, thus help improving the eSIM profile provisioning and installation process (CHAUGULE – [0043] exemplary delays and communication issues that can occur during an eSIM profile provisioning, installation, and activation process... When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208... but the manufacturer notification server 510 may be unable to communicate with the wireless device 102 via the bootstrap eSIM 208; [0044] an exemplary delayed eSIM provisioning monitor mode implemented by a wireless device 102 to accommodate one or more delays during provisioning of an eSIM profile 208 to the wireless device 102... At 602, the wireless device 102 receives, from an MNO entitlement server 502, an eSIM installation response that includes a unique identifier... the eSIM installation response from the MNO entitlement server 502 indicates whether the wireless device 102 should use the indirect mode querying the manufacturer discovery server 508 or the direct mode querying the MNO SM-DP+ server 506).
Regarding claim 12, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the operations ([0245]) further comprise: determining that data communication with the broadband network has resumed ([0164] The gateway device 100 may periodically check the other communication links, such as the direct link to the wireless service provider infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device 100 is subscribed), wired link(s), satellite link(s), etc., and reestablish the link(s) once the link(s) become(s) available or the performance of the link(s) is/are above a threshold) following the failure in the communicating data (Fig. 14 1405; [0161] With reference to FIG. 14, the gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless connection 1405 to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 has failed, or the performance (e.g., the bandwidth and/or the transmission speed) of the connection has fallen below a threshold); resuming the providing broadband data services ([0164] reestablish the link(s) once the link(s) become(s) available) to the one or more devices over the wireless local area network (Fig. 14 – local network 145; [0041]; [0050];); and terminating the hotspot connection with the wireless device ([0164] reestablish the link(s) once the link(s) become(s) available (hence the gateway is no longer using the cellular network 1443 of the wireless device 172)); [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160]-[0163];).
Regarding claim 13, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the providing broadband data services (Fig. 14 – 140, 1405; [0038]; [0043] the gateway device 100 may include... in order to wirelessly connect the gateway device 100, through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140) to the one or more devices over the wireless local area network (Fig. 14 – local network 145; [0041] FIG. 1, a gateway device 100 may create and control a local network 145. Several electronic devices such as one or more video cameras 161 and one or more computing devices 171-173 may be connected to and communicate with the gateway device 100 through wireless and/or wired connections; [0050] The electronic devices 171-173 may connect to the gateway device 100 through wireless connections such as... Wi-Fi or Bluetooth) comprises: requesting one or more streaming content items ([0040] The gateway device provides novel functionalities for livestreaming, data transfer, and collaboration during film production and post production; [0117] At block 845, a determination may be made whether a request is received from an electronic device to receive the edited version of the livestreamed content... a client device such as the client device 172 of FIGS. 5A-7 may display a notification such as the notification 620 of FIGS. 6-7 and may send a request to the gateway device to receive the edited livestream if a selection of the option 622 or the option 623 is received as shown in stages 602 of FIG. 6 and stage 702 of FIG. 7) from a third-party content provider (Fig. 14 – 161, 180; [0068] The third party video streaming applications may include, for example, and without limitations, network device interface (NDI), YouTube Live, Facebook Live, Twitch, and similar applications) over the broadband network (Fig. 14 – 140, 1405; [0038]; [0043]; The livestream may then be broadcast through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140... The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145); and providing the one or more streaming content items from the broadband network (Fig. 14 – 171, 173; [0051] electronic devices 172 and 173 may be displaying the same video content and/or the same status messages as the gateway device 100; [0080] The gateway device 100 may encrypt the compressed video data and may livestream the compressed (and encrypted) video data through a wireless link to a nearby cellular tower 141... The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145) to the one or more devices over the wireless local area network (Fig. 14 – local network 145, 140, 1405; [0038]; [0043]).
Regarding claim 14, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the providing backup broadband services (Fig. 14; [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160]-[0163];) comprises:
requesting the one or more streaming content items ([0040] The gateway device provides novel functionalities for livestreaming, data transfer, and collaboration during film production and post production; [0117] At block 845, a determination may be made whether a request is received from an electronic device to receive the edited version of the livestreamed content... a client device such as the client device 172 of FIGS. 5A-7 may display a notification such as the notification 620 of FIGS. 6-7 and may send a request to the gateway device to receive the edited livestream if a selection of the option 622 or the option 623 is received as shown in stages 602 of FIG. 6 and stage 702 of FIG. 7) from the third-party content provider (Fig. 14 – 161, 180; [0068] The third party video streaming applications may include, for example, and without limitations, network device interface (NDI), YouTube Live, Facebook Live, Twitch, and similar applications) over the cellular network (Fig. 14 – 1443; The livestream may then be broadcast through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140 and/or additional cellular towers 142 (livestream is broadcasted using the wireless device service provider in Fig. 14)... The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145; [0163]; [0164] The gateway device 100, in some embodiments, may prioritize transmissions using the link through the electronic device 172 in order to limit the bandwidth usage and/or to transmit and receive higher priority information); and
providing the one or more streaming content items (Fig. 14 – 171, 173; [0051] electronic devices 172 and 173 may be displaying the same video content and/or the same status messages as the gateway device 100; [0080] The gateway device 100 may encrypt the compressed video data and may livestream the compressed (and encrypted) video data through a wireless link to a nearby cellular tower 141... The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145) from the cellular network and the hotspot connection with the wireless device (Fig. 14 – 1443; [0163] The gateway device 100... transmissions using the link through the electronic device 172; [0159] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (hence hotspot)... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) to the one or more devices over the wireless local area network (Fig. 14 – 145; [0080] The gateway device 100 may encrypt the compressed video data and may livestream... The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145).
Regarding claim 15, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the wireless device is operative to access a SIM device of the wireless device ([0162] a wireless device, such as the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the wireless device comprises of the SIM device in order to connect to the cellular tower to provide the SIM service - see [0043];); [0043] a subscriber identification module (SIM) card 125. The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users) and,
based on information of the SIM device of the wireless device ([0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172; [0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (hence the data session with the cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider) of the SIM device)), establish a data session with the cellular network (Fig. 14- 1443; [0159] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) and wherein the operations ([0245]) further comprise:
receiving, from the wireless device over the hotspot connection (Fig. 14 – 1443), content data ([0051] the electronic device 171 may be using the gateway device 100 for other tasks such as, for example, and without limitation, accessing the Internet, exchanging emails, exchanging different type of files with remote destinations, etc) from the second cellular network connection with the cellular network ([0163] The gateway device 100... transmissions using the link through the electronic device 172; [0159] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160]-[0163];).
KATRIB and CHAUGULE do not explicitly disclose:
a Bootstrap eSIM device;
establish a Bootstrap data session with the cellular network.
However, XIONG discloses:
a Bootstrap eSIM device (Fig. 2 – eSIM 208; [0045] and wireless devices 102 supplied for educational use, such as at home, remote study, where in some cases access to wireless local area network or fully functional cellular connections may be unavailable, at least during a portion of activation and/or setup processes... The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity (restricted access to one or more particular network access point names) and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes and not for normal customer data use));
establish a Bootstrap data session with a second cellular network [0045] the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302... accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102; [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208; vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the SIM device of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include the Bootstrap eSIM device and establish the Bootstrap data session with the second cellular network as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices with the eSIM services (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and manage the use of cellular service profiles and have a better control of cellular service expenses and data connection (XIONG – [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208).
Regarding claim 16, KATRIB further discloses:
wherein the initiating a hotspot connection with a wireless device (Fig. 14 – 1443; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172 (hence hotspot). The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) comprises:
accessing a Wi-Fi network established by the wireless device (Fig. 14 – 145; [0164] The gateway device 100, in some embodiments, may prioritize transmissions using the link through the electronic device 172 in order to limit the bandwidth usage and/or to transmit and receive higher priority information; [0050] The electronic devices 171-173 may connect to the gateway device 100 through wireless connections such as... Wi-Fi or Bluetooth; [0051] the electronic device 171 may be using the gateway device 100 for other tasks such as, for example, and without limitation, accessing the Internet, exchanging emails, exchanging different type of files with remote destinations, etc).
Regarding claim 17, KATRIB discloses:
A method ([0245] FIG. 28, some embodiments of the invention, such as for example, and without limitations, the gateway devices, the electronic devices, the servers, etc., described above, may be implemented using the electronic system 2800. The electronic system 2800 may be used to execute any of the processes, methods, controls, or operating system applications described above... The electronic system 2800 may include a bus 2805, processing unit(s) 2810, a system memory 2820, a read-only memory (ROM) 2830, a permanent storage device 2835, input devices 2840, and output devices 2845; [0249] the system memory may store some of the instructions and data that the processor needs at runtime... From these various memory units, the processing unit(s) 2810 may retrieve instructions to execute and data to process in order to execute the processes of some embodiments), comprising:
provisioning, by a processing system including a processor ([0245];), a wireless device (Fig. 1; Fig. 28; Fig. 14 – wireless device 172) using a first cellular network connection initiated by a provisioning service of a Bootstrap embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) or using a Wi-Fi network connection ([0050] The electronic devices 171-173 may connect to the gateway device 100 through wireless connections such as... Wi-Fi or Bluetooth);
establishing (Fig. 2), by the processing system ([0245];), a hotspot network (Fig. 14 – 1443; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172 (hence hotspot). The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) with one or more devices including a home gateway (Fig. 14 – Gateway device 100; [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available), the home gateway configured to access broadband data services over a broadband network ([0041] FIG. 1, a gateway device 100 may create and control a local network 145. Several electronic devices such as one or more video cameras 161 and one or more computing devices 171-173 may be connected to and communicate with the gateway device 100 through wireless and/or wired connections; [0038] The gateway device may provide connectivity through cellular towers, satellite links, wired Internet service provider (ISP) lines, third party hotspots, and mobile devices or mesh networks that may have cellular connectivity);
communicating, by the processing system ([0245];), with a backup service (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0164] The gateway device 100, in some embodiments, may prioritize transmissions using the link through the electronic device 172 in order to limit the bandwidth usage and/or to transmit and receive higher priority information; [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) associated with data services of a SIM ([0162]; [0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (the SIM device is connected to the cellular tower to provide the SIM data services); [0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the second cellular network connection is associated with the subscriber cellular service (e.g., subscribed to cellular tower 1443 service provider) of the wireless device); [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140);
receiving , by the processing system ([0245];), from the home gateway (Fig. 2 – 230, 274; Fig. 3 performance metrics; [0054] The electronic device 200 may be wirelessly connected (as shown by 230) to the gateway device 100... In this example, the activities performed by the gateway device 100 include transferring data 271 by different applications running on the gateway device 100, configuring 272 different ports, connecting and disconnecting 273 devices to different ports, establishing and losing 274 cellular connections, etc; [0161] the gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless connection 1405 to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 has failed, or the performance (e.g., the bandwidth and/or the transmission speed) of the connection has fallen below a threshold), an indication that the broadband data services are unavailable ([0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172; [0161] the gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless connection 1405 to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 has failed, or the performance (e.g., the bandwidth and/or the transmission speed) of the connection has fallen below a threshold; [0162] The gateway device 100 may determine that a wireless device, such as the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100);
in response to receiving the indication that the broadband data services are unavailable (Fig. 2 – 274; [0161]; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172. The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140):
accessing, by the processing system ([0245];), a SIM of the wireless device ([0162] a wireless device, such as the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the wireless device comprises of the SIM device in order to connect to the cellular tower to provide the SIM data service - see [0043];),
initiating, by the processing system ([0245];), a second cellular network connection with a cellular network ([0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device is subscribed) through the electronic device 172 (hence hotspot). The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140), wherein the initiating the second cellular network connection ([0163];) is based on a data service of the SIM ([0162] (the wireless device comprises of the SIM device in order to connect to the cellular tower to provide the SIM data service - see [0043];); [0043] a subscriber identification module (SIM) card 125. The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users), wherein the second cellular network connection (Fig. 14 – 172 wireless device, 1443) is established using the data service of the SIM [0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (hence the second cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider)));
and providing, by the processing system ([0245];), backup data services from the second cellular network connection to the home gateway ([0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available) over the hotspot network (Fig. 14 – 1443) according to the data service of the SIM ([0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140; [0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (hence the second cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider))).
KATRIB does not explicitly disclose:
Communicating, with a Mobile Network Operator (MNO) server to register for a Bootstrap backup service associated with data services of the Bootstrap embedded eSIM;
the second cellular network connection is based on a data service of the Bootstrap embedded eSIM;
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the data service of the Bootstrap embedded eSIM in place of a primary access point name (APN) associated with a subscriber cellular data service.
However, XIONG discloses:
Communicating, with a Mobile Network Operator (MNO) server to register for a Bootstrap backup service associated with data services of a Bootstrap embedded eSIM ([0045] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity... and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes (bootstrap backup service when wi-fi is not available during activation and setup) and not for normal customer data use).... The IT administrator 302 can communicate with an MNO 114, e.g., by communicating with one or more MNO servers 552.... to pre-release fully functional eSIMs 208 for the set of wireless devices 102, where the IT administrator 302 provides unique identifiers for the set of wireless devices 102 to the MNO 114, e.g., EID values for the eUICCs 108 of the wireless devices 102 on which the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302 (or another representative of the organization purchasing and/or managing the set of wireless devices 102) accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102; [0046] bootstrap eSIM 208 can remain in the wireless device 102 after disablement and be re-enabled if required for management of the wireless device 102 (the bootstrap eSIM service includes re-enabling the bootstrap eSIM service to install another eSIM service or cellular service plan, hence a bootstrap backup service) when another cellular wireless or non-cellular wireless connection is unavailable... the wireless device 102 an roam out of a coverage area for the cellular service provider (or associated roaming providers) for the fully functional eSIM 208, WLAN (Wi-Fi) coverage is unavailable, etc... bootstrap eSIM 208 is re-enabled to install another fully functional eSIM 208 or to manage MDM plans or cellular wireless service plans for the wireless device 102);
a second cellular network connection is based on a data service of the Bootstrap embedded eSIM ([0045] the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302... accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102; [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208; vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile; [0048] FIG. 6... an example of cellular service plan management with dual profiles (SIMs and/or eSIMs 208) on a wireless device 102. A dual profile wireless device 102 can allow a user to select one profile (e.g., a SIM or eSIM 208) to use for personal communication and a second profile (e.g., another SIM or eSIM 208) for business enterprise usage... When a dual profile mode configuration does occur, a user can tap on the notification alert to enter a configuration flow that launches a cellular wireless service plan configuration user interface (UI) through which the user can configure the dual profile mode for the wireless device 102);
wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the data service of the Bootstrap embedded eSIM in place of a primary access point name (APN) ([0045] (e.g., primary APN associated with the bootstrap eSIM device); [0090] a method for wireless device 102 setup and configuration using bootstrap connectivity includes the wireless device 102: i) establishing a cellular wireless data connection using credentials of a bootstrap eSIM 208 pre-installed in the wireless device 102... v) installing the fully functional eSIM 208 on an eUICC 108 of the wireless device 102; vi) disabling the bootstrap eSIM 208 (hence the second network connection is established using the bootstrap eSIM service in place of the primary APN); vii) establishing a second cellular wireless data connection using credentials of the fully functional eSIM 208; viii) downloading, from an MDM server via the second cellular wireless data connection, an MDM profile for the wireless device 102; and ix) downloading, via the second cellular wireless data connection, and installing one or more applications and data files based on configuration information included in the MDM profile) associated with a subscriber cellular data service ([0045] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity (restricted access to one or more particular network access point names) (e.g., primary APN associated with the bootstrap eSIM device limited subscriber cellular data service) and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes and not for normal customer data use); [0031] techniques for management of cellular service profiles, e.g., subscriber identity modules (SIMS) and electronic/embedded SIMs (eSIMs)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to substitute the SIM and modify the second cellular network connection of KATRIB to include the Bootstrap eSIM; communicating with the MNO server to register for the Bootstrap backup service associated with the data services of the Bootstrap eSIM; the second cellular network connection is based on the data service of the Bootstrap embedded eSIM and wherein the second cellular network connection is established using the data service of the Bootstrap embedded eSIM in place of the primary APN associated with the subscriber cellular data service as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and manage the use of cellular service profiles and have a better control of cellular service expenses (XIONG – [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208).
KATRIB and XIONG do not explicitly disclose:
the MNO server includes an entitlement server.
However, CHAUGULE discloses:
an MNO server includes an entitlement server ([0043] a cellular wireless connection via a SIM or eSIM profile 208 (i.e., other than the eSIM profile being provisioned), or via a limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208. When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208, only certain servers can communicate with the wireless device 102. For example, the MNO entitlement server 502, the MNO SM-DP+ server 506, and the manufacturer discovery server may be reachable by the wireless device 102, but the manufacturer notification server 510 may be unable to communicate with the wireless device 102 via the bootstrap eSIM 208. At 512, the wireless device 102 authenticates with an MNO entitlement server 502 to trigger setup of an eSIM profile 208... At 516, the MNO entitlement server 502 sends a message to an MNO backend server 504 to provision the eSIM profile for cellular wireless service.. At 518, the MNO entitlement server 502 responds to the wireless device 102 with a message that includes a unique identifier for the eSIM profile 208 to be downloaded, e.g., an ICCID value of the eSIM profile 208).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the MNO server of KATRIB and XIONG to include the entitlement server as taught by CHAUGULE in order to access the cellular wireless services of the MNO of the bootstrap eSIM by using the entitlement server to help facilitate the authentication and transmission of the provision eSIM profile for cellular network of the bootstrap eSIM device that are necessary for the provision eSIM profile for cellular network, thus help improving the eSIM profile provisioning and installation process (CHAUGULE – [0043] exemplary delays and communication issues that can occur during an eSIM profile provisioning, installation, and activation process... When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208... but the manufacturer notification server 510 may be unable to communicate with the wireless device 102 via the bootstrap eSIM 208; [0044] an exemplary delayed eSIM provisioning monitor mode implemented by a wireless device 102 to accommodate one or more delays during provisioning of an eSIM profile 208 to the wireless device 102... At 602, the wireless device 102 receives, from an MNO entitlement server 502, an eSIM installation response that includes a unique identifier... the eSIM installation response from the MNO entitlement server 502 indicates whether the wireless device 102 should use the indirect mode querying the manufacturer discovery server 508 or the direct mode querying the MNO SM-DP+ server 506).
Regarding claim 18, KATRIB further discloses:
receiving, by the processing system ([0245];), backup data over the cellular network (Fig. 14 – 1443; [0163] The gateway device 100... transmissions using the link through the electronic device 172; [0159] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 (hence hotspot)... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) for the one or more devices (Fig. 14 – 145; [0080] The gateway device 100 may encrypt the compressed video data and may livestream... The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145), wherein the backup data (Fig. 14 – 1443; [0163]; [0159]; [0163];) comprises data from the broadband data services over the broadband network (Fig. 14 – 140, 1405; [0038]; [0043] the gateway device 100 may include... in order to wirelessly connect the gateway device 100, through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140) prior to the indication that the broadband data services are unavailable (Fig. 14 – 140, 1405; [0038]; [0043]; The livestream may then be broadcast through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140... The livestream may also be broadcast to one or more of the electronic devices 171-173 in the local network 145; [0082] the gateway device 100 may livestream the video data as a series of packets. Protocols such as transmission control protocol (TCP) or file transfer protocol (FTP) may send the packets in random order and may re-send the lost packets).
Regarding claim 19, KATRIB further discloses:
communicating, by the processing system ([0245];), with the backup service (Fig. 14 – 1443, 172; [0164] The gateway device 100, in some embodiments, may prioritize transmissions using the link through the electronic device 172 in order to limit the bandwidth usage and/or to transmit and receive higher priority information; [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160] The gateway device 100 may, in some embodiments, provide connectivity through entities such as mobile devices, mesh networks, third party hotspots; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140) associated with data services of the SIM ([0162]; [0043] The SIM card may store an identity (e.g., an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI))... in order to wirelessly connect... through a cellular base station (or cellular tower) 141, to a wireless service provider's infrastructure 140. A wireless service provider (also referred to as a cellular company, mobile network operator, or mobile network carrier) is a provider of wireless communication services that owns or controls infrastructure such as cellular radio towers, base stations... to provide wireless services to end users (the SIM device is connected to the cellular tower to provide the SIM data services; the second cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider); [0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100 (hence the second cellular network connection is associated with the subscriber cellular service (e.g., subscribed to cellular tower 1443 service provider) of the wireless device); [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0163] The electronic device 172 may be configured to allow the gateway device 100 to establish a connection with the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140... The gateway device 100 may then be connected to the wireless service provider's infrastructure 140 through the wireless service provider infrastructure 140);
the data service of the SIM ([0043] (the second cellular network connection is dependent/controls on/by the SIM service (e.g., the service provider));) available to the wireless device according to a service subscription of the wireless device ([0162] the wireless device 172 in the local network 145, may have connectivity with the infrastructure 1440 of a different wireless service provider (e.g., through the cellular tower 1443) than the wireless service provider(s) subscribed by the gateway device 100; (hence the wireless device is subscribed to a service subscription of the cellular tower 1443 (e.g., service provider) in order to have cellular access)).
KATRIB does not explicitly disclose:
the Bootstrap embedded eSIM;
the communicating with the entitlement server comprises registering for the Bootstrap backup service associated with data service of the Bootstrap embedded eSIM.
However, XIONG discloses:
a Bootstrap embedded eSIM (Fig. 2 – eSIM 208; [0045] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity);
communicating with the MNO server comprises registering for the Bootstrap backup service associated with data service of the Bootstrap embedded eSIM ([0045] The limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208 can allow for local and/or global cellular roaming capability with limited connectivity... and restricted data traffic (only for use by the activation and setup processes (bootstrap backup service when wi-fi is not available during activation and setup) and not for normal customer data use).... The IT administrator 302 can communicate with an MNO 114, e.g., by communicating with one or more MNO servers 552.... to pre-release fully functional eSIMs 208 for the set of wireless devices 102, where the IT administrator 302 provides unique identifiers for the set of wireless devices 102 to the MNO 114, e.g., EID values for the eUICCs 108 of the wireless devices 102 on which the eSIMs 208 will be later installed. In some scenarios, the IT administrator 302 (or another representative of the organization purchasing and/or managing the set of wireless devices 102) accepts a set of terms and conditions for cellular wireless service to be used later for the set of wireless devices 102; [0046] bootstrap eSIM 208 can remain in the wireless device 102 after disablement and be re-enabled if required for management of the wireless device 102 (the bootstrap eSIM service includes re-enabling the bootstrap eSIM service to install another eSIM service or cellular service plan, hence a bootstrap backup service) when another cellular wireless or non-cellular wireless connection is unavailable... the wireless device 102 an roam out of a coverage area for the cellular service provider (or associated roaming providers) for the fully functional eSIM 208, WLAN (Wi-Fi) coverage is unavailable, etc... bootstrap eSIM 208 is re-enabled to install another fully functional eSIM 208 or to manage MDM plans or cellular wireless service plans for the wireless device 102).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the backup service and the data service of the SIM of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include the Bootstrap eSIM; communicating with the MNO server to register for the Bootstrap backup service associated with the data services of the Bootstrap eSIM as taught by XIONG in order to improve security by using the eSIM devices and services (XIONG - [0038] a physical SIM card can be stolen and put business enterprise assets at risk. Security is improved with the use of eSIMs 208) and manage the use of cellular service profiles and have a better control of cellular service expenses (XIONG – [0038] a business enterprise can seek to control cellular service expenses, such as data overages and roaming charges. In some instances, a business enterprise can install tools on the wireless device 102 to manage use of cellular service profiles, e.g., one or more eSIMs 208).
KATRIB and XIONG do not explicitly disclose:
the MNO server includes an entitlement server.
However, CHAUGULE discloses:
an MNO server includes an entitlement server ([0043] a cellular wireless connection via a SIM or eSIM profile 208 (i.e., other than the eSIM profile being provisioned), or via a limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208. When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208, only certain servers can communicate with the wireless device 102. For example, the MNO entitlement server 502, the MNO SM-DP+ server 506, and the manufacturer discovery server may be reachable by the wireless device 102, but the manufacturer notification server 510 may be unable to communicate with the wireless device 102 via the bootstrap eSIM 208. At 512, the wireless device 102 authenticates with an MNO entitlement server 502 to trigger setup of an eSIM profile 208... At 516, the MNO entitlement server 502 sends a message to an MNO backend server 504 to provision the eSIM profile for cellular wireless service.. At 518, the MNO entitlement server 502 responds to the wireless device 102 with a message that includes a unique identifier for the eSIM profile 208 to be downloaded, e.g., an ICCID value of the eSIM profile 208).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the MNO server of KATRIB, XIONG, and CHAUGULE to include the entitlement server as taught by CHAUGULE in order to access the cellular wireless services of the MNO of the bootstrap eSIM by using the entitlement server to help facilitate the authentication and transmission of the provision eSIM profile for cellular network of the bootstrap eSIM device that are necessary for the provision eSIM profile for cellular network, thus help improving the eSIM profile provisioning and installation process (CHAUGULE – [0043] exemplary delays and communication issues that can occur during an eSIM profile provisioning, installation, and activation process... When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208... but the manufacturer notification server 510 may be unable to communicate with the wireless device 102 via the bootstrap eSIM 208; [0044] an exemplary delayed eSIM provisioning monitor mode implemented by a wireless device 102 to accommodate one or more delays during provisioning of an eSIM profile 208 to the wireless device 102... At 602, the wireless device 102 receives, from an MNO entitlement server 502, an eSIM installation response that includes a unique identifier... the eSIM installation response from the MNO entitlement server 502 indicates whether the wireless device 102 should use the indirect mode querying the manufacturer discovery server 508 or the direct mode querying the MNO SM-DP+ server 506).
Regarding claim 20, KATRIB further discloses:
receiving, by the processing system ([0245];), a second indication that the broadband data services are again available over the broadband network ((Fig. 2 – 230, 274; Fig. 3 performance metrics; [0054] The electronic device 200 may be wirelessly connected (as shown by 230) to the gateway device 100... In this example, the activities performed by the gateway device 100 include transferring data 271 by different applications running on the gateway device 100, configuring 272 different ports, connecting and disconnecting 273 devices to different ports, establishing and losing 274 cellular connections, etc; [0164] The gateway device 100 may periodically check the other communication links, such as the direct link to the wireless service provider infrastructure 140 (to which the gateway device 100 is subscribed), wired link(s), satellite link(s), etc., and reestablish the link(s) once the link(s) become(s) available or the performance of the link(s) is/are above a threshold); and
terminating the second cellular network connection with a cellular network ([0164] reestablish the link(s) once the link(s) become(s) available (hence the gateway is no longer using the cellular network 1443 of the wireless device 172)); [0159] The gateway device 100... provide alternative connectivity when the wireless communication to a cellular tower is not available; [0160]-[0163];).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418