DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-21 are currently pending and are subject to this office action. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 3 and 6 are canceled. This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/08/2026.
Response to Amendments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 06/08/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 6-10, filed 06/08/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Zhou does not disclose heating elements in two parallel spaced apart planes.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The previous Office Action does not rely on Zhou alone to teach the claimed first and second planes. The rejection relies upon the combined teachings of Yang and Zhou to teach the planar configuration. Yang teaches a heating circuit comprising several section wherein portions of the heating circuit may be disposed on the surface of the heating component or disposed within the heating component [0176]. Yang additionally teaches that heating sections may extend parallel to the bottom surface of the heating component while being positioned at different distances from the bottom surface [017-0180].
Zhou is being relied upon for configuring heating portions as planar heating structures relative to an atomization surface, wherein the heater plane may be flush with the atomization surface or embedded within a porous ceramic [0046-0047], demonstrating that heating portions may be intentionally arranged as planar structures relative to a vaporization surface to provide improved heating uniformity and durability [0044]. The rejection does not rely on Zhou for teaching two simultaneously existing planes alone. Rather, the rejection relies on Yang for the multi-section heating arrangement and differing positions within the heating component while relying on Zhou for the planar heater configuration that defines how those heating portions are arranged relative to the atomization surface. Combining the two spatial arrangements result in first and second heating portions extending within respective planes.
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 6-10, filed 06/08/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 with a limitation of now canceled claim 3 and a limitation that was not previously presented, specifically, “wherein the at least two first heating portions are linear, are parallel to one another, are arranged at intervals, and extend entirely within a plane”. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rosser (WO 2020132079 A1).
The following are modified rejections based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 110279162 A, as cited in IDS dated 04/24/2024 and hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20210030073 A1), and further in view of Rosser (WO 2020132079 A1) and Zhou (CN 110301674 A, hereinafter citations referring to English language equivalent US 20220071290 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Yang, directed to a vaporization device and method thereof, teaches (i) a cartridge comprising a heating component, wherein e-liquid can permeate into the pores of the heating component [0145], meeting the claim limitation of a liquid absorbing element. The heating element includes a bottom surface (Fig. 7J: #6s3) and a top surface (Fig. 7J: #6s4), wherein the e-liquid is in contact with the heating component (Fig. 7J: #6) through a heating component top cap right above the top surface (Fig. 7J: #6s4, [0098]), and a vaporization chamber is aligned with the bottom surface (Fig. 7J: #6s3, [0114]). (ii) The heating assembly transmits e-liquid from the top surface (Fig. 7J: #6s4) through the heating component (Fig. 7J: #6) towards the vaporization chamber [0069].
(iii) The heating component (Fig. 7J: #6) further comprises a heating circuit (Fig. 7J: #61) on its bottom surface and is disposed between two conductive components (Fig. 7J: #6p). (iv) The heating circuit (Fig. 7J: #61) comprises a first section (Fig. 7J: #61a) and third section (Fig. 7J: #61c), meeting the claim limitation of at least two first heating portions. The heating circuit further includes (Fig. 7J: #61) a second section (Fig. 7J: 61b, 0121]) connected along a single path between the first and third section (Fig.7J: #61a & #61c), meeting the claim limitation of at least one second heating portion connected in series to the at least two first heating portions.
(iv) The first section (Fig. 7J: #61a) and third sections (Fig. 7J: #61c) extend from and are arranged on a front side of the bottom surface (Fig. 7J: #6s3, [0170]). (v) The second section (Fig. 7J: #61b) is connected between the first section (Fig. 7J: #61a) and the third section (Fig. 7J: #61c), which extend from the bottom surface (Fig. 7J: #6s3) and the top surface (Fig. 7J: #6s4). Figure 7J shows where the second section (Fig. 7: #61b) extends towards the top surface (Fig. 7J: #6s4), while between the top surface (Fig. 7J: #6s4) and the bottom surface (Fig. 7J: #6s4). (vi) Yang teaches wherein a portion of the heating circuit (Fig. 7J: #61) may be disposed inside the heating component (Fig. 7J: #6, [0176]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this could apply to the linear second heating section (Fig. 7J: #61b), corresponding to a second plane. (vii) The second section (Fig. 7J: #61b) is disposed between the first and third sections (Fig. 7J: #61a & #61c) in a single back-to-back connection. Yang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Yang is silent to:
wherein the at least two first heating portions are linear, are parallel to one another, are arranged at intervals, and extend entirely within a first plane
wherein the first plane and the second plane are spaced apart and are both a parallel to the vaporization surface
In regards to i., Rosser, directed to vaporizer devices, teaches a heating element (Fig. 4: #122) with multiple segments of tines (Fig. 4: #130) arranged linearly and in parallel to each other. The tines (Fig. 4: #130) may comprise the same size and shape and are spaced relative to each to create passageways or holes through the heating element (Fig. 4: #122) to allow vaporized material to travel through [0075].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the at least two first heating portions of Yang to wherein the at least two first heating portions are linear, are parallel to one another, are arranged at intervals, and extend entirely within a first plane because both Yang and Rosser are directed to heating elements of a vaporization surface to improve vaporization of aerosol generating material. Rosser teaches tines arranged linearly, in parallel, and spaced relative to each other to create passageways or holes through the heating element to allow vaporized material to travel through [0075] and this merely involves applying a known heating portion configuration to a known heating element, ready for improvement, to yield predictable results.
In regards to ii., Zhou, directed to an electronic atomization device, teaches wherein a heater plane may be flush with an atomization surface or embedded within the porous ceramic matrix [0046-0047], demonstrating a planar configuration relative to the atomization surface. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the heating structure of Yang wherein the heater portions are positioned at different depths with the planar relationship of Zhou to provide uniform heating and improved durability [0044], thereby meeting the claim limitation.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating portions of Yang to wherein the first plane and the second plane are spaced apart and are both parallel to the vaporization surface because both Yang and Zhou are directed to improving uniform heating in heating bodies, Zhou teaches a heating part defining a plane flush or embedded within an atomization surface or porous ceramic to provide uniform heating and improved durability [0044] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known heating methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 2, Yang teaches wherein the bottom surface (Fig. 7J: #6s3) is a flat, two-dimensional surface.
With regard to Claim 4, Yang teaches (i) where in some embodiments, the heating circuit (Fig. 7J: #61) may have more sections [0121]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the second section (Fig. 7J: #61b) to include multiple sections in between the first section (Fig. 7J: #61a) and a third section (Fig. 7J: #61c) in a single path as shown in Figure 7J to increase the heating efficiency of the heating circuit [0121], such that there are two second heating portions arranged between the two first heating sections (Fig. 7J: #61a & #61c).
(ii) The heating circuit (Fig. 7J: #61) is separated into different temperature sections, comprising two first heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t3) and a second heating sub-section (Fig. 7E: #61t4), meeting the claim limitation of wherein each of the at least two second heating portions comprises at least two first heating sub-portions and a second heating sub-portion. (iii) The two first heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t3) are connected to the ends of the first section (Fig. 7J: #61a), the third section (Fig. 7J: #61c), and the second heating sub-section (Fig. 7E: #61t4), meeting the claim limitation of wherein two ends of each of the first heating sub-portions are respectively connected to the at least two first heating portions and the second heating sub-portion
(iv) Yang further teaches wherein a portion of the heating circuit (Fig. 7J: #61) may be disposed inside the heating component (Fig. 7J: #6, [0176]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the arrangement of the second heating sub-sections to be in a second plane within the heating component to increase the thermal contact area between the heating circuit and heating component to improve heating efficiency [0121].
With regard to Claim 5, Yang teaches wherein the first and third sections (Fig. 7J: #61a & #61c) are arranged on and each comprise an end contacting the bottom surface (Fig. 7J: #6s3, [0170]).
With regard to Claim 7, Yang teaches wherein (i) the heating circuit forms each section in linear paths (Fig. 7E).
With regard to Claim 8, Yang teaches (i) wherein a heating component top cap (Fig. 6E: #405) comprises through holes (Fig. 6E: #4h1 & #4h2). A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the heating component with the through holes of the heating component top cap because vaporizable material may be in contact with the heating component through the through holes on the heating component top cap [0038]. Modifying the holes to be directly on the heating component is a simple alternative without changing the function of the holes. (ii) The two through holes (Fig. 6E: #4h1 & #4h2) comprise a space between them along the length of the heating component top cap (Fig. 6E: #405).
With regard to Claim 9, Yang teaches (i) wherein the heating circuit (Fig. 7G: #61) may include a metal material [0124], wherein the heating circuit can be a flat structure (Fig. 7G). (ii) The heating circuit (Fig. 7G: #61) is electrically connected to the two conductive components (Fig. 7G: #6p, [0123]), where the conductive components (Fig. 7G: #6p) are at the side end of the heating circuit (Fig. 7G: #61).
With regard to Claim 10, Yang teaches a heating circuit (Fig. 7G: #61) that is curved multiple times in between the first section (Fig. 7G: #61a), second section (Fig. 7G: #61b), and the third section (Fig. 7G: #61c), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the heating element is bent a plurality of times to form the at least two first heating portions and the second heating portion. Modified Yang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Yang is silent to:
Wherein the heating element comprises a metal wire
Zhou, directed to an electronic atomization device and atomization assembly, teaches a heating body (Fig. 3: #20) made entirely of metal [0043]. Heating wires of the net-like heating part (Fig. 3: #23) of the heating body (Fig. 3: #20, [0070]) are made of metal [0044]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include a metal wire in the heating element to increase toughness and lower the risk of failure through defects and cracking in the device [0044].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to modify the heating element of modified Yang to comprise a metal wire because both Yang and Zhou are directed to lowering the risk of heating components being destroyed in aerosol generating devices. Zhou teaches a heating wire of a net-like heating part made of metal to increase toughness and lower the risk of failure through defects and cracking [0044] and this merely involves applying a known material to a heating component of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 11, Yang teaches a bent heating circuit (Fig. 7E: #61) with more than one bent angle. Although Yang does not disclose a specific numerical value for the bending angle, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to select a bending angle within a range of 10° to 170° based on routine design choice of spatial constraints of the heating component (Fig. 7E: #6). Additionally, the range of the claim covers nearly any non-straight configuration and since Yang teaches a bend, it would be obvious that the angle of the heating circuit of Yang is within the claimed range.
With regard to Claim 12, modified Yang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Yang is silent to:
Wherein the connector comprises an electrode plate and at least one support sheet
The electrode plate being electrically connected to an end of the heating element
The electrode plate being configured to electrically connect the heating element to an external power supply
The support sheet being connected to the electrode plate to support the electrode plate
Wherein the at least one support sheet is embedded in the liquid absorbing element
Wherein the electrode plate is at least partially exposed to the liquid absorbing element
Zhou teaches (i) an electrode wire (Fig. 3: #30), relating to the connector of the claimed invention, in connection with a first soldering part (Fig. 3: #231) and a first fixing portion (Fig. 3: #21) in the shape of a rectangular sheet [0059]. (ii) The first soldering part (Fig. 3: #231) is connected to an end of the heating body (Fig. 3: #20). (iii) The first soldering part (Fig. 3: #231) electrically connects with positive and negative terminals of a power source [0048]. (iv) The first fixing portion (Fig. 3: #21) is connected to the first soldering part (Fig. 3: #231, [0048]) and supports the positioning of the first soldering part (Fig. 3: #231) with respect to a porous ceramic matrix (Fig. 3: #10).
Zhou further teaches (v) wherein the first fixing portion (Fig. 3: #21) is locked into a first embedding groove (Fig. 3: #121) of the porous ceramic matrix [0048]. (vi) When the first fixing portion is locked into the embedding groove, the first soldering part (Fig. 3: #231) rests on top of the porous ceramic matrix (Fig. 3: #10).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connector of modified Yang to comprises an electrode plate and a support sheet; the electrode plate being electrically connected to an end of the heating element and configured to electrically connect the heating element to an external power supply; the support sheet is connected to the electrode plate to support the electrode plate; wherein the support sheet is embedded in the liquid absorbing element; and wherein the electrode plate is at least partially exposed to the liquid absorbing element because both Yang and Zhou are directed to heating components being fixed into components comprising absorbent ceramic material. Zhou teaches a fixing portion and soldering part to fix the heating body into the porous ceramic matrix and receive material [0040] and this merely involves the use of a known support technique to improve similar heating components of aerosol generating devices in the same way.
With regard to Claim 13, modified Yang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Yang is silent to:
Wherein the at least one support sheet comprises at least two support sheets
Wherein the at least two support sheets are respectively connected to two opposite ends of the electrode plate
Wherein a through groove is formed on each support sheet of the at least two support sheets, and the liquid absorbing element partially permeates into the through groove
Zhou teaches (i) a heating body comprising a first fixing portion (Fig. 3: #21a) and second fixing portion (Fig. 3: #22a) in the shape of rectangular sheets [0059], meeting the claim limitation of at least two support sheets. (ii) The ends of the first and second fixing portions (Fig. 3: #21 & #22) are connected with first and second soldering parts (Fig. 3: #231 & #232), which electrically connect with positive and negative terminals of a power source [0048]. (iii) The first and second fixing portions (Fig. 3: #21 & 22) each comprise fixing holes (Fig. 3: #210 & #220) used to receive a material of the porous ceramic matrix [0048]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include support sheets and a through groove with the connector of modified Yang to fix the heating body into the porous ceramic matrix and receive material [0040].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the connector of modified Yang to comprise at least two support sheets respectively connected to two opposite ends of the electrode plate; wherein a through groove is formed on each of the support sheets, and the liquid absorbing element partially permeates into the groove because both Yang and Zhou are directed to heating components being fixed into components comprising ceramic material. Zhou teaches two fixing portions and two soldering parts to fix the heating body into the porous ceramic matrix and receive material [0040] and this merely involves the use of a known support technique to improve similar heating components of aerosol generating devices in the same way.
With regard to Claim 14, Yang teaches a cartridge (Fig. 1A: #100A) comprising a cartridge housing (Fig. 1A: #3) and a metal cartridge base (Fig. 1A: #11). The cartridge further includes the heating element (Fig. 1A: #6).
With regard to Claim 15, Yang teaches (i) a vaporization device (Fig. 9A: #100), wherein the cartridge (Fig. 9A: #100A) may store a vaporizable liquid that comes in contact with the heating component to generate aerosol [0038]. (ii) The vaporization device further comprises a body (Fig. 9A: #100B) comprising a power supply component [0045] to supply power to parts of the heating element [0203].
With regard to Claim 16, Yang teaches a heating circuit with bent angles. Modified Yang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Yang is silent to:
Wherein the bending angle of the heating element ranges from 80° to 100°
Zhou teaches a heating body (Fig. 5: #20) with right angle bends. A person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the bending angle of the heating element to include a bend angle between 80° and 100° as the angle of Zhou is within the claimed range. It would be a routine design choice to be within the range to enable uniform heating and prolong the life of the heating body [0042].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to modify the heating element of modified Yang to wherein the bending angle of the heating element ranges from 80° to 100° because both Yang and Zhou are directed to avoiding risks of failure in bent heating elements of an aerosol generating device. Zhou teaches a heating body with right angle bends to enable uniform heating and prolong the life of the heating body [0042] and this merely involves applying a known bending angle to a heating element of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 17, Yang teaches wherein (i) the heating circuit is separated into different temperature sections (Fig. 7E: #61t3 and 61t4), meeting the claim limitation of wherein each of the at least two second heating portions comprises at least two first heating sub-portions and a second heating sub-portion. (ii) Yang further teaches that a portion of the heating circuit (Fig. 7E: #61) may extend into the heating component (Fig. 7: #6), perpendicular to the horizontal surface of the bottom surface (Fig 7E: #6s3) of the heating component (Fig. 7E: #6, [0176]). Modified Yang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Yang is silent to:
Wherein the first and second heating sub-portions of the at least two second heating portions are each linear
Zhou teaches a heating body comprising linear heater segments arranged along a heater path (Fig. 2: #23). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the heater segments of Yang to include linear segments to provide uniform heating and improved durability [0044] of the heating wire.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second heating sub-portions of the at least two second heating portions of modified Yang to wherein each are linear because both Yang and Zhou are directed to improving uniform heating in heating bodies. Zho teaches a heating body with linear segments to provide uniform heating and improved durability [0044] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known heating methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 18, Yang teaches wherein the consecutively arranged first heating sections (Fig. 7J: #61a & #61c), connected to the connectors (Fig. 7J: #6p), extend in separate directions, where the first direction may not be parallel to the second direction [0174].
With regard to Claim 19, Yang teaches wherein (i) one of the first heating sections (Fig. 7G: #61a) may be disposed on a bottom surface (Fig. 7G: #6s3, [0176]) of the heating component, meeting the claim limitation of the vaporization surface. (ii) In some embodiments, the heating circuit (Fig. 7G: #61) may have more sections [0121]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the heating circuit to include another second heating sections (Fig. 7G: #61b) in between the first section (Fig. 7G: #61a) and a third section (Fig. 7G: #61c) to increase heating efficiency of the circuit [0121].
Each of the second heating sections (Fig. 7G: #61b), which can extend into the heating component [0176], would include two first heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t3). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that if the first heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t3) extend into the heating component (Fig. 7G: #6), they extend in different non-parallel directions to the horizontal bottom surface (Fig. 7G: #6s3). (iii) The first heating sub-section (Fig. 7E: #61t3) of the first second heating section (Fig. 7G: #61b) is connected to one of the first heating sections (Fig. 7G: #61a) since the first heating section (Fig. 7G: #61a) is connected to the first second heating section (Fig. 7G: #61b, [0118]). (iv) Each of the second heating sections (Fig. 7G: #61b) would also include second heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t4), meeting the claim limitation of the second heating sub-portion. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that if the second heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t4) extend into the heating component (Fig. 7G: #6), they would be non-parallel to the direction of one of the first heating sections (Fig. 7G: #61a) disposed on a bottom surface (Fig. 7G: #6s3, [0176]). (v) The second heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t4) extend in different non-parallel directions, adjacent to the first heating sub-section (Fig. 7E: #61t3, [0116-0117]). Modified Yang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Yang is silent to:
wherein a first of the first heating sub-portions of a first of the at least two second heating portions extends orthogonal to the vaporization surface
wherein the second heating sub-portion of the first of the at least two second heating portion extends orthogonal to the first direction and orthogonal to the first of the at least two first heating sub-portions of the first of the at least two second heating portions
Zhou teaches a heating body (Fig. 3: #23) having sections that are arranged in rectangular paths, teaching orthogonal heater segments. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the non-parallel sub-section geometry of Yang to adopt the orthogonal orientation taught by Zhou to prolong service life of the heating body and enable uniform atomization [0042].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second heating sub-portions of Yang to wherein a first of the first heating sub-portions of a first of the at least two second heating portions extends orthogonal to the vaporization surface and wherein the second heating sub-portion of the first of the at least two second heating portion extends orthogonal to the first direction and orthogonal to the first of the at least two first heating sub-portions of the first of the at least two second heating portions because both Yang and Zhou are directed to improving uniform heating in heating bodies. Zhou teaches a heating body with orthogonal heating segments to prolong service life of the heating body and enable unform atomization [0042] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known heating techniques to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 20, modified Yang teaches where (i) in some embodiments, the heating circuit (Fig. 7G: #61) may have more sections, including an additional second heating section (Fig. 7G: #61b, [0121]). Each of the second sections (Fig. 7G: #61b) would include two first heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t3) and a second heating sub-section (Fig. 7E: #61t4). The second first heating sub-section (Fig. 7E: #61t3) is disposed adjacent to the second heating sub-section (Fig. 7E: #61t4) and extends in different directions along the heating path towards the second first heating section (Fig. 7G: #61c).
(ii) Yang further teaches wherein the second heating section (Fig. 7G: #61b) comprising the sub-sections and the second first heating section (Fig 7G: #61c) may or may not be parallel [0116-0117]. The two first heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t3) extend in substantially similar directions along the heating circuit. (iii) The second first heating sub-section (Fig. 7E: #61t3) of the second heating section (Fig. 7G: #61b) connects to the second heating sub-section (Fig. 7E: #61t4) of the second heating section (Fig. 7G: #61b) to the second first heating section (Fig. 7G: #61c). Modified Yang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Yang is silent to:
wherein a second of the at least two first heating sub-portions of the at least two second heating portions extends orthogonal to the second heating sub-portion of the first of the at least two second heating portions and orthogonal to a second of the at least two first heating portions
wherein the first and second of the at least two first heating sub-portions of the first of the at least two second heating portions are parallel to one another
Zhou teaches a heating body (Fig. 3: #23) having sections that are arranged in rectangular paths, teaching segments that extend orthogonally relative to other segments and parallel relative to opposing segments. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the sub-section geometry of Yang to adopt the rectangularly shaped heating body of Zhou with orthogonal and parallel sections to prolong service life of the heating body and enable unform atomization [0042].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second heating sub-portions of Yang to wherein a second of the at least two first heating sub-portions of the at least two second heating portions extends orthogonal to the second heating sub-portion of the first of the at least two second heating portions and orthogonal to a second of the at least two first heating portions and wherein the first and second of the at least two first heating sub-portions of the first of the at least two second heating portions are parallel to one another because both Yang and Zhou are directed to improving uniform heating in heating bodies. Zhou teaches a heating body with orthogonal and parallel heating segments to prolong service life of the heating body and enable unform atomization [0042] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known heating techniques to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 21, Yang teaches wherein (i) the two first heating portions (Fig. 7G: #61a & #61c) may be parallel to one another [0116]. (ii) Modified Yang teaches wherein the heating circuit (Fig. 7G: #61) may have more sections [0121], including an additional second heating section (Fig. 7G: #61b). Each of the second sections (Fig. 7G: #61b) would include two first heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t3) and a second heating sub-section (Fig. 7E: #61t4). Each second heating section (Fig. 7G: #61b), comprising second heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t4), occurs sequentially along the heating path formed by the heating body. The two first heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t3) and the second heating sub-portions (Fig. 7E: #61t4) extend in different non-parallel directions [0116-0117].
(iii) When multiple second heating sections are included [0121], one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that in this heating structure, the straight heating segments determine the spacing between the bending portions of the heating circuit. Thus, alternating second heating sub-sections (Fig. 7E: #61t4) occur along the heating circuit and are separated by segments extending between the two first heating portions (Fig. 7G: #61a and #61c). Modified Yang teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Yang is silent to:
wherein the second heating sub-portions of the at least two second heating portions are parallel to one another and orthogonal to the at least two first heating portion
Zhou teaches a heating body (Fig. 3: #23) having sections that are arranged in rectangular paths, teaching segments that extend orthogonally relative to other segments and parallel relative to opposing segments. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the sub-section geometry of Yang to adopt the rectangularly shaped heating body of Zhou with orthogonal and parallel sections taught to prolong service life of the heating body and enable unform atomization [0042].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first and second heating sub-portions of Yang to wherein the second heating sub-portions of the at least two second heating portions are parallel to one another and orthogonal to the at least two first heating portion because both Yang and Zhou are directed to improving uniform heating in heating bodies. Zhou teaches a heating body with orthogonal and parallel heating segments to prolong service life of the heating body and enable unform atomization [0042] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known heating techniques to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755