DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to argument/remarks filed on 13 April 2026. Claims 1-30 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10-15, filed13 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-30 under Noh et al. (US 2021/0328716 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Noh et al. (US 20210328716 A1) (hereinafter Noh) in view of Balasubramanian et al. (US 20210167899 A1) (hereinafter Bal) as applied to claims 1/19, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20190268106 A1) (hereinafter Chen) applied to claims 2, 5, 7-18, 20, 23, 25-30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Noh et al. (US 20210328716 A1) (hereinafter Noh) in view of Balasubramanian et al. (US 20210167899 A1) (hereinafter Bal).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, the system of Noh-Bal teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
at least one non-transitory memory configured to store non-transitory instructions (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0100] The one or more memories 104 and 204 may be coupled to the one or more processors 102 and 202 and store various types of data, signals, messages, information, programs, code, instructions, and/or commands. The one or more memories 104 and 204 may be configured as read-only memories (ROMs), random access memories (RAMs), electrically erasable programmable read-only memories (EPROMs), flash memories, hard drives, registers, cash memories, computer-readable storage media, and/or combinations thereof. The one or more memories 104 and 204 may be located at the interior and/or exterior of the one or more processors 102 and 202. The one or more memories 104 and 204 may be coupled to the one or more processors 102 and 202 through various technologies such as wired or wireless connection.); and
at least one processor configured to execute the non-transitory instructions thereby causing the at least one processor to (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0100].):
obtaining, by a transmitter, a to-be-coded bit sequence that comprises K to-be-coded bits, wherein K is a positive integer (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: Noh discloses forming a bit sequence containing information for transmission before performing polar coding. [0343] The first HARQ ACK/NACK information may further include information about success in transmission of the first information block. The second bit sequence may further include the second information block. The first bit sequence may be placed and encoded at K predetermined input bit locations among N input bits of the polar code. The third CRC of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at some of the input bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K input bit locations.) ;
performing polar coding on the to-be-coded bit sequence thereby obtaining a coded first bit sequence, wherein a length of the coded first bit sequence is N0 (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0171] Referring to FIG. 10, information bits are divided into three groups (information blocks 1, 2, and 3), and one CRC is added to each information block (info block). The information blocks and CRCs may be encoded by non-systematic polar coding or systematic polar coding. Encoded codewords are transferred to the receiver after passing through a channel where noise exists. The receiver performs polar error-correction decoding, which is related to the polar coding used for encoding. In general, successive interference cancellation (SIC) decoding or belief propagation (BP) decoding is performed. After performing the decoding based on polar codes, the receiver performs a CRC check for each information block. In the case of a CRC check failure, the receiver transmits to the transmitter the index (or location) of an information block where the CRC check fails. The transmitter may retransmit only the information block related to the index (or location) to the receiver. In this case, the transmitter may transmit the information block with no error correction encoding. Alternatively, the transmitter may transmit codewords by applying the polar coding again to the information block. [0179] For first transmission (frame 1), one CRC is used, and the receiver determines whether decoding is successful by checking the CRC. In the case of a decoding failure, the receiver transmits frame 2 for retransmission as shown in FIG. 12. In this case, frames 1 and 2 are formed as one polar codeword at the receiver. In FIG. 12, frame 1 is a length-8 polar code, and thus, the combination of frames 1 and 2 is a length-16 polar code. That is, a polar codeword having an increased length is formed by retransmission at the receiver, and thus channel polarization may be improved. When additional retransmission is performed, a lengthened polar code is formed. Thus, the channel polarization is further improved whenever retransmission is performed. Eventually, error correction capability is improved.); and
determining an initial transmission version (RV0) (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0352] The operations may include: encoding a first bit sequence having a length of K and including a first information block, a second information block, a first CRC for the first information block, and a second CRC for the second information block based on a polar code with a size of N; transmitting a first signal based on the encoded first bit sequence; receiving first HARQ ACK/NACK information for the first bit sequence; when the first HARQ ACK/NACK information includes information about failure in transmission of the second information block, 18information sub-block and generating a third CRC for the first information sub-block; encoding a second bit sequence having a length of L and including the third CRC based on the polar code; and transmitting a second signal based on the encoded second bit sequence.);
determining a length (E1) of a retransmission version (RV1) (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0175] Compared to the initial transmission, the receiver may obtain the accurate location of the transmission failure (CRC decoding failure) from the retransmission, and thus the transmitter may also obtain the accurate location of the error based on a retransmission failure report from the receiver. The transmitter may determine a portion to transmit to the receiver based on the error occurrence location. The transmitter may improve transmission efficiency by transmitting only the part where the error occurs. Although FIG. 11 shows a case in which the retransmission is performed one time, the method may be applied when the retransmission is performed multiple times. That is, the method may be hierarchically applied by adding CRCs depending on the number of transmission failures to improve the transmission efficiency. The above-described method may be implemented by applying the concept of the binary searching (or bisection method) or Newton's method (Newton-Raphson method) to polar coded HARQ with multiple CRCs. [0176] According to the selective retransmission schemes of FIGS. 10 and 11, since the transmitter is capable of knowing the location of an information block where an error occurs, the transmitter may perform retransmission a minimum number of times as needed. In particular, when the binary search method is additionally applied as shown in FIG. 11, the performance may be further improved. However, the selective retransmission schemes of FIGS. 10 and 11 have the following limitations. That is, it is difficult to obtain an effect as if the length of a codeword of a polar code increases from retransmission. In addition, considering the basic concept of polar codes that information is transmitted over an excellent channel based on the fact that channel polarization increases as the length of a codeword increases, it is difficult to further improve the channel polarization from retransmission in the selective retransmission schemes of FIGS. F01 and F02.);
determining the RV1 based on an initial transmission bit rate (R0) (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0186] FIG. 14 shows a case in which a first information block (data 3 and data 4) of two information blocks is decoded with no errors, but an error occurs in a second information block (data 1 and data 2). This case may be defined as error pattern 2. The transmitter may equally perform retransmission for both error patterns 1 and 2. However, decoding at the receiver may vary for each case. For error pattern 2, when decoding polar codes, the receiver may perform the decoding by considering bits in the first information block as frozen bits. Since the receiver recognizes that data 3 and data 4 are correctly received by checking CRC 1 during initial transmission, the receiver may achieve efficient decoding compared to when using data 3, data 4, and CRC 1 as frozen bits. In the example of FIG. 14, the actual code rate becomes 3/16. The decoding may be SIC decoding or BP decoding.); and
sending the RV1 (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0179] For first transmission (frame 1), one CRC is used, and the receiver determines whether decoding is successful by checking the CRC. In the case of a decoding failure, the receiver transmits frame 2 for retransmission as shown in FIG. 12. In this case, frames 1 and 2 are formed as one polar codeword at the receiver. In FIG. 12, frame 1 is a length-8 polar code, and thus, the combination of frames 1 and 2 is a length-16 polar code. That is, a polar codeword having an increased length is formed by retransmission at the receiver, and thus channel polarization may be improved. When additional retransmission is performed, a lengthened polar code is formed. Thus, the channel polarization is further improved whenever retransmission is performed. Eventually, error correction capability is improved.).
Thus, Noh does not explicitly teach the terms (RV1) and (R0).
Similar to the system of Noh, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) and (R0) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Bal to use redundancy version for retransmissions, which improves transmission efficiency and spectral efficiency (Bal, [0117]).
Claims 2, 5, 7-18, 20, 23, 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. (US 20210328716 A1) (hereinafter Noh) in view of Balasubramanian et al. (US 20210167899 A1) (hereinafter Bal) as applied to claims 1/19 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20190268106 A1) (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, the system of Noh-Bal-Chen teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the RV1 based on the R0 comprises the at least one processor configured to (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0100].):
the determining the RV1 based on the R0 comprises (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0329] The circles (3402 and 3452) of FIG. 34 represent codeword bits determined immediately after the successful decoding of the first information block due to the unique characteristics of the polar code generator matrix. That is, when successfully decoding the first information block, the receiver may know the accurate value of a bit represented by the blue circle. The receiver may further improve the reliability of the channel estimation by using the bit as a pilot signal for the second decoding.):
obtaining the RV1 by reading the E1 bits from a first circular buffer for initial transmission in response to the R0 being less than or equal to a preset bit rate threshold (Rthreshold) (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0131] Data subject to channel coding is referred to as a transport block. Typically, depending on the performance of channel coding, the transport block is divided into code blocks, each of which has a size less than or equal to a predetermined value. [0132] The channel coding method according to the present disclosure may include attaching a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code to a transport block (S205); dividing the transport block into code blocks (S210); encoding the divided code blocks (S215); perform rate matching of the encoded code blocks (S220); and concatenating the rate-matched code blocks (S225). [0190] Specifically, FIG. 16 shows that the same performance is obtained when only parts of a codeword (frame 2) are transmitted during retransmission depending on the error pattern type according to the present disclosure. Since data 1, data 2, CRC 2, and input signals for polar coding are decoded with no errors, the receiver may accurately know these values. In this case, the receiver may accurately know X.sub.6(2), X.sub.7(2), and X.sub.8(2) in the codeword (frame 2), which are transmitted during the retransmission, due to the unique features of polar codes. Referring to FIG. F07, it may be seen that data 2=X.sub.6(2), data 1=X.sub.7(2), and CRC 2=X.sub.8(2). Thus, the transmitter may not transmit the known bits in the codeword during the retransmission, and thus minimize use of channels. Referring to FIG. 16, since the receiver may know the values of X.sub.6(2), X.sub.7(2), and X.sub.8(2), X.sub.6(2), X.sub.7(2), and X.sub.8(2) may not be transmitted.); or
generating a second bit sequence in an incremental redundancy IR manner (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0365] The third CRC of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at some of the bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K bit locations. The second information block of the second bit sequence may be placed repeatedly and encoded at the rest of the bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K bit locations. A new information block may be placed and encoded at the rest of the bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K bit locations. The second bit sequence may further include the second CRC. Alternatively, the second bit sequence may further include a fourth CRC for the second information sub-block.); and
obtaining the RV1 based on the second bit sequence in response to the R0 being greater than the Rthreshold, wherein a length of the second bit sequence is N1, and the N1=2*N0 (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0184] FIG. 13 shows a case in which errors occur in the two information blocks (two CRC checks fail). Such a case may be defined as error pattern 1. In this case, the actual length of a polar codeword constructed by retransmission is doubled (16 in FIG. F04), and the code rate becomes half (6/16 in FIG. 13).).
Thus, Noh does not explicitly teach incremental redundancy IR and circular buffer.
Similar to the system of Noh and Bal, Chen teaches an encoding system that performs polar encoding for incremental redundancy (IR) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) transmissions, which can be seen as, incremental redundancy IR (Chen, [0011]-[0087], [0088]-[0092]: [0032] According to an example implementation, an encoding system may be provided to encode data for incremental redundancy for hybrid ARQ (HARQ) transmissions in a wireless network, the apparatus including: an outer encoder to receive and encode a set of information bits; a set of polar sub-encoders, coupled to the outer encoder, configured to increase channel capacity for one or more bit channels via use of polar encoding, a polar sub-encoder of the set of polar sub-encoders provided to perform polar encoding for each corresponding incremental redundancy (IR) hybrid ARQ (HARQ) transmission for a set of information bits; and an inner encoder, coupled to outputs of the set of polar sub-encoders, configured to generate a set of code bits for an IR-HARQ transmission over a channel by performing, for each bit input to the inner encoder from one of the polar sub-encoders for the HARQ transmission, an Exclusive Or (XOR) operation with another bit.).
Similar to the system of Noh and Bal, Chen teaches using a circular buffer to provide different redundancy versions for IR-HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, circular buffer (Chen, [0011]-[0087], [0088]-[0092]: [0031] An example of IR-HARQ scheme is the LTE's punctured turbo code with circular buffer. With the help of retransmissions, different versions of redundancy are provided to improve the decoding performance of the original rate—⅓ mother code, as an illustrative example. However, this puncturing-based scheme usually does not work with polar codes or other linear block codes.)
Thus, Noh and Chen do not explicitly teach the terms (RV1) and (R0).
Similar to the system of Noh and Chen, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) and (R0) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Chen and Bal to use a circular buffer with incremental redundancy and redundancy versions for retransmissions to improve decoding performance, transmission efficiency, and spectral efficiency (Chen, [0032]) and (Bal, [0117]).
Regarding claims 5 and 23, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the rate matching manner for retransmission is at least one of: puncturing, shortening, repetition, or puncturing and shortening (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0135] The encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Nr−1)) are generated by applying channel coding to the code blocks (265) (c.sub.r0, . . . , c.sub.r(Kr−1)) (S215). The generated encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by shortening and puncturing. Alternatively, the encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by sub-block interleaving, bit selection, and/or interleaving. That is, the encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Br−1)) are converted into rate-matched bits (275) (f.sub.r0, . . . , f.sub.r(gr−1)) (S220). Typically, interleaving may refer to a process for changing a sequence of bits and reduce the occurrence of errors. The interleaving is designed in consideration of efficient de-interleaving.).
Regarding claims 7 and 25, the system of Noh-Bal teach a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor configured to obtain the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]:):
wherein the obtaining the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0358] The second bit sequence may further include a new information block. The second information block of the second bit sequence may be placed at the input bit locations related to the second information block among the K input bit locations. The new information block of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at the rest of the input bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K input bit locations.):
obtaining the RV1 from a first N0 bits of the second bit sequence based on a rate matching manner for retransmission (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0135] The encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Nr−1)) are generated by applying channel coding to the code blocks (265) (c.sub.r0, . . . , c.sub.r(Kr−1)) (S215). The generated encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by shortening and puncturing. Alternatively, the encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by sub-block interleaving, bit selection, and/or interleaving. That is, the encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Br−1)) are converted into rate-matched bits (275) (f.sub.r0, . . . , f.sub.r(gr−1)) (S220). Typically, interleaving may refer to a process for changing a sequence of bits and reduce the occurrence of errors. The interleaving is designed in consideration of efficient de-interleaving.).
Thus, Noh and Chen do not explicitly teach the terms (RV1) and (R0).
Similar to the system of Noh and Chen, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) and (R0) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Chen and Bal to use a circular buffer with incremental redundancy and redundancy versions for retransmissions to improve decoding performance, transmission efficiency, and spectral efficiency (Chen, [0032]) and (Bal, [0117]).
Regarding claims 8 and 26, the system of Noh-Bal teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the RV1 is obtained from a first N0/2 bits of the second bit sequence based on the rate matching manner for retransmission in response to the rate matching manner for retransmission being puncturing and shortening (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0135] The encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Nr−1)) are generated by applying channel coding to the code blocks (265) (c.sub.r0, . . . , c.sub.r(Kr−1)) (S215). The generated encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by shortening and puncturing. Alternatively, the encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by sub-block interleaving, bit selection, and/or interleaving. That is, the encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Br−1)) are converted into rate-matched bits (275) (f.sub.r0, . . . , f.sub.r(gr−1)) (S220). Typically, interleaving may refer to a process for changing a sequence of bits and reduce the occurrence of errors. The interleaving is designed in consideration of efficient de-interleaving.).
Thus, Noh and Chen do not explicitly teach the terms (RV1) and (R0).
Similar to the system of Noh and Chen, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) and (R0) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Chen and Bal to use a circular buffer with incremental redundancy and redundancy versions for retransmissions to improve decoding performance, transmission efficiency, and spectral efficiency (Chen, [0032]) and (Bal, [0117]).
Regarding claims 9 and 27, the system of Noh-Chen-Bal teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]:):
wherein the method further comprises (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]:):
cascading, by the transmitter, the RV0 and the RV1 and inputting a cascaded version to a second circular buffer (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0175] Compared to the initial transmission, the receiver may obtain the accurate location of the transmission failure (CRC decoding failure) from the retransmission, and thus the transmitter may also obtain the accurate location of the error based on a retransmission failure report from the receiver. The transmitter may determine a portion to transmit to the receiver based on the error occurrence location. The transmitter may improve transmission efficiency by transmitting only the part where the error occurs. Although FIG. 11 shows a case in which the retransmission is performed one time, the method may be applied when the retransmission is performed multiple times. That is, the method may be hierarchically applied by adding CRCs depending on the number of transmission failures to improve the transmission efficiency. The above-described method may be implemented by applying the concept of the binary searching (or bisection method) or Newton's method (Newton-Raphson method) to polar coded HARQ with multiple CRCs.); and
performing, by the transmitter, retransmission based on the RV0 and the RV1 (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0173] The receiver may successfully complete error correction based on the retransmission of the second information block. However, in some cases, the receiver may not succeed in correcting the error in the second block even though the second information block is retransmitted. When the receivers fails to correct the error in spite of the retransmission, the transmitter needs to transmit the entirety of the second information block again, and this may be inefficient.).
Thus, Noh does not explicitly teach incremental redundancy IR and circular buffer.
Similar to the system of Noh and Bal, Chen teaches an encoding system that performs polar encoding for incremental redundancy (IR) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) transmissions, which can be seen as, incremental redundancy IR (Chen, [0011]-[0087], [0088]-[0092]: [0032] According to an example implementation, an encoding system may be provided to encode data for incremental redundancy for hybrid ARQ (HARQ) transmissions in a wireless network, the apparatus including: an outer encoder to receive and encode a set of information bits; a set of polar sub-encoders, coupled to the outer encoder, configured to increase channel capacity for one or more bit channels via use of polar encoding, a polar sub-encoder of the set of polar sub-encoders provided to perform polar encoding for each corresponding incremental redundancy (IR) hybrid ARQ (HARQ) transmission for a set of information bits; and an inner encoder, coupled to outputs of the set of polar sub-encoders, configured to generate a set of code bits for an IR-HARQ transmission over a channel by performing, for each bit input to the inner encoder from one of the polar sub-encoders for the HARQ transmission, an Exclusive Or (XOR) operation with another bit.).
Similar to the system of Noh and Bal, Chen teaches using a circular buffer to provide different redundancy versions for IR-HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, circular buffer (Chen, [0011]-[0087], [0088]-[0092]: [0031] An example of IR-HARQ scheme is the LTE's punctured turbo code with circular buffer. With the help of retransmissions, different versions of redundancy are provided to improve the decoding performance of the original rate—⅓ mother code, as an illustrative example. However, this puncturing-based scheme usually does not work with polar codes or other linear block codes.)
Thus, Noh and Chen do not explicitly teach the terms (RV1) and (R0).
Similar to the system of Noh and Chen, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) and (R0) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Chen and Bal to use a circular buffer with incremental redundancy and redundancy versions for retransmissions to improve decoding performance, transmission efficiency, and spectral efficiency (Chen, [0032]) and (Bal, [0117]).
Regarding claims 10 and 28, the system of Noh-Chen teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /a receiving apparatus (see fig. 1B), comprising:
at least one non-transitory memory configured to store non-transitory instructions (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0100] The one or more memories 104 and 204 may be coupled to the one or more processors 102 and 202 and store various types of data, signals, messages, information, programs, code, instructions, and/or commands. The one or more memories 104 and 204 may be configured as read-only memories (ROMs), random access memories (RAMs), electrically erasable programmable read-only memories (EPROMs), flash memories, hard drives, registers, cash memories, computer-readable storage media, and/or combinations thereof. The one or more memories 104 and 204 may be located at the interior and/or exterior of the one or more processors 102 and 202. The one or more memories 104 and 204 may be coupled to the one or more processors 102 and 202 through various technologies such as wired or wireless connection.); and
at least one processor configured to execute the non-transitory instructions thereby causing the at least one processor to (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0100].):
receiving, by a receiver, a receiving signal that includes information of K to-be-decoded bits, wherein a mother code length that corresponds to the receiving signal is N0 (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0173] The receiver may successfully complete error correction based on the retransmission of the second information block. However, in some cases, the receiver may not succeed in correcting the error in the second block even though the second information block is retransmitted. When the receivers fails to correct the error in spite of the retransmission, the transmitter needs to transmit the entirety of the second information block again, and this may be inefficient.); and
determining an initial transmission version (RV0) (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0352] The operations may include: encoding a first bit sequence having a length of K and including a first information block, a second information block, a first CRC for the first information block, and a second CRC for the second information block based on a polar code with a size of N; transmitting a first signal based on the encoded first bit sequence; receiving first HARQ ACK/NACK information for the first bit sequence; when the first HARQ ACK/NACK information includes information about failure in transmission of the second information block, segmenting the second information block into a first information sub-block and a second information sub-block and generating a third CRC for the first information sub-block; encoding a second bit sequence having a length of L and including the third CRC based on the polar code; and transmitting a second signal based on the encoded second bit sequence.;
determining a length (E1) of a retransmission version (RV1) (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0175] Compared to the initial transmission, the receiver may obtain the accurate location of the transmission failure (CRC decoding failure) from the retransmission, and thus the transmitter may also obtain the accurate location of the error based on a retransmission failure report from the receiver. The transmitter may determine a portion to transmit to the receiver based on the error occurrence location. The transmitter may improve transmission efficiency by transmitting only the part where the error occurs. Although FIG. 11 shows a case in which the retransmission is performed one time, the method may be applied when the retransmission is performed multiple times. That is, the method may be hierarchically applied by adding CRCs depending on the number of transmission failures to improve the transmission efficiency. The above-described method may be implemented by applying the concept of the binary searching (or bisection method) or Newton's method (Newton-Raphson method) to polar coded HARQ with multiple CRCs. [0176] According to the selective retransmission schemes of FIGS. 10 and 11, since the transmitter is capable of knowing the location of an information block where an error occurs, the transmitter may perform retransmission a minimum number of times as needed. In particular, when the binary search method is additionally applied as shown in FIG. 11, the performance may be further improved. However, the selective retransmission schemes of FIGS. 10 and 11 have the following limitations. That is, it is difficult to obtain an effect as if the length of a codeword of a polar code increases from retransmission. In addition, considering the basic concept of polar codes that information is transmitted over an excellent channel based on the fact that channel polarization increases as the length of a codeword increases, it is difficult to further improve the channel polarization from retransmission in the selective retransmission schemes of FIGS. F01 and F02.);
determining the RV1 based on an initial transmission bit rate (R0) (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0186] FIG. 14 shows a case in which a first information block (data 3 and data 4) of two information blocks is decoded with no errors, but an error occurs in a second information block (data 1 and data 2). This case may be defined as error pattern 2. The transmitter may equally perform retransmission for both error patterns 1 and 2. However, decoding at the receiver may vary for each case. For error pattern 2, when decoding polar codes, the receiver may perform the decoding by considering bits in the first information block as frozen bits. Since the receiver recognizes that data 3 and data 4 are correctly received by checking CRC 1 during initial transmission, the receiver may achieve efficient decoding compared to when using data 3, data 4, and CRC 1 as frozen bits. In the example of FIG. 14, the actual code rate becomes 3/16. The decoding may be SIC decoding or BP decoding.); and
performing decoding based on the RV0 and the RV1 (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0186] FIG. 14 shows a case in which a first information block (data 3 and data 4) of two information blocks is decoded with no errors, but an error occurs in a second information block (data 1 and data 2). This case may be defined as error pattern 2. The transmitter may equally perform retransmission for both error patterns 1 and 2. However, decoding at the receiver may vary for each case. For error pattern 2, when decoding polar codes, the receiver may perform the decoding by considering bits in the first information block as frozen bits. Since the receiver recognizes that data 3 and data 4 are correctly received by checking CRC 1 during initial transmission, the receiver may achieve efficient decoding compared to when using data 3, data 4, and CRC 1 as frozen bits. In the example of FIG. 14, the actual code rate becomes 3/16. The decoding may be SIC decoding or BP decoding.).
Thus, Noh does not explicitly teach mother code.
Similar to the system of Noh, Chen teaches generating different redundancy versions for successive IR-HARQ retransmissions from the same mother code, which can be seen as, mother code (Chen, [0011]-[0087], [0088]-[0092]: [0030] The design of IR-HARQ requires a family of compatible codes, where member codes of the family are used for the first transmission and successive retransmissions (e.g., different redundancy versions of a block or set of data to be transmitted or retransmitted). Compatibility here can have different meanings for different codes. For turbo codes, it means that the consecutive transmitted bits in the first transmission and retransmissions are all from the ⅓ rate mother code. [0031] An example of IR-HARQ scheme is the LTE's punctured turbo code with circular buffer. With the help of retransmissions, different versions of redundancy are provided to improve the decoding performance of the original rate—⅓ mother code, as an illustrative example. However, this puncturing-based scheme usually does not work with polar codes or other linear block codes.)
Thus, Noh and Chen do not explicitly teach the terms (RV1) and (R0).
Similar to the system of Noh and Chen, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) and (R0) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Chen and Bal to use a circular buffer with incremental redundancy and redundancy versions for retransmissions to improve decoding performance, transmission efficiency, and spectral efficiency (Chen, [0032]) and (Bal, [0117]).
Regarding claims 11 and 29, the system of Noh-Chen-Bal teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /a receiving apparatus (see fig. 1B), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the RV1 based on the R0 comprises the at least one processor configured to (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0100].):
wherein the determining the RV1 based on the R0 comprises:
determining the RV1, the RV1 comprises E1 bits from a first circular buffer for initial transmission in response to the R0 being less than or equal to a preset bit rate threshold (R threshold) (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0131]); or
determining a second bit sequence generated in an incremental redundancy (IR) manner in response to the R0 being greater than the Rthreshold, and the RV1 is based on the second bit sequence, wherein a length of the second bit sequence is N1, and the N1=2*N0 (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0184].
Thus, Noh does not explicitly teach incremental redundancy IR.
Similar to the system of Noh, Chen teaches an encoding system that performs polar encoding for incremental redundancy (IR) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) transmissions, which can be seen as, incremental redundancy IR (Chen, [0011]-[0087], [0088]-[0092]: [0032] According to an example implementation, an encoding system may be provided to encode data for incremental redundancy for hybrid ARQ (HARQ) transmissions in a wireless network, the apparatus including: an outer encoder to receive and encode a set of information bits; a set of polar sub-encoders, coupled to the outer encoder, configured to increase channel capacity for one or more bit channels via use of polar encoding, a polar sub-encoder of the set of polar sub-encoders provided to perform polar encoding for each corresponding incremental redundancy (IR) hybrid ARQ (HARQ) transmission for a set of information bits; and an inner encoder, coupled to outputs of the set of polar sub-encoders, configured to generate a set of code bits for an IR-HARQ transmission over a channel by performing, for each bit input to the inner encoder from one of the polar sub-encoders for the HARQ transmission, an Exclusive Or (XOR) operation with another bit.).
Thus, Noh and Chen do not explicitly teach the terms (RV1) and (R0).
Similar to the system of Noh and Chen, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) and (R0) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Chen and Bal to use a circular buffer with incremental redundancy and redundancy versions for retransmissions to improve decoding performance, transmission efficiency, and spectral efficiency (Chen, [0032]) and (Bal, [0117]).
Regarding claims 12 and 30, the system of Noh-Chen-Bal teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /a receiving apparatus (see fig. 1B), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises the at least one processor configured to (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0100].):
wherein the determining the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0358] The second bit sequence may further include a new information block. The second information block of the second bit sequence may be placed at the input bit locations related to the second information block among the K input bit locations. The new information block of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at the rest of the input bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K input bit locations.):
obtaining a sub-channel set (Q1), wherein the Q1 includes K elements, and the K elements are sequence numbers of K sub-channels useable to place the K to-be-coded bits in initial transmission (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0171] Referring to FIG. 10, information bits are divided into three groups (information blocks 1, 2, and 3), and one CRC is added to each information block (info block). The information blocks and CRCs may be encoded by non-systematic polar coding or systematic polar coding. Encoded codewords are transferred to the receiver after passing through a channel where noise exists. The receiver performs polar error-correction decoding, which is related to the polar coding used for encoding. In general, successive interference cancellation (SIC) decoding or belief propagation (BP) decoding is performed. After performing the decoding based on polar codes, the receiver performs a CRC check for each information block. In the case of a CRC check failure, the receiver transmits to the transmitter the index (or location) of an information block where the CRC check fails. The transmitter may retransmit only the information block related to the index (or location) to the receiver. In this case, the transmitter may transmit the information block with no error correction encoding. Alternatively, the transmitter may transmit codewords by applying the polar coding again to the information block.);
obtaining a sub-channel set (Q2), wherein the Q2(i)=Q1(i)+N0, i=0, 1, ..., K-1, and the N0 is a mother code length of a polar code useable during initial transmission (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0179] For first transmission (frame 1), one CRC is used, and the receiver determines whether decoding is successful by checking the CRC. In the case of a decoding failure, the receiver transmits frame 2 for retransmission as shown in FIG. 12. In this case, frames 1 and 2 are formed as one polar codeword at the receiver. In FIG. 12, frame 1 is a length-8 polar code, and thus, the combination of frames 1 and 2 is a length-16 polar code. That is, a polar codeword having an increased length is formed by retransmission at the receiver, and thus channel polarization may be improved. When additional retransmission is performed, a lengthened polar code is formed. Thus, the channel polarization is further improved whenever retransmission is performed. Eventually, error correction capability is improved.);
obtaining a sub-channel set (Q3), wherein the Q3(i)<N0 or Q3(i)e Q2, and i=0, 1, ..., K-1 (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0254] Codeword bits corresponding to the vector x.sub.A,2 may not be transmitted as in FIG. 24. However, since the polar code block size N is fixed while the same transport block is processed, the coding rate may be reduced if successfully transmitted bits are not transmitted, and throughput may also decrease. In FIG. 25, a portion of frame 2 processed as frozen bits in FIG. 24 may be used as coded bits so that corresponding output bits may become CRC 3. In FIG. 25, since x.sub.8(2) may be processed as non-transmitted bits, CRC 3 may be additionally transmitted by allocating coded bits at the location of u.sub.8. As shown in FIG. 25, CRC 3 may refer to a CRC for data 3. That is, referring to FIG. 25, coded bits at the locations of u.sub.6, u.sub.7, and u.sub.8 of frame 1 may be processed as frozen bits, and CRC 3 may be added to frame 2. The performance may be improved if redundancy for data 3 is checked by adding CRC 3 to frame 2.);
determining an extended to-be-coded bit set (Qext), wherein an element in the Qext is an element less than the N0 in the Q3 (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0255] Although FIG. 25 shows that 1-bit CRC 3 is added to frame 2, it is apparent that CRC bits may be added to frame 2 as many as the number of frozen bits of frame 1. In FIG. 25, a maximum of three bits may be added. In addition to CRC bits, data bits may also be added to frame 2 as many as the number of frozen bits of frame 1. For example, when data 4 and data 3 are allocated at the locations of u.sub.7 and u.sub.8 of frame 2, the decoding reliability of data 4 and data 3 may be improved. That is, the decoding reliability may be improved when unsuccessfully decoded bits are repeatedly input.);
determining a copy bit set (Qchk), wherein the Qchk=Q2\(Q3\Qext) (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0115] The start of a slot n.sub.s.sup.μ in a subframe is aligned in time with the start of an OFDM symbol n.sub.s.sup.μN.sub.symb.sup.μ in the same subframe. All UEs are not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception, which implies that all OFDM symbols of a DL slot or a UL slot may not be used. Table 3 lists the number N.sub.symb.sup.slot of symbols per slot, the number N.sub.slot.sup.frameμ of slots per frame, and the number N.sub.slot.sup.subframeμ of slots per subframe, for each SCS in a normal CP case, and Table 4 lists the number of symbols per slot, the number of slots per frame, and the number of slots per subframe, for each SCS in an extended CP case.); and
coding the K to-be-coded bits based on the Q2, the Q3, the Qext, and the Qchk by a polar code with a mother code length (N1) thereby obtaining the second bit sequence (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0175] Compared to the initial transmission, the receiver may obtain the accurate location of the transmission failure (CRC decoding failure) from the retransmission, and thus the transmitter may also obtain the accurate location of the error based on a retransmission failure report from the receiver. The transmitter may determine a portion to transmit to the receiver based on the error occurrence location. The transmitter may improve transmission efficiency by transmitting only the part where the error occurs. Although FIG. 11 shows a case in which the retransmission is performed one time, the method may be applied when the retransmission is performed multiple times. That is, the method may be hierarchically applied by adding CRCs depending on the number of transmission failures to improve the transmission efficiency. The above-described method may be implemented by applying the concept of the binary searching (or bisection method) or Newton's method (Newton-Raphson method) to polar coded HARQ with multiple CRCs.).
Thus, Noh does not explicitly teach mother code.
Similar to the system of Noh, Chen teaches generating different redundancy versions for successive IR-HARQ retransmissions from the same mother code, which can be seen as, mother code (Chen, [0011]-[0087], [0088]-[0092]: [0030] The design of IR-HARQ requires a family of compatible codes, where member codes of the family are used for the first transmission and successive retransmissions (e.g., different redundancy versions of a block or set of data to be transmitted or retransmitted). Compatibility here can have different meanings for different codes. For turbo codes, it means that the consecutive transmitted bits in the first transmission and retransmissions are all from the ⅓ rate mother code. [0031] An example of IR-HARQ scheme is the LTE's punctured turbo code with circular buffer. With the help of retransmissions, different versions of redundancy are provided to improve the decoding performance of the original rate—⅓ mother code, as an illustrative example. However, this puncturing-based scheme usually does not work with polar codes or other linear block codes.)
Thus, Noh and Chen do not explicitly teach the terms (RV1) and (R0).
Similar to the system of Noh and Chen, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) and (R0) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Chen and Bal to use a circular buffer with incremental redundancy and redundancy versions for retransmissions to improve decoding performance, transmission efficiency, and spectral efficiency (Chen, [0032]) and (Bal, [0117]).
Regarding claims 13, the system of Noh teaches a method according to claim 12 (see fig. 10 and 11):
wherein the Q3 is determined based on a reliability sorting sequence of a length N1 and a rate matching manner for retransmission (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0238] In FIG. 21, when both information block 1 (data 4, data 3, and CRC 1) and information block 2 (data 2, data 1, and CRC 2) are unsuccessfully decoded, frame 2 may transmitted. Alternatively, the decoding reliability may be improved by transmitting both frames 1 and 2. [0281] If the pilot signals and polar code are separately transmitted, the polar code length becomes 12, and the coding rate is 4/12=1/3. On the other hand, when the pilot signals and polar code are transmitted together, the actual code length becomes 16, and the coding rate is 8/16. However, since the LRR values of received symbols corresponding to the four pilot signals are infinite, the actual code rate becomes 4/16, which is less than 1/3. Consequently, the reliability of information bits may be improved.).
Regarding claims 14, the system of Noh teaches a method according to claim 13 (see fig. 10 and 11):
wherein the rate matching manner for retransmission is at least one of: puncturing, shortening, repetition, or puncturing and shortening (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0135] The bit selection for each of the interleaved sub-blocks may include repeating, puncturing, or shortening some bits.).
Regarding claims 15, the system of Noh teaches a method according to claim 12 (see fig. 10 and 11):
wherein the coding the K to- be-coded bits based on the Q2, Q3, Qext, and Qchk by the polar code with the N1 comprises (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0047] An alternative design of the “inner code” is shown in FIG. 5. For the inner encoder of FIG. 5, the inner encoder is configured to generate a set of code bits for an IR-HARQ transmission over a channel by performing, for each bit input to the inner encoder from one of the polar sub-encoders for the HARQ transmission, an Exclusive Or (XOR) operation with a corresponding bit output by a plurality of different polar sub-encoders of the set of polar encoders, each different polar sub-encoders associated with a different IR-HARQ transmission.):
selecting bit values on one or more sub-channels in the Qchk and copying the bit values to corresponding sub-channels in the Qext one by one (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0232] In non-systematic polar coding, since coded data contains no raw information block data unlike LDPC and turbo coding, decoding needs to be performed to obtain the raw information block data. That is, in the LDCP and turbo coding, since a systematic sequence having the same bit values as raw information block data is generally included in coded data (this may be distorted or damaged by interference during transmission and reception), a soft estimation value may be easily calculated. However, decoding must be performed in the non-systematic polar coding.).
Regarding claims 16, the system of Noh-Bal teaches a method according to claim 11 (see fig. 10 and 11):
wherein the obtaining the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: [0358] The second bit sequence may further include a new information block. The second information block of the second bit sequence may be placed at the input bit locations related to the second information block among the K input bit locations. The new information block of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at the rest of the input bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K input bit locations.):
obtaining the RV1 from a first N0 bits of the second bit sequence based on a rate matching manner for retransmission (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0135]).
Thus, Noh and Chen do not explicitly teach the terms (RV1).
Similar to the system of Noh and Chen, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Chen and Bal to use a circular buffer with incremental redundancy and redundancy versions for retransmissions to improve decoding performance, transmission efficiency, and spectral efficiency (Chen, [0032]) and (Bal, [0117]).
Regarding claims 17, the system of Noh teaches a method according to claim 13 (see fig. 10 and 11):
wherein the RV1 is obtained from a first N0/2 bits of the second bit sequence based on the rate matching manner for retransmission in response to the rate matching manner for retransmission being puncturing and shortening (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0135].
Thus, Noh and Chen do not explicitly teach the term (RV1).
Similar to the system of Noh and Chen, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Chen and Bal to use a circular buffer with incremental redundancy and redundancy versions for retransmissions to improve decoding performance, transmission efficiency, and spectral efficiency (Chen, [0032]) and (Bal, [0117]).
Regarding claims 18, the system of Noh-Chen-Bal teaches a method according to claim 10 (see fig. 10 and 11):
the method further comprises: cascading, by the receiver, RV0 and RV1 and inputting a cascaded version to a second circular buffer (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0175]).; and
performing, by the receiver, retransmission based on the RV0 and the RV1 (Noh, fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, fig. 36, fig. 39, [0083]-[0119], [0120]-[0140],[0141]-[0184], [0185]-[0224], [0225]-[0267], [0268]-[0331], [0332]-[0388]: See above for paragraph [0175]).
Thus, Noh does not explicitly teach circular buffer.
Similar to the system of Noh, Chen teaches using a circular buffer to provide different redundancy versions for IR-HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, circular buffer (Chen, [0011]-[0087], [0088]-[0092]: [0031] An example of IR-HARQ scheme is the LTE's punctured turbo code with circular buffer. With the help of retransmissions, different versions of redundancy are provided to improve the decoding performance of the original rate—⅓ mother code, as an illustrative example. However, this puncturing-based scheme usually does not work with polar codes or other linear block codes.)
Thus, Noh and Chen do not explicitly teach the terms (RV1) and (R0).
Similar to the system of Noh and Chen, Bal teaches transmitting multiple redundancy versions (RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) associated with a transport block for HARQ retransmissions, which can be seen as, (RV1) and (R0) (Bal, fig. 3, fig. 5A-5B, fig. 6A-12, [0064]-[0121], [0122]-[0138], [0139]-[0160], [0161]-[0175]: [0119] FIG. 6A illustrates an example transmission 600 of redundancy versions (RVs) as a bundle where the RVs are associated with a particular transport block (TB). As illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 are associated with TB1 610. These RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 may be transmitted as a bundle across one TTI, or may be transmitted each in a TTI totaling 4 TTIs . Once a transmitter sends RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and RV3 608 to a receiver, the receiver may decode TB1 610 using RV0 602, RV1 604, RV2 606, and/or RV3 608. If TB1 610 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB1 610 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit a negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. Similarly, as illustrated in FIG. 6A, RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 are associated with TB2 620. These RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 may be transmitted as a bundle during TB2 transmit interval (e.g., TTI). Once the transmitter sends RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and RV3 618 to the receiver, the receiver may decode TB2 620 using RV0 612, RV1 614, RV2 616, and/or RV3 618. If TB2 620 is successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit positive HARQ feedback (i.e. ACK) to the transmitter. If TB2 620 is not successfully decoded, the receiver may transmit negative HARQ feedback (i.e. NACK) to the transmitter. The size of bundle for the RVs 602, 604,606, 608 associated with TB1 610 or RVs 612, 614, 616, 618 associated with TB2 620 may be predetermined, fixed, or signaled. For example, in LTE, the size of bundle may be 4 per TB and the RVs in a bundle may only correspond to a particular TB.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Noh with Chen and Bal to use a circular buffer with incremental redundancy and redundancy versions for retransmissions to improve decoding performance, transmission efficiency, and spectral efficiency (Chen, [0032]) and (Bal, [0117]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6, 21-22, and 24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 20200396027 A1) discloses a HARQ retransmission method that dynamically selects a retransmission starting position for each redundancy version within a circular buffer based on one or more transmission parameters.
Jang et al. (US 20210013902 A1) discloses polar decoding scheme, a second number of parity bits among a first number of parity bits of an outer code included in an input bit sequence to a polar encoder are used in an error detection operation, and a third number of parity bits among the first number of parity bits are used in an error correction operation.
Noh et al. (US 20200304241 A1) discloses a polar code encoding method for HARQ that constructs an input vector using information bit, punctured bit, and frozen bit positions prior to polar encoding.
Wu et al. (US 20200014405 A1) discloses polar code sub-block interleaving and rate-dependent bit selection using repetition, puncturing, shortening, and circular buffer.
Kim et al. (US 20190199480 A1) discloses a HARQ retransmission technique for polar codes that generates retransmission bits by re-encoding input bits and selecting differently encoded output bits for retransmission.
Noh et al. (US 20190140663 A1) discloses a polar code retransmission method that generates retransmission data by allocating data bits to input bit positions based on priority, target encoding rate, and shortening bits.
Li et al. (US 20190052418 A1) discloses a polar code HARQ retransmission method that combines incremental redundancy with new data and controls retransmission and new information bits to improve throughput while managing BLER.
Kim et al. (US 20180175976 A1) discloses a HARQ retransmission technique for polar codes that retransmit information bits while transmitting new information bits and frozen bits within a retransmission packet.
Tong et al. (US 20170325209 A1) discloses a retransmission method that supports adjustable data and coding rates, partial soft combining, and parity bit selection for successive retransmissions.
Foneska et al. (US 20160352419 A1) discloses a design framework for constrained turbo block convolutional (CTBC) codes, including constrained interleaves, coded modulation, and MIMO techniques to improve coding performance and bandwidth efficiency.
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468