DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 23 September 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noh et al. (US 20210328716 A1) (hereinafter Noh).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
at least one non-transitory memory configured to store non-transitory instructions (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the non-transitory instructions thereby causing the at least one processor to (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]):
obtaining, by a transmitter, a to-be-coded bit sequence that comprises K to-be-coded bits, wherein K is a positive integer (Noh, fig. 39, [0341]-[0349]: [0345] The second bit sequence may further include a new information block. The second information block of the second bit sequence may be placed at the input bit locations related to the second information block among the K input bit locations. The new information block of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at the rest of the input bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K input bit locations.) ;
performing polar coding on the to-be-coded bit sequence thereby obtaining a coded first bit sequence, wherein a length of the coded first bit sequence is N0 (Noh, fig. 39, [0341]-[0349], [0352]-[0361], [0364]: [0355] The first bit sequence may be placed and encoded at K predetermined input bit locations among N input bits of the polar code.; and
determining an initial transmission version (RV0) (Noh, fig. 14, [0185]-[0186]: [0186] FIG. 14 shows a case in which a first information block (data 3 and data 4) of two information blocks is decoded with no errors, but an error occurs in a second information block (data 1 and data 2). This case may be defined as error pattern 2. The transmitter may equally perform retransmission for both error patterns 1 and 2. However, decoding at the receiver may vary for each case. For error pattern 2, when decoding polar codes, the receiver may perform the decoding by considering bits in the first information block as frozen bits. Since the receiver recognizes that data 3 and data 4 are correctly received by checking CRC 1 during initial transmission, the receiver may achieve efficient decoding compared to when using data 3, data 4, and CRC 1 as frozen bits. In the example of FIG. 14, the actual code rate becomes 3/16. The decoding may be SIC decoding or BP decoding.);
determining a length (E1) of a retransmission version (RV1) (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0176]: [0175] Compared to the initial transmission, the receiver may obtain the accurate location of the transmission failure (CRC decoding failure) from the retransmission, and thus the transmitter may also obtain the accurate location of the error based on a retransmission failure report from the receiver. The transmitter may determine a portion to transmit to the receiver based on the error occurrence location. The transmitter may improve transmission efficiency by transmitting only the part where the error occurs. Although FIG. 11 shows a case in which the retransmission is performed one time, the method may be applied when the retransmission is performed multiple times. That is, the method may be hierarchically applied by adding CRCs depending on the number of transmission failures to improve the transmission efficiency. The above-described method may be implemented by applying the concept of the binary searching (or bisection method) or Newton's method (Newton-Raphson method) to polar coded HARQ with multiple CRCs.);
determining the RV1 based on an initial transmission bit rate (R0) (Noh, fig. 14, [0185]-[0186]: [0186] FIG. 14 shows a case in which a first information block (data 3 and data 4) of two information blocks is decoded with no errors, but an error occurs in a second information block (data 1 and data 2). This case may be defined as error pattern 2. The transmitter may equally perform retransmission for both error patterns 1 and 2. However, decoding at the receiver may vary for each case. For error pattern 2, when decoding polar codes, the receiver may perform the decoding by considering bits in the first information block as frozen bits. Since the receiver recognizes that data 3 and data 4 are correctly received by checking CRC 1 during initial transmission, the receiver may achieve efficient decoding compared to when using data 3, data 4, and CRC 1 as frozen bits. In the example of FIG. 14, the actual code rate becomes 3/16. The decoding may be SIC decoding or BP decoding.); and
sending the RV1 (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0177]: [0173] The method of FIG. 11 shows better performance than the method of FIG. 10. Referring to FIG. 11, the receiver may confirm that CRC decoding fails in the second information block (info 2-1 and info 2-2) through a CRC check. The receiver informs the transmitter of the CRC decoding failure in the second information block. That is, the transmitter may know that an error occurs in the second information block and thus retransmit the second information block. However, the transmitter may not accurately know at which point in the second block the error occurs. According to the method of FIG. 10, the entirety of the second information block may be retransmitted. The receiver may successfully complete error correction based on the retransmission of the second information block. However, in some cases, the receiver may not succeed in correcting the error in the second block even though the second information block is retransmitted. When the receivers fails to correct the error in spite of the retransmission, the transmitter needs to transmit the entirety of the second information block again, and this may be inefficient.).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the RV1 based on the R0 comprises the at least one processor configured to (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]):
the determining the RV1 based on the R0 comprises (Noh, fig. 34, [0326]-[0329], [0331]-[0340]: [0329] The circles (3402 and 3452) of FIG. 34 represent codeword bits determined immediately after the successful decoding of the first information block due to the unique characteristics of the polar code generator matrix. That is, when successfully decoding the first information block, the receiver may know the accurate value of a bit represented by the blue circle. The receiver may further improve the reliability of the channel estimation by using the bit as a pilot signal for the second decoding.:
obtaining the RV1 by reading the E1 bits from a first circular buffer for initial transmission in response to the R0 being less than or equal to a preset bit rate threshold (Rthreshold) (Noh, fig 4, [0130]-[0139]: [0131] Data subject to channel coding is referred to as a transport block. Typically, depending on the performance of channel coding, the transport block is divided into code blocks, each of which has a size less than or equal to a predetermined value. [0132] The channel coding method according to the present disclosure may include attaching a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code to a transport block (S205); dividing the transport block into code blocks (S210); encoding the divided code blocks (S215); perform rate matching of the encoded code blocks (S220); and concatenating the rate-matched code blocks (S225).); or
generating a second bit sequence in an incremental redundancy IR manner (Noh, fig. 39, [0341]-[0365]: [0365] The third CRC of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at some of the bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K bit locations. The second information block of the second bit sequence may be placed repeatedly and encoded at the rest of the bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K bit locations. A new information block may be placed and encoded at the rest of the bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K bit locations. The second bit sequence may further include the second CRC. Alternatively, the second bit sequence may further include a fourth CRC for the second information sub-block.); and
obtaining the RV1 based on the second bit sequence in response to the R0 being greater than the Rthreshold, wherein a length of the second bit sequence is N1, and the N1=2*N0 (Noh, fig. 13 and fig. 39, [0184], [0341]-[0365]: [0184] FIG. 13 shows a case in which errors occur in the two information blocks (two CRC checks fail). Such a case may be defined as error pattern 1. In this case, the actual length of a polar codeword constructed by retransmission is doubled (16 in FIG. F04), and the code rate becomes half (6/16 in FIG. 13).).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor configured to thereby obtain the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises the at least one processor configured to (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]):
wherein the obtaining the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises (Noh, fig. 39, [0341]-[0365]: [0358] The second bit sequence may further include a new information block. The second information block of the second bit sequence may be placed at the input bit locations related to the second information block among the K input bit locations. The new information block of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at the rest of the input bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K input bit locations.):
obtaining a sub-channel set (Q1), wherein the Q1 comprises K elements, and the K elements are sequence numbers of K sub-channels useable to place the K to-be-coded bits in initial transmission (Noh, fig. 10, fig. 16, [0170]-[0171], [0189]-[0193]: [0171] Referring to FIG. 10, information bits are divided into three groups (information blocks 1, 2, and 3), and one CRC is added to each information block (info block). The information blocks and CRCs may be encoded by non-systematic polar coding or systematic polar coding. Encoded codewords are transferred to the receiver after passing through a channel where noise exists. The receiver performs polar error-correction decoding, which is related to the polar coding used for encoding. In general, successive interference cancellation (SIC) decoding or belief propagation (BP) decoding is performed. After performing the decoding based on polar codes, the receiver performs a CRC check for each information block. In the case of a CRC check failure, the receiver transmits to the transmitter the index (or location) of an information block where the CRC check fails. The transmitter may retransmit only the information block related to the index (or location) to the receiver. In this case, the transmitter may transmit the information block with no error correction encoding. Alternatively, the transmitter may transmit codewords by applying the polar coding again to the information block.);
obtaining a sub-channel set (Q2), wherein the Q2(i)=Q1(i)+N0, i=0, 1, ..., K-1, and the N0 is a mother code length of a polar code useable during initial transmission (Noh, fig. 12, [0176], [0178]-[0182], : [0179] For first transmission (frame 1), one CRC is used, and the receiver determines whether decoding is successful by checking the CRC. In the case of a decoding failure, the receiver transmits frame 2 for retransmission as shown in FIG. 12. In this case, frames 1 and 2 are formed as one polar codeword at the receiver. In FIG. 12, frame 1 is a length-8 polar code, and thus, the combination of frames 1 and 2 is a length-16 polar code. That is, a polar codeword having an increased length is formed by retransmission at the receiver, and thus channel polarization may be improved. When additional retransmission is performed, a lengthened polar code is formed. Thus, the channel polarization is further improved whenever retransmission is performed. Eventually, error correction capability is improved.);
obtaining a sub-channel set (Q3), wherein the Q3(i)<N0 or Q3(i)e Q2, and i=0, 1, ..., K-1 (Noh, fig. 25, [0170]-[0171], [0189]-[0193], [0252]-[0256]: [0254] Codeword bits corresponding to the vector x.sub.A,2 may not be transmitted as in FIG. 24. However, since the polar code block size N is fixed while the same transport block is processed, the coding rate may be reduced if successfully transmitted bits are not transmitted, and throughput may also decrease. In FIG. 25, a portion of frame 2 processed as frozen bits in FIG. 24 may be used as coded bits so that corresponding output bits may become CRC 3. In FIG. 25, since x.sub.8(2) may be processed as non-transmitted bits, CRC 3 may be additionally transmitted by allocating coded bits at the location of u.sub.8. As shown in FIG. 25, CRC 3 may refer to a CRC for data 3. That is, referring to FIG. 25, coded bits at the locations of u.sub.6, u.sub.7, and u.sub.8 of frame 1 may be processed as frozen bits, and CRC 3 may be added to frame 2. The performance may be improved if redundancy for data 3 is checked by adding CRC 3 to frame 2.) ;
determining an extended to-be-coded bit set (Qext), wherein an element in the Qext is an element less than the N0 in the Q3 (Noh, fig. 25, [0170]-[0171], [0189]-[0193], [0252]-[0256]: [0255] Although FIG. 25 shows that 1-bit CRC 3 is added to frame 2, it is apparent that CRC bits may be added to frame 2 as many as the number of frozen bits of frame 1. In FIG. 25, a maximum of three bits may be added. In addition to CRC bits, data bits may also be added to frame 2 as many as the number of frozen bits of frame 1. For example, when data 4 and data 3 are allocated at the locations of u.sub.7 and u.sub.8 of frame 2, the decoding reliability of data 4 and data 3 may be improved. That is, the decoding reliability may be improved when unsuccessfully decoded bits are repeatedly input.);
determining a copy bit set (Qchk), wherein the Qchk=Q2\(Q3\Qext) (Noh, fig. 2, [0109]-[0119]: [0115] The start of a slot n.sub.s.sup.μ in a subframe is aligned in time with the start of an OFDM symbol n.sub.s.sup.μN.sub.symb.sup.μ in the same subframe. All UEs are not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception, which implies that all OFDM symbols of a DL slot or a UL slot may not be used. Table 3 lists the number N.sub.symb.sup.slot of symbols per slot, the number N.sub.slot.sup.frameμ of slots per frame, and the number N.sub.slot.sup.subframeμ of slots per subframe, for each SCS in a normal CP case, and Table 4 lists the number of symbols per slot, the number of slots per frame, and the number of slots per subframe, for each SCS in an extended CP case.); and
coding the K to-be-coded bits based on the Q2, the Q3, the Qext, and the Qchk by a polar code with a mother code length (N1) thereby obtaining the second bit sequence (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0177]: [0175] Compared to the initial transmission, the receiver may obtain the accurate location of the transmission failure (CRC decoding failure) from the retransmission, and thus the transmitter may also obtain the accurate location of the error based on a retransmission failure report from the receiver. The transmitter may determine a portion to transmit to the receiver based on the error occurrence location. The transmitter may improve transmission efficiency by transmitting only the part where the error occurs. Although FIG. 11 shows a case in which the retransmission is performed one time, the method may be applied when the retransmission is performed multiple times. That is, the method may be hierarchically applied by adding CRCs depending on the number of transmission failures to improve the transmission efficiency. The above-described method may be implemented by applying the concept of the binary searching (or bisection method) or Newton's method (Newton-Raphson method) to polar coded HARQ with multiple CRCs.).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the Q3 is determined based on a reliability sorting sequence of a length N1 and a rate matching manner for retransmission (Noh, Fig. 4, [0131]-[0139]: [0131] subdividing the encoded bit sequence into sub-blocks; interleaving each of the sub-blocks; performing bit selection for each of the interleaved sub-blocks; and interleaving coded bits again. The bit selection for each of the interleaved sub-blocks may include repeating, puncturing, or shortening some bits. [0132] The channel coding method according to the present disclosure may include attaching a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code to a transport block (S205); dividing the transport block into code blocks (S210); encoding the divided code blocks (S215); perform rate matching of the encoded code blocks (S220); and concatenating the rate-matched code blocks (S225).).
Regarding claims 5 and 23, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the rate matching manner for retransmission is at least one of: puncturing, shortening, repetition, or puncturing and shortening (Noh, Fig. 4, [0131]-[0139]: [0135] The encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Nr−1)) are generated by applying channel coding to the code blocks (265) (c.sub.r0, . . . , c.sub.r(Kr−1)) (S215). The generated encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by shortening and puncturing. Alternatively, the encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by sub-block interleaving, bit selection, and/or interleaving. That is, the encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Br−1)) are converted into rate-matched bits (275) (f.sub.r0, . . . , f.sub.r(gr−1)) (S220). Typically, interleaving may refer to a process for changing a sequence of bits and reduce the occurrence of errors. The interleaving is designed in consideration of efficient de-interleaving.).
Regarding claims 6 and 24, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]);
the coding the K to-be- coded bits based on the Q2, Q3, Qext, and Qchk by the polar code with the N1 comprises (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0177]):
selecting bit values on one or more sub-channels in the Qchk and copying the bit values to corresponding sub-channels in the Qext one by one (Noh, Fig. 4, [0131]-[0139]: [0135] The encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Nr−1)) are generated by applying channel coding to the code blocks (265) (c.sub.r0, . . . , c.sub.r(Kr−1)) (S215). The generated encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by shortening and puncturing. Alternatively, the encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by sub-block interleaving, bit selection, and/or interleaving. That is, the encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Br−1)) are converted into rate-matched bits (275) (f.sub.r0, . . . , f.sub.r(gr−1)) (S220). Typically, interleaving may refer to a process for changing a sequence of bits and reduce the occurrence of errors. The interleaving is designed in consideration of efficient de-interleaving.).
Regarding claims 7 and 25, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor configured to obtain the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]):
wherein the obtaining the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises (Noh, fig. 39, [0341]-[0365]: [0358] The second bit sequence may further include a new information block. The second information block of the second bit sequence may be placed at the input bit locations related to the second information block among the K input bit locations. The new information block of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at the rest of the input bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K input bit locations.):
obtaining the RV1 from a first N0 bits of the second bit sequence based on a rate matching manner for retransmission (Noh, Fig. 4, [0131]-[0139]: [0135] The encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Nr−1)) are generated by applying channel coding to the code blocks (265) (c.sub.r0, . . . , c.sub.r(Kr−1)) (S215). The generated encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by shortening and puncturing. Alternatively, the encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by sub-block interleaving, bit selection, and/or interleaving. That is, the encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Br−1)) are converted into rate-matched bits (275) (f.sub.r0, . . . , f.sub.r(gr−1)) (S220). Typically, interleaving may refer to a process for changing a sequence of bits and reduce the occurrence of errors. The interleaving is designed in consideration of efficient de-interleaving.).
Regarding claims 8 and 26, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the RV1 is obtained from a first N0/2 bits of the second bit sequence based on the rate matching manner for retransmission in response to the rate matching manner for retransmission being puncturing and shortening (Noh, Fig. 4, [0131]-[0139]: [0135] The encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Nr−1)) are generated by applying channel coding to the code blocks (265) (c.sub.r0, . . . , c.sub.r(Kr−1)) (S215). The generated encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by shortening and puncturing. Alternatively, the encoded bits (270) may be rate-matched by sub-block interleaving, bit selection, and/or interleaving. That is, the encoded bits (270) (d.sub.r0, . . . , d.sub.r(Br−1)) are converted into rate-matched bits (275) (f.sub.r0, . . . , f.sub.r(gr−1)) (S220). Typically, interleaving may refer to a process for changing a sequence of bits and reduce the occurrence of errors. The interleaving is designed in consideration of efficient de-interleaving.).
Regarding claims 9 and 27, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /sending apparatus (see fig. 4,5, and 6), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]):
wherein the method further comprises (Noh, see fig. 10 and 11, [0170]-[0171], [0172]-[0177]):
cascading, by the transmitter, the RV0 and the RV1 and inputting a cascaded version to a second circular buffer (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0182]: [0175] Compared to the initial transmission, the receiver may obtain the accurate location of the transmission failure (CRC decoding failure) from the retransmission, and thus the transmitter may also obtain the accurate location of the error based on a retransmission failure report from the receiver. The transmitter may determine a portion to transmit to the receiver based on the error occurrence location. The transmitter may improve transmission efficiency by transmitting only the part where the error occurs. Although FIG. 11 shows a case in which the retransmission is performed one time, the method may be applied when the retransmission is performed multiple times. That is, the method may be hierarchically applied by adding CRCs depending on the number of transmission failures to improve the transmission efficiency. The above-described method may be implemented by applying the concept of the binary searching (or bisection method) or Newton's method (Newton-Raphson method) to polar coded HARQ with multiple CRCs.); and
performing, by the transmitter, retransmission based on the RV0 and the RV1 (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0182]: [0173] The receiver may successfully complete error correction based on the retransmission of the second information block. However, in some cases, the receiver may not succeed in correcting the error in the second block even though the second information block is retransmitted. When the receivers fails to correct the error in spite of the retransmission, the transmitter needs to transmit the entirety of the second information block again, and this may be inefficient.).
Regarding claims 10 and 28, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /a receiving apparatus (see fig. 1B), comprising:
at least one non-transitory memory configured to store non-transitory instructions (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the non-transitory instructions thereby causing the at least one processor to (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]):
receiving, by a receiver, a receiving signal that includes information of K to-be-decoded bits, wherein a mother code length that corresponds to the receiving signal is N0 (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0182]: [0173] The receiver may successfully complete error correction based on the retransmission of the second information block. However, in some cases, the receiver may not succeed in correcting the error in the second block even though the second information block is retransmitted. When the receivers fails to correct the error in spite of the retransmission, the transmitter needs to transmit the entirety of the second information block again, and this may be inefficient.); and
determining an initial transmission version (RV0) (Noh, fig. 14, [0185]-[0186]: See above for paragraph [0186].;
determining a length (E1) of a retransmission version (RV1) (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0176]: See above for paragraph [0175].);
determining the RV1 based on an initial transmission bit rate (R0) (Noh, fig. 14, [0185]-[0186]: See above for paragraph [0186]); and
performing decoding based on the RV0 and the RV1 (Noh, fig. 14, [0185]-[0186]: [0186] FIG. 14 shows a case in which a first information block (data 3 and data 4) of two information blocks is decoded with no errors, but an error occurs in a second information block (data 1 and data 2). This case may be defined as error pattern 2. The transmitter may equally perform retransmission for both error patterns 1 and 2. However, decoding at the receiver may vary for each case. For error pattern 2, when decoding polar codes, the receiver may perform the decoding by considering bits in the first information block as frozen bits. Since the receiver recognizes that data 3 and data 4 are correctly received by checking CRC 1 during initial transmission, the receiver may achieve efficient decoding compared to when using data 3, data 4, and CRC 1 as frozen bits. In the example of FIG. 14, the actual code rate becomes 3/16. The decoding may be SIC decoding or BP decoding.).
Regarding claims 11 and 29, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /a receiving apparatus (see fig. 1B), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the RV1 based on the R0 comprises the at least one processor configured to (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]):
wherein the determining the RV1 based on the R0 comprises:
determining the RV1, the RV1 comprises E1 bits from a first circular buffer for initial transmission in response to the R0 being less than or equal to a preset bit rate threshold (R threshold) (Noh, fig 4, [0130]-[0139]: See above for paragraph [0131]); or
determining a second bit sequence generated in an incremental redundancy (IR) manner in response to the R0 being greater than the Rthreshold, and the RV1 is based on the second bit sequence, wherein a length of the second bit sequence is N1, and the N1=2*N0 (Noh, fig. 13 and fig. 39, [0184], [0341]-[0365]: See above for paragraph [0184].
Regarding claims 12 and 30, the system of Noh teaches a retransmission method (see fig. 10 and 11) /a receiving apparatus (see fig. 1B), comprising:
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises the at least one processor configured to (Noh, fig. 1b, [0094]-[0101]):
wherein the determining the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises (Noh, fig. 39, [0341]-[0365]: [0358] The second bit sequence may further include a new information block. The second information block of the second bit sequence may be placed at the input bit locations related to the second information block among the K input bit locations. The new information block of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at the rest of the input bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K input bit locations.):
obtaining a sub-channel set (Q1), wherein the Q1 includes K elements, and the K elements are sequence numbers of K sub-channels useable to place the K to-be-coded bits in initial transmission (Noh, fig. 10, fig. 16, [0170]-[0171], [0189]-[0193]: [0171] Referring to FIG. 10, information bits are divided into three groups (information blocks 1, 2, and 3), and one CRC is added to each information block (info block). The information blocks and CRCs may be encoded by non-systematic polar coding or systematic polar coding. Encoded codewords are transferred to the receiver after passing through a channel where noise exists. The receiver performs polar error-correction decoding, which is related to the polar coding used for encoding. In general, successive interference cancellation (SIC) decoding or belief propagation (BP) decoding is performed. After performing the decoding based on polar codes, the receiver performs a CRC check for each information block. In the case of a CRC check failure, the receiver transmits to the transmitter the index (or location) of an information block where the CRC check fails. The transmitter may retransmit only the information block related to the index (or location) to the receiver. In this case, the transmitter may transmit the information block with no error correction encoding. Alternatively, the transmitter may transmit codewords by applying the polar coding again to the information block.);
obtaining a sub-channel set (Q2), wherein the Q2(i)=Q1(i)+N0, i=0, 1, ..., K-1, and the N0 is a mother code length of a polar code useable during initial transmission (Noh, fig. 12, [0176], [0178]-[0182], : [0179] For first transmission (frame 1), one CRC is used, and the receiver determines whether decoding is successful by checking the CRC. In the case of a decoding failure, the receiver transmits frame 2 for retransmission as shown in FIG. 12. In this case, frames 1 and 2 are formed as one polar codeword at the receiver. In FIG. 12, frame 1 is a length-8 polar code, and thus, the combination of frames 1 and 2 is a length-16 polar code. That is, a polar codeword having an increased length is formed by retransmission at the receiver, and thus channel polarization may be improved. When additional retransmission is performed, a lengthened polar code is formed. Thus, the channel polarization is further improved whenever retransmission is performed. Eventually, error correction capability is improved.);
obtaining a sub-channel set (Q3), wherein the Q3(i)<N0 or Q3(i)e Q2, and i=0, 1, ..., K-1 (Noh, fig. 25, [0170]-[0171], [0189]-[0193], [0252]-[0256]: [0254] Codeword bits corresponding to the vector x.sub.A,2 may not be transmitted as in FIG. 24. However, since the polar code block size N is fixed while the same transport block is processed, the coding rate may be reduced if successfully transmitted bits are not transmitted, and throughput may also decrease. In FIG. 25, a portion of frame 2 processed as frozen bits in FIG. 24 may be used as coded bits so that corresponding output bits may become CRC 3. In FIG. 25, since x.sub.8(2) may be processed as non-transmitted bits, CRC 3 may be additionally transmitted by allocating coded bits at the location of u.sub.8. As shown in FIG. 25, CRC 3 may refer to a CRC for data 3. That is, referring to FIG. 25, coded bits at the locations of u.sub.6, u.sub.7, and u.sub.8 of frame 1 may be processed as frozen bits, and CRC 3 may be added to frame 2. The performance may be improved if redundancy for data 3 is checked by adding CRC 3 to frame 2.);
determining an extended to-be-coded bit set (Qext), wherein an element in the Qext is an element less than the N0 in the Q3 (Noh, fig. 25, [0170]-[0171], [0189]-[0193], [0252]-[0256]: [0255] Although FIG. 25 shows that 1-bit CRC 3 is added to frame 2, it is apparent that CRC bits may be added to frame 2 as many as the number of frozen bits of frame 1. In FIG. 25, a maximum of three bits may be added. In addition to CRC bits, data bits may also be added to frame 2 as many as the number of frozen bits of frame 1. For example, when data 4 and data 3 are allocated at the locations of u.sub.7 and u.sub.8 of frame 2, the decoding reliability of data 4 and data 3 may be improved. That is, the decoding reliability may be improved when unsuccessfully decoded bits are repeatedly input.);
determining a copy bit set (Qchk), wherein the Qchk=Q2\(Q3\Qext) (Noh, fig. 2, [0109]-[0119]: [0115] The start of a slot n.sub.s.sup.μ in a subframe is aligned in time with the start of an OFDM symbol n.sub.s.sup.μN.sub.symb.sup.μ in the same subframe. All UEs are not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception, which implies that all OFDM symbols of a DL slot or a UL slot may not be used. Table 3 lists the number N.sub.symb.sup.slot of symbols per slot, the number N.sub.slot.sup.frameμ of slots per frame, and the number N.sub.slot.sup.subframeμ of slots per subframe, for each SCS in a normal CP case, and Table 4 lists the number of symbols per slot, the number of slots per frame, and the number of slots per subframe, for each SCS in an extended CP case.); and
coding the K to-be-coded bits based on the Q2, the Q3, the Qext, and the Qchk by a polar code with a mother code length (N1) thereby obtaining the second bit sequence (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0177]: [0175] Compared to the initial transmission, the receiver may obtain the accurate location of the transmission failure (CRC decoding failure) from the retransmission, and thus the transmitter may also obtain the accurate location of the error based on a retransmission failure report from the receiver. The transmitter may determine a portion to transmit to the receiver based on the error occurrence location. The transmitter may improve transmission efficiency by transmitting only the part where the error occurs. Although FIG. 11 shows a case in which the retransmission is performed one time, the method may be applied when the retransmission is performed multiple times. That is, the method may be hierarchically applied by adding CRCs depending on the number of transmission failures to improve the transmission efficiency. The above-described method may be implemented by applying the concept of the binary searching (or bisection method) or Newton's method (Newton-Raphson method) to polar coded HARQ with multiple CRCs.).
Regarding claims 13, the system of Noh teaches a method according to claim 12 (see fig. 10 and 11):
wherein the Q3 is determined based on a reliability sorting sequence of a length N1 and a rate matching manner for retransmission (Noh, Fig. 4, [0131]-[0139]: See above for paragraph [0131].
Regarding claims 14, the system of Noh teaches a method according to claim 13 (see fig. 10 and 11):
wherein the rate matching manner for retransmission is at least one of: puncturing, shortening, repetition, or puncturing and shortening (Noh, Fig. 4, [0131]-[0139]: See above for paragraph [0135].
Regarding claims 15, the system of Noh teaches a method according to claim 12 (see fig. 10 and 11):
wherein the coding the K to- be-coded bits based on the Q2, Q3, Qext, and Qchk by the polar code with the N1 comprises (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0177]):
selecting bit values on one or more sub-channels in the Qchk and copying the bit values to corresponding sub-channels in the Qext one by one (Noh, Fig. 4, [0131]-[0139]: See above for paragraph [0135]).
Regarding claims 16, the system of Noh teaches a method according to claim 11 (see fig. 10 and 11):
wherein the obtaining the RV1 based on the second bit sequence comprises (Noh, fig. 39, [0341]-[0365]: [0358] The second bit sequence may further include a new information block. The second information block of the second bit sequence may be placed at the input bit locations related to the second information block among the K input bit locations. The new information block of the second bit sequence may be placed and encoded at the rest of the input bit locations related to the first information block and first CRC among the K input bit locations.):
obtaining the RV1 from a first N0 bits of the second bit sequence based on a rate matching manner for retransmission (Noh, Fig. 4, [0131]-[0139]: See above for paragraph [0135]).
Regarding claims 17, the system of Noh teaches a method according to claim 13 (see fig. 10 and 11):
wherein the RV1 is obtained from a first N0/2 bits of the second bit sequence based on the rate matching manner for retransmission in response to the rate matching manner for retransmission being puncturing and shortening (Noh, Fig. 4, [0131]-[0139]: See above for paragraph [0135].
Regarding claims 18, the system of Noh teaches a method according to claim 10 (see fig. 10 and 11):
the method further comprises: cascading, by the receiver, RV0 and RV1 and inputting a cascaded version to a second circular buffer; and performing, by the receiver, retransmission based on the RV0 and the RV1 (Noh, fig. 11, [0172]-[0182]: See above for paragraph [0175].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
You et al. (US-10797825-B2), the abstract discusses the transmission apparatus maps a plurality of code blocks obtained from data to a time-frequency resource, and transmits the plurality of code blocks therefrom. The time-frequency resource comprises L number of time symbols in the time domain, where L is an integer greater than 1. Each of the L number of time symbols comprises one or more different code blocks from among the plurality of code blocks. The plurality of code blocks is mapped in the time-frequency resource so that one complete code block is one time symbol. (See fig. 3 and fig. 4).
Wu et al. (US-20200014405-A1), the abstract discusses the apparatus and methods are provided for polar code sub-block interleaving and bit selection. In one novel aspect, middle-part interlaced sub-block interleaving is provided for polar code interleaving. In one embodiment, the middle part of the polar code is interlaced and generates the interleaved polar code. In another embodiment, the lower part and the upper part are also sub-block interleaved with the middle-part interlaced method. In another novel, rate-dependent unified bit selection is provided. The bit selection is categorized into three operation categories of repetition, puncturing and the shortening. Each category follows unified bit selection rule with different categories differ only in the access scheme. In one embodiment, the circular buffer is used for bit selection. (See fig. 6B and fig. 8).
Jang et al. (US-20180367239-A1), which teaches a method for transmitting information using a polar code at an apparatus is provided. The method includes identifying a first bit sequence, identifying a second bit sequence generated by encoding the first bit sequence with the polar code, dividing the second bit sequence into a predetermined number of sub-blocks, and identifying a third bit sequence, based on a result of interleaving the divided sub-blocks based on a first pattern. (See fig. 2).
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468