DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 1-16 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 11/18/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609, the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement dated 2/24/2023 and 12/11/2025 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses legalese - i.e. it is an almost verbatim copy of claim 1. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takata (20220382044).
Regarding claim 1, Takata discloses a polygon mirror comprising a resin member (Fig 2B, [0032], polygon mirror 3 includes a resin member 30) including: a first surface (301); a second surface (302) opposite to the first surface (Fig 3B, [0036]); a through-hole (16) extending from the first surface to the second surface; an inner side surface ([0007], a through hole extending from the first surface to the second surface), which intersects with the first surface and the second surface (Fig 3A, [0036], through hole 16 is formed at a position including the virtual line C0 passing through an intersection of two diagonal lines L11 and L12), surrounding the through-hole (Fig 3A); a plurality of outer side surfaces (Fig 3A, [0036], outer surfaces 351, 352, 353, and 354), each of which intersects with the first surface and the second surface on an opposite side of the inner side surface (Fig 3A, [0036], surfaces 351, 352, 353, and 354 join the first surface and the second surface on a side opposite to the inner surface 330); and a die piece division line surrounding the through-hole (Fig 3A, [0040], projections 311, 312, 313, and 314 are shown to surround C0) and disposed on the second surface (Fig 3A shows 312 disposed on 302), wherein the second surface (302) intersects with the individual outer side surfaces at intersection lines (Fig 3A, [0036], outer surfaces 351, 352, 353, and 354 join the first surface and the second surface on a side opposite to the inner surface 330), wherein the intersection lines include a first intersection line and a second intersection line that intersects with the first intersection line at an intersection (Fig 3A, [0036], intersection of two diagonal lines L11 and L12 of the top surface 301 and an intersection of two diagonal lines L21 and L22 of the bottom surface 302), which is a first corner portion (310), and wherein the die piece division line (Fig 3A, [0040], projections 311, 312, 313, and 314 are shown to surround C0) is provided closer to the through-hole (16) than a first midpoint between the inner side surface and the first corner portion (Fig 4A shows 312 and 314 are closer to C0 than then corner of 310 and 320).
Regarding claim 2, Takata discloses wherein the die piece division line (Fig 3A, [0040], projections 311, 312, 313, and 314) is provided closer to the through-hole (16) than a line segment connecting a second midpoint and a third midpoint adjacent to the second midpoint among midpoints lying between the inner side surface (Fig 4A) and the outer side surfaces on line segments radially connecting a center of the through-hole and the outer side surfaces (Fig 4A shows 312 and 314 are closer to C0 than then corner of 310 and 320).
Regarding claim 3, Takata discloses wherein the die piece division line (Fig 3A, [0040], projections 311, 312, 313, and 314) is provided closer to the through-hole (16) than a line segment connecting a fourth midpoint and the first midpoint (Fig 4A), the fourth midpoint lying between the inner side surface and a second corner portion sharing a corresponding outer side surface of the outer side surfaces with the first corner portion (Fig 4A shows 312 and 314 are closer to C0 than then corner of 310 and 320).
Regarding claim 4, Takata discloses wherein an area of a region between the die piece division line (Fig 3A, [0040], projections 311, 312, 313, and 314) and the through-hole (16) is smaller than two-thirds of an area of a region surrounded by the die piece division line (Fig 3A, Fig 4A).
Regarding claim 5, Takata discloses wherein the die piece division line is provided at a position of 0.2 mm or more away from the through-hole ([0054], height H1 of the projections 311 to 314 is a value in a range from 0.4 mm to 0.7 mm and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 6, Takata discloses wherein the die piece division line is provided closer to the through-hole than a line segment connecting a fifth midpoint ([0061], plurality of gates 571, 572, 573, and 574) between the inner side surface and a first outer side surface among the outer side surfaces (Fig 7A) and a sixth midpoint ([0061], plurality of gates 571, 572, 573, and 574) between the inner side surface and a second outer side surface adjacent to the first outer side surface (Fig 7A).
Regarding claim 7, Takata discloses wherein the die piece division line (Fig 3A, [0040], projections 311, 312, 313, and 314) has a non-circular shape (Fig 3A shows that projections 311 to 314 are non-circular with respect to holes 181 to 184).
Regarding claim 8, Takata discloses wherein the die piece division line (Fig 3A, [0040], projections 311, 312, 313, and 314) includes a plurality of straight lines and a curved line (Fig 3A shows that projection 311 to 314 have a straight and curved line with respect to the planar surface of 301).
Regarding claim 9, Takata discloses wherein the die piece division line (Fig 3A, [0040], projections 311, 312, 313, and 314) has a rounded portion at which the straight lines of the die piece division line are connected to each other and has a rounded portion at which each of the straight lines and a curved line is connected to each other (Fig 3A shows that projection 311 to 314 have a straight and curved line with respect to the planar surface of 301).
Regarding claim 10, Takata discloses wherein the through-hole (16) has a non-circular shape (Fig 3A shows that 16 is surrounded by projections 311 to 314 that are non-circular with respect to the planar surface of 301).
Regarding claim 11, Takata discloses wherein the through-hole (16) on the first surface is identical in shape to the through-hole on the second surface (Fig 3A shows that 16 shown on 301 is identical to 16 shown on 302 on Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 12, Takata discloses wherein, a shape of the through-hole (16) on the first surface (301) and a shape of the through-hole (16) on the second surface (302) are formed by a straight line and a curved line (Fig 3A and Fig 3B shows that 16 is formed by a straight line and curved line with respect to 301 and 302).
Regarding claim 13, Takata discloses wherein, on the second surface (302), the through-hole (16) and the die piece division line (311, 312, 313, and 314) each have a shape including at least one straight line (Fig 3A), and wherein the at least one straight line included in the through-hole and the at least one straight line included in the die piece division line form an angle of less than 15 degrees (Fig 7A, [0083], tilt angles θ1 and θ2 are desirably greater than or equal to 10 degrees and within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 14, Takata discloses wherein a number of straight lines included in a shape of the through-hole equals a number of straight lines included in a shape of the die piece division line (Fig 3A shows the number of L11 and L12 equals the number of L21 and L22 of Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 15, Takata discloses wherein a region from the die piece division line to the through-hole on the second surface is recessed toward the first surface with respect to a region from the die piece division line to the outer side surfaces (Fig 3A, [0084], projections 311 to 314 protruding from the top surface 301).
Regarding claim 16, Takata discloses wherein an intersection line between the second surface and the outer side surfaces is used as a reference of a height in a direction from the second surface to the first surface (Fig 3A, [0034], Z1 indicates an extending direction of a virtual line C0), and wherein a region from the die piece division line to the through-hole on the second surface is recessed toward the first surface with respect to the reference (Fig 3A, [0040], projection is disposed on the diagonal lines L11 and L12 of the top surface 301 and forms the inner surface 330).
Regarding claim 18, Takata discloses an optical deflector ([0029], scanner motor 1 is an example of an optical deflector) comprising the polygon mirror (3) according to claim 1; and a drive source configured to rotate the polygon mirror ([0032], rotor 7 and the stator coil 9 form the scanner motor 1 that is an example of a driving source for rotating and driving the polygon mirror 3).
Regarding claim 19, Takata discloses an optical scanning device (101) comprising: a light source (201); and the optical deflector ([0029], optical deflector) according to claim 18 configured to deflect light emitted from the light source ([0032], deflect the laser light).
Regarding claim 20, Takata discloses an image forming apparatus (100) comprising an image forming unit (110) configured to form an image on a sheet ([0025], image forming unit 110 forms images on sheets P), wherein the image forming unit (110) includes an image carrier (process cartridge 102) and the optical scanning device (101) according to claim 19 configured to scan a surface of the image carrier with light ([0026], irradiates the photosensitive drum 103 of the process cartridge 102 with the laser light L to scan a surface of the photosensitive drum 103).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kobayashi (20220373925), Ohta (20190322022), and Kaino (5561545) are examples of a light deflector for an optical scanning device used in an image forming apparatus.
Sharrief I. Broome
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872