DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the amendments and arguments filed October 31st, 2025. Claims 1, 3, 4, and 8-15 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 15th, 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited of record Haltom; Marshall Dickens (US Pub. No. 20210245701 A1), herein after Haltom, and further in view of previously cited of record Huang; Zhiling (US Pub. No. 20210009060 A1), herein after Huang.
Regarding claim 1, Haltom teaches [a] vehicle comprising: a plurality of impact absorption units (Haltom: Para. 0021, teaching the use of several external airbags that absorb the impact of collision with external objects and pedestrians); a monitor configured to monitor a surrounding environment of the vehicle body, the surrounding environment including presence/absence of an object around the vehicle body (Haltom: Para. 0043, teaching a sensor system mounted on an autonomous vehicle that monitors the conditions on or around the vehicle); a determiner configured to determine whether the object which is likely to come into contact with the vehicle body is a human, based on a monitoring result from the monitor (Haltom: Para. 0051, teaching an object characterization system that identifies an object type such as a pedestrian; and Para. 0049, teaching that when the presence of an object is determined to be a human such as a pedestrian the system deploys airbags to cushion an impact with the human); an operation controller configured to selectively operate the plurality of impact absorption units in a case where the determiner determines the object is a human; and at least one processor circuit with a memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor circuit, cause the at least one processor circuit to perform at least: a first identification, before the human comes into contact with the vehicle body, to identify two or more characteristic parts of the human based on the monitoring result from the monitor (Haltom: Para. 0025, teaching detecting and characterizing an object such as a pedestrian based on parts of their body and deploying external airbags based on the detection and characterization of the object to reduce damage during impact; Para. 0051, teaching a collision analysis/prediction system 454, a sensor system 324, an object characterization system 456, and an airbag configuration determination system 458 which perform the functions of detecting and characterizing the objects and then selecting which airbag to deploy based on the detection and characterization; and Para. 0077, teaching that the determinations as to whether to deploy the airbags are made prior to contact with the object).
Haltom is silent to the plurality of impact absorption units being arranged in at least a width direction of a vehicle body, the plurality of impact absorption units including a first unit corresponding to a front-side front surface portion of the vehicle body, a second unit corresponding to a front-side left lateral portion of the vehicle body, and a third unit corresponding to a front-side right lateral portion of the vehicle body and a second identification, before the human comes into contact with the vehicle body, to identify which any of the two or more characteristic parts likely to come into contact with any of the front-side front surface portion, the front-side left lateral portion, and the front-side right lateral portion of the vehicle body, and the operation controller selects at least one of the first, the second and the third units to be operated, based on a result of the second identification.
In a similar field, Huang teaches [a] vehicle comprising: a plurality of impact absorption units which are arranged in at least a width direction of a vehicle body (Huang: Para. 0057, teaching that a collision protection device activation engine 122 can activate external airbags depending on where the collision is likely to occur on the vehicle and properties of the object that the vehicle will collide with; and Para. 0059, teaching a configuration of external airbags that includes rows of airbags such as 202fr4 and 202fl4 which can be activated upon detection of a collision; also see FIG. 2A), the plurality of impact absorption units including a first unit corresponding to a front-side front surface portion of the vehicle body, a second unit corresponding to a front-side left lateral portion of the vehicle body, and a third unit corresponding to a front-side right lateral portion of the vehicle body (Huang: Para. 0059, teaching a configuration of external airbags that includes front-side front surface left and right airbags 202fl1 and 202fr1 as well as front-side front lateral left and right airbags 202fl2 and 202fr2; also see FIG. 2A); and a second identification, before the human comes into contact with the vehicle body, to identify which any of the two or more characteristic parts likely to come into contact with any of the front-side front surface portion, the front-side left lateral portion, and the front-side right lateral portion of the vehicle body, and the operation controller selects at least one of the first, the second and the third units to be operated, based on a result of the second identification (Huang: Para. 0060, teaching activating multiple airbags to cover an area that an object is likely to come into contact with the vehicle and that the area that the object comes into contact with can be any area covered by the airbags of the vehicle). for the benefit of minimizing the harm a collision between a vehicle and pedestrian can have with the pedestrian by activating multiple airbags where the pedestrian is likely to hit.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the external airbags from Haltom with the arrangement of airbags that has multiple rows of airbags including a row of airbags at the front of the vehicle and a row of airbags closer to the windshield, as taught by Huang, for the benefit of minimizing the harm a collision between a vehicle and pedestrian can have with the pedestrian by activating multiple airbags where the pedestrian is likely to hit.
Regarding claim 3, Haltom and Huang remain as applied as in claim 1, and Haltom goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a neck part and a shoulder part are identified as the two or more characteristic parts (Haltom: Para. 0061, teaching that the object characterization system 456 determines features of the detected object such as the head, abdomen, neck, thorax, arms, legs, etc. of human objects).
Regarding claim 4, Haltom and Huang remain as applied as in claim 3, and Haltom goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the arithmetic unit further identifies a leg part as the at least two characteristic parts (Haltom: Para. 0061, teaching that the object characterization system 456 determines features of the detected object such as the head, abdomen, neck, thorax, arms, legs, etc. of human objects).
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haltom in view of Huang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of previously cited of record Le Merrer et al. (US Pub. No. 20160200275A1), herein after Le Merrer.
Regarding claim 8, Haltom and Huang remain as applied as in claim 1, however they are silent to [t]he vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising: a bonnet hood; a front bumper; and an A-pillar interposed between a windshield and a side glass, wherein at least some of the plurality of impact absorption units are respectively installed to correspond to the bonnet hood, the front bumper, and the A-pillar.
In a similar field, Le Merrer teaches [t]he vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising: a bonnet hood; a front bumper; and an A-pillar interposed between a windshield and a side glass, wherein at least some of the plurality of impact absorption units are respectively installed to correspond to the bonnet hood, the front bumper, and the A-pillar (Le Merrer: Para. 0108, teaching a vehicle that has a-pillars and front bumpers which have external airbags installed and a hood that has an impact absorbing device in the form of a hood lifter installed) for the benefit of reducing the potential impact for pedestrians when the vehicle collides with them.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the configuration of external impact absorbing devices from Haltom in view of Huang to include impact absorbing devices in the hood, bumper, and A-pillars of the vehicle, as taught by Le Merrer, for the benefit of reducing the potential impact for pedestrians when the vehicle collides with them.
Regarding claim 9, Haltom, Huang, and Le Merrer remain as applied as in claim 8, and Le Merrer goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle according to claim 8, wherein in a case where contact positions of the vehicle body to be contacted with all of the at least two characteristic parts correspond to the front-side front surface portion of the vehicle body, the operation control unit operates the impact absorption units corresponding to the front bumper and the bonnet hood (Le Merrer: Para. 0109, teaching that the deployment of impact absorbing devices such as the ones installed in the front bumper and hood are deployed in response to the type and bearing of the object that is likely to collide with the vehicle).
Regarding claim 10, Haltom, Huang, and Le Merrer remain as applied as in claim 8, and Le Merrer goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle according to claim 8, wherein in a case where a contact position of the vehicle body to be contacted with at least one of the at least two characteristic parts corresponds to the front-side front surface portion of the vehicle body (Le Merrer: Para. 0109, teaching that the deployment of impact absorbing devices in the vehicle are deployed in response to the type and of the object that is likely to collide with the vehicle and where the impact is determined to occur), and the operation control unit operates the impact absorption units corresponding to the front bumper, the bonnet hood, and the A-pillar (Le Merrer: Para. 0109, teaching that the deployment of impact absorbing devices such as the ones installed in the front bumper, the hood, and the a-pillars are deployed in response to the type and of the object that is likely to collide with the vehicle and where the impact is determined to occur) and Huang goes on to further teach in a case where a contact position of the vehicle body to be contacted with another one of the at least two characteristic parts corresponds to either the front-side left lateral portion or the front-side right lateral portion of the vehicle body (Huang: Para. 0057, teaching that a collision protection device activation engine 122 can activate external airbags depending on where the collision is likely to occur on the vehicle and properties of the object that the vehicle will collide with; and Para. 0059, teaching a configuration of external airbags that includes front-side front lateral left and right airbags 202fl2 and 202fr2; also see FIG. 2A).
Regarding claim 11, Haltom, Huang, and Le Merrer remain as applied as in claim 8, and Le Merrer goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle according to claim 8, further comprising a detection unit configured to detect an impact applied onto the vehicle body (Le Merrer: Para. 0107, teaching contact sensors that detect contact with an object in the zones of the vehicle that they cover), wherein… in a case where the detection unit detects the impact, the operation controller operates the impact absorption units corresponding to the front bumper, the bonnet hood, and the A-pillar (Le Merrer: Para. 0109, teaching that the deployment of impact absorbing devices such as the ones installed in the front bumper, the hood, and the a-pillars are deployed in response to the type and of the object that is likely to collide with the vehicle and where the impact is determined to occur) and Huang goes on to further teach in a case where a contact position of the vehicle body to be contacted with at least one of the at least two characteristic parts corresponds to either the front-side left lateral portion or the front-side right lateral portion of the vehicle body (Huang: Para. 0057, teaching that a collision protection device activation engine 122 can activate external airbags depending on where the collision is likely to occur or has occurred on the vehicle and properties of the object that the vehicle will collide with; and Para. 0059, teaching a configuration of external airbags that includes front-side front lateral left and right airbags 202fl2 and 202fr2; also see FIG. 2A).
Regarding claim 12, Haltom, Huang, and Le Merrer remain as applied as in claim 8, and Le Merrer goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle according to claim 8, wherein in a case where contact positions of the vehicle body to be contacted with all of the at least two characteristic parts correspond [the hood or front bumper of the vehicle], the operation controller operates the impact absorption unit corresponding to the A-pillar (Le Merrer: Para. 0109, teaching that the deployment of impact absorbing devices such as the ones installed in the front bumper, the hood, and the a-pillars are deployed in response to the type and of the object that is likely to collide with the vehicle and where the impact is determined to occur) and Huang goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle according to claim 8, wherein in a case where contact positions of the vehicle body to be contacted with all of the at least two characteristic parts correspond to either the front-side left lateral portion or the front-side right lateral portion (Huang: Para. 0057, teaching that a collision protection device activation engine 122 can activate external airbags depending on where the collision is likely to occur on the vehicle and properties of the object that the vehicle will collide with; and Para. 0059, teaching a configuration of external airbags that includes front-side front lateral left and right airbags 202fl2 and 202fr2; also see FIG. 2A).
Regarding claim 13, Haltom, Huang, and Le Merrer remain as applied as in claim 8, and Haltom goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle according to claim 8, wherein in a case where none of contact positions of the vehicle body to be contacted with the at least two characteristic parts corresponds to the front-side front surface portion, and in a case where a contact position of the vehicle body to be contacted with at least one of the at least two characteristic parts corresponds to [the front of a vehicle], the operation control unit suppresses operations of the plurality of impact absorption units (Haltom: Para. 0082, teaching a determination of whether or not to deploy a first external airbag in a first area of the vehicle is made based on the detected object that is about to collide with the vehicle and whether or not the object will be harmed by colliding with the airbag; and Para. 0083, teaching that a determination whether to a second external airbag in an area separate from the first is to be activated or suppressed depending on whether the object will or is colliding with the vehicle in the second area and whether activating the airbag would harm the object rather than help) and Huang goes on to further teach in a case where a contact position of the vehicle body to be contacted with at least one of the at least two characteristic parts corresponds to either the front-side left lateral portion or the front-side right lateral portion (Huang: Para. 0057, teaching that a collision protection device activation engine 122 can activate external airbags depending on where the collision is likely to occur on the vehicle and properties of the object that the vehicle will collide with; and Para. 0059, teaching a configuration of external airbags that includes front-side front lateral left and right airbags 202fl2 and 202fr2; also see FIG. 2A).
Regarding claim 14, Haltom, Huang, and Le Merrer remain as applied as in claim 8, and Haltom goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle according to claim 8, further comprising a detection unit configured to detect an impact applied onto the vehicle body, wherein in a case where none of contact positions of the vehicle body to be contacted with the at least two characteristic parts corresponds to the front-side front surface portion (Haltom: Para. 0082, teaching a determination of whether or not to deploy a first external airbag in a first area of the vehicle is made based on the detected object that is about to collide with the vehicle and whether or not the object will be harmed by colliding with the airbag; and Para. 0083, teaching that a determination whether to a second external airbag in an area separate from the first is to be activated or suppressed depending on whether the object will or is colliding with the vehicle in the second area and whether activating the airbag would harm the object rather than help), and Le Merrer goes on to further teach in a case where the detection unit detects the impact, the operation controller operates the impact absorption unit corresponding to the A-pillar (Le Merrer: Para. 0109, teaching that the deployment of impact absorbing devices such as the ones installed in the front bumper, the hood, and the a-pillars are deployed in response to the type and of the object that is likely to collide with the vehicle and where the impact is determined to occur) and Huang goes on to further teach in a case where a contact position of the vehicle body to be contacted with at least one of the at least two characteristic parts corresponds to either the front-side left lateral portion or the front-side right lateral portion (Huang: Para. 0057, teaching that a collision protection device activation engine 122 can activate external airbags depending on where the collision is likely to occur on the vehicle and properties of the object that the vehicle will collide with; and Para. 0059, teaching a configuration of external airbags that includes front-side front lateral left and right airbags 202fl2 and 202fr2; also see FIG. 2A).
Regarding claim 15, Haltom, Huang, and Le Merrer remain as applied as in claim 8, and Haltom goes on to further teach [t]he vehicle according to claim 8, further comprising a detector configured to detect an impact applied onto the vehicle body when the object comes into contact with the vehicle body, wherein in a case where none of contact positions of the vehicle body to be contacted with the two or more characteristic parts corresponds to the front-side front surface portion, in a case where a contact position of the vehicle body to be contacted with at least one of the two or more characteristic parts corresponds to either the front-side left lateral portion or the front-side right lateral portion, and in a case where the detector detects no impact, the operation controller suppresses operations of the plurality of impact absorption units (Haltom: Para. 0082, teaching a determination of whether to deploy or suppress a first external airbag in a first area of the vehicle is made based on the detected object that is about to collide with the vehicle and whether or not the object will be harmed by colliding with the airbag; and Para. 0083, teaching that a determination whether to a second external airbag in an area separate from the first is to be activated or suppressed depending on whether the object will or is colliding with the vehicle in the second area and whether activating the airbag would harm the object rather than help).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 31st, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendments filed October 31st, 2025 with respect to the 112(b) rejections of record have rendered the 112(b) rejections of record moot. Therefore, the 112(b) rejections of record have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed October 31st, 2025 with respect to the 103 rejections of record have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends (see pages 8-10, filed October 31st, 2025) that Haltom and Huang are deficient in teaching the first and second identifications recited in the amended independent claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees. With regards to the first identification, the examiner notes that Haltom is sufficient in teaching this as Haltom teaches that, before collision is made with an object (Haltom Para. 0077), the object is identified based on several characteristics such as the location of the head and neck (Haltom Para. 0025) and deploying the airbags according to the characteristics identified (Haltom Para. 0051). Regarding the second identification, Haltom in view of Huang teach this as Huang teaches deploying airbags across the car in configurations that match where the object will collide (Huang Para. 0057, 0059, and 0060).
Conclusion
/A.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663