DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 11,659,553 B2) in view of 3GPP TS 38.213 v 16.2.0 and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.331 v 16.2.0).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a user equipment (UE) (figures 1-2, abstract) comprising a memory ; and one or more processors coupled to the memory configured to (figure 11):
Receive a configuration of a portion of a sidelink resource pool, the configuration indicating at least one transmit parameter specific to the portion of the sidelink resource pool (figure 2, figure 6, column 5, lines 1-25, 25-40, wherein the transmission is selected according to the priority), , and communicate based at least in part on the at least one transmit parameter (column 5, lines 25-60). Chen does not disclose wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a power control parameter, a modulation and coding scheme parameter, an antenna port parameter or a beam parameter. 3GPP TS 38.213v16.2.0 discloses sidelink power control (section 7.1-7.4) and modulation and coding scheme selection (section 8.1-8.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the sidelink power control as disclosed by 3GPP TS38.213 v16.2.0 into the system of Chen to provide sensing based resource control.
3GPP TS 38.213v16.2.0 does not disclose antenna port or beam parameters.
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses antenna port and beam parameters (sections 6.3.2- 6.3.3).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the signaling of TS 38.331 into Chen to enable collision avoidance.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the at least one transmit parameter further comprises at least a channel sensing parameter.3GPP TS 38.213 v16.2.0 discloses sidelink sensing procedures, including channel monitoring and resource selection based on sensed conditions (section 9). 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses configuration signaling for sensing-related parameters (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the sensing behavior of TS 38.213 and the signaling of TS 38.331 into Chen to enable sensing-based resource selection and collision avoidance.
Regarding claim 3, Claim 3 depends from Claim 2 and further recites that the power control parameter comprises “a maximum UE output power value, a path loss value, a fractional power control
parameter, a power target value, or a power control offset value.” Chen does not disclose these
power control sub-parameters. 3GPP TS 38.213 v16.2.0 discloses sidelink power control including
maximum transmit power, path loss compensation, fractional control, target power, and offset
values (see §7). 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses configuration signaling for such parameters. Thus, it
would have been obvious to incorporate these standardized power control mechanisms into Chen
to improve interference management and transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Claim 4 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However, Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 4. 3GPP TS 38.213 v16.2.0 discloses
the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures, threshold-based
resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9). 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms, including
higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3) . Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 5, Claim 5 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However, Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 5. 3GPP TS 38.213 v16.2.0 discloses
the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures, threshold-based
resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9). 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms, including
higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 6, Claim 6 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However, Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 6. 3GPP TS 38.213 v16.2.0 discloses
the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures, threshold-based
resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9). 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms, including
higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 7, Claim 7 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However, Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 7. 3GPP TS 38.213 v16.2.0 discloses
the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures, threshold-based
resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9). 3GPP TS 38.331
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms, including
higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 8, Claim 8 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However, Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 8. 3GPP TS 38.213 v16.2.0 discloses
the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures, threshold-based
resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9) . 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms, including
higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 9, Claim 9 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However, Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 9. 3GPP TS 38.213 v16.2.0 discloses
the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures, threshold-based
resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9) . 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms, including
higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 10, Claim 10 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 10. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9).
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However, Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 11. 3GPP TS 38.213 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9) .
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 12, Claim 12 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 12. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9) .
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 13, Claim 13 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 13. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior (section 9). 3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 16, Claim 16 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 16. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9) .
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3) . Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 17. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9).
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 18, Claim 18 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 18. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9) .
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 19, Claim 19 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 19. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9).
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 20. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9).
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 21, Claim 21 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 21. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9).
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 22, Claim 22 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 22. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9) .
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 23, Claim 23 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 23. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9).
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 24, Claim 24 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 24. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9).
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 25, . Claim 25 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 25. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section 9).
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer pa meter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Regarding claim 26, Claim 26 depends from a preceding claim and further recites additional limitations relating to sidelink operation. Chen discloses a UE, sidelink resource pool configuration, and
transmission based on such configuration (Abstract; Fig. 2; Fig. 6; Fig. 11; col. 3–7, 16). However,
Chen does not disclose the specific additional limitation(s) recited in Claim 26. 3GPP TS 38.213
v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding sidelink operational behavior, including sensing procedures,
threshold-based resource selection, power control behavior, and resource management functions (section).
3GPP TS 38.331 v16.2.0 discloses the corresponding configuration and signaling mechanisms,
including higher-layer parameter configuration, capability signaling, and activation/deactivation of
configurations (section 6.3). Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate these standardized sidelink mechanisms
into Chen because they provide predictable and necessary functionality for compliant sidelink
communication, improving coordination, efficiency, and interoperability.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412