DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Amendments filed on 10/17/2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit/national stage under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for parent Application Nos
63/349,479 filed on 6/6/2022.
63/421,119 filed on 10/31/2022
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/25/2025, 12/24/2025, 1/12/2026, 1/28/2026, and 2/25/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were pending for examination in previous Office Action mailed 7/17/2025.
Independent Claims 1, 15, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 remain pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 1-3, filed 10/17/2025, with respect to Claim(s) 1, 15, and 20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that in substance the prior art of record does not disclose “detect that the carrier network associated with a secondary SIM is available,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that “generic network access does not equal detection of availability”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Here, Moon et al. (US 20210250430 A1; hereinafter Moon) was relied upon to disclose previously presented independent claims 1, 15, and 20 which have been amended. As provided in the previous office action Moon discloses that a UE may access a wireless communication network and may use a voice communication or data communication service through an appropriate authentication process using a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) installed on a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) which may also be referred to as a subscriber identity module (SIM) card and that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶ 109-112; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2). Moon further clarifies in ¶198 that even though network communication connection to a specific SIM is not made due to failure to search for a PLMN, search for a cell, camp on a cell, or make an RRC connection to a specific cell, it may be said that the SIM is enabled if a procedure for network communication connection to the corresponding SIM is being performed.
Therefore, the prior art of record still discloses the claimed invention of the independent claims, and the prior art rejection is maintained below and altered as required by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2021/0250430 A1; hereinafter Moon) and further in view of Jing et al. (CN 111970686 A; hereinafter Jing; references cited in machine translation and figures in original FOR document).
Regarding Claim 1, Moon discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium of a dual subscriber identity module (SIM) dual standby (DSDS)-enabled device storing a computer program, the computer program configured to cause at least one processor to: [Moon discloses an electronic device capable of DSDS with memory storing a program and a processor which may execute a program (¶86-89; ¶107; Fig. 1A)]
detect that a carrier network associated with a secondary SIM is available; [Moon discloses that a UE may access a wireless communication network and may use a voice communication or data communication service through an appropriate authentication process using a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) installed on a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) which may also be referred to as a subscriber identity module (SIM) card and that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶ 109-112; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
after the detection that the carrier network associated with a secondary SIM is available, bind a framework associated with the secondary SIM to a carrier application that provides a carrier configuration service, based on the detection; and [Moon discloses that a UE may access a wireless communication network and may use a voice communication or data communication service through an appropriate authentication process using a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) installed on a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) which may also be referred to as a subscriber identity module (SIM) card and that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶ 109-112; ¶162; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2). Moon further discloses that even though network communication connection to a specific SIM is not made due to failure to search for a PLMN, search for a cell, camp on a cell, or make an RRC connection to a specific cell, it may be said that the SIM is enabled if a procedure for network communication connection to the corresponding SIM is being performed (¶198).]
configure the secondary SIM via the carrier application, wherein [Moon discloses a subscription manager discovery service (SM-DS) server, a subscription manager data preparation plus (SM-DP+) server, a mobile network operator (MNO) server, and a communication service server and that the eSIM may download/store information necessary for communication service provision where the first information necessary for downloading data including the first subscriber identity information (first operational profile) where the communication session information may include SM-DS server access information; Moon further discloses that the SM-DS server may provide the SM-DP+ server address from which the operational profile can be downloaded based on the provisioning profile (¶110; ¶ 117-124; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
the configuration of the secondary SIM comprises grouping subscriptions of a primary SIM and the secondary SIM [Moon discloses two operational profiles where the first operational profile is for a first subscriber identity information and the second operational profile is for a second subscriber identity information. Moon further discloses multiple SIMS grouped together within a SIM card manager each with a profile (¶233; ¶ 114-115; ¶252-254; Fig. 13D)]
Moon does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the configuration of the secondary SIM comprises grouping subscriptions of a primary SIM and the secondary SIM and making the secondary SIM opportunistic.
However Jing, analogous art also teaching DSDS technology, does disclose:
wherein the configuration of the secondary SIM comprises grouping subscriptions of a primary SIM and the secondary SIM and making the secondary SIM opportunistic. [Jing discloses radio sharing and that the UE can trigger the opportunistic scanning on SIM2 (¶79-87)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Moon with that of Jing such that SIM2 is made to be opportunistic in order to allow for the data traffic of SIM1 according to priority, as per Jing (¶84-85), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, Moon and Jing disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein
the DSDS device comprises the primary SIM, and [Moon discloses a dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) device may support two or more SIMs which may either be physical (pSIM/rSIM) or embedded (eSIM) (¶3-6; ¶108; ¶111; Fig. 1B)]
the primary SIM and the secondary SIM are both physical SIMs (pSIMs), the primary SIM and the secondary SIM are both embedded SIMs (eSIMs), or one of the primary SIM and the secondary SIM is a pSIM and the other of the primary SIM and the secondary SIM is an eSIM. [Moon discloses a dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) device may support two or more SIMs which may either be physical (pSIM/rSIM) or embedded (eSIM) (¶3-6; ¶108; ¶111; Fig. 1B)]
Regarding Claim 3, Moon and Jing discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 2, wherein the primary SIM is used for voice traffic and Internet Protocol (IP) multimedia subsystem (IMS) traffic, and
the secondary SIM is used for data traffic. [Jing discloses that different SIMs may have different availability in voice and data communication such that the primary SIM is available for voice communication while the secondary SIM is available for data communication (¶73-75)]
Regarding Claim 4, Moon and Jing discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
display a single SIM icon, a single network signal indicator, or both, for both the primary SIM and the secondary SIM. [Moon discloses that the device may have a display which may include a screen associated with the first communication based on the provisioning profile or the second communication based on the second operational profile where the first operational profile is for a first subscriber identity information and the second operational profile is for a second subscriber identity information (¶9; ¶114-115; ¶144; Fig. 1A item 160). Moon also discloses icons corresponding to the SIMs configured and an indicator of availability (¶ 206; Fig. 8B)]
Regarding Claim 6, Moon and Jing discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1
wherein the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to: return a name of a brand and a carrier certificate array; and add access point names (APNs) for the brand. [Moon discloses that the device may display information associated with the SIM such as an own number, such as a mobile station international subscriber directory number (MSISDN), public land mobile network (PLMN) information, or supportable network communication types (¶ 206; Fig. 8B)]
Regarding Claim 7, Moon and Jing discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the secondary SIM is an embedded SIM (eSIM) and the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
perform a DSDS configuration, comprising:
retrieving an activation code, [Moon discloses an activation code (¶304-306; Fig. 24)]
downloading the eSIM, and [Moon discloses downloading a first profile and eUICC (i.e. eSIM) (¶304-306; Fig. 24)]
making the eSIM preferred for data. [Mood discloses configuring eSIM as default (¶187)]
Regarding Claim 10, Moon and Jing disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
enable DSDS responsive to presence of an embedded universal integrated circuit card (eUICC). [Moon discloses that a UE may access a wireless communication network and may use a voice communication or data communication service through an appropriate authentication process using a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) installed on a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) which may also be referred to as a subscriber identity module (SIM) card and that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶ 109-112; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
Regarding Claim 12, Moon and Jing discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein, responsive to a user removing the secondary SIM, the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
detect a SIM state absent event for the secondary SIM; and [Moon discloses removable SIMs and detecting an event which may be for example deleting a configured profile (¶ 107; ¶ 171-172; Fig. 7B)]
disable the subscription of the secondary SIM. [Moon discloses disconnecting of network communication corresponding to SIM (¶ 171-172; ¶ 208; Fig. 7B)]
Regarding Claim 13, Moon and Jing discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein, responsive to a user reinserting the secondary SIM, the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
detect a SIM state loaded event for the secondary SIM; [Moon discloses a detection of reception event using a second SIM (¶ 171-172; Fig. 6A-8B)]
enable the subscription of the secondary SIM; and [Moon discloses an enabled state of the SIM and enabling a profile configured in the SIM (¶ 171-172; ¶ 198; Fig. 7A/8B)]
make the secondary SIM a default for a data subscription. [Moon discloses that the first SIM and the second SIM may be configured as default SIMs for use (¶ 171; ¶ 187)]
Claim 5 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon and Jing and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2015/0349824 A1; hereinafter Cho).
Regarding Claim 5, Moon and Jing fully disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 4.
Moon and Jing do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
prevent a user of the DSDS device from accessing settings pertaining to the secondary SIM.
However Cho, analogous art also teaching DSDS technology, does disclose:
wherein the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
prevent a user of the DSDS device from accessing settings pertaining to the secondary SIM. [Cho discloses pre-determined display rules which may determine whether or not SIM slot information may be shown (¶5; ¶19-22) ]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Moon and Jing with that of Cho such SIM information may be hidden in the case that SIM card inserted is in roaming status so as to not overcrowd the display screen, as per Cho (¶5), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 14, Moon and Jing discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein
the DSDS device comprises at least one additional SIM in addition to the primary SIM and the secondary SIM, [Moon discloses that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶21-23; ¶ 109-112; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
Moon and Jing do not explicitly disclose:
the at least one additional SIM is not visible to a user via the DSDS device.
However Cho, analogous art also teaching DSDS technology, does disclose:
the at least one additional SIM is not visible to a user via the DSDS device. [Cho discloses pre-determined display rules which may determine whether or not SIM slot information may be shown (¶5; ¶19-22) ]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Moon and Jing with that of Cho such SIM information may be hidden in the case that SIM card inserted is in roaming status so as to not overcrowd the display screen, as per Cho (¶5), with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 8-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon and Jing and further in view of Lindoff et al. (US 2018/0084504 A1; hereinafter Lindoff).
Regarding Claim 8, Moon and Jing fully disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1.
Moon and Jing do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
monitor a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of a radio of the secondary SIM; and
drop a carrier network associated with the secondary SIM responsive to the SNR of the radio of the secondary SIM falling below a first value.
However Lindoff, analogous art also teaching DSDS technology, does disclose:
wherein the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
monitor a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of a radio of the secondary SIM; and [Lindoff discloses that radio channel characteristics such as signal interference noise ratio (SINR) may be monitored and evaluated (¶36; Fig. 1)]
drop a carrier network associated with the secondary SIM responsive to the SNR of the radio of the secondary SIM falling below a first value. [Lindoff discloses the connection state of a SIM will have higher power consumption if SINR requirement is high and so the connection with the worst link/connection may be disabled (¶36; Fig. 1)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Moon and Jing with that of Lindoff such that a poor connection is disabled in order to save on power consumption, as per Lindoff (¶36), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 9, Moon and Jing disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
add the carrier network associated with the secondary SIM; [Moon discloses that a UE may access a wireless communication network and may use a voice communication or data communication service through an appropriate authentication process using a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) installed on a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) which may also be referred to as a subscriber identity module (SIM) card and that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶ 109-112; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
check the SNR of the radio of the secondary SIM; and [Lindoff discloses that radio channel characteristics such as signal interference noise ratio (SINR) may be monitored and evaluated (¶36; Fig. 1)]
use the carrier network responsive to the SNR of the radio of the secondary SIM being at least a second value. [Lindoff discloses the connection state of a SIM will have higher power consumption if SINR requirement is high and so the connection with the worst link/connection may be disabled (¶36; Fig. 1)]
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon and Jing and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0022014 A1; hereinafter Li).
Regarding Claim 11, Moon and Jing disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the [Moon discloses two operational profiles where the first operational profile is for a first subscriber identity information and the second operational profile is for a second subscriber identity information. Moon further discloses multiple SIMS grouped together within a SIM card manager each with a profile (¶233; ¶ 114-115; ¶252-254; Fig. 13D). Jing discloses radio sharing and that the UE can trigger the opportunistic scanning on SIM2 (¶79-87).]
Moon and Jing do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the carrier application leverages application programming interfaces (APIs) of the carrier to group the subscriptions of the primary SIM and the secondary SIM and to make the secondary SIM opportunistic.
However Li, analogous art also teaching DSDS technology, does disclose:
wherein the carrier application leverages application programming interfaces (APIs) of the carrier to group the subscriptions of the primary SIM and the secondary SIM and to make the secondary SIM opportunistic. [Li discloses APIs and used to inform mobile network operators (MNOs) of assigned international mobile equipment identifier (IMEI) values for one or more SIMs/eSIMs of mobile wireless device which are aggregated to include multiple IMEI values (¶ 38; Fig. 5)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Moon and Jing with that of Li such to include APIs to aggregate information to MNOs, as per Li (¶38), with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 15, 17, and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon and further in view of Cho.
Regarding Claim 15, Moon discloses:
A computer-implemented method for providing dual subscriber identity module (SIM) dual standby (DSDS), comprising: [Moon discloses an electronic device capable of DSDS with memory storing a program and a processor which may execute a program (¶86-89; ¶107; Fig. 1A)]
detecting that a carrier network associated with a secondary SIM is available, by a DSDS device; [Moon discloses that a UE may access a wireless communication network and may use a voice communication or data communication service through an appropriate authentication process using a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) installed on a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) which may also be referred to as a subscriber identity module (SIM) card and that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶ 109-112; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
after the detection that the carrier network associated with a secondary SIM is available, binding a framework associated with the secondary SIM to a carrier application that provides a carrier configuration service, by the DSDS device, based on the detection; and [Moon discloses that a UE may access a wireless communication network and may use a voice communication or data communication service through an appropriate authentication process using a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) installed on a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) which may also be referred to as a subscriber identity module (SIM) card and that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶ 109-112; ¶162; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2). Moon further discloses that even though network communication connection to a specific SIM is not made due to failure to search for a PLMN, search for a cell, camp on a cell, or make an RRC connection to a specific cell, it may be said that the SIM is enabled if a procedure for network communication connection to the corresponding SIM is being performed (¶198).]
configuring the secondary SIM via the carrier application, by the DSDS device; [Moon discloses a subscription manager discovery service (SM-DS) server, a subscription manager data preparation plus (SM-DP+) server, a mobile network operator (MNO) server, and a communication service server and that the eSIM may download/store information necessary for communication service provision where the first information necessary for downloading data including the first subscriber identity information (first operational profile) where the communication session information may include SM-DS server access information; Moon further discloses that the SM-DS server may provide the SM-DP+ server address from which the operational profile can be downloaded based on the provisioning profile (¶110; ¶ 117-124; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
displaying a single SIM icon, a single network signal indicator, or both, for both a primary SIM and the secondary SIM, by the DSDS device; and [Moon discloses that the device may have a display which may include a screen associated with the first communication based on the provisioning profile or the second communication based on the second operational profile where the first operational profile is for a first subscriber identity information and the second operational profile is for a second subscriber identity information (¶9; ¶114-115; ¶144; Fig. 1A item 160). Moon also discloses icons corresponding to the SIMs configured and an indicator of availability (¶ 206; Fig. 8B)]
Moon does not explicitly disclose:
preventing a user of the DSDS device from accessing settings pertaining to the secondary SIM, by the DSDS device.
However Cho, analogous art also teaching DSDS technology, does disclose:
preventing a user of the DSDS device from accessing settings pertaining to the secondary SIM, by the DSDS device. [Cho discloses pre-determined display rules which may determine whether or not SIM slot information may be shown (¶5; ¶19-22) ]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Moon with that of Cho such SIM information may be hidden in the case that SIM card inserted is in roaming status so as to not overcrowd the display screen, as per Cho (¶5), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 17, Moon and Cho disclose:
The computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein
the DSDS device comprises the primary SIM, and [Moon discloses a dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) device may support two or more SIMs which may either be physical (pSIM/rSIM) or embedded (eSIM) (¶3-6; ¶108; ¶111; Fig. 1B)]
the primary SIM and the secondary SIM are both physical SIMs (pSIMs), the primary SIM and the secondary SIM are both embedded SIMs (eSIMs), or one of the primary SIM and the secondary SIM is a pSIM and the other of the primary SIM and the secondary SIM is an eSIM. [Moon discloses a dual-SIM dual-standby (DSDS) device may support two or more SIMs which may either be physical (pSIM/rSIM) or embedded (eSIM) (¶3-6; ¶108; ¶111; Fig. 1B)]
Regarding Claim 20, Moon discloses:
A computing system, comprising:
memory storing computer program instructions; and [Moon discloses an electronic device capable of DSDS with memory storing a program and a processor which may execute a program (¶86-89; ¶107; Fig. 1A)]
at least one processor configured to execute the computer program instructions, wherein the computer program instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to: [Moon discloses an electronic device capable of DSDS with memory storing a program and a processor which may execute a program (¶86-89; ¶107; Fig. 1A)]
detect that a carrier network associated with a secondary subscriber identity module (SIM) is available; [Moon discloses that a UE may access a wireless communication network and may use a voice communication or data communication service through an appropriate authentication process using a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) installed on a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) which may also be referred to as a subscriber identity module (SIM) card and that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶ 109-112; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
after the detection that the carrier network associated with a secondary SIM is available, bind a framework associated with the secondary SIM to a carrier application that provides a carrier configuration service, based on the detection; and [Moon discloses that a UE may access a wireless communication network and may use a voice communication or data communication service through an appropriate authentication process using a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) installed on a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) which may also be referred to as a subscriber identity module (SIM) card and that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶ 109-112; ¶162; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2). Moon further discloses that even though network communication connection to a specific SIM is not made due to failure to search for a PLMN, search for a cell, camp on a cell, or make an RRC connection to a specific cell, it may be said that the SIM is enabled if a procedure for network communication connection to the corresponding SIM is being performed (¶198).]
configure the secondary SIM via the carrier application, wherein [Moon discloses a subscription manager discovery service (SM-DS) server, a subscription manager data preparation plus (SM-DP+) server, a mobile network operator (MNO) server, and a communication service server and that the eSIM may download/store information necessary for communication service provision where the first information necessary for downloading data including the first subscriber identity information (first operational profile) where the communication session information may include SM-DS server access information; Moon further discloses that the SM-DS server may provide the SM-DP+ server address from which the operational profile can be downloaded based on the provisioning profile (¶110; ¶ 117-124; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
the computing system comprises at least one additional SIM in addition to the primary SIM and the secondary SIM, and [Moon discloses that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶21-23; ¶ 109-112; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
Moon does not explicitly disclose:
the at least one additional SIM is not visible to a user via the computing system.
However Cho, analogous art also teaching DSDS technology, does disclose:
the at least one additional SIM is not visible to a user via the computing system. [Cho discloses pre-determined display rules which may determine whether or not SIM slot information may be shown (¶5; ¶19-22) ]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Moon with that of Cho such SIM information may be hidden in the case that SIM card inserted is in roaming status so as to not overcrowd the display screen, as per Cho (¶5), with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon and Cho and further in view of Jing.
Regarding Claim 16, Moon and Cho disclose:
The computer-implemented method of claim 15, wherein the configuration of the secondary SIM comprises grouping subscriptions of the primary SIM and the secondary SIM and [Moon discloses two operational profiles where the first operational profile is for a first subscriber identity information and the second operational profile is for a second subscriber identity information. Moon further discloses multiple SIMS grouped together within a SIM card manager each with a profile (¶233; ¶ 114-115; ¶252-254; Fig. 13D)]
Moon and Cho do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the configuration of the secondary SIM comprises grouping subscriptions of the primary SIM and the secondary SIM and making the secondary SIM opportunistic.
However Jing, analogous art also teaching DSDS technology, does disclose:
wherein the configuration of the secondary SIM comprises grouping subscriptions of the primary SIM and the secondary SIM and making the secondary SIM opportunistic. [Jing discloses radio sharing and that the UE can trigger the opportunistic scanning on SIM2 (¶79-87)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Moon with that of Jing such that SIM2 is made to be opportunistic in order to allow for the data traffic of SIM1 according to priority, as per Jing (¶84-85), with reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 18-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon and Cho and further in view of Lindoff et al. (US 2018/0084504 A1; hereinafter Lindoff).
Regarding Claim 18, Moon and Cho discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 15.
Moon and Cho do not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
monitoring a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of a radio of the secondary SIM, by the DSDS device; and
dropping a carrier network associated with the secondary SIM responsive to the SNR of the radio falling below a first value, by the DSDS device.
However Lindoff, analogous art also teaching DSDS technology, does disclose:
further comprising:
monitoring a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of a radio of the secondary SIM, by the DSDS device; and [Lindoff discloses that radio channel characteristics such as signal interference noise ratio (SINR) may be monitored and evaluated (¶36; Fig. 1)]
dropping a carrier network associated with the secondary SIM responsive to the SNR of the radio falling below a first value, by the DSDS device. [Lindoff discloses the connection state of a SIM will have higher power consumption if SINR requirement is high and so the connection with the worst link/connection may be disabled (¶36; Fig. 1)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Moon and Cho with that of Lindoff such that a poor connection is disabled in order to save on power consumption, as per Lindoff (¶36), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 19, Moon, Jing, and Lindoff discloses:
The computer-implemented method of claim 18, further comprising:
adding the carrier network associated with the secondary SIM, by the DSDS device; [Moon discloses that a UE may access a wireless communication network and may use a voice communication or data communication service through an appropriate authentication process using a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) installed on a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) which may also be referred to as a subscriber identity module (SIM) card and that an electronic device may support two or more SIMs (¶3-6; ¶ 109-112; Fig. 1B; Fig. 2)]
checking the SNR of the radio of the secondary SIM, by the DSDS device; and [Lindoff discloses that radio channel characteristics such as signal interference noise ratio (SINR) may be monitored and evaluated (¶36; Fig. 1)]
using the carrier network responsive to the SNR of the radio of the secondary SIM being at least a second value, by the DSDS device. [Lindoff discloses the connection state of a SIM will have higher power consumption if SINR requirement is high and so the connection with the worst link/connection may be disabled (¶36; Fig. 1)]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468