Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending;
Claims 8 and 11-20 are currently withdrawn;
Claims 1-2, 9, 11, and 20 are currently amended.
Status of Rejections and Objections Pending Since the Office Action of 01/09/2026
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The objections to the specification are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The 103 rejections of claims 1-7 and 9-10 are withdrawn and replaced with new 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN-106785213-A) in view of Lee et al. (US-20210384569-A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Jiang teaches a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules each of the plurality of battery modules comprising a frame; a plurality of battery cells ([0007] battery pack consisting of multiple battery cells and a frame), a heating element disposed on a top of the frame ([0007]; heating element; [0048]; heating element 1 on the top of frame 4, with figure 5 of Jiang reproduced below for reference); and a cooling plate disposed on a bottom of the frame ([0007]; cooling plate; [0048] cooling plate 5 on the bottom of frame 4 in fig. 5), wherein the frame includes a plurality of cooling ribbons ([0007] plate heat pipes; [0048] plate heat pipes 2 in fig. 5), wherein each of the plurality of cooling ribbons extend from the top of the frame to the bottom of the frame ([0048] plate heat pipes 2 in fig. 5), each cooling ribbon being a solid piece of thermally conductive material ([0022]; [0025]-[0027] the plate heat pipes are a heat-conducting material; [0026] heat pipes are an ultra-light weight and ultra-thin flat plate structure) that is a continuous portion of the frame and extends from the heating element to the cooling plate (fig. 5; [0048]) thereby providing a path to dissipate heat generated by the battery cells ([0024 the plate heat pipe can both cool and heat the battery pack; [0022]; [0018] heat pipes can quickly and effectively dissipate heat of the battery).
Jiang fails to specify that the frame is a thermally conductive frame having a plurality of apertures, wherein the plurality of battery cells is disposed in one of the plurality of apertures, wherein the plurality of cooling ribbons is disposed between at least two of the plurality of apertures, and wherein the thermally conductive frame has a thermal conductivity of at least 175 W/m/K.
Lee is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery packs ([0002]). Lee teaches that the frame (lower holder unit 20 [0062] and upper holder unit 331 [0081]) is a thermally conductive frame ([0014]; [0071] lower holder unit may include aluminum; having a plurality of apertures ([0062]-[0063] groove portions 22 are apertures), wherein the plurality of battery cells is disposed in one of the plurality of apertures ([0062]-[0064]; figs. 1 and 3), wherein the plurality of cooling ribbons is disposed between at least two of the plurality of apertures (given the apertures of Lee, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the cooling ribbons of Jiang would be disposed between at least two of the plurality of apertures), and wherein the thermally conductive frame has a thermal conductivity of at least 175 W/m/K ([0014]; [0071] the lower holder unit is made of aluminum, which inherently has a thermal conductivity of 175 W/m/K, as evidenced by paragraph [0047] of the instant specification).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the frame of Jiang such that it is a thermally conductive frame including a plurality of apertures sch as in Lee. Doing so allows for the battery cells to be better fixed in the battery housing (Lee [0009]) in response to shock and vibration (Lee [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Jiang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Jiang also teaches wherein the thermally conductive frame has a thermal mass of at least 850 J/kg/K (Lee [0014]; [0071] the lower holder unit is made of aluminum, which inherently has a thermal mass of at least 850 J/kg/K, as evidenced by paragraph [0047] of the instant specification).
Regarding claim 6, modified Jiang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Jiang also teaches wherein each of the plurality of battery modules comprises a first cell holder disposed on a first side of the thermally conductive frame and a second cell holder disposed on a second side the thermally conductive frame opposite the first side (Lee housing 10 sealed with cover unit [0057]; figs. 1 and 3 includes 6 walls surrounding all sides of the batteries and frame; any two opposite sides could be read on as the first cell holder and second cell holder).
Regarding claim 7, modified Jiang teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. Modified Jiang also teaches wherein each of the plurality of ribbons extends from the first side of the thermally conductive frame to the second side of the thermally conductive frame (the cooling ribbons of Jiang would inherently extend from the first side to the second side as modified by Lee).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sweet et al. (US-20210184290-A1), hereinafter Sweet.
Regarding claim 3, modified Jiang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Jiang fails to teach wherein the plurality of apertures are divided into sub-groups that each comprise three of the plurality of apertures and wherein the sub-groups are arranged in columns that extend from the top of the thermally conductive frame to the bottom of the thermally conductive frame.
Sweet is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery packs ([0042]). Sweet teaches wherein the plurality of apertures are divided into sub-groups that each comprise three of the plurality of apertures and wherein the sub-groups are arranged in columns that extend from the top of the thermally conductive frame to the bottom of the thermally conductive frame (fig. 2; fig. 5; fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jiang such that the plurality of apertures are divided into sub-groups that each comprise three of the plurality of apertures and wherein the sub-groups are arranged in columns that extend from the top of the thermally conductive frame to the bottom of the thermally conductive frame. Doing so helps avoid having both the positive and negative terminals of every cluster being exposed ([0084]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Jiang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Modified Jiang also teaches wherein each of the plurality of cooling ribbons is disposed between adjacent columns (Jiang teaches the plate heat pipes extend from the cooling plate to the heating element [0048] in such a manner that they extend between columns of cells (see Jiang fig. 5); as such, given the sub groups of modified Jiang (Sweet figs. 2, 5, and 7), it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the cooling ribbons of Jiang would extend between the columns modified in by Sweet).
Regarding claim 5, modified Jiang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Jiang fails to teach wherein a first column includes subgroups arranged in a first pattern and a second column, adjacent to the first column, includes sub-groups arranged in a second pattern that is different than the first pattern.
Sweet is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery packs ([0042]). Sweet teaches wherein a first column includes subgroups arranged in a first pattern and a second column, adjacent to the first column, includes sub-groups arranged in a second pattern that is different than the first pattern (fig. 2; fig. 5; fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jiang such that a first column includes subgroups arranged in a first pattern and a second column, adjacent to the first column, includes sub-groups arranged in a second pattern that is different than the first pattern. Doing so helps avoid having both the positive and negative terminals of every cluster being exposed ([0084]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kragh (US-20240039076-A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Jiang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Jiang also teaches wherein each of the plurality of battery modules comprises a first potting material disposed in each of the plurality of battery cells and the thermally conductive frame (Lee fig. 3 filler 24 that undergoes curing by heat and facilitates electrical insulation between the lower holder unit and the unit battery cells ([0069]-[0071]) the filler allows for heat transfer between the unit battery cell and the lower holder unit).
Modified Jiang does not explicitly teach that the first potting material is configured to limit the heat transfer between adjacent battery cells of the battery module.
Kragh is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery packs ([0001]). Kragh teaches that the first potting material is configured to limit the heat transfer between adjacent battery cells of the battery module (fig. 13; [0074] the middle layer 14 has a lower thermal conductivity than the frame 9, therefore acting as a thermal equalizer between the batteries and the frame 9; [0076] wherein the potting material 14 is an electrically isolating layer, and can be a curable liquid ([0078])).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jiang such that the first potting material is configured to limit the heat transfer between adjacent battery cells of the battery module. Doing so allows for the potting material to act as a thermal equalizer between the batteries and frame (Kragh [0074]) while still maintaining thermal conductivity and electrical isolation (Kragh [0074]; [0076]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Lee and Kragh as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Bonebright et al. (US-20150244040-A1), hereinafter Bonebright.
Regarding claim 10, modified Jiang teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Jiang teaches a thermal management system that allows for easy temperature control ([0006]; [0022]) including a control module ([0007]; [0011]).
However, Jiang fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of battery modules comprises one or more temperature sensors configured to monitor a temperature of one or more of the plurality of battery cells, wherein the one or more temperature sensors are at least partially encapsulated by the first potting material.
Bonebright is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of thermal management for batteries ([0001]). Bonebright teaches wherein each of the plurality of battery modules comprises one or more temperature sensors ([0005]; [0057]; [0063] temperature sensors) configured to monitor a temperature of one or more of the plurality of battery cells, wherein the one or more temperature sensors are at least partially encapsulated by the first potting material ([0063] temperature sensors covered with protective potting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jiang and included a temperature sensor encapsulated by the first potting material. Doing so protects the temperature sensor (Bonebright [0063] ) and allows the temperature sensor to detect the temperature adjacent the one or more batteries (Bonebright [0005]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722