DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 03/12/2026. Claims 17, 21, 23, 27, 32, 33 and 36 have been canceled. Claims 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, 31, 34-35 and 37-40 have been amended. Claims 16, 18-20, 22, 24-26, 28-31, 34-35 and 37-40 are pending in the application.
Objection to claim 20 no longer applies as a result of the amendment.
Response to Arguments
A new reference Cherian et al. (US 20200076552 A1) is used in teaching the amendment on the in independent claims in regards to the applicant argument on differences between the prior art and claims at issue “... assigning identification information to another access point with which the communication device performs a multiple access point coordination ... transmitting a NDPA (Null Data Packet Announcement) frame, in order to perform a sounding for a multi-AP (Access Point) coordination, the NDPA frame including the identification information assigned to said another access point ... transmitting a trigger frame to a station ... receiving information about channel information from the station ... and ... performing a control to communicate with the station while the communication device performs the multiple access point coordination with said another access point, wherein the NDPA frame includes a BSS color field in a STA info field.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 20, 25, 26, 30, 34, 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cherian et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2020/0076552), Cherian hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 16 Cherian teaches a communication device that operates as an access point comprising: ( paragraph [0145] FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a WLAN 200 that supports multi-access point scheduling in wireless local area networks in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, WLAN 200 may implement aspects of wireless communication system 100. In this example, a first AP 105-a may have multiple neighboring APs 105, including a second AP 105-b and a third AP 105-c. Further, a number of STAs 115 may be present, including a first STA 115-a that may be associated with the first AP 105-a via wireless link 120-a, a second STA 115-b that may be associated with the second AP 105-b via wireless link 120-b, and a third STA 115-c that may be associated with the third STA 115-c via wireless link 120-c. )
at least one memory that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor that executes the instructions, the instructions, when executed, causing the communication device to perform operations comprising: ( [0242] The processor 1240 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a CPU, a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof). In some cases, the processor 1240 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller. In other cases, a memory controller may be integrated into processor 1240. The processor 1240 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting multi-access point scheduling in wireless local area networks). )
assigning identification information to another access point with which the communication device performs a multiple access point coordination: ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
transmitting a NDPA (Null Data Packet Announcement) frame, in order to perform a sounding for a multi-AP (Access Point) coordination, the NDPA frame including the identification information assigned to said another access point; ( [0357] In some aspects, the trigger signal 3205 may be followed by an optional sounding phase. In some aspects, this may include sequential sounding where one NDP per-AP use the sounding one AP at a time. This may leverage various sounding sequences, but with certain tweaks (e.g., the NDPA may address even OBSS wireless stations). In some aspects, this may include joint sounding using one NDP to sound transmit to all the AP(s). This may result in some reduction in overhead. The NDPs may be time multiplexed, code multiplex (e.g., P matrix) and/or frequency multiplexed among the transmit chains of all AP(s). In some aspects, this may include implicit sounding, e.g., using separate uplink NDPs per wireless station or a joint uplink NDP from all wireless stations. )
transmitting a trigger frame to a station; ( [0360] This may be followed by per-AP trigger frames 3215 from each AP. Generally, each per-AP trigger frame 3215 may be transmitted by the all of the AP(s) that have detailed per-wireless station resource allocations. In some aspects, the per-AP trigger frame 3215 may be utilized in an uplink transmission scenario, rather than a downlink transmission scenario. )
receiving information about channel information from the station; and ( [0359] … Another example may include identical content being signaled in each band (e.g., each 20 MHz channel), with each AP sending the control channel information for all of the AP(s) participating in the MU transmission on all of the channels. ... )
performing a control to communicate with the station while the communication device performs the multiple access point coordination with said another access point, wherein the NDPA frame includes a BSS color field in a STA info field. ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
Regarding Claim 20 Cherian teaches claim 16.
Cherian further teaches wherein the NDPA frame is received by said another access point. ( [0158] … Various different formats may be used for the MAP-PPDU. In some cases, multiple APs 105 may respond with the MAP PPDU after the reception of a Trigger frame sent by the TXOP Owner, namely the first AP 105-a in the above examples. … )
Regarding Claim 25 Cherian teaches claim 16.
Cherian further teaches wherein the communication device is an access point complying with an IEEE 802.11 series standard. ( ([0135] … STAs 115 and APs 105 may communicate according to the WLAN radio and baseband protocol for physical and MAC layers from IEEE 802.11 and versions including, but not limited to, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11a, 802.11n, 802.11ac, 802.11ad, 802.11ah, 802.11ax, etc. In other implementations, peer-to-peer connections or ad hoc networks may be implemented within WLAN 100.) )
Regarding Claim 26 Cherian teaches a communication device that operates as an access point comprising: ( paragraph [0145] FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a WLAN 200 that supports multi-access point scheduling in wireless local area networks in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, WLAN 200 may implement aspects of wireless communication system 100. In this example, a first AP 105-a may have multiple neighboring APs 105, including a second AP 105-b and a third AP 105-c. Further, a number of STAs 115 may be present, including a first STA 115-a that may be associated with the first AP 105-a via wireless link 120-a, a second STA 115-b that may be associated with the second AP 105-b via wireless link 120-b, and a third STA 115-c that may be associated with the third STA 115-c via wireless link 120-c. )
at least one memory that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor that executes the instructions, the instructions, when executed, causing the communication device to perform operations comprising: ( [0242] The processor 1240 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a CPU, a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof). In some cases, the processor 1240 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller. In other cases, a memory controller may be integrated into processor 1240. The processor 1240 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting multi-access point scheduling in wireless local area networks). )
accepting an assignment of identification information of the communication device by another access point: ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
receiving a NDPA (Null Data Packet Announcement) frame in order to perform a sounding for a multi-AP (Access Point) coordination, the NDPA frame including the identification information assigned to the communication device; ( [0357] In some aspects, the trigger signal 3205 may be followed by an optional sounding phase. In some aspects, this may include sequential sounding where one NDP per-AP use the sounding one AP at a time. This may leverage various sounding sequences, but with certain tweaks (e.g., the NDPA may address even OBSS wireless stations). In some aspects, this may include joint sounding using one NDP to sound transmit to all the AP(s). This may result in some reduction in overhead. The NDPs may be time multiplexed, code multiplex (e.g., P matrix) and/or frequency multiplexed among the transmit chains of all AP(s). In some aspects, this may include implicit sounding, e.g., using separate uplink NDPs per wireless station or a joint uplink NDP from all wireless stations. )
transmitting a NDP (Null Data Packet) to a station associated with said another access point, wherein information about channel information is transmitted from the station that received the NDP: and ( [0359] … Another example may include identical content being signaled in each band (e.g., each 20 MHz channel), with each AP sending the control channel information for all of the AP(s) participating in the MU transmission on all of the channels. ... )
performing a control to communicate with the station while the communication device performs the multiple access point coordination with said another access point, wherein the NDPA frame includes BSS color field in a STA info field. ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
Regarding Claim 30 Cherian teaches claim 26.
Cherian further teaches
wherein the sounding is performed for acquiring CSI (Channel Status Information) between an AP and a station device.
( [0138] ... In some cases, the ways in which the elements of the antenna array are combined at the transmitter may depend on channel state information (CSI) associated with the channels over which the AP 105 may communicate with the STA 115. That is, based on this CSI, the AP 105 may appropriately weight the transmissions from each antenna (for example, or antenna port) such that the desired beamforming effects are achieved. In some cases, these weights may be determined before beamforming can be employed. For example, the transmitter (for example, the AP 105) may transmit one or more sounding packets to the receiver in order to determine CSI. )
Regarding Claim 34 Cherian teaches claim 26.
Cherian further teaches the operations further comprising: transmitting information on an estimated channel state to said another access point. ( [0182] EHT-STF field 648 and EHT-LTF field 649 may be located before EHT-SIG-B 650. In some cases, EHT-STF field 648 and EHT-LTF field 649 may include automatic gain control (AGC) settings in addition to channel estimate information that an AP may use before demodulating EHT-SIG-B field 650 and EHT-Data field 651. )
Regarding Claim 37 Cherian teaches 37. (Currently Amended) A control method of a communication device that operates as an access point, the control method comprising: ( with below )
assigning identification information to another access point with which the communication device performs a multiple access point coordination: ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
transmitting a NDPA (Null Data Packet Announcement) frame in order to perform a sounding for a multi-AP (Access Point) coordination, the NDPA frame including the identification information assigned to said another access point: ( [0357] In some aspects, the trigger signal 3205 may be followed by an optional sounding phase. In some aspects, this may include sequential sounding where one NDP per-AP use the sounding one AP at a time. This may leverage various sounding sequences, but with certain tweaks (e.g., the NDPA may address even OBSS wireless stations). In some aspects, this may include joint sounding using one NDP to sound transmit to all the AP(s). This may result in some reduction in overhead. The NDPs may be time multiplexed, code multiplex (e.g., P matrix) and/or frequency multiplexed among the transmit chains of all AP(s). In some aspects, this may include implicit sounding, e.g., using separate uplink NDPs per wireless station or a joint uplink NDP from all wireless stations. )
transmitting a trigger frame to a station; ( [0360] This may be followed by per-AP trigger frames 3215 from each AP. Generally, each per-AP trigger frame 3215 may be transmitted by the all of the AP(s) that have detailed per-wireless station resource allocations. In some aspects, the per-AP trigger frame 3215 may be utilized in an uplink transmission scenario, rather than a downlink transmission scenario. )
receiving information about channel information from the station; and ( [0359] … Another example may include identical content being signaled in each band (e.g., each 20 MHz channel), with each AP sending the control channel information for all of the AP(s) participating in the MU transmission on all of the channels. ... )
performing a control to communicate with the station while the communication device performs the multiple access point coordination with said another access point, wherein the NDPA frame includes BSS color field in a STA info field ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
Regarding Claim 38 Cherian teaches a control method of a communication device that operates as an access point, the control method comprising: (paragraph [0242] The processor 1240 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a CPU, a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof). In some cases, the processor 1240 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller. In other cases, a memory controller may be integrated into processor 1240. The processor 1240 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting multi-access point scheduling in wireless local area networks). )
accepting an assignment of identification information of the communication device by another access point; ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
receiving a NDPA (Null Data Packet Announcement) frame in order to perform a sounding for a multi-AP (Access Point) coordination, the NDPA frame including the identification information assigned to the communication device; ( [0357] In some aspects, the trigger signal 3205 may be followed by an optional sounding phase. In some aspects, this may include sequential sounding where one NDP per-AP use the sounding one AP at a time. This may leverage various sounding sequences, but with certain tweaks (e.g., the NDPA may address even OBSS wireless stations). In some aspects, this may include joint sounding using one NDP to sound transmit to all the AP(s). This may result in some reduction in overhead. The NDPs may be time multiplexed, code multiplex (e.g., P matrix) and/or frequency multiplexed among the transmit chains of all AP(s). In some aspects, this may include implicit sounding, e.g., using separate uplink NDPs per wireless station or a joint uplink NDP from all wireless stations. )
transmitting a NDP (Null Data Packet) to a station associated with said another access point, wherein information about channel information is transmitted from the station that received the NDP: and ( [0359] … Another example may include identical content being signaled in each band (e.g., each 20 MHz channel), with each AP sending the control channel information for all of the AP(s) participating in the MU transmission on all of the channels. ... )
performing a control to communicate with the station while the communication device performs the multiple access point coordination with said another access point, wherein the NDPA frame includes BSS color field in a STA info field. ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
Regarding Claim 39 Cherian teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores a program that causes, when the program is executed, a communication device that operates as an access point to perform: (paragraph [0242] The processor 1240 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a CPU, a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof). In some cases, the processor 1240 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller. In other cases, a memory controller may be integrated into processor 1240. The processor 1240 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting multi-access point scheduling in wireless local area networks). )
assigning identification information to another access point with which the communication device performs a multiple access point coordination: ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
transmitting a NDPA (Null Data Packet Announcement) frame in order to perform a sounding for a multi-AP (Access Point) coordination, the NDPA frame including the identification information assigned to said another access point: ( [0357] In some aspects, the trigger signal 3205 may be followed by an optional sounding phase. In some aspects, this may include sequential sounding where one NDP per-AP use the sounding one AP at a time. This may leverage various sounding sequences, but with certain tweaks (e.g., the NDPA may address even OBSS wireless stations). In some aspects, this may include joint sounding using one NDP to sound transmit to all the AP(s). This may result in some reduction in overhead. The NDPs may be time multiplexed, code multiplex (e.g., P matrix) and/or frequency multiplexed among the transmit chains of all AP(s). In some aspects, this may include implicit sounding, e.g., using separate uplink NDPs per wireless station or a joint uplink NDP from all wireless stations. )
transmitting a trigger frame to a station; ( [0360] This may be followed by per-AP trigger frames 3215 from each AP. Generally, each per-AP trigger frame 3215 may be transmitted by the all of the AP(s) that have detailed per-wireless station resource allocations. In some aspects, the per-AP trigger frame 3215 may be utilized in an uplink transmission scenario, rather than a downlink transmission scenario. )
receiving information about channel information from the station; and ( [0359] … Another example may include identical content being signaled in each band (e.g., each 20 MHz channel), with each AP sending the control channel information for all of the AP(s) participating in the MU transmission on all of the channels. ... )
performing a control to communicate with the station while the communication device performs the multiple access point coordination with said another access point, wherein the NDPA frame includes BSS color field in a STA info field ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
Regarding Claim 40 Cherian teaches 40. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores a program that causes, when the program is executed, a communication device that operates as an access point to perform: ( [0242] The processor 1240 may include an intelligent hardware device, (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a CPU, a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof). In some cases, the processor 1240 may be configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller. In other cases, a memory controller may be integrated into processor 1240. The processor 1240 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting multi-access point scheduling in wireless local area networks). )
accepting an assignment of identification information of the communication device by another access point; ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
receiving a NDPA (Null Data Packet Announcement) frame in order to perform a sounding for a multi-AP (Access Point) coordination, the NDPA frame including the identification information assigned to the communication device; ( [0357] In some aspects, the trigger signal 3205 may be followed by an optional sounding phase. In some aspects, this may include sequential sounding where one NDP per-AP use the sounding one AP at a time. This may leverage various sounding sequences, but with certain tweaks (e.g., the NDPA may address even OBSS wireless stations). In some aspects, this may include joint sounding using one NDP to sound transmit to all the AP(s). This may result in some reduction in overhead. The NDPs may be time multiplexed, code multiplex (e.g., P matrix) and/or frequency multiplexed among the transmit chains of all AP(s). In some aspects, this may include implicit sounding, e.g., using separate uplink NDPs per wireless station or a joint uplink NDP from all wireless stations. )
transmitting a NDP (Null Data Packet) to a station associated with said another access point, wherein information about channel information is transmitted from the station that received the NDP: and ( [0359] … Another example may include identical content being signaled in each band (e.g., each 20 MHz channel), with each AP sending the control channel information for all of the AP(s) participating in the MU transmission on all of the channels. ... )
performing a control to communicate with the station while the communication device performs the multiple access point coordination with said another access point, wherein the NDPA frame includes BSS color field in a STA info field. ( [0158] As indicated above, in some cases a MAP PPDU may be defined that provides multi-AP coordination and scheduling information. ... [0159] ... In this example, the MAP PPDU 600-a may use the STAID fields of HE-SIG-B field 606 to carry an identifier of each neighboring AP (e.g., as determined from a short BSSID, a color-code, or a special AID value of the APs). [0160] In some case, STA-ID field of HE-SIG B 606 may carry the AID of a STA. In some cases, for the purpose of coordinated re-use, the STA-ID may be overloaded to carry a BSS identifier of the AP, such that STAs associated with that BSS decode the corresponding resource unit. In some cases, one or more fields in the HE-SIG-A 605 may indicate if HE-SIG-B field 606 has an alternate interpretation. ... )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 18, 19, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2020/0076552), Cherian hereinafter, in view of Kwon et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0336752), Kwon hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 18 and 28, Cherian teaches claims 16 and 26.
Yet, Cherian does not expressly teach wherein the identification information assigned to said another access point is included in an AID11 subfield of the sets of station info field includes identification information of other communication device to which the NDPA frame is transmitted.
However, in the analogous art, Kwon explicitly discloses 18. (Currently Amended) The communication device according to claim 16, wherein the identification information assigned to said another access point is included in an AID11 subfield of the sets of station info field includes identification information of other communication device to which the NDPA frame is transmitted. (paragraph 0102 - FIG. 13 depicts an example of an HE NDPA frame format. In particular, FIG. 13 depicts fields of the HE NDPA that may be used by a beamformer (e.g., an AP) for sounding procedures for channel status information identification when the HE NDPA is aimed at more than one client (e.g., multiple STAs). With reference to FIG. 13, an HE NDPA 1200 includes a Frame Control field 1202 (2 octets), a Duration field 1204 (2 octets), a Receiving Address (RA) field 1206 (6 octets), a Transmission Address (TA) field 1208 (6 octets), a Sounding Dialog Token field 1210 (1 octet), a first per-STA Info field (shown as “STA Info 1”) 1212 (4 octets), a subsequent per-STA Info field (shown as “STA Info n”) 1214 (4 octets), and a Frame Check Sequence (FCS) field 1216 (4 octets). In such an embodiment, the Sounding Dialog Token field 1210 may include three subfields, implemented as Reserved 1210-1 (1-bit), VHT/HE 1210-2 (1-bit), and Sounding Dialog Token Number 1210-3 (6-bits). Additionally, in such an embodiment, the first per-STA Info field (shown as “STA Info 1”) 1212 may include six subfields, implemented as AID11 1212-1 (11-bits), Partial Bandwidth Info 1212-2 (9-bits), Feedback type+Ng 1212-3 (2-bits), Disambiguation bit 1212-4 (1-bit), Codebook size 1212-5 (1-bit), and Number of columns (Nc) 1212-6 (3-bits))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cherian’s Protocols for Multi-access point coordinated multi-user transmissions to include Kwon's AID11 and other subfields to address device on the network more distinctly.
Regarding Claims 19 and 29, Cherian teaches claims 16 and 26.
Yet, Cherian does not expressly teach wherein the NDPA frame is a frame used to announce that a Null Data Packet is to be transmitted.
However, in the analogous art, Kwon explicitly discloses wherein the NDPA frame is a frame used to announce that a Null Data Packet is to be transmitted (paragraph 0021 - In an embodiment, the AP transmits an Extremely High-Throughput (EHT) Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame that includes a Sounding Dialog Token field that is used to indicate that the transmitted EHT NDPA frame is an EHT NDPA frame type, and wherein indicating the EHT NDPA frame type involves setting bit zero (B0) and bit one (B1) of the Sounding Dialog Token field to (1 1).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cherian’s Protocols for Multi-access point coordinated multi-user transmissions to include Kwon's AID11 and other subfields to address device on the network more distinctly.
Claims 22 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2020/0076552), Cherian hereinafter in view of Aboul-Magd et al, (U.S. PGPub 2014/0056205), Aboul-Magd hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 22 and 31, Cherian teaches claims 16 and 26.
Yet, Cherian does not expressly teach wherein the communication device transmits, to said another access point a frame to start the sounding before the NDPA frame is transmitted.
However, in the analogous art, Aboul-Magd explicitly discloses wherein the communication device transmits, to said another access point a frame to start the sounding before the NDPA frame is transmitted (paragraphs 0049 - … The NDPA may include a field in its PHY header to signal the start of the process. Alternatively, AP 192 broadcasts a frame to signal the start of the channel sounding process to the participating APs and stations. …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cherian’s Protocols for Multi-access point coordinated multi-user transmissions to include Aboul-Magd's frame to start the sounding for better handshake during transmission.
Claims 24 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2020/0076552), Cherian hereinafter in view of Oteri et al, (U.S. PGPub 2022/0030611), Oteri hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 24 and 35, Cherian teaches claims 16 and 26.
Yet, Cherian does not expressly teach wherein the trigger frame includes, in a user info field, an AID and a BSSID (Basic Service Set identifier) of a communication network that a station device belongs to.
However, in the analogous art, Oteri explicitly discloses wherein the trigger frame includes, in a user info field, an AID and a BSSID (Basic Service Set identifier) of a communication network that a station device belongs to (paragraphs 0251 to 0252 discloses trigger frame that includes BSS Color, AID about channel status information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cherian’s Protocols for Multi-access point coordinated multi-user transmissions to include Oteri's trigger frame inclusion of an AID and a BSS for better feedback and system adaptation.
Conclusion
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472