DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 13 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-16 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings, Specification, and Claims have overcome some of the objections and each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed November 26, 2025. Unaddressed objections are maintained and are as set forth below.
Drawings
The Examiner notes the Drawings filed May 21, 2026 appears to have numerous informalities and respectfully requests Applicant to carefully review the Drawings in its entirety and correct appropriately.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 1, 18, 10a, 16sp, 12l, F1, F2, F3, 18', and 12n. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 10ss and 10k. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because 10 is unclear in Fig 1, 10s is unclear in Figs 2a and 2b, and 10sp is unclear in Fig 2a. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "nut" in claims 2-3 and 6-7 and "the screw or the nut comprises carriers" in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The Examiner notes the Specification filed May 21, 2026 appears to have numerous informalities and respectfully requests Applicant to carefully review the Specification in its entirety and correct appropriately.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner suggests amending all instances of “Fig. 2A”, “Fig. 2B”, and “Fig. 2C” with “Fig. 2a”, “Fig. 2b”, and “Fig. 2c”, respectively, to reflect amended Drawings
In Pg 13, “LIST OF REFERNCE NUMERALS” is unclear, for example reference character 12tk indicates a “Sensor system” and a “Temperature compensation circuit”
Examiner suggests providing a brief description of Fig 3
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, lines 2-3, Examiner notes the status identifier indicates “(Previously Presented)”, however, claim 12 appears to be amended; see MPEP 714
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Draeger et al. (DE102010001144A1), hereinafter "Draeger".
Regarding claim 1, Draeger teaches a screw connection system (Fig 4, mechanical connecting component 100), comprising:
at least two individual elements (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0053, Examiner notes screw 200 and sensor disk 220 as at least two individual elements) comprising a connection device (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0053, Examiner notes screw 200 as a connection device) as a first element (Fig 4, screw 200) and a washer (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0053, Examiner notes sensor disk 220 as a washer) as a second element (Fig 4, sensor disk 220), wherein the screw connection system (100) further comprising:
an energy supply device (see Figs 2 and 4, Paragraph 0058, energy storage device 150);
a communication device (Fig 4, wireless interface 120);
and a sensor system (Fig 4, sensor layer 110),
wherein the energy supply device (150) is configured to supply (Paragraphs 0028 and 0054) the sensor system (110) and/or the communication device (120) with energy (Paragraphs 0028 and 0054),
wherein the communication device (120) is configured to transfer (Paragraph 0027) a sensor value (Paragraph 0027) that is determined with an aid (Paragraph 0027) of the sensor system (110) to an outside (Paragraph 0027);
wherein the washer (see Fig 4) comprises at least two elements (see Figs 3-4, Paragraph 0007, Examiner notes sensor layer 110, base body 170, electrode structure 180, and electrical insulation and wear protection layer 190 as comprises at least two elements);
wherein a sensor layer system (Paragraphs 0060-0061) or a sensor layer (Paragraphs 0060-0061) or a Diaforce layer (Paragraphs 0060-0061) is provided as part (Paragraphs 0060-0061) of the sensor system (110) between (see Figs 3-4, Paragraph 0007, Examiner notes sensor layer 110 between base body 170 and electrical insulation and wear protection layer 190 as between) the at least two elements (see Figs 3-4) of the washer (see Fig 4)
wherein, of the at least two elements (see Figs 3-4) of the washer (see Fig 4), a first (see Figs 3-4, Paragraph 0007, Examiner notes electrical insulation and wear protection layer 190 as a first) of the at least two elements (see Figs 3-4) comprises a recess (see Fig 3, Paragraph 0049, Examiner notes recesses of electrical insulation and wear protection layer 190 into which electrode structure 180 is embedded in as comprises a recess) into which a second (see Figs 3-4, Paragraph 0007, Examiner notes electrode structure 180 as a second) of the at least two elements (see Figs 3-4) is embedded (see Fig 3, Paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 2, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein a screw (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0053, Draeger indicates a screw 200) or a nut forms the first element (200).
Regarding claim 3, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the energy supply device (150) and the communication device (120) are integrated (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0058) into a screw (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0053, Draeger indicates a screw 200) or into a nut.
Regarding claim 4, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the sensor system (110) is integrated (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0053) into the washer (see Fig 4).
Regarding claim 5, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the at least two elements (see Figs 3-4) extend concentrically (see Figs 3-4) with respect to each other (see Figs 3-4) and/or extend radially symmetrically (see Figs 3-4) around a drill axis (see Figs 3-4, Examiner notes with respect to Fig 4, an axis of sensor disk 220 in which screw 200 extends through as a drill axis).
Regarding claim 6, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein one (Fig 3, electrical insulation and wear protection layer 190) of the at least two elements (see Figs 3-4) of the washer (see Fig 4) comprises a recess (see Figs 3-4, Paragraphs 0007 and 0049, Examiner notes recesses in electrical insulation and wear protection layer 190 in which electrode structure 180 is embedded in as comprises a recess) or concentric recess on a side facing (see Figs 3-4, Paragraph 0056) a screw (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0053, Draeger indicates a screw 200) or a nut.
Regarding claim 10, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the sensor system (110) is inductively or capacitively connected (Paragraphs 0023-0024) to the energy supply device (150) and/or the communication device (120).
Regarding claim 12, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the communication device (120) comprises a Wi-Fi™ communication device or Bluetooth™ communication device (Paragraph 0058, Draeger indicates wireless interface 120 can be designed as a radio interface which transmits communication data in a Bluetooth network or WLAN network).
Regarding claim 13, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the connection device (see Fig 4) comprises a near-field communication device (Paragraph 0061, Draeger indicates RFID sensor node and electric or magnetic near field), wherein the near-field communication device (Paragraph 0061) is configured to perform near-field communication (Paragraph 0061) without energy supply (Paragraph 0061) by the energy supply device (150); and/or
wherein the connection device (see Fig 4) comprises a near-field communication device (Paragraph 0061, Draeger indicates RFID sensor node and electric or magnetic near field), wherein the near-field communication device (Paragraph 0061) is configured to perform (Paragraph 0061) near-field communication (Paragraph 0061) without energy supply (Paragraph 0061) by the energy supply device (150), and wherein the near-field communication device (Paragraph 0061) is configured to communicate in an identical or at least partially overlapping or non-overlapping frequency band (Paragraph 0075, Examiner notes Draeger’s indication of the wireless interface can be adapted to have an optimal transmission and reception range and high-frequency radio interfaces can be influenced in their resonance frequency and radio properties by a metal environment and may therefore require adaptation to the environment as configured to communicate in an identical or at least partially overlapping or non-overlapping frequency band) as the communication device (120).
Regarding claim 14, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the connection device (see Fig 4) comprises at least one screw (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0053, Draeger indicates a screw 200), wherein the at least one screw (see Fig 4) comprises a recess (see Fig 4) in a screw head (Fig 4, screw head 210) and/or a **milled-out** portion (Paragraph 0055) in a shank (Paragraph 0055), and wherein the energy supply device (150) and/or the communication device (120) is arranged (see Fig 4) in one or several recesses (see Fig 4).
**Examiner notes that even though a product-by-process claim is limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698,227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 15, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the sensor system (110) comprises a temperature sensor system, a force sensor system (Paragraphs 0060-0061, Draeger indicates measure the forces prevailing at a screw connection), or a further sensor system; and/or
wherein the sensor system (110) is connected to a processor (see Figs 2 and 4, processor 140) configured to read out (Paragraph 0027) the sensor value (Paragraph 0027) in a digital or analog manner (see Figs 2 and 4, analog/digital converter 130) or on a basis of a frequency (Paragraph 0052) that is varied across a resistor (Paragraph 0052) as a frequency-determining element (Paragraph 0052); and/or
wherein the sensor system (110) is connected to a processor (see Figs 2 and 4, processor 140) and wherein the processor (140) is arranged together (see Figs 2 and 4, Paragraph 0058) with the energy supply device (150) and/or the communication device (120), and wherein the processor (140) is configured to read out (Paragraph 0027) the sensor value (Paragraph 0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draeger, in view of Michiwaki (US20180067003A1), hereinafter "Michiwaki".
Regarding claim 7, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 3 but fails to teach wherein the screw or the nut and/or the washer comprises carriers arranged on a side facing the first and/or second element and configured to limit torsion of the screw or the nut with respect to the washer.
Michiwaki teaches wherein the screw (Fig 9, screw body 40) or the nut and/or the washer comprises carriers (Fig 9, screw-body-side seat part 122) arranged on a side (see Fig 9) facing (see Fig 9) the first and/or second element (Fig 9, washer 150) and configured to limit torsion (Paragraph 0135, Michiwaki indicates loosening prevention) of the screw (40) or the nut with respect to the washer (150).
Therefore, as evidenced by Michiwaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate adequately sized and shaped carriers as taught by Michiwaki to Draeger. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to prevent relative rotation between the screw and the washer (Michiwaki, Paragraph 0135).
Regarding claim 8, modified Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 7 and further teaches wherein the sensor system (110) is connected (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0054 and 0058) to the energy supply device (150) and/or the communication device (120) via cables (Fig 4, connection 240), and wherein a cable connection (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0054 and 0058) extends in a recess (see Fig 4, Examiner notes connection 240 extending between sensor disk 220 to electronics 230 as extends in a recess).
Regarding claim 9, modified Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 7 and further teaches wherein the sensor system (110) is connected (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0054 and 0058) to the energy supply device (150) and/or the communication device (120) via a cable connection (Fig 4, connection 240) or an electrical contact.
Regarding claim 16, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the connection device (see Fig 4) comprises a screw (see Fig 4, Paragraph 0053, Draeger indicates a screw 200) but fails to teach and wherein a cooling body is provided as part of a screw head.
Michiwaki teaches wherein a cooling body is provided as part of a screw head (see Fig 9, Paragraph 0208, Examiner notes a Peltier device may also be installed on the parent material which is a different position from the conduction path and the Peltier device may be installed and displaced at a position at which temperature may change easily, i.e. heat absorbing and heat emitting parts).
Therefore, as evidenced by Michiwaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an adequately sized and shaped cooling body as part of the screw head as taught by Michiwaki to Draeger. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate heating or cooling of the screw to a desired temperature based on an environment of the application (Michiwaki, Paragraph 0208).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Draeger, in view of Klasén (US20170167857A1), hereinafter "Klasén".
Regarding claim 11, Draeger teaches the screw connection system (100) according to claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the energy supply device comprises an energy harvester, a thermal energy harvester, a solar cell as an energy harvester, and/or a vibration transducer as an energy harvester.
Klasén teaches wherein the energy supply device (Fig 1, energy storing unit 9) comprises an energy harvester (Fig 1, charging unit 8, Paragraphs 0045-0046), a thermal energy harvester (Paragraphs 0045-0046), a solar cell (Paragraphs 0045-0046) as an energy harvester (Paragraphs 0045-0046), and/or a vibration transducer (Paragraphs 0045-0046) as an energy harvester (Paragraphs 0045-0046).
Therefore, as evidenced by Klasén, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an adequately sized and shaped energy harvester, a thermal energy harvester, a solar cell as an energy harvester, and/or a vibration transducer as an energy harvester as taught by Klasén to Draeger. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to harvest energy from the surrounding environment (Klasén, Paragraphs 0045-0046).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to Pgs 9-10 of Applicant’s Remarks filed May 21, 2026, Applicant argues that Draeger does not lead to the conclusion that the washer itself comprises two (concentric) parts or elements, of which one has a recess that the other one is embedded between which the sensor layer is arranged. Further, Applicant argues there is no disclosure of a recessed embedding; the only disclosure which can be found is that the sensor film is applied directly to a surface, but not sandwiched between and embedded within washer elements. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes Applicant’s recitation of “the washer comprises at least two elements” is a broad recitation and is interpreted accordingly.
With respect to Pg 10 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues Draeger fails to disclose such a two-part washer. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes as set forth above, Applicant’s recitation of “the washer comprises at least two elements” is a broad recitation.
With respect to Pg 10 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues because the prior art is silent with regard to arranging a sensor within a recess it must be concluded that there is no motivation to create a multi-element washer with embedding geometry so as to sandwich the Diaforce layer and such modification requires hindsight reconstruction. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes Draeger does not require such modification resulting in hindsight reconstruction as Applicant’s recitation of “the washer comprises at least two elements” is a broad recitation.
With respect to Pg 11 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that Draeger’s layers do not become a “washer element” or that the washer therefore comprises at least two elements; neither of these layers (base body, electrical insulation, or wear protection) appear to have a recess into which the sensor layer is embedded but rather fully cover the sensor layer by themselves. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes Applicant’s argument of the sensor layer is embedded appears to be further limiting than amended independent claim 1 as amended independent claim 1 does not require the sensor layer to be embedded but rather, in lines 16-18, “a first of the at least two washer elements comprises a recess into which a second of the at least two elements is embedded”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675