This Office Action is in response to Applicant Amendment and Arguments filed on 6/17/2026.
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-20 are pending for examination.
This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Response to Arguments
With regards to claim(s) 1-7 and 10-20 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered, but not persuasive. First applicant argues: “As discussed during the interview, Applicant respectfully submits that the claimed embodiment rely on user specified provisional information, or system specified provisional information, defined by a provisional quay line and a provisional quay reference point, and selecting, from among a plurality of measurement results, maximum-likelihood measurement information that best matches the provisional information, thereby initializing characteristic information for a quay.
Applicant respectfully submits that neither Akuzawa nor Hara teaches or suggests this two- stage recognition and initialization paradigm.
Also, Akuzawa focuses on environment recognition and map updating, while Hara addresses docking-point alignment along a detected linear structure, without any teaching of provisional reference information serving as a basis for probabilistic selection among measurement results.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In para [0068] Akuzawa clearly indicates that the provisional information is set by the user on by selection points on a terminal. This is then followed by the controller making the correction to create the initial characteristic information.
Examiner apologizes for the miscommunication regarding the limitation “the provisional initial information being externally acquired and not derived from the measurement information” not overcoming the previously cited art. The recommendation was made only upon preliminary review of the specification during the interview itself and examiner was trying to indicate that provisional information received from an external database was not taught. However, applicant has made it clear that externally acquired includes receiving the provisional information from a user on the ship as admitted in these remarks and as claimed in dependent claim 12.
Second applicant argues: “In addition, the reasoning for combining Akuzawa, Hara, and Lambert in the Final Office Action appears to rely primarily on a generalized assertion that weighting measurements based on error "would improve accuracy." However, at best, Lambert addresses sensor fusion and ICP- based alignment in SLAM contexts, not quay-specific characteristic information generation for ship navigation assistance. Applying Lambert's teachings to Akuzawa's quay recognition framework requires more than routine optimization. Rather, such a combination entails a substantial conceptual leap that lacks a clear motivation grounded in the cited art.” And “Applicant further respectfully notes that Lambert's ICP-based weighting operates in a SLAM context involving continuous pose estimation, and not for quay-specific berthing assistance. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits the one skilled in the art would have no motivation to modify Akuzawa based on these features of Lambert.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. SLAM is a general purpose technology that is location agnostic (they can even be used on unknown environments), and used across a wide variety of vehicles for various applications. Wikipedia states “Simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) is a process where a computer constructs or updates a map of an unknown environment while simultaneously keeping track of an entity's location within it. While this initially appears to be a chicken or the egg problem, there are several algorithms known to solve it in, at least approximately, tractable time for certain environments. Popular approximate solution methods include the particle filter, extended Kalman filter, covariance intersection, and GraphSLAM. SLAM algorithms are based on concepts in computational geometry and computer vision, and are used in robot navigation, robotic mapping and odometry for virtual reality or augmented reality. SLAM algorithms are tailored to the available resources and are not aimed at perfection but at operational compliance. Published approaches are employed in self-driving cars, unmanned aerial vehicles, autonomous underwater vehicles, planetary rovers, newer domestic robots and even inside the human body.”
There is no reason to assume that slam algorithms are not applicable to a docking ship. Also the test for obviousness is not how easy a technology is to implement but rather if there is a motivation to. Regardless there is no evidence that use of SLAM entails a substantial conceptual leap as it is implemented even in technologies were it has a prior map to work with (Wikipedia “Modern self driving cars mostly simplify the mapping problem to almost nothing, by making extensive use of highly detailed map data collected in advance. This can include map annotations to the level of marking locations of individual white line segments and curbs on the road. Location-tagged visual data such as Google's StreetView may also be used as part of maps. Essentially such systems simplify the SLAM problem to a simpler localization only task, perhaps allowing for moving objects such as cars and people only to be updated in the map at runtime.”).
Third applicant argues “As discussed during the interview, Applicant respectfully submits that independent claim 1 recites a temporal and functional sequence, including: the use of provisional initial information prior to object recognition, and the selection of maximum-likelihood measurement information matched to the provisional information, rather than generic sensor fusion.
In this regard, Applicant respectfully notes that independent claim 1 recites "set initial characteristic information on the quay based on maximum likelihood measurement information of which a position and a direction to the ship are most similar to the provisional initial information, among a plurality of measurement information, and update characteristic information on the quay using the initial characteristic information on the quay and characteristic information before updating on the quay, and the measurement information," and independent claims 13 and 14 recite similar features.”
Examiner would like to note that these features are not specifically claimed and therefore are not included in the interpretation of the claims. The use of provisional initial information prior to object recognition has not be claimed, merely that that the provisional initial information needs to be set prior to setting initial characteristic information. Not that object recognition cannot occur prior. Additionally maximum-likelihood measurement information matched to the provisional information has not be claimed or described in the specification in enough detail to assert that it can not be a form of generic sensor fusion. No sort of statistical or probabilistic analysis has be described when it comes to the setting of initial characteristic information from the provisional information.
Lastly applicant argues: “In addition, Hara's docking line represents alignment along a detected facility. On the contrary, the claimed provisional quay line functions as a hypothesis for correlating raw measurement information. Therefore, the provisional quay line is completely different from Hara's docking line.”
Examiner would like to note that these features (specifically “provisional quay line functions as a hypothesis for correlating raw measurement information”) are not explicitly claimed and therefore are not included in the interpretation of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akuzawa et al. (US 20190308713 A1, hereinafter known as Akuzawa) in view of Hara et al. (US 20220001970 A1, hereinafter known as Hara).
Regarding claim 1, Akuzawa teaches A ship navigation assistance system, comprising: a measurement sensor configured to acquire measurement information on a quay using a ranging result of an area including the quay that is an anchorage target of a ship;
{Para [0055-0056] “The sensing device 46 detects the shapes of objects surrounding the boat body 2 and the positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2. The positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2 includes the distance between the objects and the boat body 2 and the direction in which the object is positioned with respect to the boat body 2. Objects surrounding the boat body 2 include, for example, piers, wharves, other boats, obstructions, or the like.
The sensing device 46 includes one type of sensor among a radar, a laser, a camera or an ultrasonic sensor, or includes a plurality of types of sensors. The sensing device 46 may include a plurality of radars, a plurality of lasers, a plurality of cameras, or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors. The radar includes a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, or another radar of a different wavelength. The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.”
}
and processing circuitry configured to determine provisional initial information based on a
{para [0068] “In step S203, the controller 41 evaluates whether there is an input of the target position for the shore arrival. Here, the input of the target position on the environment map 62 is accepted by the input 44. The operator touches the possible shore arrival position on the environment map 62, such that the touched position is inputted as the target position. The input 44 outputs target position information which indicates the target position to the controller 41.”
The provisional information is being acquired from the operator.
}
set initial characteristic information on the quay based on maximum likelihood measurement information of which a position and a direction to the ship are most similar to the provisional initial information, among a plurality of measurement information, and
Para [0070] “In step S205, the controller 41 corrects the target position. The controller 41 corrects the target position based on the possible shore arrival space SP1. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 10, when an inputted target position IP1 is outside of the possible shore arrival space SP1, the controller 41 corrects a target position Tp so that the target position is within the possible shore arrival space SP1. When an inputted target position IP2 is inside the possible shore arrival space SP1, the controller 41 corrects the target position Tp so that the target position becomes the center position of the possible shore arrival space SP1.”
The target position IP can be considered as the provisional quay reference point. The target position Tp can be considered a component of the initial characteristic information.
It has not been established that whether a position and a direction are a past, current, or future postion/direction.
One way of looking at it as that target position Tp and arrival space sp1 based on the user selection has maximum likelihood to be the future position/direction of the ship.
Alternatively, and more in line with applicant’s invention the environmental map (62) that is generated is relative to the position and direction of the ship as sensors creating the environmental map are on the ship as discussed in para [0064]. The user’s selection IP1/2 is essentially an overlayed user created map (this can be considered the provisional information) and is being translated/rotated to align with the ships created map. At the closest possible point. It is selecting arrival space sp1 rather than another space. In para [0073] it is made clear that there is a plurality of measured positions available “In step S206, the controller 41 automatically sets the target position. Here, as illustrated in FIG. 12, the controller 41 sets the closest position in the current bow direction among the positions along the shore arrival location, as the target position.” even if they are not recited explicitly in para [0074]
}
update characteristic information on the quay using the initial characteristic information on the quay and characteristic information before updating on the quay, and the measurement information.
{Para [0056] “The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.”
Para [0063-0064] “The shapes of the shore arrival location, the obstructions, and the surrounding structures recognized by the controller 41 are displayed on the environment map 62. While not illustrated in FIG. 9, other boats recognized by the controller 41 are also displayed on the environment map 62. The controller 41 displays the current position and the current bearing of the boat body 2 obtained from the position information on the environment map 62 with an icon 71 of the boat body 2.
The environment map 62 is updated in real time due to the repeated detection of the position information by the positional sensor 45 and the repeated detection of the environment information by the sensing device 46. The plurality of operating keys include a scale changing key 63. By operating the scale changing key 63, the displayed scale of the environment map 62 is enlarged or reduced.”
Where a map is being updated based on the environmental information which includes the measurement information.
In order to update the map, objects are being recognized fig. 5 and para [0061] “In step S104, the controller 41 or the FPGA 49 recognizes a shore arrival location, another boat, an obstruction, or a surrounding structure based on the environment information. The shore arrival location is, for example, a pier. The controller 41 or the FPGA 49 recognizes another boat or an obstruction based on the shape of the object detected by the sensing device 46. For example, the controller 41 or the FPGA 49 recognizes the shore arrival location and the surrounding structure based on the height and length of the object detected by the sensing device 46.”
In order to recognize an object some initial/prior data on the object must be used.
}
wherein the characteristic information on the quay includes a quay line including a vector quantity determined by a spatial relationship between the ship and the object.
{Para [0055-0057] “The sensing device 46 detects the shapes of objects surrounding the boat body 2 and the positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2. The positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2 includes the distance between the objects and the boat body 2 and the direction in which the object is positioned with respect to the boat body 2. Objects surrounding the boat body 2 include, for example, piers, wharves, other boats, obstructions, or the like.
The sensing device 46 includes one type of sensor among a radar, a laser, a camera or an ultrasonic sensor, or includes a plurality of types of sensors. The sensing device 46 may include a plurality of radars, a plurality of lasers, a plurality of cameras, or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors. The radar includes a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, or another radar of a different wavelength. The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.
The environment information indicates the shape of the shore arrival location and the positional relationship between the shore arrival location and the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or other boats surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or structures or obstructions surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information is indicated, for example, by coordinates of point groups indicating the position of an object detected by the sensing device 46. Alternatively, the environment information may be the shape and position of an object captured by image recognition.”
It should be noted that vectors are merely the difference between two points and thus a point group can be trivially converted into a vector quantity. It should be also noted that a quay line vector is contemplated by as Akuzawa as the point groups are determined and the angle between the boat and object are determined as well. Additionally by rendering a line between two points (as done in fig. 9) one can say a vector has been established.
Para [0065] “FIG. 6 is a flow chart illustrating processing to set a target position of the shore arrival. As illustrated in step S201 in FIG. 6, the controller 41 determines a possible shore arrival space. The controller 41 determines the possible shore arrival space based on the environment information. As illustrated in FIG. 10, the controller 41 determines a position along the object recognized as the shore arrival location, as a possible shore arrival space SP1.”
Para [0074] “In step S207, the controller 41 displays the target position and the target bearing with an icon 71′ on the environment map 62. Here, as illustrated in FIG. 9, the controller 41 sets the target position corrected in step S205 or the target position automatically set in step S206 as the target position, and displays the icon 71′ which indicates the host boat in the position on the environment map 62. The icon 71′ is displayed in the target bearing determined by the controller 41 in the initial state. The controller 41 determines the target bearing of the boat body 2 based on the shape of the shore arrival location, the current bearing, the distance to the target position, or the like. For example, when the shore arrival location is a pier, the controller 41 determines a direction along the edge of the shore arrival location as the target bearing. Alternatively, the controller 41 may determine a direction that defines a predetermined angle with the direction along the edge of the shore arrival location, as the target bearing. Moreover, the controller 41 may change the target bearing in response to the current bearing or the distance to the target position.”
}
the processing circuitry is further configured, based on the updated characteristic information, to suppress errors in a distance and a direction between the ship and the quay line when the ship is moving.
{Para [0009] “In addition, a possible shore arrival space of the boat body is determined in the surrounding environment based on the environment information, and the shore arrival target position is corrected based on the possible shore arrival space. As a result, even if an inexperienced user makes an error while inputting a shore arrival target position, the shore arrival target position is corrected to a suitable position. As a result, the boat is able to arrive at the shore easily even in an unspecified harbor.”
}
Akuzawa does not teach, determine provisional initial information based on a provisional quay line and a provisional quay reference point
However, Hara teaches determine provisional initial information based on a provisional quay line and a provisional quay reference point
{Para [0073-0074] “The docking point setting unit 41 in FIG. 1 detects, from the local map 36, a candidate location for automatic docking of the ship 95. As illustrated in FIG. 2, on the local map 36, a group of points that are considered to represent docking facilities appears so as to line up in one direction in front of the occlusion area 38. Therefore, the docking point setting unit 41 uses an appropriate calculation algorithm to detect a straight line 39 along the group of points. The straight line 39 represents the direction of a docking facility.
The user may set a target point (may be referred to as a docking point B1 in the following description) for the actual automatic docking of the ship 95 at a location near the straight line 39 detected by the docking point setting unit 41 via the interface unit 81 described below. The user sets the docking point B1 near the docking facility (specifically, the straight line 39) in which docking is considered to be possible in consideration of the entire length of the ship 95. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of the docking point B1, although the land form is different from that in the example of FIG. 2. The ship 95 is docked in a direction along the direction of the docking facility (the direction of the straight line 39). The user makes a selection as to which direction the bow is to be turned upon docking, in other words, whether the portside is to be brought into the dock or the bow side is to be brought into the dock.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akuzawa to incorporate the teachings of Hara to set a provisional quay line as it lets the user determine which direction they want boat to be docked in (para [0074] “The user may set a target point (may be referred to as a docking point B1 in the following description) for the actual automatic docking of the ship 95 at a location near the straight line 39 detected by the docking point setting unit 41 via the interface unit 81 described below. The user sets the docking point B1 near the docking facility (specifically, the straight line 39) in which docking is considered to be possible in consideration of the entire length of the ship 95. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of the docking point B1, although the land form is different from that in the example of FIG. 2. The ship 95 is docked in a direction along the direction of the docking facility (the direction of the straight line 39). The user makes a selection as to which direction the bow is to be turned upon docking, in other words, whether the portside is to be brought into the dock or the bow side is to be brought into the dock.”)
Regarding claim 5, Akuzawa in view of Hara teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 1. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the measurement sensor is further comprising: a rangefinder configured to perform three-dimensional ranging of the area including the object; and measurement information generation circuitry configured to generate the measurement information using a result of the three-dimensional ranging.
{Para [0055-0057] “The sensing device 46 detects the shapes of objects surrounding the boat body 2 and the positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2. The positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2 includes the distance between the objects and the boat body 2 and the direction in which the object is positioned with respect to the boat body 2. Objects surrounding the boat body 2 include, for example, piers, wharves, other boats, obstructions, or the like.
The sensing device 46 includes one type of sensor among a radar, a laser, a camera or an ultrasonic sensor, or includes a plurality of types of sensors. The sensing device 46 may include a plurality of radars, a plurality of lasers, a plurality of cameras, or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors. The radar includes a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, or another radar of a different wavelength. The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.
The environment information indicates the shape of the shore arrival location and the positional relationship between the shore arrival location and the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or other boats surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or structures or obstructions surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information is indicated, for example, by coordinates of point groups indicating the position of an object detected by the sensing device 46. Alternatively, the environment information may be the shape and position of an object captured by image recognition.”
}
Regarding claim 6, Akuzawa in view of Hara teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 5. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the rangefinder is further comprising an optical rangefinder.
{Para [0056] “The sensing device 46 includes one type of sensor among a radar, a laser, a camera or an ultrasonic sensor, or includes a plurality of types of sensors. The sensing device 46 may include a plurality of radars, a plurality of lasers, a plurality of cameras, or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors. The radar includes a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, or another radar of a different wavelength. The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.”
}
Regarding claim 7, Akuzawa in view of Hara teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 5. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the measurement sensor is further comprising an attitude measurement sensor configured to measure an attitude of the ship,
{Para [0054] “The positional sensor 45 detects the current position and the current bearing of the boat body 2 and outputs position information indicating the current position and the current bearing. The positional sensor 45 is, for example, an inertial navigation device and includes a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) device 47 and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 48. The GNSS device 47 detects the current position and the boat speed of the boat body 2. The IMU 48 detects the angular speed and the acceleration of the boat body 2. In addition, the current bearing of the boat body 2 is detected by the GNSS device 47 and the IMU 48. The current bearing may be detected by a plurality of GNSS devices, a magnetic bearing sensor, or an electronic compass.”
}
and wherein the measurement information generation circuitry is further configured to generate the measurement information using the result of the three-dimensional ranging and the attitude.
{Para [0064] “The environment map 62 is updated in real time due to the repeated detection of the position information by the positional sensor 45 and the repeated detection of the environment information by the sensing device 46.”
}
Regarding claim 10, Akuzawa in view of Hara teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 9. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the characteristic information on the object contains coordinates of a quay reference point.
{Para [0057] “The environment information indicates the shape of the shore arrival location and the positional relationship between the shore arrival location and the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or other boats surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or structures or obstructions surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information is indicated, for example, by coordinates of point groups indicating the position of an object detected by the sensing device 46. Alternatively, the environment information may be the shape and position of an object captured by image recognition.”
}
Regarding claim 11, Akuzawa in view of Hara teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 10. Akuzawa further teaches wherein the measurement sensor is further comprising a position measurement sensor configured to measure a position of the ship,
{Para [0054] “The positional sensor 45 detects the current position and the current bearing of the boat body 2 and outputs position information indicating the current position and the current bearing. The positional sensor 45 is, for example, an inertial navigation device and includes a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) device 47 and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 48. The GNSS device 47 detects the current position and the boat speed of the boat body 2. The IMU 48 detects the angular speed and the acceleration of the boat body 2. In addition, the current bearing of the boat body 2 is detected by the GNSS device 47 and the IMU 48. The current bearing may be detected by a plurality of GNSS devices, a magnetic bearing sensor, or an electronic compass.”
}
and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to update the quay reference point using the attitude and the position of the ship, and the quay line.
{ Para [0064] “The environment map 62 is updated in real time due to the repeated detection of the position information by the positional sensor 45 and the repeated detection of the environment information by the sensing device 46.”
Para [0065] “As illustrated in FIG. 10, the controller 41 determines a position along the object recognized as the shore arrival location, as a possible shore arrival space SP1. For example, the controller 41 detects the disposition of the pier from the environment information and determines a predetermined range along the pier as the possible shore arrival space SP1.”
Where fig. 10 is an example of the environmental map.
}
Regarding claim 12, Akuzawa in view of Hara teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 1. Akuzawa further teaches further comprising: a provisional initial information specifier including a camera configured to capture an image of an area including the quay,
{para [0056-0057] “The sensing device 46 includes one type of sensor among a radar, a laser, a camera or an ultrasonic sensor, or includes a plurality of types of sensors. The sensing device 46 may include a plurality of radars, a plurality of lasers, a plurality of cameras, or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors. The radar includes a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, or another radar of a different wavelength. The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.
The environment information indicates the shape of the shore arrival location and the positional relationship between the shore arrival location and the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or other boats surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or structures or obstructions surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information is indicated, for example, by coordinates of point groups indicating the position of an object detected by the sensing device 46. Alternatively, the environment information may be the shape and position of an object captured by image recognition.”
}
an input panel configured to receive a user operation specifying
{para [0068] “In step S203, the controller 41 evaluates whether there is an input of the target position for the shore arrival. Here, the input of the target position on the environment map 62 is accepted by the input 44. The operator touches the possible shore arrival position on the environment map 62, such that the touched position is inputted as the target position. The input 44 outputs target position information which indicates the target position to the controller 41.”
}
provisional initial information setting circuitry configured to set the initial characteristic information on the object using the provisional initial information and the measurement information.
{ Para [0070] “In step S205, the controller 41 corrects the target position. The controller 41 corrects the target position based on the possible shore arrival space SP1. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 10, when an inputted target position IP1 is outside of the possible shore arrival space SP1, the controller 41 corrects a target position Tp so that the target position is within the possible shore arrival space SP1. When an inputted target position IP2 is inside the possible shore arrival space SP1, the controller 41 corrects the target position Tp so that the target position becomes the center position of the possible shore arrival space SP1.”
}
Regarding claim 13, it recites a method having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 14, it recites A non-transitory computer readable medium having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Additionally Akuzawa teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instruction that, when executed by processing circuitry, cause a computer system to perform a method comprising:
{Para [0038] “Next, the boat operating mechanism and the control system of the boat 1 will be explained. FIG. 4 is a schematic view illustrating the boat operating mechanism and the control system of the boat 1. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the boat 1 includes a controller 41. The controller 41 includes a computation device such as a CPU and a storage device such as a RAM or a ROM, and is configured or programmed so as to control the boat 1.”
}
Claim(s) 2-4 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akuzawa et al. (US 20190308713 A1, hereinafter known as Akuzawa) in view of Hara et al. (US 20220001970 A1, hereinafter known as Hara) and Lambert et al. (US 20200309529 A1, hereinafter known as Lambert).
Regarding Claim 2, Akuzawa in view of Hara teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 1
Akuzawa in view of Hara does not teach, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured: to calculate a difference between the initial characteristic information or the characteristic information before updating and each of a plurality of measurement information; to set a weighting coefficient to each of the plurality of measurement information using the difference; and to calculate updated characteristic information using the weighting coefficient and the plurality of measurement information.
However, Lambert et al. teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured: to calculate a difference between the initial characteristic information or the characteristic information before updating and each of a plurality of measurement information; to set a weighting coefficient to each of the plurality of measurement information using the difference; and to calculate updated characteristic information using the weighting coefficient and the plurality of measurement information.
{Para [0028] “In some embodiments in which lidars are used as exteroceptive sensors, the image matching may use an iterative closest point (ICP) algorithm. An ICP algorithm may seek to minimize the difference between two point clouds (e.g., acquired by lidars). One point cloud, referred to as the reference or target, may be fixed, while the other point cloud, referred to as the source, is transformed to best match the reference. The algorithm iteratively revises the transformation needed to minimize an error metric. The transformation may include a combination of translation and rotation. The error metric may be a distance from the source point cloud to the reference point cloud, such as the sum of squared differences between coordinates of the matched pairs. A final optimal transformation may be used to estimate the incremental relative motion of the exteroceptive sensors 140 (thus the incremental relative motion of the dynamic platform to which the exteroceptive sensor is attached). In some other embodiments, other correlation methods, such as optical flow, may be used to estimate the incremental relative motions cross the series of images.”
Para [0040] “the sensor fusion engine 120 may use the inputs from the INS 110 and the SLAM unit 130 to produce estimates of current positions and estimates of current orientations that tend to be more accurate than those based solely on the INS 110. In some embodiments, the sensor fusion engine may work in a two-step process. In a prediction step, the sensor fusion engine 120 may produce estimates of current positions and estimates of current orientations, along with their uncertainties. Once the outcome of the next measurements (e.g., the inputs from the INS 110 and the SLAM unit 130) are observed, the estimates may be updated using a weighted average of the measurements. The weighting in the average may be based on the errors associated with measurements. For example, more weights may be given to measurements with higher certainly (i.e., less errors). The sensor fusion engine 120 may also estimate errors of the estimates of current positions and errors of the estimates of current orientations. The sensor fusion engine 120 may further estimate sensor errors, such as the errors of linear accelerations and errors of the angular velocities measured by the three-axis accelerometer 112 and the three-axis gyroscope 114, respectively, as well as errors of the GNSS data and/or errors of the wheel odometer data.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akuzawa in view of Hara to incorporate the teachings of Lambert to weigh measurements based on the difference with a reference because it allows for measurements with high error to be weighted less which would improve accuracy. (Para [0040] “the sensor fusion engine 120 may use the inputs from the INS 110 and the SLAM unit 130 to produce estimates of current positions and estimates of current orientations that tend to be more accurate than those based solely on the INS 110. In some embodiments, the sensor fusion engine may work in a two-step process. In a prediction step, the sensor fusion engine 120 may produce estimates of current positions and estimates of current orientations, along with their uncertainties. Once the outcome of the next measurements (e.g., the inputs from the INS 110 and the SLAM unit 130) are observed, the estimates may be updated using a weighted average of the measurements. The weighting in the average may be based on the errors associated with measurements. For example, more weights may be given to measurements with higher certainly (i.e., less errors).”)
Regarding Claim 3, Akuzawa in view of Hara and Lambert teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 2.
Lambert further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to set, as the weighting coefficient, a first weighting coefficient set to a distance between the object and the ship, and a second weighting coefficient set to a direction of the object on the basis of the ship, and to calculate the updated characteristic information using the first weighting coefficient and the second weighting coefficient.
{Para [0040] “the sensor fusion engine 120 may use the inputs from the INS 110 and the SLAM unit 130 to produce estimates of current positions and estimates of current orientations that tend to be more accurate than those based solely on the INS 110. In some embodiments, the sensor fusion engine may work in a two-step process. In a prediction step, the sensor fusion engine 120 may produce estimates of current positions and estimates of current orientations, along with their uncertainties. Once the outcome of the next measurements (e.g., the inputs from the INS 110 and the SLAM unit 130) are observed, the estimates may be updated using a weighted average of the measurements. The weighting in the average may be based on the errors associated with measurements. For example, more weights may be given to measurements with higher certainly (i.e., less errors). The sensor fusion engine 120 may also estimate errors of the estimates of current positions and errors of the estimates of current orientations.”
Were both position and orientation have error calculated separately and the measurements position and orientation measurements are weighted. Thus it is implied that the position average would be weighted based on position error (a first coefficient) and the orientation average would be weighted based on orientation error (a second coefficient)
Akuzawa already teaches that the position is a distance between the object and the ship and the orientation is a direction between the ship and the object in para [0063] and para [0080]
}
Regarding Claim 4, Akuzawa in view of Hara and Lambert teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 2.
Akuzawa further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate the updated characteristic information using the characteristic information before updating and the calculated characteristic information.
{Para [0063-0064] “The shapes of the shore arrival location, the obstructions, and the surrounding structures recognized by the controller 41 are displayed on the environment map 62. While not illustrated in FIG. 9, other boats recognized by the controller 41 are also displayed on the environment map 62. The controller 41 displays the current position and the current bearing of the boat body 2 obtained from the position information on the environment map 62 with an icon 71 of the boat body 2.
The environment map 62 is updated in real time due to the repeated detection of the position information by the positional sensor 45 and the repeated detection of the environment information by the sensing device 46. The plurality of operating keys include a scale changing key 63. By operating the scale changing key 63, the displayed scale of the environment map 62 is enlarged or reduced.”
Where a map is being updated based on the environmental information which includes the measurement information.
In order to update the map, objects are being recognized fig. 5 and para [0061] “In step S104, the controller 41 or the FPGA 49 recognizes a shore arrival location, another boat, an obstruction, or a surrounding structure based on the environment information. The shore arrival location is, for example, a pier. The controller 41 or the FPGA 49 recognizes another boat or an obstruction based on the shape of the object detected by the sensing device 46. For example, the controller 41 or the FPGA 49 recognizes the shore arrival location and the surrounding structure based on the height and length of the object detected by the sensing device 46.”
In order to recognize an object some initial/prior data on the object must be used.
}
Regarding Claim 15, Akuzawa in view of Hara and Lambert teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 3.
Akuzawa further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate the updated characteristic information using the characteristic information before updating and the calculated characteristic information.
{Para [0063-0064] “The shapes of the shore arrival location, the obstructions, and the surrounding structures recognized by the controller 41 are displayed on the environment map 62. While not illustrated in FIG. 9, other boats recognized by the controller 41 are also displayed on the environment map 62. The controller 41 displays the current position and the current bearing of the boat body 2 obtained from the position information on the environment map 62 with an icon 71 of the boat body 2.
The environment map 62 is updated in real time due to the repeated detection of the position information by the positional sensor 45 and the repeated detection of the environment information by the sensing device 46. The plurality of operating keys include a scale changing key 63. By operating the scale changing key 63, the displayed scale of the environment map 62 is enlarged or reduced.”
Where a map is being updated based on the environmental information which includes the measurement information.
In order to update the map, objects are being recognized fig. 5 and para [0061] “In step S104, the controller 41 or the FPGA 49 recognizes a shore arrival location, another boat, an obstruction, or a surrounding structure based on the environment information. The shore arrival location is, for example, a pier. The controller 41 or the FPGA 49 recognizes another boat or an obstruction based on the shape of the object detected by the sensing device 46. For example, the controller 41 or the FPGA 49 recognizes the shore arrival location and the surrounding structure based on the height and length of the object detected by the sensing device 46.”
In order to recognize an object some initial/prior data on the object must be used.
}
Regarding Claim 16, Akuzawa in view of Hara and Lambert teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 2.
Akuzawa further teaches wherein the measurement sensor is further comprising: a rangefinder configured to perform three-dimensional ranging of the area including the object; and measurement information generation circuitry configured to generate the measurement information using a result of the three-dimensional ranging.
{Para [0055-0057] “The sensing device 46 detects the shapes of objects surrounding the boat body 2 and the positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2. The positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2 includes the distance between the objects and the boat body 2 and the direction in which the object is positioned with respect to the boat body 2. Objects surrounding the boat body 2 include, for example, piers, wharves, other boats, obstructions, or the like.
The sensing device 46 includes one type of sensor among a radar, a laser, a camera or an ultrasonic sensor, or includes a plurality of types of sensors. The sensing device 46 may include a plurality of radars, a plurality of lasers, a plurality of cameras, or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors. The radar includes a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, or another radar of a different wavelength. The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.
The environment information indicates the shape of the shore arrival location and the positional relationship between the shore arrival location and the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or other boats surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or structures or obstructions surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information is indicated, for example, by coordinates of point groups indicating the position of an object detected by the sensing device 46. Alternatively, the environment information may be the shape and position of an object captured by image recognition.”
}
Regarding Claim 17, Akuzawa in view of Hara and Lambert teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 3.
Akuzawa further teaches wherein the measurement sensor is further comprising: a rangefinder configured to perform three-dimensional ranging of the area including the object; and measurement information generation circuitry configured to generate the measurement information using a result of the three-dimensional ranging.
{Para [0055-0057] “The sensing device 46 detects the shapes of objects surrounding the boat body 2 and the positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2. The positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2 includes the distance between the objects and the boat body 2 and the direction in which the object is positioned with respect to the boat body 2. Objects surrounding the boat body 2 include, for example, piers, wharves, other boats, obstructions, or the like.
The sensing device 46 includes one type of sensor among a radar, a laser, a camera or an ultrasonic sensor, or includes a plurality of types of sensors. The sensing device 46 may include a plurality of radars, a plurality of lasers, a plurality of cameras, or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors. The radar includes a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, or another radar of a different wavelength. The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.
The environment information indicates the shape of the shore arrival location and the positional relationship between the shore arrival location and the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or other boats surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or structures or obstructions surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information is indicated, for example, by coordinates of point groups indicating the position of an object detected by the sensing device 46. Alternatively, the environment information may be the shape and position of an object captured by image recognition.”
}
Regarding Claim 18, Akuzawa in view of Hara and Lambert teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 4.
Akuzawa further teaches wherein the measurement sensor is further comprising: a rangefinder configured to perform three-dimensional ranging of the area including the object; and measurement information generation circuitry configured to generate the measurement information using a result of the three-dimensional ranging.
{Para [0055-0057] “The sensing device 46 detects the shapes of objects surrounding the boat body 2 and the positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2. The positional relationship between the objects and the boat body 2 includes the distance between the objects and the boat body 2 and the direction in which the object is positioned with respect to the boat body 2. Objects surrounding the boat body 2 include, for example, piers, wharves, other boats, obstructions, or the like.
The sensing device 46 includes one type of sensor among a radar, a laser, a camera or an ultrasonic sensor, or includes a plurality of types of sensors. The sensing device 46 may include a plurality of radars, a plurality of lasers, a plurality of cameras, or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors. The radar includes a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, or another radar of a different wavelength. The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.
The environment information indicates the shape of the shore arrival location and the positional relationship between the shore arrival location and the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or other boats surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information may indicate the shore arrival location or structures or obstructions surrounding the boat body 2. The environment information is indicated, for example, by coordinates of point groups indicating the position of an object detected by the sensing device 46. Alternatively, the environment information may be the shape and position of an object captured by image recognition.”
}
Regarding Claim 19, Akuzawa in view of Hara and Lambert teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 16.
Akuzawa further teaches herein the rangefinder is further comprising an optical rangefinder.
{Para [0056] “The sensing device 46 includes one type of sensor among a radar, a laser, a camera or an ultrasonic sensor, or includes a plurality of types of sensors. The sensing device 46 may include a plurality of radars, a plurality of lasers, a plurality of cameras, or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors. The radar includes a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, or another radar of a different wavelength. The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.”
}
Regarding Claim 20, Akuzawa in view of Hara and Lambert teaches The ship navigation assistance system of claim 17.
Akuzawa further teaches herein the rangefinder is further comprising an optical rangefinder.
{Para [0056] “The sensing device 46 includes one type of sensor among a radar, a laser, a camera or an ultrasonic sensor, or includes a plurality of types of sensors. The sensing device 46 may include a plurality of radars, a plurality of lasers, a plurality of cameras, or a plurality of ultrasonic sensors. The radar includes a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, or another radar of a different wavelength. The sensing device 46 detects and outputs environment information during a below-described automatic shore arrival control.”
}
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: KORJUS et al. (US 20210209367 A1) teaches in para [0020] “In some embodiments, stored map data can further comprise infinity points. Infinity points can correspond to vanishing points of an image of a road. Such points can refer to the intersection of lines corresponding to road edges in the distance. Including the infinity points as part of stored map data can advantageously allow for easier matching between stored map data and sensor data taken by the mobile robot. In other words, matching the infinity points of the roads between stored map data and preprocessed data can allow for accurate and quick identification of the roads that the robot is approaching and that may be partially occluded.”
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/ABDHESH K JHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668