Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, 33, and 75 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, 12, 26, 33-34, 44, and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. US 20230098848 A1 (Domestic Priority February 12, 2020) in view of Teyeb et al. US 20230269644 A1 (Domestic Priority July 17, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Ischii discloses a method comprising: sending, by a source donor central unit (CU) to a target donor CU (see, transferring UE context from a source donor node via a parent IAB node to a target donor node, section 0282), an XnAP mobility related request message requesting migration of a wireless node from the source donor CU to the target donor CU (see, two donor nodes (CUs) are inter-connected by inter-node protocols such as Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) to select a cell and move it to its suitable location, section 0269, 0284-handover request message); and receiving, by the source donor CU from the target donor CU, an XnAP mobility related response message in response to sending the XnAP mobility related request message (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271), wherein the XnAP mobility related response message comprises at least one of the following: an IP address allocated by the target donor CU or a target donor Distributed Unit (DU);traffic mapping information including at least one of a Prior-Hop BAP Address, an Ingress BH RLC Channel ID, a Next-Hop BAP Address, or an Egress BH RLC Channel ID: a gNB DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the target donor CU; or Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the target donor CU.
Ischii discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the XnAP mobility related response message comprises at least one of the following: an IP address allocated by the target donor CU or a target donor Distributed Unit (DU);traffic mapping information including at least one of a Prior-Hop BAP Address, an Ingress BH RLC Channel ID, a Next-Hop BAP Address, or an Egress BH RLC Channel ID: a gNB DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the target donor CU; or Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the target donor CU.
However Teyeb from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the XnAP mobility related response message (see, XnAP message, may include: the BAP address of the migrating IAB node, the BAP addresses of the children nodes (directly and indirectly served) by the migrating IAB node, and/or an indication that this is a proxy HO, section 0134 Teyeb) comprises at least one of the following: an IP address allocated by the target donor CU or a target donor Distributed Unit (DU) (see, ip address associated with target donor DU, section 0142 Teyeb); traffic mapping information including at least one of a Prior-Hop BAP Address, an Ingress BH RLC Channel ID (see, protocol layer called Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) has been introduced in the IAB nodes and the IAB donor, which is used for routing of packets to the appropriate downstream/upstream node and also mapping the User Equipment (UE) bearer data to the proper backhaul Radio Link Control (RLC) channel (and also between ingress and egress backhaul RLC channels in intermediate IAB nodes) to satisfy the end to end Quality of Service (QoS) requirements of bearers, section 0010 Teyeb), a Next-Hop BAP Address (see, mapped BH RLC channel indicated, set up a dedicated BH RLC channel on each BH link/hop until the migrated IAB node, section 0138 Teyeb), or an Egress BH RLC Channel ID (see, BAP sublayer supports the following functions: Data transfer; Determination of BAP destination and path for packets from upper layers; Determination of egress BH RLC channels for packets routed to the next hop; Routing of packets to the next hop; Differentiating traffic to be delivered to upper layers from traffic to be delivered to egress link; Flow control feedback and polling signaling, section 0015 Teyeb): a gNB DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the target donor CU (see, IAB-donor-CU sends a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the source parent node gNB-DU, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message, section 0028 Teyeb; noted, IAB-donor-CU configures BH RLC channels and BAP-layer route entries on the target path between migrating IAB-node and target IAB-donor-DU, section 0034 Teyeb; noted, target donor-CU will configure the target donor DU with the mapping of Differentiated Services Code Point (DSCP) and/or IP flow label and/or IP address to the BAP routing ID and the next-hop BH RLC channel mapping that was received in the HO request, section 0143 Teyeb); or Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the target donor CU (see, target Donor-CU will provide either a subset (or full set) of the configuration information elements described above under the “Actions at the migrating IAB-node DU” to the IAB-MT-3 and IAB-DU, section 0156 Teyeb).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the network of Ischii with the XnAP message as taught by Teyeb. The motivation would have been to improve inter-Centralized Unit (CU) migration in an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) network.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Ischii discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the XnAP mobility related request message (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271) comprises at least one of the following: at least one identity of one or more wireless nodes or user equipment (UE) that are to migrate from the source donor CU to the target donor CU (see, identity of the child node may comprise the Physical Cell ID (PCI) of the old serving cell, e.g., the cell served by IAB-node, section 0285; noted, the message flow from source donor node to target donor node, section 0282); gNB-DU System Information (see, cell may broadcast a node identification such as gNB-DU ID, section 0249); gNB-DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the source donor CU (see, protocol stack configuration for the plane between an IAB-node directly connected to the IAB-donor where CU component is part of the IAB-donor and CU/IAB-donor to control the DU component resident in the IAB-node, sections 0112-0119; noted, cell may broadcast a node identification such as gNB-DU ID, section 0249); Integrated access and backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the source donor CU (IAB-nodes may need to periodically perform inter-IAB-node discovery to detect new IAB-nodes in their vicinity based on cell-specific reference signals, e.g., Synchronization Signal and PBCH block SSB) where packets may be carried or broadcasted on the Master Information Block (MIB) section, section 0007; noted, child node may store the identification of the cell that transmits the Backhaul RLF Indication where the child node uses Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and Master Information Block (MIB), section 0233); Multiplexing Information of wireless node (see, the system of relay nodes may utilize the same 5G radio access technologies and connections to the core network (backhaul link) simultaneously. These radio links may be multiplexed in time, frequency, and/or space. This system may be referred to as Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB), section 0006); or indication information that indicates migration of the wireless node from the source donor CU to the target donor CU is complete (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, two donor nodes (CUs) are inter-connected by inter-node protocols such as Xn Application Protocol (XnAP), section 0269, see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271; noted, IAB-node may send a RRCSetupRequest, followed by reception of an RRCSetup and transmission of RRCSetupComplete, 0121).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Ischii discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the XnAP mobility related request message (see, two donor nodes (CUs) are inter-connected by inter-node protocols such as Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) to select a cell and move it to its suitable location, section 0269, 0284-handover request message) comprises at least one identity of one or more mobile terminal (MT) parts or distributed unit (DU) parts of one or more wireless nodes (see, a Mobile Termination (MT) functionality-typically provided by the User Equipment (UE) terminals-that may be implemented by Base Transceiver Stations (BTSs or BSs) nodes such as IAB nodes, section 0105) that are to migrate from the source donor CU to the target donor CU (see, identity of the child node may comprise the Physical Cell ID (PCI) of the old serving cell, e.g., the cell served by IAB-node, section 0285; noted, the message flow from source donor node to target donor node, section 0282), and wherein the at least one identity further comprises at least one of a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) address of the one or more wireless nodes allocated by the source donor CU (see, CU part of the donor node manages routings and topologies of the relay network belonging to the donor node, the source donor node, e.g., donor IAB node, section 282; noted, physical layer signaling includes BAP layer signaling, section 0287), or an XnAP ID allocated by the source donor CU (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages that may be used to transfer each child/grandchild's context, 0284).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Ischii discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the source donor CU to the target donor CU, a mobility related message indicating that migration of the wireless node from the source donor CU to the target donor CU is complete (see, a child node sending back an acknowledgement message showing successful transmission, sections 0156, 0177; noted, child node sending a message to the donor of the target cell, section 0156; noted, donor node comprises central unit, section 0241).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Ischii discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the source donor CU from the target donor CU (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0284; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271), a mobility related message including at least one of the following: an indication information indicating the migration of a mobile terminal (MT) part or a distributed unit (DU) part of the wireless node is complete (see, DU part of IAB-node may initiate an Fl Setup procedure by sending a F1 SETUP REQUEST to donor IAB node and receiving a F1 SETUP RESPONSE that is part of the re-establishment procedure that sends back an indication of changes, sections 0271-278); an indication information indicating the wireless node has established an F1 connection with the target donor CU (see, DU part of IAB-node may initiate an Fl Setup procedure by sending a F1 SETUP REQUEST to donor IAB node, section 0271); an indication information indicating F1-C between the wireless node and the target donor CU has migrated successfully (see, a second wireless access node may use F1-AP* to update the routing configurations at the Node B for the Child Node 1 and may interact with the first wireless access node to report the completion of the conditional handover, section 0156); one or more new radio (NR) Cell Global Identifier (CGI) configured by the target donor CU; or one or more old NR CGI (see, IAB-donor wireless access node can include cell/node identities that can include NR Cell Global Identifiers (NCGIs), section 0202; noted, target cell can be a cell served by wireless access node, section 0144).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Ischii discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the XnAP mobility related response message further comprises at least one child distributed unit (DU) cell configuration, comprising at least one of: an gNB-CU UE F1AP ID (see, IAB-donor may comprise at least one Central Unit (CU) that may also be an interface to the core network behaving as a RAN base station (e.g., eNB or gNB), section 0112); a gNB-DU UE F1AP ID (see, IAB-donor may comprise at least one Central Unit (CU) that is a logical entity managing the DU collocated in the IAB-donor as well as the remote DUs resident in the IAB-nodes, section 0112; noted, cell may broadcast a node identification, such as gNB-DU ID per 3GPP, section 01249); an old Cell Global Identifier (CGI) (see, IAB-donor wireless access node can include cell/node identities that can include NR Cell Global Identifiers (NCGIs), section 0202; noted, target cell can be a cell served by wireless access node, section 0144); a gNB-DU Cell Resource Configuration (see, cell may broadcast a node identification, such as gNB-DU ID, 0249); IAB STC Information; a Random Access Channel (RACH) configuration (see, IAB-node, e.g., child IAB-node, may follow the same initial access procedure as a UE, including cell search, system information acquisition, and random access; noted, the system provide for capabilities needed to use the broadcast channel for carrying information bit(s) (on the physical channels) and provide access to the core network, section 0110); a Channel State Information Reference Signal/Scheduling Request (CSI-RS/SR) Configuration; a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) Configuration System Information Block 1 (SIB1) (see, indication transmitted from IAB-node may be carried by physical layer signaling, e.g., such as PDCCH, section 0287); Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) Common (see, the spacing of subcarriers of symbols, section 0103); or Multiplexing Information (see, IAB may be multiplexed in time, frequency, and/or space, section 0006).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Ischii discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the source donor CU to the wireless node, trigger information to trigger the wireless node to migrate to the target donor CU (see, identity of the child node may comprise the Physical Cell ID (PCI) of the old serving cell, e.g., the cell served by IAB-node, section 0285; noted, the message flow from source donor node to target donor node, section 0282).
Regarding claim 26 (Original), Ischii discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the source donor CU to the target donor CU (see, two donor nodes (CUs) are inter-connected by inter-node protocols such as Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) to select a cell and move it to its suitable location, section 0269), a communication setup request message (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271); and receiving, by the source donor CU from the target donor CU, a communication setup response message (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271; noted, IAB-node may send a RRCSetupRequest, followed by reception of an RRCSetup and transmission of RRCSetupComplete, 0121).
Regarding claim 33 (Currently Amended), Ischii discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a target donor central unit (CU) from a source donor CU (see, the source or source donor node may transfer its contexts to the target or target donor node upon the parent IAB-node's inter-CU re-establishment, section 0282), an XnAP mobility related request message (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271) requesting migration of a wireless node (section 0284-XnAP handover request messages, section 0284) from the source donor CU to the target donor CU (see, two donor nodes (CUs) are inter-connected by inter-node protocols such as Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) to select a cell and move it to its suitable location, section 0269); and sending, by the target donor CU to the source donor CU, an XnAP mobility related response message in response to receiving the XnAP mobility related request message (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271), wherein the XnAP mobility related response message comprises at least one of the following: an IP address allocated by the target donor CU or a target donor DU; traffic mapping information including at least one of a Prior-Hop BAP Address, an Ingress BH RLC Channel ID, a Next-Hop BAP Address, or an Egress BH RLC Channel ID: a gNB DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the target donor CU; or Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the target donor CU.
Ischii discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the XnAP mobility related response message comprises at least one of the following: an IP address allocated by the target donor CU or a target donor DU; traffic mapping information including at least one of a Prior-Hop BAP Address, an Ingress BH RLC Channel ID, a Next-Hop BAP Address, or an Egress BH RLC Channel ID: a gNB DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the target donor CU; or Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the target donor CU.
However Teyeb from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the XnAP mobility related response message (see, XnAP message, may include: the BAP address of the migrating IAB node, the BAP addresses of the children nodes (directly and indirectly served) by the migrating IAB node, and/or an indication that this is a proxy HO, section 0134 Teyeb) comprises at least one of the following: an IP address allocated by the target donor CU or a target donor DU (see, ip address associated with target donor DU, section 0142 Teyeb); traffic mapping information including at least one of a Prior-Hop BAP Address, an Ingress BH RLC Channel ID (see, protocol layer called Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) has been introduced in the IAB nodes and the IAB donor, which is used for routing of packets to the appropriate downstream/upstream node and also mapping the User Equipment (UE) bearer data to the proper backhaul Radio Link Control (RLC) channel (and also between ingress and egress backhaul RLC channels in intermediate IAB nodes) to satisfy the end to end Quality of Service (QoS) requirements of bearers, section 0010 Teyeb), a Next-Hop BAP Address (see, mapped BH RLC channel indicated, set up a dedicated BH RLC channel on each BH link/hop until the migrated IAB node, section 0138 Teyeb), or an Egress BH RLC Channel ID (see, BAP sublayer supports the following functions: Data transfer; Determination of BAP destination and path for packets from upper layers; Determination of egress BH RLC channels for packets routed to the next hop; Routing of packets to the next hop; Differentiating traffic to be delivered to upper layers from traffic to be delivered to egress link; Flow control feedback and polling signaling, section 0015 Teyeb): a gNB DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the target donor CU (see, IAB-donor-CU sends a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the source parent node gNB-DU, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message, section 0028 Teyeb; noted, IAB-donor-CU configures BH RLC channels and BAP-layer route entries on the target path between migrating IAB-node and target IAB-donor-DU, section 0034 Teyeb; noted, target donor-CU will configure the target donor DU with the mapping of Differentiated Services Code Point (DSCP) and/or IP flow label and/or IP address to the BAP routing ID and the next-hop BH RLC channel mapping that was received in the HO request, section 0143 Teyeb); or Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the target donor CU (see, target Donor-CU will provide either a subset (or full set) of the configuration information elements described above under the “Actions at the migrating IAB-node DU” to the IAB-MT-3 and IAB-DU, section 0156 Teyeb).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the network of Ischii with the XnAP message as taught by Teyeb. The motivation would have been to improve inter-Centralized Unit (CU) migration in an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) network.
Regarding claim 34 (Original), Ischii discloses the method according to claim 33, wherein the XnAP mobility related request message (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271) comprises at least one of the following: at least one identity of one or more wireless nodes or user equipment (UE) that are to migrate from the source donor CU to the target donor CU (see, identity of the child node may comprise the Physical Cell ID (PCI) of the old serving cell, e.g., the cell served by IAB-node, section 0285; noted, the message flow from source donor node to target donor node, section 0282); gNB-DU System Information (see, cell may broadcast a node identification such as gNB-DU ID, section 0249); gNB-DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the source donor CU (see, protocol stack configuration for the plane between an IAB-node directly connected to the IAB-donor where CU component is part of the IAB-donor and CU/IAB-donor to control the DU component resident in the IAB-node, sections 0112-0119; noted, cell may broadcast a node identification such as gNB-DU ID, section 0249); Integrated access and backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the source donor CU (IAB-nodes may need to periodically perform inter-IAB-node discovery to detect new IAB-nodes in their vicinity based on cell-specific reference signals, e.g., Synchronization Signal and PBCH block SSB) where packets may be carried or broadcasted on the Master Information Block (MIB) section, section 0007; noted, child node may store the identification of the cell that transmits the Backhaul RLF Indication where the child node uses Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and Master Information Block (MIB), section 0233); Multiplexing Information of wireless node (see, the system of relay nodes may utilize the same 5G radio access technologies and connections to the core network (backhaul link) simultaneously. These radio links may be multiplexed in time, frequency, and/or space. This system may be referred to as Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB), section 0006); or indication information that indicates migration of the wireless node from the source donor CU to the target donor CU is complete (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, two donor nodes (CUs) are inter-connected by inter-node protocols such as Xn Application Protocol (XnAP), section 0269).
Regarding claim 44 (Original), Ischii discloses the method according to claim 33, further comprising: receiving, by the target donor CU from the source donor CU, a communication setup request message (see, two donor nodes (CUs) are inter-connected by inter-node protocols such as Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) to select a cell and move it to its suitable location, section 0269); and sending, by the target donor CU to the source donor CU, a communication setup response message (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271; noted, IAB-node may send a RRCSetupRequest, followed by reception of an RRCSetup and transmission of RRCSetupComplete, 0121).
Regarding claim 75 (Currently Amended), Ischii discloses a source donor central unit comprising: a processor; and a non-transient memory in communication with the processor, the memory storing a plurality of instructions (see, donor IAB node may comprise context memory, which may store context information for the IAB-nodes and grand-children nodes, section 0282) that, when executed by the processor, configure the processor to: send to a target donor CU, an XnAP mobility related request message (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271) requesting migration (section 0284-XnAP handover request messages, section 0284) of a wireless node from the source donor CU to the target donor CU (see, two donor nodes (CUs) are inter-connected by inter-node protocols such as Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) to select a cell and move it to its suitable location, section 0269); and receive from the target donor CU, an XnAP mobility related response message in response to sending the XnAP mobility related request message (see, XnAP HANDOVER REQUEST messages being met with respective HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT messages, section 0264; noted, donor IAB nodes can receive a response after a request, sections 0268-0271), wherein the XnAP mobility related response message comprises at least one of the following: an IP address allocated by the target donor CU or a target donor Distributed Unit (DU); traffic mapping information including at least one of a Prior-Hop BAP Address, an Ingress BH RLC Channel ID, a Next-Hop BAP Address, or an Egress BH RLC Channel ID: a gNB DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the target donor CU; or Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the target donor CU.
Ischii discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the XnAP mobility related response message comprises at least one of the following: an IP address allocated by the target donor CU or a target donor Distributed Unit (DU); traffic mapping information including at least one of a Prior-Hop BAP Address, an Ingress BH RLC Channel ID, a Next-Hop BAP Address, or an Egress BH RLC Channel ID: a gNB DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the target donor CU; or Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the target donor CU.
However Teyeb from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the XnAP mobility related response message (see, XnAP message, may include: the BAP address of the migrating IAB node, the BAP addresses of the children nodes (directly and indirectly served) by the migrating IAB node, and/or an indication that this is a proxy HO, section 0134 Teyeb) comprises at least one of the following: an IP address allocated by the target donor CU or a target donor Distributed Unit (DU) (see, ip address associated with target donor DU, section 0142 Teyeb); traffic mapping information including at least one of a Prior-Hop BAP Address, an Ingress BH RLC Channel ID (see, protocol layer called Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) has been introduced in the IAB nodes and the IAB donor, which is used for routing of packets to the appropriate downstream/upstream node and also mapping the User Equipment (UE) bearer data to the proper backhaul Radio Link Control (RLC) channel (and also between ingress and egress backhaul RLC channels in intermediate IAB nodes) to satisfy the end to end Quality of Service (QoS) requirements of bearers, section 0010 Teyeb), a Next-Hop BAP Address (see, mapped BH RLC channel indicated, set up a dedicated BH RLC channel on each BH link/hop until the migrated IAB node, section 0138 Teyeb), or an Egress BH RLC Channel ID (see, BAP sublayer supports the following functions: Data transfer; Determination of BAP destination and path for packets from upper layers; Determination of egress BH RLC channels for packets routed to the next hop; Routing of packets to the next hop; Differentiating traffic to be delivered to upper layers from traffic to be delivered to egress link; Flow control feedback and polling signaling, section 0015 Teyeb): a gNB DU Cell Resource Configuration configured by the target donor CU (see, IAB-donor-CU sends a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message to the source parent node gNB-DU, which includes a generated RRCReconfiguration message, section 0028 Teyeb; noted, IAB-donor-CU configures BH RLC channels and BAP-layer route entries on the target path between migrating IAB-node and target IAB-donor-DU, section 0034 Teyeb; noted, target donor-CU will configure the target donor DU with the mapping of Differentiated Services Code Point (DSCP) and/or IP flow label and/or IP address to the BAP routing ID and the next-hop BH RLC channel mapping that was received in the HO request, section 0143 Teyeb); or Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Transmission Configuration (STC) Information configured by the target donor CU (see, target Donor-CU will provide either a subset (or full set) of the configuration information elements described above under the “Actions at the migrating IAB-node DU” to the IAB-MT-3 and IAB-DU, section 0156 Teyeb).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the network of Ischii with the XnAP message as taught by Teyeb. The motivation would have been to improve inter-Centralized Unit (CU) migration in an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) network.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. US 20230098848 A1 (Domestic Priority February 12, 2020) in view of Teyeb et al. US 20230269644 A1 (Domestic Priority July 17, 2020), and in view of Malkamaki et al. US 20200015147 A1 (Domestic Priority July 18, 2019).
The combination of Ischii and Teyeb discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4 (Original), the method according to claim 1, wherein the XnAP mobility related request message comprises at least one of the following: at least one identity of one or more parent wireless nodes of the wireless node; at least one identity of one or more child wireless nodes or UE of the wireless node; at least one identity of one or more mobile terminal (MT) parts collocated with a distributed unit (DU) parts of the wireless node; or at least one identity of one or more serving wireless nodes.
However Malkamaki from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein the XnAP mobility related request message (see, the receiving of the UE/IAB node context modification request from a Donor gNB-CU for handover, section 0042 Malkamaki) comprises at least one of the following: at least one identity of one or more parent wireless nodes of the wireless node (see, the use of parent node of the source IAB node, section 0033 Malkamaki; noted, IAB nodes transferred data over wireless self-backhauling links, section 0005 Malkamaki); at least one identity of one or more child wireless nodes or UE of the wireless node (see, the use of child node of IAB node from where UL data was received, section 0033 Malkamaki; noted, IAB nodes transferred data over wireless self-backhauling links, section 0005 Malkamaki); at least one identity of one or more mobile terminal (MT) parts collocated with a distributed unit (DU) parts of the wireless node (see, UE-serving integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node may contain both DU part and MT parts, section 0048 Malkamaki); or at least one identity of one or more serving wireless nodes (see, the use of Donor gNB-DU (or Donor gNB) and UE serving IAB node as end points, section 0023 Malkamaki).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Ischii and Teyeb with the identity of nodes as taught by Malkamaki. The motivation would have been to improve current techniques for connecting autonomously to other network entities.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. US 20230098848 A1 (Domestic Priority February 12, 2020) in view of Teyeb et al. US 20230269644 A1 (Domestic Priority July 17, 2020), and in view of Barac et al. US 20230232285 A1 (Domestic Priority June 18, 2020).
The combination of Ischii and Teyeb discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 1, wherein the XnAP mobility related response message comprises at least one of the following: a BAP address allocated by the target donor CU; one or more old BAP address of a child IAB node; one or more old BAP address of a parent IAB node; one or more new BAP address of the child IAB node configured by the target donor CU; or one or more new BAP address of the parent IAB node configured by the target donor CU.
However Barac from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein the XnAP mobility related response message comprises at least one of the following: a BAP address allocated by the target donor CU (see, IAB nodes includes context such as BAP configuration such as BAP address, 0139 Barac; noted, the handover the IAB node to a target donor-CU based on the load conditions of the source donor-CU, section 0133 Barac); cone or more old BAP address of a parent IAB node (see, identity of the parent node the IAB node, i.e. the parent node's BAP address(es), section 0139 Barac); one or more new BAP address of the child IAB node configured by the target donor CU (see, handover an IAB node to a target cell that belongs to the target Donor-CU based on source donor, section 0133 Barac; noted, secondary node BAP address, sections 0213-0214 Barac); or one or more new BAP address of the parent IAB node configured by the target donor CU (see, identity of the parent node the IAB node, i.e. the parent node's BAP address(es), section 0139 Barac; noted, handover an IAB node to a target cell that belongs to the target Donor-CU based on source donor, section 0133 Barac).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Ischii and Teyeb with the use of BAP as taught by Barac. The motivation would have been to improve current techniques for handling communication in a wireless communications network.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. US 20230098848 A1 (Domestic Priority February 12, 2020) in view of Teyeb et al. US 20230269644 A1 (Domestic Priority July 17, 2020), and in view of Hsieh et al. US 20210227435 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2018).
The combination of Ischii and Teyeb discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the source donor CU to the wireless node, threshold information via a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, wherein the threshold information is determined by the source donor CU, wherein the threshold information is sent before the wireless node triggers the migration, and wherein the threshold information is for enabling the wireless node to autonomously determine when to trigger migration based on radio link quality measurements.
However Hsieh from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the source donor CU to the wireless node, threshold information via a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (see, The IAB-Node 830 transmits measurement result information to the Source CU 810 in a radio resource control (RRC) Measurement Report message to trigger the handover of the IAB-Node 830 and any User Equipment 110 connected with the IAB-Node 830, section 0122 Hsieh), wherein the threshold information is determined by the source donor CU (see, the Source CU 810 may utilize measurement result information within the Measurement Report message to determine whether to initiate handover of the IAB-Node 830 (e.g., IAB-Node 832) from the Source IAB-Donor 123 to another IAB-Donor (e.g., Target IAB-Donor 125), section 0114 Hsieh), wherein the threshold information is sent before the wireless node triggers the migration (see, Source CU 810 generates and sends a Handover Request message 904 to the Target CU 860 requesting preparation of resources for handover. In aspects, the Handover Request message 904 may carry current configuration information from the Source IAB-Donor 123. The configuration information in the Handover Request message 904 may include handover preparation information (e.g., in a HandoverPreparationInformation message), section 0115 Hsieh), and wherein the threshold information is for enabling the wireless node to autonomously determine when to trigger migration based on radio link quality measurements (see, Source CU 810 may utilize measurement result information within the Measurement Report message to determine whether to initiate handover of the IAB-Node 830 (e.g., IAB-Node 832) from the Source IAB-Donor 123 to another IAB-Donor (e.g., Target IAB-Donor 125), section 0114 Hsieh; noted, the measurement result information may include the measurement results of Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and/or the measurement results of Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of the serving cell and/or neighbor cell perceived by the IAB-Node when the event-based measurement is triggered such as that the neighbor cell signal becomes better or improves, section 0108 Hsieh).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Ischii and Teyeb with the RRC Measurement Report message as taught by Hsieh. The motivation would have been to improve communication and signaling interfaces during network role transitions, such as a secondary node change or a handover.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. US 20230098848 A1 (Domestic Priority February 12, 2020) in view of Teyeb et al. US 20230269644 A1 (Domestic Priority July 17, 2020), and in view of Hampel et al. US 20210321467 A1 (Domestic Priority April 8, 2020).
The combination of Ischii and Teyeb discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Original), the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the source donor CU from the wireless node, a request for an Internet Protocol (IP) address of at least one of the wireless node or the target donor CU; and sending, by the source donor CU to the wireless node, the IP address of the at least one of the wireless node or the target donor CU in response to receiving the request for the IP address.
However Hampel from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the source donor CU from the wireless node, a request for an Internet Protocol (IP) address of at least one of the wireless node or the target donor CU (see, request message for IP address information from RAN node, sections 0224-0227 Hampel); and sending, by the source donor CU to the wireless node, the IP address of the at least one of the wireless node or the target donor CU in response to receiving the request for the IP address (see, IAB donor CU sends an indication of its support of the LTE and X2 path in an X2AP message such as an acknowledgement message where this message may include IP address information, section 0118 Hampel).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Ischii and Teyeb with the use of IP addresses as taught by Hampel. The motivation would have been to improve current techniques for handling signaling connections in wireless communications.
Claims 20, 32, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. US 20230098848 A1 (Domestic Priority February 12, 2020) in view of Teyeb et al. US 20230269644 A1 (Domestic Priority July 17, 2020), and in view of Xu et al. US 20230284246 A1 (Domestic Priority August 5, 2020).
The combination of Ischii and Teyeb discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 20 (Original), the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the source donor CU from the wireless node, a communication setup request message; and sending, by the source donor CU to the wireless node, a communication setup response message.
However Xu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the source donor CU from the wireless node, a communication setup request message (see, IAB-donor-CU may migrate the F1-U tunnels it has with the IAB node from the first path to the second path via the UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message, section 0071 Xu); and sending, by the source donor CU to the wireless node, a communication setup response message (see, IAB node replies with a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION RESPONSE message to the IAB-donor-CU, section 0072 Xu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Ischii and Teyeb with the use of F1 application protocol as taught by Xu. The motivation would have been to improve current techniques for reducing topology redundancy.
The combination of Ischii and Teyeb discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 32 (Original), the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the source donor CU to the target donor CU, a second XnAP message comprising a first F1AP message encapsulated in the second XnAP message, wherein an RRCreconfiguration message is encapsulated in the first F1AP message.
However Xu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the source donor CU to the target donor CU, a second XnAP message comprising a first F1AP message encapsulated in the second XnAP message (see, first device may transmit to the second device an XnAP message that includes a request for setup of the context of the third device, section 0089 Xu; noted, first device transmits the context in a radio resource control (RRC) message or an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message to the third device, section 0093 Xu), wherein an RRCreconfiguration message is encapsulated in the first F1AP message (see, first device transmits the context in an RRC message (for example, an RRCReconfiguration message) or an F1AP message, section 0093 Xu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Ischii and Teyeb with the use of F1 application protocol as taught by Xu. The motivation would have been to improve current techniques for reducing topology redundancy.
The combination of Ischii and Teyeb discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 50 (Currently Amended), the method according to claim 33, further comprising: receiving, by the target donor CU from the source donor CU, a second XnAP message comprising a first F1AP message encapsulated in the second XnAP message, wherein an RRCreconfiguration message is encapsulated in the first FlAP message; encapsulating, by the target donor CU, the first F1AP message in a first message; and sending, by the target donor CU to the wireless node, the first message.
However Teyeb from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 33, further comprising: receiving, by the target donor CU from the source donor CU, a second XnAP message comprising a first F1AP message encapsulated in the second XnAP message (see, first device may transmit to the second device an XnAP message that includes a request for setup of the context of the third device, section 0089 Xu; noted, first device transmits the context in a radio resource control (RRC) message or an F1 application protocol (F1AP) message to the third device, section 0093 Xu), wherein an RRCreconfiguration message is encapsulated in the first F1AP message (see, first device transmits the context in an RRC message (for example, an RRCReconfiguration message) or an F1AP message, section 0093 Xu); encapsulating, by the target donor CU, the first FlAP message in a first message; and sending, by the target donor CU to the wireless node, the first message (see, IAB-donor-CU sends the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the second-path IAB-donor-DU to create the UE context for the IAB node, section 0062 Xu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Ischii and Teyeb with the use of F1 application protocol as taught by Xu. The motivation would have been to improve current techniques for reducing topology redundancy.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473