DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 30 September 2026. Claims 1 and 2 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer (U.S. No. 5,439,007).
Regarding claim 1, Fischer discloses a method of treating an ailment in a patient (Abstract), the method comprising: a. wearing a penile constriction device 12 to promote sexual intercourse, masturbation, or both; b. maintaining an erection; and c. engaging in sexual intercourse, masturbation, or both with the worn penile constriction device, wherein engaging in sexual intercourse, masturbation, or both with the worn penile constriction device results in ejaculation and/or orgasm that treats the ailment by releasing endorphins, oxytocin, serotonin, and dopamine, and reducing cortisol levels, (Figs. 3-6; col. 1, lines 50-52; col. 3, lines 30-54; col. 4, lines 39-56; col. 6, lines 14-18; col. 6, lines 45-54). While Fischer does not specifically teach releasing endorphins, oxytocin, serotonin, and dopamine, nor reducing cortisol levels, the present application teaches that orgasms release endorphins, oxytocin, serotonin, and dopamine, as well as reduce cortisol levels ([0357]-[0375]). Accordingly, as the method taught by Fischer results in ejaculation/orgasm, it also releases endorphins, oxytocin, serotonin, and dopamine, and reduces cortisol levels.
Regarding claim 2, Fischer discloses that the ailment comprises anxiety, depression, post-traumatic stress disorder, low self-esteem, seasonal affective disorder (SAD), low testosterone, stress, ED, prostate cancer, hypertension, coronary artery disease, diabetes, heart disease, high blood pressure, low blood pressure, coronary artery disease (CAD), COPD, hypertension, headache, migraines, obesity, or any combination thereof (col. 1, lines 6-41).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Fischer does not use any of the terms “endorphins,” “oxytocin,” “serotonin,” “dopamine,” or “cortisol,” and therefore fails to teach the recited method. However, as detailed supra, the examiner disagrees. Again, the present application teaches that the act of having an orgasm results in the release of endorphins, oxytocin, serotonin, and dopamine, along with the reduction of cortisol. Thus, as Fischer’s method results in ejaculation/orgasm, it necessarily releases endorphins, oxytocin, serotonin, and dopamine, while reducing cortisol levels. In other words, Fischer’s method would achieve the intended result that is recited by the claims.
The present application does not teach or recite anything additional, beyond having an orgasm, that releases such hormones/chemicals/endorphins. There is no step in the present application that achieves these results that is not taught by Fischer. This is also not something that was discovered in the present application, as it is known that having orgasms releases endorphins, oxytocin, serotonin, and dopamine, while reducing cortisol levels (see, e.g., https://www.essence.com/lifestyle/orgasms-for-better-looking-skin/ and https://nypost.com/2017/12/12/my-doctor-prescribed-me-orgasms-to-treat-my-depression/).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791