DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The following is a Non-Final office action in response to the communication received 9/2/2026. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, 14-16 and 19-22 are pending. Claims 1, 10, 19, and 21-22 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 08/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC § 103 and newly added claims 20-21 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to all of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim 1 limitation “byinputting” should likely read “by inputting.”
The claim 1 nesting structure should be updated to reflect the relationship of the inputting functions to the estimate function, and the relationship between each of the filter options relative to each input. See example below.
processing circuitry configured to:
receive a direction signal indicating a direction of a ship;
estimate at least an estimated rudder angle of the ship as a state variable representing a current direction of the rudder of the ship by:
inputting the direction signal into one of:
a Kalman filter which is a linear stochastic system;
an extended Kalman filter which is a nonlinear stochastic system;
an Unscented Kalman filter; or
a particle filter, and
inputting a turning signal for the ship into one of:
the Kalman filter which is a linear stochastic system;
the extended Kalman filter which is a nonlinear stochastic system;
the Unscented Kalman filter; or
the particle filter…
A similar nesting structure should be applied to analogous claim 19.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, 14-16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As currently recited in claim 1, it is unclear whether the direction signal and the turning signal are (i) input into the same filter, or (ii) into the same or different filters. The specification appears to provide support for both signals being input into the same filter (e.g., both into the particle filter, both into the Unscented Kalman filter, etc.), which suggests that the second inputting function should read “inputting a turning signal for the ship into the same one of..” or some other amendments that establishes both signals are applied to the same filter.
As currently recited in claim 1, the limitation “estimate at least an estimated rudder angle of the ship as a state variable representing a current direction of the rudder of the ship” is grammatically unclear. Subsequently, it is unclear what is intended by “state variable” as it relates to “the estimate” of the “estimated rudder angle” and the “current direction of the rudder of the ship.” Examiner is interpreting this limitation to read that the current state of the rudder is represented by an estimate of a current direction of the rudder. Examiner additionally notes that, typically, “values” (i.e. rudder angle) are “estimated”. Stated in a different way, to estimate an estimated variable is unclear due to the suggestion of two estimation steps. Note that under broadest reasonable interpretation, a current direction need not be an absolute value.
Analogous claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Dependent claims 3-8, 10-11, 14-16 and 20-22 are rejected for at least the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-11, 14-16 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto et al. (20160229511 A1) in view of Marano et al. (US 20210293973).
Regarding Claim 1, Kishimoto discloses:
1. (Currently Amended) A ship state estimation device, comprising:
processing circuitry (Kishimoto, [0154]-[0156]) configured to:
receive a direction signal indicating a direction of a ship;
Kishimoto [0035] As illustrated in FIG. 1A, the boat control device 10 includes a rudder controller 20 and a bearing sensor 30. Disturbance parameters, and a boat heading detected by the bearing sensor 30 are inputted into the rudder controller 20. ; Kishimoto [0043]-[0045] disclosing the stern bearing and the target bearing
estimate at least an estimated rudder angle of the ship as a state variable representing a current direction of the rudder of the ship by
inputting the direction signal (stern and target bearings) [into the processing circuitry];
Kishimoto [0045] The deviation angle calculating module 203 calculates an angle of deviation (refer to FIG. 2) by calculating a difference between the stern bearing and the target bearing, and outputs the deviation angle to the rudder mechanism drive signal determining module 204 (FIG. 3: S103).
inputting a turning signal (turning angular velocity; rudder angle command δpre which is calculated and stored last time (previous rudder angle command)) for the ship [into the processing circuitry]
Kishimoto [0048]-[0049], FIG 4, disclosing input of a turning angular velocity which is calculated based on an amount of change in the stern bearing to calculate a differentiated rudder angle.
such that at least the estimated rudder angle is output (determined proportional/differentiated rudder angle) when the direction signal (stern and target bearing) and the turning signal (turning angular velocity; rudder angle command δpre which is calculated and stored last time (previous rudder angle command)) are input;
acquire a command rudder angle relative to the ship (a rudder angle command δnew calculated this time (current rudder angle command));
Kishimoto [0048] As illustrated in FIG. 4, the rudder mechanism drive signal determining module 204 calculates a rudder angle command δnew
generate an updated turning signal (amount of change δchg in the rudder angle command; Kishimoto Fig. 4, Rudder Mechanism Driev Signal) based on the command rudder angle (δnew calculated this time (current rudder angle command) and the estimated rudder angle (proportional/differential rudder angle); and
Kishimoto [0049] The rudder mechanism drive signal determining module 204 calculates an amount of change δchg in the rudder angle command based on a rudder angle command δnew calculated this time (current rudder angle command) and a rudder angle command δpre which is calculated and stored last time (previous rudder angle command). Specifically, the rudder mechanism drive signal determining module 204 calculates the amount of change δchg in the rudder angle command by subtracting the previous rudder angle command δpre from the current rudder angle command δnew.
control a rudder of the ship based on the updated turning signal.
Kishimoto [0046] disclosing outputting the rudder mechanism drive signal to the rudder 91 (FIG. 3: S104).
Kishimoto does not explicitly disclose the modeling as claimed. However, Marano teaches: generating estimates by inputting signals into one of: a Kalman filter which is a linear stochastic system; an extended Kalman filter which is a nonlinear stochastic system; an Unscented Kalman filter; or a particle filter (Marano, [0033]-[0034] [0084])
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to apply the model types of Marano to estimate at least a rudder angle of the ship as taught by Kishimoto. One would be motivated to make this modification in order improve determinations of positioning and orientation based on input signals (Marano [0010]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Kishimoto and Ma discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: estimate the estimated rudder angle based on … a state equation that estimates the estimated rudder angle based on at least a rudder angle that was estimated previously. (Kishimoto [0048] FIG 3-4, disclosing input of a turning angular velocity which is calculated based on an amount of change in the stern bearing to calculate a differentiated rudder angle; Kishimoto [0049] rudder angle command δpre which is calculated and stored last time (previous rudder angle command); Note the cyclical nature of the analysis/commands). Marano, as shown above, further discloses navigation decisions being based on a Kalman filter (Marano, [0033]-[0034] [0084]).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Kishimoto, Ma and Syed discloses the limitations of claim 3 and further disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: estimate the estimated rudder angle based on .. the state equation and a measurement equation which uses the direction signal. (Kishimoto [0048]-[0049], FIG 4, disclosing input of a turning angular velocity which is calculated based on an amount of change in the stern bearing to calculate a differentiated rudder angle). Marano, as shown above, further discloses navigation decisions being based on a Kalman filter (Marano, [0033]-[0034] [0084]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Kishimoto and Marano discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: estimate a heading of the ship. (Kishimoto [0045] calculates an angle of deviation (refer to FIG. 2) by calculating a difference between the stern bearing and the target bearing, and outputs the deviation angle to the rudder mechanism drive signal determining module 204 (FIG. 3: S103).)
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Kishimoto and Marano discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: estimate a turnrate of the ship. (Kishimoto [0048]-[0049], FIG 4, turning angular velocity which is calculated based on an amount of change in the stern bearing to calculate a differentiated rudder angle.)
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Kishimoto and Marano discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further disclose: wherein an initial estimation value of the estimated rudder angle is based on a value when the ship is stopped or going straight. (Kishimoto [0060] As illustrated in FIG. 5, the actual rudder angle can be gradually brought close to 0° by using the processing of the boat control device 10. Further, as illustrated in FIG. 5, even if a rapid change in the disturbance occurs, it can be reduced that a difference between the stern bearing and the target bearing (the angle of deviation) changes rapidly in response to the influence of the disturbance by directing the stern so as to oppose to the disturbance direction, and the actual rudder angle can be gradually brought close to 0° by performing the above-described processing. Therefore, a stable boat control can be performed; Examiner notes that, in a looping/continuous system, “initial” can be interpreted as any estimation value that occurs before another (i.e., subsequent) estimate)
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Kishimoto and Ma discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: estimate the estimated rudder angle (see claim 1, Kishimoto teachings;) based on the linear stochastic system (Marano, [0033]-[0034] [0084]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Kishimoto and Marano discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: acquire a parameter value relating to a characteristic of the ship (Kishimoto, bearing via bearing sensor [0085], traveling direction [0116])
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Kishimoto and Marano discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further disclose: a sensor configured to detect the direction of the ship and generate the direction signal. (Kishimoto [0042] A boat bearing is inputted into the stern bearing calculating module 201 from the bearing sensor 30. The bearing sensor 30 is comprised of, for example, a satellite compass, and calculates the bearing (e.g., heading) of the boat body 90).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Kishimoto and Marano discloses the limitations of claim 3 and further disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: estimate a heading of the ship. (Kishimoto [0042] A boat bearing is inputted into the stern bearing calculating module 201 from the bearing sensor 30. The bearing sensor 30 is comprised of, for example, a satellite compass, and calculates the bearing (e.g., heading) of the boat body 90.)
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Kishimoto and Marano discloses the limitations of claim 14 and further disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: estimate a turnrate of the ship. (Kishimoto [0048]-[0049], FIG 4, disclosing input of a turning angular velocity which is calculated based on an amount of change in the stern bearing to calculate a differentiated rudder angle.)
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Kishimoto and Marano discloses the limitations of claim 15 and further disclose: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: estimate the estimated rudder angle (see claim 1) based on the linear stochastic system (Marano, [0033]-[0034] [0084]).
Regarding claim 19, see the above rejection of analogous claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, see the above rejection of analogous claim 1. See also Kishimoto [0154]-[0160]
Regarding Claims 21/22, the combination of Kishimoto and Marano discloses the limitations of claim 1/19 and further disclose: wherein the updated turning signal is fed back as the turning signal for the ship (Kishimoto Fig. 3-4 [0049] continuous/looping determinations made over time) that is input into one of: the Kalman filter which is a linear stochastic system; the extended Kalman filter which is a nonlinear stochastic system; the Unscented Kalman filter; or the particle filter (Marano, [0033]-[0034], [0084]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosures:
Xie Huawei (CN115469553A) teaches a ship motion state reconstruction method, a device, equipment and a storage medium, which are used for realizing high-frequency wave interference filtering in a ship motion state and no-difference estimation of the motion state in a low-frequency interference environment and effectively weakening the problem of invalid rudder in a wave environment.
/B.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663