DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Prior Art Rejection(s)
In the Final Rejection mailed, November 19, 2025, the status of the claim(s) was as follows:
Claim(s) 1, 15, and 19, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ). Claim(s) 8 and 22 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of SUNDARARAJAN (US 20150016323 A1). Claim(s) 16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of BABAEI (US 20230389120 A1). Claim(s) 2, 3, and 17 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of Ji (US 20090279466 A1). Claim(s) 7 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of NTT DOCOMO (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #120, R2-2212792, “Assistance Information for NW DTX/DRX”). Claim(s) 9 and 23,were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of SUNDARARAJAN (US 20150016323 A1) in view of ZHOU (US 20250081103 A1). Claim(s) 11, 12, 14, 25, 26, 28, were under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of SUNDARARAJAN (US 20150016323 A1) in view of JEON (US 20240237133 A1). Claim(s) 11, 13, 25, and 27, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of SUNDARARAJAN (US 20150016323 A1) in view of MOON (US 20240267985 A1). Claim(s) 4-6, 10, 18, 20-21, 24, 29, and 30, were objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In response to the rejection(s) of said claim(s) applicants have amended independent claim(s) 1, 8, 15, and 22, by further limiting, the “end of transmit (TX) indicator” such that indicates that, “…no TX traffic to be transmitted…”. Applicants have also presented arguments in light of amended independent claim(s), referring to amended claim 1, and arguing that MAEDA fails to teach amended independent claim 1, and in particular the limitation, “an end of transmit indicator (TX) traffic indicator indicating no TX traffic be transmitted”. In response to amendments and arguments a new ground of rejection has been made in view of ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1). Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15, 19, 22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1)
In regards to claim 1, MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
transmitting an end of transmit (TX) traffic indicatormobile terminal, transmitting an end of TX traffic indicator, sleep request signal);
receiving an early termination indicator associated with a scheduled network-side cell discontinuous reception (DRX) active time based on transmitting the end of TX traffic indicator([Fig. 4] teaches the mobile terminal receiving an early termination indicator, receive the result of judgement of transition to a DRX Operation during Active, associated with a scheduled network-side DRX active time, “…ST8 Receive the Result of the Judgement of transition to a DRX Operation Period during Active, and the DRX Cycle and the DTX Cycle...ST9 Does the Mobile Terminal Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX Operation Period during Active..Yes...ST10 Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX Operation period during Active...”, Also see [Fig. 4, ST6] where the early termination indicator is associated with a scheduled network-side cell DRX active time, “ST6 Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX operation period during active…” ); and
refraining from transmitting data traffic during at least a remainder of the scheduled network-side cell DRX active time (MADEA teaches refraining transmitting data traffic at least a remainder of the scheduled network-side cell DRX active time, [Fig. 4, ST12] Perform a DTX Operation, [Fig. 4, ST11] Perform a DRX Operation and a DTX Operation, “[0271] After the control unit 23 of the mobile terminal 3 causes the state of the mobile terminal 3 to make a transition to a DRX/DTX operation period during Active (the state 2-B of FIG. 13), the control unit 23 causes the mobile terminal to perform a DRX operation and a DTX operation (step ST11). [0272] More specifically, the control unit 23 temporarily stops the supply of the electric power to the data transmission processing units (e.g., the encoder unit 14 and the modulating unit 15) in the cycle indicated by the DTX cycle information stored in the DTX cycle storage unit 21.”).
The power saving feature of MAEDA differs from that of claim 1, in that MAEDA is silent on where the end of transmit (TX) traffic indicator, the sleep request signal, indicates that no TX traffic is to be transmitted. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power-saving in a communication network.
ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1) teaches where a UE, where when in a sleep state, stops transmitting in order to conserve power/energy (“[0132] In this embodiment, after the first node obtains the DTX configuration and determines the first and/or second time range, it can also perform at least one of the following according to the actual transmission conditions: [0133] Entering a sleep state in a first time range or a subset thereof and stopping uplink transmitting, downlink reception, Sidelink transmitting and reception; [0134] And staying awake in the second time range or a subset thereof and normally carry out Sidelink communication and/or uplink and downlink communication.”)
Thus, based upon ZHOU’s teaching of a UE’s sleep state involving that the UE stop performing data transmissions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify power-saving feature (i.e. sleep state) of MAEDA, such that no transmissions are performed by MAEDA’s UE while in the sleep state, thus arriving at where MAEDA’s end of transmit (TX) traffic indicator, the sleep request signal, indicates that no TX traffic to be transmitted (as no transmissions are performed by the UE in the sleep state), and to further arrive at claim 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to take advantage of power-saving yielded by having a UE refrain from performing transmissions while in a sleep state.
In regards to claim 15, MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, the method comprising: receiving one or more end of transmit (TX) traffic indicators MADEA teaches a network entity, base station, receiving one or more end of TX traffic indicators, sleep request signals, in [Fig. 4, ST 3]); and transmitting an early termination indicator associated with a scheduled network-side cell discontinuous reception (DRX) active time based on receipt of the one or more end of TX traffic indicators (MADEA teaches transmitting an early terminator indicator, transmit the result of the judgment of transition to a DRX Operation Period during Active, in [Fig. 4, ST7], Also see [Fig. 4, ST6] where the early termination indicator is associated with a scheduled network-side cell DRX active time, “ST6 Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX operation period during active…” ).
The power saving feature of MAEDA differs from that of claim 15, in that MAEDA is silent on where the end of transmit (TX) traffic indicator, the sleep request signal, indicates that no TX traffic is to be transmitted. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power-saving in a communication network.
ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1) teaches where a UE, where when in a sleep state, stops transmitting in order to conserve power/energy (“[0132] In this embodiment, after the first node obtains the DTX configuration and determines the first and/or second time range, it can also perform at least one of the following according to the actual transmission conditions: [0133] Entering a sleep state in a first time range or a subset thereof and stopping uplink transmitting, downlink reception, Sidelink transmitting and reception; [0134] And staying awake in the second time range or a subset thereof and normally carry out Sidelink communication and/or uplink and downlink communication.”)
Thus, based upon ZHOU’s teaching of a UE’s sleep state involving that the UE stop performing data transmissions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify power-saving feature (i.e. sleep state) of MAEDA, such that no transmissions are performed by MAEDA’s UE while in the sleep state, thus arriving at where MAEDA’s end of transmit (TX) traffic indicator, the sleep request signal, indicates that no TX traffic to be transmitted (as no transmissions are performed by the UE in the sleep state), and to further arrive at claim 15. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to take advantage of power-saving yielded by having a UE refrain from performing transmissions while in a sleep state.
In regards to claim 19, MAEDA teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the early termination indicator indicates termination of network-side cell DRX active time for a particular time period (MADEA teaches refraining transmitting data traffic at least a remainder of the scheduled network-side cell DRX active time, [Fig. 4, ST12] Perform a DTX Operation, [Fig. 4, ST11] Perform a DRX Operation and a DTX Operation, “[0271] After the control unit 23 of the mobile terminal 3 causes the state of the mobile terminal 3 to make a transition to a DRX/DTX operation period during Active (the state 2-B of FIG. 13), the control unit 23 causes the mobile terminal to perform a DRX operation and a DTX operation (step ST11). [0272] More specifically, the control unit 23 temporarily stops the supply of the electric power to the data transmission processing units (e.g., the encoder unit 14 and the modulating unit 15) in the cycle indicated by the DTX cycle information stored in the DTX cycle storage unit 21. [0273] Furthermore, the control unit 23 temporarily stops the supply of the electric power to the data reception processing units (e.g., the demodulating unit 17 and the decoder unit 18) in the cycle indicated by the DRX cycle information stored in the DRX cycle storage unit 22. ”).
In regards to claim 8, MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: (MADEA teaches a UE, mobile terminal, comprising a memory, ): initiate transmission of an end of transmit (TX) traffic indicator([Fig. 4, ST2] teaches a UE, mobile terminal, transmitting an end of TX traffic indicator, sleep request signal); receive an early termination indicator associated with a scheduled network-side cell discontinuous reception (DRX) active time ([Fig. 4] teaches the mobile terminal receiving an early termination indicator, receive the result of judgement of transition to a DRX Operation during Active, associated with a scheduled network-side DRX active time, “…ST8 Receive the Result of the Judgement of transition to a DRX Operation Period during Active, and the DRX Cycle and the DTX Cycle...ST9 Does the Mobile Terminal Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX Operation Period during Active..Yes...ST10 Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX Operation period during Active...” Also see [Fig. 4, ST6] where the early termination indicator is associated with a scheduled network-side cell DRX active time, “ST6 Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX operation period during active…” ); and refrain from transmitting data traffic during at least a remainder of the scheduled network-side cell DRX active time (MAEDA teaches refraining transmitting data traffic at least a remainder of the scheduled network-side cell DRX active time, [Fig. 4, ST12] Perform a DTX Operation, [Fig. 4, ST11] Perform a DRX Operation and a DTX Operation, “[0271] After the control unit 23 of the mobile terminal 3 causes the state of the mobile terminal 3 to make a transition to a DRX/DTX operation period during Active (the state 2-B of FIG. 13), the control unit 23 causes the mobile terminal to perform a DRX operation and a DTX operation (step ST11). [0272] More specifically, the control unit 23 temporarily stops the supply of the electric power to the data transmission processing units (e.g., the encoder unit 14 and the modulating unit 15) in the cycle indicated by the DTX cycle information stored in the DTX cycle storage unit 21.”).
MAEDA’s feature for DTX/DRX differs from that of claim 8, in that MAEDA is silent on the user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory storing processor-readable code; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform energy saving features (i.e the DTX/DRX features ) of claim 8. MAEDA further differs from claim 8, that MAEDA is silent on where the end of transmit (TX) traffic indicator, the sleep request signal, indicates that no TX traffic is to be transmitted. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power-saving in a communication network.
Regarding, the user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory storing processor-readable code; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform energy saving features (i.e the DTX/DRX features ) of claim 8. Similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power-saving in a communication network. ZHOU for example teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory storing processor-readable code; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform energy saving features (“[0064] UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, a transmission (TX) processing circuit 315, a microphone 320, and a reception (RX) processing circuit 325. UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor/controller 340, an input/output (I/O) interface 345, an input device(s) 350, a display 355, and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362… [0189] As those skilled in the art know, according to the structure, the above example structure can be implemented in various ways, such as program instructions executed by a processor, software modules, microcode, computer program products on a computer readable medium, analog/logic circuits, application specific integrated circuits, firmware, consumer electronic devices, AV devices, wireless/wired transmitters, wireless/wired receivers, networks, multimedia devices, and the like. Furthermore, embodiments of the structure may take the form of an entirely hardware embodiment, an entirely software embodiment, or an embodiment containing elements of both hardware and software… [0192] Computer program instructions representing the block diagrams and/or flowcharts herein may be loaded onto a computer, a programmable data processing device, or a processing device, so that a series of operations performed thereon produce computer-implemented processes. A computer program (i.e., computer control logic) is stored in the main memory and/or the auxiliary memory. A computer program may also be received via a communication interface. Such computer programs, when executed, enable a computer system to perform the features of the embodiments discussed herein. In particular, the computer program, when executed, enables the processor and/or the multi-core processor to perform features of the computer system. This computer program represents the controller of a computer system. A computer program product includes a tangible storage medium readable by a computer system and stores instructions executed by the computer system for performing the method of one or more embodiments.”). ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1) also teaches where a UE, where when in a sleep state, stops transmitting in order to conserve power/energy (“[0132] In this embodiment, after the first node obtains the DTX configuration and determines the first and/or second time range, it can also perform at least one of the following according to the actual transmission conditions: [0133] Entering a sleep state in a first time range or a subset thereof and stopping uplink transmitting, downlink reception, Sidelink transmitting and reception; [0134] And staying awake in the second time range or a subset thereof and normally carry out Sidelink communication and/or uplink and downlink communication.”)
Thus, based upon ZHOU’s teaching of a UE’s structure and ZHOU teaching of a UE’s sleep state involving that the UE stop performing data transmissions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify power-saving feature (i.e. sleep state) of MAEDA, such that no transmissions are performed by MAEDA’s UE while in the sleep state, thus arriving at where MAEDA’s end of transmit (TX) traffic indicator, the sleep request signal, indicates that no TX traffic to be transmitted (as no transmissions are performed by the UE in the sleep state), and to further adopt the structure seen in the UE of ZHOU, to thus arrive at claim 8. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to take advantage of power-saving yielded by having a UE refrain from performing transmissions while in a sleep state.
In regards to claim 22, MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) a network entity comprising:
receive one or more end of transmit (TX) traffic indicators (MADEA teaches a network entity, base station, receiving one or more end of TX traffic indicators, sleep request signals, in [Fig. 4, ST 3]); and
initiate transmission of an early termination indicator associated with a scheduled network-side cell discontinuous reception (DRX) active time based on receipt of the one or more end of TX traffic indicators (MADEA in [Fig. 4] teaches transmitting an early terminator indicator, transmit the result of the judgment of transition to a DRX Operation Period during Active, Also see [Fig. 4, ST6] where the early termination indicator is associated with a scheduled network-side cell DRX active time, “ST6 Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX operation period during active…”).
MAEDA’s feature for DTX/DRX differs from that of claim 22, in that MAEDA is silent on the network entity comprising: (i.e the DTX/DRX features ) of claim 22.
MAEDA further differs from claim 22, that MAEDA is silent on where the end of transmit (TX) traffic indicator, the sleep request signal, indicates that no TX traffic is to be transmitted. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power-saving in a communication network.
Regarding, the network entity comprising: a memory storing processor-readable code; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform energy saving features (i.e the DTX/DRX features ) of claim 22, similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power-saving in a communication network. ZHOU for example teaches a network entity, gNB/base station, comprising: a memory storing processor-readable code; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform energy saving features (“[0071] FIG. 3b illustrates an example gNB 102 according to the present disclosure. The embodiment of gNB 102 shown in FIG. 3b is for illustration only, and other gNBs of FIG. 1 can have the same or similar configuration. However, a gNB has various configurations, and FIG. 3b does not limit the scope of the present disclosure to any specific implementation of a gNB. It should be noted that gNB 101 and gNB 103 can include the same or similar structures as gNB 102. [0072] As shown in FIG. 3b, gNB 102 includes a plurality of antennas 370a-370n, a plurality of RF transceivers 372a-372n, a transmission (TX) processing circuit 374, and a reception (RX) processing circuit 376. In certain embodiments, one or more of the plurality of antennas 370a-370n include a 2D antenna array. gNB 102 also includes a controller/processor 378, a memory 380, and a backhaul or network interface 382.… [0192] Computer program instructions representing the block diagrams and/or flowcharts herein may be loaded onto a computer, a programmable data processing device, or a processing device, so that a series of operations performed thereon produce computer-implemented processes. A computer program (i.e., computer control logic) is stored in the main memory and/or the auxiliary memory. A computer program may also be received via a communication interface. Such computer programs, when executed, enable a computer system to perform the features of the embodiments discussed herein. In particular, the computer program, when executed, enables the processor and/or the multi-core processor to perform features of the computer system. This computer program represents the controller of a computer system. A computer program product includes a tangible storage medium readable by a computer system and stores instructions executed by the computer system for performing the method of one or more embodiments.”). ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1) also teaches where a UE, where when in a sleep state, stops transmitting in order to conserve power/energy (“[0132] In this embodiment, after the first node obtains the DTX configuration and determines the first and/or second time range, it can also perform at least one of the following according to the actual transmission conditions: [0133] Entering a sleep state in a first time range or a subset thereof and stopping uplink transmitting, downlink reception, Sidelink transmitting and reception; [0134] And staying awake in the second time range or a subset thereof and normally carry out Sidelink communication and/or uplink and downlink communication.”)
Thus, based upon ZHOU’s teaching of a network entity’s structure and ZHOU teaching of a UE’s sleep state involving that the UE stop performing data transmissions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify power-saving feature (i.e. sleep state) of MAEDA, such that no transmissions are performed by MAEDA’s UE while in the sleep state, thus arriving at where MAEDA’s end of transmit (TX) traffic indicator, the sleep request signal, indicates that no TX traffic to be transmitted (as no transmissions are performed by the UE in the sleep state), and to further adopt the structure seen in the network entity of ZHOU, to thus arrive at claim 22. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to take advantage of power-saving yielded by having a UE refrain from performing transmissions while in a sleep state.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1) in view of BABAEI (US 20230389120 A1).
In regards to claim 16, MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of ZHOU is silent on method of claim 15, further comprising transitioning to a low power mode during at least a remainder of the scheduled network-side cell DRX active time.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving network-side power saving features. BABAEI (US 20230389120 A1) teaches a network saving feature where a network entity transitions a lower power mode, during a network energy saving state ([0288] In example embodiments, a network energy saving cell and/or a cell that is in a network energy saving state and/or operates according to network energy saving processes in the network or the wireless device may have reduced/lower energy consumption (e.g., lower/reduced energy consumption at the base station/network side). For example, a first periodicity that a signal and/or a channel is received or transmitted via a network energy saving cell or via a cell that is in a network energy saving state may be larger than a second periodicity that the signal and/or the channel is transmitted or received via a non-energy saving cell or a cell that is not in a network energy saving state. For example, one or more signals and/or channels may not be transmitted or received during a time window/duration via a cell that is a network energy saving cell or is in a network energy saving state (e.g., not transmitted or received during a time window/duration that the cell is in a network energy saving state).).
Thus based upon the teachings of BABAEI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, MAEDA in view of ZHOU , by transitioning to a low power mode during an energy save state, such as when the base station of MAEDA enters the DTX/DRX operation, to thus arrive at claim 16, in order to take advantage of benefit of saving energy in the base station.
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1) in view of Ji (US 20090279466 A1).
In regards to claim 2, MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of ZHOU is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the scheduled network-side cell DRX active time comprises a first cycle of multiple active time cycles, and wherein the early termination indicator indicates termination of a particular number of cycles of the multiple active time cycles. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving DRX and/or DTX. Ji (US 20090279466 A1) teaches a DRX active time (Refer to [Fig. 11] where Ref 1101, 1105, and 1109 are the DRX active times, and Ref 1103, 1107, and 1111 are the DRX sleep times.) comprises a first cycle of multiple active time cycles, and where an early termination indicates a termination a particular number of cycles of the multiple active time cycles (Also, refer to [Fig. 11] and where [0140] teaches where an early termination indicator, MOB_TRF_IND() message, indicates a termination of a particular number of cycles of multiple of active time cycles, by doubling a sleep interval, resulting in a skipping of a active time cycle “…After sleep interval 1103, the MS receives an MOB_TRF_IND( ) message with an indicator having a first value indicating that there is no DL traffic ready for transmission from the BS. In this embodiment, the indicator is a one-bit value "0". Because there is no UL traffic ready for transmission from the MS, the MS remains in sleep mode, and both the BS and the MS automatically set the length of the next PSI to be twice of that of the previous PSI (i.e., sleep interval 1107 is set to be twice that of the previous sleep interval 1103)…”).
Thus based upon the teachings of JI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MAEDA in view of ZHOU, by adopting the use JI’s feature for early termination of a power saving period, to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the scheduled network-side cell DRX active time comprises a first cycle of multiple active time cycles, and wherein the early termination indicator indicates termination of a particular number of cycles of the multiple active time cycles, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable method to implement the early termination feature taught by MAEDA.
In regards to claim 3, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the early termination indicator indicates termination of network-side cell DRX active time for a particular time period.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving DRX and/or DTX. Ji (US 20090279466 A1) teaches a DRX active time (Refer to [Fig. 11] where Ref 1101, 1105, and 1109 are the DRX active times, and Ref 1103, 1107, and 1111 are the DRX sleep times.) comprises a first cycle of multiple active time cycles, and where an early termination indicates a termination a particular number of cycles for a particular time period (Also, refer to [Fig. 11] and where [0140] teaches where an early termination indicator, MOB_TRF_IND() message, indicates a termination of a particular number of cycles of multiple of active time cycles, by doubling a sleep interval, resulting in a skipping of a active time cycle “…After sleep interval 1103, the MS receives an MOB_TRF_IND( ) message with an indicator having a first value indicating that there is no DL traffic ready for transmission from the BS. In this embodiment, the indicator is a one-bit value "0". Because there is no UL traffic ready for transmission from the MS, the MS remains in sleep mode, and both the BS and the MS automatically set the length of the next PSI to be twice of that of the previous PSI (i.e., sleep interval 1107 is set to be twice that of the previous sleep interval 1103)…”).
Thus based upon the teachings of JI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MAEDA in view of ZHOU, by adopting the use JI’s feature for early termination of a power saving period, to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the early termination indicator indicates termination of network-side cell DRX active time for a particular time period, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable method to implement the early termination feature taught by MAEDA.
In regards to claim 17, MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of ZHOU is silent on the method of claim 15, wherein the scheduled network-side cell DRX active time comprises a first cycle of multiple active time cycles, and wherein the early termination indicator indicates termination of a particular number of cycles of the multiple active time cycles.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving DRX and/or DTX. Ji (US 20090279466 A1) teaches a DRX active time (Refer to [Fig. 11] where Ref 1101, 1105, and 1109 are the DRX active times, and Ref 1103, 1107, and 1111 are the DRX sleep times.) comprises a first cycle of multiple active time cycles, and where an early termination indicates a termination a particular number of cycles of the multiple active time cycles (Also, refer to [Fig. 11] and where [0140] teaches where an early termination indicator, MOB_TRF_IND() message, indicates a termination of a particular number of cycles of multiple of active time cycles, by doubling a sleep interval, resulting in a skipping of a active time cycle “…After sleep interval 1103, the MS receives an MOB_TRF_IND( ) message with an indicator having a first value indicating that there is no DL traffic ready for transmission from the BS. In this embodiment, the indicator is a one-bit value "0". Because there is no UL traffic ready for transmission from the MS, the MS remains in sleep mode, and both the BS and the MS automatically set the length of the next PSI to be twice of that of the previous PSI (i.e., sleep interval 1107 is set to be twice that of the previous sleep interval 1103)…”).
Thus based upon the teachings of JI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MAEDA in view of ZHOU, by adopting the use JI’s feature for early termination of a power saving period, to thus arrive at the method of claim 15, wherein the scheduled network-side cell DRX active time comprises a first cycle of multiple active time cycles, and wherein the early termination indicator indicates termination of a particular number of cycles of the multiple active time cycles, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable method to implement the early termination feature taught by MAEDA.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1) in view of NTT DOCOMO (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #120, R2-2212792, “Assistance Information for NW DTX/DRX”).
In regards to claim 7, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving the end of TX indicator from a higher layer application executed at the UE. However similar features have been seen in other prior involving network-side cell DTX/DRX. NTT DOCOMO (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #120, R2-2212792, “Assistance Information for NW DTX/DRX”) suggests receiving an end of TX indicator, preferred DTX/DRX periodicity with a larger value, from a higher layer application executed at a UE, in section 2 (“Therefore, by defining DRX/DTX pattern according to user traffic, both User experience and NES gain can be achieved. For this purpose, it is useful for UEs which operate applications to send a request to the NW about the preferred NW DTX/DRX pattern (i.e., DTX periodicity and DRX periodicity) as UEAssistanceInformation. Based on the notified preferred DTX/DRX pattern, the NW can consider which DTX/DRX pattern to apply to the cell where the UE is camped. When multiple UEs in a cell send requests for the preferred DTX/DRX pattern, the NW can configure or modify the DTX/DRX pattern to satisfy all of them, thus enabling the NES without compromising the UE experience.”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of NTT DOCOMO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the network-side cell DTX/DRX feature of MAEDA in view of ZHOU to arrive the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving the end of TX indicator from a higher layer application executed at the UE, in order to provide a benefit of a more effectively way to determining a network side cell DTX/DRX configuration.
Claim(s) 9 and 23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of ZHOU A (US 20230371113 A1) in view of ZHOU B (US 20250081103 A1)
In regards to claim 9, MAEDA in view of ZHOU A is silent on the UE of claim 8, wherein the end of TX traffic indicator comprises a zero buffer indicator transmitted after a TX buffer is empty. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving network side cell DTX/DRX. ZHOU B (US 20250081103 A1) teaches where an end of TX traffic indicator comprises a zero buffer indicator transmitted after a TX buffer is empty ([0344] In an example, the uplink trigger signal may be UL signal/channel (e.g., SR, PRACH, SRS, CG PUSCH) for waking up the base station or for informing the updated buffer status e.g., within a time domain window, similar to the one introduced for wireless device power saving feature (e.g., as shown in FIG. 31A and/or FIG. 31B). Considering that the base station needs to transmit at least SSB and TRS periodically, the time domain window configured for a wireless device to inform wireless device's data arrival can be configured close to the location of SSB or TRS. In addition, it could be useful for a wireless device to report zero-buffer status to aid the base station's decision on whether to go into power save mode or not. [0345] In an example, the uplink trigger signal may be referred to an uplink wake-up signal (WUS), or cell WUS (C-WUS) in this specification. The uplink WUS may be different from a downlink WUS used to wake up a wireless device before a DRX circle, as described above with respect to FIG. 31A and/or FIG. 31B. [0346] In an example, for a cell without any wireless device operating in connected state, a wireless device may transmit C-WUS in a C-WUS occasion to activate broadcast signal (e.g., SSB/SIBx) transmission when the wireless device needs transitioning to an active state. The base station may be active during C-WUS occasions to monitor C-WUS. If the C-WUS is detected, the base station may reside in the active state to serve connected mode UEs. Otherwise, the base station may go back to a sleep state in which it does not monitor pre-configured resources (e.g., random access occasions, small data transmission) and may not transmit cell-specific broadcast signals (e.g., SSB and SIB1). As a result, it can reside in a deeper sleep for power savings. [0347] In an example, for a cell with a small number of UEs operating in connected state, the C-WUS mechanism can support cell C-DTX/C-DRX operation. For example, if a configured grant occasion falls into the cell inactive time, the wireless device may not use such occasion for PUSCH transmission. In an example, if a PDCCH monitoring occasion falls into the cell inactive time, the wireless device may not perform PDCCH monitoring on such occasion. C-WUS may be combined with on-demand SSB/SIB1 transmission for network energy saving.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of ZHOU B it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, MAEDA in view of ZHOU A by using the end of TX indicator to indicate an empty buffer to thus arrive at claim 9, in order to provide an effective means to indicate an end of a transmission.
In regards to claim 23, MAEDA in view of ZHOU A is silent on the network entity of claim 22, wherein the one or more end of TX traffic indicators comprise zero buffer indicators received after receipt of a last data packet of a corresponding TX traffic burst. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving network side cell DTX/DRX. ZHOU B (US 20250081103 A1) teaches where an end of TX traffic indicator comprises a zero buffer indicator transmitted after a TX buffer is empty or rather the end of a transmission ([0344] In an example, the uplink trigger signal may be UL signal/channel (e.g., SR, PRACH, SRS, CG PUSCH) for waking up the base station or for informing the updated buffer status e.g., within a time domain window, similar to the one introduced for wireless device power saving feature (e.g., as shown in FIG. 31A and/or FIG. 31B). Considering that the base station needs to transmit at least SSB and TRS periodically, the time domain window configured for a wireless device to inform wireless device's data arrival can be configured close to the location of SSB or TRS. In addition, it could be useful for a wireless device to report zero-buffer status to aid the base station's decision on whether to go into power save mode or not. [0345] In an example, the uplink trigger signal may be referred to an uplink wake-up signal (WUS), or cell WUS (C-WUS) in this specification. The uplink WUS may be different from a downlink WUS used to wake up a wireless device before a DRX circle, as described above with respect to FIG. 31A and/or FIG. 31B. [0346] In an example, for a cell without any wireless device operating in connected state, a wireless device may transmit C-WUS in a C-WUS occasion to activate broadcast signal (e.g., SSB/SIBx) transmission when the wireless device needs transitioning to an active state. The base station may be active during C-WUS occasions to monitor C-WUS. If the C-WUS is detected, the base station may reside in the active state to serve connected mode UEs. Otherwise, the base station may go back to a sleep state in which it does not monitor pre-configured resources (e.g., random access occasions, small data transmission) and may not transmit cell-specific broadcast signals (e.g., SSB and SIB1). As a result, it can reside in a deeper sleep for power savings. [0347] In an example, for a cell with a small number of UEs operating in connected state, the C-WUS mechanism can support cell C-DTX/C-DRX operation. For example, if a configured grant occasion falls into the cell inactive time, the wireless device may not use such occasion for PUSCH transmission. In an example, if a PDCCH monitoring occasion falls into the cell inactive time, the wireless device may not perform PDCCH monitoring on such occasion. C-WUS may be combined with on-demand SSB/SIB1 transmission for network energy saving.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of ZHOU B it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, MAEDA in view of ZHOU A by using the end of TX indicator to indicate an empty buffer to thus arrive at claim 23, in order to provide an effective means to indicate an end of a transmission.
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14, 25, 26, and 28, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1) in view of JEON (US 20240237133 A1).
In regards to claim 11, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on the UE of claim 8, wherein the early termination indicator is included in a downlink control information (DCI) message. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerned with power-saving in wireless networks. JEON (US 20240237133 A1) teaches a power saving feature such as DRX/DTX, where a DCI message is use to configure a power saving state (“[0098] A UE (e.g., UE 116) can be configured with a network operation state, incorporating the adaptation from cell DTX/DRX, spatial domain solution, and power domain solution, as well as other energy saving enhancements in the future. The followings are examples of possible network operation state configuration: Example 1: A network operation state can be associated with an active/non-active period of cell DTX/DRX, applied power offset, and/or active spatial elements; Example 2: A network operation state can be associated with a set of configurations for cell DTX/DRX, within multiple sets of configurations; Example 3: A network operation state can be associated with either activation or deactivation of cell DTX/DRX. [0099] In diagram 900 implemented as a method, a UE is provided from a serving cell via higher layer signaling, e.g., RRC, one or multiple network operation states and receives DCI triggering state transition. For example, there can be 3 DTX states (together with the ‘ON’ state), each corresponding to a value for {on-duration, offset, maybe Inactivity Timer}−DCI format 2_9 has 2 bits to indicate 1 of the 3 DTX states (or the ‘ON’ state). In another example, there can be an active and inactive states of a DTX configuration—DCI format 2_9 has one bit to indicate. The DRX state can be similarly indicated in the DCI format 2_9.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of JEON it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power saving feature of MAEDA in view of ZHOU, by adopting use of the DCI message to carry information for indicating and/or controlling DTX/DRX state (i.e. early termination indicator), to thus arrive at claim 11, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable method to deliver the early termination indicator.
In regards to claim 14, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on The UE of claim 8, wherein the early termination indicator is included in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) or a radio resource control (RRC) message. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerned with power-saving in wireless networks. JEON (US 20240237133 A1) teaches a power saving feature such as DRX/DTX, where a RRC message is use to configure a power saving state (“[0098] A UE (e.g., UE 116) can be configured with a network operation state, incorporating the adaptation from cell DTX/DRX, spatial domain solution, and power domain solution, as well as other energy saving enhancements in the future. The followings are examples of possible network operation state configuration: Example 1: A network operation state can be associated with an active/non-active period of cell DTX/DRX, applied power offset, and/or active spatial elements; Example 2: A network operation state can be associated with a set of configurations for cell DTX/DRX, within multiple sets of configurations; Example 3: A network operation state can be associated with either activation or deactivation of cell DTX/DRX. [0099] In diagram 900 implemented as a method, a UE is provided from a serving cell via higher layer signaling, e.g., RRC, one or multiple network operation states and receives DCI triggering state transition. For example, there can be 3 DTX states (together with the ‘ON’ state), each corresponding to a value for {on-duration, offset, maybe Inactivity Timer}−DCI format 2_9 has 2 bits to indicate 1 of the 3 DTX states (or the ‘ON’ state). In another example, there can be an active and inactive states of a DTX configuration—DCI format 2_9 has one bit to indicate. The DRX state can be similarly indicated in the DCI format 2_9.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of JEON it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power saving feature of MAEDA in view of ZHOU, by adopting use of the RRC message to carry information for indicating and/or controlling DTX/DRX state (i.e. early termination indicator), to thus arrive at claim 14, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable method to deliver the early termination indicator.
In regards to claim 28, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on the network entity of claim 22, wherein the early termination indicator is included in a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) or a radio resource control (RRC) message. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerned with power-saving in wireless networks. JEON (US 20240237133 A1) teaches a power saving feature such as DRX/DTX, where a RRC message is use to configure a power saving state (“[0098] A UE (e.g., UE 116) can be configured with a network operation state, incorporating the adaptation from cell DTX/DRX, spatial domain solution, and power domain solution, as well as other energy saving enhancements in the future. The followings are examples of possible network operation state configuration: Example 1: A network operation state can be associated with an active/non-active period of cell DTX/DRX, applied power offset, and/or active spatial elements; Example 2: A network operation state can be associated with a set of configurations for cell DTX/DRX, within multiple sets of configurations; Example 3: A network operation state can be associated with either activation or deactivation of cell DTX/DRX. [0099] In diagram 900 implemented as a method, a UE is provided from a serving cell via higher layer signaling, e.g., RRC, one or multiple network operation states and receives DCI triggering state transition. For example, there can be 3 DTX states (together with the ‘ON’ state), each corresponding to a value for {on-duration, offset, maybe Inactivity Timer}−DCI format 2_9 has 2 bits to indicate 1 of the 3 DTX states (or the ‘ON’ state). In another example, there can be an active and inactive states of a DTX configuration—DCI format 2_9 has one bit to indicate. The DRX state can be similarly indicated in the DCI format 2_9.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of JEON it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power saving feature of MAEDA in view of ZHOU, by adopting use of the RRC message to carry information for indicating and/or controlling DTX/DRX state (i.e. early termination indicator), to thus arrive at claim 28, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable method to deliver the early termination indicator.
In regards to claim 25, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on the network entity of claim 22, wherein the early termination indicator is included in a downlink control information (DCI) message. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerned with power-saving in wireless networks. JEON (US 20240237133 A1) teaches a power saving feature such as DRX/DTX, where a DCI message is use to configure a power saving state (“[0098] A UE (e.g., UE 116) can be configured with a network operation state, incorporating the adaptation from cell DTX/DRX, spatial domain solution, and power domain solution, as well as other energy saving enhancements in the future. The followings are examples of possible network operation state configuration: Example 1: A network operation state can be associated with an active/non-active period of cell DTX/DRX, applied power offset, and/or active spatial elements; Example 2: A network operation state can be associated with a set of configurations for cell DTX/DRX, within multiple sets of configurations; Example 3: A network operation state can be associated with either activation or deactivation of cell DTX/DRX. [0099] In diagram 900 implemented as a method, a UE is provided from a serving cell via higher layer signaling, e.g., RRC, one or multiple network operation states and receives DCI triggering state transition. For example, there can be 3 DTX states (together with the ‘ON’ state), each corresponding to a value for {on-duration, offset, maybe Inactivity Timer}−DCI format 2_9 has 2 bits to indicate 1 of the 3 DTX states (or the ‘ON’ state). In another example, there can be an active and inactive states of a DTX configuration—DCI format 2_9 has one bit to indicate. The DRX state can be similarly indicated in the DCI format 2_9.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of JEON it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power saving feature of MAEDA in view of ZHOU, by adopting use of the DCI message to carry information for indicating and/or controlling DTX/DRX state (i.e. early termination indicator), to thus arrive at claim 25, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable method to deliver the early termination indicator.
In regards to claim 12, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on the UE of claim 11, wherein the DCI message further includes an early termination indicator associated with a scheduled UE-side cell DRX active time. However, MAEDA does teach where the early termination indicator is associated with a scheduled UE-side cell DRX active time ([Fig. 4] teaches the mobile terminal receiving an early termination indicator, receive the result of judgement of transition to a DRX Operation during Active, associated with a scheduled UE-side cell DRX active time, “…ST8 Receive the Result of the Judgement of transition to a DRX Operation Period during Active, and the DRX Cycle and the DTX Cycle...ST9 Does the Mobile Terminal Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX Operation Period during Active..Yes...ST10 Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX Operation period during Active...” ). Furthermore, JEON (US 20240237133 A1) who teaches features concerning power saving for wireless networks, teaches a power saving feature, DRX/DTX, where a DCI message is use to configure a power saving state (“[0098] A UE (e.g., UE 116) can be configured with a network operation state, incorporating the adaptation from cell DTX/DRX, spatial domain solution, and power domain solution, as well as other energy saving enhancements in the future. The followings are examples of possible network operation state configuration: Example 1: A network operation state can be associated with an active/non-active period of cell DTX/DRX, applied power offset, and/or active spatial elements; Example 2: A network operation state can be associated with a set of configurations for cell DTX/DRX, within multiple sets of configurations; Example 3: A network operation state can be associated with either activation or deactivation of cell DTX/DRX. [0099] In diagram 900 implemented as a method, a UE is provided from a serving cell via higher layer signaling, e.g., RRC, one or multiple network operation states and receives DCI triggering state transition. For example, there can be 3 DTX states (together with the ‘ON’ state), each corresponding to a value for {on-duration, offset, maybe Inactivity Timer}−DCI format 2_9 has 2 bits to indicate 1 of the 3 DTX states (or the ‘ON’ state). In another example, there can be an active and inactive states of a DTX configuration—DCI format 2_9 has one bit to indicate. The DRX state can be similarly indicated in the DCI format 2_9.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of JEON it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power saving feature of MAEDA in view of ZHOU, by adopting use of the DCI message to carry information for indicating and/or controlling DTX/DRX state (i.e. early termination indicator), to thus arrive at claim 12, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable method to deliver the early termination indicator.
In regards to claim 26, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on the network entity of claim 25, wherein the DCI message further includes an early termination indicator associated with a scheduled UE-side cell DRX active time. However, MAEDA does teach where the early termination indicator is associated with a scheduled UE-side cell DRX active time ([Fig. 4] teaches the mobile terminal receiving an early termination indicator, receive the result of judgement of transition to a DRX Operation during Active, associated with a scheduled UE-side cell DRX active time, “…ST8 Receive the Result of the Judgement of transition to a DRX Operation Period during Active, and the DRX Cycle and the DTX Cycle...ST9 Does the Mobile Terminal Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX Operation Period during Active..Yes...ST10 Make a Transition to a DRX/DTX Operation period during Active...” ). Furthermore, JEON (US 20240237133 A1) who teaches features concerning power saving for wireless networks, teaches a power saving feature, DRX/DTX, where a DCI message is use to configure a power saving state (“[0098] A UE (e.g., UE 116) can be configured with a network operation state, incorporating the adaptation from cell DTX/DRX, spatial domain solution, and power domain solution, as well as other energy saving enhancements in the future. The followings are examples of possible network operation state configuration: Example 1: A network operation state can be associated with an active/non-active period of cell DTX/DRX, applied power offset, and/or active spatial elements; Example 2: A network operation state can be associated with a set of configurations for cell DTX/DRX, within multiple sets of configurations; Example 3: A network operation state can be associated with either activation or deactivation of cell DTX/DRX. [0099] In diagram 900 implemented as a method, a UE is provided from a serving cell via higher layer signaling, e.g., RRC, one or multiple network operation states and receives DCI triggering state transition. For example, there can be 3 DTX states (together with the ‘ON’ state), each corresponding to a value for {on-duration, offset, maybe Inactivity Timer}−DCI format 2_9 has 2 bits to indicate 1 of the 3 DTX states (or the ‘ON’ state). In another example, there can be an active and inactive states of a DTX configuration—DCI format 2_9 has one bit to indicate. The DRX state can be similarly indicated in the DCI format 2_9.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of JEON it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power saving feature of MAEDA in view of ZHOU, by adopting use of the DCI message to carry information for indicating and/or controlling DTX/DRX state (i.e. early termination indicator), to thus arrive at claim 26, in order to provide a benefit of a reliable method to deliver the early termination indicator.
Claim(s) 11, 13, 25, and 27, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA (US 20110019602 A1 ) in view of ZHOU (US 20230371113 A1) in view of MOON (US 20240267985 A1).
In regards to claim 11, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on the UE of claim 8, wherein the early termination indicator is included in a downlink control information (DCI) message. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power-saving in a wireless network. MOON (US 20240267985 A1) teaches a feature where a DCI message is a group DCI message, comprising configuration information indicating a power-saving state using a single bit of the group DCI message (“[0169] The terminal may receive the activation or inactivation indication for the cell DTX operation and/or cell DRX operation through the DCI. For example, a group common DCI may include information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DTX operation configured in the terminal and/or information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DRX operation configured in the terminal. The information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DTX operation configured in the terminal and the information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DRX operation configured in the terminal may each be expressed as 1 bit, and the information may be included in a DCI payload of the DCI. The indication for activation or inactivation of the cell DTX/DRX operation may be performed on a serving cell basis. The DCI may be referred to as ‘network energy saving (NES) DCI’.).”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of MOON it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adopt use of a DCI message to carry to power-saving state information, such as the early termination indicator of MAEDA to thus arrive at claim 11, in order to provide a benefit of an efficient means to deliver the early termination indication information to a group of terminal devices.
In regards to claim 13, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on The UE of claim 11, wherein the DCI message is a group DCI message, and wherein the early termination indicator comprises a single bit of the group DCI message. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power-saving in a wireless network. MOON (US 20240267985 A1) teaches a feature where a DCI message is a group DCI message, comprising configuration information indicating a power-saving state using a single bit of the group DCI message (“[0169] The terminal may receive the activation or inactivation indication for the cell DTX operation and/or cell DRX operation through the DCI. For example, a group common DCI may include information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DTX operation configured in the terminal and/or information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DRX operation configured in the terminal. The information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DTX operation configured in the terminal and the information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DRX operation configured in the terminal may each be expressed as 1 bit, and the information may be included in a DCI payload of the DCI. The indication for activation or inactivation of the cell DTX/DRX operation may be performed on a serving cell basis. The DCI may be referred to as ‘network energy saving (NES) DCI’.).”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of MOON it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adopt use of a group DCI message to carry to power-saving state information, such as the early termination indicator of MAEDA in a single bit to thus arrive at claim 13, in order to provide a benefit of an efficient means to deliver the early termination indication information to a group of terminal devices.
In regards to claim 25, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on the network entity of claim 22, wherein the early termination indicator is included in a downlink control information (DCI) message. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerned with power-saving in wireless networks. MOON teaches a power saving feature such as DRX/DTX, where a group DCI message is use to configure a power saving state (“[0169] The terminal may receive the activation or inactivation indication for the cell DTX operation and/or cell DRX operation through the DCI. For example, a group common DCI may include information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DTX operation configured in the terminal and/or information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DRX operation configured in the terminal. The information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DTX operation configured in the terminal and the information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DRX operation configured in the terminal may each be expressed as 1 bit, and the information may be included in a DCI payload of the DCI. The indication for activation or inactivation of the cell DTX/DRX operation may be performed on a serving cell basis. The DCI may be referred to as ‘network energy saving (NES) DCI’.).”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of MOON it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power saving feature of MAEDA, to adopt use of a group DCI message to carry to power-saving state information, such as the early termination indicator of MAEDA to thus arrive at claim 25, in order to provide a benefit of an efficient means to deliver the early termination indication information to a group of terminal devices.
In regards to claim 27, MAEDA in view of ZHOU is silent on the network entity of claim 25, wherein the DCI message is a group DCI message, and wherein the early termination indicator comprises a single bit of the group DCI message. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art concerned with power-saving in wireless networks. MOON teaches a power saving feature such as DRX/DTX, where a group DCI message is use to configure a power saving state (“[0169] The terminal may receive the activation or inactivation indication for the cell DTX operation and/or cell DRX operation through the DCI. For example, a group common DCI may include information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DTX operation configured in the terminal and/or information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DRX operation configured in the terminal. The information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DTX operation configured in the terminal and the information indicating to activate or inactivate the cell DRX operation configured in the terminal may each be expressed as 1 bit, and the information may be included in a DCI payload of the DCI. The indication for activation or inactivation of the cell DTX/DRX operation may be performed on a serving cell basis. The DCI may be referred to as ‘network energy saving (NES) DCI’.).”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of MOON it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power saving feature of MAEDA, to adopt use of a group DCI message to carry to power-saving state information, such as the early termination indicator of MAEDA to thus arrive at claim 27, in order to provide a benefit of an efficient means to deliver the early termination indication information to a group of terminal devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-6, 10, 18, 20-21, 24, 29, and 30, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476