DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application on 01/07/2026 after final rejection of 10/27/2025 and advisory action of 01/02/2026. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 01/07/2026 has been entered. The Office action on currently pending elected claims 21, 25, 29-30, 34, 37 and 39 follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 25, 29-30, 34, 37 and 39, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Independent claims 21 and 30 recite the limitations: “a common radiator”, “first (second) thermal pathways in fluid communication with…the common radiator”, and “wherein the first thermal pathways are independent from the second thermal pathways”.
Relevant portion of the specification teach that the term “independent” means “thermally independent or isolated from one another” (par. [0037], emphasis added)1.
However, the specification does not teach how said thermal independence is achieved if the “common radiator” is employed. The presence of the “common radiator” means exactly the opposite, i.e., that said first and second thermal pathways are thermally interconnected via said “common radiator” (i.e., not “thermally independent or isolated from one another” as claimed).
After considering all of the Wands factors (and specifically, that there is no adequate direction provided by the inventor/applicant, no existence of the working examples (as per the current record), and that there is low predictability of the claimed functions in the relevant arts), the Office has concluded that the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the instant disclosure will be high and undue to a person of the ordinary skill, and therefore, such a person will not be able to make and use the claimed invention without resorting to undue experimentation. See In re Brown, 477 F.2d 946, 177 USPQ 691 (CCPA 1973); In re Ghiron, 442 F.2d 985, 169 USPQ 723 (CCPA 1971).
The remaining dependent claims have been also rejected along with said independent claims 21 and 30, since they inherit the aforementioned problems of said independent claims.
Claims 21, 25, 29-30, 34, 37 and 39, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 21 and 30 recite the limitations: “at least one pump, each pump of the at least one pump in fluid communication with the first heat transfer circuit and/or the second heat transfer circuit”. This construction is convoluted, redundant and logically inconsistent. It uses “at least one pump” (singular or plural), but then uses “each pump” (implying multiple), which creates ambiguity. If there is only one pump, saying “each” is awkward. If there is multiple pumps, “at least one” does not properly introduce the full set that “each” refers to. Appropriate correction is required (e.g., “at least one pump in fluid communication”). Furter, it’s not clear why conjunction “and/or” is recites, since in the embodiment of the elected Species of Fig. 4, the pump is in fluid communication with both heat transfer circuits. Further, dependent claims 29 and 39 also recite the conjunction “and/or” (l. 7). The combined and nested use of conjunctions “and/or”, particularly when applied to different elements that may or may not be present together, creates uncertainty as to the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. The layering of multiple alternatives and logical dependencies renders the scope of the claims ambiguous, as one cannot determine with reasonable certainty what combinations are included or excluded. Accordingly the aforementioned claims are indefinite. Applicant must amend relevant claims by replacing the conjunctions “and/or” with “and” to read on the embodiment of the elected Species of Fig. 4.
The remaining dependent claims have been also rejected along with said independent claims 21 and 30, since they inherit the aforementioned problems of said independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 21, 29, 30, 37, and 39, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 7, 675, 748 to Matsushima et al. (hereafter “Matsushima”).
Regarding claims 21, 30, and 37, as best understood, Matsushima discloses a device (Figs. 11, 14), comprising: a first heat generating element (26) and a second heat generating element (26) disposed on a support structure (27, 31); and a cooling system comprising: a heat transfer system, comprising: a first heat exchanger (100) disposed adjacent to the first heat generating element; a second heat exchanger (100) disposed adjacent to the second heat generating element; a common radiator (102); a fan (33, 34) disposed adjacent to the common radiator; a first heat transfer circuit having first thermal pathways (101) in fluid communication with the first heat exchanger, and the common radiator; a second heat transfer circuit having second thermal pathways (101) in fluid communication with the second heat exchanger and the common radiator; and at least one pump (107), each pump of the at least one pump in fluid communication with the first heat transfer circuit and/or the second heat transfer circuit; and a motor (inherently present) having an output shaft coupled with the fan (inherently), wherein the first thermal pathways are independent from the second thermal pathways.
Examiner's Note: the preamble limitations “a portable device” and “for a portable device” are directed to the intended use, and inasmuch as it imparts any additional structure, and absent any evidence to the contrary, the device of Matsushima is capable of acting in such a manner. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, as in the instant case, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In view of the above, these intended use limitations do not have any significant patentable weight.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the device of Matsushima a portable one, in order to simplify maintenance, since it has been held that making an old device portable or movable without producing any new and unexpected result involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Lindberg, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952). Also, it should be recognized that the cooling system of Malone would perform exactly the same in a portable device (e.g., laptop computer, notebook, etc.).
Regarding claims 29 and 39, as best understood, Matsushima discloses that the first thermal pathways comprise: a first conduit (101) fluidly connected to a fluid inlet port of the first heat exchanger (100), the first conduit configured to convey, to the first heat exchanger, a liquid at a first temperature; and a second conduit (101) fluidly connected to a fluid outlet port of the first heat exchanger, the second conduit configured to convey, away from the first heat exchanger, the liquid at a second temperature different from the first temperature; and/or the second thermal pathways comprise: a first conduit (101) fluidly connected to a fluid inlet port of the second heat exchanger (100), the first conduit configured to convey, to the second heat exchanger, a liquid at a third temperature; and a second conduit fluidly connected to a fluid outlet port of the second heat exchanger (100), the second conduit configured to convey, away from the second heat exchanger, the liquid at a fourth temperature different from the third temperature (the aforementioned differences in temperature would inherently occur due to the fact that the incoming cooling fluid will be warmed-up by accepting heat dissipated by the heat generating elements (26)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25 and 34, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushima in view of US 2002/0075645 to Kitano et al. (hereafter “Kitano”, cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 25 and 34, Matsushima does not disclose that the pump includes a piezoelectric pump.
Kitano discloses (Figs. 1-3) a liquid cooling arrangement for a portable computer comprising a piezoelectric pump (1) for the benefits of achieving small-sizing, low electric power consumption and low noises (par. [0014] and [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cooling system in the device of Matsushima with a piezoelectric pump, as taught by Kitano, for the benefits of achieving small-sizing, low electric power consumption and low noises (Kitano, par. [0014] and [0025]). Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2835
1 Claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. MPEP 2111