DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0239865 (hereinafter, “HU”) in view of US 2022/0191899 (hereinafter, “HWANG”), and further in view of US 2018/0367278 (hereinafter, “CHATTERJEE”).
Regarding claim 1, HU discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (UE device 104), comprising:
memory; and (memory 220)
one or more processors coupled to the memory, and configured to cause the UE to: (processor 216)
receive, . . . , a first communication that schedules a first data transmission with associated feedback, (¶ 0098: UE logic 350 may receive transmission scheduling information (352, e.g., in a transmission from a basestation). The first example UE logic 350 may obtain a repetition-related parameter for data transmission scheduling from the transmission scheduling information (354); ¶ 0018: [T]he DCI formats used for PDSCH also include ‘PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback’)
wherein the first communication includes first information associated with the first data transmission . . . ; (¶ 0018: [U]se the DCI to signal repetition parameter values and/or changes, the bits may be added to the DCI, existing bit may be reinterpreted (e.g., conditionally), or existing bits may be reassigned. In the illustrative examples below, the PUSCH is configured by format 0_0, 0_1, and 0_2, the PDSCH is configured by format 1_0, 1_1 and 1_2. In these formats, certain bits may be conditionally reinterpreted depending on whether the HARQ process feedback is disabled or enabled. In the examples, various bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as new data indicator (NDI), Redundancy version (RV), and Downlink assignment index (DAI); ¶ 0019: Repetition may, in some cases, refer to . . . aggregation (the repetition data may be another redundancy version of the initial data))
HU does not explicitly disclose:
before a radio resource control (RRC) configuration procedure or an RRC reconfiguration procedure,
wherein the first communication includes . . . a first redundancy version indicator (rv Index);
attempt to receive the first data transmission based on the first information; and
transmit, based on the first rv Index, a first quantity of repetitions of first data feedback for the first data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
before a radio resource control (RRC) configuration procedure or an RRC reconfiguration procedure, (¶ 0069: The random access procedure is performed during . . . handover requiring the random access procedure, or upon generation of UL/DL data requiring the random access procedure in RRC connected mode (or RRC_CONNECTED state); ¶ 0186: [S]ignaling may be information configured by higher-layer signaling such as an SIB or RRC signaling or information configured dynamically by DCI. Subsequently, in the presence of data to be transmitted to the UE or data to be received from the UE, the BS transmits DCI that schedules (transmission/reception of) one or more TBs (or DCI for DL data transmission or DCI for UL data reception) to the UE (S1704) [Thus, HWANG teaches “information configured dynamically by DCI,”—as an alternative to “RRC signaling”—wherein receipt of the DCI, independent of any RRC signaling in connection with at least an RRC reconfiguration procedure, impliedly occurs before such RRC reconfiguration procedure])
attempt to receive the first data transmission based on the first information; and (¶ 0190: DL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PDSCH (S1706 or S1806))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, CHATTERJEE teaches:
wherein the first communication includes . . . a first redundancy version indicator (rv Index); (¶¶ 0037-0038: [T]he DCI can point to or can indicate a specific index of the HARQ-ACK reporting subframe wherein the first subframe of the HARQ-ACK report transmission is transmitted by the UE. Any repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying the HARQ-ACK can be transmitted either on the consecutive valid/available UL subframes starting from the first one. Alternatively, repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying the HARQ-ACK can be transmitted only on the set of UL subframes that are configured to carry HARQ-ACK reports. [0038] In various embodiments, a single redundancy version (RV), e.g., RVO, can be used to transmit any repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying HARQ-ACK transmissions, without any RV cycling)
transmit, based on the first rv Index, a first quantity of repetitions of first data feedback for the first data transmission. (¶ 0172: [E]ncode repetitions of the HARQ feedback based on a single redundancy version (RV); ¶ 0030: [S]ome of the relevant resource allocation information of the UL grant for HARQ-ACK reporting can be transmitted in the DCI carrying the DL assignment for the NPDSCH itself. Such information can include . . . the number of repetitions to use for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK report; ¶ 0033: [I]ndications contained in the DCI can be processed to determine an UL grant for HARQ-ACK feedback. The DCI information can include information on . . . the number of repetitions to use for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK report; ¶ 0040: [T]he number of repetitions used to transmit the HARQ-ACK feedback can be indicated using the DCI that would point to or indicate an index of the set of repetition numbers configured by higher layers; ¶ 0117: [T]he [DCI] indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback; ¶ 0145: [T]he [DCI] indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors to provide techniques for transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback reporting—as taught by CHATTERJEE —so as to overcome scheduling inefficiency for transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback in the uplink, and thereby avoid resource wastage in the downlink as well as extraneous UE power consumption. See CHATTERJEE, at ¶¶ 0029-0030.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1. HU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first rv Index maps to the first quantity of the repetitions.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHATTERJEE teaches:
wherein the first rv Index maps to the first quantity of the repetitions. (¶ 0117: [T]he indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 2. HU further discloses:
further comprising:
one or more antennas (antenna 232) coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive, via the one or more antennas, a configuration that configures a mapping between the first rv Index and the first quantity of the repetitions. (¶¶ 0028-0029: [O]ne bit from the RV field may be reinterpreted for indication of repetition-related parameter values or HARQ process number values. As a result, the system may support two RV values (e.g., for the one remaining bit) for scheduling, where prior to reinterpretation four values may have been supported (e.g., using two bits). In various radio standards, if only a single bit is used for RV indication, the RV for scheduling will be 0 or 1. In some cases, to increase the flexibility in RV combinations to provide benefits during re-transmission, additional indications may be used allow selection from among 0, 1, and two additional RV values. Table 6A from following table for signaling for RV values)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1. HU further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a set of repetition factors, wherein the set of repetition factors include at least two values, and wherein the set of repetition factors includes the first quantity of the repetitions. (¶ 0053: [C]orresponding bit fields in DCI refer to an index which corresponds to the repetition number. If x bits can be used to dynamically indicate the repetition number, the x bits can refer to a maximum of 2x index values, corresponding a maximum of 2x different repetition numbers of transmission. In these illustrative examples, the various repetition number values may be specified via the radio standard (or otherwise established by default))
Regarding claim 5, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1. HU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein to attempt to receive the first data transmission, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:
apply a second rv Index to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received based on the first information, wherein the second rv Index is a configured value applied to a new data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
apply a second rv Index to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received based on the first information, wherein the second rv Index is a configured value applied to a new data transmission. (¶ 0194: [R]epeated TB transmissions may amount to repeated transmissions, in subframes, of a physical channel scheduled for data transmission by DCI such as a PDSCH or a PUSCH, as is done in MTC; ¶ 0195: [I]nterpreting the RV indication information . . . in a different manner according to a repetition number configured by the BS; ¶ 0196: When an RV is changed at each of repeated TB transmissions, that is, RC cycling is applied to the repeated TB transmissions . . . . For example, when there are a total of four available RV states (e.g., RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) as in MTC, and an RV is cyclically used for each subframe, more RVs are used for a larger repetition number)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1. HU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein to attempt to receive the first data transmission, the one or more processors are configured to:
apply the first rv Index to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received based on the first information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
apply the first rv Index to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received based on the first information. (¶ 0190: DL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PDSCH (S1706 or S1806); ¶ 0250: UE may determine the RV and whether to apply FH based on the information obtained from the DCI, and may receive or transmit the scheduled TB(s) from or to the BS (e.g., S1806))
Regarding claim 7, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1. HU further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
store the first rv Index of the first communication; (¶ 0098: UE logic 350 may receive transmission scheduling information (352, e.g., in a transmission from a basestation))
HU does not explicitly disclose:
receive a second communication that schedules a second data transmission, wherein the second communication includes second information for reception of the second data transmission and a second rv Index, and
wherein the second data transmission is a retransmission of the first data transmission;
attempt to receive the second data transmission based on the second information; and
transmit the first quantity of the repetitions of second data feedback for the second data transmission based on the first rv Index.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
receive a second communication that schedules a second data transmission, wherein the second communication includes second information for reception of the second data transmission and a second rv Index, (¶ 0011: DCI being repeated two or more times; ¶ 0018: [U]se the DCI to signal repetition parameter values and/or changes, the bits may be added to the DCI, existing bit may be reinterpreted (e.g., conditionally), or existing bits may be reassigned. In the illustrative examples below, the PUSCH is configured by format 0_0, 0_1, and 0_2, the PDSCH is configured by format 1_0, 1_1 and 1_2. In these formats, certain bits may be conditionally reinterpreted depending on whether the HARQ process feedback is disabled or enabled. In the examples, various bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as . . . Redundancy version (RV); ¶ 0019: Repetition may, in some cases, refer to . . . aggregation (the repetition data may be another redundancy version of the initial data))
wherein the second data transmission is a retransmission of the first data transmission; (FIG. 19: 1st, 2nd, Nth DL Data Transmissions; ¶ 0194: [T]he same TB may be repeatedly transmitted for coverage extension, and a repetition number for the TB may be configured by the BS. For example, repeated TB transmissions may amount to repeated transmissions, in subframes, of a physical channel scheduled for data transmission by DCI such as a PDSCH or a PUSCH, as is done in MTC)
attempt to receive the second data transmission based on the second information; and (¶ 0190: UL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUSCH (S1706 or S1806), DL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PDSCH (S1706 or S1806))
transmit the first quantity of the repetitions of second data feedback for the second data transmission based on the first rv Index. (¶ 0190: HARQ-ACK feedback may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUCCH (S1708 or S1808))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1. HU further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
indicate that the UE supports a capability to transmit one or more repetitions of data feedback; and (¶ 0018: [V]arious bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as new data indicator (NDI))
use the first rv Index to determine the first quantity of the repetitions based on support for the capability. (¶ 0028: [O]ne bit from the RV field may be reinterpreted for indication of repetition-related parameter values or HARQ process number values. As a result, the system may support two RV values (e.g., for the one remaining bit) for scheduling)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 1. HU further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
skip transmission of capability information that indicates the UE supports a capability to transmit one or more repetitions of data feedback; and (¶ 0018: [V]arious bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as new data indicator (NDI) [HU, at ¶ 0099, further discloses omitting a repetition-related parameter to control data transmission scheduling from the DCI. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, to skip transmission of capability information associated with the repetition-related parameter omitted from the DCI, since transmission thereof would be unnecessary.])
HU does not explicitly disclose:
transmit one repetition of the first data feedback.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
transmit one repetition of the first data feedback. (¶ 0190: HARQ-ACK feedback may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUCCH (S1708 or S1808))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Regarding claim 10, HU discloses:
A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), (UE device 104) comprising:
receiving, . . . , a first communication scheduling a first data transmission with associated feedback, (¶ 0098: UE logic 350 may receive transmission scheduling information (352, e.g., in a transmission from a basestation). The first example UE logic 350 may obtain a repetition-related parameter for data transmission scheduling from the transmission scheduling information (354); ¶ 0018: [T]he DCI formats used for PDSCH also include ‘PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback’)
the first communication including first information associated with the first data transmission . . . ; (¶ 0018: [U]se the DCI to signal repetition parameter values and/or changes, the bits may be added to the DCI, existing bit may be reinterpreted (e.g., conditionally), or existing bits may be reassigned. In the illustrative examples below, the PUSCH is configured by format 0_0, 0_1, and 0_2, the PDSCH is configured by format 1_0, 1_1 and 1_2. In these formats, certain bits may be conditionally reinterpreted depending on whether the HARQ process feedback is disabled or enabled. In the examples, various bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as new data indicator (NDI), Redundancy version (RV), and Downlink assignment index (DAI); ¶ 0019: Repetition may, in some cases, refer to . . . aggregation (the repetition data may be another redundancy version of the initial data))
HU does not explicitly disclose:
before performing a radio resource control (RRC) configuration procedure or an RRC reconfiguration procedure,
the first communication including . . . a first redundancy version indicator (rv Index)
attempting to receive the first data transmission based on the first information; and
transmitting, based on the first rv Index, a first quantity of repetitions of first data feedback for the first data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
before performing a radio resource control (RRC) configuration procedure or an RRC reconfiguration procedure, (¶ 0069: The random access procedure is performed during . . . handover requiring the random access procedure, or upon generation of UL/DL data requiring the random access procedure in RRC connected mode (or RRC_CONNECTED state); ¶ 0186: [S]ignaling may be information configured by higher-layer signaling such as an SIB or RRC signaling or information configured dynamically by DCI. Subsequently, in the presence of data to be transmitted to the UE or data to be received from the UE, the BS transmits DCI that schedules (transmission/reception of) one or more TBs (or DCI for DL data transmission or DCI for UL data reception) to the UE (S1704) [Thus, HWANG teaches “information configured dynamically by DCI,”—as an alternative to “RRC signaling”—wherein receipt of the DCI, independent of any RRC signaling in connection with at least an RRC reconfiguration procedure, impliedly occurs before such RRC reconfiguration procedure])
attempting to receive the first data transmission based on the first information; and (¶ 0190: DL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PDSCH (S1706 or S1806))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, CHATTERJEE teaches:
the first communication including . . . a first redundancy version indicator (rv Index) (¶¶ 0037-0038: [T]he DCI can point to or can indicate a specific index of the HARQ-ACK reporting subframe wherein the first subframe of the HARQ-ACK report transmission is transmitted by the UE. Any repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying the HARQ-ACK can be transmitted either on the consecutive valid/available UL subframes starting from the first one. Alternatively, repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying the HARQ-ACK can be transmitted only on the set of UL subframes that are configured to carry HARQ-ACK reports. [0038] In various embodiments, a single redundancy version (RV), e.g., RVO, can be used to transmit any repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying HARQ-ACK transmissions, without any RV cycling)
transmitting, based on the first rv Index, a first quantity of repetitions of first data feedback for the first data transmission. (¶ 0172: [E]ncode repetitions of the HARQ feedback based on a single redundancy version (RV); ¶ 0030: [S]ome of the relevant resource allocation information of the UL grant for HARQ-ACK reporting can be transmitted in the DCI carrying the DL assignment for the NPDSCH itself. Such information can include . . . the number of repetitions to use for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK report; ¶ 0033: [I]ndications contained in the DCI can be processed to determine an UL grant for HARQ-ACK feedback. The DCI information can include information on . . . the number of repetitions to use for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK report; ¶ 0040: [T]he number of repetitions used to transmit the HARQ-ACK feedback can be indicated using the DCI that would point to or indicate an index of the set of repetition numbers configured by higher layers; ¶ 0117: [T]he [DCI] indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback; ¶ 0145: [T]he [DCI] indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors to provide techniques for transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback reporting—as taught by CHATTERJEE —so as to overcome scheduling inefficiency for transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback in the uplink, and thereby avoid resource wastage in the downlink as well as extraneous UE power consumption. See CHATTERJEE, at ¶¶ 0029-0030.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 10. HU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first rv Index maps to the first quantity of the repetitions.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHATTERJEE teaches:
wherein the first rv Index maps to the first quantity of the repetitions. (¶ 0117: [T]he indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 11. HU further discloses:
further comprising:
receiving a configuration configuring a mapping between the first rv Index and the first quantity of the repetitions. (¶¶ 0028-0029: [O]ne bit from the RV field may be reinterpreted for indication of repetition-related parameter values or HARQ process number values. As a result, the system may support two RV values (e.g., for the one remaining bit) for scheduling, where prior to reinterpretation four values may have been supported (e.g., using two bits). In various radio standards, if only a single bit is used for RV indication, the RV for scheduling will be 0 or 1. In some cases, to increase the flexibility in RV combinations to provide benefits during re-transmission, additional indications may be used allow selection from among 0, 1, and two additional RV values. Table 6A from following table for signaling for RV values)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 10. HU further discloses:
further comprising:
receiving an indication of a set of repetition factors, the set of repetition factors including at least two values, and wherein the set of repetition factors includes the first quantity of the repetitions. (¶ 0053: [C]orresponding bit fields in DCI refer to an index which corresponds to the repetition number. If x bits can be used to dynamically indicate the repetition number, the x bits can refer to a maximum of 2x index values, corresponding a maximum of 2x different repetition numbers of transmission. In these illustrative examples, the various repetition number values may be specified via the radio standard (or otherwise established by default))
Regarding claim 14, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 10. HU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein attempting to receive the first data transmission includes:
applying a second rv Index to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received based on the first information, wherein the second rv Index is a configured value applied to a new data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
applying a second rv Index to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received based on the first information, wherein the second rv Index is a configured value applied to a new data transmission. (¶ 0194: [R]epeated TB transmissions may amount to repeated transmissions, in subframes, of a physical channel scheduled for data transmission by DCI such as a PDSCH or a PUSCH, as is done in MTC; ¶ 0195: [I]nterpreting the RV indication information . . . in a different manner according to a repetition number configured by the BS; ¶ 0196: When an RV is changed at each of repeated TB transmissions, that is, RC cycling is applied to the repeated TB transmissions . . . . For example, when there are a total of four available RV states (e.g., RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) as in MTC, and an RV is cyclically used for each subframe, more RVs are used for a larger repetition number)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 10. HU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein attempting to receive the first data transmission includes:
applying the first rv Index to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received based on the first information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHATTERJEE teaches:
applying the first rv Index to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission received based on the first information. (¶ 0190: DL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PDSCH (S1706 or S1806); ¶ 0250: UE may determine the RV and whether to apply FH based on the information obtained from the DCI, and may receive or transmit the scheduled TB(s) from or to the BS (e.g., S1806))
Regarding claim 16, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 10. HU further discloses:
further comprising:
storing the first rv Index of the first communication; (¶ 0098: UE logic 350 may receive transmission scheduling information (352, e.g., in a transmission from a basestation))
HU does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a second communication scheduling a second data transmission, the second communication including second information for receiving the second data transmission and a second rv Index,
wherein the second data transmission is a retransmission of the first data transmission;
attempting to receive the second data transmission based on the second information; and
transmitting the first quantity of the repetitions of second data feedback for the second data transmission based on the first rv Index.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
receiving a second communication scheduling a second data transmission, the second communication including second information for receiving the second data transmission and a second rv Index, (¶ 0011: DCI being repeated two or more times; ¶ 0018: [U]se the DCI to signal repetition parameter values and/or changes, the bits may be added to the DCI, existing bit may be reinterpreted (e.g., conditionally), or existing bits may be reassigned. In the illustrative examples below, the PUSCH is configured by format 0_0, 0_1, and 0_2, the PDSCH is configured by format 1_0, 1_1 and 1_2. In these formats, certain bits may be conditionally reinterpreted depending on whether the HARQ process feedback is disabled or enabled. In the examples, various bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as . . . Redundancy version (RV); ¶ 0019: Repetition may, in some cases, refer to . . . aggregation (the repetition data may be another redundancy version of the initial data))
wherein the second data transmission is a retransmission of the first data transmission; (FIG. 19: 1st, 2nd, Nth DL Data Transmissions; ¶ 0194: [T]he same TB may be repeatedly transmitted for coverage extension, and a repetition number for the TB may be configured by the BS. For example, repeated TB transmissions may amount to repeated transmissions, in subframes, of a physical channel scheduled for data transmission by DCI such as a PDSCH or a PUSCH, as is done in MTC)
attempting to receive the second data transmission based on the second information; and (¶ 0190: UL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUSCH (S1706 or S1806), DL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PDSCH (S1706 or S1806))
transmitting the first quantity of the repetitions of second data feedback for the second data transmission based on the first rv Index. (¶ 0190: HARQ-ACK feedback may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUCCH (S1708 or S1808))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 10. HU further discloses:
further comprising:
indicating that the UE supports a capability to transmit one or more repetitions of data feedback; and (¶ 0018: [V]arious bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as new data indicator (NDI))
using the first rv Index to determine the first quantity of the repetitions based on support for the capability. (¶ 0028: [O]ne bit from the RV field may be reinterpreted for indication of repetition-related parameter values or HARQ process number values. As a result, the system may support two RV values (e.g., for the one remaining bit) for scheduling)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 10. HU further discloses:
further comprising:
skipping transmission of capability information indicating that the UE supports a capability to transmit one or more repetitions of data feedback; and (¶ 0018: [V]arious bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as new data indicator (NDI) [HU, at ¶ 0099, further discloses omitting a repetition-related parameter to control data transmission scheduling from the DCI. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, to skip transmission of capability information associated with the repetition-related parameter omitted from the DCI, since transmission thereof would be unnecessary.])
HU does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting one repetition of the first data feedback.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
transmitting one repetition of the first data feedback. (¶ 0190: HARQ-ACK feedback may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUCCH (S1708 or S1808))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Regarding claim 19, HU discloses:
An apparatus (system circuitry 122) for wireless communication at a network entity, (basestation 102) comprising:
memory; and (memory 126)
one more processors (processors 124) coupled to the memory and configured to cause the network entity to:
output . . . a first communication that schedules a first data transmission with associated feedback, (¶ 0097: [C]ommunication node logic 300 for a wireless communication node (or other basestation) and first example UE logic 350 for a UE is shown. The first example communication node logic 300 may include a repetition-related parameter for data transmission scheduling within transmission scheduling information (302); ¶ 0018: [T]he DCI formats used for PDSCH also include ‘PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback’)
wherein the first communication includes first information for reception of the first data transmission . . . ; (¶ 0018: [U]se the DCI to signal repetition parameter values and/or changes, the bits may be added to the DCI, existing bit may be reinterpreted (e.g., conditionally), or existing bits may be reassigned. In the illustrative examples below, the PUSCH is configured by format 0_0, 0_1, and 0_2, the PDSCH is configured by format 1_0, 1_1 and 1_2. In these formats, certain bits may be conditionally reinterpreted depending on whether the HARQ process feedback is disabled or enabled. In the examples, various bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as new data indicator (NDI), Redundancy version (RV), and Downlink assignment index (DAI); ¶ 0019: Repetition may, in some cases, refer to . . . aggregation (the repetition data may be another redundancy version of the initial data))
HU does not explicitly disclose:
before a radio resource control (RRC) configuration procedure or an RRC reconfiguration procedure,
wherein the first communication includes. . . a first redundancy version indicator (rv Index)
output the first data transmission based on the first information; and
obtain, based on the first rv Index, a first quantity of repetitions of first data feedback for the first data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
before a radio resource control (RRC) configuration procedure or an RRC reconfiguration procedure, (¶ 0069: The random access procedure is performed during . . . handover requiring the random access procedure, or upon generation of UL/DL data requiring the random access procedure in RRC connected mode (or RRC_CONNECTED state); ¶ 0186: [S]ignaling may be information configured by higher-layer signaling such as an SIB or RRC signaling or information configured dynamically by DCI. Subsequently, in the presence of data to be transmitted to the UE or data to be received from the UE, the BS transmits DCI that schedules (transmission/reception of) one or more TBs (or DCI for DL data transmission or DCI for UL data reception) to the UE (S1704) [Thus, HWANG teaches “information configured dynamically by DCI,”—as an alternative to “RRC signaling”—wherein receipt of the DCI, independent of any RRC signaling in connection with at least an RRC reconfiguration procedure, impliedly occurs before such RRC reconfiguration procedure])
output the first data transmission based on the first information; and (¶ 0190: UL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUSCH (S1706 or S1806), DL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PDSCH (S1706 or S1806))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, CHATTERJEE teaches:
wherein the first communication includes . . . a first redundancy version indicator (rv Index) (¶¶ 0037-0038: [T]he DCI can point to or can indicate a specific index of the HARQ-ACK reporting subframe wherein the first subframe of the HARQ-ACK report transmission is transmitted by the UE. Any repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying the HARQ-ACK can be transmitted either on the consecutive valid/available UL subframes starting from the first one. Alternatively, repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying the HARQ-ACK can be transmitted only on the set of UL subframes that are configured to carry HARQ-ACK reports. [0038] In various embodiments, a single redundancy version (RV), e.g., RVO, can be used to transmit any repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying HARQ-ACK transmissions, without any RV cycling)
obtain, based on the first rv Index, a first quantity of repetitions of first data feedback for the first data transmission. (¶ 0172: [E]ncode repetitions of the HARQ feedback based on a single redundancy version (RV); ¶ 0030: [S]ome of the relevant resource allocation information of the UL grant for HARQ-ACK reporting can be transmitted in the DCI carrying the DL assignment for the NPDSCH itself. Such information can include . . . the number of repetitions to use for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK report; ¶ 0033: [I]ndications contained in the DCI can be processed to determine an UL grant for HARQ-ACK feedback. The DCI information can include information on . . . the number of repetitions to use for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK report; ¶ 0040: [T]he number of repetitions used to transmit the HARQ-ACK feedback can be indicated using the DCI that would point to or indicate an index of the set of repetition numbers configured by higher layers; ¶ 0117: [T]he [DCI] indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback; ¶ 0145: [T]he [DCI] indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors to provide techniques for transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback reporting—as taught by CHATTERJEE —so as to overcome scheduling inefficiency for transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback in the uplink, and thereby avoid resource wastage in the downlink as well as extraneous UE power consumption. See CHATTERJEE, at ¶¶ 0029-0030.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 19. HU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first rv Index maps to the first quantity of the repetitions.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHATTERJEE teaches:
wherein the first rv Index maps to the first quantity of the repetitions. (¶ 0117: [T]he indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback)
Regarding claim 21, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 20. HU further discloses:
further comprising:
one or more antennas (antenna 232) coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to:
configure a mapping between the first rv Index and the first quantity of the repetitions. (¶¶ 0028-0029: [O]ne bit from the RV field may be reinterpreted for indication of repetition-related parameter values or HARQ process number values. As a result, the system may support two RV values (e.g., for the one remaining bit) for scheduling, where prior to reinterpretation four values may have been supported (e.g., using two bits). In various radio standards, if only a single bit is used for RV indication, the RV for scheduling will be 0 or 1. In some cases, to increase the flexibility in RV combinations to provide benefits during re-transmission, additional indications may be used allow selection from among 0, 1, and two additional RV values. Table 6A from following table for signaling for RV values)
Regarding claim 22, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 19. HU further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
configure a set of repetition factors, wherein the set of repetition factors includes at least two values, and wherein the set of repetition factors includes the first quantity of the repetitions. (¶ 0053: [C]orresponding bit fields in DCI refer to an index which corresponds to the repetition number. If x bits can be used to dynamically indicate the repetition number, the x bits can refer to a maximum of 2x index values, corresponding a maximum of 2x different repetition numbers of transmission. In these illustrative examples, the various repetition number values may be specified via the radio standard (or otherwise established by default))
Regarding claim 23, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 19. HU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to:
output a second communication scheduling a second data transmission,
wherein the second communication includes second information for reception of the second data transmission and a second rv Index, and
wherein the second data transmission is a retransmission of the first data transmission;
output the second data transmission based on the second information; and
obtain the first quantity of the repetitions of second data feedback for the second data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
output a second communication scheduling a second data transmission, wherein the second communication includes second information for reception of the second data transmission and a second rv Index, (¶ 0011: DCI being repeated two or more times; ¶ 0018: [U]se the DCI to signal repetition parameter values and/or changes, the bits may be added to the DCI, existing bit may be reinterpreted (e.g., conditionally), or existing bits may be reassigned. In the illustrative examples below, the PUSCH is configured by format 0_0, 0_1, and 0_2, the PDSCH is configured by format 1_0, 1_1 and 1_2. In these formats, certain bits may be conditionally reinterpreted depending on whether the HARQ process feedback is disabled or enabled. In the examples, various bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as . . . Redundancy version (RV); ¶ 0019: Repetition may, in some cases, refer to . . . aggregation (the repetition data may be another redundancy version of the initial data))
wherein the second data transmission is a retransmission of the first data transmission; (FIG. 19: 1st, 2nd, Nth DL Data Transmissions; ¶ 0194: [T]he same TB may be repeatedly transmitted for coverage extension, and a repetition number for the TB may be configured by the BS. For example, repeated TB transmissions may amount to repeated transmissions, in subframes, of a physical channel scheduled for data transmission by DCI such as a PDSCH or a PUSCH, as is done in MTC)
output the second data transmission based on the second information; and (¶ 0190: DL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PDSCH (S1706 or S1806))
obtain the first quantity of the repetitions of second data feedback for the second data transmission. (¶ 0190: HARQ-ACK feedback may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUCCH (S1708 or S1808))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 19. HU further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
obtain an indication that a user equipment (UE) supports a capability to transmit one or more repetitions of data feedback; and (¶ 0018: [V]arious bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as new data indicator (NDI))
monitor for the first quantity of the repetitions of the first data feedback based on the capability. (¶ 0028: [O]ne bit from the RV field may be reinterpreted for indication of repetition-related parameter values or HARQ process number values. As a result, the system may support two RV values (e.g., for the one remaining bit) for scheduling)
Regarding claim 25, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 19. HU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
output a second communication that schedules a second data transmission, wherein the second communication includes second information for reception of the second data transmission and a second rv Index, and wherein the second data transmission is a first new data transmission;
output a third communication that schedules a third data transmission based on an absence of detecting second data feedback for the second data transmission, wherein the third communication includes third information for reception of the third data transmission and a third rv Index, and wherein the third data transmission is a second new data transmission; and
monitor, based on the third rv Index, for a second quantity of repetitions of third data feedback for the third data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
output a second communication that schedules a second data transmission, wherein the second communication includies second information for reception of the second data transmission and a second rv Index, and wherein the second data transmission is a first new data transmission; (¶ 0196: When an RV is changed at each of repeated TB transmissions, that is, RC cycling is applied to the repeated TB transmissions, the proposed method may be advantageous. For example, when there are a total of four available RV states (e.g., RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) as in MTC, and an RV is cyclically used for each subframe, more RVs are used for a larger repetition number. The resulting increased probability of using all RV states decreases the need for RV scheduling by DCI)
output a third communication that schedules a third data transmission based on an absence of detecting second data feedback for the second data transmission, wherein the third communication includes third information for reception of the third data transmission and a third rv Index, and wherein the third data transmission is a second new data transmission; and (¶ 0196: When an RV is changed at each of repeated TB transmissions, that is, RC cycling is applied to the repeated TB transmissions, the proposed method may be advantageous. For example, when there are a total of four available RV states (e.g., RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) as in MTC, and an RV is cyclically used for each subframe, more RVs are used for a larger repetition number. The resulting increased probability of using all RV states decreases the need for RV scheduling by DCI)
monitor, based on the third rv Index, for a second quantity of repetitions of third data feedback for the third data transmission. (¶ 0178: BS may schedule PUSCH transmissions corresponding to up to four HARQ processes by one DCI, and the UE may perform a plurality of PUSCH transmissions only by one PDCCH monitoring)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s configuration of repetition factors to provide for application of RC cycling to the repeated TB transmissions as taught by HWANG so that the resulting increased probability of using all RV states decreases the need for RV scheduling by DCI such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the apparatus of claim 19. HU does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
output a second communication that schedules a second data transmission, wherein the second communication includes second information for reception of the second data transmission and a second rv Index, and wherein the second data transmission is a new data transmission;
output a third communication that schedules a third data transmission based on an absence of detecting second data feedback for the second data transmission, wherein the third communication includes third information for reception of the third data transmission and a third rv Index, and wherein the third data transmission is a retransmission of the second data transmission; and
monitor, based on the third rv Index, for a second quantity of repetitions of third data feedback for the third data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
output a second communication that schedules a second data transmission, wherein the second communication includes second information for reception of the second data transmission and a second rv Index, and wherein the second data transmission is a new data transmission; (¶ 0196: When an RV is changed at each of repeated TB transmissions, that is, RC cycling is applied to the repeated TB transmissions, the proposed method may be advantageous. For example, when there are a total of four available RV states (e.g., RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) as in MTC, and an RV is cyclically used for each subframe, more RVs are used for a larger repetition number. The resulting increased probability of using all RV states decreases the need for RV scheduling by DCI)
output a third communication that schedules a third data transmission based on an absence of detecting second data feedback for the second data transmission, wherein the third communication includes third information for reception of the third data transmission and a third rv Index, and wherein the third data transmission is a retransmission of the second data transmission; and (¶ 0196: When an RV is changed at each of repeated TB transmissions, that is, RC cycling is applied to the repeated TB transmissions, the proposed method may be advantageous. For example, when there are a total of four available RV states (e.g., RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) as in MTC, and an RV is cyclically used for each subframe, more RVs are used for a larger repetition number. The resulting increased probability of using all RV states decreases the need for RV scheduling by DCI)
monitor, based on the third rv Index, for a second quantity of repetitions of third data feedback for the third data transmission. (¶ 0178: BS may schedule PUSCH transmissions corresponding to up to four HARQ processes by one DCI, and the UE may perform a plurality of PUSCH transmissions only by one PDCCH monitoring)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s configuration of repetition factors to provide for application of RC cycling to the repeated TB transmissions as taught by HWANG so that the resulting increased probability of using all RV states decreases the need for RV scheduling by DCI such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Regarding claim 27, HU discloses:
A method of wireless communication at a network entity (basestation 102), comprising:
outputting . . . a first communication scheduling a first data transmission with associated feedback, (¶ 0097: [C]ommunication node logic 300 for a wireless communication node (or other basestation) and first example UE logic 350 for a UE is shown. The first example communication node logic 300 may include a repetition-related parameter for data transmission scheduling within transmission scheduling information (302); ¶ 0018: [T]he DCI formats used for PDSCH also include ‘PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback’)
the first communication including first information associated with the first data transmission . . . ; (¶ 0018: [U]se the DCI to signal repetition parameter values and/or changes, the bits may be added to the DCI, existing bit may be reinterpreted (e.g., conditionally), or existing bits may be reassigned. In the illustrative examples below, the PUSCH is configured by format 0_0, 0_1, and 0_2, the PDSCH is configured by format 1_0, 1_1 and 1_2. In these formats, certain bits may be conditionally reinterpreted depending on whether the HARQ process feedback is disabled or enabled. In the examples, various bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as new data indicator (NDI), Redundancy version (RV), and Downlink assignment index (DAI); ¶ 0019: Repetition may, in some cases, refer to . . . aggregation (the repetition data may be another redundancy version of the initial data))
HU does not explicitly disclose:
before performing a radio resource control (RRC) configuration procedure or an RRC reconfiguration procedure,
outputting the first data transmission based on the first information; and
obtaining, based on the first rv Index, a first quantity of repetitions of first data feedback for the first data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
before performing a radio resource control (RRC) configuration procedure or an RRC reconfiguration procedure, (¶ 0069: The random access procedure is performed during . . . handover requiring the random access procedure, or upon generation of UL/DL data requiring the random access procedure in RRC connected mode (or RRC_CONNECTED state); ¶ 0186: [S]ignaling may be information configured by higher-layer signaling such as an SIB or RRC signaling or information configured dynamically by DCI. Subsequently, in the presence of data to be transmitted to the UE or data to be received from the UE, the BS transmits DCI that schedules (transmission/reception of) one or more TBs (or DCI for DL data transmission or DCI for UL data reception) to the UE (S1704) [Thus, HWANG teaches “information configured dynamically by DCI,”—as an alternative to “RRC signaling”—wherein receipt of the DCI, independent of any RRC signaling in connection with at least an RRC reconfiguration procedure, impliedly occurs before such RRC reconfiguration procedure])
outputting the first data transmission based on the first information; and (¶ 0190: UL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUSCH (S1706 or S1806), DL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PDSCH (S1706 or S1806))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, CHATTERJEE teaches:
the first communication including . . . a first redundancy version indicator (rv Index) (¶¶ 0037-0038: [T]he DCI can point to or can indicate a specific index of the HARQ-ACK reporting subframe wherein the first subframe of the HARQ-ACK report transmission is transmitted by the UE. Any repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying the HARQ-ACK can be transmitted either on the consecutive valid/available UL subframes starting from the first one. Alternatively, repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying the HARQ-ACK can be transmitted only on the set of UL subframes that are configured to carry HARQ-ACK reports. [0038] In various embodiments, a single redundancy version (RV), e.g., RVO, can be used to transmit any repetitions of the NPUSCH carrying HARQ-ACK transmissions, without any RV cycling)
obtaining, based on the first rv Index, a first quantity of repetitions of first data feedback for the first data transmission. (¶ 0172: [E]ncode repetitions of the HARQ feedback based on a single redundancy version (RV); ¶ 0030: [S]ome of the relevant resource allocation information of the UL grant for HARQ-ACK reporting can be transmitted in the DCI carrying the DL assignment for the NPDSCH itself. Such information can include . . . the number of repetitions to use for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK report; ¶ 0033: [I]ndications contained in the DCI can be processed to determine an UL grant for HARQ-ACK feedback. The DCI information can include information on . . . the number of repetitions to use for the transmission of the HARQ-ACK report; ¶ 0040: [T]he number of repetitions used to transmit the HARQ-ACK feedback can be indicated using the DCI that would point to or indicate an index of the set of repetition numbers configured by higher layers; ¶ 0117: [T]he [DCI] indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback; ¶ 0145: [T]he [DCI] indication to indicate use of a single redundancy version (RV) for repetitions of the HARQ feedback)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors to provide techniques for transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback reporting—as taught by CHATTERJEE —so as to overcome scheduling inefficiency for transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback in the uplink, and thereby avoid resource wastage in the downlink as well as extraneous UE power consumption. See CHATTERJEE, at ¶¶ 0029-0030.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 27. HU further discloses:
further comprising:
configuring a set of repetition factors, the set of repetition factors including at least two values, and wherein the set of repetition factors includes the first quantity of the repetitions. (¶ 0053: [C]orresponding bit fields in DCI refer to an index which corresponds to the repetition number. If x bits can be used to dynamically indicate the repetition number, the x bits can refer to a maximum of 2x index values, corresponding a maximum of 2x different repetition numbers of transmission. In these illustrative examples, the various repetition number values may be specified via the radio standard (or otherwise established by default))
Regarding claim 29, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 27. HU does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
outputting a second communication scheduling a second data transmission, the second communication including second information for receiving the second data transmission and a second rv Index,
wherein the second data transmission is a retransmission of the first data transmission;
outputting the second data transmission based on the second information; and
obtaining the first quantity of the repetitions of second data feedback for the second data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
outputting a second communication scheduling a second data transmission, the second communication including second information for receiving the second data transmission and a second rv Index, (¶ 0011: DCI being repeated two or more times; ¶ 0018: [U]se the DCI to signal repetition parameter values and/or changes, the bits may be added to the DCI, existing bit may be reinterpreted (e.g., conditionally), or existing bits may be reassigned. In the illustrative examples below, the PUSCH is configured by format 0_0, 0_1, and 0_2, the PDSCH is configured by format 1_0, 1_1 and 1_2. In these formats, certain bits may be conditionally reinterpreted depending on whether the HARQ process feedback is disabled or enabled. In the examples, various bit fields are used to indicate HARQ-related configurations, such as . . . Redundancy version (RV); ¶ 0019: Repetition may, in some cases, refer to . . . aggregation (the repetition data may be another redundancy version of the initial data))
wherein the second data transmission is a retransmission of the first data transmission; (FIG. 19: 1st, 2nd, Nth DL Data Transmissions; ¶ 0194: [T]he same TB may be repeatedly transmitted for coverage extension, and a repetition number for the TB may be configured by the BS. For example, repeated TB transmissions may amount to repeated transmissions, in subframes, of a physical channel scheduled for data transmission by DCI such as a PDSCH or a PUSCH, as is done in MTC)
outputting the second data transmission based on the second information; and (¶ 0190: UL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUSCH (S1706 or S1806), DL data may be transmitted/received at least once on a PDSCH (S1706 or S1806))
obtaining the first quantity of the repetitions of second data feedback for the second data transmission. (¶ 0190: HARQ-ACK feedback may be transmitted/received at least once on a PUCCH (S1708 or S1808))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s dynamic configuration of repetition factors using non-RRC-related signaling as taught by HWANG to use HU’s data transmission scheduling such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of HU, HWANG, and CHATTERJEE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 27. HU does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
outputting a second communication scheduling a second data transmission, the second communication including second information for receiving the second data transmission and a second rv Index, wherein the second data transmission is a new data transmission;
outputting a third communication scheduling a third data transmission based on an absence of detecting second data feedback for the second data transmission, the third communication including third information for receiving the third data transmission and a third rv Index, wherein the third data transmission is a retransmission of the second data transmission; and
monitoring, based on the third rv Index, for a second quantity of repetitions of third data feedback for the third data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HWANG teaches:
outputting a second communication scheduling a second data transmission, the second communication including second information for receiving the second data transmission and a second rv Index, wherein the second data transmission is a new data transmission; (¶ 0196: When an RV is changed at each of repeated TB transmissions, that is, RC cycling is applied to the repeated TB transmissions, the proposed method may be advantageous. For example, when there are a total of four available RV states (e.g., RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) as in MTC, and an RV is cyclically used for each subframe, more RVs are used for a larger repetition number. The resulting increased probability of using all RV states decreases the need for RV scheduling by DCI)
outputting a third communication scheduling a third data transmission based on an absence of detecting second data feedback for the second data transmission, the third communication including third information for receiving the third data transmission and a third rv Index, wherein the third data transmission is a retransmission of the second data transmission; and (¶ 0196: When an RV is changed at each of repeated TB transmissions, that is, RC cycling is applied to the repeated TB transmissions, the proposed method may be advantageous. For example, when there are a total of four available RV states (e.g., RV0, RV1, RV2, and RV3) as in MTC, and an RV is cyclically used for each subframe, more RVs are used for a larger repetition number. The resulting increased probability of using all RV states decreases the need for RV scheduling by DCI)
monitoring, based on the third rv Index, for a second quantity of repetitions of third data feedback for the third data transmission. (¶ 0178: BS may schedule PUSCH transmissions corresponding to up to four HARQ processes by one DCI, and the UE may perform a plurality of PUSCH transmissions only by one PDCCH monitoring)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HU’s configuration of repetition factors to provide for application of RC cycling to the repeated TB transmissions as taught by HWANG so that the resulting increased probability of using all RV states decreases the need for RV scheduling by DCI such that downlink control channel or downlink control information may be efficiently transmitted and received in a wireless communication system supporting DCI scheduling. See HWANG, at ¶ 0017.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644