DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 17 September 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, and 13 are currently amended; no claim is cancelled; claims 6, 8, 12, and 14 are previously presented; no claims have been added. Claims 1-14 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 17 September 2025, with respect to “Claim Rejections” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Samsung teaches Samsung’s DL latency is teaching a round-trip latency of the claims.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Samsung’s DL latency is teaching the claimed air interface latency, specifically the latency of the air interface between the apparatus and the UE. The other claim elements argued were added to the claim, so those arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, but the examiner wanted to provide clarification for what Samsung is teaching versus what Samsung is not teaching.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the limitation "…corresponding to the uplink packet" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The closest claim element is “an uplink data packet” in line 3. Regarding claims 2-6, these claims depend upon independent claim 1 and fail to rectify the matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/034274 A1, hereafter referred Samsung, in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0345929 A1), hereafter referred Lee, further in view of Oh et al. (US 7,260,399 B1), hereafter referred Oh. Samsung and Oh were cited by applicant’s IDS filed 27 January 2024.
Regarding claim 1, Samsung teaches a method for data transmission, comprising:
obtaining, by an access network device, an air interface latency of the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink packet (Samsung, Fig. 5, [76]-[85]; The UE transmits (510) time DL latency report to apparatus 100 the apparatus obtains the DL latency in step 510); and
scheduling, by the access network device, the downlink data packet based on the air interface latency of the downlink data packet (Samsung, Fig. 5, [85]; the apparatus 100 on receiving (512) the latency report will evaluate the latency report and perform corrective actions).
Samsung does not expressly teach receiving, by an access network device from a terminal, an uplink data packet that carries a round-trip latency, wherein the air interface latency of the downlink data packet is calculated based on the round-trip latency.
However, Lee teaches receiving, by an access network device from a terminal, an uplink data packet that carries a round-trip latency, wherein the air interface latency of the downlink data packet is calculated based on the round-trip latency (Lee, Fig. 9 and 11, [0197]-[0216], [0222]-[0239], and [0244]; The RAN which receives a monitoring packet response from the terminal transmits an uplink monitoring packet to the PSA-UPF which includes a QOS management protocol identifier, a transmission latency of a Uu section, a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet request, and a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet response from the terminal, and the QoS monitoring protocol identifies a QoS monitoring policy that includes transmission latency information such as unidirectional or bidirectional transmission latency information between a terminal-UPF or terminal and PSA-UPF, or transmission latency information of each section of the wireless communications system illustrated in Fig. 9 and the latency times may be measured by using a round trip time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order for CP functions to enforce policy rules (Lee, [0037]).
Samsung in view of Lee does not expressly teach wherein the round-trip latency is a latency from when the terminal sends the uplink data packet to when the terminal receives a downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet.
However, Oh teaches wherein the round-trip latency is a latency from when the terminal sends the uplink data packet to when the terminal receives a downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet (Oh, Fig. 7, Column 11, line 46 – Column 12, line 5; sending a time-stamped query from the mobile station to the AP at block 260, where at block 262, a response to the query is received, and the round-trip delay is determined at block 264 based on the time-stamp of the query and a receipt time of the response).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung in view of Lee to include the above recited limitations as taught by Oh in order to determine when to effect a handoff (Oh, Column 3, lines 14-30).
Regarding claim 7, Samsung teaches a method for determining an air interface latency, comprising:
receiving, by the terminal, the downlink data packet that is sent by the access network device based on an air interface latency (Samsung, Fig. 5, [85]; the apparatus 100 on receiving (512) the latency report will evaluate the latency report and perform corrective actions).
Samsung does not expressly teach sending, by a terminal, an uplink data packet to an access network device, wherein the uplink data packet carries information about a round-trip latency and a timestamp at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet, wherein the air interface latency is calculated based on the information about the round-trip latency and the time stamp.
However, Lee teaches sending, by a terminal, an uplink data packet to an access network device, wherein the uplink data packet carries information about a round-trip latency and a timestamp at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet, wherein the air interface latency is calculated based on the information about the round-trip latency and the time stamp (Lee, Fig. 9 and 11, [0197]-[0216], [0222]-[0239], and [0244]; The RAN which receives a monitoring packet response from the terminal transmits an uplink monitoring packet to the PSA-UPF which includes a QOS management protocol identifier, a transmission latency of a Uu section, a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet request, and a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet response from the terminal, and the QoS monitoring protocol identifies a QoS monitoring policy that includes transmission latency information such as unidirectional or bidirectional transmission latency information between a terminal-UPF or terminal and PSA-UPF, or transmission latency information of each section of the wireless communications system illustrated in Fig. 9 and the latency times may be measured by using a round trip time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order for CP functions to enforce policy rules (Lee, [0037]).
Samsung in view of Lee does not expressly teach wherein the round-trip latency is a latency from when a terminal sends an uplink data packet to when the terminal receives the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet.
However, Oh teaches wherein the round-trip latency is a latency from when a terminal sends an uplink data packet to when the terminal receives the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet (Oh, Fig. 7, Column 11, line 46 – Column 12, line 5; sending a time-stamped query from the mobile station to the AP at block 260, where at block 262, a response to the query is received, and the round-trip delay is determined at block 264 based on the time-stamp of the query and a receipt time of the response).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung in view of Lee to include the above recited limitations as taught by Oh in order to determine when to effect a handoff (Oh, Column 3, lines 14-30).
Regarding claim 9, Samsung teaches a method for determining an air interface latency, comprising:
determining, by the user plane network element, a second latency, wherein the second latency is a latency from when the user plane network element sends a downlink data packet to when a terminal receives the downlink data packet (Samsung, Fig. 5, [76]-[85]; The UE transmits (510) time DL latency report to apparatus 100the apparatus obtains the DL latency in step 510).
Samsung does not expressly teach receiving, by a user plane network element from an access network device, an uplink data packet that carries a round-trip latency, wherein the second latency is calculated based on the round-trip latency; and sending, by the user plane network element, the downlink data packet to the access network device, wherein the downlink data packet carries the second latency and a timestamp at which the user plane network element sends the downlink data packet.
However, Lee teaches receiving, by a user plane network element from an access network device, an uplink data packet that carries a round-trip latency, wherein the second latency is calculated based on the round-trip latency; and sending, by the user plane network element, the downlink data packet to the access network device, wherein the downlink data packet carries the second latency and a timestamp at which the user plane network element sends the downlink data packet (Lee, Fig. 9 and 11, [0197]-[0216], [0222]-[0239], and [0244]; The RAN which receives a monitoring packet response from the terminal transmits an uplink monitoring packet to the PSA-UPF which includes a QOS management protocol identifier, a transmission latency of a Uu section, a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet request, and a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet response from the terminal, and the QoS monitoring protocol identifies a QoS monitoring policy that includes transmission latency information such as unidirectional or bidirectional transmission latency information between a terminal-UPF or terminal and PSA-UPF, or transmission latency information of each section of the wireless communications system illustrated in Fig. 9 and the latency times may be measured by using a round trip time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order for CP functions to enforce policy rules (Lee, [0037]).
Samsung in view of Lee does not expressly teach wherein the round-trip latency is a latency from when a terminal sends an uplink data packet to when the terminal receives the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet.
However, Oh teaches wherein the round-trip latency is a latency from when a terminal sends an uplink data packet to when the terminal receives the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet (Oh, Fig. 7, Column 11, line 46 – Column 12, line 5; sending a time-stamped query from the mobile station to the AP at block 260, where at block 262, a response to the query is received, and the round-trip delay is determined at block 264 based on the time-stamp of the query and a receipt time of the response).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung in view of Lee to include the above recited limitations as taught by Oh in order to determine when to effect a handoff (Oh, Column 3, lines 14-30).
Regarding claim 13, Samsung teaches an apparatus, comprising:
one or more processors (Samsung, Fig. 1, [57]; Processor 112);
a memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store a computer program (Samsung, Fig. 1, [57] and [188]; Memory and the embodiments can be implemented though at least one software program), the computer program comprising computer instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform the following:
receiving, from a terminal, an uplink data packet comprising a timestamp at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet (Samsung, [117]-[129]; when packets are received at the UE, the transmit entity 206 triggers for time stamping of the UL PDCP packet); and
scheduling the downlink data packet based on the air interface latency of the downlink data packet (Samsung, Fig. 5, [85]; the apparatus 100 on receiving (512) the latency report will evaluate the latency report and perform corrective actions).
Samsung does not expressly teach sending the uplink data packet to a user plane network element, wherein the uplink data packet also comprising a first identifier and a round-trip latency; receiving, from the user plane network element, the downlink data packet with the first identifier; and calculating an air interface latency of the downlink data packet based on the round-trip latency, the timestamp at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet and a moment at which an access network device receives the downlink data packet.
However, Lee teaches sending the uplink data packet to a user plane network element, wherein the uplink data packet also comprising a first identifier and a round-trip latency; receiving, from the user plane network element, the downlink data packet with the first identifier; and calculating an air interface latency of the downlink data packet based on the round-trip latency, the timestamp at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet and a moment at which an access network device receives the downlink data packet (Lee, Fig. 9 and 11, [0197]-[0216], [0222]-[0239], and [0244]; The RAN which receives a monitoring packet response from the terminal transmits an uplink monitoring packet to the PSA-UPF which includes a QOS management protocol identifier, a transmission latency of a Uu section, a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet request, and a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet response from the terminal, and the QoS monitoring protocol identifies a QoS monitoring policy that includes transmission latency information such as unidirectional or bidirectional transmission latency information between a terminal-UPF or terminal and PSA-UPF, or transmission latency information of each section of the wireless communications system illustrated in Fig. 9 and the latency times may be measured by using a round trip time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order for CP functions to enforce policy rules (Lee, [0037]).
Samsung in view of Lee does not expressly teach wherein the round-trip latency is a latency from when a terminal sends an uplink data packet to when the terminal receives the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet.
However, Oh teaches wherein the round-trip latency is a latency from when a terminal sends an uplink data packet to when the terminal receives the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet (Oh, Fig. 7, Column 11, line 46 – Column 12, line 5; sending a time-stamped query from the mobile station to the AP at block 260, where at block 262, a response to the query is received, and the round-trip delay is determined at block 264 based on the time-stamp of the query and a receipt time of the response).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung in view of Lee to include the above recited limitations as taught by Oh in order to determine when to effect a handoff (Oh, Column 3, lines 14-30).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Samsung in view of Lee further in view of Oh teaches the method according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 9 above. Samsung does not expressly teach wherein the obtaining, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet comprises:
sending, by the access network device, the uplink data packet to a user plane network element, wherein the uplink data packet further carries a timestamp at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet; receiving, by the access network device from the user plane network element, the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet; and calculating, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet based on the round-trip latency, a moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet, and a moment at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet, wherein the air interface latency of the downlink data packet is calculated based on an expression of D — (T2 — T1), D represents the round-trip latency, T1 represents the moment at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet, and T2 represents the moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet.
However, Lee teaches wherein the obtaining, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet comprises:
sending, by the access network device, the uplink data packet to a user plane network element, wherein the uplink data packet further carries a timestamp at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet; receiving, by the access network device from the user plane network element, the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet; and calculating, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet based on the round-trip latency, a moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet, and a moment at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet, wherein the air interface latency of the downlink data packet is calculated based on an expression of D — (T2 — T1), D represents the round-trip latency, T1 represents the moment at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet, and T2 represents the moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet (Lee, Fig. 9 and 11, [0197]-[0216], [0222]-[0239], and [0244]; The RAN which receives a monitoring packet response from the terminal transmits an uplink monitoring packet to the PSA-UPF which includes a QOS management protocol identifier, a transmission latency of a Uu section, a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet request, and a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet response from the terminal, and the QoS monitoring protocol identifies a QoS monitoring policy that includes transmission latency information such as unidirectional or bidirectional transmission latency information between a terminal-UPF or terminal and PSA-UPF, or transmission latency information of each section of the wireless communications system illustrated in Fig. 9 and the latency times may be measured by using a round trip time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order for CP functions to enforce policy rules (Lee, [0037]).
Regarding claims 3, 8, and 11, Samsung in view of Lee further in view of Oh teaches the method according to claim 1, the method according to claim 7, and the method according to claim 9 above. Further, Samsung teaches wherein the uplink data packet further carries a timestamp at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet (Samsung, [117]-[129]; when packets are received at the UE, the transmit entity 206 triggers for time stamping of the UL PDCP packet). Samsung does not expressly teach wherein the uplink data packet further carries a first identifier and the first identifier is used to identify the uplink data packet and the downlink data packet that have a correspondence; wherein the obtaining, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet comprises:
sending, by the access network device, the uplink data packet to a user plane network element; receiving, by the access network device, the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet, wherein the downlink data packet carries the first identifier, a first latency, and the first latency is a latency from when the user plane network element sends the uplink data packet to when the user plane network element receives the downlink data packet; and calculating, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet based on the first latency, the round-trip latency, a moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet, and a moment at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet, wherein the air interface latency of the downlink data packet is calculated based on an expression of D-(T2-T1-D1), D represents the round-trip latency, T1 represents the moment at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet and is determined by the access network device based on the uplink data packet, T2 represents the moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet and is determined by the access network device based on the downlink data packet, and D1 represents the first latency.
However, Lee teaches wherein the uplink data packet further carries a first identifier and the first identifier is used to identify the uplink data packet and the downlink data packet that have a correspondence; wherein the obtaining, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet comprises:
sending, by the access network device, the uplink data packet to a user plane network element; receiving, by the access network device, the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet, wherein the downlink data packet carries the first identifier, a first latency, and the first latency is a latency from when the user plane network element sends the uplink data packet to when the user plane network element receives the downlink data packet; and calculating, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet based on the first latency, the round-trip latency, a moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet, and a moment at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet, wherein the air interface latency of the downlink data packet is calculated based on an expression of D-(T2-T1-D1), D represents the round-trip latency, T1 represents the moment at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet and is determined by the access network device based on the uplink data packet, T2 represents the moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet and is determined by the access network device based on the downlink data packet, and D1 represents the first latency (Lee, Fig. 9 and 11, [0197]-[0216], [0222]-[0239], and [0244]; The RAN which receives a monitoring packet response from the terminal transmits an uplink monitoring packet to the PSA-UPF which includes a QOS management protocol identifier, a transmission latency of a Uu section, a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet request, and a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet response from the terminal, and the QoS monitoring protocol identifies a QoS monitoring policy that includes transmission latency information such as unidirectional or bidirectional transmission latency information between a terminal-UPF or terminal and PSA-UPF, or transmission latency information of each section of the wireless communications system illustrated in Fig. 9 and the latency times may be measured by using a round trip time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order for CP functions to enforce policy rules (Lee, [0037]).
Regarding claim 4, Samsung in view of Lee further in view of Oh teaches the method according to claim 1 above. Further, Samsung teaches wherein the uplink data packet further carries a first timestamp at which the terminal sends the uplink data packet (Samsung, [117]-[129]; when packets are received at the UE, the transmit entity 206 triggers for time stamping of the UL PDCP packet). Samsung does not expressly teach wherein the uplink data packet further carries a first identifier and the first identifier is used to identify the uplink data packet and the downlink data packet that have a correspondence; wherein the obtaining, by the access network device, an air interface latency of the downlink data packet comprises:
sending, by the access network device, the uplink data packet to a user plane network element; receiving, by the access network device from the user plane network element, the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet, wherein the downlink data packet carries a second latency and a second timestamp at which the user plane network element sends the downlink data packet, and the second latency is a latency from when the user plane network element sends the downlink data packet to when the terminal receives the downlink data packet, the second latency is calculated by the user plane network element based on the round-trip latency; and calculating, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet based on the second latency, a moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet, and a moment at which the user plane network element sends the downlink data packet, wherein the air interface latency of the downlink data packet is calculated based on an expression of D2—(T2-T1), D2 represents the second latency, T2 represents the moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet, and T1 represents the moment at which the user plane network element sends the downlink data packet.
However, Lee teaches wherein the uplink data packet further carries a first identifier and the first identifier is used to identify the uplink data packet and the downlink data packet that have a correspondence; wherein the obtaining, by the access network device, an air interface latency of the downlink data packet comprises:
sending, by the access network device, the uplink data packet to a user plane network element; receiving, by the access network device from the user plane network element, the downlink data packet corresponding to the uplink data packet, wherein the downlink data packet carries a second latency and a second timestamp at which the user plane network element sends the downlink data packet, and the second latency is a latency from when the user plane network element sends the downlink data packet to when the terminal receives the downlink data packet, the second latency is calculated by the user plane network element based on the round-trip latency; and calculating, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet based on the second latency, a moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet, and a moment at which the user plane network element sends the downlink data packet, wherein the air interface latency of the downlink data packet is calculated based on an expression of D2—(T2-T1), D2 represents the second latency, T2 represents the moment at which the access network device receives the downlink data packet, and T1 represents the moment at which the user plane network element sends the downlink data packet (Lee, Fig. 9 and 11, [0197]-[0216], [0222]-[0239], and [0244]; The RAN which receives a monitoring packet response from the terminal transmits an uplink monitoring packet to the PSA-UPF which includes a QOS management protocol identifier, a transmission latency of a Uu section, a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet request, and a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet response from the terminal, and the QoS monitoring protocol identifies a QoS monitoring policy that includes transmission latency information such as unidirectional or bidirectional transmission latency information between a terminal-UPF or terminal and PSA-UPF, or transmission latency information of each section of the wireless communications system illustrated in Fig. 9 and the latency times may be measured by using a round trip time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order for CP functions to enforce policy rules (Lee, [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Samsung in view of Lee further in view of Oh teaches the method according to claim 1 above. Samsung does not expressly teach wherein the obtaining, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet comprises:
sending, by the access network device, the uplink data packet carrying the round-trip latency to a user plane network element; and receiving, by the access network device from the user plane network element, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet that is calculated based on the round-trip latency.
However, Lee teaches wherein the obtaining, by the access network device, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet comprises:
sending, by the access network device, the uplink data packet carrying the round-trip latency to a user plane network element; and receiving, by the access network device from the user plane network element, the air interface latency of the downlink data packet that is calculated based on the round-trip latency (Lee, Fig. 9 and 11, [0197]-[0216], [0222]-[0239], and [0244]; The RAN which receives a monitoring packet response from the terminal transmits an uplink monitoring packet to the PSA-UPF which includes a QOS management protocol identifier, a transmission latency of a Uu section, a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet request, and a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet response from the terminal, and the QoS monitoring protocol identifies a QoS monitoring policy that includes transmission latency information such as unidirectional or bidirectional transmission latency information between a terminal-UPF or terminal and PSA-UPF, or transmission latency information of each section of the wireless communications system illustrated in Fig. 9 and the latency times may be measured by using a round trip time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order for CP functions to enforce policy rules (Lee, [0037]).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 14, Samsung in view of Lee further in view of Oh teaches the method according to claim 1, the method according to claim 11, and the apparatus according to claim 13 above. Samsung does not expressly teach wherein a plurality of downlink data packets correspond to the uplink data packet, a first downlink data packet in the plurality of downlink data packets carries a quantity of the plurality of downlink data packets, and the scheduling, by the access network device, the downlink data packet based on the air interface latency of the downlink data packet comprises:
allocating, by the access network device, a latency for each of the plurality of downlink data packets corresponding to the uplink data packet based on the quantity of the plurality of downlink data packets and the air interface latency of the plurality of downlink data packets; and scheduling each of the downlink data packets based on the allocated latency for each of plurality of downlink data packets.
However, Lee teaches wherein a plurality of downlink data packets correspond to the uplink data packet, a first downlink data packet in the plurality of downlink data packets carries a quantity of the plurality of downlink data packets, and the scheduling, by the access network device, the downlink data packet based on the air interface latency of the downlink data packet comprises:
allocating, by the access network device, a latency for each of the plurality of downlink data packets corresponding to the uplink data packet based on the quantity of the plurality of downlink data packets and the air interface latency of the plurality of downlink data packets; and scheduling each of the downlink data packets based on the allocated latency for each of plurality of downlink data packets (Lee, Fig. 9 and 11, [0197]-[0216], [0222]-[0239], and [0244]; The RAN which receives a monitoring packet response from the terminal transmits an uplink monitoring packet to the PSA-UPF which includes a QOS management protocol identifier, a transmission latency of a Uu section, a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet request, and a local time at which the RAN received the monitoring packet response from the terminal, and the QoS monitoring protocol identifies a QoS monitoring policy that includes transmission latency information such as unidirectional or bidirectional transmission latency information between a terminal-UPF or terminal and PSA-UPF, or transmission latency information of each section of the wireless communications system illustrated in Fig. 9 and the latency times may be measured by using a round trip time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Samsung to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lee in order for CP functions to enforce policy rules (Lee, [0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416