DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn and cancelled from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Such limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) are “means to stir the solvent” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodersen (US 20190308116 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20210245073 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brodersen teaches an extraction apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising:
a reservoir configured to hold a solvent (Fig. 2, solvent tank 3);
a reservoir-hopper link having a first end and a second end, the first end fluidly connected to the reservoir (Fig. 2, pipeline fluidically connected to solvent tank 3);
a hopper configured to receive a plant material, the second end of the reservoir-hopper link being fluidly connected to the hopper and configured such that the hopper may receive solvent from the reservoir forming a plant material and solvent mixture (Fig. 2, material chamber 2, understood to be a hopper, receives plant material and is fluidically coupled to solvent tank 3, also is configured to receive solvent from tank 3 to form a plant and solvent mixer [0032]);
a hopper-chamber link having a first end and a second end, the first end fluidly connected to the hopper (Fig. 2, pipeline fluidically connected to chamber 2);
a chamber (Fig. 2, recovery system 8), the second end of the hopper-chamber link being fluidly connected to the chamber (Fig. 2, pipeline connected to hopper 2 is fluidically connected to recovery system 8), configured to receive the solvent and extract mixture from the hopper and further configured to evaporate the solvent from the solvent and extract mixture (recovery system 8 is a distillation column that evaporates the solvent from the extract mixture [0033]);
a chamber-condenser link having a first end and a second end, the first end fluidly connected to the chamber (Fig. 2, pipeline connected to recovery system 8);
a condenser (Fig. 2, 16), the second end of the chamber-condenser link fluidly connected to the condenser (Fig. 2, chamber is connected to condenser via pipeline), configured to receive the evaporated solvent from the chamber and to condense the evaporated solvent [0033]; and
a condenser-reservoir link having a first end and a second end, the first end being fluidly connected to the condenser and the second end being fluidly connected to the reservoir, configured to return the solvent from the condenser to the reservoir (Fig. 2, pipeline connects condenser 16 to solvent reservoir 3 for recovery, [0033]).
Brodersen teaches wherein the hopper (Fig. 2, chamber 2) comprises a filter sack placed into a perforated cannister that may be agitated to separate a solvent and extract mixture from plant biomass [0032] but does not teach a piston configured to be housed within the hopper and further configured to compress the plant material and solvent mixture forcing a solvent and extract mixture from the hopper.
One having ordinary skill would seek further ways to mechanically separate the solvent/extract mixture from the solid plant material, motivating one to turn towards Mayer. Mayer teaches a system for extracting compounds from botanicals [abstract] comprising a mesh strainer bag configured to hold plant material, a press (understood to be a piston) configured to press the plant material, and a collection vessel configured to retain the extracted oil separated from the plant fibers [0129]. Mayer teaches the press to increase the concentration of desired molecular components in the extracted oil [0130].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber as taught by Brodersen to include the press as taught by Mayer because Mayer teaches the press to increase the level of desired molecular components in the extracted oil [0130], improving extraction. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a freezer, wherein the reservoir is housed within the freezer (Brodersen, [0034-0035]).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the apparatus comprises a coolant subsystem configured to lower the temperature of the hopper and condenser.
One having ordinary skill would be concerned with increasing the efficiency of extraction, motivating one to turn towards Mayer. Mayer further teaches a chiller unit (Fig. 1, 115) configured to circulate a glycol coolant during plant extraction [0017], wherein the chiller is connected to a cooling jacket surrounding a vessel containing a solvent and plant mixture (understood to be a hopper, [0113]). Mayer teaches the chiller to maintain a target temperature within the vessel to preserve target molecules within the plant-solvent mixture [0126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Brodersen to include the chiller as taught by Mayer because Mayer teaches the chiller to be connected to a vessel (hopper) to maintain a target temperature and preserve target molecules within the plant-solvent mixture [0126]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Brodersen to include the chiller as taught by Mayer to provide a cooling cycle and maintain a target temperature for the condenser during operation and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reservoir is configured to hold heptane or hexane as a solvent (Brodersen, [0032]).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodersen (US 20190308116 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20210245073 A1), further in view of Kanazashi et al. (US 4612850 A).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Brodersen the extraction apparatus of claim 1, wherein the hopper has a lid configured to open/close to seal the contents within (Brodersen. [0032]) but does not teach wherein the piston is removably housed within the hopper and configured to form a hermetic seal with the hopper when housed therein.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with ensuring all the solvent from the plant-solvent mixture is pressed out during mechanical extraction, motivating one to turn towards Kanazashi. Kanazashi teaches a brewing apparatus comprising a piston (Fig. 3, 24) configured to compress a coffee ground-water mixture wherein the piston is housed in a hopper (Fig. 3, 21) and contains a sealing element (Fig. 3, 24a) on the edges of the piston configured to contact the edges of the power providing a sealed environment that forces the solvent through the coffee grounds and provides an extract (col. 4, lns. 42-59).
Kanazashi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to extraction apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the piston as taught by Modified Brodersen with the piston as taught by Kanazashi because Kanazashi teaches the piston to contain sealing elements configured to create a sealed environment within a hopper that that forces a solvent through biomass to provide an extract (col. 4, lns. 42-59). See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and 2143(I)(G).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodersen (US 20190308116 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20210245073 A1), further in view of Lopa (US 20190299115 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Broderson teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the apparatus comprises a control panel configured to dictate the operation of the extraction apparatus.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with controlling the operation of the extraction system, motivating one to turn towards Lopa. Lopa teaches a plant extraction system comprising a controller (708) for controlling stirring, cooling, and vacuuming operations and a user interface configured to adjust variables such as vacuum pressure values and cooling temperatures [0124-126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Modified Broderson to include the controller and user interface as taught by Lopa because Lopa teaches the two elements to allow a user to control various extraction system operations such as stirring, cooling, and vacuum pressure [0124-0126]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodersen (US 20190308116 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20210245073 A1), further in view of Thomas (US 20180078874 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Broderson teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the apparatus further comprises an ice trap fluidly connected within the condenser-reservoir link and configured to condense any remaining evaporated solvent.
One having ordinary skill in the art could be concerned with condensing all remaining solvent for recovery, motivating one to look towards Thomas. Thomas teaches a system for extracting botanical oils comprising a solvent recovery device, such as a cold trap, for preventing volatilized solvent from exiting the system [0074].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the condenser-reservoir link as taught by Modified Broderson to include the cold trap as taught by Thomas because Thomas teaches the cold trap to prevent volatilized solvent from leaving a botanical extraction system for recovery [0074]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Claim(s) 8-9, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodersen (US 20190308116 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20210245073 A1), Kanazashi et al. (US 4612850 A), Durkacz et al. (US 20190241536 A1), and Dabao (US 20150224422 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Brodersen teaches an extraction apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising:
a solvent subsystem comprising a solvent reservoir (Fig. 2, 3), wherein the solvent reservoir is configured to hold a solvent [0032],
a system comprising a hopper (Fig. 2, chamber 2), wherein the hopper is configured to receive a plant material, and to receive a solvent from the solvent reservoir [0032];
an evaporation subsystem comprising a chamber, wherein the chamber is configured to receive a solvent and extract mixture (Fig. 2, evaporation subsystem 8 has a chamber);
a condenser subsystem comprising a condenser (Fig. 2, 16) wherein the condenser is configured to receive the evaporated solvent from the evaporation subsystem and to condense the evaporated solvent and to return the condensed solvent to the solvent reservoir [0033].
Brodersen teaches wherein the hopper (Fig. 2, chamber 2) comprises a filter sack placed into a perforated cannister that may be agitated to separate a solvent and extract mixture from plant biomass [0032] but does not teach a piston subsystem configured to compress the plant material and solvent mixture forcing a solvent and extract mixture from the hopper.
One having ordinary skill would seek further ways to mechanically separate the solvent/extract mixture from the solid plant material, motivating one to turn towards Mayer. Mayer teaches a system for extracting compounds from botanicals [abstract] comprising a mesh strainer bag configured to hold plant material, a press (understood to be a piston) configured to press the plant material, and a collection vessel configured to retain the extracted oil separated from the plant fibers [0129]. Mayer teaches the press to increase the concentration of desired molecular components in the extracted oil [0130].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber as taught by Brodersen to include the press as taught by Mayer because Mayer teaches the press to increase the level of desired molecular components in the extracted oil [0130], improving extraction. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Modified Brodersen does not teach wherein the apparatus comprises a coolant subsystem comprising a coolant reservoir, a coolant pump, and coolant lines, wherein the coolant reservoir is configured to hold a coolant, wherein the coolant pump is configured to pump coolant from the coolant reservoir, and wherein the coolant lines are configured to circulate coolant and to cool the hopper and condenser.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with increasing the efficiency of extraction, motivating one to turn towards Mayer. Mayer further teaches a coolant subsystem comprising a chiller unit (Fig. 1, 115) configured to circulate a glycol coolant during plant extraction [0017], a coolant pump (113), coolant lines (109 and 110), and a coolant reservoir (114), wherein the chiller is connected to a cooling jacket surrounding a vessel containing a solvent and plant mixture (understood to be a hopper, [0113, [0117]]). Mayer teaches the chiller to maintain a target temperature within the vessel to preserve target molecules within the plant-solvent mixture [0126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Brodersen to include the coolant subsystem as taught by Mayer because Mayer teaches the coolant subsystem to be connected to a vessel (hopper) to maintain a target temperature and preserve target molecules within the plant-solvent mixture [0126]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coolant subsystem lines as taught by Mayer to also be connected to the condenser as taught by Modified Brodersen to maintain a temperature sufficient to condense recycled solvent and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Modified Brodersen does not teach wherein the piston is removably housed within the hopper and configured to form a hermetic seal with the hopper when housed therein.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with ensuring all the solvent from the plant-solvent mixture is pressed out during mechanical extraction, motivating one to turn towards Kanazashi. Kanazashi teaches a brewing apparatus comprising a piston (Fig. 3, 24) configured to compress a coffee ground-water mixture wherein the piston is housed in a hopper (Fig. 3, 21) and contains a sealing element (Fig. 3, 24a) on the edges of the piston configured to contact the edges of the power providing a sealed environment that forces the solvent through the coffee grounds and provides an extract (col. 4, lns. 42-59).
Kanazashi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to extraction apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the piston as taught by Modified Brodersen with the piston as taught by Kanazashi because Kanazashi teaches the piston to contain sealing elements configured to create a sealed environment within a hopper that that forces a solvent through biomass to provide an extract (col. 4, lns. 42-59). See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and 2143(I)(G).
Modified Brodersen does not teach wherein the solvent subsystem comprises a solvent reservoir pump configured to pump solvent out of the solvent reservoir.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with controlling the solvent dosage delivered to the hopper, motivating one to turn towards Durkacz. Durkacz teaches a system for extracting compositions from plants, comprising a mixing tank (Fig. 2, 224) configured to hold a solvent and plant material, a reservoir tank (Fig. 2, 220) configured to hold a solvent, and a solvent pump (Fig. 2, 222) configured to pump the solvent from the reservoir into the mixing tank [0102].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solvent subsystem as taught by modified Brodersen with the solvent pump as taught by Durakacz because Durkacz teaches the pump to deliver a volume of solvent from a reservoir into a mixing tank comprising plant matter [0102]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Modified Brodersen does not teach wherein the evaporation system comprises a chamber having a lid and a heat source, wherein the lid is configured to removably and hermetically seal to the chamber, and wherein the heat source is configured to bring the contents of the chamber to a maintained boil to evaporate the solvent from the solvent and extract mixture.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with performing maintenance on the evaporation chamber and vaporizing all the solvent contained within the solvent and extract mixture, motivating one to turn towards Dabao. Dabao teaches a cannabis oil extractor comprising an evaporation chamber (Fig. 3, 16) and a heating element (Fig. 3, 18) configured to heat a slurry of solvent and plant material, evaporating the solvent [0029]. Dabao teaches wherein the evaporation chamber includes a lid (Fig. 3, 30) that allows for quick assembly/disassembly of the evaporation chamber and configured to form an air tight seal such that all the solvent vapors may be captured and recycled [0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the evaporation chamber as taught by Modified Brodersen to include the lid and heating source as taught by Dabao since Dabao teaches the elements to allow for quick assembly/disassembly of an evaporation chamber [0033], to evaporate all the solvent in plant/solvent slurry [0029], and to a form an air tight seal such that all the solvent vapors may be captured and recycled [0033]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 8, further comprising a freezer housing the solvent subsystem and the coolant reservoir and coolant pump of the coolant subsystem (Brodersen, [0034-0035]).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 8, further comprising a vacuum subsystem, wherein the vacuum subsystem is comprised of at least one vacuum pump (Brodersen, Fig. 2, 15), a vacuum regulator (Brodersen, Fig. 2, 17), and vacuum lines (Brodersen, Fig. 2, 14), wherein the vacuum subsystem is configured to create a vacuum within the chamber of the evaporation subsystem such that the pressure in the chamber is lower than the ambient atmospheric pressure (Brodersen, [0033-0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 8, wherein the evaporation subsystem is further comprised of means to stir the solvent and extract mixture (Brodersen, mixer 9).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 8, wherein the solvent reservoir is configured to hold heptane or hexane as a solvent (Brodersen, [0032]).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodersen (US 20190308116 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20210245073 A1), Kanazashi et al. (US 4612850 A), Durkacz et al. (US 20190241536 A1), and Dabao (US 20150224422 A1), further in view of Lopa (US 20190299115 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Broderson teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 8, but does not teach wherein the apparatus comprises a control panel configured to dictate the operation of the extraction apparatus.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with controlling the operation of the extraction system, motivating one to turn towards Lopa. Lopa teaches a plant extraction system comprising a controller (708) for controlling stirring, cooling, and vacuuming operations and a user interface configured to adjust variables such as vacuum pressure values and cooling temperatures [0124-126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Modified Broderson to include the controller and user interface as taught by Lopa because Lopa teaches the two elements to allow a user to control various extraction system operations such as stirring, cooling, and vacuum pressure [0124-0126]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodersen (US 20190308116 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20210245073 A1), Kanazashi et al. (US 4612850 A), Durkacz et al. (US 20190241536 A1), and Dabao (US 20150224422 A1), further in view of Vanaman (CA 3048411 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 8, but does not teach wherein the condenser subsystem is further comprised of a sight glass configured to allow a user to determine if the condenser is functioning to condense the evaporated solvent.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with observing the characteristics of the condensate from the condenser, motivating one to turn towards Vanaman. Vanaman teaches a system for extracting cannabis oil comprising a condenser subsystem (Fig. 2, condenser 19 and visualization portion 17) wherein the visualization portion (Fig. 2, 17) may be a sight glass that allows a user to observe the condensate material passing from the condenser [0123].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the condenser subsystem as taught by Modified Brodersen with the sight glass as taught by Vanaman because Vanaman teaches the sight glass to allow a user to observe a condensate material passing from a condenser [0123]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Claim(s) 21-22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodersen (US 20190308116 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20210245073 A1) and Kanazashi et al. (US 4612850 A).
Regarding claim 21, Brodersen teaches an extraction apparatus (Fig. 2, 2) comprising:
a solvent subsystem configured to store and to circulate a solvent through the extraction apparatus (Fig. 2, reservoir 3);
a hopper (Fig. 2, chamber 2) configured to receive a plant material, and to receive a solvent from the solvent subsystem [0032],
an evaporation subsystem configured to receive a solvent and extract mixture from the hopper and to evaporate the solvent from the solvent and extract mixture (Fig. 2, recovery system 8);
a condenser subsystem comprising a condenser wherein the condenser is configured to receive the evaporated solvent from the evaporation subsystem and to condense the evaporated solvent and to return the condensed solvent to the solvent reservoir (Fig. 2, condenser 16, [0033]).
Brodersen teaches wherein the hopper (Fig. 2, chamber 2) comprises a filter sack placed into a perforated cannister that may be agitated to separate a solvent and extract mixture from plant biomass [0032] but does not teach a piston configured to be housed within the hopper and further configured to compress the plant material and solvent mixture forcing a solvent and extract mixture from the hopper.
One having ordinary skill would seek further ways to mechanically separate the solvent/extract mixture from the solid plant material, motivating one to turn towards Mayer. Mayer teaches a system for extracting compounds from botanicals [abstract] comprising a mesh strainer bag configured to hold plant material, a press (understood to be a piston) configured to press the plant material, and a collection vessel configured to retain the extracted oil separated from the plant fibers [0129]. Mayer teaches the press to increase the concentration of desired molecular components in the extracted oil [0130].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber as taught by Brodersen to include the press as taught by Mayer because Mayer teaches the press to increase the level of desired molecular components in the extracted oil [0130], improving extraction. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Modified Brodersen does not teach wherein the apparatus comprises a coolant subsystem configured to circulate coolant through the extraction apparatus.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with increasing the efficiency of extraction, motivating one to turn towards Mayer. Mayer further teaches a chiller unit (Fig. 1, 115) configured to circulate a glycol coolant during plant extraction [0017], wherein the chiller is connected to a cooling jacket surrounding a vessel containing a solvent and plant mixture (understood to be a hopper, [0113]). Mayer teaches the chiller to maintain a target temperature within the vessel to preserve target molecules within the plant-solvent mixture [0126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Brodersen to include the chiller as taught by Mayer because Mayer teaches the chiller to be connected to a vessel (hopper) to maintain a target temperature and preserve target molecules within the plant-solvent mixture [0126]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coolant subsystem lines to be connected to the condenser as taught by Modified Brodersen to maintain a temperature sufficient to condense recycled solvent and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Modified Brodersen does not teach wherein the piston is removably housed within the hopper and configured to form a hermetic seal with the hopper when housed therein.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with ensuring all the solvent from the plant-solvent mixture is pressed out during mechanical extraction, motivating one to turn towards Kanazashi. Kanazashi teaches a brewing apparatus comprising a piston (Fig. 3, 24) configured to compress a coffee ground-water mixture wherein the piston is housed in a hopper (Fig. 3, 21) and contains a sealing element (Fig. 3, 24a) on the edges of the piston configured to contact the edges of the power providing a sealed environment that forces the solvent through the coffee grounds and provides an extract (col. 4, lns. 42-59).
Kanazashi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to extraction apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the piston as taught by Modified Brodersen with the piston as taught by Kanazashi because Kanazashi teaches the piston to contain sealing elements configured to create a sealed environment within a hopper that that forces a solvent through biomass to provide an extract (col. 4, lns. 42-59). See MPEP 2143(I)(B) and 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 22, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 21, wherein the solvent is hexane (Brodersen, [0032]).
Regarding claim 24, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 21, further comprising a vacuum subsystem configured to create a vacuum within the evaporation subsystem such that the pressure within the evaporation subsystem is lower than the ambient atmospheric pressure (Brodersen, [0033]).
Regarding claim 26, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 25, further comprising a freezer, wherein the freezer houses the solvent subsystem (Brodersen, [0034-0035]).
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodersen (US 20190308116 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20210245073 A1) and Kanazashi et al. (US 4612850 A), further in view of Leo (US 20210251157 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Modified Brodersen teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 22, wherein the solvent can be one that is liquid at ambient temperature such as ethanol or hexane (Broderson, [0021]) but does not explicitly teach wherein the solvent is heptane.
One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a plurality of solvents that are liquid at room temperature could be used to extract a product from plant biomass and would be motivated to determine a list of alternatives, motivating one to turn towards Leo. Leo teaches a cannabis extraction system that utilizes heptane as a solvent [0836].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select heptane as solvent for use in the extraction system as taught by Modified Brodersen because heptane was known as a suitable solvent for the intended purpose of extraction from biomass. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brodersen (US 20190308116 A1) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20210245073 A1) and Kanazashi et al. (US 4612850 A), further in view of Lopa (US 20190299115 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Modified Broderson teaches the extraction apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the apparatus comprises a control panel configured to dictate the operation of the extraction apparatus.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with controlling the operation of the extraction system, motivating one to turn towards Lopa. Lopa teaches a plant extraction system comprising a controller (708) for controlling stirring, cooling, and vacuuming operations and a user interface configured to adjust variables such as vacuum pressure values and cooling temperatures [0124-126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Modified Broderson to include the controller and user interface as taught by Lopa because Lopa teaches the two elements to allow a user to control various extraction system operations such as stirring, cooling, and vacuum pressure [0124-0126]. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190016989 A1 teaches an essential oil extraction system comprising an evaporator and condenser in sequence.
/N.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799