Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected claim, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/14/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-8 in the reply filed on 6/14/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komada (US 2015/0325741 A1; hereinafter Komada) in view of Sugano (US 2011/0204412 A1; hereinafter Sugano).
Regarding Claim 1. Komada (Fig.1-12) discloses a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element comprising:
forming a first n-layer (3; [0031]) above a first substrate (1; Fig.1-12) being made of a nitride semiconductor layer ([0039]-[0043]);
forming a second n-layer (5/9; [0031]) above the first n-layer (3), the second n-layer being made of a nitride semiconductor layer ([0052]);
forming an active layer (11; [0031]) configured to emit ultraviolet light ([0007]) above the second n-layer (5/9), the active layer (11) being made of a nitride semiconductor layer ([0056]);
forming a p-layer (13; [0031]) above the active layer (11), the p-layer (13) being made of a nitride semiconductor layer ([0031]);
forming a p-electrode (19; [0032]) on the p-layer (13);
exposing the second n-layer (5/9) by removing the first substrate (1) and the first n-layer (3; see Fig.12-13); and
forming an n-electrode (17) on the second n-layer (5/9) exposed in the step of exposing the second n-layer.
Komada does not particularly discloses how the n layers are formed.
Sugano (Fig.1) in a related art discloses a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element comprising:
forming a first n-layer ( [0053]-[0055]) by using a first source gas comprising an Al source gas, a Ga source gas, and a Ge source gas, the first n-layer being made of a nitride semiconductor layer ([0076]-[0077]);
forming a second n-layer ( [0054]) by using a second source gas comprising an Al source gas, a Ga source gas, and a Si source gas, the second n-layer being made of a nitride semiconductor layer ([0076]-[0077]);
forming an active layer of a nitride semiconductor layer ([0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use Al, Ga, Ge, and Silicon gas sources to make the n-layers since these methods results in an improved crystal quality, balances lattice stress, setting wide direct bandgap, and a low contact resistance for lower operating voltage.
Regarding Claim 3. The method for manufacturing a light-emitting element according to claim 1, Sugano (Fig.1; [0054]-[0055]) discloses wherein in the step of forming the second n-layer (14a), the second n-layer (14b) is formed with a thickness greater than a thickness of the first n-layer (14b).
Regarding Claim 5. The method for manufacturing a light-emitting element according to claim 1, Sugano (Fig.1; [0055]) discloses wherein in the step of forming the first n-layer (14b), the first n-layer (14b) is formed with a thickness in a range from 0.2 μm to 1.2 μm.
Regarding Claim 7. The method for manufacturing a light-emitting element according to claim 1, Sugano (Fig.1; [0054]) discloses wherein in the step of forming the second n-layer, the second n-layer (14a) is formed with a thickness in a range from 1 μm to 3 μm.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komada in view of Sugano in view of Chadda et al. (US 2021/0257510 A1; hereinafter Chadda).
Regarding Claim 2. The method for manufacturing a light-emitting element according to claim Komada in view of Sugano were not particularly disclose the step of forming the p-electrode, joining the p-electrode and a second substrate by disposing the second substrate at a position proximate to the p-layer, wherein after the step of joining the p-electrode and the second substrate, the step of exposing the second n-layer is performed.
Chadda (Fig.11B) discloses first substrate (22B), LED layers (10B), and a second substrate (400) on top of the electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use a second substrate at a position proximate to the p-layer of the LED to transfer the LED structure more efficiently with minimum damage.
Regarding Claim 4. The method for manufacturing a light-emitting element according to claim 2, Sugano (Fig.1; [0054]-[0055]) discloses wherein in the step of forming the second n-layer (14b), the second n-layer (14b) is formed with a thickness greater than a thickness of the first n-layer (14a).
Regarding Claim 6. The method for manufacturing a light-emitting element according to claim 2, Sugano (Fig.1; [0055]) discloses wherein in the step of forming the first n-layer (14b), the first n-layer (14b) is formed with a thickness in a range from 0.2 μm to 1.2 μm.
Regarding Claim 8. The method for manufacturing a light-emitting element according to claim 2, Sugano (Fig.1; [0054]) discloses wherein in the step of forming the second n-layer (14a), the second n-layer is formed with a thickness in a range from 1 μm to 3 μm.
Conclusion
/HAJAR KOLAHDOUZAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898