DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 10, and 17 have been amended as per Applicant’s amendment filed on January 7, 2026. Claim 20 was previously canceled. Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok (US 2020/0393936 A1, Published December 17, 2020) in view of Kim (US 2022/0109229 A1, Published April 7, 2022).
As to claim 1, Bok discloses a system comprising:
a display cover layer (Bok at Fig. 5, 7, cover window 100 over display panel 300);
a conductive touch sensor layer comprising a plurality of touch sensor elements disposed within the conductive touch sensor layer (Bok at Fig. 30, in particular, sensor area TSA including touch electrodes TE, RE);
a transparent antenna film layer comprising a copper meshed metal layer (Bok at Figs. 30, 32, in particular, antenna pattern AP; ¶ [0734] discloses “The first conductive pattern AP may include a conductive material having high reflectance. For example, the first conductive pattern AP may include a metal such as silver (Ag), copper (Cu) and aluminum (Al).” ¶ [0754] discloses “The first conductive pattern AP may have a substantially mesh topology.”)…
wherein the display cover layer, the transparent antenna film layer and the conductive touch sensor layer are respectively coplanar (Bok at Figs. 5, 7, 32, 34-35, in particular),1 and
wherein at least one antenna trace is formed in the copper meshed metal layer, and when viewed through the transparent antenna film layer (Bok at Figs. 30, 32, in particular, first conductive patterns AP (antenna patterns) are formed in the same layer as touch electrodes TE, RE from a top view; ¶ [0450]),
the at least one antenna trace is routed along one or more gaps between the plurality of touch sensor elements to avoid overlapping with the plurality of touch sensor elements disposed within the conductive touch sensor layer (Bok at Fig. 32, ¶ [0447]).2
While Bok does disclose an optical substrate layer,3 Bok is does not expressly disclose an adhesive layer, and an optical substrate layer, wherein the copper meshed metal layer is laminated to the optical substrate layer via the adhesive layer, wherein the transparent antenna film layer is attached to an interior surface of the display cover layer and is disposed between the display cover layer and an adhesive layer of the display stack.
However, Kim discloses an adhesive layer, and an optical substrate layer, wherein the copper meshed metal layer is laminated to the optical substrate layer via the adhesive layer (Kim at Fig. 7, window 260 and polar layer 180 are analogous to an optical substrate layer, and adhesive 90 is disposed between polar layer 180 and antenna 150), and
wherein the transparent antenna film layer is attached to an interior surface of the display cover layer and is disposed between the display cover layer and an adhesive layer of the display stack (Kim at Fig. 7, antenna 150 is attached to interior surface of polar layer 180 (display cover), and between polar layer 180 and either adhesive 80 or adhesive 60 );4
Bok discloses a base touch display with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable touch display with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Bok the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of providing improved signal reliability and optical property (Kim at ¶ [0008]-[0009]).
As to claim 2, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the transparent antenna film layer comprises a printed transparent conductive material (Bok at Fig. 32; ¶ [0888]), and the copper meshed metal layer includes a pitch between 60µm and 120 µm (Bok at Fig. 32. MPEP 2144.03(IV) & MPEP 2144.05(II) establish that changes in size/proportion and optimization of ranges are obvious).
As to claim 3, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the transparent antenna film layer comprises a meshed metal layer disposed on top of the adhesive layer that is disposed on top of the optical substrate layer (Kim at Fig. 7, antennal layer 150 is disposed on top of adhesive layer 80, which is disposed on top of touch sensor 120. Fig. 1 shows that touch sensor 120 includes substrate 100), wherein the meshed metal layer forms at least the antenna trace.(Bok at Figs. 32, 34-35, antenna pattern AP and TINS2).
Bok discloses a base touch display with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable touch display with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Bok the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of providing improved signal reliability and optical property (Kim at ¶ [0008]-[0009]).
As to claim 4, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the meshed metal layer has a pitch of up to 60 µm and the antenna trace is less than 8 µm wide (Bok at ¶ [0406] discloses “[0406] Referring to FIGS. 23 and 24, the first conductive pattern AP may be formed in a substantially mesh topology when viewed from the top. The first conductive pattern AP may have the width of approximately or about 2.5 μm and a thickness of approximately or about 2,400 Å m or less.”).
As to claim 5, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the meshed metal layer has a pitch of at least 60 µm and the antenna trace is less than 8µm wide (Bok at ¶ [0406] discloses “[0406] Referring to FIGS. 23 and 24, the first conductive pattern AP may be formed in a substantially mesh topology when viewed from the top. The first conductive pattern AP may have the width of approximately or about 2.5 μm and a thickness of approximately or about 2,400 Å m or less.”).
As to claim 6, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the meshed metal layer has a pitch of at least 120 µm and the antenna trace is less than 4 µm wide (Bok at ¶ [0406] discloses “[0406] Referring to FIGS. 23 and 24, the first conductive pattern AP may be formed in a substantially mesh topology when viewed from the top. The first conductive pattern AP may have the width of approximately or about 2.5 μm and a thickness of approximately or about 2,400 Å m or less.”).
As to claim 7, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the adhesive an adhesive layer disposed beneath a polarizer layer that is disposed over the substrate layer (Kim at Fig. 7, adhesive layer 90 is disposed beneath polarization layer 180 and window substrate 260),
wherein an anode layer, an organic light emitting device (OLED) layer and a cathode layer are disposed between the substrate layer and the conductive touch sensor layer (Bok at Figs. 34-35, in particular).
Bok discloses a base touch display with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable touch display with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Bok the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of providing improved signal reliability and optical property (Kim at ¶ [0008]-[0009]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a multi-layer flex that connects a radio frequency (RF) signal from an RF integrated circuit to the transparent antenna film layer (Bok at Figs. 6-7, in particular, flexible film 340; ¶ [0280]-[0281]).5
As to claim 10, Bok discloses a system comprising:
a display cover layer (Bok at Fig. 5, 7, cover window 100 over display panel 300);
a conductive touch sensor layer comprising a plurality of touch sensor elements disposed within the conductive touch sensor layer (Bok at Fig. 30, in particular, sensor area TSA including touch electrodes TE, RE);
a transparent antenna film layer that comprises a copper meshed metal layer (Bok at Figs. 30, 32, in particular, antenna pattern AP; ¶ [0734] discloses “The first conductive pattern AP may include a conductive material having high reflectance. For example, the first conductive pattern AP may include a metal such as silver (Ag), copper (Cu) and aluminum (Al).” ¶ [0754] discloses “The first conductive pattern AP may have a substantially mesh topology.”)…
the conductive touch sensor layer and the optical substrate layer are respectively coplanar (Bok at Figs. 5, 7, 32, 34-35, in particular),6 and
wherein at least one radiating antenna trace is formed in the copper meshed metal layer, and when viewed through the optical substrate layer (Bok at Figs. 30, 32, in particular, first conductive patterns AP (antenna patterns) are formed in the same layer as touch electrodes TE, RE from a top view looking through cover window 100 (see Figs. 5 and 7); ¶ [0450]),
the at least one radiating antenna trace of the conductive antenna layer is routed along one or more gaps between the plurality of touch sensor elements to avoid overlapping of the at least one radiating antenna trace with the plurality of touch sensor elements (Bok at Fig. 32, ¶ [0447]).7.
While Bok does disclose an optical substrate layer,8 Bok does not expressly disclose an adhesive layer, and an optical substrate layer, wherein the copper meshed metal layer that is laminated to the optical substrate layer via the adhesive layer and wherein the transparent antenna film layer is attached to an interior surface of the display cover and is disposed between the display cover layer and the adhesive layer of the display stack:
However, Kim does disclose an adhesive layer, and an optical substrate layer, wherein the copper meshed metal layer that is laminated to the optical substrate layer via the adhesive layer (Kim at Fig. 7, window 260 and polar layer 180 are analogous to an optical substrate layer, and adhesive 90 is disposed between polar layer 180 and antenna 150) and
wherein the transparent antenna film layer is attached to an interior surface of the display cover and is disposed between the display cover layer and the adhesive layer of the display stack (Kim at Fig. 7, antenna 150 is attached to interior surface of polar layer 180 (display cover), and between polar layer 180 and either adhesive 80 or adhesive 60 );9
Bok discloses a base touch display with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable touch display with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Bok the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of providing improved signal reliability and optical property (Kim at ¶ [0008]-[0009]).
As to claim 17, Bok discloses a system comprising:
a display module included in a wearable device (Bok at ¶ [0216]),
the display module comprising a display stack, the display stack comprising: a display cover layer; a display layer (Bok at Fig. 5, in particular);
a conductive touch sensor layer comprising a plurality of touch sensor elements (Bok at Fig. 30, in particular, sensor area TSA including touch electrodes TE, RE); and
an antenna layer embedded in the display module of the wearable device (Bok at Figs. 30-35, in particular, sensor area TSA including touch electrodes TE, RE),
wherein the antenna layer is respectively coplanar with the display layer and with the conductive touch sensor layer (Bok at Figs. 5, 7, 32-34) and
comprises a copper meshed metal layer (Bok at Figs. 30, 32, in particular, antenna pattern AP; ¶ [0734] discloses “The first conductive pattern AP may include a conductive material having high reflectance. For example, the first conductive pattern AP may include a metal such as silver (Ag), copper (Cu) and aluminum (Al).” ¶ [0754] discloses “The first conductive pattern AP may have a substantially mesh topology.”)…
wherein at least one antenna trace of the antenna layer is formed in the copper meshed metal layer, and when viewed through the antenna layer (Bok at Figs. 30, 32, in particular, first conductive patterns AP (antenna patterns) are formed in the same layer as touch electrodes TE, RE from a top view; ¶ [0450]),
the at least one antenna trace within the antenna layer is routed along one or more gaps between the plurality of touch sensor elements to avoid overlapping with the plurality of touch sensor elements in the conductive touch sensor layer (Bok at Fig. 32, ¶ [0447]).
While Bok does disclose an optical substrate layer,10 Bok is does not expressly disclose an adhesive layer, and an optical substrate layer, wherein the copper meshed metal layer that is laminated to the optical substrate layer via the adhesive layer and wherein the antenna layer is attached to an interior surface of the display cover layer and is disposed between the display cover layer and an adhesive layer on the display stack.
However, Kim does disclose an adhesive layer, and an optical substrate layer, wherein the copper meshed metal layer that is laminated to the optical substrate layer via the adhesive layer (Kim at Fig. 7, window 260 and polar layer 180 are analogous to an optical substrate layer, and adhesive 90 is disposed between polar layer 180 and antenna 150) and
wherein the antenna layer is attached to an interior surface of the display cover layer and is disposed between the display cover layer and an adhesive layer on the display stack (Kim at Fig. 7, antenna 150 is attached to interior surface of polar layer 180 (display cover), and between polar layer 180 and either adhesive 80 or adhesive 60 );11
Bok discloses a base touch display with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Kim discloses a comparable touch display with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Bok the teachings of Kim for the predictable result of providing improved signal reliability and optical property (Kim at ¶ [0008]-[0009]).
Claims 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok and Kim as applied to claims 1 and 10 respectively above, and in further view of Li (US 2023/0059699 A1, Filed January 29, 2020).
As to claim 9, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 1.
Bok does not disclose that the transparent antenna film layer comprises a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) antenna configuration.
However, Li does disclose that that the transparent antenna film layer comprises a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) antenna configuration (Li at Fig. 1B, radiator 10; ¶ [0004]).
The combination of Bok and Kim discloses a base touch display with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Li discloses a comparable touch display with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Bok and Kim the teachings of Li for the predictable result of providing more support of radio signal technology (Li at ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 16, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 10.
Bok does not disclose that the transparent antenna film layer comprises a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) antenna configuration.
However, Li does disclose that the transparent antenna film layer comprises a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) antenna configuration (Li at Fig. 1B, radiator 10; ¶ [0004]).
The combination of Bok and Kim discloses a base touch display with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Li discloses a comparable touch display with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Bok and Kim the teachings of Li for the predictable result of providing more support of radio signal technology (Li at ¶ [0004]).
Claims 11, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok and Kim as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of in view of Ikeda (WO 2021/014264, Published January 28, 2021).
As to claim 11, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 10.
Bok does not expressly disclose a flex printed circuit to which at least a portion of the substrate layer is bound.
However, Ikeda does disclose a flex printed circuit to which at least a portion of the substrate layer is bound (Ikeda at Figs. 1-2, FPC 112 and FPC 122; Page 3 discloses “The substrate 110 has an FPC 112 into which a signal or the like for displaying is input. The substrate 120 has an FPC 122 for transmitting and receiving signals.”).
The combination of Bok and Kim discloses a base touch display with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Ikeda discloses a comparable touch display with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Bok the teachings of Ikeda for the predictable result of providing a beam forming technique (Ikeda at Page 24).
As to claim 12, the combination of Bok, Kim, and Ikeda discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the flex printed circuit electrically connects the conductive touch layer to a touch sensing integrated circuit (Ikeda at Figs. 1-2).
As to claim 13, the combination of Bok, Kim, and Ikeda discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the flex printed circuit electrically connects the at least one radiating antenna to a radio frequency integrated circuit (Ikeda at Figs. 1-2) (Bok at Figs. 6-7, in particular, flexible film 360).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok and Kim as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of in view of in view of Yu (CN 116974390, Filed April 22, 2022 – translation attached).
As to claim 14, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 10.
Bok does not expressly disclose that the at least one radiating antenna trace of the transparent antenna film layer is disposed within one or more gaps between the touch sensor elements.
However, Yu does disclose that the at least one radiating antenna trace of the transparent antenna film layer is disposed within one or more gaps between the touch sensor elements (Yu at Figs. 7-9, antenna units 31 are disposed in gaps between touch units 21).12
The combination of Bok and Kim discloses a base touch display with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Yu discloses a comparable touch display with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Bok and Kim the teachings of Yu for the predictable result of increasing antenna space and improving the signal receiving ability (Yu at Page 2).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok and Kim as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Yu (CN 116974390, Filed April 22, 2022 – translation attached) and Liang (US 2021/0305695 A1, Published September 21, 2021).
As to claim 15, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 10.
Bok does not disclose that the at least one radiating antenna trace of the transparent antenna film layer is disposed… in one or more gaps between the touch sensor elements.
However, Yu does disclose that the at least one radiating antenna trace of the transparent antenna film layer is disposed… in one or more gaps between the touch sensor elements (Yu at Figs. 7-9).
The combination of Bok and Kim discloses a base touch display with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Yu discloses a comparable touch display with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Bok and Kim the teachings of Yu for the predictable result of increasing antenna space and improving the signal receiving ability (Yu at Page 2).
The combination of Bok, Kim, and Yu does not disclose a fish bone pattern.
However Liang does disclose a fish bone pattern (Liang at ¶ [0019])13
The combination of Bok, Kim, and Yu discloses a base antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Liang discloses a comparable antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to simply substitute the fishbone antenna of Liang into the combination of Bok, Kim, and Yu with the predictable result of transmitting or receiving electromagnetic signals.
Claims 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok and Kim as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Ren (CN 108319392-A, Published July 24, 2018 – translation attached).
As to claim 18, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the antenna layer comprises a transparent antenna film layer comprising at least one antenna formed of a printed… conductive material (Bok at ¶ [0888] discloses “The driving electrodes TE and the sensing electrodes RE may include a conductive material such as silver (Ag) and copper (Cu). The driving electrodes TE and the sensing electrodes RE may be formed or disposed on the first substrate SUB1 by screen printing”).
Bok does not disclose that the conductive material is transparent.
However, Ren does disclose that the conductive material is transparent (Ren at page 4 discloses “in another embodiment of the present invention, routing line 12 made of transparent indium tin oxide material, and may be disposed between the plurality of touch electrodes 11. Specifically, routing circuit of the NFC antenna is set between the touch electrodes wherein a structure form can be shown in FIG. 5a”).
The combination of Bok and Kim discloses a base touch panel with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Ren discloses a comparable touch panel with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Bok and Kim the teachings of Ren for the predictable result of providing an antenna without occupying additional space to satisfy small device design requirements (Ren at Page 3).
As to claim 19, the combination of Bok, Kim, and Ren discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the printed transparent conductive material comprises a meshed metal, a mesh of the meshed metal having a predetermined pitch that renders the antenna layer at least partially transparent to light produced by the display layer (Bok at Figs. 20, 32, in particular) .
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok and Kim as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Liang (US 2021/0305695 A1, Published September 30, 2021) and Paulsen (US 2013/0162594 A1, Published June 27, 2013).
As to claim 21, the combination of Bok and Kim discloses the system of claim 17.
Bok does not disclose that the at least one antenna trace of the antenna layer is configured in a fish bone pattern to reduce interference with the touch sensor elements.
However, Liang discloses that the at least one antenna trace of the antenna layer is configured in a fish bone pattern (Liang at ¶ [0019]).
the combination of Bok and Kim discloses a base antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Liang discloses a comparable antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to simply substitute the fishbone antenna of Liang into the combination of Bok and Kim with the predictable result of transmitting or receiving electromagnetic signals.
The combination of Bok, Kim, and Liang does not disclose reducing interference with the touch sensor elements.
However, Paulsen does disclose reducing interference with the touch sensor elements (Paulsen at ¶ [0078] discloses “In another embodiment of the present invention, interference may be reduced by using symmetrical routing patterns for electrodes. Electric field interference created by the voltages placed on the second NFC antenna 46 may be canceled using symmetrical routing patterns such that the net voltage coupled onto any sense electrode of the touch sensor 40 is minimized. Similarly the magnetic field interference created by the transmission current in the second NFC antenna 46 may be canceled by using symmetrical electrode routing patterns such that the net current injected into any touch sensor 40 electrode pin is minimized.”)
The combination of Bok, Kim, and Liang discloses a base touch panel with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Paulsen discloses a comparable touch panel with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to simply substitute the fishbone antenna of Liang into the combination of Bok and Liang with the predictable result of transmitting or receiving electromagnetic signals.
The combination of Bok, Kim, and Liang discloses a base touch panel with antenna upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Paulsen discloses a comparable touch panel with antenna which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Bok, Kim, and Liang the teachings of Paulsen for the predictable result of allowing the functions of the touch sensor, NFC and display to be physically performed simultaneously and/or independently from each other (Paulsen at ¶ [0026]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 and 21 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant contends that Bok and Kim does not teach “a transparent antenna film layer comprising a copper mesh metal layer, an adhesive layer, and an optical substrate layer, wherein the copper metal mesh layer is laminated to the optical substrate layer via the adhesive layer” (Applicant’s Response (AR) at page 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the combination of Bok and Kim renders such claim aspect obvious as discussed in the substantive rejection of the claims above. Moreover, nowhere does Bok preclude using the teachings of Kim to attach its first antenna pattern AP using an adhesive as taught by Kim. Consequently, Applicant’s arguments to the contrary are unpersuasive.
Second, Applicant contends that Bok and Kim does not disclose that the transparent antenna film layer is attached to an interior surface of the display cover layer and between the display cover layer and the adhesive layer (AR at pages 9-10). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) standard, Kim and Bok affirmatively contemplate such claimed subject matter as discussed above in the substantive rejection of the claims.
Third, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments that Bok and Kim does not disclose the routing of the antenna trace (AR at page 10). Simple inspection of Bok at Fig. 32 shows that taken with connection unit BE3 that first antenna patterns AP are routed between touch electrodes TE, RE. Moreover, the Yu reference – used to reject claims 1, 10, and 15 earlier in the prosecution history – also discloses such a claim aspect.14 Therefore, Applicant’s arguments to the contrary must fail.
Applicant also contends that dependent claims 6 and 9 are also patentable without explication as to how the combination of the cited references are deficient (AR at page 11). Consequently, Examiner cannot agree with Applicant’s arguments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
He (CN 112578926, Published March 30, 2021) is made of record for its relevance to claims 1, 10, and 15 by its disclosure of the following at page 7 and Figs. 1-2:
“In some embodiments, the first touch electrode 21 in the second direction of the two sides of the shape of the triangle of the first touch electrode unit 212 and the adjacent diamond second touch electrode unit 232 between the interval area 12 located on the touch area edge and connected with the non-touch area; the antenna electrode 30 is formed in the interval area 12 of the non-touch area, so as to facilitate the antenna electrode 30 communication connection with the external control element.”
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623
01/13/2026
1 See also Kim at Fig. 7.
2 See also Yu (CN-116974390, Filed April 22, 2022) at Figs. 7-9 which affirmatively depict antenna units 31 not overlapping with touch units 21; and He in the Conclusion Section below.
3 See also Bok at Figs. 5, 7, 30, 32, in particular, Examiner regards cover window 100 and polarizer PF together (which Examiner labels as “Cover Substrate”) as analogous to an optical substrate; ¶ [0272] discloses “The cover window 100 may be disposed on the polarizing film PF. The cover window 100 may be attached onto the polarizing film PF by a transparent adhesive member such as an optically clear adhesive (OCA) film”
4 See also Bok at Figs. 5, 7, 30, 32, in particular, antenna pattern AP is coplanar with touch electrodes TE, RE, and consequently, are attached to the interior surface of “Cover Substrate” as depicted in Figs. 5, 7
5 See also Jian (US 2022/0109225 A1, Published April 7, 2022) at Abstract; Fig. 1-3, in particular; ¶ [0022], [0026], [0039]).
6 See also Kim at Fig. 7.
7 See also Yu (CN-116974390, Filed April 22, 2022) at Figs. 7-9 which affirmatively depict antenna units 31 not overlapping with touch units 21.
8 See also Bok at Figs. 5, 7, 30, 32, in particular, Examiner regards cover window 100 and polarizer PF together (which Examiner labels as “Cover Substrate”) as analogous to an optical substrate; ¶ [0272] discloses “The cover window 100 may be disposed on the polarizing film PF. The cover window 100 may be attached onto the polarizing film PF by a transparent adhesive member such as an optically clear adhesive (OCA) film”
9 See also Bok at Figs. 5, 7, 30, 32, in particular, antenna pattern AP is coplanar with touch electrodes TE, RE, and consequently, are attached to the interior surface of “Cover Substrate” as depicted in Figs. 5, 7
10 See also Bok at Figs. 5, 7, 30, 32, in particular, Examiner regards cover window 100 and polarizer PF together (which Examiner labels as “Cover Substrate”) as analogous to an optical substrate; ¶ [0272] discloses “The cover window 100 may be disposed on the polarizing film PF. The cover window 100 may be attached onto the polarizing film PF by a transparent adhesive member such as an optically clear adhesive (OCA) film”
11 See also Bok at Figs. 5, 7, 30, 32, in particular, antenna pattern AP is coplanar with touch electrodes TE, RE, and consequently, are attached to the interior surface of “Cover Substrate” as depicted in Figs. 5, 7
12 See also Ren (CN 108319392, Published July 24, 2018) at Figs. 5a, 5b and page 4 which discloses “routing line 12 made of transparent indium tin oxide material, and may be disposed between the plurality of touch electrodes 11. Specifically, routing circuit of the NFC antenna is set between the touch electrodes wherein a structure form can be shown in FIG. 5a, in the structure, the routing circuit 12 can be at least two, and each wiring line 12 are formed in a bent structure. two ends are respectively provided with a lead connecting end 121, all of the wiring lines 12 is provided between two adjacent touch electrode 11”.
13 See also Bok at Fig. 45.
14 See also He in Conclusion Section below.