DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D1 and E1 of Group II, encompassing claims 16-17, 19, and 22-24, in the reply filed on 5/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15, 18, and 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1-15, 18, and 20-21 are withdrawn from consideration and should be identified with proper claim identifier (e.g., Withdrawn). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komvopoulos et al (U.S. 6,379,741).
Regarding claim 16, Komvopoulos et al disclose a method of making an article with modified surface (ABSTRACT). The method comprises steps of
(a) providing a polymeric workpiece having a surface (i.e., providing a substrate … a polymeric material, col. 4, line 40-41);
(b) placing the workpieces in plasma to activate the surface thereof as a preliminary activation step (i.e., contacting the surface with a first plasma … having a first functionality, col. 4 line 41 – 59 & col. 5, line 18-19, & Tables);
(c) sequentially performing a coupling reaction with a different plasma (i.e., contacting … a second plasma to create a second functionality, col. 4, line56 – col. 5 line 2, & col. 5, line 25-28, & Tables).
Regarding claim 17, Komvopoulos teaches that the activation gas may comprise oxygen and the coupling gas may comprise fluorocarbon (col. 5, line 14-30)
Regarding claim 19, Komvopoulos teaches repeated treatment with different plasma (Tables).
Claims 16, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyakuta et al (PG-PUB US 2012/0195065).
Regarding claim 16, Hyakuta et al disclose a method of making an article having liquid repellent-treated surface (ABSTRACT). The method comprises steps of
(a) providing a transparent sheet 11 having a surface S1/S0, wherein the transparent sheet comprises PMMA (i.e., providing a substrate … a polymeric material, Figure 1, paragraphs [0027] -0029] & [0041]);
(b) treating the surface S1/S0 of the transparent sheet 11 with an etching plasma to roughen the surface of PMMA (i.e., contacting the surface with a first plasma … having a first functionality, paragraphs [0037], & [0041]);
(c) subsequently forming a liquid repellent film on the roughened surface with a fluoride-based gas plasma (i.e., contacting … a second plasma to create a second functionality, paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 22, Hyakuta teaches that PMMA is used as the transparent sheet and the fluoride-based gas is used as the subsequent plasma treatment (paragraphs [0029], [0041], & [0110]).
Regarding claim 23, Hyakuta teaches that the PMMA sheet is masked before the plasma treatment (paragraph [0110]).
Regarding claim 24, Hyakuta teaches that PMMA is used as the transparent sheet (paragraph [0029]).
Conclusion
Claims 16-17, 19, and 22-24 are rejected. Claims 1-15, 18, and 20-21 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795