DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-7 were previously pending and subject to final action filed 03/20/2025. In the response filed on 8/20/2025, claim 1 were amended. Therefore, claims 1 and 3-7 are currently pending and subject to the non-final action below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/20/2025, with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: The applied references, in any combination, do not teach and would not have rendered obvious a customizable ticket memorabilia system comprising a computer server programmed to "verify that the E-ticket for the event is an actual ticketed event ticket and not a fraud by comparing the E-ticket data with stored ticket code information to determine a match," and "in response to verifying the E-ticket, produce the hard stock ticket for the ticketed experience corresponding to the E-ticket data from the customized ticket memorabilia template," as recited in claim 1.
The Office Action asserts Hamick in view of Novais, Shivakumar, Raasch, Lynton and Gibson teach all of the elements of claim 1. While Hamick discloses obtaining event information from an issued event ticket and determining a composition of a commemorative ticket, Hamick merely describes obtaining event information such as date, seat location, and venue from scanning the issued ticket. Hamick does not appear to teach the specific verification step of comparing E-ticket data with stored ticket code information to determine a match, nor does it teach conditional production of the hard stock ticket in response to such verification. Novais, Shivakumar, Raasch, Lynton and Gibson do not appear to verifying the E-ticket by comparison with stored data before producing the commemorative ticket and/or conditional production based on such verification.
Examiner Response: After careful consideration and review applicant’s argument. The examiner response respectfully disagrees for the following reason below.
verify that the E-ticket for the event is an actual ticketed event ticket and not a fraud (Hamick – [0018] The subject technology provides for a system that uses an input device (e.g., bar code scanner, QR code scanner) to input event information from an issued event ticket. [0030] For example, a bar code or QR code on the issued ticket may be scanned to provide information regarding the event as well as information specific to that ticket, such as the seat location and the ticket holder's name.)
by comparing the E-ticket data with stored ticket code information to determine a match; (Hamick – [0018-0019] [0030] [0019] Alternatively, the information obtained from the issued ticket may identify the ticket, and additional information related to the issued ticket may be accessed in a database in order to create a commemorative ticket. canning the issued ticket then provides identifying information for that issued ticket that may then be matched with the ticket purchaser's user information from the purchase of the issued ticket, such as the ticket purchaser's name, address and the like. For example, the event information (e.g., seat location, event name, date) may be obtained directly from scanning the issued event ticket and then the event information may be associated or cross-referenced with user information in a database that is associated with either the ticket purchaser or a user designated by the ticket purchaser.)
Hamick teaches scanning a ticket and comparing if the scanned ticket matches the information in the database with the ticket purchaser’s information of a user designated ticket purchaser.
in response to verifying the E-ticket, (Hamick − [0018-0019]) produce the hard stock ticket for the ticketed experience corresponding to the E-ticket data from the customized ticket memorabilia template; (Hamick − [0016] A higher quality commemorative ticket (hard stock ticket) is often desired by a ticket purchaser to keep as a souvenir or keepsake. In some cases, upon purchasing a digital ticket to an event the purchaser is given an option to order a commemorative paper ticket (hard stock ticket) at the same time. [0030] FIG. 4 illustrates an example process 400 which produces a commemorative ticket based on an issued event ticket. the ticket holder may choose various options from a user interface (e.g., a touch screen), such as selecting the specific graphics, adding gold leaf, adding a lamination and the like.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the teaching of Hamick, Novais, Shivakumar, Raasch, Lynton and Gibson as each inventions are related to document processing of event tickets. Adding the teaching of Gibson provides Hamick with a smart phone device with a digital ticket that can be scanned. Therefore, improving convenient and reliable ticketing experience for fans of an event.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamick (US PGPUB: 20150286961, hereinafter “Hamick”) in view of Novais et al. (US PGPUB: 20030023452, hereinafter “Novais”) in view of Shivakumar et al. (US PGPUB: 20150134371, Filed Date: Nov. 12, 2013, hereinafter “Shivakumar”) in view of Raasch et al. (US PGPUB: 20010049897, Filed Date: Jul. 20, 1999, hereinafter “Raasch”) in view of Lynton (US PGPUB: 20090287990 A1, Filed Date: May 22, 2009) in view of Gibson (US PGPUB: 20100133339 A1, Filed Date: Dec. 1, 2008).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hamick teaches: A customizable ticket memorabilia system comprising: (Hamick – [0005] The disclosed subject matter also relates to a commemorative ticket system. The system includes a server computer and an input device in communication with the server computer, the input device configured to obtain event information from an issued event ticket.)
a computer server comprising a memory storing ticket memorabilia templates and ticketed experience data associated with the ticket memorabilia templates, (Hamick – [0034] FIG. 5 conceptually illustrates an example electronic system with which some implementations of the subject technology can be implemented. Processing unit, a system memory, an input device interface, an output device interface, and a network interface)
wherein the ticketed experience data comprises ticket code information for every ticket sold, seat location associated with the ticket code information, date of event, event specific information, specific images related to the event, or combinations thereof; (Hamick − [0018] a system that uses an input device (e.g., bar code scanner, QR code scanner) to input event information from an issued event ticket. The event information may include the date, the seat location, the venue, the event (e.g., name of band, show, play, sporting event and the like), etc.)
and a user computing device of a user, (Hamick – Fig. 1 computer 130 [0023] Computer 130 may be any of a desktop computer, a laptop computer, an embedded computer, a tablet computer, a smartphone and the like.)
wherein the user is an E-ticket holder, (Hamick – [0002] The ticket may be an electronic or digital ticket that is provided to the user electronically and is printed by the user on regular printer paper.) coupled to the computer server, the computer server programmed to: (Hamick – [0005] The commemorative ticket system includes a server computer and an input device in communication with the server computer, the input device configured to obtain event information from an issued event ticket. [0023] Production device 150 (Fig. 1) may be any device adapted to produce or further process a commemorative ticket, such as a printer, a laminating device, an embossing device, and the like.)
receive from the user computing device a signal including E-ticket data, wherein the E-ticket data comprises the ticket code information, and wherein the signal including the E-ticket data is generated by one of scanning an E-ticket, (Hamick – [0018] The subject technology provides for a system that uses an input device (e.g., bar code scanner, QR code scanner) to input event information from an issued event ticket. For example, both originally printed tickets and digital tickets printed on paper described above may have graphics depicting the venue and/or the event, as well as seat location and the date of the event. [0019] For example, the event information (e.g., seat location, event name, date) may be obtained directly from scanning the issued event ticket and then the event information may be associated or cross-referenced with user information in a database that is associated with either the ticket purchaser or a user designated by the ticket purchaser.)
entering ticket identifying information in the user computing device, sending a photo, screenshot or scanned image of the E-ticket, logging into a ticket account, or selecting a link received digitally from the system; (Hamick – [0018] The subject technology provides for a system that uses an input device (e.g., bar code scanner, QR code scanner) to input event information from an issued event ticket. For example, both originally printed tickets and digital tickets printed on paper described above may have graphics depicting the venue and/or the event, as well as seat location and the date of the event. [0019] For example, the event information (e.g., seat location, event name, date) may be obtained directly from scanning the issued event ticket and then the event information may be associated or cross-referenced with user information in a database that is associated with either the ticket purchaser or a user designated by the ticket purchaser.)
automatically process the signal received from the user computing device and retrieve the ticketed experience data corresponding to the E-ticket data; (Hamick – [0031-0032] Fig. 4, A commemorative Ticket design may have default composition, or may be altered or added to by selection of additional options, such as graphics, adding gold left, lamination and the like.)
verify that the E-ticket for the event is an actual ticket event ticket and not a fraud (Hamick – [0018] The subject technology provides for a system that uses an input device (e.g., bar code scanner, QR code scanner) to input event information from an issued event ticket. [0030] For example, a bar code or QR code on the issued ticket may be scanned to provide information regarding the event as well as information specific to that ticket, such as the seat location and the ticket holder's name.)
by comparing the E-ticket data with stored ticket code information to determine a match; (Hamick – [0018-0019] [0030] [0019] Alternatively, the information obtained from the issued ticket may identify the ticket, and additional information related to the issued ticket may be accessed in a database in order to create a commemorative ticket. canning the issued ticket then provides identifying information for that issued ticket that may then be matched with the ticket purchaser's user information from the purchase of the issued ticket, such as the ticket purchaser's name, address and the like. For example, the event information (e.g., seat location, event name, date) may be obtained directly from scanning the issued event ticket and then the event information may be associated or cross-referenced with user information in a database that is associated with either the ticket purchaser or a user designated by the ticket purchaser.) Hamick recites scanning a ticket and comparing if the scanned ticket matches the information in the database with the ticket purchaser’s information of a user designated ticket purchaser.
in response to verifying the E-ticket, (Hamick − [0018-0019]) produce the hard stock ticket for the ticketed experience corresponding to the E-ticket data from the customized ticket memorabilia template; (Hamick − [0016] A higher quality commemorative ticket (hard stock ticket) is often desired by a ticket purchaser to keep as a souvenir or keepsake. In some cases, upon purchasing a digital ticket to an event the purchaser is given an option to order a commemorative paper ticket (hard stock ticket) at the same time. [0030] FIG. 4 illustrates an example process 400 which produces a commemorative ticket based on an issued event ticket. the ticket holder may choose various options from a user interface (e.g., a touch screen), such as selecting the specific graphics, adding gold leaf, adding a lamination and the like.)
Hamick teaches commemorative tickets design for a ticket holder, but does not explicitly teach: using the ticketed experience data retrieved, automatically generate and transmit to the user computing device for display a user interface for customizing a ticket memorabilia template corresponding to the retrieved ticketed experience data with at least two customizable features comprising a user photo feature, a graphic feature, the at least two customizable features located within the ticket memorabilia template and at least one data element of the ticketed experience data automatically entered within the ticket memorabilia template corresponding to at least two data elements of the ticketed experience data,
Novais teaches: using the ticketed experience data retrieved, automatically generate and transmit to the user computing device for display a user interface for customizing a ticket memorabilia template corresponding to the retrieved ticketed experience data with at least two customizable features comprising a user photo feature, a graphic feature, (Novais – [0031-0033] a home computer; A customer can enter his ticket or seat number from the ticket stub or pass the ticket over a scanner at kiosk 17 which records the ticket or seat number. The kiosk 17 can then create a profile that includes the information on the customer’s ticket. Customer images captured at the event can be downloaded and inserted into the template. For example a background of the arena (Fig. 2B), or a background of fans in the stands (Fig. 4B). Ticket itself may be include in the photopackage. Customer images are user photo features, the background of the arena is graphic feature.)
the at least two customizable features located within the ticket memorabilia template (Novais – [0004] The photopackage includes images of the participants of the sporting event or concert, as well as images of the viewer and his/her family at the event, preferably at their seats, and preferably taken while the viewer is enjoying the event. [0031-0033] Based on the ticket number, the service provider will know where the customer is sitting. Also, in response to the customer's choices, the service provider can record the selected imaging service and assign an identification code to the selection. This identification code could include at least information on the selected imaging service and information on the seating location of the customer. for example, images of players in action during the game and images of the customer and his/her family while watching the game. If customer preferences are entered, the appropriate moments of capture of the customer image could focus on those images in which the customer's favorite player or team were featured. Fig. 4B background of arena, element 40 is an image of customer of the ticket purchase.)
and at least one data element of the ticketed experience data automatically entered within the ticket memorabilia template corresponding to at least two data elements of the ticketed experience data, (Novais – [0004] The photopackage includes images of the participants of the sporting event or concert, as well as images of the viewer and his/her family at the event, preferably at their seats, and preferably taken while the viewer is enjoying the event. [0031-0033] Based on the ticket number, the service provider will know where the customer is sitting. Also, in response to the customer's choices, the service provider can record the selected imaging service and assign an identification code to the selection. Fig. 4B background of arena, element 40 is an image of customer of the ticket purchase, the arena stadium)
the at least two data elements of the ticketed experience data comprising a ticket code of the E-ticket and at least one of a location of the a ticketed experience, a venue of the ticketed experience, or a date of the ticketed experience; (Novais – [0031] After entering his/her choices, a customer can pass the ticket stub over a scanner at kiosk 17 which records the ticket or seat number. [0031-0033] Based on the ticket number, the service provider will know where the customer is sitting. Also, in response to the customer's choices, the service provider can record the selected imaging service and assign an identification code to the selection. Fig. 4B background of arena, element 40 is an image of customer of the ticket purchase, the arena stadium and other visitors in the template. The customer, arena (venue) are the at least two data element of the ticket experience.)
customize the ticket memorabilia template in response to receiving a user photo for the user photo feature and a desired graphic for the graphic feature for creation of a hard stock ticket for the ticketed experience corresponding to the E-ticket data, (Novais – [0028] kiosk 17 can be adapted to offer several photopackage choices on screen 52 and permit the customer to select one of the imaging services through the use of customer input section 50. For example, choice A could be 3 images of participants in action at the event and 2 images of the customer's family or friends while watching the event. [0029] [0031-0033] Selection process gives the customer the ability to personalize his photopackage by permitting the customer to input his or her preferences with regard to the participants at the event. For example, at kiosk 17 the customer can enter information such as which is his/her favorite team, which is his/her favorite player etc. In this scenario, the images included in the photopackage would correspond to the customer's personalized choices.)
wherein the ticket memorabilia system is in operation before, during and after a ticketed event, (Novais – [0025], [0031] [0034-0035] Prior to the entertainment event, that a customer can scan his/her ticket stub over a scanner at kiosk 17, the system will create a profile for the customer to include information regarding the customer’s seating location as well as his/her choice of imaging services. The service provider can then create a photopackage of images which includes, for example images of customer’s favorite player, images of family/customer while watching the game. It is possible for the customer to select desired images at kiosk 17 after or during the event. After the game or event, the customer can approve the photopackage or indicates what is incorrect. The customer can also go on-line by way of his/her cell phone and make choices as noted above.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the teaching of Novais with the teaching of Hamick as both inventions are related to generating commemorative documentations based on ticket information. Adding the teaching of Novais allows modifying commemorative documents based on user selections within the template. Therefore, allowing the benefit of adding personalized photographs, color palette and layouts for personable digital contents as a keepsake.
Hamick does not explicitly teach: and wherein after the ticketed event comprises past years;
Shivakumar teaches: wherein the ticket memorabilia system is in operation before, during and after a ticketed event, and wherein after the ticketed event comprises past years; (Shivakumar − [0047-0048] FIG. 3 is a diagram of an example of a user scrapbook website (webpage) that can be generated and or automatically generated and/or maintained using for example, a system such as system 100 of FIG. 1, by, for example, a ticket seller. As shown in FIG. 3, a scrapbook website such as a user scrapbook webpage 300 may include and/or event links such as past event links 305 and/or future event links 307… and website control features such as filters 306. An event can be a concert, a sporting event... or any other type of event for which tickets are sold. Events can be past events that were attended by a user of website 300. [0050] Filters 306 may include user-selectable filters for determining which type of content is displayed on webpage 300. Can filter events for past, present and future (before an event).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the teaching of Shivakumar with the teaching of Hamick and Novais as both inventions are related to generating commemorative documentations based on ticket information Adding the teaching of Shivakumar allows filtering past events for obtaining ticketed-event mementos such as photographs taken at the ticketed event. Therefore, allowing the benefit of adding personalized photographs, color palette and layouts for personable digital contents as a keepsake.
Hamick does not explicitly teach: an authentication certificate
However, Raasch teaches: and providing an authentication certificate with the hard stock ticket, (Raasch − [0054] FIG. 8 shows schematically the printing of the ticket stock (hard stock ticket). [0039] Preferably, and especially in limited edition commemorative tickets, there are one or more authentication and identifying indicia or other elements. For example, an authentication or genuineness seal 13 may be applied or hot stamped onto one or more ticket face. In addition, some other identifying numerical, bar code or other indicia 14 (authentication certificate) may be employed to identify the particular ticket or the event. As shown in FIG. 2, the Ser. No. "A123456" is employed, but it should be understood that this could well be a limited edition number, such as a "3807/10,000". Also shown is optional "greeking" indicia 14 which assists in preventing counterfeiting. Indeed, the serial number could be hidden behind a ruboff coating, or any other suitable type of authentication, serial numbering or tamper proofing device may be employed in conjunction with the ticket.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the teaching of Raasch with the teaching of Hamick, Novais, and Shivakumar as each inventions are related to generating commemorative tickets. Adding the teaching of Raasch provides authentication serial numbers to be include within the commemorative ticket. Therefore, allowing the benefit of adding personalized photographs, color palette and layouts for personable digital contents as a keepsake.
Hamick teaches ticket memorabilia templates but does not explicitly teach: comprise a ticket template for the E-ticket to be inserted into
However, Lynton teaches: wherein the ticket memorabilia templates comprise a ticket template for the E-ticket to be inserted into. (Lynton – [0013] objects can be added to template [0061] The templates each generally include a plurality of media-specific wells or areas that are defined in the template and which are configured to receive a specific form of media. [0082] In FIG. 7, wells 130 can comprise any object, Memorabilia objects, ticket stubs (E-ticket); A template that includes a well or area comprising an object such as a ticket stub.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the teaching of Hamick, Novais, Shivakumar, Raasch and Lynton as each inventions are related to generating commemorative (memorabilia) tickets. Therefore, allowing the benefit of adding personalized photographs, color palette and layouts for personable digital contents as a keepsake.
Hamick teaches scanning of printed ticket but does not explicitly teach: scanning an E-ticket useable from a smartphone;
However, Gibson teaches: and wherein the signal including the E-ticket data is generated by one of scanning an E-ticket useable from a smartphone; (Gibson − [0118] For example, the buyer may receive the electronic ticket at the mobile device and display a bar code of the electronic ticket on a screen of the mobile device which may be scanned. [0011] various elements of the communication 100 may be implemented by one or more computing devices. Exemplary computing devices may include, without limitation, a smart phone; )
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the teaching of Hamick, Novais, Shivakumar, Raasch, Lynton and Gibson as each inventions are related to document processing of event tickets. Adding the teaching of Gibson provides Hamick with a smart phone device with a digital ticket that can be scanned. Therefore, improving convenient and reliable ticketing experience for fans of an event.
Regarding dependents claim 3, depends on 1, Hamick teaches: wherein the customizable features further comprises one or more of a location feature, a venue information feature, a date/time feature, a border feature, a ticket code feature, or a user defined ticketed experience specific feature. (Hamick – [0018] The subject technology provides for a system that uses an input device (e.g., bar code scanner, QR code scanner) to input event information from an issued event ticket. For example, both originally printed tickets and digital tickets printed on paper described above may have graphics depicting the venue and/or the event, as well as seat location and the date of the event. [0019] For example, the event information (e.g., seat location, event name, date) may be obtained directly from scanning the issued event ticket and then the event information may be associated or cross-referenced with user information in a database that is associated with either the ticket purchaser or a user designated by the ticket purchaser.)
Regarding dependents claim 4, depends on 3, Hamick teaches: wherein at least one data element of the ticketed experience data automatically entered within the ticket memorabilia template includes a location of the ticketed experience in the location feature, a venue of the ticketed experience in the venue information feature, a date of the ticketed experience in the date/time feature, and ticket code of the E-ticket in the ticket code feature. (Hamick – [0018] [0031-0032] The subject technology provides for a system that uses an input device (e.g., bar code scanner, QR code scanner) to input event information from an issued event ticket. The event information may include the date, the seat location, the venue, the event (e.g., name of band, show, play, sporting event and the like), etc. For example, both originally printed tickets and digital tickets printed on paper described above may have graphics depicting the venue and/or the event, as well as seat location and the date of the event.)
Regarding dependents claim 5, depends on 3, Hamick teaches: wherein the computer server is further programmed to receive a signal including user data and automatically storing the user data in the memory of the computer server. (Hamick – [0004] The system also includes a computer for determining commemorative ticket features to be included with a commemorative ticket. The system further includes a database in communication with the computer, the database comprising user information associated with the issued event ticket.)
Regarding dependents claim 6, depends on 5, Hamick does not explicitly teaches: wherein the computer server is further programmed to provide the user data to a user computing device for use and placement within the ticket memorabilia template.
However, Novais teaches: wherein the computer server is further programmed to provide the user data to a user computing device for use and placement within the ticket memorabilia template. (Novais – [0031-0033] Based on the ticket number, the service provider will know where the customer is sitting. Also, in response to the customer's choices, the service provider can record the selected imaging service and assign an identification code to the selection. This identification code could include at least information on the selected imaging service and information on the seating location of the customer.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the teaching of Hamick, Novais, Shivakumar, Raasch, Lynton and Gibson as each inventions are related to document processing of event tickets. Adding the teaching of Gibson provides Hamick with a smart phone device with a digital ticket that can be scanned. Therefore, improving convenient and reliable ticketing experience for fans of an event.
Regarding dependents claim 7, depends on 1, Hamick teaches: wherein the computer server is further programmed to automatically validate that the E-ticket data sent from the user computing device corresponds to an E-ticket sold for the event in response to comparing the E-ticket data with the ticket code information for every ticket sold to determine a match of the E-ticket data with one of the ticket code information for a ticket stored in the memory of the computer server. (Hamick – [0004] The system also includes a computer for determining commemorative ticket features to be included with a commemorative ticket. The system further includes a database in communication with the computer, the database comprising user information associated with the issued event ticket. [0019] Alternatively, the information obtained from the issued ticket may identify the ticket, and additional information related to the issued ticket may be accessed in a database in order to create a commemorative ticket. canning the issued ticket then provides identifying information for that issued ticket that may then be matched with the ticket purchaser's user information from the purchase of the issued ticket, such as the ticket purchaser's name, address and the like. For example, the event information (e.g., seat location, event name, date) may be obtained directly from scanning the issued event ticket and then the event information may be associated or cross-referenced with user information in a database that is associated with either the ticket purchaser or a user designated by the ticket purchaser.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Du US 20140100896 A1 a ticket verification application.
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178