DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the application
Receipt of applicant’s remarks and claim amendments filed on 30th Jan 2026 are acknowledged.
In light of claim amendments, previous 101 and 103 rejections are withdrawn.
In light of claim amendments, a new 103 rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitzalis (US 2005/0100555 A1) in view of Marianayagam (TRENDS in Biochemical Sciences, vol.29, No.11, Nov 2004, 618-625), Cochran (Immunity, March 2000, vol.12, 241-250) and Isidro-Llobet (Chem.Rev., 2009, 109, 2455-2504).
Pitzalis teaches a sequence SPS for use for the treatment of inflammatory arthritides and [see claim 37 and 44].
Differences between Pitzalis and instant claim are as follows:
(i) Pitzalis silent on applicants claimed limitation, where n=2-10.
(ii) Pitzalis silent protecting group on N- or C-terminus of the peptide.
With regard to (i) of above, MPEP 2144.09 states “Compounds which are….homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by –CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA).
Adjacent homologs are considered to be obvious absent unexpected results. In re Henze, 85 USPQ 261, 263, CCPA 1950. Also explore MPEP 2144.09.
In this case, the SPS is single chemical group (like -CH2- group in the case law) and its successive repeating units are interpreted as adjacent homologs. According to above case law(s), applicants claim is obvious over the teachings of Pitzalis.
In addition to above, dimer or higher oligomers have advantage over its monomeric units. For example, Marianayagam teaches advantages of dimer and higher oligomeric peptides over their monomeric units [see Concluding remarks in page 624]. Cochran teaches also teaches that dimer and higher oligomeric peptides show advantages over their monomeric units [see abstract and Concluding part in 3rd paragraph in left column in page 248].
Therefore, a skilled person in the art would be motivated to prefer dimeric or higher multimer in view of their advantages over monomeric form.
With regard to (ii) of above, N- and C-terminus protecting groups are well known in the art. For example, Isidro-Llobet teaches N- and C-terminus protecting groups [see Table 2 and section 4]. A skilled person in the art would prefer protecting reactive groups of peptide and so, N- or C-terminus protecting groups are obvious over its unprotected peptide.
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants individual components, such as monomeric units and protecting groups etc., were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to combine the art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Conclusion
SUDHAKAR KATAKAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658