DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakamura et al. (US 2021/0041035; “Sakamura”).
Regarding claim 1, Sakamura teaches a safety module (12b in figure 5) configured to communicate with a control device (16) configured to perform a control on a valve module (14), the safety module (12b) comprising:
a safety control processing circuit (40) configured to carry out a safety control communication (on line 30) in relation to a safety control (30) of the valve module (14), with the control device (16);
a connection terminal (terminal between 12a and 12b receiving control on line 30) configured to be used in the safety control communication between the control device (16) and the safety control processing circuit (40);
a safety control wiring (30) configured to connect the safety control processing circuit (40) and the connection terminal (terminal between 12a and 12b receiving control on line 30), and to be used in the safety control communication (on line 30);
an operation control processing circuit (20) configured to perform, with the control device (16), an operation control communication (based on control line 32) in relation to an operation control (32) that differs from the safety control (30) of the valve module (14), and to output an operation control signal (from 22) for the valve module (14), based on the operation control communication (based on control line 32);
an input terminal (receiving control signal on line 32) to which the operation control communication (32) between the control device (16) and the operation control processing circuit (20) is input;
an operation control wiring (wiring of control line 32) configured to connect the operation control processing circuit (20) and the input terminal (receiving signal on control line 32), and to be used in the operation control communication; and
an output terminal (22) configured to output the operation control signal (from 22) that has been output from the operation control processing circuit (20), to the valve module (14).
As for claim 2, Sakamura teaches a first switching circuit (36/38) configured to supply an electrical power (from 34) for operation, to the valve module (14);
wherein the safety control processing circuit (40) outputs a safety control signal (from 40 to 36/38) for the safety control, based on the safety control communication (30); and
the first switching circuit (36/38) switches between a state of supplying the electrical power (from 34) for operation to the valve module (14), and a state of not supplying the electrical power (from 34) for operation to the valve module (14), in accordance with the safety control signal (from 40 to 36/38) that has been output from the safety control processing circuit (40).
As for claim 3, Sakamura teaches wherein: the first switching circuit includes a high side switch (36) connected to an electrical power source (34) of the valve module (14), and a low side switch (38) connected to ground;
in a case (para. [0033]) that the safety control signal (from 40 to 36/38) is an ON signal, both the high side switch (36) and the low side switch (38) are turned ON, whereby the electrical power for operation is supplied to the valve module (14); and
in a case (para. [0036]) that the safety control signal (from 40 to 36/38) is an OFF signal, at least one of the high side switch (36) or the low side switch (38) is turned off, whereby supply of the electrical power for operation to the valve module (14) is interrupted.
Regarding claim 7, Sakamura teaches wherein: the safety control processing circuit (40; see details in figure 2) includes a first safety control processing circuit (40a) configured to perform the safety control communication with the control device, and to turn ON or turn OFF the high side switch (36), and a second safety control processing circuit (40c) configured to perform the safety control communication with the control device via the first safety control processing circuit, and to turn ON or turn OFF the low side switch (38);
in a case that the safety control signal output by the first safety control processing circuit (40a) is the ON signal, the high side switch (36) is turned ON;
in a case that the safety control signal output by the first safety control processing circuit (40a) is the OFF signal, the high side switch (36) is turned OFF;
in a case that the safety control signal output by the second safety control processing circuit (40c) is the ON signal, the low side switch (38) is turned ON; and
in a case that the safety control signal output by the second safety control processing circuit (40c) is the OFF signal, the low side switch (38) is turned OFF.
Regarding claim 9, Sakamura teaches a module coupling body (figures 1 and 5), comprising:
a safety module (12b); and
a communication module (16),
wherein the safety module is configured to communicate with a control device (sequencer 28) configured to perform a control on a valve module (14), the safety module (12b) comprising:
a safety control processing circuit (40) configured to carry out a safety control communication (on line 30) in relation to a safety control (30) of the valve module (14), with the control device (28);
a connection terminal (terminal between 12a and 12b receiving control on line 30) configured to be used in the safety control communication between the control device (28) and the safety control processing circuit (40);
a safety control wiring (30) configured to connect the safety control processing circuit (40) and the connection terminal (terminal between 12a and 12b receiving control on line 30), and to be used in the safety control communication (on line 30);
an operation control processing circuit (20) configured to perform, with the control device (28), an operation control communication (based on control line 32) in relation to an operation control (32) that differs from the safety control (30) of the valve module (14), and to output an operation control signal (from 22) for the valve module (14), based on the operation control communication (based on control line 32);
an input terminal (receiving control signal on line 32) to which the operation control communication (32) between the control device (28) and the operation control processing circuit (20) is input;
an operation control wiring (wiring of control line 32) configured to connect the operation control processing circuit (20) and the input terminal (receiving signal on control line 32), and to be used in the operation control communication; and
an output terminal (22) configured to output the operation control signal (from 22) that has been output from the operation control processing circuit (20), to the valve module (14), and
wherein the communication module (16) includes a control communication processing circuit (16) configured to relay the safety control communication (on 30) and the operation control communication (on 32), a first wiring (30) used in the safety control communication relayed by the control communication processing circuit, a first terminal (connected to 30) connected to the first wiring, a second wiring (32) used in the operation control communication relayed by the control communication processing circuit, and a second terminal (connected to 32) connected to the second wiring, wherein the communication module (16) is disposed between the control device (28) and the safety module (12b) and connected with the safety module (12b).
As for claim 11, Sakamura teaches wherein: the communication module (16) is connected to the safety module (12b), by the connection terminal of the safety module (12b) and the first terminal of the communication module (16) being connected, and in addition, by the input terminal of the safety module (12b) and the second terminal of the communication module (16) being connected (See connections in figures 1 and 5); and
the safety module (12b) is replaceable (para. [0079]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8, 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The best prior art reference of record, Sakamura, fails to teach:
“a signal output circuit configured to switch between a state of outputting the operation control signal that has been output from the operation control processing circuit, to the valve module via the output terminal and a state of not outputting the operation control signal, in accordance with the safety control signal that has been output from the safety control processing circuit; wherein, in a case that the safety control signal is an ON signal, the signal output circuit outputs the operation control signal to the valve module, and in a case that the safety control signal is an OFF signal, the signal output circuit does not output the operation control signal to the valve module.”, as set forth in claim 4;
“a signal input circuit to which a detection signal related to the safety control is input from an external device configured to generate the detection signal; and a second switching circuit configured to switch between a state of supplying electrical power to the external device and a state of not supplying the electrical power thereto, in accordance with a power supply control signal that is output from the safety control processing circuit based on the safety control communication; wherein, in a case that the second switching circuit interrupts supply of the electrical power to the external device in accordance with the power supply control signal, the safety control processing circuit issues, to the control device, a notification of information in relation to normality of the external device, via the safety control communication, based on the power supply control signal and the detection signal input to the signal input circuit.”, as set forth in claims 5 and 6;
“a bidirectional communication line and a pair of unidirectional communication lines provided between the first safety control processing circuit and the second safety control processing circuit in order to enable communications between the first safety control processing circuit and the second safety control processing circuit; wherein each of the first safety control processing circuit and the second safety control processing circuit includes a safety layer protocol processing unit configured to perform a safety layer protocol process in relation to safety of the communications in the pair of unidirectional communication lines.”, as set forth in claim 8; and
“at least one additional module including a third wiring used in the safety control communication, a third terminal connected to one end of the third wiring, a fourth terminal connected to another end of the third wiring, a fourth wiring used in the operation control communication, a fifth terminal connected to one end of the fourth wiring, a sixth terminal connected to another end of the fourth wiring, and a function control processing circuit disposed on the fourth wiring, and configured to process an operation control signal that causes the control device to control an operation of an external actuator, or a condition notification signal that issues, to the control device, a notification of a condition detected by an external sensor, wherein the at least one additional module is disposed between the communication module and the safety module and is connected with the communication module and the safety module.”, as set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art references made of record and not relied upon teach safety systems for solenoid valves.
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849 February 18, 2026