DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to claim amendment filed on August 25, 2026 and wherein claims 1, 17, 31 and 37 being currently amended.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1-5, 17-21, 31-35 and 37-41 are currently pending in this Office Action.
The Office appreciates the explanation of the amendment and analyses of the prior arts, and however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145.
Response to Applicant’s Reply
The Applicant’s reply filed on August 25, 2026 regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (Remarks, Page 12) has been fully considered. “Claim Interpretation” section has been updated corresponding to applicant’s reply.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages 12-15, filed on August 25, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 17, 31 and 37 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rastegardoost.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 31-36 in this application use the word “means for”, so they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification appears to show the structures provided in para [0131 - 0191] and Figs. 8-11 are interpreted as the corresponding structures for the "means for" limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 17-20, 31-34 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 20210298062 A1, hereinafter Huang) in view of Cirik et al. (US 20230209538 A1, hereinafter Cirik) and further in view of Rastegardoostet al. (US 20240040587 A1, hereinafter Rastegardoost).
Claim 1: Huang teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, element 115, abstract), comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 12, element 1240);
memory (Fig. 12, element 1230) coupled with the one or more processors; and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors ([0113], “the processor 1240 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1230) to cause the device 1205 to perform various functions”) to cause the apparatus to:
receive a single control message scheduling a transmission burst comprising a plurality of downlink messages communicated in a plurality of downlink shared channels, the single control message indicating a first plurality of transmission configuration indicators associated with a first downlink shared channel of the plurality of downlink shared channels and a second plurality of transmission configuration indicators associated with a second downlink shared channel of the plurality of downlink shared channels (Fig. 17, element 1705, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, Fig. 8, [0079], “a base station 105 may transmit a downlink grant 605 to a UE 115 scheduling downlink transmissions in multiple PDSCHs 610 to the UE 115 … the downlink grant 605 may be a one downlink grant trigger for transmitting a same transport block, using different TCI states”, [0085], “ a base station 105 may transmit a downlink grant 805 to a UE 115 scheduling downlink transmissions in multiple PDSCHs 810 to the UE 115 … the base station 105 may transmit different transport blocks in the multiple PDSCHs 810 using different TCI states (e.g., different beams)”);
However, Huang does not explicitly teach the single control message further indicating a first feedback offset value and a second feedback offset value, wherein a quantity of feedback offset values indicated in the single control message indicates a quantity of transmission configuration indicators corresponding to the plurality of downlink messages, and wherein the first feedback offset value indicates that a first transmission configuration indicator of the first plurality of transmission configuration indicators corresponds to two or more downlink messages of the plurality of downlink messages, wherein the two or more downlink messages are associated with a first unlink control channel transmission corresponding to the first feedback offset value, and the second offset value indicates that a second transmission configuration indicator of the second plurality of transmission configuration indicators corresponds to two or more downlink messages of the plurality of downlink messages, wherein the two or more downlink messages are associated with a second unlink control channel transmission corresponding to the second feedback offset value, and wherein the first transmission configuration indicator is different from the second transmission configuration indicator;
monitor for a first downlink message of the plurality of downlink messages in the first downlink shared channel using a first transmission configuration indicator selected from the first plurality of transmission configuration indicators based at least in part on the first feedback offset value being indicated in the single control message; and monitor for a second downlink message of the plurality of downlink messages in the second downlink shared channel using a second transmission configuration indicator selected from the second plurality of transmission configuration indicators based at least in part on the second feedback offset value being indicated in the single control message.
Cirik and Rastegardoost, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the single control message further indicating a first feedback offset value (Rastegardoost, Fig. 23, element K1_1 ) and a second feedback offset value (Rastegardoost, Fig. 23, element K1_2), wherein a quantity of feedback offset values indicated in the single control message indicates a quantity of transmission configuration indicators corresponding to the plurality of downlink messages (Cirik, [0899], “The wireless device may receive a control message indicating activation of at least two unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states … The one or more configuration parameters may comprise a field-size-DCI parameter indicating the size of the unified TCI state field in the DCI”, [0272], “At least two TCI states may be/comprise at least two downlink TCI states …The first TCI state may be/comprise a first downlink TCI state of the at least two downlink TCI states. The second TCI state may be/comprise a second downlink TCI state of the at least two downlink TCI states”), and wherein the first feedback offset value indicates that a first transmission configuration indicator of the first plurality of transmission configuration indicators corresponds to two or more downlink messages of the plurality of downlink messages, wherein the two or more downlink messages are associated with a first unlink control channel transmission corresponding to the first feedback offset value (Rastegardoost, Fig. 23, element PUCCH1, [0304], disclose the wireless device may determine a first slot for a first PUCCH transmission PUCCH #1 for first HARQ feedback transmission based on the first
slot offset. The wireless device may transmit HARQ feedback of some of the PDSCHs e.g., PDSCH #1 and PDSCH #2 via PUCCH #1), and the second offset value indicates that a second transmission configuration indicator of the second plurality of transmission configuration indicators corresponds to two or more downlink messages of the plurality of downlink messages, wherein the two or more downlink messages are associated with a second unlink control channel transmission corresponding to the second feedback offset value (Rastegardoost, Fig. 23, element PUCCH2, [0304], disclose the wireless device may determine a second slot for a second PUCCH transmission PUCCH #2 for second
HARQ feedback transmission based on the second slot offset. The wireless device may transmit HARQ feedback of the remainder of the PDSCHs e.g., PDSCH #3 and PDSCH #4 via PUCCH #2), and wherein the first transmission configuration indicator is different from the second transmission configuration indicator (Cirik, Fig. 30A, [0899], “The wireless device may receive a control message indicating activation of at least two unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states … The at least two unified TCI states may comprise: a first TCI state that occurs first in a list of the at least two unified TCI states; and a second
TCI state that occurs second in the list …. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table comprising one or more rows, wherein each row of the one or more rows may indicate a respective: slot offset value; starting symbol; length”, [0854], “At step 3015, the wireless device may transmit/receive, via one or more resources, the at least one transport block (e.g., PUSCH transmission, PDSCH reception) based on the first TCI state of the at least two TCI states, … At step 3025, the wireless device may transmit/receive, via one or more resources, the at least one transport block (e.g., PUSCH transmission, PDSCH reception) based on the second TCI state of the at least two TCI states … At step 3030, the wireless device may transmit/receive via one or more resources, the at least one transport block (e.g., PUSCH transmission, PDSCH reception) based on the first TCI state and the second TCI state);
monitor for a first downlink message of the plurality of downlink messages in the first downlink shared channel using a first transmission configuration indicator selected from the first plurality of transmission configuration indicators based at least in part on the first feedback offset value being indicated in the single control message; and monitor for a second downlink message of the plurality of downlink messages in the second downlink shared channel using a second transmission configuration indicator selected from the second plurality of transmission configuration indicators based at least in part on the second feedback offset value being indicated in the single control message (Cirik, Fig. 30A, [0854], “At step 3015, the wireless device may transmit/receive, via one or more resources, the at least one transport block (e.g., PUSCH transmission, PDSCH reception) based on the first TCI state of the at least two TCI states, … At step 3025, the wireless device may transmit/receive, via one or more resources, the at least one transport block (e.g., PUSCH transmission, PDSCH reception) based on the second TCI state of the at least two TCI states … At step 3030, the wireless device may transmit/receive via one or more resources, the at least one transport block (e.g., PUSCH transmission, PDSCH reception) based on the first TCI state and the second TCI state”, [0796-0798], disclose the wireless device may receive transport block based on the at least two TCI states in response to the row/entry indicating the quantity/number of repetitions that is greater/larger than one, [0901], “The wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising one or more configuration parameters indicating a plurality of transmission configuration indictor (TCI) states … The one or more configuration parameters may indicate a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table comprising one or more rows, wherein each row of the one or more rows may indicate a respective: slot offset value; starting symbol; length … The wireless device may receive the PDSCH signal/reception based on the first TCI state by receiving the PDSCH signal/reception in response to the row indicating”).
Huang and Cirik are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Huang and the features of activating two unified TCI without requiring additional
signaling to configure parameters for each communication as taught by Cirik, for the benefit for reducing beam misalignment, reducing inaccurate channel measurement, reducing overhead on the TCI configuration, reducing wrong scheduling decisions, improving alignment of wireless communications, and thus achieving more efficient wireless communication ([0004], [0211]).
Huang and Rastegardoost are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Huang and the features of supporting multiple HARQ feedback transmission associated with a multi-PDSCH scheduling using single control message as taught by Rastegardoost, for the benefit for reducing scheduling overhead as well as PDCCH monitoring requirements in time domain with multiple PDSCH/PUSCH scheduling with a single downlink control information DCI ([0259]), and reducing feedback transmission latency of earlier PDSCHs ([0278]).
Claim 17 recited a method including method steps that are essentially same as features of claim 1 and thus, analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 31 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 37 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Huang further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications ([0009-0014]).
Claim 2: Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
monitor the first downlink shared channel or a first control channel associated with the first downlink shared channel to determine a first channel quality metric; and monitor the second downlink shared channel or a second control channel associated with the second downlink shared channel to determine a second channel quality metric (Fig. 17, Element 1715, 1720, [0071], “the UE 115-a may be configured to report a first stage of feedback including HARQ feedback (e.g., the NACK) and a second stage of feedback including the CSI
feedback for the PDSCH. Thus, the UE 115-a may determine a received signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) for the PDSCH transmitted by the base station”, [0085], “Thus, the UE 115 may report feedback for the multiple PDSCHs 810 based on
the PDSCHs 810 including different transport blocks and being associated with different TCI states”);
wherein the first transmission configuration indicator is selected for the first downlink shared channel based at least in part on the first channel quality metric, and wherein the second transmission configuration indicator is selected for the second downlink shared channel based at least in part on the second channel quality metric (Fig. 17, Element 1715, 1720, [0080], “The CSI report for a corresponding PDSCH 610 may be based on an SINR or LLR derived from attempting to decode the PDSCH. For example, the multiple CSI reports may include a first CSI report for PDSCH 610-a transmitted using a first TCI state (e.g., TCI 1), a second CSI report for PDSCH 610-b transmitted using a second TCI state (e.g., TCI 2)”).
Claim 18 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 17 and claim 2.
Claim 32 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 31 and claim 2.
Claim 38 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 37 and claim 2.
Claim 3: Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
receive a second control message indicating that the UE is to use the second transmission configuration indicator to monitor for the second downlink message; wherein the second downlink shared channel is monitored using the second transmission configuration indicator based at least in part on the second control message ([0072], [0074] and [0078], disclose Base station may update configuration, to identify an MCS, TCI, etc for retransmission based on CSI feedback, [0071], disclose UE may obtain an updated configuration, [0076], disclose BS may transmits one or more downlink grants. Combining all these together, Huang teaches UE monitor second down link shared channel using the second transmission configuration indicator based on the second control message).
Claim 19 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 17 and claim 3.
Claim 33 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 31 and claim 3.
Claim 39 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 37 and claim 3.
Claim 4: Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
transmit one or more negative acknowledgement messages associated with failure to receive the first downlink message via the first downlink shared channel ([0069], “the UE 115 may transmit a NACK indicating that the UE 115 failed to receive or decode the multiple PDSCHs or each PDSCH”, [0074], “the UE 115 may transmit a HARQ ACK or NACK and CSI feedback for the PDSCH 310 in a PUCCH 315 allocated by the downlink grant 305”); and
receive, based at least in part on the transmission of the one or more negative acknowledgement messages, a second control message indicating that the UE is to monitor for the second downlink message in the second downlink shared channel using the second transmission configuration indicator ([0074], “The base station 105 may then adjust a configuration for retransmitting the PDSCH 310 based on the CSI feedback”, [0072], “the UE 115-a may transmit the NACK (e.g., first stage of feedback) and the CSI feedback (e.g., second stage of feedback) to the base station 105-a in a PUCCH. The base station 105-a may receive the two stages of feedback and may identify a suitable configuration for retransmitting the PDSCH to the UE 115-a based on the two stages of feedback”, [0074], “ the UE 115 may transmit a HARQ ACK or NACK and CSI feedback for the PDSCH 310 in a PUCCH 315 allocated by the downlink grant 305. The base station 105 may then adjust a configuration for retransmitting the PDSCH 310 based on the CSI feedback”).
Claim 20 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 17 and claim 4.
Claim 34 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 31 and claim 4.
Claim 40 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 37 and claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 21, 35,41 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472