Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to amendment
This is a final Office action in response to applicant's remarks/arguments filed on 05/22/2026.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1, 3, 11, 13, 20 have been amended.
The objection of the specification and the claim has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 9-14, filed on 05/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that Sakaguchi fails to disclose that the quantity of N gated light-sensitive units and the quantity Q of time slice bins allocated to each gated light sensitive unit are flexibly adjusted to meet requirements of different scenarios. The argument is not persuasive. Sakaguchi explains that the resolution and histogram bin count are maintained as variable parameters to efficiently use memory resources depending on the situation and to rebalance resolution and dynamic range depending on the situation (Sakaguchi, [0089]- [0095]). Sakaguchi further discloses a plurality of selectable pixel modes having different resolutions and different ranging scopes, wherein switching among the modes may be performed based on an instruction from an external host or a determination by the control unit ([0099]). Specifically, the modes vary from higher-resolution/shorter-range operation to lower-resolution/longer-range operation ([0101]), while the histogram sampling/bin capacity increases from 256 to 512, 1024, and 2048 bins ([0176], [0186], [0198], [0211]). Sakaguchi further states that the memory usage pattern and resolution may be changed according to the pixel mode depending on the ranging situation, including short-distance and long-distance situations ([0273], [0275]). Accordingly, the amendment requiring flexible adjustment to meet requirements of different scenarios does not distinguish the claimed subject matter from the teachings and suggestions of Sakaguchi when applied to the N of K gating arrangement set forth in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi et al. (US 20200348416 A1, “Sakaguchi”).
Regarding claim 1, Sakaguchi teaches a direct time of flight (dTOF) sensing module (Fig. 1, [0102], [0105]- [0108], Sakaguchi discloses a time-of-flight sensor including a SPAD array and histogram processing for calculating distance based on photon arrival times. The system measures time-of-flight directly using photon timing.), comprising:
W light sensitive units (Figs. 2-3, Sakaguchi discloses a two-dimensional SPAD array including a plurality of SPAD pixels 20 ([108], [0112]). Each SPAD pixel functions as a light sensitive unit),
H histogram data storage units (Sakaguchi explicitly discloses histogram memory units 170–177 ([0168]).).
Sakaguchi fails to explicitly teach wherein every K light sensitive units of the W light sensitive units share a first storage,wherein a size of the first storage space is a size of a storage space corresponding to one histogram data storage unit K is less than or equal to W, and both W and H are integers greater than or equal to 2, and a processing control unit configured to:
control gating of N light sensitive units, wherein the N light sensitive units occupy the first storage space, the N light sensitive units are N of the K light sensitive units sharing the first storage space, and N is an integer less than or equal to K, and allocate Q time slice bins to each gated light sensitive unit, wherein Q is a positive integer; and the N gated light sensitive units and the Q time slice bins allocated to each gated light sensitive unit are used for the dTOF sensing module to operate in a first mode or a second mode, wherein a quantity N of gated light sensitive units corresponding to the first mode is greater than a quantity N of gated light sensitive units corresponding to the second mode; and/or a quantity Q of time slice bins allocated to each light sensitive unit corresponding to the first mode is less than a quantity Q of time slice bins allocated to each light sensitive unit corresponding to the second mode, wherein the quantity of N gated light sensitive units and the quantity Q of time slice bins allocated to each gated light sensitive unit are flexibly adjusted, to meet requirements of different scenarios.
Sakaguchi discloses a direct time-of-flight sensing module including an array of SPAD light sensitive units configured to detect photons and generate histogram data corresponding to photon arrival times ([0108], [0112]). Sakaguchi further discloses histogram memory units 170–177 configured to store histogram sampling bins ([0168]- [0170]) and a control unit that operates the sensing module in selectable pixel modes in which groups of SPAD pixels (macro pixels) generate histogram data accumulated in histogram memory ([0099]). Sakaguchi also discloses modes in which different numbers of macro pixels are active and different numbers of histogram bins are allocated to each macro pixel, including 48 macro pixels with 256 bins ([0170], [0173]), 24 macro pixels with 512 bins ([0186]), 12 macro pixels with 1024 bins ([0198]), and 6 macro pixels with 2048 bins ([0211]). Thus, Sakaguchi teaches a sensing architecture in which groups of light sensitive units generate histogram data stored in histogram storage units and the number of active units and allocated histogram bins varies depending on the operating mode. Although Sakaguchi does not explicitly express the architecture using the claim terminology that every K light sensitive units share a first storage space corresponding to one histogram data storage unit and that N of those units are gated within that storage space, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the macro-pixel grouping such that K light sensitive units share the histogram storage space corresponding to a histogram memory unit and to gate N of those units for operation, since grouped SPAD pixels generate photon detection events accumulated in shared histogram memory ([0168]- [0170]). Furthermore, because the grouped units form a subset of the sensor array, K ≤ W, and Sakaguchi discloses multiple SPAD pixels and multiple histogram memory units, thereby satisfying W ≥ 2 and H ≥ 2. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the grouping and gating in this manner to efficiently manage histogram memory resources and provide configurable trade-offs between spatial resolution and histogram depth, as suggested by Sakaguchi ([0101], [0273]), yielding predictable results.
Sakaguchi further teaches that the resolution and histogram bin count are variable depending on the ranging situation so as to efficiently use memory resources and rebalance resolution and ranging capability ([0089]- [0095]). Sakaguchi teaches selectable pixel modes having different resolutions and ranging scopes, wherein the mode may be selected based on an external instruction or a determination of the control unit ([0099]); for example, pixel mode 0 provides higher resolution and shorter ranging scope whereas pixel mode 3 provides lower resolution and wider ranging scope ([0101]). Sakaguchi further varies the histogram depth from 256 bins to 512, 1024, and 2048 bins according to the selected mode ([0176], [0186], [0198], [0211]), and teaches changing the memory usage pattern and resolution depending on the short-distance or long-distance ranging situation ([0273], [0275]). Accordingly, in the previously set forth obvious implementation in which N of the grouped light-sensitive units are gated, it would have been obvious to vary N and Q according to Sakaguchi's selectable operating modes, such that a larger N and smaller Q are used for a higher-resolution/shorter-range operating scenario and a smaller N and larger Q are used for a lower-resolution/longer-range operating scenario, because Sakaguchi teaches varying resolution and histogram depth according to the ranging situation in order to efficiently utilize memory resources and accommodate different ranging requirements.
Regarding claim 2, Sakaguchi fails to explicitly teach the sensing module according to claim 1, wherein the first storage space comprises M storage blocks, and M is a positive integer; the processing control unit is configured to: determine a first quantity of storage blocks occupied by each gated light sensitive unit; and allocate the Q time slice bins to each gated light sensitive unit based on a quantity of time slice bins that can be stored in the storage blocks and the first quantity.
Sakaguchi discloses histogram memory units configured to store histogram data associated with photon arrival times ([0168]- [0170]) and pixel modes in which histogram memory resources are allocated to macro pixels depending on the sensing configuration ([0099], [0170], [0186], [0198], [0211]). However, Sakaguchi does not explicitly describe the first storage space as comprising M storage blocks and determining a quantity of storage blocks occupied by each gated light sensitive unit for allocating time slice bins. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the histogram memory architecture such that the storage space comprises multiple storage blocks and to determine the number of blocks used by each active sensor unit when allocating histogram bins, since histogram memory is implemented using memory blocks or addresses. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allocate storage blocks in this manner to efficiently manage memory resources and control the number of histogram bins available to each sensing unit.
Regarding claim 3, Sakaguchi fails to explicitly teach the sensing module according to claim 2, wherein the first quantity is M×1/N, and Q =M×1N ×F, wherein F represents the quantity of the time slice bins stored in the storage blocks.
Sakaguchi discloses a time-of-flight sensing module including SPAD pixels grouped into macro pixels that generate histogram data stored in histogram memory units ([0112], [0168]–[0170]). Sakaguchi further discloses selectable pixel modes in which different numbers of macro pixels are active and different numbers of histogram bins are allocated to each macro pixel ([0099]). For example, Sakaguchi discloses modes including 48 macro pixels with 256 bins ([0170], [0173]), 24 macro pixels with 512 bins ([0186]), 12 macro pixels with 1024 bins ([0198]), and 6 macro pixels with 2048 bins ([0211]). These modes show that when the number of active sensing units N decreases, the amount of histogram memory allocated per unit increases proportionally. Although Sakaguchi does not explicitly express the allocation relationship using the mathematical expressions M/N and Q = (M/N) × F, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the number of histogram bins allocated to each sensing unit based on the number of memory blocks assigned to that unit and the number of bins stored in each block, since histogram memory capacity directly determines the number of time bins available for storing photon arrival data. Thus, when M memory blocks are distributed among N active sensing units, each unit receives M/N blocks, and when each block stores F time slice bins, the number of bins allocated to each sensing unit is Q = (M/N) × F, yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, The sensing module according to claim 2, wherein the storage block is configured to store data generated when at least one light sensitive unit detects a first distance, and the first distance is a distance detected by the light sensitive unit.
Sakaguchi discloses a time-of-flight sensing system in which SPAD pixels detect photons reflected from a target and the photon arrival times are accumulated into histogram bins stored in histogram memory units ([0168]–[0170]). The histogram data corresponds to time-of-flight measurements used to determine the distance to the detected object. However, Sakaguchi does not explicitly describe the histogram storage blocks as storing data generated when a light sensitive unit detects a first distance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the histogram storage blocks to store data generated when one or more light sensitive units detect a distance, since the histogram bins record photon arrival times corresponding to distances measured by the time-of-flight sensing process. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement the storage blocks in this manner because storing the detected photon timing information in histogram memory allows the system to compute the distance to the target based on the accumulated histogram data, which is the standard operation of time-of-flight ranging systems.
Regarding claim 5, Sakaguchi fails to explicitly teach the sensing module according to claim 4, wherein the first distance is C/2 x T x Q, C is a speed of light, and T is a period of the time slice bin.
Sakaguchi discloses a time-of-flight sensing system in which SPAD pixels detect photons reflected from a target and the photon arrival times are accumulated into histogram bins representing discrete time intervals ([0168]–[0170]). The accumulated histogram data is used to determine the time of flight of the emitted optical signal and thereby determine the distance to the target object. However, Sakaguchi does not explicitly express the detected distance using the formula C/2 × T × Q as recited in the claim, where C represents the speed of light, T represents the time interval of each time slice bin, and Q represents the bin index or number of bins corresponding to the detected photon arrival time. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the distance associated with a detected histogram bin using the known time-of-flight relationship between the propagation speed of light, the time interval of the bin, and the round-trip travel time of the emitted optical signal, since distance measurement in time-of-flight systems is conventionally determined from the measured photon arrival time according to the relationship distance = (speed of light × time of flight)/2. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to express the detected distance in this manner because the time intervals represented by the histogram bins directly correspond to photon travel time and therefore to the distance between the sensing module and the target, yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Sakaguchi fails to explicitly teach the sensing module according to claim 1, wherein the first storage space is provided by one of the H histogram data storage units; or the first storage space is provided by at least two of the H histogram data storage units.
Sakaguchi discloses multiple histogram memory units (e.g., histogram memory units 170–177) configured to store histogram sampling bins corresponding to photon arrival times ([0168]–[0170]). These memory units provide storage space used to accumulate histogram data generated by the SPAD sensor units. However, Sakaguchi does not explicitly state that the first storage space is provided by either one histogram data storage unit or multiple histogram data storage units as recited in the claim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the storage space using one or more histogram memory units, since histogram memory resources in sensing systems are commonly organized across one or more memory blocks depending on design requirements such as memory capacity and sensor configuration. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allocate the storage space using one or multiple histogram memory units to efficiently manage histogram data storage and accommodate different sensing modes.
Regarding claim 7, Sakaguchi fails to explicitly teach the sensing module according to claim 1, wherein the W light sensitive units are a light sensitive unit array; and the K light sensitive units are K adjacent light sensitive units in a column of the light sensitive unit array, or K adjacent light sensitive units in a row of the light sensitive unit array.
Sakaguchi discloses an array of SPAD pixels forming the light sensing structure of the time-of-flight sensing module ([0112]). However, Sakaguchi does not explicitly describe the grouped light sensitive units as adjacent units arranged in a row or column of the sensor array. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to group adjacent light sensitive units within a row or column of the sensor array, since adjacent grouping simplifies sensor addressing, readout circuitry design, and layout implementation in imaging arrays. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to organize the grouped sensor units in this manner to facilitate efficient control and data readout in the sensor architecture.
Regarding claim 8, Sakaguchi fails to explicitly teach the sensing module according to claim 1, wherein when N is less than K, the W light sensitive units are gated in L times, and L is determined based on K and N.
Sakaguchi discloses that the control unit operates the sensing module in selectable pixel modes that activate different numbers of macro pixels depending on the selected sensing configuration ([0099]). However, Sakaguchi does not explicitly describe gating the light sensitive units in multiple gating cycles when the number of active units is less than the number of grouped units. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to activate the light sensitive units in multiple gating cycles when fewer units are selected for operation, since sequential activation of sensor groups allows the sensing system to reuse sensor resources while adjusting sensing resolution and memory allocation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement such sequential gating in order to balance sensing resolution, measurement range, and memory utilization.
Regarding claim 9, Sakaguchi fails to explicitly teach the sensing module according to claim 1, wherein a manner of controlling gating of each of the N light sensitive units comprises one of the following: row enable control and column enable control; row enable control; or column enable control.
Sakaguchi discloses a control unit that determines which sensor units are active during operation ([0099]). However, Sakaguchi does not explicitly describe the gating control as row enable control, column enable control, or both. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement row enable and/or column enable control to gate the sensor units, since row-column addressing is the conventional control architecture used in pixel arrays and SPAD sensor arrays to selectively activate sensor units.
Regarding claim 10, Sakaguchi fails to explicitly teach the sensing module according to claim 1, wherein the processing control unit is configured to: receive a first instruction, and control gating of the N light sensitive units according to the first instruction, wherein the first instruction is determined based on a target resolution; and receive a second instruction, and allocate the Q time slice bins to each gated light sensitive unit according to the second instruction, wherein the second instruction is determined based on the target resolution and a target distance.
Sakaguchi discloses a control unit that configures the operation of the sensing module according to selected pixel modes ([0099]). However, Sakaguchi does not explicitly describe receiving instructions determined based on target resolution and target distance for controlling the gating of light sensitive units and allocating time slice bins. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the control unit to receive configuration instructions based on sensing parameters such as target resolution and target distance, since sensing systems commonly adjust operating modes and memory allocation based on measurement requirements. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement such instruction-based control to dynamically configure the sensing module for different sensing scenarios.
Claims 11- 19 are method claims corresponding to device claims 1-10. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 20 is a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium having instructions stored therein, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations. Sakaguchi discloses a control unit executing program control of pixel modes and histogram processing ([0098]- [0099]). Claim is rejected for the same reason as claimed 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEMPSON NOEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645