DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/27/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 7, "into a tone signal" should read, "into tone signals." Appropriate correction is required. Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informality: In line 2, "each of the plurality of chime tube" should read, "each of the plurality of chime tubes." Appropriate correction is required. Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informality: In line 1, "signal include" should read, "signal includes." Appropriate correction is required. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informality: In line 8, "a output signal" should read, "an output signal." Appropriate correction is required. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informality: In line 9, "wirelessly transmit" should read, "wirelessly transmits." Appropriate correction is required. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informality: In line 2, "each of the plurality of chime tube" should read, "each of the plurality of chime tubes." Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim s 3 and 14 , t he term “ minimizes the sound of impact ” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ minimizes the sound of impact ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. ¶0013 of the specification recites that “the wind chime tubes 14 could be formed from a molded nylon or plastic, although other materials are contemplated as being within the scope of the present disclosure.” ¶0003 of the specification recites that the “ wind chime tubes are formed of a non-resonating material such that the wind chime tubes do not produce sound when coming into contact with the striker. ” To the contrary, a strike will always produce a sound, regardless of material, unless the strike occurs in the vacuum of space. In the interest of advancing prosecution, “minimizes the sound of impact” will be interpreted as “reduces the sound of impact” within the context of the instant specification’s recitation of “plastic.” (Molded nylon is plastic.) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 1, 6-12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Lowe (US 4854214 A, September 9, 1988), hereinafter Lowe, in view of Nishitani (JP 2009086534 A, April 23, 2009), hereinafter Nishitani. Regarding claim 1 , Lowe teaches a wind chime (Lowe col. 2, lines 23-27: "Referring now to FIG. 1 of the drawings, an illuminated wind chime 10 is shown including an overhead housing 11 made of any suitable material such as plastic or tin which is typically suspended from an existing support by using a conventional hanger 12.") , comprising: a plurality of individual chime tubes each suspended below a base (Lowe col. 2, lines 27-29: "Extending from the bottom side of the overhead housing 11 are a plurality of chime tube assemblies 13.") ; a striker suspended below the base (Lowe col. 2, lines 41-45: "In addition to the supporting of the chime tube assemblies 13, the overhead housing 11 also supports the chime clapper 38 which hangs from the overhead housing by way of the electrically conductive clapper support wire 36.") and movable into contact with the plurality of chime tube s (Lowe col. 2, lines 67-68: "When the wind blows sufficiently, the clapper 38 will strike against a chime tube 32.") . Lowe does not explicitly disclose an accelerometer positioned within each of the chime tube and operable to generate an accelerometer signal based upon contact between the striker and the chime tube; a chime control unit in communication with each of the accelerometers to receive the accelerometer signals and convert the accelerometer signals into a tone signal, wherein the chime control unit wirelessly transmits the tone signals; a receiving station located remotely from the chime control unit and operable to receive the tone signals from the chime control unit; and a playback device operable to audibly transmit the tone signals. However, Nishitani teaches an accelerometer (Nishitani ¶0044: "In the above embodiment, the case where the sensor 3 is provided with the acceleration sensor 31 has been described.") positioned within each of the chime tube (Nishitani ¶0053: "For example, the sensor 3 may be attached to a wind chime or a shop curtain, which can generate a different combination of sounds each time the wind chime sways in the wind or a customer passes through the shop curtain.") and operable to generate an accelerometer signal (Nishitani ¶0044: "Therefore, if two acceleration sensors are arranged so as to intersect at right angles, it is possible to detect the tilt angle relative to the horizontal plane.") upon contact between the striker and the chime tube (Nishitani ¶0001: "The present invention relates to a sound data generating device for emitting sound based on movement and a direction-sensing sound- producing musical instrument.") ; a chime control unit in communication with each of the accelerometers (Nishitani ¶0023: "When the sensor 3 is moved by the user, the acceleration sensor 31 sequentially generates acceleration data representing the acceleration in each axial direction. The acceleration data is transmitted to the main body 2 as a wireless signal via the transmitting unit 32.") to receive the accelerometer signals and convert the accelerometer signals into tone signals (Nishitani ¶0021: "The sound source 22 stores waveform data representing a predetermined length of sound for each note corresponding to the pentatonic scale described above. The output section 23 includes a D/A converter and an amplifier. The D/A converter converts the received waveform data into an analog sound signal. The amplifier adjusts the amplitude of the sound signal. The speaker 24 emits sound based on the sound signal supplied from the output unit 23.") , wherein the chime control unit wirelessly transmits the tone signals (Nishitani ¶0059: "In the above embodiment, the main body 2 is provided with the output unit 23 and the speaker 24, and waveform data read out in response to the movement of the sensor 3 is output as sound. However, the read waveform data may be output to an external device as is. In this case, the main body 2 may be provided with a communication interface that mediates data communication with the external device. Furthermore, in the above embodiment, waveform data is used as data representing sound, but instead of waveform data, sound designation data that designates the type of sound, such as MIDI data, may be stored in ROM, and the sound designation data may be read out and output to an external device." It is well-known to those in the art that transmitting MIDI tone signals to an external device commonly encompasses a BLE MIDI transmission which is wireless.) ; a receiving station located remotely from the chime control unit and operable to receive the tone signals from the chime control unit (Nishitani ¶0059: "In the above embodiment, the main body 2 is provided with the output unit 23 and the speaker 24, and waveform data read out in response to the movement of the sensor 3 is output as sound. However, the read waveform data may be output to an external device as is. In this case, the main body 2 may be provided with a communication interface that mediates data communication with the external device. Furthermore, in the above embodiment, waveform data is used as data representing sound, but instead of waveform data, sound designation data that designates the type of sound, such as MIDI data, may be stored in ROM, and the sound designation data may be read out and output to an external device." It is well-known to those in the art that transmitting MIDI tone signals to an external device commonly encompasses a BLE MIDI transmission which is wireless.) ; and a playback device operable to audibly transmit the tone signals (Nishitani ¶0059: "In the above embodiment, the main body 2 is provided with the output unit 23 and the speaker 24, and waveform data read out in response to the movement of the sensor 3 is output as sound. However, the read waveform data may be output to an external device as is. In this case, the main body 2 may be provided with a communication interface that mediates data communication with the external device. Furthermore, in the above embodiment, waveform data is used as data representing sound, but instead of waveform data, sound designation data that designates the type of sound, such as MIDI data, may be stored in ROM, and the sound designation data may be read out and output to an external device." It is well-known to those in the art that transmitting MIDI tone signals to an external device commonly encompass es a BLE MIDI transmission which is wireless.) . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wind chime of Lowe by adding the accelerometer of Nishitani to generate sounds of a variety of scales in response to movement (Nishitani ¶0005) and wireless data transmission of Nishitani to output tone data to an external device (Nishitani ¶0059). Regarding claim 6 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Nishitani further suggests that the value of the accelerometer signal is based upon a striking force between the striker and the chime tube (Nishitani ¶0030: "Peak Detection Process (Step SA50) The control unit 20 identifies the time when the magnitude (absolute value) of the acceleration acting on the sensor 3 becomes maximum. Specifically, the control unit 20 calculates the magnitude of the acceleration α of the sensor 3 at each time according to the following formula. | α | =(α <sub> x </sub> <sup> 2 </sup> + α <sub> y </sub> <sup> 2 </sup> + α <sub> z </sub> <sup> 2 </sup> ) <sup> 1/2 </sup> "). Regarding claim 7 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 6 as discussed above. Nishitani further teaches that the tone signal is based on the value of the accelerometer signal (Nishitani ¶0057: "In the above embodiment, the volume may be adjusted according to the magnitude (absolute value) of the acceleration detected by the acceleration sensor 31. In this case, for example, the amplifier of the output unit 23 may be set to have a higher amplification factor as the magnitude of the acceleration increases.") . Regarding claim 8 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Nishitani further suggests that the accelerometer signal includes an identity of the chime tube (Nishitani ¶0042: "In the above embodiment, the direction-sensing sound-producing instrument 1 is described as having one sensor 3 provided on the main body 2. However, a plurality of sensors 3 may be provided on the main body 2. In this case, the multiple sensors 3 transmit acceleration data along with identifiers that allow the sensors 3 to be identified from one another, and the main body 2 processes the acceleration data from each sensor 3 in the same manner as in the above-mentioned embodiment, and may produce sound based on the waveform data read out for each sensor. In this way, it is possible to simultaneously sound multiple notes and play chords.") . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wind chime of Lowe by adding the identifiers of Nishitani to simultaneously sound multiple notes (Nishitani ¶0042). Regarding claim 9 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 8 as discussed above. Lowe further teaches that the tone signal is based on the identity of the chime tube (Lowe col. 4, lines 1-6: "The electronic sensing circuit 51 is composed of a input buffer circuit 52, timer module circuit 54, and lamp driver circuit 58 interconnected as shown. Input buffer circuit 52 includes a plurality of high impedance signal conditioners 53, one for each chime tube 32.") . Regarding claim 10 , Lowe teaches a wind chime (Lowe col. 2, lines 23-27: "Referring now to FIG. 1 of the drawings, an illuminated wind chime 10 is shown including an overhead housing 11 made of any suitable material such as plastic or tin which is typically suspended from an existing support by using a conventional hanger 12.") , comprising: a plurality of individual chime tubes each suspended below a base (Lowe col. 2, lines 27-29: "Extending from the bottom side of the overhead housing 11 are a plurality of chime tube assemblies 13.") ; a striker suspended below the base (Lowe col. 2, lines 41-45: "In addition to the supporting of the chime tube assemblies 13, the overhead housing 11 also supports the chime clapper 38 which hangs from the overhead housing by way of the electrically conductive clapper support wire 36.") and movable into contact with the plurality of chime tubes based upon an influence of wind (Lowe col. 2, lines 67-68: "When the wind blows sufficiently, the clapper 38 will strike against a chime tube 32.") . Lowe does not explicitly disclose an accelerometer positioned within each of the chime tube and operable to generate an accelerometer signal upon contact between the striker and the chime tube; a chime control unit in communication with each of the accelerometers to receive the accelerometer signals and convert the accelerometer signals into an output signal, wherein the chime control unit wirelessly transmits the output signals; a receiving station located remotely from the chime control unit and operable to receive the output signals; and an output device operable to create an output based on the output signal received from the receiving station. However, Nishitani teaches an accelerometer (Nishitani ¶0044: "In the above embodiment, the case where the sensor 3 is provided with the acceleration sensor 31 has been described.") positioned within each of the chime tube (Nishitani ¶0053: "For example, the sensor 3 may be attached to a wind chime or a shop curtain, which can generate a different combination of sounds each time the wind chime sways in the wind or a customer passes through the shop curtain.") and operable to generate an accelerometer signal (Nishitani ¶0044: "Therefore, if two acceleration sensors are arranged so as to intersect at right angles, it is possible to detect the tilt angle relative to the horizontal plane.") upon contact between the striker and the chime tube (Nishitani ¶0001: "The present invention relates to a sound data generating device for emitting sound based on movement and a direction-sensing sound-producing musical instrument.") ; a chime control unit in communication with each of the accelerometers (Nishitani ¶0023: "When the sensor 3 is moved by the user, the acceleration sensor 31 sequentially generates acceleration data representing the acceleration in each axial direction. The acceleration data is transmitted to the main body 2 as a wireless signal via the transmitting unit 32.") to receive the accelerometer signals and convert the accelerometer signals into an output signal (Nishitani ¶0021: "The sound source 22 stores waveform data representing a predetermined length of sound for each note corresponding to the pentatonic scale described above. The output section 23 includes a D/A converter and an amplifier. The D/A converter converts the received waveform data into an analog sound signal. The amplifier adjusts the amplitude of the sound signal. The speaker 24 emits sound based on the sound signal supplied from the output unit 23.") , wherein the chime control unit wirelessly transmits the output signals (Nishitani ¶0059: "In the above embodiment, the main body 2 is provided with the output unit 23 and the speaker 24, and waveform data read out in response to the movement of the sensor 3 is output as sound. However, the read waveform data may be output to an external device as is. In this case, the main body 2 may be provided with a communication interface that mediates data communication with the external device. Furthermore, in the above embodiment, waveform data is used as data representing sound, but instead of waveform data, sound designation data that designates the type of sound, such as MIDI data, may be stored in ROM, and the sound designation data may be read out and output to an external device." It is well-known to those in the art that transmitting MIDI tone signals to an external device commonly encompasses a BLE MIDI transmission which is wireless.) ; a receiving station located remotely from the chime control unit and operable to receive the output signals (Nishitani ¶0059: "In the above embodiment, the main body 2 is provided with the output unit 23 and the speaker 24, and waveform data read out in response to the movement of the sensor 3 is output as sound. However, the read waveform data may be output to an external device as is. In this case, the main body 2 may be provided with a communication interface that mediates data communication with the external device. Furthermore, in the above embodiment, waveform data is used as data representing sound, but instead of waveform data, sound designation data that designates the type of sound, such as MIDI data, may be stored in ROM, and the sound designation data may be read out and output to an external device." It is well-known to those in the art that transmitting MIDI tone signals to an external device commonly encompasses a BLE MIDI transmission which is wireless.) ; and an output device operable to create an output based on the output signal received from the receiving station (Nishitani ¶0059: "In the above embodiment, the main body 2 is provided with the output unit 23 and the speaker 24, and waveform data read out in response to the movement of the sensor 3 is output as sound. However, the read waveform data may be output to an external device as is. In this case, the main body 2 may be provided with a communication interface that mediates data communication with the external device. Furthermore, in the above embodiment, waveform data is used as data representing sound, but instead of waveform data, sound designation data that designates the type of sound, such as MIDI data, may be stored in ROM, and the sound designation data may be read out and output to an external device." It is well-known to those in the art that transmitting MIDI tone signals to an external device commonly encompass es a BLE MIDI transmission which is wireless.) . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wind chime of Lowe by adding the accelerometer of Nishitani to generate sounds of a variety of scales in response to movement (Nishitani ¶0005) and wireless data transmission of Nishitani to output tone data to an external device (Nishitani ¶0059). Regarding claim 11 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 10 as discussed above. Lowe further teaches that the output is a visual output (Lowe abstract: "A decorative illuminated wind chime apparatus used to produce audio and visual effects from the movement of air currents… The visual effects are achieved by electrically sensing the collisions of resonant chime tubes with the clapper and illuminating a respective light which is associated with each resonating chime tube.") . Regarding claim 12 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 10 as discussed above. Nishitani further teaches that the output is an audible output (Nishitani ¶0017: "In the main body 2, the control unit 20, the receiving unit 21, the sound source 22, and the output unit 23 are connected by a bus, and the output unit 23 is connected to a speaker 24.") . Regarding claim 16 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani and further in view of Kuelbs) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 15 as discussed above. Lowe further suggests that the chime control unit is operable to activate the LEDs in each of the chime tubes based upon the accelerometer signals from the accelerometer associated with the chime tube (Lowe col. 1, lines 61-64: "In addition to the audible sounds produced by the stricken chime elements, associated lights are designed to flash each time a light associated chime element is struck.") . Regarding claim 17 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 10 as discussed above. Nishitani further teaches that the receiving station is configured to receive and translate the output signal from the chime control center into a command signal (Nishitani ¶0059: "Furthermore, in the above embodiment, waveform data is used as data representing sound, but instead of waveform data, sound designation data that designates the type of sound, such as MIDI data, may be stored in ROM, and the sound designation data may be read out and output to an external device." MIDI data inherently comprises command signals, such as note-on and note-off.) . Regarding claim 18 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 17 as discussed above. Nishitani further teaches that the receiving station is configured to transmit the command signal to the output device (Nishitani ¶0059: "Furthermore, in the above embodiment, waveform data is used as data representing sound, but instead of waveform data, sound designation data that designates the type of sound, such as MIDI data, may be stored in ROM, and the sound designation data may be read out and output to an external device." MIDI data inherently comprises command signals, such as note-on and note-off.) . Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Lowe in view of Nishitani, and further in view of Kuelbs et al. (US 8941252 B1, January 27, 2015), hereinafter Kuelbs, and Maeng (US 20070175315 A1, August 2, 2007), hereinafter Maeng, to the extent understood. Regarding claim 2 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Lowe (in view of Nishitani) does not explicitly disclose that each of the plurality of chime tubes is formed from a non-resonating material. However, Kuelbs teaches that each of the plurality of chime tubes is formed from a non-resonating material (Kuelbs col. 2, lines 11-13: "Chimes 20 are preferably constructed of metal tubing, but may alternatively be constructed of wood, plastic, or other suitable material." T he disclosure of plastic chimes in Kuelbs corresponds with Applicant’s disclosure of plastic chimes in ¶0013 of the instant specification. ) . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wind chime of Lowe (as modified by Nishitani) by adding the non-resonating material of Kuelbs to output low audio wind chime sound characterized by decreased audio output levels (Maeng ¶0055). Regarding claim 3 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani and further in view of Kuelbs and Maeng) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 2 as discussed above. Kuelbs further suggests that the non-resonating material minimizes the sound of impact between the striker and the chime tubes (Kuelbs col. 2, lines 11-13: "Chimes 20 are preferably constructed of metal tubing, but may alternatively be constructed of wood, plastic, or other suitable material." Non-resonating material inherently minimizes (reduces) the sound of impact between the striker and the chime tubes.) . Regarding claim 13 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 10 as discussed above. Lowe (in view of Nishitani) does not explicitly disclose that each of the plurality of chime tubes is formed from a non-resonating material. However, Kuelbs teaches that each of the plurality of chime tubes is formed from a non-resonating material ( Kuelbs col. 2, lines 11-13: "Chimes 20 are preferably constructed of metal tubing, but may alternatively be constructed of wood, plastic, or other suitable material." The disclosure of plastic chimes in Kuelbs corresponds with Applicant’s disclosure of plastic chimes in ¶0013 of the instant specification. ) . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wind chime of Lowe (as modified by Nishitani) by adding the non-resonating material of Kuelbs to output low audio wind chime sound characterized by decreased audio output levels (Maeng ¶0055). Regarding claim 14 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani and further in view of Kuelbs and Maeng) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 13 as discussed above. Kuelbs further suggests that the non-resonating material minimizes the sound of impact between the striker and the chime tubes (Kuelbs col. 2, lines 11-13: "Chimes 20 are preferably constructed of metal tubing, but may alternatively be constructed of wood, plastic, or other suitable material." Non-resonating material inherently minimizes (reduces) the sound of impact between the striker and the chime tubes.) . Claims 4-5 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Lowe in view of Nishitani and further in view of Kuelbs. Regarding claim 4 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Lowe (in view of Nishitani) does not explicitly disclose that the wind chime further comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) included in each of the plurality of chime tubes. However, Kuelbs teaches that the wind chime further comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Kuelbs col. 4, lines 23-24: "Lighting elements 221 are preferably light emitting diodes (LED's).") included in each of the plurality of chime tubes (col. 7, lines 12-19: "It should be appreciated that solar wind chime 10 may alternatively be constructed of optically conductive material such as glass or a translucent plastic. Where an element of solar wind chime 10 is constructed of an optically conductive material, lighting elements 221 may be located within the translucent element such as side face 14, top face 16, bottom face 18, chime 20, string 22, or hanger 24, thereby optionally creating a glowing illumination effect.") . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wind chime of Lowe (as modified by Nishitani) by adding the non-LEDs of Kuelbs to create a glowing illumination effect (Kuelbs col. 7, lines 18-19). Regarding claim 5 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani and further in view of Kuelbs) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 4 as discussed above. Lowe further suggests that the chime control unit is operable to activate the LEDs in each of the chime tubes based upon the accelerometer signals from the accelerometer associated with the chime tube (Lowe col. 1, lines 61-64: "In addition to the audible sounds produced by the stricken chime elements, associated lights are designed to flash each time a light associated chime element is struck.") . Regarding claim 15 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 10 as discussed above. Lowe (in view of Nishitani) does not explicitly disclose that the wind chime further comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) included in each of the plurality of chime tubes. However, Kuelbs teaches that the wind chime further comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Kuelbs col. 4, lines 23-24: "Lighting elements 221 are preferably light emitting diodes (LED's).") included in each of the plurality of chime tubes (col. 7, lines 12-19: "It should be appreciated that solar wind chime 10 may alternatively be constructed of optically conductive material such as glass or a translucent plastic. Where an element of solar wind chime 10 is constructed of an optically conductive material, lighting elements 221 may be located within the translucent element such as side face 14, top face 16, bottom face 18, chime 20, string 22, or hanger 24, thereby optionally creating a glowing illumination effect.") . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wind chime of Lowe (as modified by Nishitani) by adding the non-LEDs of Kuelbs to create a glowing illumination effect (Kuelbs col. 7, lines 18-19). Regarding claim 16 , Lowe (in view of Nishitani and further in view of Kuelbs) teaches a wind chime comprising the features of claim 15 as discussed above. Lowe further suggests that the chime control unit is operable to activate the LEDs in each of the chime tubes based upon the accelerometer signals from the accelerometer associated with the chime tube (Lowe col. 1, lines 61-64: "In addition to the audible sounds produced by the stricken chime elements, associated lights are designed to flash each time a light associated chime element is struck.") . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Enter examiner's name" \* MERGEFORMAT PHILIP SCOLES whose telephone number is (703)756-1831. The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Dedei Hammond can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-7938 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHILIP G SCOLES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /DEDEI K HAMMOND/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837