DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 06/15/2026 in which claims 10-20 were amended and claims 21-30 added. Therefore, claims 10-30 are pending for examination below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-15 and 21-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 10 and 27, the claims were amended to include the ADC “having a sense input, a reference input, and an output, the reference input coupled to the reference input”. The claim lacks clarity as it stated it is connected to itself. Further, thereafter, there is introduced “a sense input” again which lacks antecedent basis. The claim as written is not able to be search until the clarity is fixed as the Examiner cannot guess the specific connections and how many sense inputs are present.
Claims 11-15, 21-26, and 28-30 depend from the claims above and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. [US 2023/0179217] in view of Kalt [US 2018/0210027].
With respect to claim 16, Wilson discloses a method, comprising: receiving a battery voltage at an analog front end [via 102]; generating a reference voltage [par. 0047]; generating first signals representing of comparing the battery voltage by comparing the battery voltage to the reference voltage with an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) [via 130];and generating second signals based on the first signals and a sense signal [i.e. interaction of the ADC between receiving and input and supplying an output]. However, the internal component of a reference voltage is omitted.
A voltage generator comprising Zener diodes and transistors is known in the art. For example, Kalt relates to testing devices and teaches a reference voltage generator with a Zener diode and bipolar junction transistors (BJTs) [par. 0055].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Wilson to include a voltage reference generator with a diode and transistor for the benefit of the inherent ability to maintain a constant voltage output with the component even with varying load currents.
With respect to claim 17, Wilson further discloses wherein the sense signal includes at least one of a temperature sense signal or a stress sense signal, and generating second signals based on the first signals and a sense signal includes performing a digital correction on the first signals responsive to the sense signal [par. 0148].
With respect to claim 19, Wilson further discloses wherein generating a reference voltage with a Zener diode and BJTs includes generating a first voltage having a first temperature coefficient, and generating a second voltage across the Zener diode having a second temperature coefficient different from the first temperature coefficient [par. 0148].
With respect to claim 20, Wilson further discloses wherein generating a reference voltage with a Zener diode and BJTs includes generating the reference voltage based on a difference between the first and second voltages [par. 0007].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. [US 2023/0179217] and Kalt [US 2018/0210027] as applied above, and further in view of Gupta [US 11,251,803].
With respect to claim 18, Wilson fails to disclose multiple order correct as claimed. However, such a method is known in the art. For example, Gupta relates to correction devices and teaches wherein performing the digital correction includes: performing a second order digital correction for a gain error of the ADC; performing a second order digital correction for an offset error of the ADC; and performing a third order digital correction for the reference voltage [claims 1 and 23].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Wilson to include the second and third orders for the benefit of improving accuracy of the measurements as suggested by Gupta.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL R PELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859