DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. However, in order to obtain the benefit of the prior-filed application PCT/CN2020/121999, Applicant must submit a certified copy of the international application and a certified English translation. See MPEP 1895.01. “A certified copy of the international application (and an English translation of the international application) may be required by the examiner to perfect the claim for benefit under 35 U.S.C. 120 and 365(c) if the international application did not originate in the United States and such is necessary, for example, where an intervening reference is found and applied in a rejection of one or more claims.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US-20220355139-A1) in view of Hoffman et al. (US-20160059056-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a battery (battery module 30, Fig. 3) comprising:
a battery cell (battery cell 33, Fig. 3; [0046]);
a box (case 31, Fig. 5; [0046]) configured to accommodate the battery cell [0046];
a pipe (fire extinguishing unit 300, Fig. 5; [0041, 0043]); and
a liquid collecting member (sub-frame 13, Fig. 6; [0047]) provided between the battery cell and the pipe (see Figs. 6-7),
the liquid collecting member being provided with an accommodating portion (seating groove 13a, Fig. 7) configured as a groove [0047],
the groove comprising a bottom wall facing the pipe and a side wall arranged at a side of the pipe (see annotation of Lee Fig. 7, below).
Annotation of Lee Fig. 7.
Lee discloses that various changes in form can be made without departing from the spirit of the invention [0085]. Lee discloses that the side wall is vertical (see Fig. 7), and therefore Lee does not teach that the side wall is curved from an upper end of the side wall to a lower end of the side wall.
Hoffman teaches a fire suppressant panel (100, Fig. 1) including a pipe (detection tube 304, Fig. 3) placed within an accommodating portion formed as a groove (202, Fig. 2) [0018-0019]. The pipe is designed to burst to release a fire suppressant material [0019-0021]. Hoffman teaches that the groove can have a curved shape (see Figs. 2-3) such that is flush with the outer wall of the pipe [0027].
Since Hoffman teaches that a groove with a curved shape can be successfully used to accommodate a fire extinguishing pipe, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have provided the groove of Lee to have a curved shape such that it is fit flush with the outer wall of the pipe with a reasonable expectation that such a shape would result in a successful groove capable of accommodating a fire extinguishing pipe. Furthermore, absent showings of criticality, a change in shapes normally requires only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). By providing the groove to have a curved shape, the side wall necessarily is “curved from an upper end of the side wall to a lower end of the side wall”.
Lee further discloses that the liquid collecting member (sub-frame 13) comprises a through hole (“although not shown in the drawings, a hole may be formed to penetrate the seating groove” [0067]). The through hole is provided such that the fire extinguishing agent passes when the fire extinguishing agent is sprayed [0067]. Lee further discloses that the liquid collecting member (sub-frame 13) and pipe (fire extinguishing unit 300) extend to cover the length of the battery module (see Fig. 6), thereby enabling fire extinguishing agent to be provided to any of the plurality of battery cells [0051].
Although Lee does not explicitly teach a plurality of through holes, in order to better provide fire extinguishing agent to any of the plurality of battery cells, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the liquid collecting member (sub-frame 13) with a plurality of through holes along an extending direction of the pipe and spaced apart from each other, with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery (MPEP 2144.04, VI, B).
Since modified Lee teaches that the groove of the liquid collection member is curved so as to match the shape of the pipe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the liquid collecting member flush with the outer wall of the pipe with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful liquid collecting member. Therefore, modified Lee renders obvious a configuration wherein the pipe entirely covers the plurality of through holes and abuts against the liquid collecting member.
The limitation “to prevent a fluid collected in the groove from flowing through the plurality of through holes to the battery cell” is an intended use limitation. The recitation of intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the limitation of the claim. Here, the prior art discloses a pipe (fire extinguishing unit 300) which covers the plurality of through holes formed in the groove. Therefore, in the event that a fluid is collected in the groove, the prior art possess the structure necessary to prevent the fluid from flowing through the plurality of through holes to the battery cell.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses that
the battery cell is one of a plurality of battery cells arranged one by one (see Fig. 3);
the groove extends in an arrangement direction of the plurality of battery cells (see Figs. 3, 6-7).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the accommodating portion (seating groove 13a) is configured to accommodate at least part of the pipe (see Fig. 7; [0047]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the groove is fit flush to the outer wall of the pipe. Lee discloses that the diameter of the spray hole (located within the pipe; see Fig. 10) can be in the range of 1 mm to 4 mm [0070]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the diameter of the pipe to be 1 mm to 4 mm with a reasonable expectation that such a pipe diameter would result in a successful pipe.
Therefore, although Lee does not disclose a specific embodiment wherein the groove has a depth of 1 mm to 5 mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary kil in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the groove with a diameter of 1 mm to 4 mm with a reasonable expectation that such a groove depth would be capable of successfully accommodating a pipe with a diameter of 1 mm to 4 mm.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the accommodating portion (seating groove 13a) is configured to accommodate at least part of the pipe (see Fig. 7; [0047]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the pipe is accommodated within the liquid collection member (see rejection of Claim 1; Fig. 7). The pipe is designed with a heat-sensitive member which melts due to excessive heat discharged from a battery cell [0071]. The liquid collection member (sub-frame 13) is designed to support the battery module [0047].
Therefore, although Lee does not explicitly disclose that the liquid collecting member is insulative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the liquid collecting member to be insulative with a reasonable expectation that forming the liquid collecting member of a heat-resistant, insulative, material would result in a successful liquid collecting member capable of supporting the battery module and accommodating the pipe without being deformed due to the excessive heat discharged from a battery cell during a thermal event.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Lee discloses that the pipe is coupled to the liquid collecting member [0064]. Absent a special definition, a pipe and a liquid collecting member which are “coupled” is interpreted as reading on a pipe and a liquid collecting member which are “connected in a bonding manner” as evidenced by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary (“bonding” is defined as “the formation of a close relationship”).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses that:
the battery cell comprises a pressure relief mechanism (vent hole; [0067]), and
the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be actuated in response to an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell reaching a threshold, to discharge emissions and release the internal pressure (see Fig. 14; [0071, 0078-0079]);
the pipe is configured to accommodate a fire extinguishing medium (fire extinguishing agent; [0056]) that passes through the pipe, and
the pipe is constructed to release the fire extinguishing medium in response to the pressure relief mechanism being actuated (see Fig. 14; [0014, 0067, 0070-0071]).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses an electric apparatus (energy storage system; [Lee: 0003]) comprising the battery according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1, [Lee: 0005, 0041], wherein the battery is configured to supply electrical energy [Lee: 0003].
Regarding Claim 21, Lee discloses a battery (battery module 30, Fig. 3) comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (battery cells 33, Fig. 3; [0046]) arranged one by one in an arrangement direction; and
comprising a first outermost battery cell and a second outermost battery cell opposite to each other in the arrangement direction (corresponds to first and last battery cells 33, Fig. 3);
a box (case 31, Fig. 5; [0046]) configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells [0046];
a pipe (fire extinguishing unit 300, Fig. 5; [0041, 0043]); and
a liquid collecting member (sub-frame 13, Fig. 6; [0047]) provided between the plurality of battery cells and the pipe (see Figs. 6-7), the liquid collecting member comprising:
an accommodating portion (seating groove 13a, Fig. 7) configured as a groove [0047],
the groove comprising a bottom wall facing the pipe and a side wall arranged at a side of the pipe (see annotation of Lee Fig. 7, below);
an upper piece connected to an upper end of the side wall of the groove see annotation of Lee Fig. 7, below), the upper piece being configured as a plane continuously extending in the arrangement direction from the first outermost battery cell to the second outermost battery cell (see Fig. 6).
Annotation of Lee Fig. 7.
Lee further discloses that the liquid collecting member (sub-frame 13) comprises a through hole (“although not shown in the drawings, a hole may be formed to penetrate the seating groove” [0067]). The through hole is provided such that the fire extinguishing agent passes when the fire extinguishing agent is sprayed [0067]. Lee further discloses that the liquid collecting member (sub-frame 13) and pipe (fire extinguishing unit 300) extend to cover the length of the battery module (see Fig. 6), thereby enabling fire extinguishing agent to be provided to any of the plurality of battery cells [0051].
Although Lee does not explicitly teach a plurality of through holes, in order to better provide fire extinguishing agent to any of the plurality of battery cells, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the liquid collecting member (sub-frame 13) with a plurality of through holes along an extending direction of the pipe and spaced apart from each other, with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery (MPEP 2144.04, VI, B).
Although Lee does not explicitly teach that the pipe entirely covers the plurality of through holes and abuts against the liquid collecting member, Lee discloses that various changes in form can be made without departing from the spirit of the invention [0085].
Hoffman teaches a fire suppressant panel (100, Fig. 1) including a pipe (detection tube 304, Fig. 3) placed within an accommodating portion formed as a groove (202, Fig. 2) [0018-0019]. The pipe is designed to burst to release a fire suppressant material [0019-0021]. Hoffman teaches that the groove can have a curved shape (see Figs. 2-3) such that is flush with the outer wall of the pipe [0027].
Since Hoffman teaches that a groove with a curved shape can be successfully used to accommodate a fire extinguishing pipe, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have provided the groove of Lee to have a curved shape such that it is fit flush with the outer wall of the pipe with a reasonable expectation that such a shape would result in a successful groove capable of accommodating a fire extinguishing pipe since, absent showings of criticality, a change in shapes normally requires only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). Since modified Lee teaches that the groove comprises a plurality of through holes, and that the groove is flush with the pipe, it is understood that the pipe necessarily entirely covers the plurality of through holes and abuts against the liquid collecting member.
The limitation “to prevent a fluid collected in the groove from flowing through the plurality of through holes to the battery cell” is an intended use limitation. The recitation of intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the limitation of the claim. Here, modified Lee renders obvious a pipe (fire extinguishing unit 300) which entirely covers the plurality of through holes of the groove. Therefore, in the event that a fluid is collected in the groove, the prior art possess the structure necessary to prevent the fluid from flowing through the plurality of through holes to the plurality of battery cells.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US-20220355139-A1) in view of Hoffman et al. (US-20160059056-A1) as applied to Claim 10 and in further view of Kobayashi et al. (JP-2017147128-A; see also English translation provided 08/22/2025 for citations).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Lee discloses that the pipe is coupled to the liquid collection member [0064]. Lee also discloses that various changes in form are within the scope of the invention [0085]. Lee does not teach a fastening member provided between the battery cell and the pipe to fasten the pipe to the battery cell.
Kobayashi teaches a similar fire extinguishing system [0006, 0026, 0030-0034] including a fire extinguishing pipe (13, Fig. 2) connected to a plate [0030] to provide a refrigerant to high temperature battery cells [0031-0034]. Kobayashi teaches that the pipe is successfully fixed to the base plate via a pipe support portion (18, Fig. 2) [0030].
Therefore, in seeking to successfully fix the pipe of modified Lee to the liquid collecting member, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have provided pipe support portions in the liquid collecting member with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful connection between the liquid collecting member and the pipe.
The pipe connection portions read on the recited limitation of a fastening member provided between the battery cell and the pipe. The fastening member fixes the pipe to the liquid collection member, which structurally supports the batteries [0047]. Therefore the fastening member is “configured to fasten the pipe to the battery cell” as evidenced by the instant specification [instant specification: 0045], which allows for a broad interpretation of the term “fasten”.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. The fastening member rendered obvious by modified Lee comprises a plurality of buckles (corresponds to each half of the pipe support portion; see annotation of Kobayashi Fig. 2, below) configured to clamp the pipe.
Annotation of Kobayashi Fig. 2.
In order to fasten the pipe securely, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided buckles at multiple locations, thereby arranging the plurality of buckles along a central axis direction of the pipe. Furthermore, since Kobayashi teaches that the buckles are located at each side of a through hole (see Kobayashi Fig. 2), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have located the buckles on both sides of each of the plurality of through holes.
The limitation “to prevent the fire extinguishing medium located between the buckles from flowing along the central axis direction of the pipe out of a zone enclosed by the buckles at the groove” is an intended use limitation. The recitation of intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the limitation of the claim. Here, modified Lee renders obvious buckles on each side of the plurality of through holes. Therefore, in the event that fire extinguishing medium is collected between the buckles, the prior art possess the structure necessary to prevent the medium from flowing along the central axis direction of the pipe out of a zone enclosed by the buckles at the groove.
Regarding Claim 23, Lee discloses a battery (battery module 30, Fig. 3) comprising:
a battery cell (battery cell 33, Fig. 3; [0046]);
a box (case 31, Fig. 5; [0046]) configured to accommodate the battery cell [0046];
a pipe (fire extinguishing unit 300, Fig. 5; [0041, 0043]); and
a liquid collecting member (sub-frame 13, Fig. 6; [0047]) provided between the battery cell and the pipe (see Figs. 6-7),
the liquid collecting member being provided with an accommodating portion (seating groove 13a, Fig. 7) configured as a groove [0047],
the groove comprising a bottom wall facing the pipe and a side wall arranged at a side of the pipe (see annotation of Lee Fig. 7, below).
Annotation of Lee Fig. 7.
Lee discloses that various changes in form can be made without departing from the spirit of the invention [0085]. Lee discloses that the side wall is vertical (see Fig. 7), and therefore Lee does not teach that the side wall is curved from an upper end of the side wall to a lower end of the side wall.
Hoffman teaches a fire suppressant panel (100, Fig. 1) including a pipe (detection tube 304, Fig. 3) placed within an accommodating portion formed as a groove (202, Fig. 2) [0018-0019]. The pipe is designed to burst to release a fire suppressant material [0019-0021]. Hoffman teaches that the groove can have a curved shape (see Figs. 2-3) such that is flush with the outer wall of the pipe [0027].
Since Hoffman teaches that a groove with a curved shape can be successfully used to accommodate a fire extinguishing pipe, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have provided the groove of Lee to have a curved shape such that it is fit flush with the outer wall of the pipe with a reasonable expectation that such a shape would result in a successful groove capable of accommodating a fire extinguishing pipe. Furthermore, absent showings of criticality, a change in shapes normally requires only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). By providing the groove to have a curved shape, the side wall necessarily is “curved from an upper end of the side wall to a lower end of the side wall”.
Lee further discloses that the liquid collecting member (sub-frame 13) comprises a through hole (“although not shown in the drawings, a hole may be formed to penetrate the seating groove” [0067]).
Since modified Lee teaches that the groove of the liquid collection member is curved so as to match the shape of the pipe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the liquid collecting member flush with the outer wall of the pipe with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful liquid collecting member. Therefore, modified Lee renders obvious a configuration wherein the pipe covers the entire through hole and abuts against the liquid collecting member.
The limitation “to prevent a fluid collected in the groove from flowing through the through hole to the battery cell” is an intended use limitation. The recitation of intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the limitation of the claim. Here, modified Lee renders obvious a pipe (fire extinguishing unit 300) which covers the through hole formed in the groove. Therefore, in the event that a fluid is collected in the groove, the prior art possess the structure necessary to prevent the fluid from flowing through the through hole to the battery cell.
Lee discloses that the pipe is coupled to the liquid collection member [0064]. Lee also discloses that various changes in form are within the scope of the invention [0085]. Lee does not teach a plurality of buckles provided between the battery cell and the pipe and configured to clamp the pipe.
Kobayashi teaches a similar fire extinguishing system [0006, 0026, 0030-0034] including a fire extinguishing pipe (13, Fig. 2) connected to a plate [0030] to provide a refrigerant to high temperature battery cells [0031-0034]. Kobayashi teaches that the pipe is successfully fixed to the base plate via a pipe support portion (18, Fig. 2) [0030]. The pipe support portion comprises a plurality of buckles (corresponds to each half of the pipe support portion; see annotation of Kobayashi Fig. 2, below) configured to clamp the pipe.
Annotation of Kobayashi Fig. 2.
Therefore, in seeking to successfully fix the pipe of modified Lee to the liquid collecting member, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have provided a plurality of buckles in the liquid collecting member with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful connection between the liquid collecting member and the pipe.
By providing a plurality of buckles in the liquid collecting member, modified Lee thereby renders obvious “a plurality of buckles provided between the battery cell and the pipe and configured to clamp the pipe”.
Furthermore, since Kobayashi teaches that the buckles are located at each side of a through hole (see Kobayashi Fig. 2), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have located the buckles on both sides of the through hole with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in successfully fixing the pipe to the liquid collecting member. Therefore, modified Lee renders obvious “the plurality of buckles being spaced apart from the through hole and independent from the through hole”.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US-20220355139-A1) in view of Hoffman et al. (US-20160059056-A1) as applied to Claim 10, and in further view of Chan et al. (US-20180138478-A1; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Lee discloses that heat generated from an overheated battery cell is directed to a fire extinguishing pipe to melt the pipe and release the fire extinguishing agent (see Fig. 14; [0051, 0067, 0071]). Modified Lee does not teach a separator provided between the liquid collecting member and the pressure relief mechanism.
Chan teaches a battery module designed to prevent the propagation of explosion from one cell to another during thermal runaway [0003-0004, 0013]. Chan teaches that a plurality of layers, including a first insulation layer and a second insulation layer, can be formed across an upper portion of the battery module [0024]. Advantageously, Chan teaches that the plurality of layers can help to direct exploding material released from a cell [0025], and can provide insulation to the battery cells [0026].
Both modified Lee and Chan are directed towards batteries designed to prevent thermal propagation. Therefore, in seeking to direct exploding material released from a cell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included an insulation layer (reads on separator) between the liquid collecting member and the battery cell of modified Lee, including between the liquid collecting member and the pressure relief mechanism, with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery capable of successfully venting gases.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Lee renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Lee discloses that the accommodating portion is provided in the liquid collecting member (see rejection of Claim 1, above). The accommodating portion of the liquid collection member reads on the claimed “first accommodating portion”.
Although modified Lee does not explicitly teach a second accommodating portion in the separator, Chan teaches that the insulation layers (405 and 410, Fig. 5) can have the same shape as the top cover (114, Fig. 5) such that the insulation layers can be stacked with the top cover (Fig. 4).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have shaped the separator of modified Lee to have the same shape as the liquid collecting member in order to easily stack the two members. Furthermore, absent showings of criticality, a change in shape normally requires only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B).
By providing the insulator to have the same shape of as the liquid collecting member, the separator thereby comprises a second accommodating portion at a zone corresponding to the pressure relief mechanism [Lee: 0014, 0067]. Since the members are stacked, the first accommodating portion (which is a part of the liquid collecting member) is thereby placed in the second accommodating portion.
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 14, 18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (CN-210723159-U; cited in IDS filed 09/29/2023; see attached English translation for citations) in view of Zhou et al. (CN-110148694-A; previously cited; see English translation provided 03/13/2024 for citations).
Regarding Claim 1, Long discloses a battery (fire extinguishing power battery module; [0027]) comprising:
a battery cell [0007, 0015, 0032-0033];
a box configured to accommodate the battery cell (module body 1; [0027]);
a pipe (fire extinguishing container 3; [0027]); and
a liquid collecting member (top cover plate 2; [0027]) provided between the battery cell and the pipe [0008, 0027],
the liquid collecting member being provided with an accommodating portion (corresponds to the combination of installation groove 21 and surrounding plate 22; 0027) configured as a groove,
the groove comprising a bottom wall (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below) facing the pipe and a side wall (surrounding plate 22) arranged at a side of the pipe (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below).
Annotation of Long Fig. 1.
Long discloses that the pipe (fire extinguishing container 3) is fixedly installed in the groove [0027]. Long also discloses that the pipe (fire extinguishing container) can be made into different shapes (see Figs. 1, 4 and 5) including a cylindrical shape [0011, 0025, 0038-0040]. Long also discloses that it is desirable to reduce the space and weight that a fire extinguishing container occupies in a battery pack in order to improve energy density [0005].
Although Long discloses that the side wall is straight (see annotation of Fig. 1, above), and therefore does not teach that the side wall is curved, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the pipe (fire extinguishing container) to be cylindrical with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful pipe. Furthermore, in seeking to reduce the space that the pipe occupies in the battery pack, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the groove the be cylindrical in order to closely match the shape of the pipe. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since a change in shape normally requires only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). Therefore, Long renders obvious that the side wall is curved “from an upper end of the side wall to a lower end of the side wall”.
Long discloses that the liquid collecting member comprises a plurality of through holes arranged along an extending direction of the pipe and spaced apart from each other (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below; MPEP 2125; [0027]).
Annotation of Long Fig. 1.
Notably, Long discloses that the pipe (fire extinguishing container 3) is designed such that when a cell experiences thermal runaway, a portion of the pipe undergoes thermal decomposition, thereby releasing a fire extinguishing agent inside the pipe [0015, 0032]. Therefore, assuming, arguendo, that Long does not disclose with sufficient specificity that the structures indicated in Fig. 1 (see above) are through holes, such a configuration would still have been obvious in view of the teachings of Zhou.
Zhou teaches a pressure plate (40, Fig. 1; reads on liquid collecting member) which is provided between a battery cell (10, Fig. 1) and a flame retardant device (20, Fig. 1; reads on pipe) [0044, 0050, 0053, 0056]. The pressure plate is provided with through holes (43, Fig. 5) which correspond to a pressure relief port in a battery cell [0056]. The flame retardant device is positioned as close as possible to the pressure relief device, above the through holes in the pressure plate, such that when the pressure release device explodes the explosion impact can be transmitted quickly and directly to the flame retardant device, thereby quickly releasing flame retardant material onto the battery and improving safety [0048, 0082-0084].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided through holes in the liquid collecting member of Long with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would allow for fire extinguishing agent to be quickly released onto the battery, thereby resulting in a successful battery with increased safety.
Long discloses that the pipe entirely covers the entire plurality of through holes (see Fig. 3; MPEP 2125) and abuts against the liquid collecting member (N.B.: “abut” is interpreted as “to border on; to cause to touch or lean for support” as evidenced by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary) [0027].
Although Long does not explicitly teach that the disclosed configuration prevents “a fluid collected in the groove from flowing through the plurality of through holes to the battery cell”, the Examiner notes that this amounts to the intended use of the claimed battery. The recitation of intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the limitation of the claim. Here, the structure required for performing the intended use is a pipe which entirely covers the plurality of through holes and which contacts the bottom wall of the accommodating portion. Such a configuration would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Zhou.
Specifically, Zhou teaches that the flame retardant device (reads on pipe) is preferably placed as close as possible to the pressure relief device of the battery such that the flame retardant device can quickly rupture and release flame retardant material [0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the pipe of Long to contact the bottom wall of the accommodating portion with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery capable of quickly releasing a fire extinguishing agent within the pipe.
Therefore, modified Long renders obvious a pipe which entirely covers the plurality of through holes and a pipe which contacts the bottom wall of the accommodating portion (i.e. the structure required to perform the intended use limitation). Thus, the limitation is met.
Regarding Claims 4-5, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Long discloses that the battery (fire extinguishing power module) is configured to hold cells [0007, 0015, 0032]. Therefore, the battery cell is understood to be “one of a plurality of battery cells”. Long does not teach the configuration of the cells within the module, and therefore does not disclose that the battery cells are arranged one by one.
Zhou teaches that a plurality of battery cells can be arranged one by one (Fig. 2), and that a fire retardant device (20, Fig. 1) can be placed in the arrangement direction of the plurality of battery cells (see Fig. 1; [0047-0048, 0053, 0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have arranged the cells of modified Long such that they are arranged one by one with the groove extending in an arrangement direction of the plurality of battery cells as required by Claim 4 with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below).
Annotation of Long Fig. 1.
As discussed in the rejection of Claim 1 (see above), the accommodating portion is further configured to accommodate at least a part of the pipe as required by Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Although Long does not specifically teach that depth of the groove, Long discloses that it is desirable to reduce the space and weight that a fire extinguishing container occupies in a battery pack in order to improve energy density [0005], and that the fire extinguishing container is designed to slow or stop combustion during a thermal runaway event, thereby improving safety [0015-0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have optimized the depth of the groove, including selecting the depth of the groove to be 1 mm to 5 mm, with a reasonable expectation that such a depth would provide a balance between improving energy density (i.e. minimizing the space and weight that the fire extinguishing container occupies in the battery pack), while ensuring safety (i.e. ensuring a pipe of sufficient size such that a fire extinguishing agent is able to suppress combustion) (MPEP 2144.05, II).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that “the accommodating portion is further configured to accommodate at least part of the pipe” (see rejection of Claim 1, above).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the pipe is accommodated within the liquid collection member (see rejection of Claim 1; Fig. 1; [0027]). The pipe is designed with an insulating polymer film which decomposes at a certain temperature [0015, 0032]. The liquid collection member is designed to such that the pipe can be fixed within [0027].
Therefore, although Long does not explicitly teach that the liquid collecting member is insulative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the liquid collecting member to be insulative with a reasonable expectation that forming the liquid collecting member of a heat-resistant, insulative material would result in a successful liquid collecting member capable of fixing the pipe without being deformed due to the heat discharged from the battery cell during a thermal event.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the pipe is fixedly installed on the liquid collecting member [0027]. Absent a special definition, a pipe and a liquid collecting member which are “fixedly installed” is interpreted as reading on a pipe and a liquid collecting member which are “connected in a bonding manner” as evidenced by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary (“bonding” is defined as “the formation of a close relationship”).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Long discloses that the pipe can produce a molten layer or a carbon layer at the explosion-proof valve of lithium-ion batteries [0015, 0032]. Therefore it is understood that the battery cell comprises an explosion-proof valve (reads on a pressure relief mechanism). Long also strongly suggests that the pipe is placed above the pressure relief mechanism of the cell (see Fig. 1). Modified Long does not explicitly disclose that the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be actuated in response to an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell.
Zhou teaches that each battery cell is provided with a pressure relief port (11, Fig. 2; reads on pressure relief mechanism) [0017, 0044, 0047]. The pressure relief port is designed to open to relieve pressure when a battery core fails [0010, 0012, 0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the pressure relief mechanism of modified Long such that it is actuated in response to the internal pressure of the battery cell reaching a threshold, to discharge emissions and release the internal pressure, with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful pressure relief mechanism.
Long discloses that the pipe is configured to accommodate a fire extinguishing medium (fire extinguishing agent) that passes through the pipe [0007-0008, 0015, 0032]. Long further discloses that the pipe is constructed to release the fire extinguishing medium in response to heat generated by a cell experiencing thermal runaway [0015, 0032]. Although Long does not explicitly disclose that the fire extinguishing agent is released in response to the pressure relief mechanism being actuated, such a configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since the pressure relief mechanism is understood to release heat during a thermal runaway event and since Long strongly suggests that the pipe is placed above the pressure relief mechanism of the battery cell (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Although Long discloses that the pipe is fixedly installed in the groove [0027], Long does not explicitly teach a fastening member.
Zhou teaches that a holder (47, Fig. 5) can be used to successful fix a flame retardant device (20, Fig. 1; reads on pipe) to a pressure plate (40, Fig. 5; reads on liquid collecting member) [0059-0060].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a holder a taught by Zhou to connect the pipe of modified Long to the liquid collecting member with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful connection between the pipe and the liquid collecting member. The holder reads on a fastening member provided between the battery cell and the pipe, and configured to fasten the pipe to the battery cell (i.e. via the groove).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Long further discloses a battery pack (reads on an electric apparatus) comprising the battery according to claim 1 (see Fig. 3) [0015, 0021]. The battery has the structure necessary to supply electrical energy [0004, 0015-0016], and therefore the intended use limitation “wherein the battery is configured to supply electrical energy” is met.
Regarding Claim 23, Long discloses a battery (fire extinguishing power battery module; [0027]) comprising:
a battery cell [0007, 0015, 0032-0033];
a box configured to accommodate the battery cell (module body 1; [0027]);
a pipe (fire extinguishing container 3; [0027]); and
a liquid collecting member (top cover plate 2; [0027]) provided between the battery cell and the pipe [0008, 0027],
the liquid collecting member being provided with an accommodating portion (corresponds to the combination of installation groove 21 and surrounding plate 22; 0027) configured as a groove,
the groove comprising a bottom wall (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below) facing the pipe and a side wall (surrounding plate 22) arranged at a side of the pipe (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below).
Annotation of Long Fig. 1.
Long discloses that the pipe (fire extinguishing container 3) is fixedly installed in the groove [0027]. Long also discloses that the pipe (fire extinguishing container) can be made into different shapes (see Figs. 1, 4 and 5) including a cylindrical shape [0011, 0025, 0038-0040]. Long also discloses that it is desirable to reduce the space and weight that a fire extinguishing container occupies in a battery pack in order to improve energy density [0005].
Although Long discloses that the side wall is straight (see annotation of Fig. 1, above), and therefore does not teach that the side wall is curved, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the pipe (fire extinguishing container) to be cylindrical with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful pipe. Furthermore, in seeking to reduce the space that the pipe occupies in the battery pack, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the groove the be cylindrical in order to closely match the shape of the pipe. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since a change in shape normally requires only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). Therefore, Long renders obvious that the side wall is curved “from an upper end of the side wall to a lower end of the side wall”.
Long discloses that the liquid collecting member comprises a through hole (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below; MPEP 2125; [0027]).
Annotation of Long Fig. 1.
Notably, Long discloses that the pipe (fire extinguishing container 3) is designed such that when a cell experiences thermal runaway, a portion of the pipe undergoes thermal decomposition, thereby releasing a fire extinguishing agent inside the pipe [0015, 0032]. Therefore, assuming, arguendo, that Long does not disclose with sufficient specificity that the structure indicated in Fig. 1 (see above) is a through hole, such a configuration would still have been obvious in view of the teachings of Zhou.
Zhou teaches a pressure plate (40, Fig. 1; reads on liquid collecting member) which is provided between a battery cell (10, Fig. 1) and a flame retardant device (20, Fig. 1; reads on pipe) [0044, 0050, 0053, 0056]. The pressure plate is provided with through holes (43, Fig. 5) which correspond to a pressure relief port in a battery cell [0056]. The flame retardant device is positioned as close as possible to the pressure relief device, above the through holes in the pressure plate, such that when the pressure release device explodes the explosion impact can be transmitted quickly and directly to the flame retardant device, thereby quickly releasing flame retardant material onto the battery and improving safety [0048, 0082-0084].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a through hole in the liquid collecting member of Long with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would allow for fire extinguishing agent to be quickly released onto the battery, thereby resulting in a successful battery with increased safety.
Long discloses that the pipe cover the entire through hole (see Fig. 3; MPEP 2125) and abuts against the liquid collecting member (N.B.: “abut” is interpreted as “to border on; to cause to touch or lean for support” as evidenced by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary) [0027].
Although Long does not explicitly teach that the disclosed configuration prevents “a fluid collected in the groove from flowing through the through holes to the battery cell”, the Examiner notes that this is amounts to the intended use of the claimed battery. The recitation of intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the limitation of the claim. Here, the structure required for performing the intended use limitation is a pipe which entirely covers the through hole and a pipe which contacts the bottom wall of the accommodating portion. Such a configuration would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Zhou.
Specifically, Zhou teaches that the flame retardant device (reads on pipe) is preferably placed as close as possible to the pressure relief device of the battery such that the flame retardant device can quickly rupture and release flame retardant material [0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the pipe of Long to contact the bottom wall of the accommodating portion with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery capable of quickly releasing a fire extinguishing agent within the pipe.
Therefore, modified Long renders obvious a pipe which entirely covers the through hole and a pipe which contacts the bottom wall of the accommodating portion (i.e. the structure required to perform the intended use limitation). Thus, the limitation is met.
Although Long discloses that the pipe is fixedly installed in the groove [0027], Long does not teach a plurality of buckles.
Zhou teaches that a plurality of holders (47, Fig. 5) can be used to successful fix a flame retardant device (20, Fig. 1; reads on pipe) to a pressure plate (40, Fig. 5; reads on liquid collecting member) [0059-0060].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a plurality of holders as taught by Zhou to connect the pipe of modified Long to the liquid collecting member with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful connection between the pipe and the liquid collecting member. The holders read on a plurality of buckles provided between the battery cell and the pipe and configured to clamp the pipe. The plurality of buckles are spaced apart from the through hole and independent from the through hole (see Zhou: Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (CN-210723159-U; cited in IDS filed 09/29/2023; see attached English translation for citations) in view of Zhou et al. (CN-110148694-A; previously cited; see English translation provided 03/13/2024 for citations) as applied to Claim 14, above, and in further view of Kobayashi et al. (JP-2017147128-A; see also English translation provided 08/22/2025).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that a fastening member can be used to secure the pipe to the liquid collecting member (see rejection of Claim 14, above). As discussed in Claim 14 (see above), modified Long renders obvious that the fastening member is a holder (Zhou: 47, Fig. 5). The holder reads on a buckle.
Although modified Lee does not explicitly teach that the fastening member comprises a plurality of buckles, Zhou teaches that a plurality of holders (47, Fig. 5) can be used to fasten the pipe (see Figs. 1, 5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the fastening member such that it comprises “a plurality of buckles configured to clamp the pipe” with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful connection between the pipe and the liquid collecting member.
Since Zhou teaches that the plurality of buckles are arranged along a central axis direction of the pipe (see Zhou Figs. 1 and 5), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have arranged the plurality of buckles along a central axis direction of the pipe with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful connection between the pipe and the liquid collecting member.
Modified Long renders obvious that the plurality of buckles are located along one side of the plurality of through holes (see Zhou Figs. 1 and 5). Therefore, modified Long does not teach that the plurality of buckles are located on both sides of the plurality of through holes.
Kobayashi teaches a similar fire extinguishing system [0006, 0026, 0030-0034] including a fire extinguishing pipe (13, Fig. 2) connected to a plate [0030] to provide a refrigerant to high temperature battery cells [0031-0034]. Kobayashi teaches that the pipe is successfully fixed to the base plate via a pipe support portion (18, Fig. 2) [0030]. The pipe support portion reads on a plurality of buckles (corresponds to each half of the pipe support portion; see annotation of Kobayashi Fig. 2, below) which are provided on either side of a through hole.
Annotation of Kobayashi Fig. 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the fastening member as a plurality of buckles located on both sides of the plurality of through holes, with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful connection between the liquid collecting member and pipe.
The limitation “to prevent the fire extinguishing medium located between the buckles from flowing along the central axis direction of the pipe out of a zone enclosed by the buckles at the groove” amounts to the intended use of the claimed battery. The recitation of intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the limitation of the claim. Here, modified Long renders obvious buckles on each side of the plurality of through holes. Therefore, in the event that fire extinguishing medium is collected between the buckles, the prior art possess the structure necessary to prevent the medium from flowing along the central axis direction of the pipe out of a zone enclosed by the buckles at the groove.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (CN-210723159-U; cited in IDS filed 09/29/2023; see attached English translation for citations) in view of Zhou et al. (CN-110148694-A; previously cited; see English translation provided 03/13/2024 for citations) as applied to Claim 10, above, and in further view of Chan et al. (US-20180138478-A1; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Long discloses that heat generated from an overheated battery cell is used to decompose an insulating polymer of the pipe [0015, 0032]. Modified Long does not teach a separator provided between the liquid collecting member and the pressure relief mechanism.
Chan teaches a battery module designed to prevent the propagation of explosion from one cell to another during thermal runaway [0003-0004, 0013]. Chan teaches that a plurality of layers, including a first insulation layer and a second insulation layer, can be formed across an upper portion of the battery module [0024]. Advantageously, Chan teaches that the plurality of layers can help to direct exploding material released from a cell [0025], and can provide insulation to the battery cells [0026].
Therefore, in seeking to direct exploding material released from a cell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included an insulation layer (reads on separator) between the liquid collecting member and the battery cell of modified Long, including between the liquid collecting member and the pressure relief mechanism, with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery capable of successfully venting gases.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Long renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Lee discloses that the accommodating portion is provided in the liquid collecting member (see rejection of Claim 1, above). The accommodating portion of the liquid collection member reads on the claimed “first accommodating portion”.
Although modified Long does not explicitly teach a second accommodating portion in the separator, Chan teaches that the insulation layers (405 and 410, Fig. 5) can have the same shape as the top cover (114, Fig. 5) such that the insulation layers can be stacked with the top cover (Fig. 4).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have shaped the separator of modified Long to have the same shape as the liquid collecting member in order to easily stack the two members. Furthermore, absent showings of criticality, a change in shape normally requires only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B). By providing the insulator to have the same shape of as the liquid collecting member, the separator thereby comprises a second accommodating portion at a zone corresponding to the pressure relief mechanism. Since the members are stacked, the first accommodating portion (which is a part of the liquid collecting member) is thereby placed in the second accommodating portion.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (CN-210723159-U; cited in IDS filed 09/29/2023; see attached English translation for citations) in view of Zhou et al. (CN-110148694-A; previously cited; see English translation provided 03/13/2024 for citations) and in further view of Fujii et al. (US-20150125720-A1; newly cited).
Regarding Claim 21, Long discloses a battery (fire extinguishing power battery module; [0027]). Long discloses that the battery comprises cells [0004, 0015, 0032]. Long does not teach the configuration of the cells within the battery, and therefore does not disclose that the battery cells are arranged one by one.
Zhou teaches a similar battery module (see Fig. 1; [0047-0048, 0053, 0071]). Zhou teaches that a plurality of battery cells can be successfully arranged one by one (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have arranged the cells of Long such that they are arranged one by one in an arrangement direction with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below).
Annotation of Long Fig. 1.
Since the battery cells are arranged one by one, the battery is understood to necessarily have a first outermost battery cell and a second outermost battery cell opposite to each other in the arrangement direction.
Long further discloses that the battery comprises:
a box configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells (module body 1; [0027]);
a pipe (fire extinguishing container 3; [0027]); and
a liquid collecting member (top cover plate 2; [0027]) provided between the plurality of battery cells and the pipe [0008, 0027], the liquid collecting member comprising:
an accommodating portion (corresponds to the combination of installation groove 21 and surrounding plate 22; 0027) configured as a groove, the groove comprising a bottom wall (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below) facing the pipe and a side wall (surrounding plate 22) arranged at a side of the pipe (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below).
Annotation of Long Fig. 1.
Long discloses that the pipe is fixedly installed on the liquid collecting member [0027]. Long also discloses that the battery can be used to form a battery pack (Fig. 3; [0021, 0027, 0031]). Long does not teach an upper piece connected to an upper end of the side wall of the groove.
Fujii teaches a power supply device including a plurality of battery cells and a gas duct [0003, 0008, 0037, 0040]. The gas duct corresponds to the gas exhaust valve of each of the battery cells [0040, 0073]. Fujii teaches that the gas duct includes a second duct (6B, Fig. 9) which includes a recess (6c, Fig. 9) into which a first duct (6A, Fig. 9) is press-fit [0080]. Fujii teaches a bus bar holder (8, Fig. 9) which can be used as the second duct [0083, 0086]. The bus bar holder of Fujii corresponds to the liquid collecting member of modified Long, and the first gas duct of Fujii corresponds to the pipe of modified Long. The bus bar holder includes opening windows (24, Fig. 9) which guide a bus bar into a fixed position to connect the electrode terminals of the battery cells [0084].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the liquid collecting member of modified Long to have the shape taught by Fujii with a reasonable expectation that such a structure would result in a battery capable of successfully positioning the pipe within the liquid collecting member, and capable of successfully connecting the plurality of battery cells in order to form a battery pack. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of successful since a change in shape normally requires only ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, IV, B).
Modified Long thereby renders obvious “an upper piece connected to an upper end of the side wall of the groove, the upper piece being configured as a plane continuously extending in the arrangement direction from the first outermost battery cell to the second outermost battery cell” (see annotation of Fujii Fig. 9, below).
Annotation of part of Fujii Fig. 9.
Long discloses that the liquid collecting member comprises a plurality of through holes arranged along an extending direction of the pipe and spaced apart from each other (see annotation of Long Fig. 1, below; MPEP 2125; [0027]).
Annotation of Long Fig. 1.
Notably, Long discloses that the pipe (fire extinguishing container 3) is designed such that when a cell experiences thermal runaway, a portion of the pipe undergoes thermal decomposition, thereby releasing a fire extinguishing agent inside the pipe [0015, 0032]. Therefore, assuming, arguendo, that Long does not disclose with sufficient specificity that the structures indicated in Fig. 1 (see above) are through holes, such a configuration would still have been obvious in view of the teachings of Zhou.
Zhou teaches a pressure plate (40, Fig. 1; reads on liquid collecting member) which is provided between a battery cell (10, Fig. 1) and a flame retardant device (20, Fig. 1; reads on pipe) [0044, 0050, 0053, 0056]. The pressure plate is provided with through holes (43, Fig. 5) which correspond to a pressure relief port in a battery cell [0056]. The flame retardant device is positioned as close as possible to the pressure relief device, above the through holes in the pressure plate, such that when the pressure release device explodes the explosion impact can be transmitted quickly and directly to the flame retardant device, thereby quickly releasing flame retardant material onto the battery and improving safety [0048, 0082-0084].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided through holes in the liquid collecting member of Long along an extending direction of the pipe with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would allow for fire extinguishing agent to be quickly released onto the battery, thereby resulting in a successful battery with increased safety.
Long discloses that the pipe entirely covers the entire plurality of through holes (see Fig. 3; MPEP 2125) and abuts against the liquid collecting member (N.B.: “abut” is interpreted as “to border on; to cause to touch or lean for support” as evidenced by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary) [0027].
Although Long does not explicitly teach that the disclosed configuration prevents “a fluid collected in the groove from flowing through the plurality of through holes to the battery cell”, the Examiner notes that this amounts to the intended use of the claimed battery. The recitation of intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the limitation of the claim. Here, the structure required for performing the intended use limitation is a pipe which entirely covers the plurality of through holes and a pipe which contacts the bottom wall of the accommodating portion. Such a configuration would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Zhou.
Specifically, Zhou teaches that the flame retardant device (reads on pipe) is preferably placed as close as possible to the pressure relief device of the battery such that the flame retardant device can quickly rupture and release flame retardant material [0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the pipe of Long to contact the bottom wall of the accommodating portion with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery capable of quickly releasing a fire extinguishing agent within the pipe.
Therefore, modified Long renders obvious a pipe which entirely covers the plurality of through holes and a pipe which contacts the bottom wall of the accommodating portion (i.e. the structure required to perform the intended use limitation). Thus, the limitation is met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 11/21/2025 have been carefully considered. Applicant has argued that Lee is not prior art (Remarks, Pgs. 10-11). Applicant has carefully considered this argument, however, in order to obtain the benefit of the prior-filed application PCT/CN2020/121999, Applicant must submit a certified copy of the international application and a certified English translation. See MPEP 1895.01.
Applicant has further argued that Lee does not teach a plurality of through holes (Remarks, Pg. 11). In response, the Examiner notes that Lee renders obvious this limitation as set forth in the rejections of record. Since Kobayashi is no longer relied upon as a primary reference, Applicant’s arguments with respect to Kobayashi (Remarks Pgs. 11-12) are moot. For the sake of compact prosecution, the claims are further rejected over Long (see above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.C.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 3/30/2026