DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 2/27/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 10, it’s not clear as if the limitation “the power cable” is the same or different from the limitation “DC cable”. Furthermore, the limitation “the power cable” lacks proper antecedent basis and should be written as “a power cable”. Dependent claims 11-15 inherit the deficiencies of independent claim 10 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b). Further regarding claim 14, it’s not clear as if the limitation “the DC power cable” is the same or different from the limitations “DC cable” or “the power cable” mentioned in independent claim 10, which claim 14 depends from. Furthermore, the limitation “the DC power cable” lacks proper antecedent basis and should be written as “a DC power cable”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostakis et al. (US Patent 10812664) in view of Lun Li e al. (US Patent 9728983). Regarding claim 1, Kostakis et al. discloses (see fig. 3-6) a power conversion system (110/210) coupled to a power supply (connection to 102/107) that supplies power over a power cable (132) connected to remote radio heads (122), the power conversion system comprising: an input that receives input power from the power supply (input to 110 connected output from power supply 102/107), and an output (214) coupled to the power cable (214 connection to 132); a control module (248) configured to monitor power information (power information being feedback into 248), the power information including a resistance of the power cable (operation of 248); and one or more DC-DC converters (210) coupled to the control module (210 connection to 248) and configured to generate a output voltage at the output (output at 214 from 210), the output voltage generated by adding to the input voltage, a supplemental voltage determined from the monitored power information to compensate for a voltage decrease on the power cable (see Abstract which states “The voltage control system calculates a voltage drop on the DC cable based on the V.sub.RRH measurement and then adds different voltage steps to V.sub.IN so V.sub.OUT compensates for the voltage drop”). Kostakis et al. does not disclose that the power information includes a current measurement of the input power. Lun Li et al. discloses (see fig. 1B-2) that power information includes a current measurement of an input power (operation of 60. See steps S225, S230, S235). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Kostakis et al. to include the features of Lun Li et al. because it provides for a control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 2, Kostakis et al. discloses (see fig. 3-6) that the power information further includes: a top voltage at an input to the RRHs (operation of 230), and a target voltage at a power input of the RRHs (target voltage level at input of RRH, see claim 20). Regarding claim 3, Kostakis et al. discloses (see fig. 3-6) the control module (248) is further configured to use at least a portion of the power information determine a voltage drop on a DC cables (operation of 248 determining voltage drop of cables 132) and to signal the one or more DC-DC converters to adjust the output voltage of the one or more DC-DC converters to compensate for any input voltage decrease to maintain the input voltage at the RRHs at a relative constant level (see Abstract which states “The voltage control system calculates a voltage drop on the DC cable based on the V.sub.RRH measurement and then adds different voltage steps to V.sub.IN so V.sub.OUT compensates for the voltage drop”). Regarding claim 4, Kostakis et al. discloses (see fig. 3-6) adjusting the output voltage (Vout) further comprises: adding to an input voltage of the input power, a supplemental voltage (see Abstract which states “The voltage control system calculates a voltage drop on the DC cable based on the V.sub.RRH measurement and then adds different voltage steps to V.sub.IN so V.sub.OUT compensates for the voltage drop”). Regarding claim 6, Kostakis et al. discloses (see fig. 3-6) that the resistance of the power cable (132) is determined by calculating a resistance of each DC circuit in the power cable (resistance in 132. See column 4 lines 31-42, which states that DC circuit and DC cable is interchangeable) based on the top voltage at the RRHs and the output voltage (see column 4 lines 31-42). Kostakis et al. does not disclose calculating a resistance is based on the current measurements of the input power. Lun Li et al. discloses (see fig. 1B-2) calculating a resistance is based on the current measurements of the input power (operation of 60. See steps S225, S230, S235). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Kostakis et al. to include the features of Lun Li et al. because it provides for a control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 8, Kostakis et al. discloses (see fig. 15) an enclosure (rack mount unit) that has slots to receive at least one pluggable module containing the one or more of one or more DC-DC converters (plugabble dc/dc converter plugged into slot of rack mount unit).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostakis et al. (US Patent 10812664) in view of Lun Li e al. (US Patent 9728983) and Guerin et al. (US 2021/0072779). Regarding claim 7, Kostakis et al. does not disclose that the resistance of the power cable is determined by receiving resistance information that is input by a user. Guerin et al. discloses that a resistance of a power cable is determined by receiving resistance information that is input by a user (see paragraph 0014-0015). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Kostakis et al. to include the features of Guerin et al. because it provides for a control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostakis et al. (US Patent 10812664) in view of Lun Li e al. (US Patent 9728983) and Su et al. (US 2017/0339799). Regarding claim 9, Kostakis et al. does not disclose that the power conversion system is implemented in a 2U rack configuration. Su et al. discloses (see fig. 2-3) that a power conversion system is implemented in a 2U rack configuration (see 2u configuration shown in figs. 2-3). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Kostakis et al. to include the features of Su et al. because it allows for a specific design choice, which can provide a reduction in component variance, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 11-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chamberlain et al. (US Patent 11275395) discloses a programmable power supply with cable resistance detection. Winkler et al. (US Patent 10830803) discloses methods and equipment for reducing power loss in cellular systems
/JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838