DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4-6,9,13,17,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese document (CN 111577304) in view of WO document ‘695 (WO 2020/097695) and WO document (WO 98/07960).
Chinese document ‘304 discloses a plasma drilling machine comprising:
a cutting head (2);
a plurality of plasma torches (21) on the cutting head;
a plurality of nozzles (18) on the cutting head to provide a stream to cool an area of
earth. CN document ‘304 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, CN document ‘304 is silent about providing the stream to cool an area of earth while the plasma torches are active; a plurality of vacuum inlets; and a tube to combine vacuum streams from the vacuum inlets to create a stream of spoils.
WO document ‘695 teaches to use plasma torches and air/water nozzles on a head to direct a stream from the head to impact an area of the earth to cool the area of the earth while the plasma torches are active to create a temperature delta to improve an effect of the plasma torches (see para 0060 of WO ‘695).
WO document ‘960 teaches a plurality of vacuum inlets (83, Fig. 25); and
a tube to combine vacuum streams from the vacuum inlets to create a stream of
spoils (92, Fig. 28).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chinese document ‘304 to have the plurality of nozzles on the cutting head provide a stream to cool the area of the earth while the plasma torches are active as taught by WO document ‘695 since such a modification facilitates fracturing by creating internal thermal stress to the earth.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chinese document ‘304 to include
a plurality of vacuum inlets; and a tube to combine vacuum streams from the vacuum inlets to create a stream of spoils as taught by WO document ‘960 since such a modification facilitates the removal of the spoils.
Re claim 4, the nozzles comprise a high pressure air jet nozzle to direct a stream of air
(see para 0060 of WO ‘695).
Re claim 5, the nozzle comprises a high pressure water jet nozzle to direct the stream.
(see para 0060 of WO ‘695).
Re claim 6, wherein the stream comprises one of: water and steam (see Chinese document ‘304 translation; para 0060 of WO ‘695).
Re claim 9, wherein one or more of the vacuum inlets are at a base of the cutting head (see Fig. 28 of WO document ‘960).
With regards to claim 13, CN document ‘304 lacks start/stop-valves for at least a subset of the plurality of nozzles. Start/stop valves for nozzles are well known and old; therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CN document ‘304 (as modified above) to include rapid start/stop-valves for at least a subset of the plurality of nozzles to yield the desired cutting operation.
With regards to claims 17,20, the recited method steps are considered obvious in view of the combination of references above.
Claim(s) 1,4-6,9,13,17,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese document (CN 111577304) in view of Frankle et al. (US 4066137) and WO document (WO 98/07960).
Chinese document ‘304 discloses a plasma drilling machine comprising:
a cutting head (2);
a plurality of plasma torches (21) on the cutting head;
a plurality of nozzles (18) on the cutting head to provide a stream to cool an area of
earth. CN document ‘304 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, CN document ‘304 is silent about providing the stream to cool an area of earth while the plasma torches are active; a plurality of vacuum inlets; and a tube to combine vacuum streams from the vacuum inlets to create a stream of spoils.
Frankle et al. teach to use plasma torches and air/water nozzles on a head to direct a stream from the head to impact an area of the earth to cool the area of the earth while the plasma torches are active to create a temperature delta to improve an effect of the plasma torches (col. 6 or Frankle et al.).
WO document ‘960 teaches a plurality of vacuum inlets (83, Fig. 25); and
a tube to combine vacuum streams from the vacuum inlets to create a stream of
spoils (92, Fig. 28).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chinese document ‘304 to have the plurality of nozzles on the cutting head provide a stream to cool the area of the earth while the plasma torches are active as taught by Frankle et al. since such a modification facilitates fracturing by creating internal thermal stress to the earth.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chinese document ‘304 to include
a plurality of vacuum inlets; and a tube to combine vacuum streams from the vacuum inlets to create a stream of spoils as taught by WO document ‘960 since such a modification facilitates the removal of the spoils.
Re claim 4, the nozzles comprise a high pressure air jet nozzle to direct a stream of air
(see col. 6 or Frankle et al.).
Re claim 5, the nozzle comprises a high pressure water jet nozzle to direct the stream.
(see col. 6 or Frankle et al.)
Re claim 6, wherein the stream comprises one of: water and steam (see Chinese document ‘304 translation; col. 6 or Frankle et al.).
Re claim 9, wherein one or more of the vacuum inlets are at a base of the cutting head (see Fig. 28 of WO document ‘960).
With regards to claim 13, CN document ‘304 lacks start/stop-valves for at least a subset of the plurality of nozzles. Start/stop valves for nozzles are well known and old; therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify CN document ‘304 (as modified above) to include rapid start/stop-valves for at least a subset of the plurality of nozzles to yield the desired cutting operation.
With regards to claims 17,20, the recited method steps are considered obvious in view of the combination of references above.
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15,20,21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,136,886. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both call for a plasma drilling machine (method of plasma drilling) comprising: a cutting head; a plurality of plasma torches on the cutting head; a plurality of nozzles on the cutting head to provide a stream to cool an area of earth while the plasma torches are active; a plurality of vacuum inlets; and a tube to combine vacuum streams from the vacuum inlets to create a stream of spoils.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,3-15,20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,591,909. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both call for a plasma drilling machine (method of plasma drilling) comprising: a cutting head; a plurality of plasma torches on the cutting head; a plurality of nozzles on the cutting head to provide a stream to cool an area of earth while the plasma torches are active; a plurality of vacuum inlets; and a tube to combine vacuum streams from the vacuum inlets to create a stream of spoils.
Conclusion
/SUNIL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SS
1/10/2026