DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 1 and 8 filed 11/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to claims 1 and 8, Applicant asserts Woo (US 2018/0166649 A1) fails to teach the following:
“a length of an orthographic projection of the sacrificial layer on the substrate is equal to a length of an orthographic projection of the anode layer on the substrate”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. The applicant shows in the arguments filed 11/27/2025 that the length of the anode electrode 180 (L1) is longer than the length of the auxiliary electrode 190 (L2) in an annotated Fig. 2 below. This clearly shown that there exist an encompassed length of an orthographic projection of the auxiliary electrode 190 on the substrate is equal to a length of an orthographic projection of the anode electrode 180. Simply stated lengths of the orthographic projections are equal where L1=L2.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C 112(b) of claim 18 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 recites “wherein a depth of the groove is equal to a thickness of a portion of the sacrificial layer within the groove” in lines 9-10. There is no description within the specification that describes any portion of the sacrificial layer remining in the groove after it is formed. The sacrificial layer is mentioned only to be fully or partially etched to form a groove with no mention of any shape that would allow one to consider the sacrificial layer to be remaining in the groove (see for example paragraphs 34, 35, 53 and 62 of the instant application). Therefore, the Examiner notes there is insufficient evidence provided the inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-11, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Woo (US 2018/0166649 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Woo teaches a display panel (organic light emitting display) (paragraph 3), wherein the display panel comprises at least:
a substrate (a substrate 100) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
an anode layer disposed on the substrate (an anode electrode 180) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
a sacrificial layer disposed on the anode layer (an auxiliary electrode 190) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
a pixel definition (a bank 200) layer covering the sacrificial layer and the anode layer (Fig. 2 and paragraph 73), the pixel definition layer defines a light-emitting area opening (an opening area exposed by the bank 200 is shown in Fig. 2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 67), and the sacrificial layer is formed with a groove at a position corresponding to the light-emitting area opening (a groove is formed where a portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 is etched) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 120); and
a light-emitting functional layer (an organic light emitting layer 210 ) disposed in the groove and the light-emitting area opening (the organic light emitting layer 210 is shown in the groove of the auxiliary electrode in Fig. 2), wherein the groove communicates with the light-emitting area opening (the groove formed in the portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 is shown in line and communicating with the opening area exposed by the bank 200 in Fig. 2) and a bottom area of the groove is equal to a bottom area of the light-emitting area opening (the bottom portion of the opening in the bank 200 and the bottom area of the groove within the EA are shown to be equal in Fig. 2), and
wherein a length of an orthographic projection of the sacrificial layer on the substrate is equal to a length of an orthographic projection of the anode layer on the substrate (as the anode electrode is shown to be wider than the auxiliary electrode 190, an encompassed length (L1) of an orthographic projection of the auxiliary electrode 190 on the substrate is equal to a length (L2) of an orthographic projection of the anode electrode 180 where L1=L2 as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below).
In regard to claim 2, Woo teaches wherein the sacrificial layer comprises at least one of an amphoteric metal, an amphoteric oxide, or an alloy of amphoteric metals (the auxiliary electrode 190 can be made out of IZO which is a known amphoteric oxide) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 138).
In regard to claim 4, Woo teaches wherein the sacrificial layer comprises a first sacrificial layer (a portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 in the opening having the height of H2) and a second sacrificial layer (a non-etched portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 under the banks 200 having the height of H1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 47), the first sacrificial layer corresponds to the light-emitting area opening (the portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 having the height of H2 is in the opening portion) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 102), the second sacrificial layer is located between the pixel definition layer and the anode layer (the non-etched portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 having the height of H1 is shown between the banks and anode in Fig. 2), and a thickness of the first sacrificial layer is less than a thickness of the second sacrificial layer (H2 is shown to be less than H1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 102).
In regard to claim 5, Woo teaches a depth of the groove is equal to a thickness of the sacrificial layer (the whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 can be removed in a process of etching the auxiliary electrode 190 for removing the foreign material 200a) (Fig. 4F and paragraph 123), and the light-emitting functional layer is connected with the anode layer (in order for the light emitting layer to emit light it must be connected to the anode layer, therefore the Examiner takes official notice that when the whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 is etched away the organic light emitting layer 210) (paragraph 123).
In regard to claim 8, Woo teaches a method for manufacturing a display panel (method of manufacturing an organic light emitting display device) (paragraph 2), wherein the method comprises at least:
providing a substrate (a substrate 100) (Fig. 5A and paragraph 127);
forming an anode layer (an anode electrode 180) on the substrate (Fig. 5C and paragraph 132);
forming a sacrificial layer (an auxiliary electrode 190) on the anode layer (Fig. 5C and paragraph 132);
forming an initial pixel definition layer (a bank 200 formed of a first bank 201 and a second bank 202) covering the sacrificial layer and the anode layer (Fig. 5D and paragraph 135);
exposing and developing the initial pixel definition layer to define a light-emitting area opening to form a pixel definition layer (the first bank 201 can be formed on each of one side and the other side of the auxiliary electrode 190 to expose an upper surface of the auxiliary electrode 190 through a photolithography process) (Fig. 5D and paragraph 135), and etching the sacrificial layer exposed to the light-emitting area opening to form a groove (a portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 can be etched by using each of the first and second banks 201 and 202 as a mask) (Fig. 5E and paragraph 138); and
forming a light-emitting functional layer (an organic light emitting layer 210) in the groove and the light-emitting area opening (the organic light emitting layer 210 can be sequentially formed auxiliary electrode 190 within the etched away portion) (Fig. 5F and paragraph 142);
wherein a bottom area of the groove is equal to a bottom area of the light-emitting area opening (the bottom portion of the opening in the bank 200 and the bottom area of the groove within the EA are shown to be equal in Fig. 2), and
wherein a length of an orthographic projection of the sacrificial layer on the substrate is equal to a length of an orthographic projection of the anode layer on the substrate (as the anode electrode is shown to be wider than the auxiliary electrode 190, an encompassed length (L1) of an orthographic projection of the auxiliary electrode 190 on the substrate is equal to a length (L2) of an orthographic projection of the anode electrode 180 where L1=L2 as shown in annotated Fig. 2 above).
In regard to claim 9, Woo teaches the step of etching the sacrificial layer exposed to the light-emitting area opening to form a groove comprises:
etching part of the sacrificial layer exposed to the light-emitting area opening (a portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 can be etched by using each of the first and second banks 201 and 202 as a mask) (Fig. 5E and paragraph 138), so that a depth of the groove is less than a thickness of the sacrificial layer (the auxiliary electrode 190 is etched so that the layer has a lower height of H2 in the opening exposed by the banks 200) (Fig. 5E and paragraph 67);
wherein a part of the sacrificial layer is disposed between the light-emitting functional layer and the anode layer (the part of the auxiliary electrode that is etched is shown between the organic layer 210 and the anode electrode 180).
In regard to claim 10, Woo teaches wherein the step of etching a sacrificial layer exposed to the opening of the light-emitting area to form a groove comprises:
fully etching the sacrificial layer exposed to the light-emitting area opening, so that a depth of the groove is equal to a thickness of the sacrificial layer (the whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 can be removed in a process of etching the auxiliary electrode 190 for removing the foreign material 200a) (Fig. 4F and paragraph 123);
wherein the light-emitting functional layer is connected with the anode layer (in order for the light emitting layer to emit light it must be connected to the anode layer, therefor the Examiner takes official notice that when the whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 is etched away the organic light emitting layer 210) (paragraph 123).
In regard to claim 11, Woo teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the light-emitting area opening on the substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the groove on the substrate (the opening in the bank 200 and the groove formed in the auxiliary electrode 190 are shown with overlapping orthographic projections in Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 13, Woo teaches wherein the light-emitting functional layer comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light-emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer (the organic light emitting layer 210 can include a hole injecting layer, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and an electron injecting layer) (paragraph 77).
In regard to claim 20, Woo teaches a display panel (organic light emitting display) (paragraph 3), wherein the display panel comprises at least:
a substrate (a substrate 100) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
an anode layer disposed on the substrate (an anode electrode 180) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
a sacrificial layer disposed on the anode layer (an auxiliary electrode 190) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
a pixel definition (a bank 200) layer covering the sacrificial layer and the anode layer (Fig. 4F and paragraph 73), the pixel definition layer defines a light-emitting area opening (an opening area exposed by the bank 200 is shown in Fig. 4F) (Fig. 4F and paragraph 67), and the sacrificial layer is formed with a groove at a position corresponding to the light-emitting area opening to expose the anode layer (when the auxiliary electrode 190 can be formed of a material having a refractive index which is higher than that of the anode electrode 180 a groove would be formed where a whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 is removed) (paragraph 123); and
a light-emitting functional layer (the organic light emitting layer 210) disposed in the groove and the light-emitting area opening (the organic light emitting layer 210 is formed in the groove in order to generate light emissions) (paragraph 123);
wherein a depth of the groove is equal to a thickness of a portion of the sacrificial layer within the groove (as a whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 would be removed, the groove formed in this process would be the thickness of the auxiliary electrode 190) (paragraph 123).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2018/0145275 A1; hereinafter “Yamazaki”).
In regard to claim 3, Woo does not specifically teach wherein the sacrificial layer is aluminum, zinc, aluminum oxide, zinc oxide, or aluminum-zinc alloy.
Yamazaki teaches a display panel (an EL Display) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 4), wherein a sacrificial layer (film 18c of the first electrode) is aluminum, zinc, aluminum oxide, zinc oxide, or aluminum-zinc alloy (film 18c contains aluminum as a main component) (Fig. 1A and paragraph 70).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo with Yamazaki to have the sacrificial layer be aluminum since aluminum allows the resistance to be lowered in within the structure which allows the device to function properly as taught by Yamazaki (paragraph 41).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ariyoshi et al. (US 2014/0197395 A1; hereinafter “Ariyoshi”).
In regard to claim 6, Woo doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the anode layer comprises: a first transparent electrode ; a reflective layer disposed on the first transparent electrode; and a second transparent electrode disposed on the reflective layer.
Ariyoshi teaches a display panel (an organic luminescent display device 1) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 33), wherein an anode layer (the anode 34) comprises:
a first transparent electrode (an adhesion layer 31) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 43);
a reflective layer (a reflection layer 32) disposed on the first transparent electrode (Fig. 3 and paragraph 44); and
a second transparent electrode (a contact layer 33 is made of a transparent material) disposed on the reflective layer (Fig. 3 and paragraph 49).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Ariyoshi with the teachings of Woo to have the anode layer comprises a first transparent electrode; a reflective layer disposed on the first transparent electrode; and a second transparent electrode disposed on the reflective layer since this layout can allow the device to have higher definition, higher brightness and the prolongation of a product lifetime as taught by Ariyoshi (paragraph 55).
In regard to claim 12, Woo in view of Ariyoshi teach wherein materials of the first transparent electrode and the second transparent electrode are indium tin oxide, or indium zinc oxide, and a material of the reflective layer is silver, aluminum, or an aluminum alloy (the adhesion layer 31 and contact layer 33 can be formed of indium tin oxide, while the reflection layer can be formed of silver) (Ariyoshi paragraphs 43-44 and 49).
Claims 7, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Feng et al. (US 2020/0119120 A1; hereinafter “Feng”).
In regard to claim 7, Woo doesn’t explicitly teach the display panel comprises a thin film transistor area and a capacitance area, and the display panel further comprises: a first metal layer disposed on the substrate, the first metal layer comprises a first electrode disposed in the capacitance area; a semiconductor layer disposed on the first metal layer, the semiconductor layer comprises a second electrode disposed in the capacitance area; and a second metal layer disposed on the semiconductor layer, the second metal layer comprises a third electrode disposed in the capacitance area; wherein the second electrode is disposed above the first electrode, and the third electrode is disposed above the second electrode.
Feng teaches a display panel (a display device) comprises a thin film transistor area (area containing TFT 1) and a capacitance area (the area containing orthographic projections of the first electrode 11, the second electrode 12 and the third electrode 19) (Fig. 2A and paragraphs 3, 55, 64), and the display panel further comprises:
a first metal layer (the layer containing a third electrode 19) disposed on a substrate (a base substrate 10) (Fig. 2A and paragraph 64), the first metal layer comprises a first electrode (a third electrode 19) disposed in the capacitance area (the third electrode 19 is disposed between the first electrode 11 and the base substrate 10);
a semiconductor layer (the layers containing active patterns A1-A3) disposed on the first metal layer (Fig. 2A and paragraphs 47), the semiconductor layer comprises a second electrode (a first electrode 11) disposed in the capacitance area (the first electrode 11 is shown over the third electrode in Fig. 2A); and
a second metal layer (the layer containing a second electrode 12) disposed on the semiconductor layer (Fig. 2A and paragraph 64), the second metal layer comprises a third electrode (a second electrode 12) disposed in the capacitance area (the second electrode 2 is shown disposed over the first electrode 11 in Fig. 2A);
wherein the second electrode is disposed above the first electrode, and the third electrode is disposed above the second electrode (the second electrode 12 is shown over the first electrode 11 which is shown over the third electrode 19 in Fig. 2A).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo with the teachings of Feng to have the display panel comprises a thin film transistor area and a capacitance area, and the display panel further comprises: a first metal layer disposed on the substrate, the first metal layer comprises a first electrode disposed in the capacitance area; a semiconductor layer disposed on the first metal layer, the semiconductor layer comprises a second electrode disposed in the capacitance area; and a second metal layer disposed on the semiconductor layer, the second metal layer comprises a third electrode disposed in the capacitance area; wherein the second electrode is disposed above the first electrode, and the third electrode is disposed above the second electrode since this layout allows for the manufacture of a device that has more pixels per inch which results in overall higher resolution as taught by Feng (paragraph 65).
In regard to claim 14, Woo in view of Feng teach wherein the first metal layer further comprises a light shielding layer (the layer containing the light-shielding pattern 20 is in the same layer as the third electrode 19) disposed in the thin film transistor area (Feng Fig. 2A and paragraphs 70-71), the semiconductor layer further comprises an active layer (active patterns A1-A3) disposed in the thin film transistor area (the active patterns A1-A3 are in the first thin film transistor TFT1) (Fig. 2A and paragraph 70), and the second metal layer further comprises a source and a drain (a first source S1 and a first drain D1 are shown in the same layer containing a second electrode 12) disposed in the thin film transistor area (Feng, Fig. 2A and paragraph 73).
In regard to claim 15 Woo in view of Feng teach wherein the active layer comprises a channel area (the channel area annotated as CH is shown in Feng annotated Fig. 2A below), a source contact area (the portion of the channel area CH under the first source S1) and a drain contact area (the portion of the channel area CH under the first drain D1) disposed on both sides of the channel area (the portions of the CH area under the first source S1 and the first drain D1 are shown on both sides of the channel area CH in annotated Fig. 2A below) (Feng annotated Fig. 2A and paragraph 73).
In regard to claim 16, Woo in view of Feng teach wherein an orthographic projection of the first electrode on the substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the second electrode on the substrate and overlaps with an orthographic projection of the third electrode on the substrate (the orthographic projection of the second electrode 12 is shown over the orthographic projection of the first electrode 11 which is shown over the orthographic projection of the third electrode 19 in Feng, Fig. 2A).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Feng as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0122323 A1; hereinafter “Park”).
In regard to claim 17, Woo teach wherein the display panel further comprises a passivation layer (a passivation layer 165) and a planarization layer (a planarization layer 170) disposed on the passivation layer (the planarization layer 170 is shown over the passivation layer 165 in Fig. 2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41), the passivation layer is formed with a first opening exposing a source (a contact hole CH3 in the passivation layer 165 exposes the source electrode 150) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 55).
However, Woo in view of Feng don’t explicitly teach the passivation layer is formed with the first opening exposing the source and a second opening exposing a binding structure in a binding area.
Park teaches a display panel (a display panel as shown in Fig. 7) (Fig. 7 and paragraph 32), wherein a passivation layer (a first inorganic passivation layer PAS1) is formed with the first opening exposing a source (an opening is shown exposing a source SE in Fig. 7) and a second opening exposing a binding structure (a data pad DPD) in a binding area (an opening in the first inorganic passivation layer PAS1 exposes the data pad DPD in an area outside the pixel array as shown in Fig. 7) (Fig. 7 and paragraphs 91-92).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Feng with the teachings of Park to have the passivation layer formed with a first opening exposing the source and a second opening exposing a binding structure in a binding area since this layout is well known to allow for more connections within the display panel to provide data signals to data lines of a pixel array as taught by Park (paragraph 3).
In regard to claim 18, Woo teaches wherein the display panel further comprises a first connection layer located in a first opening (a source electrode 150 in a second contact CH2) and a second connection layer located in a second opening (a drain electrode 160 in a first contact hole CH1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 47).
In regard to claim 19, Woo teaches wherein the display panel further comprises a planarization layer (a planarization layer 170), and the planarization layer is formed with a third opening (a third contact hole CH3) exposing the first connection layer (the third contact hole CH3 is shown exposing the source electrode in Fig. 2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 55), and the anode layer is formed in the third opening (the anode electrode 180 is shown within the third contact hole CH3) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 55).
Conclusion
/SEYON ALI-SIMAH PUNCHBEDDELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893