Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered. In the reply mailed 08/13/2026, the applicant argues Woo (US 2018/0166649 A1) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2018/0145275 Al; hereinafter "Yamazaki") fails to teach the following:
(1) a bottom area of the groove is equal to a bottom area of the light-emitting area opening;
(2) a third opening having a top and a bottom with same widths.
In regard to Applicant’s argument 1, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As the applicant asserts FIG. 2 of Woo is a sectional view which shows that the bottom of the opening in the bank 200 and the bottom area of the groove within the EA are equal only in the direction shown by the sectional view of FIG. 2. The limitations on which the Applicant relies (the bottom area of the groove within the EA are still equal along other directions) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is the claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable (Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc. , 7 USPQ 2d 1064). Therefore, as Woo shows an area where the opening in the bank 200 and the bottom area of the groove within the EA are equal the claim limitation is met.
In regard to argument 2, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 21 have been fully considered, and a new grounds of rejection in view of Okabe et al. (US 2019/0363102 A1; hereinafter "Okabe").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-11, 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 2018/0166649 A1) in view of Okabe et al. (US 2019/0363102 A1; hereinafter "Okabe") and Yamazaki et al. (US 2018/0145275 A1; hereinafter “Yamazaki”).
In regard to claim 1, Woo teaches a display panel (organic light emitting display) (paragraph 3), wherein the display panel comprises at least:
a substrate (a substrate 100) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
an anode layer disposed on the substrate (an anode electrode 180) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
a sacrificial layer disposed on the anode layer (an auxiliary electrode 190) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
a pixel definition (a bank 200) layer covering the sacrificial layer and the anode layer (Fig. 2 and paragraph 73), the pixel definition layer defines a light-emitting area opening (an opening area exposed by the bank 200 is shown in Fig. 2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 67), and the sacrificial layer is formed with a groove at a position corresponding to the light-emitting area opening (a groove is formed where a portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 is etched) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 120); and
a light-emitting functional layer (an organic light emitting layer 210 ) disposed in the groove and the light-emitting area opening (the organic light emitting layer 210 is shown in the groove of the auxiliary electrode in Fig. 2), wherein the groove communicates with the light-emitting area opening (the groove formed in the portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 is shown in line and communicating with the opening area exposed by the bank 200 in Fig. 2) and a bottom area of the groove is equal to a bottom area of the light-emitting area opening (the bottom portion of the opening in the bank 200 and the bottom area of the groove within the EA are shown to be equal in Fig. 2), and
wherein the display panel further comprises a passivation layer (a passivation layer 165) and a planarization layer (a planarization layer 170) disposed on the passivation layer (the planarization layer 170 is shown over the passivation layer 165 in Fig. 2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41), the anode layer is formed in the third opening and on a surface of the planarization layer (the anode electrode 180 is shown in the third contact hole CH3 and on the surface of the planarization layer 170 is shown in Fig. 2).
However, Woo doesn’t explicitly teach the planarization layer is formed with a third opening having a top and a bottom with same widths, the sacrificial layer is formed in the third opening and on a surface of the anode layer.
Okabe teaches a display panel (display device 1) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 22), wherein a planarization layer (a second flattened layer 18) is formed with a third opening (an opening containing wiring line layer 19 ) having a top and a bottom with same widths (the width of the opening in the second flattened layer 18 containing the wiring line layer 19 is shown to be constant in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B, paragraphs 28 and 41).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo with the teachings of Okabe to have the planarization layer formed with a third opening having a top and a bottom with same widths since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Yamazaki teaches a display panel (an EL Display) (Fig. 1A and paragraph 4), wherein a sacrificial layer (film 18c of the first electrode) is formed in a third opening (an opening in a flattened insulating film 16b) and on a surface of an anode layer (the of film 18c of the first electrode is shown in the opening in the flattened insulating film 16b and on the surface of a titanium nitride film 18b in Fig. 1A) (Fig. 1A and paragraphs 69-70).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo with the teachings of Yamazaki to have the sacrificial layer is formed in the third opening and on a surface of the anode layer since it is well known amongst those skilled in the art that this allows for increased adhesive strength between contacting layers due to the large contact surface area, further it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regard to claim 2, Woo teaches wherein the sacrificial layer comprises at least one of an amphoteric metal, an amphoteric oxide, or an alloy of amphoteric metals (the auxiliary electrode 190 can be made out of IZO which is a known amphoteric oxide) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 138).
In regard to claim 3, Woo does not specifically teach wherein the sacrificial layer is aluminum, zinc, aluminum oxide, zinc oxide, or aluminum-zinc alloy.
Yamazaki teaches a display panel (an EL Display) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 4), wherein a sacrificial layer (film 18c of the first electrode) is aluminum, zinc, aluminum oxide, zinc oxide, or aluminum-zinc alloy (film 18c contains aluminum as a main component) (Fig. 1A and paragraph 70).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo with Yamazaki to have the sacrificial layer be aluminum since aluminum allows the resistance to be lowered in within the structure which allows the device to function properly as taught by Yamazaki (paragraph 41).
In regard to claim 4, Woo teaches wherein the sacrificial layer comprises a first sacrificial layer (a portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 in the opening having the height of H2) and a second sacrificial layer (a non-etched portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 under the banks 200 having the height of H1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 47), the first sacrificial layer corresponds to the light-emitting area opening (the portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 having the height of H2 is in the opening portion) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 102), the second sacrificial layer is located between the pixel definition layer and the anode layer (the non-etched portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 having the height of H1 is shown between the banks and anode in Fig. 2), and a thickness of the first sacrificial layer is less than a thickness of the second sacrificial layer (H2 is shown to be less than H1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 102).
In regard to claim 5, Woo teaches a depth of the groove is equal to a thickness of the sacrificial layer (the whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 can be removed in a process of etching the auxiliary electrode 190 for removing the foreign material 200a) (Fig. 4F and paragraph 123), and the light-emitting functional layer is connected with the anode layer (in order for the light emitting layer to emit light it must be connected to the anode layer, therefore the Examiner takes official notice that when the whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 is etched away the organic light emitting layer 210) (paragraph 123).
In regard to claim 8, Woo teaches a method for manufacturing a display panel (method of manufacturing an organic light emitting display device) (paragraph 2), wherein the method comprises at least:
providing a substrate (a substrate 100) (Fig. 5A and paragraph 127);
forming a passivation layer (a passivation layer 165) (Fig. 5B and paragraph 130),
forming a planarization layer on the passivation layer (a planarization layer 170) (Fig. 5B and paragraph 131);
forming a third opening in the planarization layer (the passivation layer 165 and the planarization layer 170 can be formed to have a third contact hole CH3) (Fig. 5B and paragraph 131);
forming an anode layer (an anode electrode 180) in the third opening and on a surface of the planarization layer (the anode electrode 180 can be connected to the source electrode 150 through the third contact hole CH3 on the surface of the planarization layer 170) (Fig. 5C and paragraphs 132-133);
forming a sacrificial layer (an auxiliary electrode 190) in the third opening and on a surface of the anode layer (the auxiliary electrode 190 is shown on the surface of the anode electrode 180 in Fig. 5C) (Fig. 5C and paragraph 132);
forming an initial pixel definition layer (a bank 200 formed of a first bank 201 and a second bank 202) covering the sacrificial layer and the anode layer (Fig. 5D and paragraph 135);
exposing and developing the initial pixel definition layer to define a light-emitting area opening to form a pixel definition layer (the first bank 201 can be formed on each of one side and the other side of the auxiliary electrode 190 to expose an upper surface of the auxiliary electrode 190 through a photolithography process) (Fig. 5D and paragraph 135), and etching the sacrificial layer exposed to the light-emitting area opening to form a groove (a portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 can be etched by using each of the first and second banks 201 and 202 as a mask) (Fig. 5E and paragraph 138); and
forming a light-emitting functional layer (an organic light emitting layer 210) in the groove and the light-emitting area opening (the organic light emitting layer 210 can be sequentially formed auxiliary electrode 190 within the etched away portion) (Fig. 5F and paragraph 142);
wherein a bottom area of the groove is equal to a bottom area of the light-emitting area opening (the bottom portion of the opening in the bank 200 and the bottom area of the groove within the EA are shown to be equal in Fig. 2).
However, Woo fails to teach forming a third opening having a top and a bottom with same widths in the planarization layer; forming the sacrificial layer in the third opening and on a surface of the anode layer.
Okabe teaches a method for manufacturing a display panel (display device 1) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 22), forming a third opening (an opening in a second flattened layer 18 containing a wiring line layer 19) having a top and a bottom with same widths in the planarization layer wherein a planarization layer (the width of the opening in the second flattened layer 18 containing the wiring line layer 19 is shown to be constant in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B, paragraphs 28 and 41).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo with the teachings of Okabe to form a third opening having a top and a bottom with same widths in the planarization layer since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Yamazaki teaches a method for manufacturing a display panel (an EL Display) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 5), forming a sacrificial layer (first electrodes 36c) in a third opening (an opening in an interlayer insulating film 35) and on a surface of an anode layer (the first electrodes 36c is shown in the opening in the interlayer insulating film 35 and on the surface of first electrodes 36b in Fig. 3A) (Figs. 3A-3C and paragraphs 122-123).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo with the teachings of Yamazaki to form the sacrificial layer in the third opening and on a surface of the anode layer since it is well known amongst those skilled in the art that this allows for increased adhesive strength between contacting layers due to having a larger contact surface area, further it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regard to claim 9, Woo teaches the step of etching the sacrificial layer exposed to the light-emitting area opening to form a groove comprises:
etching part of the sacrificial layer exposed to the light-emitting area opening (a portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 can be etched by using each of the first and second banks 201 and 202 as a mask) (Fig. 5E and paragraph 138), so that a depth of the groove is less than a thickness of the sacrificial layer (the auxiliary electrode 190 is etched so that the layer has a lower height of H2 in the opening exposed by the banks 200) (Fig. 5E and paragraph 67);
wherein a part of the sacrificial layer is disposed between the light-emitting functional layer and the anode layer (the part of the auxiliary electrode that is etched is shown between the organic layer 210 and the anode electrode 180).
In regard to claim 10, Woo teaches wherein the step of etching a sacrificial layer exposed to the opening of the light-emitting area to form a groove comprises:
fully etching the sacrificial layer exposed to the light-emitting area opening, so that a depth of the groove is equal to a thickness of the sacrificial layer (the whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 can be removed in a process of etching the auxiliary electrode 190 for removing the foreign material 200a) (Fig. 4F and paragraph 123);
wherein the light-emitting functional layer is connected with the anode layer (in order for the light emitting layer to emit light it must be connected to the anode layer, therefor the Examiner takes official notice that when the whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 is etched away the organic light emitting layer 210) (paragraph 123).
In regard to claim 11, Woo teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the light-emitting area opening on the substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the groove on the substrate (the opening in the bank 200 and the groove formed in the auxiliary electrode 190 are shown with overlapping orthographic projections in Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 13, Woo teaches wherein the light-emitting functional layer comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light-emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer (the organic light emitting layer 210 can include a hole injecting layer, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and an electron injecting layer) (paragraph 77).
In regard to claim 21, Woo teaches a display panel (organic light emitting display) (paragraph 3), wherein the display panel comprises at least:
a substrate (a substrate 100) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
an anode layer disposed on the substrate (an anode electrode 180) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
a sacrificial layer disposed on the anode layer (an auxiliary electrode 190) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 41);
a pixel definition (a bank 200) layer covering the sacrificial layer and the anode layer (Fig. 4F and paragraph 73), the pixel definition layer defines a light-emitting area opening (an opening area exposed by the bank 200 is shown in Fig. 4F) (Fig. 4F and paragraph 67), and the sacrificial layer is formed with a groove at a position corresponding to the light-emitting area opening to expose the anode layer (when the auxiliary electrode 190 can be formed of a material having a refractive index which is higher than that of the anode electrode 180 a groove would be formed where a whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 is removed) (paragraph 123); and
a light-emitting functional layer (the organic light emitting layer 210) disposed in the groove and the light-emitting area opening (the organic light emitting layer 210 is formed in the groove in order to generate light emissions) (paragraph 123);
wherein a depth of the groove is equal to a thickness of the sacrificial layer (a whole portion of the auxiliary electrode 190 can be removed in a process of etching the auxiliary electrode 190 for removing the foreign material 200a) (paragraph 141), and the light- emitting functional layer is connected with the anode layer (the organic light emitting layer 210 is electrically connected to the anode electrode 180 in order to generate light emissions) (paragraph 123); and a width of the groove is less that a width of the sacrificial layer (the width of the groove is shown to be less than the width of the auxiliary electrode 190 as shown in Fig. 2);
wherein the display panel further comprises a passivation layer (passivation layer 165) and a planarization layer (planarization layer 170) disposed on the passivation layer (Fig. 2 and paragraph 55), the anode layer is formed in a third opening and on a surface of the planarization layer (the anode electrode 180 is shown in the third contact hole CH3 and on the surface of the planarization layer 170 is shown in Fig. 2).
However, Woo fails to teach the planarization layer is formed with a third opening having a top and a bottom with same widths, and the sacrificial layer is formed in the third opening and on a surface of the anode layer.
Okabe teaches a display panel (display device 1) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 22), wherein a planarization layer (a second flattened layer 18) is formed with a third opening (an opening containing wiring line layer 19 ) having a top and a bottom with same widths (the width of the opening in the second flattened layer 18 containing the wiring line layer 19 is shown to be constant in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B, paragraphs 28 and 41).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo with the teachings of Okabe to have the planarization layer formed with a third opening having a top and a bottom with same widths since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Yamazaki teaches a display panel (an EL Display) (Fig. 1A and paragraph 4), wherein a sacrificial layer (film 18c of the first electrode) is formed in a third opening (an opening in a flattened insulating film 16b) and on a surface of an anode layer (the of film 18c of the first electrode is shown in the opening in the flattened insulating film 16b and on the surface of a titanium nitride film 18b in Fig. 1A) (Fig. 1A and paragraphs 69-70).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo with the teachings of Yamazaki to have the sacrificial layer is formed in the third opening and on a surface of the anode layer since it is well known amongst those skilled in the art that this allows for increased adhesive strength between contacting layers due to the large contact surface area, further it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Okabe and Yamazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ariyoshi et al. (US 2014/0197395 A1; hereinafter “Ariyoshi”).
In regard to claim 6, Woo in view of Okabe and Yamazaki doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the anode layer comprises: a first transparent electrode ; a reflective layer disposed on the first transparent electrode; and a second transparent electrode disposed on the reflective layer.
Ariyoshi teaches a display panel (an organic luminescent display device 1) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 33), wherein an anode layer (the anode 34) comprises:
a first transparent electrode (an adhesion layer 31) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 43);
a reflective layer (a reflection layer 32) disposed on the first transparent electrode (Fig. 3 and paragraph 44); and
a second transparent electrode (a contact layer 33 is made of a transparent material) disposed on the reflective layer (Fig. 3 and paragraph 49).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Ariyoshi with the teachings of Woo in view of Okabe and Yamazaki to have the anode layer comprises a first transparent electrode; a reflective layer disposed on the first transparent electrode; and a second transparent electrode disposed on the reflective layer since this layout can allow the device to have higher definition, higher brightness and the prolongation of a product lifetime as taught by Ariyoshi (paragraph 55).
In regard to claim 12, Woo in view of Okabe, Yamazaki and Ariyoshi teach wherein materials of the first transparent electrode and the second transparent electrode are indium tin oxide, or indium zinc oxide, and a material of the reflective layer is silver, aluminum, or an aluminum alloy (the adhesion layer 31 and contact layer 33 can be formed of indium tin oxide, while the reflection layer can be formed of silver) (Ariyoshi paragraphs 43-44 and 49).
Claims 7, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Okabe and Yamazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Feng et al. (US 2020/0119120 A1; hereinafter “Feng”).
In regard to claim 7, Woo in view of Okabe and Yamazaki doesn’t explicitly teach the display panel comprises a thin film transistor area and a capacitance area, and the display panel further comprises: a first metal layer disposed on the substrate, the first metal layer comprises a first electrode disposed in the capacitance area; a semiconductor layer disposed on the first metal layer, the semiconductor layer comprises a second electrode disposed in the capacitance area; and a second metal layer disposed on the semiconductor layer, the second metal layer comprises a third electrode disposed in the capacitance area; wherein the second electrode is disposed above the first electrode, and the third electrode is disposed above the second electrode.
Feng teaches a display panel (a display device) comprises a thin film transistor area (area containing TFT 1) and a capacitance area (the area containing orthographic projections of the first electrode 11, the second electrode 12 and the third electrode 19) (Fig. 2A and paragraphs 3, 55, 64), and the display panel further comprises:
a first metal layer (the layer containing a third electrode 19) disposed on a substrate (a base substrate 10) (Fig. 2A and paragraph 64), the first metal layer comprises a first electrode (a third electrode 19) disposed in the capacitance area (the third electrode 19 is disposed between the first electrode 11 and the base substrate 10);
a semiconductor layer (the layers containing active patterns A1-A3) disposed on the first metal layer (Fig. 2A and paragraphs 47), the semiconductor layer comprises a second electrode (a first electrode 11) disposed in the capacitance area (the first electrode 11 is shown over the third electrode in Fig. 2A); and
a second metal layer (the layer containing a second electrode 12) disposed on the semiconductor layer (Fig. 2A and paragraph 64), the second metal layer comprises a third electrode (a second electrode 12) disposed in the capacitance area (the second electrode 2 is shown disposed over the first electrode 11 in Fig. 2A);
wherein the second electrode is disposed above the first electrode, and the third electrode is disposed above the second electrode (the second electrode 12 is shown over the first electrode 11 which is shown over the third electrode 19 in Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Okabe and Yamazaki with the teachings of Feng to have the display panel comprises a thin film transistor area and a capacitance area, and the display panel further comprises: a first metal layer disposed on the substrate, the first metal layer comprises a first electrode disposed in the capacitance area; a semiconductor layer disposed on the first metal layer, the semiconductor layer comprises a second electrode disposed in the capacitance area; and a second metal layer disposed on the semiconductor layer, the second metal layer comprises a third electrode disposed in the capacitance area; wherein the second electrode is disposed above the first electrode, and the third electrode is disposed above the second electrode since this layout allows for the manufacture of a device that has more pixels per inch which results in overall higher resolution as taught by Feng (paragraph 65).
In regard to claim 14, Woo in view of Okabe, Yamazaki and Feng teach wherein the first metal layer further comprises a light shielding layer (the layer containing the light-shielding pattern 20 is in the same layer as the third electrode 19) disposed in the thin film transistor area (Feng Fig. 2A and paragraphs 70-71), the semiconductor layer further comprises an active layer (active patterns A1-A3) disposed in the thin film transistor area (the active patterns A1-A3 are in the first thin film transistor TFT1) (Fig. 2A and paragraph 70), and the second metal layer further comprises a source and a drain (a first source S1 and a first drain D1 are shown in the same layer containing a second electrode 12) disposed in the thin film transistor area (Feng, Fig. 2A and paragraph 73).
In regard to claim 15 Woo in view of Okabe, Yamazaki and Feng teach wherein the active layer comprises a channel area (the channel area annotated as CH is shown in Feng annotated Fig. 2A below), a source contact area (the portion of the channel area CH under the first source S1) and a drain contact area (the portion of the channel area CH under the first drain D1) disposed on both sides of the channel area (the portions of the CH area under the first source S1 and the first drain D1 are shown on both sides of the channel area CH in annotated Fig. 2A below) (Feng annotated Fig. 2A and paragraph 73).
In regard to claim 16, Woo in view of Okabe, Yamazaki and Feng teach wherein an orthographic projection of the first electrode on the substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the second electrode on the substrate and overlaps with an orthographic projection of the third electrode on the substrate (the orthographic projection of the second electrode 12 is shown over the orthographic projection of the first electrode 11 which is shown over the orthographic projection of the third electrode 19 in Feng, Fig. 2A).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Okabe, Yamazaki and Feng as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0122323 A1; hereinafter “Park”).
In regard to claim 17, Woo teach wherein the passivation layer is formed with a first opening exposing a source (a contact hole CH3 in the passivation layer 165 exposes the source electrode 150) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 55).
However, Woo in view of Okabe, Yamazaki and Feng don’t explicitly teach the passivation layer is formed with the first opening exposing the source and a second opening exposing a binding structure in a binding area.
Park teaches a display panel (a display panel as shown in Fig. 7) (Fig. 7 and paragraph 32), wherein a passivation layer (a first inorganic passivation layer PAS1) is formed with the first opening exposing a source (an opening is shown exposing a source SE in Fig. 7) and a second opening exposing a binding structure (a data pad DPD) in a binding area (an opening in the first inorganic passivation layer PAS1 exposes the data pad DPD in an area outside the pixel array as shown in Fig. 7) (Fig. 7 and paragraphs 91-92).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Woo in view of Okabe, Yamazaki and Feng with the teachings of Park to have the passivation layer formed with a first opening exposing the source and a second opening exposing a binding structure in a binding area since this layout is well known to allow for more connections within the display panel to provide data signals to data lines of a pixel array as taught by Park (paragraph 3).
In regard to claim 18, Woo teaches wherein the display panel further comprises a first connection layer located in a first opening (a source electrode 150 in a second contact CH2) and a second connection layer located in a second opening (a drain electrode 160 in a first contact hole CH1) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 47).
In regard to claim 19, Woo teaches wherein a third opening of the planarization layer (a third contact hole CH3 of planarization layer 170) exposes the first connection layer (the third contact hole CH3 is shown exposing the source electrode 150 in Fig. 2) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 55).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (US 2019/0273103 A1).
/SEYON ALI-SIMAH PUNCHBEDDELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893