DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of operating a TRS, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/17/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2023 and 09/11/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the power source providing both (i) the exhaust gas and (ii) the source of at least one of heat and fluid; wherein the exhaust gas and the source of at least one of heat and fluid are coupled together as claimed in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Power source in at least claim 1; electric heating device in at least claim 9; and coalescing feature in at least claim 11.
Power source is interpreted to cover at least one fuel cell as per para [0039] of applicant specification; and equivalent thereof.
Electric heating device is interpreted to cover an electric resistance heater as per para [0050] of applicant specification; and equivalent thereof.
Coalescing feature is interpreted to cover one or more vanes as per para [0051] of applicant specification; and equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 calls for the limitation “the exhaust gas at the outlet of the power source being supersaturated” in line 5; which limitation recites both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus. The limitation requires that gas exhausted be supersaturated; which recitation is a method step of using the apparatus. It is unclear whether infringement occurs when one creates the apparatus or when one actually uses the apparatus (see MPEP 2173.05(p), In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). Appropriate correction is required.
A similar issue is found in lines 9-10 of claim 1 with the recitation “the exhaust gas at a location downstream from the source is not supersaturated”. Appropriate correction is required.
A similar issue is also found in lines 3-4 of claim 10 with the recitation “wherein a temperature of the air is less than a temperature of the exhaust gas”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 calls for the limitation “wherein the source of at least one of heat and fluid is waste heat from the power source”; which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear as to how the power source provides both (i) the exhaust gas and (ii) the source of at least one of heat and fluid coupled together. The specification does not describe how such claimed limitation is achieved. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably appraise the scope of the claimed invention. Appropriate advisory is required.
Claim(s) 2-12 is/are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steele (US 20150007552 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Steele discloses a transport refrigeration system #10 comprising:
a refrigeration unit #20 including a plurality of components fluidly coupled to form a closed loop refrigeration circuit (see at least Fig. 2);
a power source #32 operable to provide electrical power to the refrigeration unit ([0023]), wherein an exhaust gas generated by the power source is provided at an outlet of the power source (via #46), the exhaust gas at the outlet of the power source being supersaturated (this limitation constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114/Il) and the outlet of the power source being fluidly coupled to a transport refrigeration system outlet (outlet of #48; Fig. 4); and
a source of at least one of heat and fluid (source of heat from heater #62), the source being coupled with the exhaust gas at a location upstream from the outlet of the transport refrigeration system (Fig. 4), wherein the exhaust gas at a location downstream from the source is not supersaturated (See italicized discussion above with respect to intended use limitations; and MPEP 2114/Il).
Regarding claims 5-8:
Where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.
Regarding claim 9:
Steele further discloses wherein the source of at least one of heat and fluid includes an electric heating device ([0028]).
Regarding claim 10:
Steele further discloses wherein an outlet conduit #48 extends from the outlet of the power source, and the source of at least one of heat and fluid includes a flow of air about an exterior of the outlet conduit (inherently present via at least conduction and radiation), wherein a temperature of the air is less than a temperature of the exhaust gas (See italicized discussion above with respect to intended use limitations; and MPEP 2114/Il).
Regarding claim 11:
Steele further discloses at least one coalescing feature arranged in fluid communication with the outlet of the power source #50 (Fig. 4, [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele (US 20150007552 A1) in view of Uehara (US 20080152976 A1).
Regarding claim 2:
Steele discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the source of at least one of heat and fluid is waste heat from the refrigeration unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Uehara teaches using as waste heat (from heat exchanger #44; [0052] & [0054]) from a refrigeration unit (Fig. 1) as source of heat and fluid coupled to an exhaust gas #14 from a power source #10.
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Steele with the source of at least one of heat and fluid being waste heat from the refrigeration unit; in a similar manner as taught by Uehara.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided selective desired heat exchange between the exhaust gas and the refrigerant so as to improve the efficiency of operations of the system as suggested by Uehara ([0078]).
Regarding claim 3:
Steele as modified discloses all the limitations.
Steele further discloses wherein the plurality of components fluidly coupled to form the closed loop refrigeration circuit includes a condenser #24.
Steele as modified discloses wherein the waste heat is ambient air output from the condenser (see rejection of claim 2: the condenser of Steele is modified to provide heat exchange to the exhaust gas. By virtue of convection and radiation; ambient air surrounding the condenser also constitute waste heat in thermal exchange with the exhaust gas.
Regarding claim 12:
Steele as modified discloses all the limitations, but does not specifically disclose wherein the power source includes at least one fuel cell.
Nonetheless, the usage of a fuel engine as power source is well known in the art. See Uehara fuel cell stack #10, Fig. 1, [0024].
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Steele with the power source including at least one fuel cell; in a similar manner as taught by Uehara.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided zero tailpipe emissions, quieter operation, higher energy efficiency, and fewer moving parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
There appears to be no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art of record to provide an outlet conduit extending from the outlet of the power source, wherein a flow of the ambient air is arranged in fluid communication with the outlet conduit such that the ambient air is mixed with the exhaust gas at a mixing point, the mixing point being located upstream from the transport refrigeration system outlet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chopko (US 10823476 B2), Springer (US 20170211456 A1), and Wessells (US 6755041 B2).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763