Drawings
The drawings submitted on 02/28/2023 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-17, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 20110101865 A1) in view of Afsharian et al. (US 20220230797 A1), hereinafter Cheng and Afsharian respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Cheng teaches a cellular flyback transformer (600, Fig. 1-2) comprising: a first magnetic core segment (first E-core 620) having a first primary winding (610, on first E-core) and a first secondary winding (640, on first E-core) wrapped around at least a portion of the first magnetic core segment; and a second magnetic core segment (second E-core 620) having a second primary winding (610, on second E-core) and a second secondary winding (640, on second E-core) wrapped around at least a portion of the second magnetic core segment; and a common magnetic core segment (I-core 630); wherein the first, second, and magnetic core segments are joined such that: there is a first air gap (see Fig. 2) between at least a portion of the first magnetic core segment and the common magnetic core segment and a second air gap (see Fig. 2) between at least a portion of the second magnetic core segment and the common magnetic core segment (Par [0013-0015]; Fig. 1-2)
Cheng does not explicitly teach that magnetic flux in the common magnetic core segment induced by at least one of the first primary or first secondary winding is equal and opposite a corresponding magnetic flux in the common magnetic core segment induced by at least one of the second primary or second secondary winding.
Afsharian teaches an embodiment wherein the magnetic flux in the common magnetic core segment induced by at least one of the first primary or first secondary winding is equal and opposite a corresponding magnetic flux in the common magnetic core segment induced by at least one of the second primary or second secondary winding (Par [0081]; Fig. 12-13, 23). Paragraph [0081] of Afsharian teaches the flux cancellation at the plate core 2325.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng with the teachings of Afsharian by including windings with equal and opposite magnetic fluxes that cancel each other in order to reduce core losses (Par [0012]; Afsharian).
Regarding Claim 2, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular flyback transformer (600, Fig. 1-2; Cheng) of claim 1 wherein the first magnetic core segment (first E-core 620) and second magnetic core segment (second E-core 620) are E-cores, and the common magnetic core segment is an I-core (I-core 630) (Par [0013-0014]; Cheng).
Regarding Claim 3, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular flyback transformer (600, Fig. 1-2; Cheng) of claim 2 wherein the first air gap (see Fig. 2; Cheng) is between a center post (621 center of first magnetic core) of the first magnetic core segment and the common magnetic core segment (630), and the second air gap (see Fig. 2; Cheng) is between a center post (621 center of second magnetic core) of the second magnetic core segment and the common magnetic core segment (Par [0015]; Fig.2; Cheng).
Regarding Claim 4, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular flyback transformer (600, Fig. 1-2; Cheng) of claim 3 wherein the first primary (610, on first E-core) and a first secondary winding (640, on first E-core) are disposed around the center post of the first magnetic core segment, and the second primary (610, on second E-core) and second secondary windings (640, on second E-core) are disposed around the center post of the second magnetic core segment (Par [0013-0016]; Fig.2; Cheng).
Regarding Claim 5, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular flyback transformer (600, Fig. 1-2; Cheng) of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the cellular flyback transformer is a planar transformer, and the first primary and first secondary windings and second primary and second secondary windings are formed on respective layers of a printed circuit board.
Afsharian teaches an embodiment wherein the cellular flyback transformer is a planar transformer, and the first primary and first secondary windings and second primary and second secondary windings are formed on respective layers of a printed circuit board (Par [0064, 0066]; Fig. 11; Afsharian).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng with the teachings of Afsharian by using a planar embodiment with windings on respective layers in order to interleave the primary and secondary windings which improves coupling and reduces leakage inductance (Par [0018]; Afsharian).
Regarding Claim 7, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular flyback transformer (600, Fig. 1-2; Cheng) of claim 1 wherein the common magnetic core segment is integral with the second magnetic core segment (Par [0013-0015]; Fig. 1-2; Cheng; The cores are coupled together making them integral to each other and the transformer as a whole).
Regarding Claim 8, Cheng teaches the cellular flyback transformer of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the first air gap is between a center post of the first magnetic core segment and the common magnetic core segment, and the second air gap is between a center post of the second magnetic core segment and an additional magnetic core segment
Afsharian teaches an embodiment wherein the first air gap is between a center post of the first magnetic core segment and the common magnetic core segment, and the second air gap is between a center post of the second magnetic core segment and an additional magnetic core segment (2325, middle plate core) (Par [0080-0081]; Fig. 23; Afsharian; FIG. 23 has three magnetic cores, which are spaced apart with multiple air gaps between those cores).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng with the teachings of Afsharian by including airgaps between additional magnetic cores in order to provide air flow and dissipate heat (Par [0019]; Afsharian).
Regarding Claims 10-13, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular flyback transformer of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the first primary winding and the second primary winding are connected in parallel or series, and the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding are connected in parallel or series
Afsharian teaches an embodiment wherein the first primary winding and the second primary winding are connected in parallel or series, and the first secondary winding and the second secondary winding are connected in parallel or series (Par [0024]; Afsharian; Afsharian teaches that the first and second windings of the primary and secondary windings can be connected in series or parallel and in the specified variations set by claims 10 through 13).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng with the teachings of Afsharian by connecting the windings in parallel or series depending on input and output voltage and current ratings of the components and optimal device structure (Par [0069]; Afsharian).
Regarding Claim 14, Cheng teaches a cellular magnetic energy storage component (600, Fig. 1-2) comprising: a plurality of magnetic core segments (first and second E-core 620) each having at least one winding (610) disposed about at least a portion thereof; and at least one common magnetic core segment (630); wherein the plurality of magnetic core segments and the at least one common magnetic core segment are joined such that: there is an air gap between a portion of each of the plurality of magnetic core segments and the common magnetic core segment (see Fig. 2);
Cheng does not explicitly teach an embodiment where the magnetic flux in the at least one common magnetic core segment induced by one or more of the at least one windings substantially cancels a corresponding magnetic flux in the common magnetic core segment induced by one or more other at least one windings.
Afsharian teaches an embodiment where the magnetic flux in the at least one common magnetic core segment induced by one or more of the at least one windings substantially cancels a corresponding magnetic flux in the common magnetic core segment induced by one or more other at least one windings (Par [0081]; Fig. 12-13, 23). Paragraph [0081] of Afsharian teaches the flux cancellation at the plate core 2325.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng with the teachings of Afsharian by including windings with equal and opposite magnetic fluxes that cancel each other in order to reduce core losses (Par [0012]; Afsharian).
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular magnetic energy storage component of claim 14, wherein one or more of the at least one windings are connected in parallel or series (Par [0024]; Afsharian; Afsharian teaches that the first and second windings of the primary and secondary windings can be connected in series or parallel.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng with the teachings of Afsharian by connecting the windings in parallel or series depending on input and output voltage and current ratings of the components and optimal device structure (Par [0069]; Afsharian).
Regarding Claim 17, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular magnetic energy storage component of claim 14, but does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein one or more of the at least one windings is formed on a printed circuit board.
Afsharian teaches an embodiment wherein one or more of the at least one windings is formed on a printed circuit board (Par [0064, 0066]; Fig. 11; Afsharian).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng with the teachings of Afsharian by using a planar embodiment with windings on respective layers in order to interleave the primary and secondary windings which improves coupling and reduces leakage inductance (Par [0018]; Afsharian).
Regarding Claim 19, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular magnetic energy storage component of claim 14 wherein the at least one common magnetic core segment is integral with at least one of the plurality of magnetic core segments (Par [0013-0015]; Fig. 1-2; Cheng; The cores are coupled together making them integral to each other and the transformer as a whole.)
Regarding Claim 22, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular magnetic energy storage component of claim 14 wherein the cellular magnetic energy storage component is a flyback transformer (10) (Par [0012, 0016]; Fig. 2; Cheng; The assembly includes a core, primary and secondary windings, and a feedback circuit which are essential components of a flyback transformer.)
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Afsharian, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 20220158562 A1), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding Claim 6, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular flyback transformer (600, Fig. 1-2; Cheng) of claim 4, but does explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the cellular flyback transformer is a wire-wound transformer, and the first primary and first secondary windings and second primary and second secondary windings are wound about respective bobbins.
Yang teaches an embodiment wherein the cellular flyback transformer is a wire-wound transformer, and the first primary and first secondary windings and second primary and second secondary windings are wound about respective bobbins (31 and 41) (Par [0061-0062]; Yang).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng in view of Afsharian with the teachings of Yang by putting primary and secondary windings on their own respective bobbins to keep windings separate and have the ability to modify the direction of the magnetic fields (Par [0069]; Yang).
Regarding Claim 18, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular magnetic energy storage component of claim 14 wherein one or more of the at least one windings is wound about a bobbin.
Yang teaches an embodiment wherein one or more of the at least one windings is wound about a bobbin (31) (Par [0061-0062]; Yang).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng in view of Afsharian with the teachings of Yang by putting primary and secondary windings on their own respective bobbins to keep windings separate and have the ability to modify the direction of the magnetic fields (Par [0069]; Yang).
Claims 9 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Afsharian, and further in view of Folker et al. (US 9837194 B1), hereinafter Folker.
Regarding Claim 9, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular flyback transformer of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the common magnetic core segment has a reduced cross-sectional area relative to the first and second magnetic core segments
Folker teaches a transformer wherein the common magnetic core segment has a reduced cross-sectional area relative to the first and second magnetic core segments (Par [37, 41, 46]; Fig 15-16; Folker).
The height H3 of the I-core 560 (Fig. 16) is less than the height H2 of the outer legs of E-core 552 (Fig.15), and the E-cores and I-core are the same in width W1 (Par [37, 41, 46]; Fig 15-16; Folker). This shows that the I core has a smaller cross-sectional area than the E-cores. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng in view of Afsharian with the teachings of Folker by making the I-core have a smaller cross-sectional area than the E-cores in order to minimize materials used and save space for other components.
Regarding Claim 20, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular magnetic energy storage component of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose an embodiment wherein the at least one common magnetic core segment has a reduced cross-sectional area relative to the plurality of magnetic core segments.
Folker teaches a transformer wherein the at least one common magnetic core segment has a reduced cross-sectional area relative to the plurality of magnetic core segments (Par [37, 41, 46]; Fig 15-16; Folker).
The height H3 of the I-core 560 (Fig. 16) is less than the height H2 of the outer legs of E-core 552 (Fig.15), and the E-cores and I-core are the same in width W1 (Par [37, 41, 46]; Fig 15-16; Folker). This shows that the I core has a smaller cross-sectional area than the E-cores. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transformer of Cheng in view of Afsharian with the teachings of Folker by making the I-core have a smaller cross-sectional area than the E-cores in order to minimize materials used and save space for other components.
Regarding Claim 21, Cheng in view of Afsharian teaches the cellular magnetic energy storage component of claim 14, but does not explicitly teach an embodiment wherein the cellular magnetic energy storage component is an inductor.
Folker teaches an embodiment wherein the cellular magnetic energy storage component is an inductor (510), (Par [26-27; Fig. 8-11; Folker).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cheng in view of Afsharian with the teachings of Folker by using only one winding instead of two in order to minimize the amount of materials needed for manufacturing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be seen in Notice of References for PTO-892. The references not relied upon are considered pertinent since they provide teachings on magnetic flux cancellation and flyback converters.
/AISLIN M WEST/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837