DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 09 December 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there is only one drawing and, therefore, it should not be labeled “FIG. 1” See 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 13 recite the method “further comprising heating the sample to a temperature from about 90°C to about 200°C” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether Applicant intended to introduce an additional, distinct heating step from the heating step of claims 1 and 10, respectively (by recitation of “further comprising”) or whether Applicant instead intended to narrow the range of the heating step already required. The office believes the latter was intended and has interpreted the claims accordingly.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the additional antioxidant" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may have intended for claim 18 to depend from claim 17 instead of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-10, 13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma et al (“Effect of blending waste tyre derived fuel on oxidation stability of biodiesel and performance and emission studies of a diesel engine”).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Sharma discloses a method of determining the oxidative stability of a pyrolysis oil (tire pyrolysis oil or TPO), comprising (see section 3.2; Fig. 1; Table 6):
heating a sample of pyrolysis oil (JMETPO20, JMETPO40, JMETPO60) to a temperature from about 50 to 220°C (110°C);
passing a stream of air through the sample of pyrolysis oil;
forming a volatile reaction product;
transporting the volatile reaction product into a measurement solution comprising deionized water; and
measuring an electrical conductivity of the measurement solution.
Regarding claim 6, Sharma discloses wherein the volatile reaction product comprises an organic acid (see p. 367, paragraph beginning “The IP is measured”).
Regarding claim 7, the samples in Sharma are composed of biodiesel and pyrolysis oil and therefore considered to exclude vegetable oil, gasoline, and lubricating oil (see Table 6).
Regarding claim 8, Sharma discloses wherein the pyrolysis oil further comprises an antioxidant (see section 4.1; p. 367, paragraph beginning “The IP is measured”).
Regarding claim 9, Sharma discloses wherein the electrical conductivity of the measurement solution is measured until an increase in electrical conductivity is detected (induction period) (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, Sharma discloses a method of determining the ability of an antioxidant to stabilize a pyrolysis oil (tire pyrolysis oil or TPO), comprising (see Abstract; sections 3.2 & 4.2; Figs. 1, 4 & 5; Table 6):
heating a first sample of pyrolysis oil (JMETPO20) to a temperature from about 50 to 220°C (110°C);
passing a stream of air through the sample of pyrolysis oil;
forming a first volatile reaction product;
transporting the first volatile reaction product into a first measurement solution comprising deionized water;
measuring an electrical conductivity of the first measurement solution for a first period of time until an increase in conductivity is detected (induction period);
adding an antioxidant to a second sample of the pyrolysis oil (JMETPO20 + PY, JMETPO20 + PG);
heating the second sample to the first temperature;
passing a second stream of air through the second sample;
forming a second volatile reaction product;
transporting the second volatile reaction product into a second measurement solution comprising deionized water;
measuring an electrical conductivity of the second measurement solution for a second period of time until an increase in conductivity is detected; and
comparing the first period of time to the second period of time (see Figs. 4 & 5).
Regarding claim 15, Sharma discloses wherein the volatile reaction product(s) comprises an organic acid (see p. 367, paragraph beginning “The IP is measured”).
Regarding claim 16, the samples in Sharma are composed of biodiesel and pyrolysis oil and therefore considered to exclude vegetable oil, gasoline, and lubricating oil (see Table 6).
Regarding claim 17, Sharma discloses wherein the pyrolysis oil further comprises an additional antioxidant (see 4.1, “phenolic compounds in TPO which act as antioxidant”).
Regarding claim 18, Sharma discloses wherein the antioxidant and/or additional antioxidant are independently selected from a phenol-based antioxidant (see 3.1; 4.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma, as applied the claims above.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 11 and 12, Sharma does not explicitly disclose the concentration of various compounds contained in the pyrolysis oil, as claimed. However, the characteristics of the pyrolysis oil depend on the starting material used as well as the pyrolysis conversion conditions. Sharma notes that pyrolysis oils contain compounds which act as natural antioxidants (see Abstract). A person of ordinary skill in the art, considering this, would select a suitable starting material for the process. Absent a showing of new or unexpected results, the concentration of various components within the pyrolysis oil is not considered to patentably distinguish the instant claims over the cited prior art.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Sharma does not explicitly disclose the flowrate at which air is passed through the sample. However, Sharma notes that the purpose of the airflow is to induce oxidation of the sample to release acid gases, which are subjected to conductivity measurement (see section 3.1). Determining a suitable flowrate of air which achieves this objective amounts to nothing more than routine experimentation for a person of ordinary skill in the art. Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results, the claimed air flowrate is not considered to patentably distinguish the instant claims over the cited prior art.
Conclusion
/Renee Robinson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772