DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
• This action is in reply to the Application Number 18/175,938 filed on 02/28/2023.
• Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
• This action is made NON-FINAL.
• The examiner would like to note that this application is now being handled by examiner Kai Wang.
terms
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Maps (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FZH652qYkA&t=40s, Sep 7, 2017) in view of Daly (US20210178983A1), further in view of Agarwal (US20210183179A1).
Regarding Claims 1, and 14:
Google Maps teaches:
A modular mapping system comprising: a first support member and a second support member, the first and second support members configured to removably couple to a roof of a vehicle; a first cross member and a second cross member, the first and second cross members rigidly coupled to the first and second support members; (Google Maps discloses a street view car has a rig mounted on top a vehicle and this rig has a first support member and a second support member, the first and second support members configured to removably couple to a roof of a vehicle and cross bars that couple to the support members.)
Time=0:11
a sensor mount rigidly coupled to the first and second cross members, the sensor mount configured to support a plurality of sensors, (Google Maps depicts a sensor mount rigidly coupled to the first and second cross members, the sensor mount configured to support a plurality of sensors.)
Time=1:18
wherein the camera assembly is mounted on a top surface of the sensor mount at a proximal portion of the sensor mount; (Google Maps depicts the camera assembly is mounted on a top surface of the sensor mount at a proximal portion of the sensor mount when using the top surface of the sensor mount as a reference point.)
Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Daly teaches:
A sensor mount for generation of a three-dimensional map for use by autonomous vehicles, (Daly, Abstract, “A modular rack assembly for autonomous vehicles, …The rail has at least one sensor (radar, LiDAR, camera) mounted thereon.”, and para [31], “LiDAR sensors 210-2 may be used for providing depth information of the front view and provide a depth map.”)
the plurality of sensors comprising a camera assembly, a first LIDAR, a second LIDAR, and an inertial measurement unit (IMU); (Daly, para [32], “the rack assembly 100 includes at least two lidar sensors, at least two radar sensors, at least two cameras”, and para [33], “the rack assembly 100 may further include one or more of: a GPS system, a GPS antenna, and one or more IMUS (inertial measurement units).”)
wherein the first LIDAR is mounted atop of the camera assembly at the proximal portion of the sensor mount; wherein the second LIDAR is mounted to the sensor mount at a distal portion of the sensor mount; (Daly, para [32], “the rack assembly 100 includes at least two lidar sensors”, Fig. 4A depicts the first LIDAR is mounted atop of the camera assembly at the proximal portion of the sensor mount; wherein the second LIDAR is mounted to the sensor mount at a distal portion of the sensor mount when using the left end of rack as the reference point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Daly in order to include a sensor mount for generation of a three-dimensional map for use by autonomous vehicles, the plurality of sensors comprising a camera assembly, a first LIDAR, a second LIDAR, and an inertial measurement unit (IMU); wherein the first LIDAR is mounted atop of the camera assembly at the proximal portion of the sensor mount; wherein the second LIDAR is mounted to the sensor mount at a distal portion of the sensor mount. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Daly’s modular rack assembly for autonomous vehicles as “the moving vehicle needs to “see” clearly and accurately what obstacles are in the field of view” (Daly, Description)
Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Agarwal teaches:
and wherein the IMU is mounted on a bottom surface of the sensor mount opposite the top surface such that the IMU is disposed outside of a field of view of the camera assembly. (Agarwal, para [46],” FIG. 3A shows that an IMU 310 is attached to a sensor 110 so that the sensor 110 is sitting on top of the IMU 310.”) Examiner note:Fig.3A depicts the IMU is mounted on a bottom surface and is disposed outside of a field of view of the camera assembly. Furthermore, the specific mounting location of the IMU on the sensor mount (e.g., on the bottom surface) is considered a mere design choice. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to position the IMU at any suitable location on the mount to achieve the predictable results of keeping it outside of the camera’s field of view and preventing visual obstruction of camera.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Agarwal in order to include wherein the IMU is mounted on a bottom surface of the sensor mount opposite the top surface such that the IMU is disposed outside of a field of view of the camera assembly.. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Agarwal’s modular rack assembly for autonomous vehicles as “ensure that sensors deployed on autonomous driving vehicles continuously provide accurate and uninterrupted performance.” (Agarwal, Description)
Regarding Claims 4 and 15:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Daly teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 1, further comprising a second camera mounted to the sensor mount at the distal portion of the sensor mount. (Daly, para [32], “the rack assembly 100 includes at least two lidar sensors… at least two cameras”, Fig. 4A depicts a second camera (left stereo camera 230-2) mounted to the sensor mount at the distal portion of the sensor mount when using the left end of rack as the reference point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Daly in order to include a second camera mounted to the sensor mount at the distal portion of the sensor mount. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Daly’s modular rack assembly for autonomous vehicles as “the moving vehicle needs to “see” clearly and accurately what obstacles are in the field of view” (Daly, Description)
Regarding Claim 10:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Google Maps teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 1, wherein first and second support members include a plurality of holes for receiving mounts for adjustably coupling to the roof of the vehicle. (Google Maps discloses a street view car has a rig mounted on top a vehicle and this rig has a first support member and a second support member, wherein first and second support members include a plurality of holes for receiving mounts for adjustably coupling to the roof of the vehicle)
Regarding Claim 11:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Google Maps teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 1, wherein sensor mount comprises an integrally formed tube having a closed cross section. (Google Maps discloses a street view car has a rig mounted on top a vehicle and this rig has a first support member and a second support member, wherein sensor mount comprises an integrally formed tube having a closed cross section)
Regarding Claim 12:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Google Maps teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 1, wherein the first and second support members extend along a longitudinal direction with respect to the vehicle.( Google Maps discloses a street view car has a rig mounted on top a vehicle and this rig has a first support member and a second support member, wherein the first and second support members extend along a longitudinal direction with respect to the vehicle)
Regarding Claim 13:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 12. Google Maps teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 12, wherein the first and second cross members extend along a lateral direction with respect to the vehicle. ( Google Maps discloses a street view car has a rig mounted on top a vehicle and this rig has first and second cross members extend along a lateral direction with respect to the vehicle)
Claim(s) 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Maps (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FZH652qYkA&t=40s, Sep 7, 2017) in view of Daly (US20210178983A1), further in view of Agarwal (US20210183179A1) and Tezuka (US20110068986A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Tezuka teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 1, further comprising a first GPS antenna disposed on a proximal portion of the second support member and a second GPS antenna disposed on a distal portion of the first support member. (Tezuka, FIG. 1, it is described an example wherein three GPS antennas (10) are mounted on the top board 14 further comprising a first GPS antenna disposed on a proximal portion of the second support member and a second GPS antenna disposed on a distal portion of the first support member when using the gyroscope 13 as a reference point)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Tezuka in order to include a first GPS antenna disposed on a proximal portion of the second support member and a second GPS antenna disposed on a distal portion of the first support member. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Tezuka’s GPS attentat assembly for vehicles in order to stable receive GPS satellite radio waives.
Regarding Claim 3:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, Tezuka as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Tezuka teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 2, further comprising a third GPS antenna disposed on the second cross member. (Tezuka, FIG. 1, it is described an example wherein three GPS antennas (10) are mounted on the top board further comprising a third GPS antenna disposed on the second cross member)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Tezuka in order to include a third GPS antenna disposed on the second cross member. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Tezuka’s GPS attentat assembly for vehicles in order to stable receive GPS satellite radio waives.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Maps (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FZH652qYkA&t=40s, Sep 7, 2017) in view of Daly (US20210178983A1), further in view of Agarwal (US20210183179A1) and Walton (https://www.pcgamer.com/i-rode-in-a-self-driving-car-thats-basically-powered-by-a-high-end-gaming-pc/, Jan 13, 2020).
Regarding Claim 5:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Walton teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim I, further comprising a server rack assembly, the server rack assembly including a plurality of adjustable jacks configured to secure the server rack assembly within a trunk of the vehicle, the server rack assembly in communication with the plurality of sensors.( Walton discloses a dual-socket Intel server rack assembly using a plurality of adjustable jacks configured to secure in the trunk of the autonomous car of Yandex. There are six 720p30 cameras providing a 360 degree view of the vehicle's surroundings, six radar units, and four lidar sensors and a GNSS sensor for GPS services in communication with the server.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Walton in order to include a server rack assembly, the server rack assembly including a plurality of adjustable jacks configured to secure the server rack assembly within a trunk of the vehicle, the server rack assembly in communication with the plurality of sensors. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Walton’s server rack assembly for vehicles in order to efficiently process the collected data from sensors.
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Maps (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FZH652qYkA&t=40s, Sep 7, 2017) in view of Daly (US20210178983A1), further in view of Agarwal (US20210183179A1) Walton (https://www.pcgamer.com/i-rode-in-a-self-driving-car-thats-basically-powered-by-a-high-end-gaming-pc/, Jan 13, 2020), and Cui (US 20210239471 A1).
Regarding Claim 6:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, Walton as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 5. Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Cui teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 5, further comprising an encoder assembly, the encoder assembly configured to couple to a wheel of the vehicle and in communication with the server rack assembly.( Cui, para [34], “ one or more servers 130 may store data indicating information from the wheel encoders ”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Cui in order to include encoder assembly, the encoder assembly configured to couple to a wheel of the vehicle and in communication with the server rack assembly. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Cui’s wheel encoders assembly and server for vehicles in order to efficiently process the collected data from sensors.
Regarding Claim 7:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, Walton, Cui as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 6. Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Walton teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 6, further comprising a user interface, the user interface configured to couple to a dash of the vehicle and in communication with the server rack.(Walton discloses that Yandex screens show more of what the vehicle 'sees' as sensible graphics. There's a large white line showing the car's intended path of travel. Cars, trucks, vans, buses, semis, etc. all show as different length gray rectangles, crosswalks and traffic lights are visible, and pedestrians show up as well)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Walton in order to include a user interface, the user interface configured to couple to a dash of the vehicle and in communication with the server rack. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Walton’s server rack assembly for vehicles in order to efficiently present the collected data from sensors.
Claim(s) 8-9, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Maps (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FZH652qYkA&t=40s, Sep 7, 2017) in view of Daly (US20210178983A1), further in view of Agarwal (US20210183179A1) and Zhang (https://petapixel.com/2012/10/15/a-glimpse-of-googles-fleet-of-camera-equipped-street-view-cars/#:~:text=Each%20car%20uses%2015%20cameras,in%20the%20Street%20View%20program., Oct 15, 2012).
Regarding Claims 8 and 16:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Zhang teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 1, wherein the camera assembly comprises a plurality of cameras arranged in circular arrangement, wherein a subset of the plurality of cameras are angled on a different plane than the other cameras of the plurality of cameras.(Zhang disclosed that google map street view car uses 15 cameras that snap 360-degree views at a height of 8.2 feet, wherein arranged in circular arrangement, wherein a subset of the plurality of cameras are angled on a different plane than the other cameras of the plurality of cameras as depicted in the photo below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Zhang in order to include a plurality of cameras arranged in circular arrangement, wherein a subset of the plurality of cameras are angled on a different plane than the other cameras of the plurality of cameras. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Zhang’s camera assembly for vehicles in order to efficiently collect data from sensors.
Regarding Claim 9 and 17:
Google Maps in view of Daly and Agarwal, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Zhang teaches:
The modular mapping system of claim 1, wherein the first LIDAR is disposed on a horizontal plane that is parallel to the top surface of the sensor mount and the second LIDAR is mounted at an angle with respect to the horizontal plane. (Zhang disclosed that google map street view car uses 15 three LIDAR sensors, wherein arranged in circular arrangement, the first LIDAR is disposed on a horizontal plane that is parallel to the top surface of the sensor mount and the second LIDAR is mounted at an angle with respect to the horizontal plane as depicted in the photo below.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Zhang in order to include wherein the first LIDAR is disposed on a horizontal plane that is parallel to the top surface of the sensor mount and the second LIDAR is mounted at an angle with respect to the horizontal plane. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Zhang’s LIDAR assembly for vehicles in order to efficiently collect data from sensors.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Maps (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FZH652qYkA&t=40s, Sep 7, 2017) in view of Daly (US20210178983A1), further in view of Walton (https://www.pcgamer.com/i-rode-in-a-self-driving-car-thats-basically-powered-by-a-high-end-gaming-pc/, Jan 13, 2020) and Cui (US 20210239471 A1).
Regarding Claim 18:
Google Maps teaches:
the modular mapping kit comprising: a sensor assembly, wherein the sensor assembly includes a tubular member extending along a longitudinal axis for supporting a plurality of sensors, (Google Maps discloses a street view car has a rig mounted on top a vehicle wherein the sensor assembly includes a tubular member extending along a longitudinal axis for supporting a plurality of sensors.)
Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Daly teaches:
A modular mapping kit for generation of a three-dimensional map for use by autonomous vehicles, (Daly, Abstract, “A modular rack assembly for autonomous vehicles, …The rail has at least one sensor (radar, LiDAR, camera) mounted thereon.”, and para [31], “LiDAR sensors 210-2 may be used for providing depth information of the front view and provide a depth map.”)
the plurality of sensors comprising a camera assembly, a first LIDAR, a second LIDAR, and an IMU, the sensor assembly configured to be removably coupled to a roof of a vehicle; (Daly, Abstract, “A modular rack assembly for autonomous vehicles, …The rail has at least one sensor (radar, LiDAR, camera) mounted thereon.”, and para [31], “LiDAR sensors 210-2 may be used for providing depth information of the front view and provide a depth map.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Daly in order to include a sensor mount for generation of a three-dimensional map for use by autonomous vehicles, the plurality of sensors comprising a camera assembly, a first LIDAR, a second LIDAR, and an inertial measurement unit (IMU); wherein the first LIDAR is mounted atop of the camera assembly at the proximal portion of the sensor mount; wherein the second LIDAR is mounted to the sensor mount at a distal portion of the sensor mount. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Daly’s modular rack assembly for autonomous vehicles as “the moving vehicle needs to “see” clearly and accurately what obstacles are in the field of view” (Daly, Description)
Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Walton teaches:
a server rack assembly, wherein the server rack assembly includes a plurality of adjustable jacks configured for removably coupling the server rack assembly to an interior area of a trunk of the vehicle, the server rack assembly configured to be in communication with the plurality of sensors; ( Walton discloses a dual-socket Intel server rack assembly using a plurality of adjustable jacks configured to secure in the trunk of the autonomous car of Yandex. There are six 720p30 cameras providing a 360 degree view of the vehicle's surroundings, six radar units, and four lidar sensors and a GNSS sensor for GPS services in communication with the server.)
and a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to be removably coupled to a dash of the vehicle and is further configured to be in communication with the server rack. (Walton discloses that Yandex screens show more of what the vehicle 'sees' as sensible graphics. There's a large white line showing the car's intended path of travel. Cars, trucks, vans, buses, semis, etc. all show as different length gray rectangles, crosswalks and traffic lights are visible, and pedestrians show up as well)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Walton in order to include a server rack assembly, the server rack assembly including a plurality of adjustable jacks configured to secure the server rack assembly within a trunk of the vehicle, the server rack assembly in communication with the plurality of sensors and a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to be removably coupled to a dash of the vehicle and is further configured to be in communication with the server rack. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Walton’s server rack assembly for vehicles in order to efficiently process the collected data from sensors.
Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Cui teaches:
an encoder assembly, wherein the encoder assembly is configured to be removably coupled to a wheel of the vehicle and is further configured to be in communication with the server rack assembly; ( Cui, para [34], “ one or more servers 130 may store data indicating information from the wheel encoders ”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Cui in order to include encoder assembly, the encoder assembly configured to couple to a wheel of the vehicle and in communication with the server rack assembly. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Cui’s wheel encoders assembly and server for vehicles in order to efficiently process the collected data from sensors.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Maps (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FZH652qYkA&t=40s, Sep 7, 2017) in view of Daly (US20210178983A1), further in view of Walton (https://www.pcgamer.com/i-rode-in-a-self-driving-car-thats-basically-powered-by-a-high-end-gaming-pc/, Jan 13, 2020) and Cui (US 20210239471 A1), Tezuka (US20110068986A1).
Regarding Claim 19:
Google Maps in view of Daly, Walton and Cui, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 18. Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Daly teaches:
and a second camera. (Daly, para [32], “the rack assembly 100 includes … at least two cameras”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Daly in order to include a second camera mounted to the sensor mount at the distal portion of the sensor mount. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Daly’s modular rack assembly for autonomous vehicles as “the moving vehicle needs to “see” clearly and accurately what obstacles are in the field of view” (Daly, Description)
Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Tezuka teaches:
The modular mapping kit of claim 18, wherein the sensor assembly further comprises a first GPS antenna, a second GPS antenna, (Tezuka, FIG. 1, it is described an example wherein three GPS antennas (10) are mounted on the top board 14 further comprising a first GPS antenna disposed on a proximal portion of the second support member and a second GPS antenna disposed on a distal portion of the first support member when using the gyroscope 13 as a reference point)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Tezuka in order to include a first GPS antenna disposed on a proximal portion of the second support member and a second GPS antenna disposed on a distal portion of the first support member. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Tezuka’s GPS attentat assembly for vehicles in order to stable receive GPS satellite radio waives.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Google Maps (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FZH652qYkA&t=40s, Sep 7, 2017) in view of Daly (US20210178983A1), further in view of Walton (https://www.pcgamer.com/i-rode-in-a-self-driving-car-thats-basically-powered-by-a-high-end-gaming-pc/, Jan 13, 2020) and Cui (US 20210239471 A1), Agarwal (US20210183179A1).
Regarding Claim 20:
Google Maps in view of Daly, Walton and Cui, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 18. Google Maps teaches:
The modular mapping kit of claim 18, wherein the camera assembly is mounted on a top surface of the tubular member at a proximal portion of the tubular member; (Google Maps depicts the camera assembly is mounted on a top surface of the sensor mount at a proximal portion of the sensor mount when using the top surface of the sensor mount as a reference point.)
Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Daly teaches:
wherein the first LIDAR is mounted atop of the camera assembly at the proximal portion of the tubular member; wherein the second LIDAR is mounted on the top surface of the tubular member at a distal portion of the tubular member; (Daly, para [32], “the rack assembly 100 includes at least two lidar sensors”, Fig. 4A depicts the first LIDAR is mounted atop of the camera assembly at the proximal portion of the sensor mount; wherein the second LIDAR is mounted to the sensor mount at a distal portion of the sensor mount when using the left end of rack as the reference point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Daly in order to include a sensor mount for generation of a three-dimensional map for use by autonomous vehicles, the plurality of sensors comprising a camera assembly, a first LIDAR, a second LIDAR, and an inertial measurement unit (IMU); wherein the first LIDAR is mounted atop of the camera assembly at the proximal portion of the sensor mount; wherein the second LIDAR is mounted to the sensor mount at a distal portion of the sensor mount. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Daly’s modular rack assembly for autonomous vehicles as “the moving vehicle needs to “see” clearly and accurately what obstacles are in the field of view” (Daly, Description)
Google Maps does not explicitly teach, but Agarwal teaches:
and wherein the IMU is mounted on a bottom surface of the tubular member opposite the top surface such that the IMU is disposed outside of a field of view of the camera assembly. (Agarwal, para [46],” FIG. 3A shows that an IMU 310 is attached to a sensor 110 so that the sensor 110 is sitting on top of the IMU 310.”) Examiner note:Fig.3A depicts the IMU is mounted on a bottom surface and is disposed outside of a field of view of the camera assembly. Furthermore, the specific mounting location of the IMU on the sensor mount (e.g., on the bottom surface) is considered a mere design choice. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to position the IMU at any suitable location on the mount to achieve the predictable results of keeping it outside of the camera’s field of view and preventing visual obstruction of camera.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Google Maps with these above teachings from Agarwal in order to include wherein the IMU is mounted on a bottom surface of the sensor mount opposite the top surface such that the IMU is disposed outside of a field of view of the camera assembly.. At the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Google Maps’ street view system with Agarwal’s modular rack assembly for autonomous vehicles as “ensure that sensors deployed on autonomous driving vehicles continuously provide accurate and uninterrupted performance.” (Agarwal, Description)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zajac (US20170305360A1) teaches a sensor assembly includes a housing that can be mounted to a vehicle in order to enable autonomous driving. Among other benefits, the sensor assembly can retrofit onto existing vehicles to enable such vehicles to have autonomous driving and/or enhanced sensing capabilities.
Anderson (US20050082862A1) teaches an overhead rail system for a vehicle interior includes an elongated rail configured to extend at least partially along a headliner panel within the vehicle interior.
Frank (US20140313343A1) teaches the modular infrared camera system includes a self-contained, adaptive, and/or portable device that is configured to mount or couple to various different adapters (e.g., mounts or docking stations) and automatically configure itself for the intended use based on the associated adapter.
/KAI NMN WANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/REDHWAN K MAWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664