DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant requested to withdraw the restriction to claims 17-20 by amending the claims to depend on claim 1. It is noted that the amendment did not change the subject matter of claims 17-20 and belong to method claims. Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furiya (US 20190006094 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Furiya teaches that a coil assembly comprising:
a mounting structure (30, Fig. 3; para 0036-0050) including at least one surface and at least one locking member (32) disposed on the at least one surface; and
a coil member (20) wound around a central axis (not labeled; i.e. center axis of element 30 in Fig. 1) of the mounting structure and secured to the at least one surface of the mounting structure by the at least one locking member (construed from the disclosure “coil 20 fit into the groove 32” in para 0062).
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, Furiya teaches that the at least one locking member (i.e. groove 32 in Fig. 3) defines a spiral groove (see para 0041) for receiving the coil member therein.
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 2, Furiya teaches that the coil member is press-fit (inherently necessary for industrial application) into the spiral groove.
Regarding Claim 4:
As applied to claim 1, Furiya teaches that the mounting structure defines a central opening (34a, Fig. 5A; para 0041) and the at least one surface is an annular (I.e. ring shape surface; construed from Fig. 5A) surface surrounding the central opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-11, and 13-16 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over by Furiya.
Regarding Claim 5:
As applied to claim 1, Furiya teaches the mounting structure is aligned along the central axis of the mounting structure except the mounting structure includes a plurality of body sections aligned along the central axis of the mounting structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the mounting structure includes a plurality of body sections aligned along the central axis of the mounting structure, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a plurality of body sections aligned along the central axis of the mounting structure as claimed to meet design requirements for certain application.
Regarding Claim 6:
As applied to claim 5, Furiya teaches the plurality of body sections define a plurality of surfaces, the coil member being secured to the plurality of surfaces as explained in claim 5 analysis in light of MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Regarding Claim 7:
As applied to claim 6, Furiya teaches the coil member includes a plurality of coiled portions secured to the plurality of surfaces and disposed in different planes as explained in claim 5 analysis in light of MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Regarding Claim 8:
As applied to claim 7, Furiya teaches that the plurality of coiled portions each include a plurality of windings as explained in claim 5 analysis in light of MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Regarding Claim 9:
As applied to claim 5, Furiya teaches that the mounting structure further includes connecting members at adjacent ones of the plurality of body sections to maintain the plurality of body sections in a spaced position as explained in claim 5 analysis in light of MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Regarding Claim 10:
As applied to claim 5, Furiya teaches that the plurality of body sections each include an annular ring portion {or a truncated cone portion} as explained in claim 5 analysis in light of MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Regarding Claim 11:
As applied to claim 10, Furiya teaches that the truncated cone portions are joined along the central axis of the mounting structure as explained in claim 5 analysis in light of MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Regarding Claim 13:
As applied to claim 1, Furiya teaches the mounting structure is made of an insulating material (see para 0040), the coil member being electrically insulated by the mounting structure.
Regarding Claim 14:
Furiya teaches that a coil assembly comprising:
a mounting structure (30, Fig. 3; para 0036-0050) including a central axis (not labeled; i.e. center axis of element 30 in Fig. 1) of the mounting structure, a central
opening (34a), an annular surface around the central opening (i.e., ring shape surface in Fig. 5A around 34a), and a spiral groove (see para 0041) on the annular surface; and
a coil member (20) disposed in plane (31) and secured to the annular surfaces by pressing the coiled portions into the spiral grooves of the body sections.
Furiya teaches a mounting structure, a central opening, an annular surface around the central opening, a spiral groove and coil member except a mounting structure including a plurality of body sections aligned along a central axis of the mounting structure, the plurality of body sections each defining a central opening, an annular surface around the central opening, and a spiral groove on the annular surface; and a coil member including a plurality of coiled portions disposed in different planes and secured to the annular surfaces of the plurality of body sections by pressing the coiled portions into the spiral grooves of the body sections.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the plurality of body sections each defining a central opening, the plurality of body sections each defining a central opening and a plurality of coiled portions disposed in different planes, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of body sections each defining a central opening, the plurality of body sections each defining a central opening and a plurality of coiled portions disposed in different planes as claimed to meet design requirements for certain application.
Regarding Claim 15:
As applied to claim 14, Furiya teaches that the plurality of body sections each have a ring plate configuration or a truncated cone configuration as explained in claim 14 analysis in light of MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Regarding Claim 16:
As applied to claim 14, Furiya teaches that the body sections are connected along the central axis of the mounting structure as explained in claim 14 analysis in light of MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furiya view of Markus (US 20240223027 A1).
Regarding Claim 12:
As applied to claim 14, Furiya teaches the coil member except coil member includes a tube body made of an electrically conducting material and a cooling channel in the tube body
However, Markus taught in para 0087 (see Fig. 1E and 10) that cooling channels 11 of the electrical conductors 10 of a first cooling channel group V1 are connected in parallel.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have coil member includes a tube body made of an electrically conducting material and a cooling channel in the tube body to provide efficient cooling for the electrical component during normal operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837