DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and/or arguments submitted on 08/27/2026 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-18 are pending:
Claims 2-6, 16-17 are withdrawn
Claims 18 are new
Claims 1, 7-15, 18 are examined on the merits
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments, with respect to 35 USC 103 art rejections by Bocksrocker (US 2021/0402518), Zediker (US 2020/0206844), and Martukanitz (US 2006/0255019) have been fully considered.
Applicant asserts, page 7-8 point 1, that the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker fails to disclose the new limitation of “a central region between the end surfaces is continuously irradiated with the first laser light during the rotational irradiation”, and that said limitation is not merely a design choice.
The office respectfully disagrees.
The rejection of record based on the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker results in the laser spot diameter being equal or larger to the rotating diameter, and therefore results in a central region always being irradiated as the laser spot rotates about the center. Bocksrocker discloses possible values of the diameters of laser portions 8/9 and wire portions 11/12, however the corresponding relationship between those diameters and the path 16 diameter is not disclosed, and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such a decision in order to practice the disclosure of Bocksrocker. The relative arrangement of components in Fig1 strongly suggests that the laser spot diameter is larger than path 16 diameter, however as the drawings are not to scale, this suggestion is not part or relied upon in the rejection of record.
The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant asserts, page 2 point 2, that the “routine optimization” fails due to the art not explicitly recognizing that variable.
The office respectfully disagrees. The office notes that a rejection based on “routine optimization” and “result-effective variable optimization” are different basis, and that applicant’s assertions are directed towards the not relied upon “result-effective variable optimization”.
Applicant asserts, page 8-9 point 3, that the functional result(s) in applicant’s specification “is not predictable from Bocksrocker”, and therefore the modification is not valid.
The office respectfully disagrees, and notes that the cited functional results are not actually claimed in the presented claim language.
The modification is not based on attempting to hindsight back to the disclosure of Applicant’s invention. The modification of the rejection of record is based on the fact that one of ordinary skill in the art would have to select components with actual dimensions that result in selecting a laser spot diameter relative to the path diameter, as such a relationship is not disclosure in Bocksrocker. The obvious to try combination of having the laser spot diameter being equal to or greater than the path diameter just naturally results in a central region being continuously irradiated due to geometry.
The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant asserts, page 9-10 point 4, that applicant’s claimed relationship of diameters is not arbitrary and was selected to result in a specific melting behavior.
The office respectfully disagrees and notes that the rejection of record is not a design choice based rejection.
The office respectfully repeats the response to Points 1/3, as the instant assertions are responded to above.
Bocksrocker explicitly identifies the spot diameter parameter, the path diameter parameter is implicitly identified via the drawings showing a circle shape.
The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bocksrocker (US 2021/0402518).
Claim 1
Bocksrocker discloses:
“A welding method (arrangement and method best seen Fig1-3) of welding end portions (wire ends 2) of a first member (wire 3) and a second member (wire 3) together using first laser light (laser beam 4 and in particular with laser light of ring 9 from ring fiber 12) irradiated by a laser device (laser beam generator 5), the welding method comprising:
arranging the end portions of the first member and the second member adjacent to each other (Fig1/3, wires 3 have ends 2 abutted in arrangement face 15 of Fig1) such that respective end surfaces of the end portions of the first member and the second member face towards the laser device (Fig1/3, ends 2 abutting face 15 faces laser beam 4);
performing rotational irradiation (Fig3, laser beam 4 path 16 on abutted face arrangement 15) to the end surfaces of the end portions of the first member and the second member (Fig3, laser beam 4 path 16 on abutted face arrangement 15) with the first laser light at a rotating diameter (Fig3, diameter of circular path 16),
wherein a spot diameter of the first laser light (Fig1-2, first spot diameter S.R) … , and
wherein an irradiation region of the first laser light (Fig1-2, first spot diameter S.R) by the rotational irradiation extends over the end surfaces of the end portions of the first member and the second member (best seen Fig3, laser beam 4 travels on path 16 across both wire 3 faces 2 of abutting face arrangement 15).”
Bocksrocker is silent to “a spot diameter of the first laser light is set to be equal to or larger than the rotating diameter” with the claimed resultant continuously irradiated central region.
There are only three possible relative dimension relationships between the spot diameter of the first laser light and the diameter of path 16 of Bocksrocker for one of ordinary skill in the art to select between: 1) spot diameter is less than path diameter, 2) spot diameter is equal to path diameter, 3) spot diameter is greater than path diameter.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform routine optimization of the dimensional relationship between the first laser light and the diameter of path 16 of Bocksrocker, as Bocksrocker is silent to the dimensions of the path diameter and one of ordinary skill in the art would have to select such a path diameter dimension in order to practice the disclosure of Bocksrocker, and thus it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to try the arrangement where the spot diameter of the first laser light is equal or greater than the path diameter, as theses are two of the total of three possible relative dimensional relationships between the two diameters, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement of Bocksrocker with a working relative dimensional relationship between the spot diameter of the first laser light and the path diameter, and such an arrangement of the laser spot diameter being equal or greater than the path diameter naturally results in the central region being continuously irradiated while the laser is rotated along the path due to geometry.
Claim 10
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker of Claim 1 discloses: “The welding method according to claim 9, wherein the spot diameter of the second laser light is less than … of the spot diameter of the first laser light (Bocksrocker: Para14, S.R diameter is 7:1 ratio of S.K diameter).”
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker is silent to the “1/10” relationship.
Since applicant has not disclosed that having “1/10” diameter relationship as claimed solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the implicit function of having to select a particular dimension in order to practice the arrangement in the physical world, and it appears the “7:1 ratio” diameter relationship of Bocksrocker would perform equally well to that of Applicant.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 7:1 ratio between the laser diameters of the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker to a “1/10” relative relationship between the laser diameters for the purpose of selecting another equally performing particular physical diameter relationship in order to practice the disclosure in the real world.
Claim 14
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker of Claim 1 discloses: “The welding method according to claim 1, wherein each of the first member and the second member (Bocksrocker: Fig1/3, first and second wire 3) is a flat conductor having a rectangular cross section (Bocksrocker: best seen Fig3, wire 3 end 2 is rectangular) constituting a stator coil (Bocksrocker: Para2/4/5, arrangement is a hairpin welding apparatus that is used in stator windings for electric motors), and wherein a molten ball is formed at the intersection of the end surfaces of the end portions of the first member and the second member by welding the first member and the second member (Bocksrocker: Para30, molten weld bead is formed on abutting face arrangement 15 when laser 4 travels path 16).”
Claim 18
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker of Claim 1 discloses: “The welding method according to The welding method according to wherein, when the spot diameter of the first laser light is defined as d1 (limitation is within the scope of discussion in Claim 1 above. Recitation is merely a naming convention) and the rotating diameter is defined as r (limitation is within the scope of discussion in Claim 1 above. Recitation is merely a naming convention), a circular region in the central region having a diameter of (d1-r) (limitation is within the scope of discussion in Claim 1 above. Recitation is merely a naming convention) is continuously irradiated with the first laser light during the rotational irradiation (limitation is within the scope of discussion in Claim 1 above, continuously irradiation is a natural result of geometry).”
Claim(s) 7-9, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bocksrocker (US 2021/0402518) in view of Zediker (US 2020/0206844).
Claim 7
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker of Claim 1 discloses: “The welding method according to claim 1 further comprising performing rotational irradiation at the intersection of the end surfaces of the end portions of the first member and the second member (Bocksrocker: Fig1-3, laser beam 4 path 16 of wire 3 ends 2 forming abutting face arrangement 15) with second laser light (Bocksrocker: second laser light of core 8 of core fiber 11) having …, wherein a spot diameter of the second laser light (Bocksrocker: Fig1-2, second spot diameter S.K) is set to be smaller than the spot diameter of the first laser light (Bocksrocker: Fig1-2, second spot diameter S.K is smaller than first spot diameter S.R).”
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker is silent to the first and second laser light in the core and ring having different wavelengths.
Zediker teaches (Fig20, Para85) that it is known in the art alternatives to use a single laser beam or two simultaneous laser beams co-focused for welding. Zediker further teaches (Fig20, Para101,10, Abstract) the application of a blue laser (wavelength about 400-500 nm) as one of the lasers to use when welding copper materials.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of Bocksrocker to use two laser sources as opposed to a single laser source, as Zediker teaches that such a modification would merely be a simple substitution of known in the art alternative number of laser sources to apply to coper welding, and as such the laser source for the first laser light would be replaced with the blue laser as taught by Zediker as Zediker teaches that blue lasers are known in the art for welding copper arrangements and as the arrangement of Bocksrocker requires a stronger power in the core as opposed to the ring region of the full laser welding spot, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement of Bocksrocker with a known and working two laser source welding arrangement with a working and known blue laser for the first ring laser light as taught by Zediker.
Claim 8
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker discloses: “The welding method according to claim 7, wherein an optical axis of the first laser light coincides with an optical axis of the second laser light (Bocksrocker: Fig1-2, first and second laser light 8/9 are axially coincident).”
Claim 9
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker discloses: “The welding method according to claim 8, wherein a wavelength of the second laser light is set to be in a range from 780 nm to 1,100 nm (Bocksrocker: Para18/26, laser beam 4 wavelength 1030 nm).”
Claim 11
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker discloses: “The welding method according to claim 9, wherein the spot diameter of the second laser light is set to be in a range from 10 μm to 100 μm (Bocksrocker: Para19, core spot diameter is 85 μm).”
Claim 12
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker discloses: “The welding method according to claim 7, wherein the first laser light and the second laser light are rotated at a rotating speed that is set to be in a range from 100 mm/s to 1,000 mm/s (Bocksrocker: Para30, laser beam 4 travels circular path 16 at 800 mm/s).”
Claim 13
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker discloses the arrangement of claim 7.
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker is silent to the particular irradiation time.
Zediker teaches (Para153, Fig30) that a laser’s dwell time during welding is a result-effective variable that determines if the laser beam has sufficient time to form a weld with “preferred results” including cross-sectional weld penetration depth.
According to MPEP 2144.05.II.B, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform result-effective variable optimization on the dwell/irradiation time of the laser beam of the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker, as selecting the correct dwell time for the weld is a determination that one of ordinary skill in the art would have to come to in order to practice the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker, and the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process, and Zediker teaches that a laser’s dwell time during welding is a result-effective variable that determines if the laser beam has sufficient time to form a weld with “preferred results” including cross-sectional weld penetration depth, and the resulting arrangement of the result-effective variable optimization of dwell time has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker with a patentably similar laser welding dwell time of “50 msec or longer” as both the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker and applicant are using the same variable of dwell/irradiation time of the laser beam during welding and have the same motivation of having “preferred results”.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bocksrocker (US 2021/0402518) in view of in view of Zediker (US 2020/0206844) and Martukanitz (US 2006/0255019).
Claim 15
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker of Claim 7 discloses the arrangement of claim 7.
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker is silent to the application of blown clearing gas.
Zediker teaches:
“…
discharging nitrogen (Zediker: Para19, nitrogen gas) onto the end surfaces of the end portions of the first member and the second member (Zediker: Para18, clearing gas is blown along the laser beam path) at a flow rate (Zediker: Para18, clearing gas flowrate is “predetermined”) in a range from … and at an inclination angle in a range from 0° to 90° with respect to the end surfaces of the end portions of the first member and the second member (Zediker: Para18, clearing gas is blow along the laser beam path, an angle between 0-90 degrees off the workpiece is implicit to any gas flow directed at the worksurface, instant recitation is not limiting),
wherein the discharging of the nitrogen starts simultaneously with, or lightly prior to, performing the rotational irradiations of the first laser light and the second laser light and ends with, or slightly after, ceasing the rotational (Zediker: Para18, clearing gas is provided along laser beam path during use to prevent oxidation during welding).”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker to include the non-oxidizing clearing gas arrangement as taught by Zediker, as such a clearing gas arrangement provides the advantage of preventing oxidation of the weld region during welding, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker with a known in the art weld oxidation prevention clearing gas arrangement as taught by Zediker.
The modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker is silent to a particular value/range of the nitrogen clearing gas flowrate.
Martukanitz teaches (Para27) that a known in the art flow rate for a non-oxidating clearing gas is 110 cfh (cubic foot/hour) which is equivalent to roughly 52 L/min (see screenshot below for unit conversion).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select a known flowrate for the non-oxidating clearing gas for the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker as such a selection would need to be made in order to practice the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker, and Martukanitz teaches that a clearing gas flow rate of roughly 52 L/min is a known in the art selection for a welding application, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the modified arrangement of Bocksrocker by the teachings of Zediker with a known in the art clearing gas flowrate as taught by Martukanitz.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3761