DETAILED ACTION
The papers submitted on 11 December 2025, amending the title, claims 1, 8-13, 15, 23, 29, 35, and canceling claims 16, 22, are acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11 December 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 20-21, 23-25, 28-30, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gideon et al. (US 8,709,319 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Gideon discloses a method of providing a modified polymeric composite flake for use in forming articles (title/abstract), comprising:
(a) providing a composite having at least one polymeric matrix material and long reinforcing fibers of a first fiber material extending through the polymeric matrix material (3:44+, 4:50+); and
(b) forming from the composite at least one flake, wherein the at least one flake comprises an exterior surface having an exterior edge, a portion of the exterior edge being configured to provide at least two exterior edge features, e.g. the sides of flake 24f or 24h, to a portion of the exterior edge of the at least one flake thereby providing a modified polymeric flake, wherein the at least two exterior edge features on the portion of the exterior edge having the edge features together form a pattern. (FIG. 2-3; 4:8+).
Regarding claim 2, Gideon discloses forming the at least one flake by cutting the composite to form the at least one flake (FIG. 2; 4:8+).
Regarding claim 3, Gideon discloses the flake is cut by a cutting device (FIG. 2; 4:8+).
Regarding claim 4, Gideon discloses the composite is in a form selected from a tape, a plate, and a sheet (4:50+).
Regarding claim 5, Gideon discloses the long reinforcing fibers within the composite are unidirectional (4:8+).
Regarding claim 6, Gideon discloses the long reinforcing fibers within the composite are continuous long reinforcing fibers (4:8+).
Regarding claim 7, Gideon discloses the composite is in the form of a tape and the long reinforcing fibers are unidirectional continuous long reinforcing fibers (4:8+).
Regarding claim 20, Gideon discloses the at least one exterior edge feature is configured to have a shape selected from a triangle shape, a parabola shape, or a bullet shape (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Gideon discloses the at least one exterior edge feature is a parallelogram, having a rectangular shape (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 22, Gideon discloses that there are two or more exterior edge features on the portion of the exterior edge having the edge features and together the exterior edge features form a pattern (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Gideon discloses the at least one flake has four exterior edge portions, two of which are opposing exterior edge portions, each of which two opposing exterior edge portions has the pattern formed thereon so that the pattern extends along substantially all of the two opposing exterior edge portions and so that a distance measured across the at least one flake longitudinally between the two opposing edge portions remains substantially the same throughout the pattern (FIG. 3).
Regarding claims 24-25, Gideon discloses that polymeric matrix material is a thermoplastic and is PEI (polyetherimide) PPS (polyphenylene sulphide), PES (polyethersulfone), PEEK (polyetheretherketone), PEKK (polyetheretherketone), and PEKK-FC (polyetherketoneketone-fc grade) (3:44+).
Regarding claim 28, Gideon discloses the long reinforcing fibers in the at least one flake are one or more of carbon, metal, ceramic and/or glass fibers (3:44+).
Regarding claim 29, Gideon discloses the exterior edge of the at least one flake defines on the exterior surface of the at least one flake a surface area having an overall shape that is generally a triangle, a circle, a parallelogram or a trapezoid, and the at least one exterior edge feature is formed on at least one edge portion of such surface area shape (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 30, Gideon discloses the surface area defined by the exterior edge is a parallelogram selected from a square, a rectangle and a rhombus (FIG. 3).
Regarding claims 33-34, Gideon discloses a substantially identical process and therefore the article would necessarily have an average tensile strength that is at least about 30% greater, or 40-60% greater than a tensile strength of an article formed using a plurality of flakes formed of the same material, and having a same overall shape and size, but that lack the exterior edge features. Because, “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112 for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gideon et al. (US 8,709,319 B2) as applied to claim 1 or 24 above, further in view of Fortunato et al. (US 10,160,146 B2).
Regarding claim 26 or 27, Gideon does not appear to expressly disclose fluoropolymers or thermosets.
However, Fortunato discloses a similar method of forming fiber reinforced composites (title/abstract) which includes fluoropolymers (such as melt-processible fluoroplastics (such as copolymers of tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) and at least one perfluoroalkylvinyl ether (PAVE) (PFA), copolymers of TFE and at least one other perfluorinated alkylene (such as hexafluoropropylene) (FEP)), poly(chlorotrifluoroethylene), polyethyl chlorotrifluoroethylene (ECTFE), polyethyltrifluoroethylene (ETFE), polyvinyl fluoride (PVF) and polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF)) and epoxy resins, polyethylene chlorinates, biscitraconicimides (BCI), bismaleimides (BMI), bismaleimide/triazine/epoxy resins, cyanate esters, cyanate resins, furanic resins, phenolic resins, urea-formaldehyde resins, melamine-formaldehyde resins, phthalocyanine resins, polybenzoxazole resins, acetylene-terminated polyimide resins, silicones, polytriazines, polyalkyds, and xylene resins (5:11-6:16).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the matrix of Gideon to include the polymers of Fortunato, because such materials are conventional in the art and could be used with expected results.
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gideon et al. (US 8,709,319 B2) as applied to claim 30 above, further in view of Koshi et al. (US 11,739,185 B2).
Gideon does not appear to expressly disclose the dimensions of the flakes.
However, Koshi discloses similar fiber tapes (title/abstract) having thicknesses of 0.01 to 1.5 mm (7:26+) and sizes of 40mm x 8 mm (SA = 320 mm2) (14:55+), which overlap the claimed range (MPEP § 2144.04).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Gideon to include the sizes of Koshi, because such sizes are conventional in the art and could be produced with expected results. Additionally the skilled artisan would recognize that the size of the flakes could be readily modified within the claimed range with expected results by changing the feed rate to the cutter or changing the shape of the die.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-15, 17-19 and 35-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper. Specifically, newly amended claim 8 requires that at least one of the two exterior edges has two angled sides and therefore does not read on the edge feature being an angled side as recited in Gideon. Additionally, the subject matter of dependent claims 15 and 35 require that:
Said zig-zag edge feature is best exemplified by FIG. 3. This zig-zag pattern is not taught by the prior art and is novel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742