Status of the claims
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15 is/are amended. Currently claims 1-21 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 9,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Suda (20110040465 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suda, Fig. 1, discloses a control system comprising: a closing unit (closing valve at 68) comprising: a tank 34 comprising a usable volume of the control system; at least one primary pump 36 configured to pump hydraulic fluid from the usable volume of the tank; a plurality of valves 51,52,53,54; and a first pressure transducer (sensor 72 with switch circuit in 70 to pump) disposed between the at least one primary pump and at least one valve of the plurality of valves, wherein the at least one primary pump, the pressure transducer, and the at least one valve of the plurality of valves are hydraulically connected with the tank, wherein hydraulic fluid within the control system has a predetermined static pressure (pressure in channel 63, Para 47), and wherein the at least one primary pump 36 is powered by an electric energy source (for motor 36a which is electrically controlled by 70). The first pressure transducer (sensor 72 with switching circuit in 70 to pump) manages a start-stop (Para 29, set pressure range) operation of the at least one primary pump 36 such that the first pressure transducer 72 is configured to provide a first electric signal (through 70) to start the at least one primary pump when the hydraulic fluid within the control system drops to at least a first pressure (Para 29, below set pressure range) below the predetermined static pressure, and wherein the first pressure transducer is configured to stop (switching signal is stopped) when the hydraulic fluid within the control system returns to the predetermined static pressure.
As to claims 2, 3, one valve of the plurality of valves 53 is configured to operatively connect to a hydraulic device, wherein the hydraulic device is a pressure control equipment (pressure chamber of 23RR).
As to claim 6, a remote operator panel 70 powered by the electric energy source (being an electronic device)
As to claim 9, means 35a for regulating hydraulic pressure hydraulically connected (by 39) to the at least one valve of the plurality of valves, wherein the means 35a for regulating hydraulic pressure returns hydraulic fluid to the tank 34 if a pressure of the control system exceeds the predetermined static pressure.
As to claim 13, the first pressure transducer 72 is configured to provide a first electric signal (through 70) to start the at least one primary pump when the hydraulic fluid within the control system drops to at least a first pressure (Para 29, below set pressure range) below the predetermined static pressure, and wherein the first pressure transducer is configured to stop (switching signal is stopped) when the hydraulic fluid within the control system returns to the predetermined static pressure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suda (20110040465 A1).
Suda fails to disclose electric source as removable primary battery packs and a hot spare battery pack arranged in one or multiple enclosures. However, Official Notice is taken (now considered Applicant admitted prior art since Applicant did not traverse the Official Notice in prior office action) that providing removable primary battery packs and a hot spare battery pack arranged in one or multiple enclosures, for the purpose of providing swappable battery storage are widely known and notoriously old in the art. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ removable primary battery packs and a hot spare battery pack arranged in one or multiple enclosures in the device of Suda for the purpose of swappable battery storage as is widely known and notoriously old in the art.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suda (20110040465 A1) in view of Onishi et al (20220136532).
Suda discloses a pump 36 but fails to disclose a parallel pump. Onishi , (Fig. 2), teaches similar pressure system with two parallel pumps 33.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Suda with a spare parallel as taught by Onishi in order to provide redundancy.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suda (20110040465 A1) in view of Zapol et al (20180243527).
Suda discloses a pressure sensing system, comprising: a first pressure transducer 72, wherein at least pressure transducer provides an electric signal to start or stop operation of at least one primary pump 36 to pump fluid from reservoir (fluid space of master cylinder unit 27), and wherein the pressure transducer is configured to start/stop at a predetermined pressure (Para 29, “set pressure range”).
Suda fails to disclose a second redundant pressure transducer. Zapol (Para 581) teaches a second redundant pressure transducer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Suda with a second redundant pressure transducer as taught by Onishi in order to provide failsafe operation. The redundant sensor would be connected to same line and with same function since it would a backup to main sensor.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach et al (20170138142) in view of Miki (JP 2001165105 A) .
Regarding claim 1, Leach discloses a control system comprising: a closing unit 146 comprising: a tank 98 comprising a usable volume of the control system; at least one primary pump 54 configured to pump hydraulic fluid from the usable volume of the tank; a plurality of valves 150,150 ; and a first pressure transducer (sensor 130, with control/relay circuit in 134,138) and disposed between the at least one primary pump and at least one valve of the plurality of valves (valves of BOP, Para 5), wherein the at least one primary pump, the pressure transducer, and the at least one valve of the plurality of valves are hydraulically connected with the tank, wherein the first pressure transducer manages a start-stop (Para 57) operation of the at least one primary pump, wherein hydraulic fluid within the control system has a predetermined static pressure (Para 57, target), and wherein the at least one pump is powered by an electric energy source 114.
Leach fails to explicitly disclose the first pressure transducer managing a start-stop of pump based on control line pressure (even though Leach does teach one of the sensors 130 on the control line downstream of the pump 54). Miki (translation page 7, Para 8, 11) teaches the first pressure transducer (sensor 41 and control switches 30) is configured to provide a first electric signal (through 30) to start the at least one primary pump when the hydraulic fluid within the control system drops to at least a first pressure (translation page 7, Para 8, 11) below the predetermined static pressure, and wherein the first pressure transducer is configured to stop (switching signal is stopped) when the hydraulic fluid within the control system returns to the predetermined static pressure (set pressure).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Leach with pressure transducer managing a start-stop of pump based on control line pressure as taught by Miki in order to provide real time control of control pressure.
As to claims 4, 5, Leach discloses pump mounted on a rig but fails to disclose pump powered by a battery system which is trickle charged by a rig providing the rig power.
However, Official Notice is taken (now considered Applicant admitted prior art since Applicant did not traverse the Official Notice in prior office action) that providing removable primary battery packs and an electric power by a battery system which is trickle charged by a rig providing the rig power, for the purpose of providing convenient power source are widely known and notoriously old in the art. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ electric power by a battery system which is trickle charged by a rig providing the rig power in the device of Leach for the purpose of convenient power source as is widely known and notoriously old in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8, 14, 16-21 is/are allowed
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive regarding rejection over Suda.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Suda that “the brake ECU 70, and not the accumulator pressure sensor 72, turns the pump 36 on and off based on the measured accumulator pressure” are not persuasive since it is clear from the figure that pressure transducer when defined as a signal provider to pump includes the transducer 72 and control/relay circuitry of ECU 70.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Suda that “claimed … transducer is not … based on measured accumulator pressure ,…Instead… pressure transducer is … based on hydraulic fluid within the control system” are not persuasive since even though Suda refers to pressure sensor as measuring accumulator pressure but Suda clearly states that it considers the accumulator pressure same as a control pressure measuring control line (channel 63) pressure by sensor 72 which located in line 39 upstream of 63 and downstream of pump 36 and accumulator 35. Suda Para 47 states “accumulator pressure sensor 72 detects the pressure of brake fluid in the accumulator channel 63”. Therefore, Suda considers the pressure from pump 36 and in lines 39.63 to be the “accumulator pressure”, which in reality is the control line pressure or control line 39,63.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record over Leach. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims. Miki is cited to show prior art teaching/incorporation of pressure sensor measuring control line pressure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753