DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2021/0403013 A1) in view of Ichikawa (US 2024/0019328 A1) and Amin (US 2019/0023089 A1).
Jung discloses: An alarm type determining apparatus for a vehicle, the alarm type determining apparatus comprising: (Jung discloses in at least Paragraph 0010 a device for dynamically providing a failure safety strategy based on sensed failure type and travel situation around a vehicle during the autonomous driving [i.e. an alarm type determining apparatus for a vehicle])
a state detector including a pressure sensor…, the state detector being configured to obtain pressure data of a tire of the vehicle; (Jung discloses in at least Paragraph 0019 wherein the vehicle may be equipped with a tire pressure management system that senses tire air pressure, among other sensing systems [i.e. a state detector including a pressure sensor configured to obtain pressure data of a tire of the vehicle])
an abnormality state determining unit configured to continuously monitor, during traveling of the vehicle, a pressure detected by the pressure sensor; and (Jung discloses in at least Paragraph 0206 wherein a system failure determining device [i.e. an abnormality state determining unit] may receive tire air pressure sensing information from the tire pressure management system, which may determine if system failures, such as tire air pressure abnormalities, occur during autonomous driving as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0125 [i.e. the abnormality state determining unit is configured to continuously monitor a pressure detected by the pressure sensor during traveling of the vehicle])
determine an abnormality state of the tire based on the pressure data obtained by the state detector, to infer a risk of a tire abnormality before occurrence of an accident; (Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0125, 0146, & 0206 wherein the system failure determining device may receive tire air pressure sensing information from the tire pressure management system, and process said information to determine a failure or abnormality type, if present, including a tire air pressure rapid decrease failure [i.e. an abnormality state of the tire based on the pressure data obtained by the state detector]. As at least Paragraph 0125 of Jung discloses wherein the monitoring takes place during autonomous driving [i.e. before occurrence of an accident])
a traveling state determining unit configured to determine a traveling state of the vehicle; (Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0073, 0122, & 0123 wherein a status information collector [i.e. a traveling state determining unit] may collect travel status information of the vehicle and travel surroundings, including travel speed and lane information, road gradient and surface information, as well as weather information and the like [i.e. determine a traveling state of the vehicle])
an alarm type determining unit configured to determine an alarm type, during traveling of the vehicle and before the occurrence of the accident, based on a combination of the abnormality state of the tire determined by the abnormality state determining unit and the traveling state of the vehicle determined by the traveling state determining unit; (Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0130 – 0133 wherein a risk degree calculator may calculate a final risk degree by weighting an initial risk degree [i.e. an abnormality state of the tire as set forth below] using weight values, including a weight value corresponding to a vehicle travel status determined by the vehicle travel status information [i.e. the traveling state of the vehicle determined by the traveling state determining unit as set forth below], rendering the final risk degree being based on a combination of the two factors. At least Paragraphs 0023 & 0131 of Jung disclose wherein an initial risk degree may be calculated on the basis of the failure type, which may include a tire air pressure rapid decrease failure as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0102 of Jung [i.e. based on an abnormality state of the tire]. At least Paragraphs 0023 & 0160 of Jung disclose wherein a weight may be determined based on the vehicle travel status information, examples being presented in at least Paragraphs 0149 – 0153, 0197, & 0215 of different weights being computed and applied based on the determined surrounding/travel situation [i.e. the traveling state of the vehicle determined by the traveling state determining unit]. At least Paragraph 0138 of Jung discloses wherein a failure safety strategy determining device may determine an optimal failure safety strategy based on the calculated risk degree, with at least Paragraphs 0149 – 0151 of Jung disclosing wherein said action may include the alerting of a driver to being in a failure situation [i.e. a response/alarm type is determined based on the calculated risk degree/combination of abnormality and traveling state]. Examiner notes that while only one alert appears to be specifically recited, a plurality of alarm types presented based on situation severity are taught by Amin as set forth below)
a drive assist controller configured to execute a drive assist for the vehicle based on a level of emergency corresponding to the alarm type while monitoring a behavior of the vehicle. (Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0133 – 0136 wherein the computed final risk degree may be sorted into a risk category of low, medium, or high risk [i.e. a level of emergency corresponding to the alarm type while monitoring a behavior of the vehicle]. At least Paragraphs 0149 – 0153 of Jung disclose wherein each risk degree is associated with a failsafe action, a plurality of examples of which are provided, including the performance of deceleration control at different levels, termination of autonomous driving, and the like [i.e. to execute a drive assist for the vehicle based on the determined level of emergency]. At least Paragraph 0103 of Jung discloses wherein a command controlling device [i.e. a drive assist controller] is configured to perform the vehicle control [i.e. execute a drive assist for the vehicle] based on the determined failure safety strategy)
Jung however appears to be silent regarding:
Wherein the pressure sensor is disposed inside a tire
an alarm type determining unit configured to determine an alarm type
a notifier configured to make a notification that is based on the alarm type determined by the alarm type determining unit; and
However Ichikawa teaches wherein a pressure sensor may be disposed on the inside of a tire to detect internal pressure information of the tire.
Wherein the pressure sensor is disposed inside a tire (However Ichikawa teaches in at least Paragraph 0036 wherein a sensor unit may detect internal pressure information of a tire [i.e. the sensor is a pressure sensor] and may be provided on the inner surface of a tire as taught in at least Paragraph 0037 and Figure 1 of Ichikawa, below [i.e. the pressure sensor is disposed inside the tire])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating a pressure sensor disposed inside the tire as the state detector as taught by Ichikawa.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Ichikawa in at least Paragraphs 0036, 0037, & 0039, the inner tire pressure of each tire may be reliably obtained from sensors disposed in such positions, improving the leak detection within tires, and thus improving the determination of abnormality states.
However Amin teaches wherein a plurality of different alert types may be generated based on the determined severity of the failure state of the tire and presented to the operator of the vehicle.
an alarm type determining unit configured to determine an alarm type… (However Amin teaches in at least Paragraphs 0006 & 0017 wherein the severity of a tire leak is determined and classified as either a “limp home” or “limp aside” leak, and an alert is determined based on said severity. Specifically, at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0034 of Amin teach wherein in the case of a “limp home” leak, an estimated distance/time that a tire can operate is determined and provided to the operator, whereas for a “limp aside” leak that is determined to be more severe, the operator is alerted to maneuver the vehicle to a safe location immediately before the tire becomes unusable [i.e. different alarm types are determined based on different tire leak severities, paralleling the different responses to different risk degrees determined from both the abnormality and vehicle travel status as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0133 – 0136 & 0149 – 0153 of Jung as set forth above])
a notifier configured to make a notification that is based on the alarm type determined by the alarm type determining unit; and (However Amin teaches in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0034 wherein an alert engine [i.e. a notifier] may be configured to provide an alert to the operator of a vehicle that a leak is detected, as well as an indication of an estimated distance/time that the tire can operate until it becomes unusable in the case of a less severe situation, or an alert to maneuver the vehicle to a safe location immediately before the tire becomes unusable in the case of a more severe situation [i.e. a notification that is based on the alarm type determined by the alarm type determining unit])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the determination of different alarm types based on the severity of the tire abnormality and presenting said alerts to the operator of the vehicle as taught by Amin.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Amin in at least Paragraph 0034, the severity of the leak rate situation may be more accurately responded to by the vehicle system, improving the operator notification and vehicle response to different situation severities, improving the safety of the vehicle abnormality response.
Regarding Claim 2:
The alarm type determining apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state detector is configured to detect, as the state of the tire, an air pressure of the tire, and the abnormality state determining unit is configured to determine that the state of the tire is a first abnormality state, in a case where the air pressure of the tire is decreased by a predetermined value or greater within a predetermined time, and determine that the state of the tire is a second abnormality state, in a case where the air pressure of the tire is not decreased by the predetermined value or greater within the predetermined time.
Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0019, 0125, & 0206 wherein the vehicle may be equipped with a tire pressure management system that senses tire air pressure, with at least Paragraph 0206 of Jung further disclosing wherein a system failure determining device may receive tire air pressure sensing information from the tire pressure management system, which may determine if system failures, such as tire air pressure abnormalities, occur during autonomous driving as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0125. Jung however appears to be silent regarding wherein first and second abnormality states are detected by the sensing and failure determination units.
However Amin teaches in at least Paragraph 0019 wherein each tire of a vehicle may include a sensor [i.e. state detector] configured to send data about the tires to the processing system of the vehicle, the data including information regarding the tire temperature and pressure [i.e. a state of a tire of the vehicle includes an air pressure of the tire]. Amin further teaches in at least Paragraph 0028 wherein a leak rate determination engine determines a tire leak rate based on a decay of the pressure of the tire over time [i.e. the air pressure of the tire is decreased by a predetermined value or greater within a predetermined time], the pressure having been determined and normalized based on the acquired sensor data as taught in at least Paragraph 0025 of Amin. At least Paragraph 0034 of Amin further teaches wherein the determined leak rate [i.e. change in pressure over a predetermined period of time] is compared to a leak rate threshold [i.e. predetermined value], in order to determine if the leak is classified as slower or faster [a second and first abnormality state, respectively], based on if the determined leak rate is less or greater than the threshold, respectively. At least Paragraphs 0034, 0035, & 0040 of Amin further teach wherein a slower leak rate may indicate less tire damage [i.e. a second abnormality state], where the tire is capable of operating while continuing to “limp home,” while a faster leak may be classified as a “limp aside” leak indicating the tire cannot continue to operate [i.e. the tire is in a first abnormality state], as a blowout is imminent, requiring the vehicle to immediately pull over.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the determination of different abnormality states for the tires of a vehicle as taught by Amin.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Amin in at least Paragraph 0034, the severity of the leak rate may be more accurately determined and responded to by the vehicle system, improving the vehicle response to different leak rates detected in vehicle tires.
Regarding Claim 8:
Jung discloses: An alarm type determining apparatus for a vehicle, the alarm type determining apparatus comprising: (Jung discloses in at least Paragraph 0010 a device for dynamically providing a failure safety strategy based on sensed failure type and travel situation around a vehicle during the autonomous driving [i.e. an alarm type determining apparatus for a vehicle])
a pressure sensor…, the pressure sensor being configured to obtain pressure data of a tire of the vehicle; and (Jung discloses in at least Paragraph 0019 wherein the vehicle may be equipped with a tire pressure management system that senses tire air pressure, among other sensing systems [i.e. a pressure sensor configured to obtain pressure data of a tire of the vehicle])
circuitry configured to: continuously monitor, during traveling of the vehicle, a pressure detected by the pressure sensor; determine an abnormality state of the tire based on the pressure data obtained by the pressure sensor, to infer a risk of a tire abnormality before occurrence of an accident; (Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0125, 0146, & 0206 wherein the system failure determining device [i.e. circuitry] may receive tire air pressure sensing information from the tire pressure management system, and process said information to determine a failure or abnormality type, if present, including a tire air pressure rapid decrease failure [i.e. an abnormality state of the tire based on the pressure data obtained by the pressure sensor]. As at least Paragraph 0125 of Jung discloses wherein the monitoring takes place during autonomous driving [i.e. before occurrence of an accident])
determine a traveling state of the vehicle; (Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0073, 0122, & 0123 wherein a status information collector may collect travel status information of the vehicle and travel surroundings, including travel speed and lane information, road gradient and surface information, as well as weather information and the like [i.e. determine a traveling state of the vehicle])
determine an alarm type, during traveling of the vehicle and before the occurrence of the accident, based on combination of the determined abnormality state of the tire and the determined traveling state of the vehicle; (Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0130 – 0133 wherein a risk degree calculator may calculate a final risk degree by weighting an initial risk degree [i.e. an abnormality state of the tire as set forth below] using weight values, including a weight value corresponding to a vehicle travel status determined by the vehicle travel status information [i.e. the traveling state of the vehicle determined by the traveling state determining unit as set forth below], rendering the final risk degree being based on a combination of the two factors. At least Paragraphs 0023 & 0131 of Jung disclose wherein an initial risk degree may be calculated on the basis of the failure type, which may include a tire air pressure rapid decrease failure as disclosed in at least Paragraph 0102 of Jung [i.e. based on an abnormality state of the tire]. At least Paragraphs 0023 & 0160 of Jung disclose wherein a weight may be determined based on the vehicle travel status information, examples being presented in at least Paragraphs 0197, 0203, & 0215 of different weights being computed and applied based on the determined surrounding/travel situation [i.e. the traveling state of the vehicle determined by the traveling state determining unit]. At least Paragraph 0138 of Jung discloses wherein a failure safety strategy determining device may determine an optimal failure safety strategy based on the calculated risk degree, with at least Paragraphs 0149 – 0151 of Jung disclosing wherein said action may include the alerting of a driver to being in a failure situation [i.e. a response/alarm type is determined based on the calculated risk degree/combination of abnormality and traveling state]. Examiner notes that while only one alert appears to be specifically recited, a plurality of alarm types presented based on situation severity are taught by Amin as set forth below)
execute a drive assist for the vehicle based on a level of emergency corresponding to the alarm type while monitoring a behavior of the vehicle. (Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0133 – 0136 wherein the computed final risk degree may be sorted into a risk category of low, medium, or high risk [i.e. a level of emergency corresponding to the alarm type while monitoring a behavior of the vehicle]. At least Paragraphs 0149 – 0153 of Jung disclose wherein each risk degree is associated with a failsafe action, a plurality of examples of which are provided, including the performance of deceleration control at different levels, termination of autonomous driving, and the like [i.e. to execute a drive assist for the vehicle based on the determined level of emergency)
Jung however appears to be silent regarding:
Wherein the pressure sensor is disposed inside a tire
determine an alarm type…
make a notification that is based on the determined alarm type; and
However Ichikawa teaches wherein a pressure sensor may be disposed on the inside of a tire to detect internal pressure information of the tire.
Wherein the pressure sensor is disposed inside a tire (However Ichikawa teaches in at least Paragraph 0036 wherein a sensor unit may detect internal pressure information of a tire [i.e. the sensor is a pressure sensor] and may be provided on the inner surface of a tire as taught in at least Paragraph 0037 and Figure 1 of Ichikawa, above [i.e. the pressure sensor is disposed inside the tire])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating a pressure sensor disposed inside the tire as the state detector as taught by Ichikawa.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Ichikawa in at least Paragraphs 0036, 0037, & 0039, the inner tire pressure of each tire may be reliably obtained from sensors disposed in such positions, improving the leak detection within tires, and thus improving the determination of abnormality states.
However Amin teaches wherein a plurality of different alert types may be generated based on the determined severity of the failure state of the tire and presented to the operator of the vehicle.
determine an alarm type… (However Amin teaches in at least Paragraphs 0006 & 0017 wherein the severity of a tire leak is determined and classified as either a “limp home” or “limp aside” leak, and an alert is determined based on said severity. Specifically, at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0034 of Amin teach wherein in the case of a “limp home” leak, an estimated distance/time that a tire can operate is determined and provided to the operator, whereas for a “limp aside” leak that is determined to be more severe, the operator is alerted to maneuver the vehicle to a safe location immediately before the tire becomes unusable [i.e. different alarm types are determined based on different tire leak severities, paralleling the different responses to different risk degrees determined from both the abnormality and vehicle travel status as disclosed in at least Paragraphs 0133 – 0136 & 0149 – 0153 of Jung as set forth above])
make a notification that is based on the determined alarm type; and (However Amin teaches in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0034 wherein an alert engine may be configured to provide an alert to the operator of a vehicle that a leak is detected, as well as an indication of an estimated distance/time that the tire can operate until it becomes unusable in the case of a less severe situation, or an alert to maneuver the vehicle to a safe location immediately before the tire becomes unusable in the case of a more severe situation [i.e. a notification that is based on the alarm type determined])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the determination of different alarm types based on the severity of the tire abnormality and presenting said alerts to the operator of the vehicle as taught by Amin.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Amin in at least Paragraph 0034, the severity of the leak rate situation may be more accurately responded to by the vehicle system, improving the operator notification and vehicle response to different situation severities, improving the safety of the vehicle abnormality response.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2021/0403013 A1) in view of Ichikawa (US 2024/0019328 A1) and Amin (US 2019/0023089 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Widmark (US 2023/0010882 A1) and Penzotti (US 2008/0272899 A1).
Regarding Claim 3:
The alarm type determining apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state detector is configured to detect, as the state of the tire, a load applied to the vehicle, and the abnormality state determining unit is configured to determine that the state of the tire is a first abnormality state, in a case where the load applied to the vehicle is decreased by a predetermined value or greater within a predetermined time, and determine that the state of the tire is a second abnormality state, in a case where the load applied to the vehicle is not decreased by the predetermined value or greater within the predetermined time.
Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0125, 0146, & 0206 wherein the system failure determining device may receive tire air pressure sensing information from the tire pressure management system, and process said information to determine a failure or abnormality type, if present, including a tire air pressure rapid decrease failure, however appears to be silent regarding wherein a sensor detects the load applied to the vehicle as the state of the tire, nor the determination of first and second abnormality states based on the decrease amount of the determined load.
However Amin teaches in at least Paragraph 0028 wherein a leak rate determination engine determines a tire leak rate based on a decay of the pressure of the tire over time [i.e. the air pressure of the tire is decreased by a predetermined value or greater within a predetermined time], the pressure having been determined and normalized based on the acquired sensor data as taught in at least Paragraph 0025 of Amin. At least Paragraph 0034 of Amin further teaches wherein the determined leak rate [i.e. change in pressure over a predetermined period of time] is compared to a leak rate threshold [i.e. predetermined value], in order to determine if the leak is classified as slower or faster [a second and first abnormality state, respectively], based on if the determined leak rate is less or greater than the threshold, respectively. At least Paragraphs 0034, 0035, & 0040 of Amin further teach wherein a slower leak rate may indicate less tire damage [i.e. a second abnormality state], where the tire is capable of operating while continuing to “limp home,” while a faster leak may be classified as a “limp aside” leak indicating the tire cannot continue to operate [i.e. the tire is in a first abnormality state], as a blowout is imminent, requiring the vehicle to immediately pull over. Amin however appears to be silent regarding wherein the first and second abnormality states are determined based on suspension load characteristics, as recited by the present claimed invention.
However Widmark teaches in at least Paragraphs 0011 & 0022 wherein pressure loss detection in tires may be estimated indirectly, using sensors indicative of how much a suspension system is compressed or extended, by virtue of pressure loss in a tire leading to the tilting of the vehicle chassis, and thereby a change in load of the suspension sensors [i.e. abnormality state(s) of the tire(s) are determined based on suspension loading]. Widmark further teaches in at least Paragraphs 0029 & 0030 wherein the tire pressure loss may be detected based on spatial movement of the chassis towards at least one tire, the tilting being determined based on a comparison of the current sensor readings to a reference sensor reading [i.e. a change in state]. At least Paragraph 0079 of Widmark teaches wherein the pressure loss in the tire may be assessed based on a vector magnitude exceeding a threshold value. Widmark however appears to be silent regarding a state detector configured to detect a load applied to the vehicle as the state of the tire, as recited by the present claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the detection of tire pressure loss based on changes in the vehicle suspension measured by the suspension sensors, indicative of changes in suspension loading, as taught by Widmark.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Widmark in at least Paragraph 0011, a pressure loss in a tire may be assessed without requiring the integration of a sensor into the tire, as is required with direct pressure measurement systems, simplifying the sensing apparatus required in sensing abnormality conditions of the vehicle tires.
However Penzotti teaches in at least Paragraph 0036 wherein a vehicle may include a load sensor configured to detect the pressure of a vehicle’s air suspension, in order to compute the sprung load [i.e. a state detector configured to detect as the state of the tire a load applied to the vehicle]. Penzotti further teaches in at least Paragraphs 0016 & 0020 wherein the load(s) detected by such sensor(s) may be used to predict vehicle rollover based on a reduction in the detected load [i.e. an abnormality state of the wheels].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the use of a load sensor to detect the sprung load of a vehicle suspension as taught by Penzotti.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Penzotti in at least Paragraphs 0016 & 0020, the load at a vehicle suspension may be directly monitored to assess potentially anomalous conditions such as tire lift or vehicle rollover, improving the assessment capability of such conditions without requiring installing additional sensors directly at vehicle wheels, improving the data acquisition in the vehicle system.
Together, Examiner respectfully asserts that Jung in view of Amin, Widmark, and Penzotti teach each aspect of the present claimed invention. As set forth above, Jung discloses generically wherein a vehicle abnormality may be detected through an abnormal decrease in tire pressure, but appears to be silent regarding wherein a sensor detects the load applied to the vehicle as the state of the tire, nor the determination of first and second abnormality states based on the decrease amount of the determined load. Incorporating the teachings of Amin remedies the deficiency of Jung in the determination of first and second abnormality states based on a change in tire pressure over time, with a pressure loss rate over a specific threshold indicating a more severe “first abnormality state” and a lower severity pressure loss rate indicating a “second abnormality state.” The teachings of Amin, however, appear to rely only on an ascertained pressure change, being silent with regards to determining the aforementioned abnormality states based on changes in load.
Incorporating the teachings of Widmark remedies this deficiency. Widmark teaches a system for measuring tire pressure loss based on suspension characteristics detected by vehicle suspension sensors, particularly the change in extension or compression of the suspension system of the vehicle, which indicate a change in load of the vehicle suspension. As Widmark teaches determining a change in pressure of vehicle tires based on a change in vehicle suspension characteristics, such as a change in load in the suspension sensors, measuring such a change in load in vehicle suspension may be used to estimate if a tire pressure leak rate is above or below a specified threshold, and therefore if a tire is in a first or second abnormality state as recited by the present claimed invention and as rendered obvious by the teachings of Amin. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention would have found it obvious to have determined the tire leak rates taught by Amin by measuring the change in suspension characteristics to infer the tire pressure change over time [and the rate thereof] as taught by Widmark, to determine the tire abnormality states defined by such leak rates taught by Amin, arriving at a determination of first and second abnormality states being determined when the change in suspension load is above or below a measured rate of change, respectively, corresponding to the threshold leak rate separating low and high severity leaks taught by Amin.
Widmark, however, appears to be silent in turn regarding a sensor specifically configured to detect a load applied to the vehicle, relying instead on accelerometers to measure suspension characteristics. Finally, incorporating the teachings of Penzotti incorporates the direct use of a sensor to measure suspension load, rather than relying on accelerometers to ascertain a distance deflection of the vehicle suspension to estimate load as taught by Widmark. Thus, Examiner respectfully asserts that Jung in view of Amin, Widmark, and Penzotti teaches each aspect of the present claimed invention.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2021/0403013 A1) in view of Ichikawa (US 2024/0019328 A1) and Amin (US 2019/0023089 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chunfang (EP 2818340 B1).
Regarding Claim 4:
The alarm type determining apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state detector is configured to detect, as the state of the tire, an inclination of the vehicle, and the abnormality state determining unit is configured to determine that the state of the tire is a first abnormality state, in a case where the inclination of the vehicle is increased by a predetermined value or greater within a predetermined time, and determine that the state of the tire is a second abnormality state, in a case where the inclination of the vehicle is not increased by the predetermined value or greater within the predetermined time.
Jung discloses in at least Paragraphs 0125, 0146, & 0206 wherein the system failure determining device may receive tire air pressure sensing information from the tire pressure management system, and process said information to determine a failure or abnormality type, if present, including a tire air pressure rapid decrease failure, however appears to be silent regarding wherein a sensor detects the inclination of the vehicle as the state of the tire, nor the determination of first and second abnormality states based on the increase amount of vehicle inclination.
However Chunfang teaches in at least Paragraph 0021 wherein a tire burst detection system includes a lateral tilting amount sensor configured to detect a tilting amount of the vehicle [i.e. a state detector configured to detect an inclination of the vehicle as the state of the tire]. A height reducing amount, Δhmax, is defined corresponding to the tilting amount, θmax, of the vehicle when a tire has burst [i.e. when the tire is in the first abnormality state] as further taught in at least Paragraph 0021 of Chunfang. At least Paragraph 0034 of Chunfang teaches detecting the tilting amount of the vehicle through the use of the aforementioned sensors, and the change in height Δh corresponding to the inclination amount detected is compared to a threshold [i.e. predetermined value] of 0.6*Δhmax to determine if a tire is in a burst state [i.e. first abnormality state] of merely lacks air [i.e. second abnormality state] as taught in at least Paragraphs 0045 & 0046. If the change in height measured from the inclination sensors is greater than the predetermined value of 0.6*Δhmax, the vehicle is configured to respond accordingly to a severe lack of air in the tire [i.e. for a burst condition/first abnormality condition] as taught in specifically Paragraph 0045 of Chunfang, and if the change in height is between 0 and 0.6*Δhmax, the vehicle determines that tire air is low, but does not require a severe response [i.e. the second abnormality state]. At least Paragraph 0038 point (3) of Chenfang teaches wherein the inclination height change Δh is measured over a time delay [i.e. within a predetermined time] to remove effects of road conditions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung to assess burst and low pressure states of vehicle tires with respect to the change in height of tires causing inclination in the vehicle, measured by an inclination sensor as taught by Chunfang.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Chunfang in at least Paragraphs 0045 & 0046, the state of the tires may be determined based on the effect of the tire inflation status on the vehicle body orientation, improving the assessment of tire status, including differentiating severities of tire deflation status, using information available on the pose of the vehicle.
Claim(s) 5 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pal (US 2019/0202448 A1) in view of Ichikawa (US 2024/0019328 A1) and Amin (US 2019/0023089 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Pal (US 2019/0202448 A1).
Regarding Claim 5:
The alarm type determining apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the alarm type determining unit is configured to determine that the alarm type is an emergency call, in a case where: the traveling state determining unit determines, as the traveling state of the vehicle, that a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or higher than a predetermined vehicle speed or that the vehicle travels on a limited highway; and the abnormality state determining unit determines that the state of the tire is the first abnormality state.
Jung does not appear to specifically disclose the recited alarm types based on the above recited abnormality and travelling states.
However Pal teaches in at least Paragraphs 0115 & 0116 wherein accident response actions [i.e. alarm types] to be performed are determined based on movement features [i.e. travelling states] of the vehicle as well as accident characteristics [i.e. the abnormality state]. At least Paragraph 0116 of Pal teaches a specific scenario in which a vehicular speed movement feature [i.e. a vehicle speed of the vehicle as the travelling state] is determined to exceed a threshold vehicular speed [i.e. a determination is made that a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or higher than a predetermined vehicle speed], and the accident response action is selected as an automatic contacting of emergency services [i.e. the alarm type is selected as an emergency call] accordingly, selecting instead to notify selected user contacts if below the threshold vehicle speed. Pal teaches an additional scenario in at least Paragraph 0116 wherein contacting emergency services is set as the accident response action based on a high-severity accident being detected [i.e. the state of the tire being the first abnormality state, the first abnormality state being more severe than the second as set forth above], selecting instead to only prompt the user to indicate they are safe in the low-severity accident state. Accident severity may be based in part on tire damage detected, as taught in at least Paragraphs 0151 & 0152 of Pal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the specific response of an emergency call based on a high-severity accident as taught by Pal.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Pal in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0115, notifications may be provided to the appropriate entities during emergency situations, improving the response of the vehicle to serious incidents and improving the outcomes for vehicle operators.
Regarding Claim 9:
The alarm type determining apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the alarm type determining unit is configured to: determine the alarm type as an emergency call, in response to the abnormality state of the tire being the first abnormality state and the traveling state of the vehicle indicating that a vehicle speed is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold or that the vehicle is traveling on a limited highway;
Jung does not appear to specifically disclose the recited alarm types based on the above or below recited abnormality and travelling states.
However Pal teaches in at least Paragraphs 0115 & 0116 wherein accident response actions [i.e. alarm types] to be performed are determined based on movement features [i.e. travelling states] of the vehicle as well as accident characteristics [i.e. the abnormality state]. At least Paragraph 0116 of Pal teaches a specific scenario in which a vehicular speed movement feature [i.e. a vehicle speed of the vehicle as the travelling state] is determined to exceed a threshold vehicular speed [i.e. a determination is made that a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or higher than a predetermined vehicle speed], and the accident response action is selected as an automatic contacting of emergency services [i.e. the alarm type is selected as an emergency call] accordingly, selecting instead to notify selected user contacts if below the threshold vehicle speed. Pal teaches an additional scenario in at least Paragraph 0116 wherein contacting emergency services is set as the accident response action based on a high-severity accident being detected [i.e. the state of the tire being the first abnormality state, the first abnormality state being more severe than the second as set forth above], selecting instead to only prompt the user to indicate they are safe in the low-severity accident state. Accident severity may be based in part on tire damage detected, as taught in at least Paragraphs 0151 & 0152 of Pal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the specific response of an emergency call based on a high-severity accident as taught by Pal.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Pal in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0115, notifications may be provided to the appropriate entities during emergency situations, improving the response of the vehicle to serious incidents and improving the outcomes for vehicle operators.
and determine the alarm type as a warning or a roadside assistance request, in response to the abnormality state of the tire being the second abnormality state or the traveling state of the vehicle indicating that the vehicle speed is lower than the predetermined threshold and that the vehicle is not traveling on a limited highway.
While Pal teaches in at least Paragraph 0116 wherein in the event of a low-severity accident score being detected [i.e. the second abnormality state], a user may be prompted to indicate if they are ok, this appears to differ from the presentation of a “warning” under the ordinary understanding of the term.
However Amin teaches in at least Paragraph 0017 wherein in the event of a slower tire leak rate being detected, wherein the rate of leak is above a first threshold but below a second threshold [i.e. the second abnormality state as set forth above], the operator is alerted [i.e. warned], and provided with an estimated distance/time that the tire can operate until it becomes unusable/deflated [i.e. the alarm type is a warning… in response to the abnormality state of the tire being the second abnormality state].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the presentation of a warning to a user responsive to determining the tire is experiencing a low leak rate as taught by Amin.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Amin in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0018, the operator of the vehicle may be provided with information to increase ride comfort, maneuverability, safety, efficiency, and other properties of the vehicle, improving the user awareness and operation of the vehicle based on the determination of the specific tire abnormality state.
Claim(s) 6 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2021/0403013 A1) in view of Ichikawa (US 2024/0019328 A1), Amin (US 2019/0023089 A1), Widmark (US 2023/0010882 A1) and Penzotti (US 2008/0272899 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Pal (US 2019/0202448 A1).
Regarding Claim 6:
The alarm type determining apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the alarm type determining unit is configured to determine that the alarm type is an emergency call, in a case where: the traveling state determining unit determines, as the traveling state of the vehicle, that a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or higher than a predetermined vehicle speed or that the vehicle travels on a limited highway; and the abnormality state determining unit determines that the state of the tire is the first abnormality state.
Jung does not appear to specifically disclose the recited alarm types based on the above recited abnormality and travelling states.
However Pal teaches in at least Paragraphs 0115 & 0116 wherein accident response actions [i.e. alarm types] to be performed are determined based on movement features [i.e. travelling states] of the vehicle as well as accident characteristics [i.e. the abnormality state]. At least Paragraph 0116 of Pal teaches a specific scenario in which a vehicular speed movement feature [i.e. a vehicle speed of the vehicle as the travelling state] is determined to exceed a threshold vehicular speed [i.e. a determination is made that a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or higher than a predetermined vehicle speed], and the accident response action is selected as an automatic contacting of emergency services [i.e. the alarm type is selected as an emergency call] accordingly, selecting instead to notify selected user contacts if below the threshold vehicle speed. Pal teaches an additional scenario in at least Paragraph 0116 wherein contacting emergency services is set as the accident response action based on a high-severity accident being detected [i.e. the state of the tire being the first abnormality state, the first abnormality state being more severe than the second as set forth above], selecting instead to only prompt the user to indicate they are safe in the low-severity accident state. Accident severity may be based in part on tire damage detected, as taught in at least Paragraphs 0151 & 0152 of Pal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the specific response of an emergency call based on a high-severity accident as taught by Pal.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Pal in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0115, notifications may be provided to the appropriate entities during emergency situations, improving the response of the vehicle to serious incidents and improving the outcomes for vehicle operators.
Regarding Claim 10:
The alarm type determining apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the alarm type determining unit is configured to: determine the alarm type as an emergency call, in response to the abnormality state of the tire being the first abnormality state and the traveling state of the vehicle indicating that a vehicle speed is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold or that the vehicle is traveling on a limited highway;
Jung does not appear to specifically disclose the recited alarm types based on the above recited abnormality and travelling states.
However Pal teaches in at least Paragraphs 0115 & 0116 wherein accident response actions [i.e. alarm types] to be performed are determined based on movement features [i.e. travelling states] of the vehicle as well as accident characteristics [i.e. the abnormality state]. At least Paragraph 0116 of Pal teaches a specific scenario in which a vehicular speed movement feature [i.e. a vehicle speed of the vehicle as the travelling state] is determined to exceed a threshold vehicular speed [i.e. a determination is made that a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or higher than a predetermined vehicle speed], and the accident response action is selected as an automatic contacting of emergency services [i.e. the alarm type is selected as an emergency call] accordingly, selecting instead to notify selected user contacts if below the threshold vehicle speed. Pal teaches an additional scenario in at least Paragraph 0116 wherein contacting emergency services is set as the accident response action based on a high-severity accident being detected [i.e. the state of the tire being the first abnormality state, the first abnormality state being more severe than the second as set forth above], selecting instead to only prompt the user to indicate they are safe in the low-severity accident state. Accident severity may be based in part on tire damage detected, as taught in at least Paragraphs 0151 & 0152 of Pal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the specific response of an emergency call based on a high-severity accident as taught by Pal.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Pal in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0115, notifications may be provided to the appropriate entities during emergency situations, improving the response of the vehicle to serious incidents and improving the outcomes for vehicle operators.
and determine the alarm type as a warning or a roadside assistance request, in response to the abnormality state of the tire being the second abnormality state or the traveling state of the vehicle indicating that the vehicle speed is lower than the predetermined threshold and that the vehicle is not traveling on a limited highway.
While Pal teaches in at least Paragraph 0116 wherein in the event of a low-severity accident score being detected [i.e. the second abnormality state], a user may be prompted to indicate if they are ok, this appears to differ from the presentation of a “warning” under the ordinary understanding of the term.
However Amin teaches in at least Paragraph 0017 wherein in the event of a slower tire leak rate being detected, wherein the rate of leak is above a first threshold but below a second threshold [i.e. the second abnormality state as set forth above], the operator is alerted [i.e. warned], and provided with an estimated distance/time that the tire can operate until it becomes unusable/deflated [i.e. the alarm type is a warning… in response to the abnormality state of the tire being the second abnormality state].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the presentation of a warning to a user responsive to determining the tire is experiencing a low leak rate as taught by Amin.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Amin in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0018, the operator of the vehicle may be provided with information to increase ride comfort, maneuverability, safety, efficiency, and other properties of the vehicle, improving the user awareness and operation of the vehicle based on the determination of the specific tire abnormality state.
Claim(s) 7 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pal (US 2019/0202448 A1) in view of Ichikawa (US 2024/0019328 A1), Amin (US 2019/0023089 A1), and Chunfang (EP 2818340 B1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Pal (US 2019/0202448 A1).
Regarding Claim 7:
The alarm type determining apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the alarm type determining unit is configured to determine that the alarm type is an emergency call, in a case where: the traveling state determining unit determines, as the traveling state of the vehicle, that a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or higher than a predetermined vehicle speed or that the vehicle travels on a limited highway; and the abnormality state determining unit determines that the state of the tire is the first abnormality state.
Jung does not appear to specifically disclose the recited alarm types based on the above recited abnormality and travelling states.
However Pal teaches in at least Paragraphs 0115 & 0116 wherein accident response actions [i.e. alarm types] to be performed are determined based on movement features [i.e. travelling states] of the vehicle as well as accident characteristics [i.e. the abnormality state]. At least Paragraph 0116 of Pal teaches a specific scenario in which a vehicular speed movement feature [i.e. a vehicle speed of the vehicle as the travelling state] is determined to exceed a threshold vehicular speed [i.e. a determination is made that a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or higher than a predetermined vehicle speed], and the accident response action is selected as an automatic contacting of emergency services [i.e. the alarm type is selected as an emergency call] accordingly, selecting instead to notify selected user contacts if below the threshold vehicle speed. Pal teaches an additional scenario in at least Paragraph 0116 wherein contacting emergency services is set as the accident response action based on a high-severity accident being detected [i.e. the state of the tire being the first abnormality state, the first abnormality state being more severe than the second as set forth above], selecting instead to only prompt the user to indicate they are safe in the low-severity accident state. Accident severity may be based in part on tire damage detected, as taught in at least Paragraphs 0151 & 0152 of Pal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the specific response of an emergency call based on a high-severity accident as taught by Pal.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Pal in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0115, notifications may be provided to the appropriate entities during emergency situations, improving the response of the vehicle to serious incidents and improving the outcomes for vehicle operators.
Regarding Claim 11:
The alarm type determining apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the alarm type determining unit is configured to: determine the alarm type as an emergency call, in response to the abnormality state of the tire being the first abnormality state and the traveling state of the vehicle indicating that a vehicle speed is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold or that the vehicle is traveling on a limited highway;
Jung does not appear to specifically disclose the recited alarm types based on the above recited abnormality and travelling states.
However Pal teaches in at least Paragraphs 0115 & 0116 wherein accident response actions [i.e. alarm types] to be performed are determined based on movement features [i.e. travelling states] of the vehicle as well as accident characteristics [i.e. the abnormality state]. At least Paragraph 0116 of Pal teaches a specific scenario in which a vehicular speed movement feature [i.e. a vehicle speed of the vehicle as the travelling state] is determined to exceed a threshold vehicular speed [i.e. a determination is made that a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or higher than a predetermined vehicle speed], and the accident response action is selected as an automatic contacting of emergency services [i.e. the alarm type is selected as an emergency call] accordingly, selecting instead to notify selected user contacts if below the threshold vehicle speed. Pal teaches an additional scenario in at least Paragraph 0116 wherein contacting emergency services is set as the accident response action based on a high-severity accident being detected [i.e. the state of the tire being the first abnormality state, the first abnormality state being more severe than the second as set forth above], selecting instead to only prompt the user to indicate they are safe in the low-severity accident state. Accident severity may be based in part on tire damage detected, as taught in at least Paragraphs 0151 & 0152 of Pal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Jung by incorporating the specific response of an emergency call based on a high-severity accident as taught by Pal.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Pal in at least Paragraphs 0023 & 0115, notifications may be provided to the appropriate entities during emergency situations, improving the response of the vehicle to serious incidents and improving the outcomes for vehicle operators.
and determine the alarm type as a warning or a roadside assistance request, in response to the abnormality state of the tire being the second abnormality state or the traveling state of the vehicle indicating that the vehicle speed is lower than the predetermined threshold and that the vehicle is not traveling on a limited highway.
While Pal teaches in at least Paragraph 0116 wherein in the event of a low-severity accident score being detected [i.e. the second abnormality state], a user may be prompted to indicate if they are ok, this appears to differ from the presentation of a “warning” under the ordinary understanding of the term.
However Amin teaches in at least Paragraph 0017 wherein in the event of a slower tire leak rate being detected, wherein the rate of leak is above a first threshold but below a second threshold [i.e. the second abnormality state as set forth above], the operator is alerted [i.e. warned], and provided with an estimated distance/time that the tire can operate until it becomes unusable/deflated [i.e. the alarm type is a warning… in response to the abnormality state of the tire being the second abnormality state].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Pal by incorporating the presentation of a warning to a user responsive to determining the tire is experiencing a low leak rate as taught by Amin.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Amin in at least Paragraphs 0017 & 0018, the operator of the vehicle may be provided with information to increase ride comfort, maneuverability, safety, efficiency, and other properties of the vehicle, improving the user awareness and operation of the vehicle based on the determination of the specific tire abnormality state.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Ceng (CN 108394406 A): Ceng recites an anti-rollover warning system for a vehicle based on sensed load at each vehicle suspension. A lateral load transfer rate is computed for the vehicle as a rollover judgement index, based on the estimated load at each tire. Based on the lateral load transfer rate, a warning or control action may be output by the vehicle.
Suh (US 9,079,461 B2): Suh recites a method and apparatus for determining a health condition on one or more tires of a vehicle, and determining the presence of anomalies such as slow and severe leakages. Alarms may be issued to the vehicle operator based on the health assessment of the tires.
Patnaik (US 2021/0181737 A1): Patnaik recites a system for predicting and handling tire blowouts in semi-autonomous vehicles, including the use of a vehicle model, along with detected sensor data. The likelihood that a tire will fail is ascertained, and if the likelihood of tire failure is high, the vehicle system may take preventative action such as changing a vehicle route, speed, or the like. The prediction may take place on a pre-trip basis, or during the execution of a vehicle trip, and the probability of tire blowout will be compared to a threshold level to ascertain if a corrective action should be taken.
Kim (KR 20180065833 A): Kim recites a tire life prediction and notification method, including the detection of pressure and temperature of the tire, and the prediction of the remaining usable life of the tire. Based on driver habits, detected information, and the like, a tire model may determine the prediction of remaining tire life and notify such to a user.
Hiroshi (US 2022/0222396 A1): Hiroshi recites a tire failure prediction system, including the determination of a relationship curve between vehicle speed and build-up temperature of the tire. A tire condition may be determined based on a measured value and the aforementioned curve, and a warning may be output to a user if the tire is determined to be abnormal based on the deviation.
Tedesco (US 2021/0125428 A1): Tedesco recites a vehicle monitoring system, configured to monitor and determine the state of a vehicle component, such as a tire, and alert a user to potential state such as a delamination of the tire. The system may monitor vehicle attributes, such as tire pressure, to make such determinations, and faulty sensors may be determined by comparing sensor readings between neighboring sensors to determine if any variation is present.
Asano (US 6,879,938 B2): Asano recites a tire burst prediction and alarming device, including an estimation of the ground contact state of the vehicle based on the vehicle wheel speed. A rate of change of the ground contact state estimated quantity is ascertained, and compared to a threshold to determine if the rate of change is within a predetermined range or not, and if it is outside said range, suppressing the driving force of the wheel.
Ersanilli (NPL: Automotive Tyre Fault Detection): Ersanilli recites an indirect measurement technique for fault detection in a vehicle tire system, including the modeling of tires and the determination of a function relating inputs and outputs of interest in the vehicle system. Based on signals received, tire parameters may be monitored and estimated, and failure of a tire through modes such as blow out may be predicted prior to the event occurring by use of the model.
Huang (US 11,673,579 B2): Huang recites a system for determining the presence of a faulty vehicle tire based on sensor data, as well as the determination of a remedial action to be performed by the vehicle system based on the detected fault. Remedial actions determined by the vehicle may include causing the vehicle to pull over, as well as inhibiting vehicle operation in an autonomous driving mode, including an alert being provided to the vehicle operator.
Kogure (US 6,744,355 B2): Kogure recites a system for notifying a driver to a level of danger of a tire failing based on a probability of said failure. A danger level may be assessed based on a tire running history, as well as current measurements of tire inflation pressure, and a driver may be alerted prior to the failure of the tire occurring.
Ma (CN 110203024 A): Ma recites an alarm and repair system for automobile tires, including the real-time data processing of tire use parameters and the alerting of unsafe conditions in the tire state when detected. An alarm is utilized to alert a driver to said conditions, including an excessive temperature of the tire or other form of tire failure prediction.
/CHRISTOPHER R CARDIMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661