DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the combination of all of the biomarkers recited in claim 106 in the reply filed on July 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 102-121 are currently pending.
Claims 105 and 112-121 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected subject matter (either a nonelected invention or nonelected species), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 20, 2026.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 103 is objected to over the recitation of “The memory component of claim 102, wherein the liver disease is at least one or more of nonalcoholic fatty liver (NAFL), nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH), hepatitis B, and hepatitis C”. It appears that the phrase “memory component of claim 102” should be “the method of claim 102”. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 102-104 and 106-111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception without significantly more. The claims have been evaluated using the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (see Federal Register Vol. 84, No. 4 Monday, January 7, 2019).
Step 1: The claims are directed to the statutory category of a process.
Step 2A, prong one: Evaluate Whether the Claim Recites a Judicial Exception
The instant claims recite abstract ideas.
Claim 102 recites the following limitations:
-comparing the expression levels of the one or more biomarkers in the subject sample to a level in a control sample for the same one or more biomarkers;
- receiving a result comparing the expression levels of the one or more biomarkers in the subject sample measured in (a) and in the control sample measured in (c)
-diagnosing or determining the prognosis of the liver disease based on the compared expression of the one or more biomarkers in the subject sample as compared to the control sample determined by the memory component;
The “comparing” step broadly encompasses a mental process. The “comparing” step encompasses the user of the method reading a laboratory report containing the expression level of the biomarkers in the subject sample and a control sample and thinking about if the expression level of the biomarkers in the subject sample are greater than or less than the control sample.
The “receiving” step broadly encompasses a mental process. For example one could receive a result by discussing the result of the comparison with a colleague.
The “diagnosing or determining the prognosis” step broadly encompasses a mental processes. For example, one may diagnose or determine the prognosis of the liver disease by thinking about the results of the comparison of biomarker levels.
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) states that claims recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Examples of claims that recite mental processes include:
a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
claims to “comparing BRCA sequences and determining the existence of alterations,” where the claims cover any way of comparing BRCA sequences such that the comparison steps can practically be performed in the human mind, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 763, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1246 (Fed. Cir. 2014);
a claim to collecting and comparing known information (claim 1), which are steps that can be practically performed in the human mind, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1067, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 2011)
To the extent that the diagnosing step uses a memory component comprising a computer executable program, the use of a generic computer or software program to implement an abstract idea does not itself impart patent eligibility.
As stated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III “The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation” and that “Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer.” (Emphasis added).
Herein, the use of a generic computer to perform functions does not constitute something more than an abstract idea.
The instant claims recite a law of nature.
The claims recite a correlation between biomarkers (such as those disclosed in claim 106) and liver disease. This type of correlation is a consequence of natural processes, similar to the naturally occurring correlation found to be a law of nature by the Supreme Court in Mayo.
Step 2A, prong two: Evaluate Whether the Judicial Exception Is Integrated Into a Practical Application
The claims do NOT recite additional steps or elements that integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application of the exception(s). For example, the claims do not practically apply the judicial exception by including one or more additional elements that the courts have stated integrate the exception into a practical application:
An additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
An additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
An additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
An additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
An additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological
environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Claim 102 recites a step of providing a treatment plan for the subject having liver disease based on the diagnosis or prognosis. It is noted that a claim limitation can integrate a judicial exception by applying or using the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. However the treatment or prophylaxis limitation must be “particular”, i.e., specifically identified so that it does not encompass all applications of the judicial exceptions. Here the “treatment plan” is not particular, and is instead merely instructions to “apply” the exception in a generic way. Thus, the step of providing a treatment plan does not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application.
In addition to the judicial exceptions claim 102 recites “measuring” expression levels of one or more biomarkers in a sample from the subject and “receiving” the expression levels of the one or more biomarkers in the subject sample with a memory component comprising a computer-executable program. These steps are not considered to integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because they merely add insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering) to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: Evaluate Whether the Claim Provides an Inventive Concept
In addition to the judicial exceptions claim 102 recites “measuring” expression levels of one or more biomarkers in a sample from the subject and “receiving” the expression levels of the one or more biomarkers in the subject sample with a memory component comprising a computer-executable program. These steps do not amount to significantly more because they simply append well understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known in the art, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exceptions.
In the instant case the teachings in the specification demonstrate the well understood, routine, conventional nature of additional elements because it teaches that the additional elements are well known or commercially available. For example the specification teaches the following:
[0091] According to some embodiments, the amount of biomarkers can be determined by using, for example, a reagent that specifically binds with the biomarker protein or a fragment thereof, (e.g., an antibody, a fragment of an antibody, or an antibody derivative). The level of expression can be determined using a method common in the art such as proteomics, flow cytometry, immunocytochemistry, immunohistochemistry, enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay, multi-channel enzyme linked immunosorbent assay, and variations thereof. The expression level of a biomarker in the biological sample can also be determined by detecting the level of expression of a transcribed biomarker polynucleotide or fragment thereof encoded by a biomarker gene, which may be cDNA, mRNA or heterogeneous nuclear RNA (hnRNA). The step of detecting can include amplifying the transcribed biomarker polynucleotide, and can use the method of quantitative reverse transcriptase polymerase chain reaction. The expression level of a biomarker can be assessed by detecting the presence of the transcribed biomarker polynucleotide or a fragment thereof in a sample with a probe which anneals with the transcribed biomarker polynucleotide or fragment thereof under stringent hybridization conditions.
Additionally the prior art of Elias (US 2016/0139149 May 19, 2016) as discussed in the 102 rejection set forth below provides evidence that the additional elements are well known.
Further it is noted that the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352, 1362, 123 USPQ2d 1081, 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
Using polymerase chain reaction to amplify and detect DNA, Genetic Techs. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc. v. Sequenom, Inc., 788 F.3d 1371, 1377, 115 USPQ2d 1152, 1157 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
Detecting DNA or enzymes in a sample, Sequenom, 788 F.3d at 1377-78, 115 USPQ2d at 1157); Cleveland Clinic Foundation 859 F.3d at 1362, 123 USPQ2d at 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
Immunizing a patient against a disease, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1063, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1497 (Fed. Cir. 2011);
Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
Freezing and thawing cells, Rapid Litig. Mgmt. 827 F.3d at 1051, 119 USPQ2d at 1375;
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
For the reasons set forth above the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 102-104 and 107-111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to a method for diagnosing or determining a prognosis of a liver disease. The claims recite steps of “measuring” expression levels of biomarkers and “diagnosing or determining the prognosis” of the liver disease based on the expression of the biomarkers in the subject compared to a control.
In the instant case, the claims do not set forth the biomarkers in terms of sufficient relevant identifying characteristics. The claims encompass measuring a large genus of biomarkers (nucleic acids and proteins) that have been identified only in terms of their function.
The size of the genus is further expanded by the fact that the claims encompass biomarkers of ANY type of liver disease (hepatitis, hepatocellular carcinoma, alcohol-associated liver disease, NAFL, NASH, Wilson’s disease, etc. ). The identity of biomarkers associated with one type of liver disease (such as hepatitis) is expected to be different than the biomarkers associated with other types of liver disease (such as hepatocellular carcinoma).
The specification (para 0080) teaches that Table 1A lists mRNAs of interest for detecting nonalcoholic fatty liver (NAFL). Levels of more than one of the mRNAs can be compared in a test patient to normal levels (i.e. those of subjects with healthy livers). These biomarkers are particularly beneficial for early screening of a liver disease. Similarly, corresponding proteins can be measured and used as biomarkers. Corresponding proteins are listed in Table 1B.
The specification (para 0086) teaches that Table 2A lists mRNAs of particular interest for diagnosing nonalcoholic fatty liver (NAFL) in comparison to non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH). Similarly, corresponding proteins can be measured and used as biomarkers. Corresponding proteins are listed in Table 2B.
The specification (para 0087) teaches that Table 3A lists mRNAs of interest for diagnosing NASH. Levels of more than one of the mRNAs can be compared in a test patient to normal levels (i.e. those of subjects with healthy livers). Similarly, corresponding proteins can be measured and used as biomarkers. Corresponding proteins are listed in Table 3B.
The specification (para 0088) teaches that Table 4 lists miRNAs of particular interest for diagnosing NASH, Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C based on a comparison of levels in a healthy liver.
The specification provides written description for the biomarkers discloses in Tables 2-4. The specification does not describe any other species within the claimed genus to show possession of those species.
Regarding the genus of biomarkers correlated with liver disease, the specification does not describe any structural features of the disclosed liver disease biomarkers that would have been expected to be shared by members of the claimed genus. The specification does not describe any physical and/or chemical characteristics of the disclosed liver disease biomarkers that would be expected to be shared by members of the claimed genus. All members of the genus have the same function, i.e., they are associated with liver disease, but no correlation between their structure and this common function is disclosed. The level of knowledge and skill in the art does not allow those skilled in the art to structurally envisage or recognize additional members of the claimed genus. Because the structure of the species within the claimed genus is expected to vary unpredictably from the structure of the liver disease biomarkers disclosed in the specification, the disclosed biomarkers are not a “representative number” of species within the claimed genus.
Because the liver disease biomarkers are not representative of the entire claimed genus, and the specification does not disclose structural features shared by members of the genus, the description of the liver disease biomarkers would not have put the applicant in possession of common structural attributes or features shared by members of the genus that structurally distinguish the members of the genus from non-members of the genus at the time of filing. Thus the description of liver disease biomarkers is not sufficient to describe the claimed genus of liver disease biomarkers. Accordingly, the specification does not provide a representative number of species or sufficient common structural features to show that the applicant would have been in possession at the claimed genus as a whole at the time of filing.
7. Claims 102-104 and 106-111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Scope of the Claims/Nature of the Invention
The claims are drawn to a method of diagnosing or determining a prognosis of a liver disease in a subject. In view of the recitation of the phrase “liver disease” the claims broadly encompass ANY type of liver disease (i.e., hepatitis, hepatocellular carcinoma, alcohol-associated liver disease, NAFL, NASH, Wilson’s disease, etc. ). Only claims 103 and 104 are limited to specific liver disease. In view of the recitation of “prognosis” the claims broadly encompass ANY prognostic factor (i.e., overall survival rate, reversibility, response to treatment, time to death, etc.). In view of the recitation of “subject”, the claims broadly encompass both human and non-human subjects.
The claims recite a first step of measuring expression levels of one or more biomarkers in a sample from the subject. In view of the recitation of “expression levels”, the claims encompass measuring RNA levels and protein levels. In view of the recitation of “sample”, the claims broadly encompass measuring expression in ANY type of sample (blood, liver, urine, hair, buccal cells).
The claims recite a second step of receiving the expression levels of the one or more biomarkers in the subject sample with a memory component comprising a computer-executable program.
The claims recite a third step of comparing the expression levels of the one or more biomarkers in the subject sample to a level in a control sample for the same one or more biomarkers. In view of the recitation of “control sample” the claims broadly encompass ANY control sample. For example the control sample could be ANY sample type obtained from ANY subject (a healthy subject, a subject with liver cancer, an alcoholic, etc.).
The claims recite a fourth step of receiving a result comparing the expression levels of the one or more biomarkers in the subject sample measured in (a) and in the control sample measured in (c).
The claims recite a fifth step of diagnosing or determining the prognosis of the liver disease based on the compared expression of the one or more biomarkers in the subject sample as compared to the control sample determined by the memory component. In the instant case, the claims do not set forth the biomarkers that are correlated with liver disease in terms of sufficient relevant identifying characteristics. The claims encompass measuring a large genus of biomarkers (nucleic acids and proteins) that have been identified only in terms of their function. Only claim 106 is limited to specific biomarkers. Further the claims do not state if the biomarkers are increased or decreased in comparison to the control.
The claims recite a final step of providing a treatment plan for the subject having liver disease based on the diagnosis or prognosis determined in (e).
The nature of the invention requires a reliable correlation between the expression level of ANY biomarker (nucleic acid or proteins) in ANY sample type obtained from ANY subject and ANY type of liver disease.
Teachings in the Specification and Examples
The specification (para 0080) teaches that Table 1A lists mRNAs of interest for detecting nonalcoholic fatty liver (NAFL). Levels of more than one of the mRNAs can be compared in a test patient to normal levels (i.e. those of subjects with healthy livers). These biomarkers are particularly beneficial for early screening of a liver disease. Similarly, corresponding proteins can be measured and used as biomarkers. Corresponding proteins are listed in Table 1B.
The specification (para 0086) teaches that Table 2A lists mRNAs of particular interest for diagnosing nonalcoholic fatty liver (NAFL) in comparison to non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH). Similarly, corresponding proteins can be measured and used as biomarkers. Corresponding proteins are listed in Table 2B.
The specification (para 0087) teaches that Table 3A lists mRNAs of interest for diagnosing NASH. Levels of more than one of the mRNAs can be compared in a test patient to normal levels (i.e. those of subjects with healthy livers). Similarly, corresponding proteins can be measured and used as biomarkers. Corresponding proteins are listed in Table 3B.
The specification (para 0088) teaches that Table 4 lists miRNAs of particular interest for diagnosing NASH, Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C based on a comparison of levels in a healthy liver.
State of the Art and the Unpredictability of the Art
While methods of measuring biomarkers (i.e., nucleic acids and proteins) are known in the art, methods of correlating biomarkers with a phenotype (such as liver disease) are highly unpredictable. The unpredictability will be discussed below.
The claims require “diagnosing or determining the prognosis” of liver disease based on the expression level of one or more biomarkers. The claims do not set forth the biomarkers in terms of sufficient relevant identifying characteristics. The claims encompass measuring a large genus of biomarkers (nucleic acids including mRNA, siRNA, sRNA, microRNA, tRNA, rRNA, etc. and protein) that have been identified only in terms of their function. While the specification discloses biomarkers in Tables 1-4, the specification does not describe any structural features of these markers that would have been expected to be shared by the members of the claimed genus. The specification does not describe any physical and/or chemical characteristics of these markers that would have been expected to be shared by the members of the claimed genus. All members of the genus have the same function i.e., they are correlated with liver disease, but no correlation between their structure and this common function is disclosed. The level of knowledge and skill in the art does not allow those skilled in the art to structurally envision or recognize additional members of the claimed genus. Because the structure of the species which the claimed genus is expected to vary unpredictably from the structure of the disclosed liver biomarkers, the specification does not provide enablement for the use of ANY liver disease biomarker.
The claims are drawn to a method of diagnosing ANY liver disease (i.e., (i.e., hepatitis, hepatocellular carcinoma, alcohol-associated liver disease, NAFL, NASH, Wilson’s disease, etc.) based on the detection of a biomarker. The specification does not support the breadth of the claims because it only teaches biomarkers that are differentially expressed between NAFL and healthy subjects, NAFL and NASH, NASH and healthy subjects. In the instant case it is highly unpredictable what biomarkers would be differentially expressed in other types of liver disease.
The claims are drawn to a method of prognosing liver disease. In view of the recitation of “prognosis” the claims broadly encompass ANY prognostic factor (i.e., overall survival rate, reversibility, response to treatment, time to death, etc.). This breadth is not supported by the specification because the specification does not disclose a single biomarker which is correlated with any of these prognostic factors.
Regarding the biomarkers that are disclosed in Tables 1-4 the specification teaches that they are differentially expressed between NAFL and healthy subjects, NAFL and NASH, NASH and healthy subjects. However it is relevant to note that there is no data in the specification showing the expression level of the biomarkers in these groups of subjects. Further the specification does not teach whether the genes that are correlated with liver disease are over expressed or under expressed.
It is highly unpredictable if the claimed method can be practiced using ANY control. As discussed above the claims do not set forth what the control is and broadly encompass any sample type from any subject. However the biomarkers in the specification are disclosed as being differentially expressed between specific groups of subjects. For example Table 1 discloses biomarkers that are differentially expressed between NAFL and healthy subjects. It its highly unpredictable if these NAFL biomarkers will also be differentially expressed between subjects with NAFL and other types of liver disease.
Additionally it is relevant to point out the unpredictability as to whether or not a measure of RNA expression is indicative of the level of protein in a sample. Chan (G&P magazine 2006 Vol 6 No 3 pages 20-26). teaches that cells have elaborate regulatory mechanisms at the level of transcription, post-transcription, and post-translation (p.1, last paragraph), and that transcript and protein abundance measurements may not be concordant (p.3, sixth full paragraph). Thus it is unpredictable as to whether or not any results pertaining to RNA expression would be applicable to methods requiring or encompassing the analysis of protein expression.
Because the claims broadly encompass both human and non-human subjects it is relevant to point out that Coleman (Drug Discovery Today. 2003. 8: 233-235) found that gene expression patterns between mice and humans shared some degree of similarity, but that the basic patterns of gene expression differed and that there was no general rule for predicting gene expression (page 234). Coleman concluded that ‘(t)he validity of mouse or other animal species as a human surrogate should not be assumed.” These teachings of Coleman support the finding that there is no predictable means for determining whether an expression profile obtained in a human will be identical to that in the diverse genus of non-human subjects encompassed by the claims.
The claims broadly encompass a method of measuring expression in ANY type of biological sample. However, the prior art of Whitehead (Genome Biology 2005 Vol 6 Issue 2 Article R13) teaches that variation in gene expression is extensive among tissues (abstract). Even if the biomarkers discloses in the specification are differentially expressed in liver tissue, it is highly unpredictable if they will also be differentially expressed in other sample types encompassed by the claims. There is no analysis in the specification on the level of the biomarkers in a representative number of different sample types. Thus in the absence of evidence to the contrary it is highly unpredictable which sample types will be useful in the claimed method and which will not work.
Quantity of Experimentation:
The quantity of experimentation necessary is great, on the order of many man-years, and then with little if any reasonable expectation of successfully enabling the full scope of the claims. In support of this position, it is noted that the claimed methods encompass being able to diagnose/prognose ANY type of liver disease based on the detection of any biomarker in any sample from any subject organism.
In order to practice the breadth of the claimed invention one of skill in the art would first have to recruit a large number of human and non-human patients which have different types of liver disease. Then multiple sample types would need to be obtained from those subjects and analysis of nucleic acids and proteins would have to be performed. Then all the data would have to be analyzed to determine which nucleic acids/proteins are differentially expressed between different groups of patients. The specification has merely provided an invitation for further experimentation. The results of such experimentation are highly unpredictable.
The amount of experimentation that would be required to practice the full scope of the claimed invention and the amount of time and cost this experimentation would take supports the position that such experimentation is undue. Attention is directed to Wyeth v. Abbott Laboratories 107 USPQ2d 1273, 1275, 1276 (Fed. Cir. June 2013):
Claims are not enabled when, at the effective filing date of the patent, one of ordinary skill in the art could not practice their full scope without undue experimentation. MagSil Corp. v. Hitachi Global Storage Techs., Inc., 687 F.3d 1377, 1380-81 [103 USPQ2d 1769] (Fed. Cir. 2012).
The remaining question is whether having to synthesize and screen each of at least tens of thousands of candidate compounds constitutes undue experimentation. We hold that it does. Undue experimentation is a matter of degree. Chiron Corp. v. Genentech, Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1253 [70 USPQ2d 1321] (Fed. Cir. 2004) (internal quotation omitted). Even “a considerable amount of experimentation is permissible,” as long as it is “merely routine” or the specification “provides a reasonable amount of guidance” regarding the direction of experimentation. Johns Hopkins Univ. v. CellPro, Inc., 152 F.3d 1342, 1360-61 [47 USPQ2d 1705] (Fed. Cir. 1998) (internal quotation omitted). Yet, routine experimentation is “not without bounds.” Cephalon, Inc. v. Watson Pharm., Inc., 707 F.3d 1330, 1339 [105 USPQ2d 1817] (Fed. Cir. 2013). (Emphasis added)
In Cephalon, although we ultimately reversed a finding of nonenablement, we noted that the defendant had not established that required experimentation “would be excessive, e.g., that it would involve testing for an unreasonable length of time.” 707 F.3d at 1339 (citing White Consol. Indus., Inc. v. Vega Servo-Control, Inc., 713 F.2d 788, 791 [218 USPQ 961] (Fed. Cir. 1983)). Finally, in In re Vaeck, we affirmed the PTO's nonenablement rejection of claims reciting heterologous gene expression in as many as 150 genera of cyanobacteria. 947 F.2d 488, 495-96 [20 USPQ2d 1438] (Fed. Cir. 1991). The specification disclosed only nine genera, despite cyanobacteria being a “diverse and relatively poorly understood group of microorganisms,” with unpredictable heterologous gene expression. Id. at 496. (Emphasis added)
Additionally, attention is directed to Cephalon at 1823, citing White Consol. Indus., Inc. v. Vega Servo-Control, Inc., 218 USPQ 961, that work that would require 18 months to 2 years so to enable the full scope of an invention, even if routine, would constitute undue experimentation. As stated therein:
Permissible experimentation is, nevertheless, not without bounds. This court has held that experimentation was unreasonable, for example, where it was found that eighteen months to two years’ work was required to practice the patented invention. See, e.g., White Consol. Indus., Inc. v. Vega Servo-Control, Inc., 713 F.2d 788, 791 [218 USPQ 961] Fed. Cir.1983). (Emphasis added)
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2164.06(b) and In re Vaeck, 20 USPQ2d 1438, 1445 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Where, as here, a claimed genus represents a diverse and relatively poorly understood group of microorganisms, the required level of disclosure will be greater than, for example, the disclosure of an invention involving a “predictable” factor such as a mechanical or electrical element. See Fisher, 427 F.2d at 839, 166 USPQ at 24.
In view of such legal precedence, the aspect of having to work for so many years just to provide the starting materials for minute fraction of the scope of the claimed invention is deemed to constitute both an unreasonable length of time and undue experimentation.
Conclusions:
Herein, although the level of skill in the art is high, given the lack of disclosure in the specification and in the prior art and the unpredictability of the art, it would require undue experimentation for one of skill in the art to make and use the invention as broadly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 102, 103, and 107-109 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elias (US 2016/0139149 May 19, 2016).
Regarding Claim 102 Elias teaches a method of distinguishing nonalcoholic steatohepatitis from nonalcoholic fatty liver disease, the method comprising: (1) assaying, in a sample obtained from a subject, a level of CHI3L1; (2) comparing the level of CHI3L1 with a reference level; and (3) identifying the subject as (a) having nonalcoholic steatohepatitis and not nonalcoholic fatty liver disease if the level of CHI3L1 is above the reference level, or (b) not having nonalcoholic steatohepatitis if the level of CHI3L1 is at or below the reference level (para 0009). Elias further discloses a system comprising: (a) at least one memory containing at least one computer program adapted to control the operation of the computer system to implement a method that includes a measuring module configured to measure the level of CHI3L1 in a test sample obtained from a subject; a storage module configured to store output data from the determination module; a comparison module adapted to compare the data stored on the storage module with a reference level, and to provide a retrieved content, and a display module for displaying whether the sample comprises a level of CHI3L1 which is significantly increased relative to the reference expression level and/or displaying the relative level of CHI3L and (b) at least one processor for executing the computer program (Figs 7, 8, pars 0112). Additionally Elias teaches a method of treating NASH by administering a CHI3L1 inhibitor (para 0016). Thus Elias teaches a method of diagnosing a liver disease (NASH) in a subject, the method comprising: (a) measuring expression levels of a biomarker (CHI3L1) in a sample from the subject; (b) receiving the expression level of the biomarker in the subject sample with a memory component comprising a computer-executable program; (c) comparing the expression level of the biomarker in the subject sample to a level in a control sample for the same biomarker; (d) receiving a result comparing the expression level of the biomarker in the subject sample measured in (a) and in the control sample measured in (c); (e) diagnosing the liver disease based on the compared expression of the biomarker in the subject sample as compared to the control sample determined by the memory component; and (f) providing a treatment plan for the subject having liver disease.
Regarding Claim 103 Elias teaches a method wherein the liver disease is NASH (abstract).
Regarding Claim 107 Elias teaches a method wherein the computer-executable program comprises a processing module and an analysis module (para 0119).
Regarding Claim 108 Elias teaches a method wherein the processing module comprises an algorithm for measuring the expression level of the biomarker in the sample (para 0124).
Regarding Claim 109 Elias teaches a method wherein the analysis module comprises an algorithm for comparing the expression levels of the one or more biomarkers in the subject sample relative to the expression of the same biomarker in the control sample (para 0124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 104 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elias (US 2016/0139149 May 19, 2016) in view of Pearce (Biomarker Research 2013 Vol 1 No 7).
The teachings of Elias are presented above.
Elias does not teach a method wherein the biomarker is for a NAFL stage.
However Pearce teaches biomarkers for NAFL. Pearce teaches that PTX3 had a good performance in distinguishing stage 3–4 from stage 0–2 NAFL (page 3, col 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Elias by additionally measuring the level of PTX3 as suggested by Pearce. In the instant case Elias teaches that CHI3L1 levels can be used to differentiate between NASH and NAFL. Pearce teaches that PTX3 levels can be used to differentiate between early and late stages of NAFL. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to detect both of these markers for the benefit of being able to further determine the stage of NAFL in instances where NAFL is diagnosed based on the level of CHI3L1.
11. Claims 106, 110, and 111 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elias (US 2016/0139149 May 19, 2016) in view of Zhang (Journal of Hepatology 2014 vol 61 1365-1375).
The teachings of Elias are presented above.
Elias does not teach a method wherein one of the biomarkers is CXCL10 (clm 106). Elias does not teach a method wherein there are at least two biomarkers (clm 110). Elias does not teach a method wherein there are no more than two biomarkers (clm 111).
However Zhang teaches that circulating and hepatic levels of CXCL10 are significantly higher in human NASH. Circulating CXCL10 levels are correlated with the degree of lobular inflammation and an independent risk factor for NASH patients (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Elias by additionally measuring the level of CXCL10 as suggested by Zhang. In the instant case both Elias and Zhang teach biomarkers for detecting NASH. Elias teaches that CHI3L1 levels are correlated with NASH. Zhang teaches that CXCL10 levels are correlated with NASH. Since both of these biomarkers for NASH were known in the prior art, the skilled artisan could have performed an assay to measure both of them and the combination of biomarkers would have yielded predictable results (being able to diagnose NASH) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Further it would have been obvious to use at least two biomarkers (or no more than two biomarkers) in a method for diagnosing NASH since the use of panels of biomarkers were conventional in the art at the time of the invention.
Improper Markush Grouping Rejection
12. Claim 106 is rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The claims recite the following Markush group:
wherein the one or more biomarkers comprise:
(a) mRNAs encoded by the genes ARNTL, SPART, EFR3A, LOC642846, FOPNL, KCNK2, VIT, LYSMD3, MYSM1,ING3, SRPX2, PISD, FGF1, and/or FGFR2;
(b) mRNAs encoded by the genes TFAp4, ZFAND2A, PLK2, TMED3, AKR1B10, PROK2, NCF4, GALC, and/or SLITRK4; or
(c) mRNAs encoded by the genes CACHD1, CD2 molecule, transcript variant 2, chr14:101798302-101801206, ENO3 gene, chr2:151026010-151157594, VIL1 gene, chr12:88210263-88211608, chr7:89796904-89870091, apolipoprotein F (APOF), chr1:164608802-164608908, chr16:31366509-31394318, C-X-C motif chemokine ligand 10 (CXCL10), nudixhydrolase 13 (NUDT13), transcript variant 1, Rap guanine nucleotide exchange factor like 1 (RAPGEFL1), transcript variant 3, SH2 domain containing lA (SH2D1A), transcript variant 1, chr10:69556048-69597937, chr18:32073254-32471808, sex hormone binding globulin (SHBG), transcript variant 1, Prame Family Member 17 (PRAMEF17), RCAN Family Member 3, (RCAN3), G Protein-Coupled Receptor 89A (GPR89A), Olfactory Receptor Family 8 Subfamily B Member 8 (OR8B8), Tetraspanin3 (TSPAN3), GRB2 Associated Regulator of MAPK1 Subtype 1 (GAREMI), Activin A Receptor Type 1C (ACVR1C), Apolipoprotein L3 (APOL3), Ubiquitin D (FAT10), Solute Carrier Family 16 Member 14 (SLC16A14), Family with Sequence Similarity 9 Member B (FAM9B), Interphotoreceptor Matrix Proteoglycan 1(IMPG1), C-X-C Motif Chemokine Ligand 9 (CXCL9), SET And MYND Domain Containing 2 (SMYD2), Rho GTPase Activating Protein 30 (ARHGAP30), SLAM Family Member 7 (SLAMF7), Myosin IXB (MYO9B), CD52 molecule (CD52), and/or Macrophage Scavenger Receptor 1 (MSR1).
The Markush grouping is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
MPEP 2117(II) states that “A Markush claim may be rejected under judicially approved “improper Markush grouping” principles when the claim contains an improper grouping of alternatively useable members. A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if either: (1) the members of the Markush group do not share a “single structural similarity” or (2) the members do not share a common use. Supplementary Guidelines at 7166 (citing In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22, 206 USPQ 300, 305 (CCPA 1980)).
MPEP 2117(II) further state that alternatives (1) share a “single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class and (2) share a common function or use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent in the context of the claimed invention.
MPEP § 2117(II)(A) states that “A recognized physical class, a recognized chemical class, or an art-recognized class is a class wherein “there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved”. For example, in the context of a claim covering a disposable diaper, a limitation "the fastener selected from the group consisting of a pressure sensitive adhesive and complementary release material, a complementary hook and loop structure, a snap, and a buckle" would likely be considered an art recognized class because a review of the prior art would establish that it was well known that each member could be substituted for each other with the expectation that the intended result (repositionable and refastenable) would occur.
Herein the members of the Markush grouping are all mRNAs. These do not belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class because there is no expectation from the art that each of the recited mRNAs would function in the same way in the claimed method. It is only in the context of this specification that it was disclosed that all members of this group may behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. There is no evidence on the record that supports that a review of the prior art would establish that it was well known that the mRNAs could be substituted for each other with the expectation that the intended result (diagnosis or prognosis of liver disease) would occur.
MPEP § 2117(II)(B) states that “Where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as explained in subsection IIA above, the members of the Markush grouping may still be considered to be proper where the alternatives share a substantial structure feature that is essential to a common use.
Again the members of the Markush grouping are all mRNAs. While they are all made up of nucleic acids, the structure of comprising nucleic acids is not essential to any asserted common use.
The mRNAs are all recited in a method of diagnosing or determining a prognosis of liver disease. The specification teaches that the genes recited in Table 1A (which correspond to the mRNA’s in part (a)) are capable of distinguishing between NAFL and healthy liver. The genes recited in Table 2A (which correspond to mRNA’s in part (b)) are capable of distinguishing between NAFL and NASH. The genes listed in Table 3A (which correspond to the mRNAs in part (c)) are capable of distinguishing between NASH and healthy liver. Thus, the genes in parts (a-c) do not share a common function or use because they are disclosed in the specification of having different functions.
This rejection may be overcome by amending claim 106 so that it no longer recites genes in the alternative i.e., “wherein the biomarkers comprise each of ARNTL, SPART, EFR3A…”.
/AMANDA HANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682