DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-15 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 2/28/23.
Claims 1-15 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 62/28/23 and 10/25/24 have been acknowledged.
4. The oaths filed on 2/28/23 and 6/3/24 have been acknowledged.
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
7. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Note the explanation given by the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ2d 2031, 2033 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989), as to where broad language is followed by "such as" and then narrow language. The Board stated that this can render a claim indefinite by raising a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Note also, for example, the decisions of Ex parte Steigewald, 131 USPQ 74 (Bd. App. 1961); Ex parte Hall, 83 USPQ 38 (Bd. App. 1948); and Ex parte Hasche, 86 USPQ 481 (Bd. App. 1949). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation of antibody concentration between 100mg/ml to about 225 mg/ml and the claim also recites 175-195mg/ml which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
9. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of treating an atypical hemolytic syndrome (aHUS) and renel condition of lupus nephritis comprising administering MASP antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:2-5, 10-50mM of citrate or histidine, 200-300mM of arginine and surfactant of 0.01-0.1% polysorbate at pH 5-7 does not reasonably provide enablement for more.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use of the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The specification does not enable one of skill in the art to practice the invention as claimed without undue experimentation. Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required to practice the claimed invention are summarized In re Wands (858 F2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir.1988)). The factors most relevant to this rejection are the scope of the claim, the amount of direction or guidance provided, the lack of sufficient working examples, the unpredictability in the art and the amount of experimentation required to enable one of the skilled in the art to practice the claimed invention.
There is insufficient guidance in the specification as filed as to how the skilled artisan would make and use MASP antibody formulation that treats all or any of MASP dependent complement associated disease or disorder set forth in claims 11-15 other than aHUS and lupus nephritis.
Although Examples 1-4 exhibit stability studies of MASP antibody comprising various excipients, other than aHUS and/or renal disorder, no treatment method or regimen comprising antibody are disclosed.
U.S. Pub. 2015/0166676 (IDS reference) discloses or suggests treatment of aHUS comprising MASP2 antibody or OMS646 antibody. As such, given that the stabilizing effect for the excipient cannot be extrapolated any of MASP dependent complement associated disease or disorder set forth in claims 11-15 other than aHUS and lupus nephritis encompassed by the claimed invention.
The specification fails to provide sufficient guidance to direct a person of skilled in the art to make and achieve the intended use of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. It is unpredictable to develop antibody formulation and one exemplary formulation disclosed in the example cannot be extrapolated to various formulations encompassed by the claimed invention.
To summarize, reasonable correlation must exist between the scope of the claims and scope of the enablement set forth. In view or the quantity of experimentation necessary, the limited working example, the unpredictability of the art, the lack of sufficient guidance in the specification, and the breath of the claims, it would take undue trials and errors to practice the claimed invention.
12. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2015/0166676 (IDS reference) in view of U.S. Pub. 2014/0341885 (IDS reference).
The ‘676 publication teaches methods of treat MASP-2 (mannan binding lectin associated serine protease-2) dependent complement associated disease or disorder comprising the MASP-2 antibody set forth in the claimed SEQ ID NO:2-5 ([0037, 112], Fig 53-57, p. 5-10, note SEQ ID NO:67 and 70). The claimed SEQ ID NO:2-3 is OMS646 and shares the identical sequences with SEQ ID Nos:67 and 70, respectively. The ‘676 publication also discloses that the pharmaceutical formulations are suitable for various routes of administrations including subcutaneous and the article of manufacture comprising the formulations and the treatment of IgA nephropathy, lupus nephritis, renal disorder and aHUS (p. 14, 26-30).
The disclosure of the ‘676 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of citrate or histidine buffer, antibody concentrations of 50-250mg/ml and the formulation is being hypertonic as in claim 1 of the instant application and the limitations of the dependent claims thereof.
The ‘885 publication teaches the use of the sodium citrate or histidine buffer at 5-50mM ([0015-0017]) at pH 6-7 with the antibody concentrations of 150-200mg/ml as in claims 2, 8,11 and 26. Further, the ‘885 publication teaches addition of glutamate and/or arginine at about 175mM ([0012]) readable upon claims 18-24 and 27. The term “about” includes +/- 10% and readable upon about 200mM of claim 27 of the instant application.
Moreover, the ‘885 publication discloses addition of surfactant in forms of polysorbate or poloxamer ([0079, 0118]) as in claims 30-33 and the formulations are stable at least 1 year at 2-8oC ([0123]). Further, the ‘885 publication teaches that the viscosity can be lowered by the addition of histidine and arginine and the formulation is being hypertonic ([131-133]).
In addition, the ‘885 publication discloses formulation of the antibody in the pre-measured injector and the set volume of high concentration in less than 2ml ([164], [0141]) as in claims 60-66 and the packages of the antibody formulation may vary with the dose and the regimen ([141-143]). Claims 51, 52, 58 and 75 reciting specific concentrations of excipients are included in this rejection as the ‘885 publication discloses the antibody formulation comprises about 160mg/ml antibody, about 10-50mM citrate and/or histidine at pH 6, about 200mM amino acid readable upon glutamate or arginine and 0.1% of polysorbate ([0138-140]).
The antibody formulation of the ‘885 publication is suitable to co-formulate with various antibodies for various regimen and treatment purpose ([0169-0183]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use citrate/histidine buffer, glutamate and/or arginine in the presence of polysorbate at pH about 6 or other manufacturing conditions as set forth in claims 1-15 at the claimed concentration as taught by the ‘885 publication into the MASP-2 formulation taught by the ‘676 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because use of such buffer, excipients improve stability of antibody formulation by reducing formation of aggregates and improve viscosity. Further, using the packaging or delivery conditions already known for one antibody is easily applicable for another is convenient to serve.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
14. Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Pat.11525011, 11981749 and 12351648 each in view of U.S. Pub. 2014/0341885 (IDS reference).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the above mentioned patents recite treatment of MASP-2 dependent complement associated diseases comprising the MASP-2 antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:2-5 that is identical to the patented SEQ ID NO:67 and 70.
The claims of the patents differ from the claimed invention in that they do not teach the use of citrate or histidine buffer, antibody concentrations of 50-250mg/ml and the formulation is being hypertonic as in claim 1 of the instant application and the limitations of the dependent claims thereof.
The teachings of the ‘885 publication have been discussed, supra.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use citrate/histidine buffer, glutamate and/or arginine in the presence of polysorbate at pH about 6 or other manufacturing conditions as set forth in claims 1-15 at the claimed concentration as taught by the ‘885 publication into the MASP-2 formulation taught by the claims of the patents.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because use of such buffer, excipients improve stability of antibody formulation by reducing formation of aggregates and improve viscosity. Further, using the packaging or delivery conditions already known for one antibody is easily applicable for another is convenient to serve.
15. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
October 23, 2025
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641