DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on May 13, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Twardokus et al “Vehicle-to-Nothing? Securing c-V2X Against Protocol-Aware DoS Attacks” IEEE INFOCOM 2022, XP034137012 (hereinafter Twardokus et al).
Regarding claim 1, Twardokus et al disclose a method for wireless communications by a device (vehicle use for communication), the method comprising: transmitting, by the device, a number of fake inter-UE coordination (IUC) messages (SCI message) to reserve one or more resources (column 5 [lines 41-42] chosen CSR) for initial transmissions by the device (column 5 [lines 2-4, 37-56] and fig. 1(a) and 1(b) discloses transmission of SCI); receiving, by the device, one or more packets on at least one of the one or more resources (column 7 [lines 9-11] and column 8 [lines 25-27] discloses Eve transmits a short SCI message to collide with Alice’s); and determining, by the device, whether at least one of the one or more packets were transmitted by an attacker based on a jamming threshold (column 8 [lines 30-40] discloses monitor to detect a DoS attack; detect the attack based on PDR).
Regarding claim 2, Twardokus et al discloses the number of fake IUC messages is based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) (column 8 [lines 40-41]).
Regarding claim 3, Twardokus et al discloses the jamming threshold is associated with a channel busy ratio (CBR) (column 8 [lines 40-41]).
Regarding claim 4, Twardokus et al discloses listening, by the device, on slots corresponding to the one or more resources (column 5 [lines 37-56]).
Regarding claim 5, Twardokus et al discloses the device is one of a user equipment, a vehicle, a base station, or a server (column 5 [lines 15-19]).
Regarding claim 6, Twardokus et al discloses the number is equal to a minimum number of IUC messages that the device can transmit (column 5 [lines 37-56]).
Regarding claim 7, Twardokus et al discloses transmitting, by the device based on the at least one of the one or more packets not being determined to be transmitted by the attacker, an additional fake IUC message to reserve an additional one or more resources for initial transmissions by the device (column 5 [lines 37-56]).
Regarding claim 8, Twardokus et al discloses determining, by the device based on a ratio associated with a number of the one or more packets received by the device being greater than or equal to the jamming threshold, that the at least one of the one or more packets are transmitted by the attacker (column 8 [lines 44-45]).
Regarding claim 9, Twardokus et al discloses determining, by the device based on a ratio associated with a number of the one or more packets received by the device being less than the jamming threshold, that the at least one of the one or more packets are not transmitted by the attacker (column 8 [lines 44-45]).
Regarding claim 10, Twardokus et al discloses transmitting, by the device based on the at least one of the one or more packets being determined to be transmitted by the attacker, a vehicular-based message (column 5 [lines 37-56]).
Regarding claim 11, Twardokus et al discloses the vehicular-based message comprises at least one of a Layer 2 (L2) address for the device, an L2 address for the attacker, or a position of the attacker (column 5 [lines 2-4, 37-56] and fig. 1(a) and 1(b)).
Regarding claim 12, Twardokus et al discloses the vehicular-based message is a Sensor Data Sharing Message (SDSM) (column 5 [lines 2-4, 37-56] and fig. 1(a) and 1(b)).
Regarding claim 13, Twardokus et al discloses at least one of the number of fake IUC messages further comprises an indication of a reservation of one or more resources for initial transmissions of one or more other devices (column 5 [lines 2-4, 37-56] and fig. 1(a) and 1(b)).
Regarding claim 14, Twardokus et al discloses an apparatus for wireless communications, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory (V2V communication; inherent in vehicle); and at least one processor (V2V communication; inherent in vehicle) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to: output for transmission a number of fake inter-UE coordination (IUC) messages (SCI message) to reserve one or more resources (column 5 [lines 41-42] chosen CSR) for initial transmissions by the apparatus (column 5 [lines 2-4, 37-56] and fig. 1(a) and 1(b) discloses transmission of SCI); receive one or more packets on at least one of the one or more resources (column 7 [lines 9-11] and column 8 [lines 25-27] discloses Eve transmits a short SCI message to collide with Alice’s); and determine whether at least one of the one or more packets were transmitted by an attacker based on a jamming threshold (column 8 [lines 30-40] discloses monitor to detect a DoS attack; detect the attack based on PDR).
Regarding claims 15-26, see above rejection of claims 2-13.
Response to Arguments
In response to Election/Restriction, an election was made to examine the invention of first species, claims 1-26. Claims 27-30 has been cancelled.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Yang et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0128409) directed toward reporting an attack into an in-vehicle network.
Han et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0413264) directed toward detecting the occurrence of a cyber-attack event.
/LITON MIAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642