DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on April 13, 2026. Claims 1-26 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wu Twardokus et al “Vehicle-to-Nothing? Securing c-V2X Against Protocol-Aware DoS Attacks” IEEE INFOCOM 2022, XP034137012 (hereinafter Twardokus et al) in view of Xu (US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0082359).
Regarding claim 1, Twardokus et al disclose a method for wireless communications by a device (vehicle use for communication), the method comprising: transmitting, by the device, a number of fake inter-UE coordination (IUC) messages (SCI message) to reserve one or more resources (column 5 [lines 41-42] chosen CSR) for initial transmissions by the device (column 5 [lines 2-4, 37-56] and fig. 1(a) and 1(b) discloses transmission of SCI); receiving, by the device, one or more packets on at least one of the one or more resources (column 7 [lines 9-11] and column 8 [lines 25-27] discloses Eve transmits a short SCI message to collide with Alice’s); and determining, by the device, whether at least one of the one or more packets were transmitted by an attacker based on a jamming threshold (column 8 [lines 30-40] discloses monitor to detect a DoS attack; detect the attack based on PDR).
Twardokus et al specifically does not disclose wherein the jamming threshold is based on the number of fake IUC messages.
However, Xu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the jamming threshold is based on the number of fake IUC messages (see at least paragraph 56 discloses jamming threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Xu into the system of Twardokus for purpose of determining jamming threshold; as to defend against DDoS attacks.
Regarding claim 2, Twardokus et al discloses the number of fake IUC messages is based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) (column 8 [lines 40-41]).
Regarding claim 3, Twardokus et al discloses the jamming threshold is associated with a channel busy ratio (CBR) (column 8 [lines 40-41]).
Regarding claim 4, Twardokus et al discloses listening, by the device, on slots corresponding to the one or more resources (column 5 [lines 37-56]).
Regarding claim 5, Twardokus et al discloses the device is one of a user equipment, a vehicle, a base station, or a server (column 5 [lines 15-19]).
Regarding claim 6, Twardokus et al discloses the number is equal to a minimum number of IUC messages that the device can transmit (column 5 [lines 37-56]).
Regarding claim 7, Twardokus et al discloses transmitting, by the device based on the at least one of the one or more packets not being determined to be transmitted by the attacker, an additional fake IUC message to reserve an additional one or more resources for initial transmissions by the device (column 5 [lines 37-56]).
Regarding claim 8, Twardokus et al discloses determining, by the device based on a ratio associated with a number of the one or more packets received by the device being greater than or equal to the jamming threshold, that the at least one of the one or more packets are transmitted by the attacker (column 8 [lines 44-45]).
Regarding claim 9, Twardokus et al discloses determining, by the device based on a ratio associated with a number of the one or more packets received by the device being less than the jamming threshold, that the at least one of the one or more packets are not transmitted by the attacker (column 8 [lines 44-45]).
Regarding claim 10, Twardokus et al discloses transmitting, by the device based on the at least one of the one or more packets being determined to be transmitted by the attacker, a vehicular-based message (column 5 [lines 37-56]).
Regarding claim 11, Twardokus et al discloses the vehicular-based message comprises at least one of a Layer 2 (L2) address for the device, an L2 address for the attacker, or a position of the attacker (column 5 [lines 2-4, 37-56] and fig. 1(a) and 1(b)).
Regarding claim 12, Twardokus et al discloses the vehicular-based message is a Sensor Data Sharing Message (SDSM) (column 5 [lines 2-4, 37-56] and fig. 1(a) and 1(b)).
Regarding claim 13, Twardokus et al discloses at least one of the number of fake IUC messages further comprises an indication of a reservation of one or more resources for initial transmissions of one or more other devices (column 5 [lines 2-4, 37-56] and fig. 1(a) and 1(b)).
Regarding claim 14, Twardokus et al discloses an apparatus for wireless communications, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory (V2V communication; inherent in vehicle); and at least one processor (V2V communication; inherent in vehicle) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to: output for transmission a number of fake inter-UE coordination (IUC) messages (SCI message) to reserve one or more resources (column 5 [lines 41-42] chosen CSR) for initial transmissions by the apparatus (column 5 [lines 2-4, 37-56] and fig. 1(a) and 1(b) discloses transmission of SCI); receive one or more packets on at least one of the one or more resources (column 7 [lines 9-11] and column 8 [lines 25-27] discloses Eve transmits a short SCI message to collide with Alice’s); and determine whether at least one of the one or more packets were transmitted by an attacker based on a jamming threshold (column 8 [lines 30-40] discloses monitor to detect a DoS attack; detect the attack based on PDR).
Twardokus et al specifically does not disclose wherein the jamming threshold is based on the number of fake IUC messages.
However, Xu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the jamming threshold is based on the number of fake IUC messages (see at least paragraph 56 discloses jamming threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Xu into the system of Twardokus for purpose of determining jamming threshold; as to defend against DDoS attacks.
Regarding claims 15-26, see above rejection of claims 2-13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on April 13, 2026, with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment. See the above rejection of claims 1-26 for the relevant citations found in Twardokus et al and Xu disclosing the limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642